View Full Version : Lets smash Carlton v2.0
fishguts
20 Jun 2009, 10:57
My favourite week of the year. Carlton are up themselves once again after a 'honourable loss' to St.Kilda. No doubt Carlton will think they have this in the bag again.
Lets make it 5 in a row...
P.S don't make any bets, they don't follow through ;)
dave_27
20 Jun 2009, 11:27
All hysteria a side we should flog them with the side we have in, it will be extremely disappointing if the players dont come to the game with the right mind set and lose this game.
These are the games against lesser opposition we have to win before we come up against St Kilda, WB, Sydney in Sydney etc.
AndyLesPaul
20 Jun 2009, 11:41
Can't wait for this week.
We should be able to take advantage of their backline, would be awesome.
Can't wait for the week after either, I got front row somehow.
3 in a row against Collingwood :cool:
Ben the Gooner
20 Jun 2009, 11:43
All hysteria a side we should flog them with the side we have in, it will be extremely disappointing if the players dont come to the game with the right mind set and lose this game.
These are the games against lesser opposition we have to win before we come up against St Kilda, WB, Sydney in Sydney etc.
Cue posters with the username "JuddSomething", who joined in Mar 08 or Mar 09 in 5...4...3...2
SirJimi05
20 Jun 2009, 13:02
Are there any Essendon supporters that haven't been banned from the Carlton board?
It's gonna be hard to give it to them this time around after we win becasue they will quite obviously dissapear from our threads just as they did last time.
fishguts
20 Jun 2009, 13:30
Are there any Essendon supporters that haven't been banned from the Carlton board?
It's gonna be hard to give it to them this time around after we win becasue they will quite obviously dissapear from our threads just as they did last time.
I'd be surprised if there is to be honest.
Ben the Gooner
20 Jun 2009, 14:24
I got 1 point for this:
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/congrats.jpg
and just to get everyone in the mood for Friday:
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/essFev12_gallery__394x400.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/Facepalm-1.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/hahaha.jpg
Ben the Gooner
20 Jun 2009, 14:27
And lest we forget the Tale of Sir Guts of Fish:
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts1.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts2.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts3.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts4.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts5.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts6.jpg
Ben the Gooner
20 Jun 2009, 14:28
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts8.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts9.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts10.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts11.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts12.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts14.jpg
Ben the Gooner
20 Jun 2009, 14:28
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts15.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts16.jpg
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc285/bengooner4/fishguts18.jpg
Ben the Gooner
20 Jun 2009, 14:42
Finally some pictures of our last game against Carlton:
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r03-gsp-26.jpg
Tayte Pears stares the ball down.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r03-gsp-25.jpg
See the bombers fly up
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r03-gsp-27.jpg
Carlton respectfully kiss the dirt at the feet of a God.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r03-gsp-23.jpg
One...
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r03-gsp-22.jpg
...and one...
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r03-gsp-17.jpg
...and one...
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r03-gsp-06.jpg
...and one is four in a row, bitches.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/09/r03-gsp-16.jpg
"Losing to Carlton? What's that?"
let's hope we can pull out a better performance than what we did vs. the dees. we had more clangers on the night than the dees and disposal efficiency was down. our next 4 games are against carl, coll, syd (a) and wbd. need to be at the top of our game when playing these teams.
SydneyBomber
20 Jun 2009, 15:05
loving your work benny haha - pure gold
PressureCooker
20 Jun 2009, 15:23
loving your work benny haha - pure gold
I'll second that. You're a funny man BTG:D:D
Ben the Gooner
20 Jun 2009, 16:47
Jordan Russell
Chris Yarran
Chris Johnson
Jordan Bannister
Steven Browne
Mark Austin
Jeff Garlett
Mitch Robinson
Joe "Super JA" Anderson
Nick Stevens
Richard Hadley
Brett Thornton
Paul Bower
Andrew "Italian for turnover" Carrazzo
That should be enough to start with.
rofltown
20 Jun 2009, 17:07
Jordan Russell
Chris Yarran
Chris Johnson
Jordan Bannister
Steven Browne
Mark Austin
Jeff Garlett
Mitch Robinson
Joe "Super JA" Anderson
Nick Stevens
Richard Hadley
Brett Thornton
Paul Bower
god you guys are way to cocky, your list isnt exactly premiership quality:rolleyes:
should be a close game, can't wait too see who wins...
