View Full Version : Votes V Melb
Mad Bomber Sean
19 Jun 2009, 22:16
3 Prizza
2 Monfries
1 Watson
Special mention to Mcveigh. Lonergan, Lloyd,Skippy & Lucas
Excellent return from Welsh & Fletch
Overall it is good to win but I am disapponted by the last Qrt & thought we relaxed to much
Dr Moose
19 Jun 2009, 22:18
3) Welsh - fantastic return mate
2) Jobe - especially strong first half
1) Ryder - absolutely dominated the ruck
But great seeing so many fellows back into good form, esp Scotty:)
bipolarbeaR
19 Jun 2009, 22:21
3 - Prismall
2 - Ryder
1 - Welsh
Colin D'Cops
19 Jun 2009, 22:35
3. Jobe Watson
2. Mark McVeigh
1. Dustin Fletcher
Unlucky: Prismall, Monfries, Lucas.
OzBomber
19 Jun 2009, 22:48
Wow. 4 within the space of 5 minutes.
3. Prismall
2. Fletcher
1. Welsh
Unlucky: Watson, McVeigh, Monfries, McPhee.
DonMania#5
19 Jun 2009, 22:49
3. Watson
2. Fletcher
1. Mcveigh
Unlucky: Prismall, Monfries, Lucas, Lonergan
Donakebab
19 Jun 2009, 23:04
3. Prismall
2. McVeigh
1. Watson
Special mention to Woosha and Fletch for great come back games, especially Woosha being able to jump straight back into the midfield. Lonergan for a great first half.
3) Welsh
2) Davey
1) Monfries
The Dustbin
19 Jun 2009, 23:20
3. Watson
2. The Dustbin :thumbsu:
1. Prismall
Wahooti Fandango
19 Jun 2009, 23:27
3. Welsh
2. Prismall
1. Reimers
Mad Bomber Sean
19 Jun 2009, 23:28
3 - McLaren
2 - James
1 - H Ryan
Terrible performance.
:thumbsd:
Ok thanks wrong board- see you later...
Ludwig van Bertstare
19 Jun 2009, 23:31
3. Jobe Watson
2. Brent Prismall
1. Andrew Welsh
sen entertainment bloke
19 Jun 2009, 23:33
3/ Ryder
2/ Watson
1/ Prismall
bomberz08
19 Jun 2009, 23:38
3. Watson
2.Prizza
1.ryder
a fair few that were unlucky. Fantastic return from welshy and fletch
AndyLesPaul
19 Jun 2009, 23:39
3. Fletcher (Who else saw the banner? I lol'd.)
2. Watson
1. Lloyd - First quarter was amazing
Unlucky:
Lucas - Cost us 10 points really.
The Dustbin
19 Jun 2009, 23:46
3. Fletcher (Who else saw the banner? I lol'd.)
2. Watson
1. Lloyd - First quarter was amazing
Unlucky:
Lucas - Cost us 10 points really.
The banner for Fletch was because he played his 300th in Brisbane. First game back in melb since Brisbane,
AndyLesPaul
19 Jun 2009, 23:48
Kk, I still lol'd
Also saw Neagle and TSlatts outside the souvlaki place for some reason.
George Washington
19 Jun 2009, 23:54
Kk, I still lol'd
Also saw Neagle and TSlatts outside the souvlaki place for some reason.
omg! I saw them there too! Were you in the line for the subway, if so you may have caught a glimpse of the HJG. TSlatts seemed pretty happy, but from the couple of minutes I observed Neagle looked an unhappy man.
They walked into the 'Souvlaki Hut', and I thought.... surely not. Luckily they re-emerged a minute later and waited out the front for 5 or so minutes.
Wahooti Fandango
19 Jun 2009, 23:56
omg! I saw them there too! Were you in the line for the subway, if so you may have caught a glimpse of the HJG. TSlatts seemed pretty happy, but from the couple of minutes I observed Neagle looked an unhappy man.
They walked into the 'Souvlaki Hut', and I thought.... surely not. Luckily they re-emerged a minute later and waited out the front for 5 or so minutes.
