View Full Version : Niall McKeever
Grimreepah
25 Jun 2009, 19:44
International rookie
http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4906/mckeever.jpg
Summary:
* pick 67 in the 2009 rookie draft (#16 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=16484979&postcount=16))
* 2010 review (#32 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=18886467&postcount=32))
* Queensland vs Western Australia (#62 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=21353759&postcount=62))
* debut: round 14 vs Fremantle (#74 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=21417744&postcount=74))
* stuttering run up for goal (#136 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22031121&postcount=136))
* 2011 review (#153 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22622258&postcount=153))
* retained as an International Rookie (#163 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22713342&postcount=163))
* elevated to senior list (#192 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=23642339&postcount=192))
Contract status: 2012 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22713342&postcount=163)
Merrett-Murray Medal results:
2010: -
2011: 20th (9.5 votes)
Coaches' votes:
2010: -
2011 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22443663&postcount=59): 0
Tribunal record:
none
Grimreepah
25 Jun 2009, 19:44
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/1201/mckeever2.jpg
Introduction Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=594946)
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/irish-young-guns-try-their-luck/2008/11/08/1225561205584.html)
Irish young guns here to try their AFL luck
Dan Silkstone
November 9, 2008
IRELAND'S international rules team may have left Australia's shores but the Emerald Isle's racehorses are not the only interlopers visiting Melbourne this week.
Today, two of Irish football's most gifted youngsters touch down at Tullamarine, hoping that the adventure of a lifetime can be translated into a contract with an AFL team.
McKeever is taller — "a gangly six-foot-six-type" — who Nixon compares to Nick Riewoldt. "He ran a 14.5 beep test for us which puts him in elite AFL category and he has barely done any training."
http://img106.imageshack.us/img106/4906/mckeever.jpg
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/irish-are-running-hot/2008/11/12/1226318743800.html)
Irish are running hot
Dan Silkstone
November 13, 2008
HEAVING, beet-red and slathered in zinc cream the two young Irishmen hurled themselves onto the grass at Gosch's Paddock yesterday. And smiled.
Welcome to Australia.
"It's tough, no doubt about it," said 19-year-old County Antrim man Niall McKeever after training with Richmond's senior group. "The weather is just brutal."
http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/5373/mckeeverrichmond.jpg
Link (http://www.hoganstand.com/antrim/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=110481)
Antrim duo offered AFL trials
22 April 2009
Rising Antrim football stars Niall McKeever and Thomas McCann have been invited for trials with AFL clubs after the Aussie Rules season ends in September.
It follows last week's training camp in Dublin which was organised by controversial players' agent Ricky Nixon and was attended by scouts from Brisbane Lions, North Melbourne, Geelong, Richmond and St. Kilda. McKeever and McCann are two of up to a dozen names associated with Nixon's recruiting scheme.
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,25672317-5016181,00.html)
Ulster tearaway Niall McKeever signs for Brisbane Lions
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
Andrew Hamilton
June 23, 2009 12:00am
BRISBANE have plucked another rising talent from the Emerald Island, signing Ulster speedster Niall McKeever to a two-year-deal.
It was struck on the weekend when Brisbane football manager Graeme Allan dropped by his home north of Belfast with a contract, some Lions gear and a couple of Sherrins with which to hone his skills.
Most players are first invited out on a trial basis, but McKeever has inked a two-year-deal as an international rookie and will join his teammates when they reconvene for the 2010 pre-season in November.
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/4906/mckeever.jpg
Link (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/the_championship/8116218.stm)
McKeever signs for Brisbane Lions
Antrim footballer Niall McKeever has signed a professional contract with AFL outfit Brisbane Lions and will fly to Australia in November.
The 20-year-old was offered a contract last month after impressing in two trials and put pen to paper in his Portglenone home this week.
McKeever has joined the Lions on a two-year international rookie contract.
The Saffrons midfielder is expected to play an important role in this Saturday's Ulster SFC game with Cavan.
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7018/mckeever3.jpg
Link (http://www.hoganstand.com/Antrim/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=113722)
McKeever completes AFL switch
24 June 2009
Antrim midfielder Niall McKeever has signed a professional contract with AFL club Brisbane Lions after weeks of speculation surrounded the youngster with a move 'Down Under'.
The 20-year-old's signature was understood to be wanted by a number of AFL clubs, and he had been offered a contract by the Lions last month after impressing in two trials.