Wahooti Fandango
20 Jun 2009, 17:20
god you guys are way to cocky, your list isnt exactly premiership quality:rolleyes:
should be a close game, can't wait too see who wins...
We are not the one's who are 'coming'? We perform well in the bedroom.
eth-dog
20 Jun 2009, 17:44
Jordan Russell
Chris Yarran
Chris Johnson
Jordan Bannister
Steven Browne
Mark Austin
Jeff Garlett
Mitch Robinson
Joe "Super JA" Anderson
Nick Stevens
Richard Hadley
Brett Thornton
Paul Bower
I'll do it after the game. I wanna make sure of it
I'll start by saying that my hatred of Essendon is at least 10 times that of Collingwood. But its because of this hatred that I love the build up to our games. I don't rate Collingwood at all. The only good team they have beaten this year are the lions. This is why I believe the vital 4th position on the ladder is up for grabs this week. History suggests a team that finished out of the 8 the previous year will finish in the Top 4 the next year.
I'm pumped.
I reckon a Dons v Blues Anzac Day would have more feeling and spite than any other. Time for change!!!!!!!!
Good luck and break a leg;)
fishguts
20 Jun 2009, 18:00
I'll start by saying that my hatred of Essendon is at least 10 times that of Collingwood. But its because of this hatred that I love the build up to our games. I don't rate Collingwood at all. The only good team they have beaten this year are the lions. This is why I believe the vital 4th position on the ladder is up for grabs this week. History suggests a team that finished out of the 8 the previous year will finish in the Top 4 the next year.
I'm pumped.
I reckon a Dons v Blues Anzac Day would have more feeling and spite than any other. Time for change!!!!!!!!
Good luck and break a leg;)
I'll break Fev's for him :)
The Dustbin
20 Jun 2009, 18:25
Jordan Russell
Chris Yarran
Chris Johnson
Jordan Bannister
Steven Browne
Mark Austin
Jeff Garlett
Mitch Robinson
Joe "Super JA" Anderson
Nick Stevens
Richard Hadley
Brett Thornton
Paul Bower
What a terrible list. Zero quality. Great job Wayne Hughes. :thumbsu:
:o
Wahooti Fandango
20 Jun 2009, 18:31
They are a sensitive bunch. They clearly cannot handle the truth.
SirJimi05
20 Jun 2009, 18:32
I have thrown out some burley and they are starting to bite. I want to be subtle at first so I can slowly undermine their threads and then I will go out with a bang (no red card, just a yellow).
Hahaha love your work. :thumbsu:
Wahooti Fandango
20 Jun 2009, 19:24
Lol dude you haven't been on the Carlton board much in the past have you?
That is not throwing the burley out in their eyes, it is spear fishing! :D:thumbsu:
Yeah, I think you are right. :D
Ben the Gooner
20 Jun 2009, 20:24
xjlgUx7_aN0
lions_den
20 Jun 2009, 20:30
You got the support of 14 other clubs. May the force be with you! :thumbsu:
SydneyBomber
20 Jun 2009, 20:31
xjlgUx7_aN0
I fcking lol'd.
:D
That is bull shit. :thumbsd:
Pazza & Whomb, step it up. Don't be afraid to hand out a yellow card. :DTwo cards ahead of you.
The Dustbin
20 Jun 2009, 21:03
Two cards ahead of you.
Just checking - Good work Whomb. :thumbsu:
:D
SydneyBomber
20 Jun 2009, 21:10
whomb, don't card 'em - makes us look as pissweak as they are!
seriously, how soft are they?
a little bit of bait and they get all teary and start deleting posts?
no wonder I rarely post on BF anymore
:thumbsd:
whomb, don't card 'em - makes us look as pissweak as they are!
seriously, how soft are they?
a little bit of bait and they get all teary and start deleting posts?
no wonder I rarely post on BF anymore
:thumbsd:I don't agree with their intolerance, either. However we're not nearly as sensitive here; I have no problem with opposition supporters having banter with us, and I'm not infracting them for that. It's when they start baiting us on our own boards and insulting us personally that I've taken action.
EFL Boy
20 Jun 2009, 21:27
No wonder they recruited Gibbs....
Wahooti Fandango
20 Jun 2009, 21:50
xjlgUx7_aN0
LDULcZeGI4M
Ben the Gooner
20 Jun 2009, 22:18
dAsWdUo7r4c
-UK
+Carlton Board
SydneyBomber
20 Jun 2009, 22:33
this friday night carlton are to be "physically and mentally devoid of dignity..."....
