View Full Version : Movie Shutter Island (Scorsese & DiCaprio)

Shinboner '07
12 Jun 2009, 23:46
trailer just hit the net!

http://www.shockya.com/news/wp-content/uploads/shutter_island_patient_poster.jpg

RdumGs1qoXM

looking forward to this one:thumbsu:

RobbyRoy
13 Jun 2009, 17:54
Looks pretty good. A bit of a horror vibe to it, which should be interesting. The Scorsese/DiCaprio partnership has worked fairly well so far, hopefully it can get better.

Warsaw
13 Jun 2009, 18:29
Like it, although I already can guess who patient 67 is

Kerrby
13 Jun 2009, 18:40
Yeah that's pretty predictable but hopefully won't ruin any twists/surprises this film may have.

I'm looking forward to see it.

year of the roo
14 Jun 2009, 00:40
The Scorsese/DiCaprio partnership has worked fairly well so far, hopefully it can get better.
Yeah I can't see why this can't eclipse Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, Mean Streets, Goodfellas and Casino :rolleyes:

NitroFan
14 Jun 2009, 10:25
Yeah I can't see why this can't eclipse Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, Mean Streets, Goodfellas and Casino :rolleyes:

Umm...what does that have to do with what he said?

Gorry
14 Jun 2009, 16:02

With all due respect, you forgot Cape Fear, King of Comedy and New York New York....:)

flight23
14 Jun 2009, 17:11
Like it, although I already can guess who patient 67 is

i really hope its not that obvious

RobbyRoy
14 Jun 2009, 20:17
Umm...what does that have to do with what he said?Nothing at all. They'll never get near what Scorsese has done with DeNiro, but that's beside the point.

year of the roo
15 Jun 2009, 01:07
Umm...what does that have to do with what he said?
He said he hoped the DeNiro/Scorsese partnership "could get better" - I just chose to point out that it is unlikely to surpass such classics of the past.

Invigoration
15 Jun 2009, 04:28
He said he hoped the DeNiro/Scorsese partnership "could get better" - I just chose to point out that it is unlikely to surpass such classics of the past.

****ing what? Go have another read of what he said nublet.

Looks decent, I'm not even remotely a horror fan but the trailer/people involved definitely has me intrigued.

CF
15 Jun 2009, 05:54
looks interesting

year of the roo
15 Jun 2009, 09:04
Wow massively embarassing. It took me 3 reads to realise my mistake. I apologise to all involved, and also those not involved. I blame Pacino...

RobbyRoy
15 Jun 2009, 19:10
Wow massively embarassing. It took me 3 reads to realise my mistake. I apologise to all involved, and also those not involved. I blame Pacino...
No worries. Looking back on my post I also read DiCaprio as DeNiro and was about to apologise to you :o

awesome wells
16 Jun 2009, 13:04
this has potential to be as good as Se7en and Silence of the Lambs, or even better

def. will be checking this out:thumbsu:

betterthanu
17 Jun 2009, 12:51
Looks good but as people said, i really hope it the twist of 67 isnt as obvious as the trailer suggests.

Kerrby
19 Feb 2010, 20:32
Just got back from seeing this.

AMAZING film.

The trailer did infact give everything away which was disappointing. The movie was one total mind**** though, especially the ending. I still really enjoyed it, I'll probably go back and see it again just to pick up on all the stuff I missed. I found that it flashes back and fourth and then right at the end hits you with EVERYTHING and you have to put everything else together yourself.

flight23
19 Feb 2010, 22:12
leo was really good in this, the film looked great, the score was amazing

from start to finish i was praying it wouldn't be that obvious, really disappointed they went such an obvious route

alfy!
20 Feb 2010, 08:35
HUN reviewer hated it, giving it 2 stars and branding it the worst film of Scorsese's career. But I have only read good things about it apart from that, so will see it early next week. Can't wait.

Kerrby
20 Feb 2010, 09:41
HUN reviewer hated it, giving it 2 stars and branding it the worst film of Scorsese's career. But I have only read good things about it apart from that, so will see it early next week. Can't wait.
Haha, as if the HUNs reviewers opinions matter. I could do a better job than them.

Not that I care for Richard Wilkins either but he said it was the best thing Caprio has ever done and gave it 5 stars.

bunsen burner
20 Feb 2010, 13:59
Seen the trailer about 7 or 8 times now and this film looks like total rubbish. As if Ben Kingsley isn't patient 67.

