View Full Version : Said it once said it a million times
windyhill
22 Feb 2003, 22:50
Jacobs/Bolton...not convinced......the way some Essendon people go on about these two blokes.
Agree wholeheartedly! Long way off convincing me.
Scotland on the other hand looks to have really put his hand up!
Stealth bomber
22 Feb 2003, 23:21
Well, it isn't as if any of the other blokes on the field did anything worth writing home about.
Is this game worth getting upset over? This isn't like past preseason comps where half the side is missing - most of the stars were playing, and they did SFA.
windyhill
22 Feb 2003, 23:25
Just a general comment Stealth, if someone could point out where these two blokes have taken a game by the scruff of a neck....bolton for one, very lucky to be still at the club, his high placement in the draft is the thing that saved him, played a couple of reasonable games late in `02.......reasonable, and he has his own fan club, we all know what happens to " cult figures"...they get found out.
Stealth bomber
22 Feb 2003, 23:34
I thought Bolton was alright at the end of the year, though he was pretty shocking prior to that. I don't particularly fancy his skills any more or less than the rest of the McVeigh/Richards/Harvey/Davies types.
Jacobs is probably better than average. I wouldn't say the guy is a matchwinner or anything, but I think he is worth keeping around.
Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Is this game worth getting upset over? This isn't like past preseason comps where half the side is missing - most of the stars were playing, and they did SFA.
But when you have a bunch of disinteresting players in self-preservation mode, you are always going to get a blowout like that. I for one am not concerned. Did you see our bench for the majority of the game? Sheed's played attacking players in Ramanauskas and Misiti sparingly, and had Fletcher and Hird sitting on the bench by the end. It was good just to get a run. Remember, those Kangaroo players had a new coach to impress. They'll continue to play mickey-mouse rules in a mickey-mouse competition, whist we prepare for our tilt at the flag.
We know our club, especially a one under Sheedy, all too well.
Bolton has never really impressed me. Perhaps his last chance.
Altho your a bit harsh on Jacobs I reckon. Sure, he wont be a fletcher, but there is a place there for him.
go team
23 Feb 2003, 10:39
Mark Bolton put in a pretty damn good game against the Eagles in the final last year. Not a match winning performance, but still very good.
Jacobs? :confused:
Bolton yes. But Danny? :confused:
Yes, Bolts does have his own fan club... but that doesn't mean we're all blind to his faults or the fact that he still has a lot to prove. I can't speak for the rest of the NABers, but for me, one of the reasons why I support him is because he's so lovely in person, and for those who know of what happened after the best and fairest last year, that is indicative of the sort of person he is.
His second half of last season was a vast improvement on his previous form, and when you look at the team votes, I think he polled votes in every game after the long weekend break or thereabouts.
However, naturally, half a good season doesn't make a player, especially one that has been around for as long as he has and up until now has not been at all impressive, particularly for being such a high draft pick. I hope he continues with the form he showed toward the end of 2002 and builds upon it, otherwise, yes, he's had his chance and I wouldn't be surprised to see him go.
I don't agree with including Jacobs in the same category though. He has made his mark in the team, has shown himself to be versatile, solid in defence, has a great pair of hands and was one of the best on ground in the 2001 Grand Final. Yes, at times, he still makes mistakes, but show me a player who doesn't???
You guys are very harsh - you are talking about 2 of our best performing players of last year. Jacobs was outstanding in the back half for the first half of last year and was in the running for All-Australian until he dropped off in the 2nd half of the year - but an excellent year overall from a player who hadn't done a thing prior to 2002.
Bolton on the other hand showed nothing at the start of 2002 (just as he hadn't in around 4 years prior that) but from half way through til now (besides getting rubbed out in the final last year) hasn't put a foot wrong since.
Some fans do get carried away a bit though, but you shouldn't be blaming these 2 guys after the best years of their careers so far. Want someone to have a go at - try McVeigh, Henneman, Hille, Davies, Richards, Bannister - these guys haven't done a thing yet, or Barney - he did nothing last year.
Originally posted by windyhill
Jacobs/Bolton...not convinced......the way some Essendon people go on about these two blokes.
I think that both of them performed better in 2002 than any of the delisted players, which is one reason why they are still there.
Both of them stepped up considerably last year and I am expecting them to continue with their improvement again this year.
There are quite a few players who should be put under the microscope b4 these 2
windyhill
24 Feb 2003, 16:42
I would take Heff, Moorcroft and Blumfield any day of the year before Bolton and Jacobs, it came down to money my friend, Bolton and jacobs are on peanuts, delisting them would have saved stuff all. The other three were on much better money especially Heff/Blumfield.
myTbombers
24 Feb 2003, 21:04
bolton will have a great year this year if fit... he played great in defence last year when he finally got his chance...what games r u ppl at...and as for jacobs, he took our most no. of marks?? that must say his a bit of all right..he can play, get of these guys backs and support them so they can play great footy
windyhill
25 Feb 2003, 15:06
bolton was ok against Geelong at Colonial, so people kept telling me, he still had 6 kicked on him.
I don't know what club you guys were watching last year. After years of crapness, Bolton finally put it together and became regular in 2002. He had an excellent season. I admit I thought it was never going to happen, but he finally started playing like a footballer who is in the best 20 each week.