D5Hv0tsvpyU
Wahooti Fandango
20 Jun 2009, 22:57
The 'real' Carlton club song.
zA52uNzx7Y4
I am tempted post it on the Carlton board as a tribute to Judd.
The Dustbin
20 Jun 2009, 23:24
<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/TVboOdX9icA&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/TVboOdX9icA&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>
fishguts
20 Jun 2009, 23:56
In light of their latest attrocity
LU13MRtSD7E
The 'real' Carlton club song.
zA52uNzx7Y4
I am tempted post it on the Carlton board as a tribute to Judd.
In fairness though, the Blues didn't have much of a choice as one of the members of Eiffel 65 made a very compelling argument as to why they should change their club song.
I'll let people figure out for themselves which member it was.
http://i40.tinypic.com/2dgkpr7.jpg
The Dustbin
21 Jun 2009, 10:17
rofl :d
The Dustbin
21 Jun 2009, 10:56
Carlton mods are tools. Not posting and getting banned for just observing their board is childish. Get a life.
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jun 2009, 10:57
In fairness though, the Blues din't have much of a choice as one of the members of Effiel 65 made a very compelling argument as to why they should change their club song.
I'll let people figure out for themselves which member it was.
That is gold. :thumbsu:
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jun 2009, 11:01
I just realised I can no longer even access the Carlton Board. I cannot even see it on the menu. This is WAR. Who ever can still post on their board needs to bring them down.
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 11:07
****ing *****
The Dustbin
21 Jun 2009, 11:17
This is WAR. Who ever can still post on their board needs to bring them down.
Last time I check I still have access to their board. Im yet to post anything.
That may change - I'll be the voice of the Essendon board. :D
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jun 2009, 11:23
Last time I check I still have access to their board. Im yet to post anything.
That may change - I'll be the voice of the Essendon board. :D
Do it for for your country (or, in this case, your footy club). :D
The Dustbin
21 Jun 2009, 11:27
Do it for for your country (or, in this case, your footy club). :D
I'll test the waters.... Stay tuned.
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 11:36
Here's a fair, balanced post from Daytripper, which, on 17 other club boards would be met with some intelligent debate (yes, even the Pies board):
Not trolling but I dont understand the confidence of some of you guys.
From Rd 3, Essendon will have notable ins McVeigh (if not suspended), Welsh, Prismall and Reimers with Hille being the notable out. Also Lucas is in far better form now then as is the team in general. Those changes have to be a positive.
Carlton will have Waite as a notable out with Jamison the notable in. Not a lot of difference there with the change being only slightly negative to the Blues.
Carlton have a better top 6 than Essendon. The Bombers have a better bottom 6 than the Blues. Hille will be a loss as he normally performs well against Carlton however Ryder has taken up the slack well. You will definitely have an edge when Ryder goes to have a spell.
People tend to forget that Essendon kicked 2.7 in the last 1/4 in rd 3. That win wasn't a fluke or a 'Bradbury' as I've so often read (much to my amusement).
Anyway should be a good game as per usual but with the betting likely to be $1.50 Blues, $2.50 Essendon I know where the value lies....
Edit : Forgot McPhee as well.
Response 1:
Go take a look at the groundless hysteria going on in your own dung-heap. Welsh to own Judd is certainly real value. :thumbsu:
Forgetting of course that Welsh shat on Judd last time they met. "But poor little Chri$ was concussed". Didn't stop Lloyd kicking 4, did it?
But Daytripper was still diplomatic.
Of course thats ridiculous. Judd is a constant danger in any game. Like I said you won't get any argument from me that your top 5 or 6 as a group are far better than our top 5 or 6.
But the strength of Essendon at the moment is the general even-ness of the team which means if one player is down it doesn't leave such a big hole.
As mentioned with the ins from rd 3 you guys are going to face a better Essendon team this time around. Thats why I find it hard to understand the optimism.
This is a dead set 50-50 game.
Meanwhile we get another quality response to the OP:
More words from another who lacks one shred of intellectual curiosity.
Then TheGeneral made a 5 year old's argument by using a third team to compare our respective lists:
Hmmm.
Carlton only beat Brisbane at home where Essendon failed.