Kerrby
20 Feb 2010, 14:36
Seen the trailer about 7 or 8 times now and this film looks like total rubbish. As if Ben Kingsley isn't patient 67.
:confused:

Hap Hapablap
20 Feb 2010, 17:00
cliched. never the less still a good movie. last 10 minutes was a brain **** session but was good enough.

Bulldog1954
21 Feb 2010, 13:21
Parts of it were fairly predictable but it still had its moments. Nowehere near Scorcese and Dicaprios best combination (The Departed) but still pretty good

TheStinger
21 Feb 2010, 20:35
I was never a big fan of pretty boy Dicrapio but some of his latest stuff like The Departed and Body of Lies have made me look at him differently. I might check this one out.

AG
22 Feb 2010, 08:21
I was never a big fan of pretty boy Dicrapio but some of his latest stuff like The Departed and Body of Lies have made me look at him differently. I might check this one out.
He's a gun actor. Blood Diamond still his best work imo.

HigginsHawk
22 Feb 2010, 08:59
Not too bad. A reasonably close adaptation of the book. I wouldn't classify it as a horror as some had suggested. A nice support role from Earl-Hayley, although I thought his part would be bigger than it was.

Probably a little bit let down by the reveal at the end.

I'm looking forward to Scorcese's version of The Great Gatsby with Vincent Chase. I have heard some good things...

Arsene Wenger
22 Feb 2010, 09:04
I really did not rate it at all. So predictable.

Dirtywhirl
23 Feb 2010, 09:23
Certainly one of Marty's lesser works, but an enjoyable enough pulp movie. Having known the twist going in, I think it can definitely be telegraphed through a few scenes during the movie. Liked the visuals, especially during some of the dream sequences. Loved the last few minutes where (spoiler) Andrew knowingly continues his act as Teddy and then gives the glance to the doctor and warden (spoiler). I find it interesting that the release of this was pushed back by the studio to ensure it wouldn't be in Oscar contention, not sure it would have garnered any nominations but it says something about what sort of movie this is.

CF
23 Feb 2010, 10:57
A Martin Scoresese Movie with a great cast held back by the studio to avoid the Oscar season speaks volumes about this movie. Not expecting greatness.

Oberfuhrer Abetz
23 Feb 2010, 11:00
The twist isn't --> De Caprio is the patient, and was mental all along<-- is it?

Kerrby
23 Feb 2010, 13:42
The twist isn't --> De Caprio is the patient, and was mental all along<-- is it?
MASSIVE SPOILER. DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN'T WATCHED IT.

Yes. They let his roam the island for two days to try and get him sane again after what happened in his past.

Plugger35
23 Feb 2010, 18:36
Thought it was pretty good, probably not one of Scorsese's very best but even his mediocre to good films are better than most other films going around. It's also quite a different film to anything else he has done so it's a bit hard to compare it directly but as a Hitchcockian type thriller he pulls it off quite well.

Like a few other people here, I picked the basic twist/reveal at the end but there are still a few surprises with how all the details play out. DiCaprio and the rest of the cast are excellent and Scorsese builds it all up nicely with an increasingly foreboding, paranoid atmosphere helped by a great score. Certainly gives you a bit to think about afterwards too.

Overall I'd probably give it a 7 or 8 out of 10.

Oberfuhrer Abetz
24 Feb 2010, 09:22
MASSIVE SPOILER. DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVEN'T WATCHED IT.

Yes. They let his roam the island for two days to try and get him sane again after what happened in his past.

Cheers Kerrby, is it still worth watching or should I wait til video?

Warwick
24 Feb 2010, 11:18
Enjoyed it.

Predictable but still enjoyable.

Kerrby
24 Feb 2010, 16:14
Cheers Kerrby, is it still worth watching or should I wait til video?
I REALLY enjoyed it, it's also been getting great reviews.

I'd personally go see it at the movies, it just adds to the atmosphere of the film.

RobbyRoy
25 Feb 2010, 19:47
Just saw it. Very good, not great. DiCaprio was amazing in it. I know people loved him in Blood Diamond but I think his two best performances were in The Departed and The Aviator. This one here may just be his best. Going in I was fairly sure of what happened and pretty early on I knew for sure but the journey to get there was excellent. The reveal was also beautifully handled. Won't go down as a Scorsese masterpiece but I'm glad he made it.

flight23
25 Feb 2010, 20:28
Just saw it. Very good, not great. DiCaprio was amazing in it. I know people loved him in Blood Diamond but I think his two best performances were in The Departed and The Aviator. This one here may just be his best. Going in I was fairly sure of what happened and pretty early on I knew for sure but the journey to get there was excellent. The reveal was also beautifully handled. Won't go down as a Scorsese masterpiece but I'm glad he made it.