Do you always refer to yourself in the third person? ;) :D
Bomber32
20 Jun 2009, 00:01
3. Watson
2. Prismall
1. Monfries
Honourable mentions: Welsh, Lloyd, Lucas, McVeigh
SirJimi05
20 Jun 2009, 00:09
Why no love for Gus.....again? :mad:
3. Monfries
2. McVeigh
1. Welsh
Monfries - Underrated player by Essendon supporters in general. Consistant performance and BOG for the second or 3rd time this season imo.
McVeigh - What can i say? The general is back. Almost back to 2008 form and is primed for a big one against the Blues next week. Silky skills and finished with a couple of handy goals.
Welsh - What a comeback game!!!! From what i could tell he was given a run with role on Morton for much of the game and killed him. Didn't see Morton get much of the pill and Welsh got heaps himself and used it very very well. We have missed this guy!
Best - Monfries, McVeigh, Welsh, Watson, Prismall, Fletcher, Lucas, Ryder
The_Young_Gun
20 Jun 2009, 00:15
3: Watson.
2: Fletcher.
1: Reimers.
Prismall handballed backwards way too much, wasn't highly attacking.. On the other hand Reimers has a beauty of a kick, he's a certain dead eye dick! I'd award him with a vote cause he was just so damn good..
Also, Fletcher was the defence tonight! Pears, Hooker and Hocking definitely would've struggled a lot more without him.
windyhill
20 Jun 2009, 00:23
3. Watson
2. Lucas
1. Priz
james_omahoney
20 Jun 2009, 00:26
3: Watson.:thumbsu:
2: Fletcher.:thumbsu:
1: Reimers.:thumbsu:
Prismall handballed backwards way too much, wasn't highly attacking..:thumbsd: On the other hand Reimers has a beauty of a kick, he's a certain dead eye dick! I'd award him with a vote cause he was just so damn good..:thumbsu:
Also, Fletcher was the defence tonight!:thumbsu: Pears, Hooker and Hocking definitely would've struggled a lot more without him.:thumbsu:
Good post.
:thumbsu: agree
:thumbsd: disagree
Smyth94
20 Jun 2009, 00:28
Quick thoughts before I go to bed:
Reimers - his skills are something to behold, some of his kicks were absolute tractor beams, how he went so low in the '06 draft I'll never know...
Fletch - simply just a freak, he could miss 2 years of footy and pick up where he left off, IMO he'll be able to play 2+ more years if he has the desire.
Priz - was everywhere, great to see
Goalkicking - we should've won by 60+ easily, needs to be addressed.
Why no love for Gus.....again? :mad:
Monfries - Underrated player by Essendon supporters in general. Consistant performance and BOG for the second or 3rd time this season imo.
Yeah I agree with you. In hindsight I would change my votes; in fact, I think I will.
Big Jim
20 Jun 2009, 01:05
3. Prismall, Brilliant in and under game, wasn't afraid to get his hands dirty.
2. Boots, new role at half back, skills were sublime.
1. Lucas, something different, he handballed more than he has in his whole career tonight. Was clean on the lead, and if he had finished in front of the sticks, possiblty could've been bog.
essendon2008
20 Jun 2009, 01:10
3. Fletcher
2. Monfries
1. Prismall
Welsh was great too. Fletcher really impressed today, what a machine! Infact our whole backline for the majority of the match was outstanding.
ForzaBaysie
20 Jun 2009, 01:59
3. jobe watson
2, angus monfries
1. hayden skipworth
lamaros
20 Jun 2009, 03:44
3. Watson
2. Welsh
1. Ryder
Really hard to pick it for this match. Monfries and McVeigh are unlucky, with Lucas and Prismall also.
Ryder, Welsh, and Watson getting the votes because I think they did the hard work in the middle when it needed to be done and allowed the rest of the team to step up. I thought Hille and Watson were a great clearence combo, but Ryder's work with the boys of late has been sensational.
AndyLesPaul
20 Jun 2009, 07:42
Lol, I remember seeing Neagle, Hooker and Hurley in Rnd 5 at Half Time, at the Nandos place, haha.
EDIT: Neagle always has that look, lol
rioli brownlow
20 Jun 2009, 10:59
3. Watson
2. Welsh
1. Ryder
Really hard to pick it for this match. Monfries and McVeigh are unlucky, with Lucas and Prismall also.