Which prompted a valid response from Daytripper (which didn't even mention the arse-raping the umpires gave Brisbane):
Hard to hang yout hat on that game. Brisbane were without Merritt, Patful and Drummond (their best 3 defenders) as well as Charman and Leuenberger. Brown kicked 4.5 and Fevola kicked 8.3.
Good win but I wouldn't be looking at that game as a point of comparison.
Which prompted this:
If that is the case, I wouldn;t be using Round 3 as a comparison, as some are.
which doesn't even make sense. Daytripper rebutted that legitimately:
Well, not really.
Would you agree that Essendon with Welsh, McVeigh, Reimers, McPhee and Prismall in and with Hille out is a stronger team than the one that beat Carlton in Round 3 ?
Yes or No.
To which only the most biased poster in the history of teh interwebz responded:
No. You're in big trouble if players like Reimers and Welsh are in your best 22. McVeigh is hardly a world beater. The others are in the solid-average category. :)
Another response to Daytripper's assertion that a game against Brisbane is not a fair comparison:
No, one would hate to hang their hat on beating a team on their home ground, that beat the reigning premiers the following week.
Why its much more impressive to beat the bottom of the ladder Melbourne, with half their side out with swine flu....
To which there really is only one response:
I have no idea where you are coming from with that and what its supposed to mean.
Then this pearl comes up:
I've popped over to the Essendon board to have a look at what they're saying and had a good laugh at some of the posts there, suggesting Carlton supporters are arrogant etc yet nearly every single post goes on about how Essendon are going to smash us and suggests that we have no good players.
They take the piss out of young players like Bower, Austin and Joseph making it out as if they are terrible players as well as make fun of Bannister whilst they have a guy like Skipworth getting a game for them...
Make no mistake, this game is 50-50. We need the lesser players like Browne and Armfield to stand up like they have the past few weeks. Every single player needs to be accountable for an opponent, whilst we also need to make the most of our opportunties. Essendon might think that their team is so even and also like to think that our backline is terrible however their backline isn't in the greatest shape imaginable. The St Kilda game showed we can compete with the best but we can go two ways, get hungrier or let it go to our heads. Based on the past I'd say we are more likely to do the latter so it's up to the players to change their ways and not allow themselves to get complacent, this is a game where we can really make a statement.
Last time we played these guys they tore it up running off our half forward line because we had guys like Cloke, Hadley and Johnson giving us nothing. We can't let this happen again and hopefully having those players out of the side will help. Whoever plays on Monfries has an important job as he has been a key player for them in our last few games. How I'd line us up:
Bower --> Lucas
Jamison --> Lloyd
Austin --> Monfries
Thornton --> loose man in defence (or Neagle if he plays)
Joseph --> Lovett
Armfield --> Davey
Grigg --> Watson
Browne --> Mcveigh (Murphy to go head to head with him if he lines up in the square)
Changes:
In - Thornton
Out - Bannister??
Thornton has to come in but I have no idea who we are meant to leave out, I guess it will just come down to match ups and who the match comittee feel we can do without.
Some genuine lols there.
Meanwhile the excuses are coming already:
"it was our biggest win in five years!!!!!" & "our youngster are just as good as theres!!!!!"
lol, i loved the way they carried on after winning by default by 4 points.
essendon have a huge advantage of having played this week, if we can stick with them in the first quarter when they are sharp, hopefully we can pull a win.
Pathetic.
And to finish off, some quality from TheGeneral:
You can talk like a Geelong fan and think you're a great side if you won with the following scoreline.
http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/4844/24574475.jpg
They're definitely going to improve by having um, someone to back up Ryder in the ruck this time round.
Maybe they'll sit Ryder on the bench late in the game like they did against the Crows who use two ruckman in that game to wear him down.
But they'll be a stronger team without Hille who manhandled Kreuzer and Jacobs because they've added Welsh, Prismall, Reimers and McVeigh. :confused:
Yes. Yes we are.
Carlton have replaced Robinson, Russell, Johnson, Jacobs, Hadley, Thornton and Cloke with Browne, Armfield, Hampson, Jamison, Bannister and Austin who didn't play in round three. We've added more run and hardness than we got from Johnson, Russell and Hadley in round three.
Bold wouldn't get a game for Bendigo.
We've regained Jamison, but Hille is a bigger loss for Essendon than Waite with their thin ruck stocks.
Thornton might come up and add experience if he passes the fitness test.