Lehmo87
25 Jun 2009, 20:02
I get a really good vibe from this guy. Just the way he speaks of his desire to play for the Lions really gives you the impression that he's not going to waste this opportunity. He seems very well built too compared to some Irish recruits. I hope he brings some sunscreen with him too - he is going to look like he's come out of an oven by the end of the summer! :p
Don't want to burst anyones' bubble but chances are that he's scottish.
The Flying Belgian
25 Jun 2009, 21:17
Don't want to burst anyones' bubble but chances are that he's scottish.
:confused:
What, because his last name has a "Mc"? Plenty of Macs in Ireland & Northern Ireland. Technically he's British, not Irish (yes, I know my Irish history, so no need to correct :D ). And McKeever is similar in structure (maybe the same derivation) as McIvor.
a) He's from Antrim, Northern Ireland (one of the branches of my family tree hails from here, scottish interestingly enough). Basically what happened was the British wanted to lay more of a claim to Ireland, cleared out a lot of the natives. The expectation was for the english to migrate there and make it theirs, however they couldn't be assed and there was an influx of scottish there. I always found it amusing that the IRA was bombing the wrong city all that time.
b) The mac does indicate gaelic origin rather than gaeilege.
c) Irish history is funny.
d) I said chances, even more chance is that he's a bitsa which I always prefer.
By the way not intending it as a correction, I just wanted someone to take the bait so I could bring up the topic in more detail :D.
The Flying Belgian
25 Jun 2009, 22:08
a) He's from Antrim, Northern Ireland (one of the branches of my family tree hails from here, scottish interestingly enough). Basically what happened was the British wanted to lay more of a claim to Ireland, cleared out a lot of the natives. The expectation was for the english to migrate there and make it theirs, however they couldn't be assed and there was an influx of scottish there. I always found it amusing that the IRA was bombing the wrong city all that time.
b) The mac does indicate gaelic origin rather than gaeilege.
c) Irish history is funny.
d) I said chances, even more chance is that he's a bitsa which I always prefer.
By the way not intending it as a correction, I just wanted someone to take the bait so I could bring up the topic in more detail :D.
Glad I could oblige! :D :thumbsu: I've got Welsh ancestry myself - no Jonesed, Williamsed or Evansed on our list! :cool:
Anyone know the correct pronunciation of his name?
Is it "kneeall" or "nighall"?
TheBrownDog
29 Jul 2009, 02:49
McKeever helps set up and score his own point in the 2009 Ulster Championship game. Moves well for a big fella.
TKdaSJ72yrs
The Flying Belgian
29 Jul 2009, 19:44
Yep, 99% sure that was the bloke I saw at training last week. Geez, he's got some leap on him!
:confused:
What, because his last name has a "Mc"? Plenty of Macs in Ireland & Northern Ireland. Technically he's British, not Irish (yes, I know my Irish history, so no need to correct :D ). And McKeever is similar in structure (maybe the same derivation) as McIvor.
Are you kidding me? He is Irish, never be stupid enough to ask an Irish person their nationality, is it an insult to all who suffered through the troubles over here. And a quick tip for you is if he plays Gaelic he's Irish and will be damn proud of me no technically about it. Don't claim to know our culture when it's obvious you havn't a clue, calling him british is the same as me calling you british and since to become an australian citizen an oath of allegience has to be taken to the queen your a lot closer to being british. His name is pronounced Nighail.
The Flying Belgian
7 Aug 2009, 14:00
Wow, what a massive waste of typing. You did read where I said there's no need to correct? And the big grin? And the word "technically"?
Admittedly it was only first year of university but I did quite a bit of reading on the Easter Uprising, Sinn Fein and other aspect of Irish nationalism. OK, I did a fair bit of drinking at the time, so many of the finer details were lost in a whisky bottle, but I retained enough to be able to make salient points.
But maybe you should think twice about castigating people on your perception of what they wrote in between changing a nappy and pulling a splinter out of my daughters hand?
Mr Ripper
7 Oct 2009, 13:50
"The Decongestant" is on his way
A brief mention. (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/gaa-chief-cooney-latest-to-back-home-front-over-oz-14523077.html)
Derry’s Christy McKaigue and Antrim’s Niall McKeever head Down Under later this month, but Cooney is confident the GAA is at last winning its battle to hold on to its best young talent.
TheBrownDog
7 Oct 2009, 16:20
what position does he play?
He's extremely tall and runs like the wind.
Grimreepah
10 Dec 2009, 23:22
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,26468067-5016169,00.html)
The Lions noticed McKeever when he headlined an incredible run by his tiny county Antrim in which they went all the way to an Ulster final against powerhouse Tyronne.