100% agree, great summary

King Elvis
26 Feb 2010, 10:40
I saw it last night, 7.5/10 for me, very good movie.

Does everybody completely accept that he was a mental patient? I do, but in the back of my mind, they did to him exactly what he thought they'd do, and what everybody said they'd do, to take him off the trail. He thought they'd make him think he was mental, and they did...

Plugger35
26 Feb 2010, 13:49

Does everybody completely accept that he was a mental patient? I do, but in the back of my mind, they did to him exactly what he thought they'd do, and what everybody said they'd do, to take him off the trail. He thought they'd make him think he was mental, and they did...

By the end of it I did think he was a mental patient but right up until the lighthouse scene I was still of the belief that DiCaprio was sane and that the staff there were all part of some conspiracy to make him think he was crazy and keep him there against his will. It wasn't until the lighthouse scene when Ben Kingsley and the guy that he thought was his partner explained it all to him through that series of flashbacks that you started to realise what had really been happening. You can also see DiCaprio going from denial to finally facing up to the reality of what had happened to him.

The last scene on the steps, where you saw things as they really were with DiCaprio relapsing back into his fantasy world of thinking he was still a cop was brilliantly done. Like I said before, I kind of saw the basic twist/reveal at the end coming but the way it is all played out still blows you away. My head was still spinning for a good hour or two afterwards trying to digest it all.

Kerrby
26 Feb 2010, 15:25
See, I disagree with most of what you guys are saying regarding the ending.

I believe Leo knew that he wasn't in his fantasy land anymore but wanted to go out with the little bit of pride that he had and didn't want to be remembered (or remember for that matter) for the killing of his wife.

With the quote that he said just before he walked off to go to the lighthouse, he knew exactly what was happening. "Is it better to go out as a hero or live knowing you've made a mistake", something along those lines. I can't exactly remember the quote. Then his partner just stood at the steps shocked and Leo walks off into the distance for his lobotomy.

Plugger35
26 Feb 2010, 15:55

I believe Leo knew that he wasn't in his fantasy land anymore but wanted to go out with the little bit of pride that he had and didn't want to be remembered (or remember for that matter) for the killing of his wife.

With the quote that he said just before he walked off to go to the lighthouse, he knew exactly what was happening. "Is it better to go out as a hero or live knowing you've made a mistake", something along those lines. I can't exactly remember the quote. Then his partner just stood at the steps shocked and Leo walks off into the distance for his lobotomy.

Actually that thought crossed my mind as well, that maybe he deliberately chose to go back to living in his fantasy world rather than just relapsing involuntarily, knowing that he would then get a lobotomy that would destroy his memory and pretty much turn him into a zombie.

The alternative was staying sane and living with the horrible reality of killing his wife and the guilt of his children dying as well. Something he clearly didn't want to do. Quite a sad and tragic ending really.

RobbyRoy
26 Feb 2010, 19:22

I'm definitely of the opinion that he was a patient. If you went back now and watched it knowing how it ends, you'll see a lot of clues.

I'm with you.

Once Dr Dawley got through to him and he was in some form of a state of sanity, he realised what he'd done and decided to pretend he was still in the fantasy so he didn't have to live with what he did. There's heaps of shit going around regarding other possibilities but most can be easily explained. One that can't however, is why Dr. Cawley told DiCaprio that Chuck wasn't with him when he arrived. Wasn't Ruffalo playing the role of a marshall to go along with DiCaprio's fantasy? I'll put it down to a plot hole.

King Elvis
26 Feb 2010, 20:39
From some website;

The Conspiracy Theory
Teddy Daniels (played by Leonardo DiCaprio) is sane at the start but driven insane by the asylum to prevent him from uncovering their experiments.
The Rat in a Maze Theory
Teddy Daniels is insane at the start and simply driven more insane by the asylum as part of their experiments.
The Ben Kingsley Is Telling the Truth Theory Teddy Daniels is insane, gets sane at the end, finds he can't handle his guilt, fakes a relapse in order to get a lobotomy and find some peace.

cats2rise
27 Feb 2010, 07:13
I'm with Kerrby on this one regarding the ending. Was a pretty good movie, I enjoyed it.