Jacobs is in a similar boat to Bolton, but better. These two guys have been our big improvers. There are plenty of other players to slag off.
Originally posted by Dan26
There are plenty of other players to slag off.
Like Mark Mc****enViegh
windyhill
27 Feb 2003, 17:05
There are plenty of other players to slag off.
Name them.
Name them.
The ones we got rid of for starters. They were the targets for most of the criticism. Alessio, Henneman (when will he do anything?), Davies (will he break through?), Bullen, McVeigh perhaps. Mercuri even is at a vital stage of his career where he needs to have more ouput. Hasn't done a great deal since '99 which is 4 years ago. Rioli always looks like he is going to be a superstar, but doesn't consistently deliver. He should be a superstar, but he isn't. He needs to step up too. Still waiting for him to run riot.
As for Bolton - I would have thought Bomber fans like you would be pleased with a 200% improvement on what he had given us in previous years. We're not asking for every player to be of State of Origin standard.
As for your ciriticism of Jacobs - don't know where that one came from. Don't agree, at all but you're entitled to your opinion.
Originally posted by M29
Like Mark Mc****enViegh
yep, i cant stand him.
windyhill
28 Feb 2003, 15:42
The ones we got rid of for starters. They were the targets for most of the criticism. Alessio, Henneman (when will he do anything?), Davies (will he break through?), Bullen, McVeigh perhaps. Mercuri even is at a vital stage of his career where he needs to have more ouput. Hasn't done a great deal since '99 which is 4 years ago. Rioli always looks like he is going to be a superstar, but doesn't consistently deliver. He should be a superstar, but he isn't. He needs to step up too. Still waiting for him to run riot.
As for Bolton - I would have thought Bomber fans like you would be pleased with a 200% improvement on what he had given us in previous years. We're not asking for every player to be of State of Origin standard.
As for your ciriticism of Jacobs - don't know where that one came from. Don't agree, at all but you're entitled to your opinion. alessio / henneman, you will have to join the queue there. Davies, throw him in the deep end, give him a chance the way bolton has. Mercuri, given a good run with injury we all know what he is capable of. Rioli, again your saying nothing new here.
Jacobs at times looks like he could not be stuffed, very lacksadasical, good word that. Not hard for bolton to improve on what he has served up previously, i still say it was only late in `02 that he actually contributed something of value, just in time to save his neck.
Johnny......
Are you going tomorrow ???
If so Do you want a lift ???
windyhill
28 Feb 2003, 16:00
Thank you very much for the offer mate. I`m working, hopefully half a day, so i can then get dropped in there by one of the boys at work, once again, thank you.
Jacobs at times looks like he could not be stuffed.
Since when? Jacobs has been nothing short of excellent for the past 18 months.
windyhill
28 Feb 2003, 16:14
Can be half hearted, watch closely.
I do watch closely. Sober too! ;)
windyhill
28 Feb 2003, 16:56
Which must explain why you owe me one ton.
Stealth bomber
28 Feb 2003, 22:14
Henneman and McVeigh are under my pump this year.
My expectations of guys like Davies, Richards, Harvey, McGrath et all were never all that high to begin with. But I was under the impression that Henneman and McVeigh were supposed to be really special players. The fact they were given guernseys #3 and #10 respectively probably has something to do with that.
In early 01' it looked like McVeigh may have had a breakout season, but nothing happened.
I really cannot remember the last time Henneman did anything of note. I know the guy's been hurt, but every time he came back it seemed like Sheedy was counting on his return to mean something, and it never did. Certainly the ruck experiment with him has amounted to absolutely squat.
Problem with Henneman, is that he makes one big mistake each game. I'm not talking small mistakes here. He makes one huge clanger every time he takes the field.
new season - everything's wiped clean.. i'm taking a new outlook on every player this year.
eastaugh36
3 Mar 2003, 14:04
I would take Heff, Moorcroft and Blumfield any day of the year before Bolton and Jacobs, it came down to money my friend, Bolton and jacobs are on peanuts, delisting them would have saved stuff all. The other three were on much better money especially Heff/Blumfield.
I cant believe Im reading this ! As if you would take Heffernan and Moorcroft before Jacobs !!!!!! or even Bolton ! You over value heffernan. Jacobs will be a vital cog in our defence for the next 10 years. Mark my words.
windyhill
3 Mar 2003, 19:57
Marked.
eastaugh36
4 Mar 2003, 14:29
Marked.
good
Bolton has had one good half season. It just so happens that this was the last half season. Honestly I believe he is a confidence player, and the confidence that he gains from the NAB can only assist him. I have no doubt on his end of season performances that he is in our best 22.
Maybe he will never been a true superstar, but he will be a legitimate cult hero around the club. All power to him.
McVeigh is player who deserves to be under the pump, and I believe so should Cory McGrath. Both have talent and flair, but neither have shown any ability to deliver the talent when it counts. This is their make or break season.
As for Danny J, he continues to grow as a player, I don't think he has much to prove.
Stealth bomber
7 Mar 2003, 00:59
I think McVeigh has a confidence problem, stemming from the infamous collision with Hird last year. Never seemed to want to go hard into a pack after that.