Antrim had not been to a final in decades and McKeever's performances put him firmly in the sights of several AFL clubs, most notably grand finalists St Kilda.
To avoid missing out on the 198cm, 95kg speedster during the hectic post-season recruiting period, Brisbane football manager Graeme Allan flew to Ireland mid-season to secure his signature.
Most Irish players are first invited out on a trial basis but McKeever inked a two-year-deal as an international rookie and is guaranteed to earn a minimum of $120,000.
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/4906/mckeever.jpg
Grimreepah
15 Dec 2009, 09:44
Now officially a Lion after being taken at pick 67 in the Rookie Draft.
Grimreepah
22 Dec 2009, 14:56
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/88382/default.aspx)
After closely following the AFL careers of fellow Irishmen Tadgh Kennelly and Martin Clarke, the 20 year-old from Portglenone quickly became an avid football fan and regularly watched the weekly wrap of AFL action which screened in his hometown on Saturday mornings.
McKeever grew to support the Brisbane Lions after hearing relayed stories of the exciting Gabba atmosphere from his brother who occasionally made the trip up the Pacific Highway to watch Lions matches while temporarily living on the Gold Coast.
http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/4906/mckeever.jpg
McKeever after losing 1-18 to 0-15 in the Ulster final
thoselionslads
22 Dec 2009, 15:15
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,26468067-5016169,00.html)
I wonder if those stats about his height/weight are correct. He doesn't look as tall/heavy as that in the flesh..maybe its my eyes
Lace Out
22 Dec 2009, 15:31
I wonder if those stats about his height/weight are correct. He doesn't look as tall/heavy as that in the flesh..maybe its my eyes
Agree that surely he's not 95kg.
Grimreepah
22 Dec 2009, 15:32
Link (http://antrim.gaa.ie/news/details/?id=1776)
His 6’ 5’’ frame and high fielding ability attracted the attention of Aussie Rules scouts and after two trials, one in Mayo and the other in Dublin, he was contacted by the Lions club and offered a contract, which he duly accepted.
I'm guessing 'high fielding ability' means being able to catch the ball a long way off the ground. Can anyone confirm?
TheBrownDog
22 Dec 2009, 15:35
Link (http://antrim.gaa.ie/news/details/?id=1776)
I'm guessing 'high fielding ability' means being able to catch the ball a long way off the ground. Can anyone confirm?
Confirmed.
Basically means marking, except they don't have a marking rule... yet. (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/gaa-rule-changes-off-the-mark-harte-14594296.html)
Grimreepah
22 Dec 2009, 15:56
Cheers Browndog.
Also some comments from Hanley (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=121552)
"Since Colm Begley left to play for St Kilda, I've been the only Irish player at the club so for me personally it was fantastic when Niall joined," former Mayo star Hanley said.
"Niall's worked really hard to get where he is and he's fitted in with all of the players. He's getting used to all of the training and his attitude is spot on. He's going to be a star if he has a bit of luck with injuries."
http://img686.imageshack.us/img686/4906/mckeever.jpg
Grimreepah
22 Dec 2009, 16:00
what position does he play?
Graham Allan (http://www.thefreelibrary.com/BRISBANE+INVEST+IN+DIAMOND.-a0213917332)
"He has the physical attributes to be a success, he is a good size and is very quick and we believe he could make a key defender," Allan said.
BigCat2
23 Dec 2009, 21:29
Doesn't he have elite endurance as well without ever being in a professional environment? So if he can pick up kicking, marking, decision making, game reading skills quickly, he could be the next Nick Riewoldt. ;)
Grimreepah
25 Jan 2010, 13:07
2010 Player Questionnaire (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/88900/default.aspx)
http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4906/mckeever.jpg
TheBrownDog
25 Jan 2010, 18:42
Doesn't he have elite endurance as well without ever being in a professional environment? So if he can pick up kicking, marking, decision making, game reading skills quickly, he could be the next Nick Riewoldt. ;)
Why would he need kicking skills to be the next Riewoldt? ;)
Grimreepah
19 Apr 2010, 05:50
AFLQ (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=11850189§ionID=56333)
vs Morningside
His Irish compatriot Niall McKeever also did well in defence, keeping Panthers full-forward Shaun Mugavin to one goal.
Grimreepah
10 May 2010, 13:06
AFLQ (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/93945/default.aspx)
vs Labrador
A striking performance by first-year rookie list player Bryce Retzlaff and the continued development of tall Irishman Niall McKeever were the only bright spots on an otherwise disappointing day for the Brisbane Lions Reserves on Saturday.