Ryder, Welsh, and Watson getting the votes because I think they did the hard work in the middle when it needed to be done and allowed the rest of the team to step up. I thought Hille and Watson were a great clearence combo, but Ryder's work with the boys of late has been sensational.
just wondering does anyone know who mmm gave the best on ground votes too last night and also the worst on ground votes too?
danielgb123
20 Jun 2009, 11:18
3. Welsh
2. Watson
1. Prismall
Bit of a disappointing game in that our kicking wasn't up to scratch and we didn't really push till the end.
Welsh - Great return, really good to see!
Watson - As usual, leads from the front
Prismall - Great second game, showing some great skill ;)
Worth Mentioning:
Ryder, Fletcher, Monfries and McVeigh
Boucks09
20 Jun 2009, 11:29
I with Jimi on this one. How people don't have Angus Monfries in the votes is astonishing. He was outstanding tonight. Just because he has been inconsistent of late, or has been attracting some critcism should not detract from his performance tonight.
Given that he LOVES Carlton hopefully he can play some consecutive games of that standard now.
3 Votes - Angus Monfries
2 Votes - Dustin Fletcher
1 Vote - Patrick Ryder
Without Fletch we would've been down at halftime and the game could've gone in a different direction. He is an absolute superstar.
Ryder was terrific in the ruck. I echo the thoughts of those who say we need to give him a chop out soon. Hooker struggled in the ruck tonight I thought. Perhaps NLM could pinch hit?
I thought Ricky Dyson had an outstanding game last night. His attack on the football was brilliant and his long kicking sublime. He got pinged a few times last night for holding the ball when he was the only bloke who made the ball his priority whilst 4 or 5 blokes stood around waiting for somebody else to get it. Top effort Ricky :thumbsu:
Lloyd and Lucas were not as great as the 3 goals apiece show. I agree with Kelvin on that one. Lloyd was beaten by James Frawley on the night and only due to his opportunisitic skills and experience did he create 3 goals last night. That in itself shows class but he won't be able to do that against better opposition.
Was terrific to see such an even spread of possessions across the midfield. I much prefer that then seeing a few blokes get 30+.
Congrats on Welsh's comeback. Simply amazing given his injury.
Reim-dog is back boys. He was being a **** again at every centre bounce getting into the head of his opposition. That is good signs for the coming weeks. His kicking was terrific. I love that man. :p
3/ J Watson - Becoming an elite ball winner
2/ P Ryder - Worked tirelessly all day with minimal help
1/ B Prismall - What impresses me the most about this fella is not the amount of ball he gets but the way he uses it. Best foot skills @ the efc.
james_omahoney
20 Jun 2009, 11:52
What I noticed regarding Monfries was that there was also a lot of love coming from the commentary box, particularly from Matthews and Cometti.
keepzitreal
20 Jun 2009, 12:03
3 - Fletcher - saved so many goals when the heat was on. Love our new backline.
2 - Monfries - Obviously consistency is his issue but he was superb for us last night
1 - Watson - Will push for All Australian
hird+lloyd=legends
20 Jun 2009, 12:29
3/ Watson
2/ Prismall
1/ Welsh
Good games from Gus, fletch, lucas, lonergan, dyson & skippy.
But we should have won by atleast 4-6 goals more, our goal kicking is horrible.
Valve Bounce
20 Jun 2009, 12:42
Difficult to give any points for me. I did notice Fletcher and his Plastic Man tentacles, Ryder with his improving style of handouts, and Davey with his improved performance, but how does anyone rate the guys like Jobe who work their guts out in the trenches but are obscured by the melee of bodies on top of them? Also, nice to see Scotty hitting some form again.
I was worried when McPhee was announced as hurt just after the game started, yet came back later and played a blinder. (well almost). :o
Monphries took some great marks also. Basically, most of our guys played better than usual, but we were playing Melbourne, weren't we!!
eth-dog
20 Jun 2009, 14:04
3. Essendon
2. Football
1. Club
seriously, they all played great, and I cannot be f***ed splitting them
SirJimi05
20 Jun 2009, 14:13
What I noticed regarding Monfries was that there was also a lot of love coming from the commentary box, particularly from Matthews and Cometti.
Monfries is rated higher by the footballing public than by Essendon supporters.
The Donners
20 Jun 2009, 15:11
3: Watson
2: Welsh
1: Lucas
Others: Reimers, McVeigh, Prismall and Monfries.