Will he gift us another goal as well?
Can we be as cocky as the Bomber fans who think their additions are going to have it their own way?
Or do we need Kepler Hooker in our side to pump our tires?
A Carlton fan laughing at another sides key position players? :D
You're not too bright, are you?
Extreme Ironing.
Are you Adrian Dodoro?
I guess their absentees were responsible for Judd kicking the winner from a Johnstone turnover.
Brisbane beat Hawthorn the next week without those players.
They also lost us to at the Dome with those players.
We beat them at the Gabba last year.
Our games against St Kilda and Richmond were better than Essendon's.
Our game against Hawthorn was better. Your point?
But you beat the Pies...
In other words, the shit I did this morning would be one of their best posters.
From your reporter in the field, Brian Fantana.
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jun 2009, 11:48
Someone post this on the Carlton board,
UXoNE14U_zM
preceded by:
You guys are crap, but...
[insert video]
Colin D'Cops
21 Jun 2009, 11:56
I'll test the waters.... Stay tuned.
http://www.gifs.net/Animation11/Jobs_and_People/Soldiers/Yellow_soldier.gif
I'll go into battle as well if required. I'll throw some grenades, and attempt to bring down the Carlton army. Tell me the where-abouts we plan to attack, and I'm in. :thumbsu::D
http://www.gifs.net/Animation11/Everything_Else/Explosives/Grenade.gif
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 11:57
We have a winner:
Essendon have a board?
It looks more like a public urinal with the kids on there.
Also, let's see who can beat my record of not getting infracted over there. I called parrot a ****wit and got away with it. Who can top that? :cool:
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jun 2009, 11:59
^^ The General is the biggest douche on BF. He is even worse than shotta. :eek:
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 12:00
The good thing about urinals is that they provoke discussion and banter.
Colin D'Cops
21 Jun 2009, 12:09
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=14857584&postcount=214
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 12:10
Don't worry boys, I'm sure we'll receive a cash settlement if we go along with their ludicrous statements.
You guys have every right to be cocky for this game, I mean the ease in which you smshed us last time basically says that you only have to turn up to win!!! :rolleyes:
Newsflash guys, if you turn it over as much a you did against the Dees on Friday night you will lose, was far from a good display against what is a bloody awful footy team.
You may win, but if your boys go in expecting to win, without putting in the hard yards, they will get their pants pulled down!
Skeeta Olly
21 Jun 2009, 12:36
You may win, but if your boys go in expecting to win, without putting in the hard yards, they will get their pants pulled down!
First hand experience?
SirJimi05
21 Jun 2009, 12:36
^^ The General is the biggest douche on BF. He is even worse than shotta. :eek:
He is also the most bias poster on BF. Just have a look at the way he describes Carlton players or even just one passage of play. It is so embarrassing.
Colin D'Cops
21 Jun 2009, 12:38
You guys have every right to be cocky for this game, I mean the ease in which you smshed us last time basically says that you only have to turn up to win!!!
That would be correct. Your point?
He is also the most bias poster on BF. Just have a look at the way he describes Carlton players or even just one passage of play. It is so embarrassing.
LOL, mate that is a long bow to draw given some of the drivel that has been posted in this thread!
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 13:00
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=560232
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=562705
Enjoy.:)
B-Bomber
21 Jun 2009, 13:20
First hand experience?
If that happens, at least we'll net a nice $5,000 :D
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 13:59
I don't know this Megatron Don fella, but if RIG was here, I'd ask about the phantom rule which cost me my Carlton board access.
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 14:01
mediumsizered is the biggest sook I have ever seen. Which is funny since he's a 50 year old man.
Seriously is a joke.
Ludwig van Bertstare
21 Jun 2009, 14:05
I don't know this Megatron Don fella, but if RIG was here, I'd ask about the phantom rule which cost me my Carlton board access.
Quit living in the past!
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jun 2009, 14:07
BtG you have just reaffirmed your awesomeness. :thumbsu: That shit is hilarious.
Quit living in the past!You're living in the past, man.
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 14:44
Part II:
It should not have been in the public domain in the first place. If the Mods on the Essendon board have allowed this to stay then they are damaging the integrity of the penalty system which is in place on BF to try & ensure discussion remains on topic, non-personal, non-offensive & does not breach any relevant laws/regulations (among other things).
Even so, a yellow card for posting something in the public domain, and breaching a rule which isn't listed under forum rules seems quite harsh.