Best part however was before going into the movie, my mate was asked to leave his bag out the front and they would put it in a locked room for him. When we got out he goes 'oh shit, I have to get my bag.... My bottle of water was in it.' and I sorta just looked at him. He was freaking out they'd put something in his water bottle (((like the mind altering chemicals they had apparently been putting in peoples food, drink, smokes on Shutter Island))) cause the person behind the 'candy bar' was looking at us as he was getting out his bottle of water.

King Elvis
27 Feb 2010, 17:07
I think Kerbz has got it as well; he didn't want to be forced to remember it.

RobbyRoy
27 Feb 2010, 20:10
From some website;

The Conspiracy Theory
Teddy Daniels (played by Leonardo DiCaprio) is sane at the start but driven insane by the asylum to prevent him from uncovering their experiments.
The Rat in a Maze Theory
Teddy Daniels is insane at the start and simply driven more insane by the asylum as part of their experiments.
The Ben Kingsley Is Telling the Truth Theory Teddy Daniels is insane, gets sane at the end, finds he can't handle his guilt, fakes a relapse in order to get a lobotomy and find some peace.

I'm not really sure what the first two are about. I'm definitely with #3 though. The two major thoughts are:

1. Teddy Daniels is a fantasy that Andrew Laeddis created to escape his crime. Dr Cawley and the staff play along the whole time in an attempt to help Laeddis get over his crime. Same as your number 3.

2. Teddy Daniels is a real person who finds out too much about what happens at Ashecliffe. As a result Dr. Cawley attempts to make him think he's insane so he doesn't blow the lid on the place. Similar to your number 1 but if you're with this theory, the last line kind of shows that he wasn't driven insane.

phantom13
8 Mar 2010, 15:46
Personally I absolutley hated this film, i'm a huge fan of Scorsese and DiCaprio as well as Kingsley and Ruffalo actually. Just out of curiousity to those that did like it did you not pick the twist straight away and if you did what did you do for the next 2 hours? Highlight -> Cause all i got was the ending (all of it, no twists left after about 10 minutes) then a stack of insanely obvious bizarre dream like sequences that just seemed pointless...

Lord_Travis
8 Mar 2010, 17:32
Just saw this. I guessed the "twist" very early on and was subsequently then very annoyed that I was right. I was hoping I was wrong and there was a twist after the twist, but I was just left disappointed.

It was really well shot, and the acting was pretty top notch as well. Scorsese and Dicaprio make a hell of a team, and the other actors were good too. But the script and whole idea behind it... f*ck it was poor. Everyone around me in the cinema was like gasping at the reveal and everything, and one of them even exclaimed out loud "oh my god that's why she was bleeding from her stomach!" referring to his wife. I just cant believe anyone couldnt see any of it coming. The ending felt like the final part of the 3rd Lord of the Rings film to me. Just went on forever! Just on and on with obvious cr*p that we already shouldve been able to work out ages ago. The only bit I didnt predict was his partner being his psychiatrist, I thought he was going to be a figment of his imagination. Maybe I'm too much of a cynic, but I hate when poor ideas like the twist in this ruin what could be a cool movie.
The only thing I was arguing with my friends over was if he actually relapsed at the end. It seemed like he said the live as a monster line, then the guy said "Teddy?" and he didn't turn back, as if he didn't answer to that name and he was putting on an act because he'd rather have the operation done and forget about what he did, rather than live with the guilt. But my friends thought he just relapsed and that was that, which I thought was an even worse way to end the already poor twist and ending haha. What did you all make of it? Was it supposed to signify what I thought, or was it more for the viewer too think about after it ended?

Anyway 6/10 from me. Thought it was rather well shot, performed, directed etc. Really enjoyed the first half 2/3, but hated the twist and thought the ending was handled very poorly.

Damon_3388
8 Mar 2010, 19:20
Everyone I know who has seen this movie has said it was complete garbage, yet critics and Big Footy are praising it. Might just have to see it myself sometime :p

HarryTiger
9 Mar 2010, 16:31
Everyone I know who has seen this movie has said it was complete garbage, yet critics and Big Footy are praising it. Might just have to see it myself sometime :p

I thought Blood Diamond was a cliched action flick.

BF "Leo's finest performance".