Watson must be polling well for the Brownlow, if we win enough games he may definitely be a smoky. Not sure what his odds are but I may consider putting a couple of bucks on him.
Welsh, what more can you say, just a fantastic return. I'm not going to be at all critical of a guy who came back from a broken leg within 4 months and pulled in 25 touches, 5 clearances and 4 tackles!
Lucas worked extremely hard all night, if he can continue to kick 2-3 goals a game for the remainder of the year the Dons will be definite finalists.
Reimers use of the ball is arguably the best at the club. Sorely missed in the first half of the season, his energy electrifies the team and his hardness is inspirational.
McVeigh, getting better every week, had an opportunity to mark a couple of balls deep in the forward line after using good body strength only to have a case of the fumbles, marks those 2 and he would've finished with 4 goals and 3 votes.
Prismall just knows where to go, for a guy who played his second game back from a knee reco, excellent work. Needs to work on his disposal by foot and his defensive pressure but he runs pretty hard and with a another 4-5 weeks has the potential to be an absolute star in our midfield.
Monfries presents all night, if he stops going to ground every time the ball is in the air he'd be a star as he'd be able to make a second effort to win possession as opposed to picking himself up from off the ground.
Darealrath
20 Jun 2009, 16:17
3. Fletcher
2. Watson
1. Monfries
I loved McPhee's 3rd quarter. Very aggressive early on which set the tone.
3 - Fletcher - saved so many goals when the heat was on. Love our new backline.
2 - Monfries - Obviously consistency is his issue but he was superb for us last night
1 - Watson - Will push for All Australian
These are my votes too, Fletch was just awesome.
table tennis
22 Jun 2009, 09:42
Best thing about Prismalls performance, was that it was from around 64% game time. Will be good to see when up and going. every week will be getting better.
Ryder was ok. I thought that Ryder was smashed at boundary throw ins. was great in the middle, but i wouldnt have given him votes. My opinion only.
Watson was great, so was Fletch.
Phat Toni
22 Jun 2009, 11:00
Best thing about Prismalls performance, was that it was from around 64% game time. Will be good to see when up and going. every week will be getting better.
Ryder was ok. I thought that Ryder was smashed at boundary throw ins. was great in the middle, but i wouldn't have given him votes. My opinion only.
Watson was great, so was Fletch.
Spot on TT. I think the real advantage for the Dons is that we have another midfielder who can get his own footy and use it. You add in Welsh and instalaREIMERS and the midfield takes shape.
Question to the greater audience here who would you prefer the opposition to tag?
I noticed that Stanton was getting a heavy tag from Bartram for what seemed like most of the night, I think this is fantastic because if there is anybody you want tagged it's Stanton or Watson, these two are our worst defensive midfielders, the rest of the midfield rotation do their bit defensively. So if the opposition want run a hard tag against either of these two meaning they wont have to work too hard to pick up anybody it's a win for the Dons.
table tennis
22 Jun 2009, 11:59
Spot on TT. I think the real advantage for the Dons is that we have another midfielder who can get his own footy and use it. You add in Welsh and instalaREIMERS and the midfield takes shape.
Question to the greater audience here who would you prefer the opposition to tag?
I noticed that Stanton was getting a heavy tag from Bartram for what seemed like most of the night, I think this is fantastic because if there is anybody you want tagged it's Stanton or Watson, these two are our worst defensive midfielders, the rest of the midfield rotation do their bit defensively. So if the opposition want run a hard tag against either of these two meaning they wont have to work too hard to pick up anybody it's a win for the Dons.
I prefer a hard tag on Stanton, as watson is the barometer of the side, so I prefer him to be be as free as possible. I also think that the more Stanton gets the tagged, the more he learns to deal with it. Bartram was pretty good on Friday, yet Stanton still managed 26 disposals. Stanton runs hard, so by late in the game, he can usually burn off and get free.
I still think we will be struggling to make finals, the next month is absolutley crucial. However, its an exciting time, as we are obviously on the improve, will add another good draft pick this year (hopefully), to add Riemers, Zaharakis, Hurley, Hooker, Pears, Houli, Prismall as strong good young players to the squad, it builds a pretty exciting future. Hopefully Still, Gumby & Neagle can come for the ride too.