You hear that Whomb? You're "damaging the integrity of the penalty system which is in place on BF". Do you want that on your conscience? Do you?
Ludwig van Bertstare
21 Jun 2009, 14:54
Part II:
You hear that Whomb? You're "damaging the integrity of the penalty system which is in place on BF". Do you want that on your conscience? Do you?
LOL.
It isn't a place to remove any views that you do not share or are against your own. It's a place where people are allowed to talk about football and other things in a (should be) lightly moderated manner.
I don't think this place was created to be filled pro-Carlton propaganda with policing that would be comparable to the Nazi regime.
This is a classic case of giving shit, but not having the balls to be able to take it back.
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 14:58
You have no integrity at all whomb. None. Have fun sleeping tonight.
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 14:59
I want to ask our current and ex-mods if they know of any such rule?
Ludwig van Bertstare
21 Jun 2009, 15:01
It's in place but I don't think it should be taken to extreme levels. That's just me and I'm sure Whomb feels that way too.
I tried to make it a place opposition supporters could have some friendly banter, obviously mediumsizered feels different and thinks anything anti-Carlton is cause for great punishment.
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 15:06
It's in place but I don't think it should be taken to extreme levels. That's just me and I'm sure Whomb feels that way too.
It's interesting that it's not listed under forum rules, yet mediumsizered considers it yellow card worthy. Or maybe it's because I think that Carlton's shit does stink.
I tried to make it a place opposition supporters could have some friendly banter, obviously mediumsizered feels different and thinks anything anti-Carlton is cause for great punishment.
Which is why I love posting here. It's a stupid cliche, but I wouldn't change a thing about the moderation here.
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 15:06
Let's look at this post from medium on the main board today.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=14858654&postcount=79
Originally Posted by mediumsizered View Post
You do understand that there is no evidence to suggest the club is involved in any such behaviour now & in fact since John Elliott was voted out as President 7 years ago. Of course if you can prove otherwise, go right ahead. It would be like saying that St Kilda are still the party club, because that was the reputation they carried through the '80s & '90s.
FWIW, I don't believe any ex-Carlton players have died as a result of salary cap breaches, Fevola idiocy or any alleged rape scandals. Is your team able to say the same thing about the alleged drug culture that existed there?
And that's after Fred edited it.
That should be a red-card the way we are being picked off.
I want to ask our current and ex-mods if they know of any such rule?
As jack said in a few good men "I run my unit how i run my unit".
There are some guidlines to running the team boards but at the end of the day the degree of strictness you want to apply is strictly up to you. In the 4 years as a mod(not just any mod, a super mod) I liked a laid back board so thats how the bomber and nfl boards were run, some liked to keep any trouble at arms length by being strict, each to their own.
I tried to make it a place opposition supporters could have some friendly banter, obviously mediumsizered feels different and thinks anything anti-Carlton is cause for great punishment.That's my train of thought, too. I've let a lot of banter posted on here go so far; it's when they start attacking us as a club or personally that I've infracted people.
Singling out individual mods and attacking them probably isn't recommended, though.
**** me I'm not going to have a life this week.
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 15:10
What I meant was, are you allowed to post infraction notices?
I'd have thought an offence worth 3 points would be worthy of making the rules list.
Ludwig van Bertstare
21 Jun 2009, 15:10
What I meant was, are you allowed to post infraction notices?
I'd have thought an offence worth 3 points would be worthy of making the rules list.
No, you're not allowed to post them.
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 15:20
That's fine then, but I'd have thought a warning (given that it's not listed in the rules, or even alluded to) was a better course of action than a yellow card and a board ban.
Thank God Whomb and pazza are level headed.
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 15:20
Mediumsizered is a blatant troll but i pity the fool who tries to stand up to him. He thrives with his Nazi style way of moderating. One of the Richmond mods are almost as bad and probably even less subtle with his trolling.
I think I know who you're reffering to.
While I firmly disagree with the moderating on the Carlton board, try to refrain from singling out particular mods and attacking them.
Let's get this thread back to being about smashing Carlton; the club and team.
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 15:26
Jordan Bannister is likely to get another game.
Discuss.
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 15:28
Ok, let's reffer to the mod we don't like as Mr X.
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 15:28
Jordan Bannister is likely to get another game.
Discuss.
That in itself is the cure for depression.
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 15:30
Ok, let's reffer to the mod we don't like as Mr X.
Ms. R?
Ludwig van Bertstare
21 Jun 2009, 15:34
Victor Brincat, or is he Mr. A?
Ben the Gooner
21 Jun 2009, 15:35
Wkdxr168kV8
m1bAgnU0dQI
tdusQqwzEEQ
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 15:36
Ms. R?
The grammar Nazi
wazzabp
21 Jun 2009, 15:49
Should be another great game, I certainly hope we can come out, play our best footy and take the 4 points from the game.
We need to play well across the whole field, the Blues are going pretty well though.
betathenknights
21 Jun 2009, 16:27
bout time 4 Mcphee to b dropped
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 16:43
bout time 4 Mcphee to b dropped
Now which Carlton supporter has the same IP as this guy mods?
betathenknights
21 Jun 2009, 16:50
Mcphee is the new Mark Bolton
Zakarakus in Mcphee out.
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jun 2009, 16:57
If you are going to create an account to troll, then at least get the username right; it should be beathanknights.
it's when they start attacking us as a club or personally that I've infracted people.
With all due respect Whomb that is what the Bomber supporters do on our Board and then start complaining when they are carded and have access removed. :confused:
Yet you let all and sundry know that you dont agree with the Moderating on our Carlton Board?? It reeks of Double Standards and Rose Coloured Glasses.
Just my thoughts. :)
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jun 2009, 16:59
With all due respect Whomb that is what the Bomber supporters do on our Board and then start complaining when they are carded and have access removed. :confused:
Yet you let all and sundry know that you dont agree with the Moderating on our Carlton Board?? It reeks of Double Standards and Rose Coloured Glasses.
The punishment does not fit the crime. One of our posters got banned for just looking at your board. :confused: By the way, your team is a joke with Bannister in it.
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 17:01
They question you need to ask is at what level does whomb step in. Last time I checked he has only infracted 2 posters compared to mediumsizered bannign the majority of us from your board.
howiehowie
21 Jun 2009, 17:01
It;s going to be a long week, with those sub-intellectuals posting here, obviously there;s a clear lack of stimulation to be had on the Essendon Board hence their drifting over here spouting mindless, inane drivel.When you travel to a foreign country, it doesn't hurt to speak a little of the local dialect.
:confused: :confused:
spouting - verb - informal; to state or declaim volubly or in an oratorical manner: He spouted his theories on foreign policy for the better part of the night.
mindless - adjective - without intelligence; senseless: a mindless creature.
inane - adjective - lacking sense, significance, or ideas; silly: inane questions.
drivel - noun - childish, silly, or meaningless talk or thinking; nonsense; twaddle
Is there some part of that you don;t understand, you obtuse half wit.
A reminder this isn;t Bay 13.
I responded to the last post quite politely outlining that the joke had gone way over his head and was actually a reference to the Carlton board being a foreign country and mindless, inane drivel being their dialect and my post gets deleted.
It was in no way offensive and was a valid retort to this idiot that didn't get a simple joke and spent 15 minutes on dictionary.com coming up with an absolutely stellar comeback that showed his comprehension skills are inadequate for human consumption.
The mods over there are so precious.
The punishment does not fit the crime. One of our posters got banned for just looking at your board. :confused: By the way, your team is a joke with Bannister in it.
If someone got banned for looking that is wrong i have no issue with that. :thumbsu:
I am all for competitive banter but personall attacks and attacking the club are not on and that is what is happening on our board!!
To respond to HowieHowie..
A joke is not allways seen in the same light as the poster intended it to be. Especially when you bag the teams players and attack other members!
I would never come on here and Bag half of your list and call Bomber supporters Idiots... if i did i would expect a ban and a card. Respect is a 2 way street.
Wahooti Fandango
21 Jun 2009, 17:04
If someone got banned for looking that is wrong i have no issue with that. :thumbsu:
I am all for competitive banter but personall attacks and attacking the club are not on and that is what is happening on our board!!
I agree that you should not go to other boards to just rip into the other team, but some banter is good. It just seems that the carlton mods are too quick to step in.
fishguts
21 Jun 2009, 17:08
I would say there is no banter on the Carlton boards. One of the mods steps in and bans someone who posts something remotely anti-Carlton.
He is the most hipocritical moderator on this site, even this morning he made a post which was quoted in this thread that would've received a red had it been adjudged on the Carlton board standards.