McKeever continued to do everything asked of him in a defensive role and is learning more with every outing.
http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/7018/mckeever3.jpg
TheBrownDog
14 May 2010, 16:30
He done a medial on Wednesday night out of action for 6-8 weeks at this stage.:thumbsd::footy:
Any Lions player over 190cm should be cryogenically frozen until we negotiate a peace treaty with the footy gods.
Grimreepah
21 Jun 2010, 02:55
AFLQ (http://www.aflq.com.au/index.php?id=5&tx_ttnews[pointer]=1&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=88&tx_ttnews[backPid]=129&cHash=0bf6c63fe2)
vs Southport
Cleve Hughes booted 5.5 in a spirited contest against Irishman Niall McKeever, who would have left satisfied that he made the big Shark win every kick.
and this...
The next effort was almost the funniest thing I have ever seen or heard on a footy field.
It is midway through the final quarter, and McRae yells out for Niall to come towards the bench. Niall runs his arse off and gets to within about 15 metres and the following unfolds.
McRae "How you feeling?"
McKeever "Good thanks coach"
McRae "Well how about a run on the wing"
McKeever "No, I'll be right thanks"
He then turns and runs back to defense.
Let's just say the Lions bench had a fair chuckle about it, and just as it died down, the runner looked up to McRae and said "I guess that was a no!!" :D
:D
Grimreepah
23 Aug 2010, 13:13
AFLQ (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/100930/default.aspx)
vs Labrador
Irishman Niall McKeever has rarely been out of the Lions’ best player list and he again played with plenty of heart and determination in what has been a solid learning season for him.
http://a.imageshack.us/img696/1201/mckeever2.jpg
Grimreepah
30 Aug 2010, 10:53
2010 End of Season Review
Games - 0
Best and Fairest - n/a
Dreamteam - 0 points; $77,800 ($-)
Supercoach - 0 points; $83,400 ($-)
AFLQ stats (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?action=PSTATS&client=1-109-81227-103073-11702975&pID=190889040&pname=Niall%20Mckeever&news_task=DETAIL)
Games - 14
Goals - 1
Best (top 6) - 6
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101431/default.aspx)
Niall McKeever*: For a project player from Ireland that had never picked up a footy before he came to the Lions, McKeever was a revelation. Despite the steep learning curve, he made fullback his home in the reserves. A definite plus for the Lions.
http://img837.imageshack.us/img837/4906/mckeever.jpg
Grimreepah
3 Dec 2010, 06:14
Preseason Update (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/105872/default.aspx)
Jack Redden and Niall McKeever have starred in the 3km time trials.
http://img525.imageshack.us/edit_preview.php?l=img525/1201/mckeever2.jpg&action=rotate
whatboutbob
3 Dec 2010, 08:41
Impressive for a tall unit. For the ressies watchers - has he developed the skills to back it up?
Mr Ripper
3 Dec 2010, 09:08
Good defensively, Bob, with his closing speed and ability to get a fist in. Also quite a dashing rebounder at times. Can be a bit hit and miss at times with his disposal, but has already improved massively since he first lobbed in. Another solid four months worth of work could have him tickety-boo. :thumbsu:
Lace Out
3 Dec 2010, 09:46
Can't fight the McKeever !
Grimreepah
23 Dec 2010, 15:16
Who's burning (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/106449/default.aspx)
Irish rookie Niall McKeever has been among the standouts at training
cotter101
24 Dec 2010, 10:46
proberally a def starter in the nab but he is a tall defender who can even play wing or forward. i dont think he will start in round 1 i hope he dose though he could swap with merret in fb or centre half back seeing he can run all day
LIONHART
24 Dec 2010, 11:47
no offense to niall mckeever, but what does it say when a guy who is only learning the game is the stand-out performer in pre-season.
does it say that those who know the game aren't doing as well as they should be.
as for playing, he is a rookie, he would need to be promoted, and I think there are others before him. we'll wait and see
TheBrownDog
24 Dec 2010, 11:52
Yeah, Niall has come on well but is starting from a long way back.
Needs another year of football education in the reserves.
If he ever makes it, 2012 and onwards will be when it happens.
Grimreepah
24 Dec 2010, 12:03
no offense to niall mckeever, but what does it say when a guy who is only learning the game is the stand-out performer in pre-season.
does it say that those who know the game aren't doing as well as they should be.
I'm guessing the comment about him standing out refers to his athleticism and/or his rate of improvement, rather than overall ability.
Tassie4ever
24 Dec 2010, 12:08
Rough as bags, but doesn't lack anything in spirit and good Irish fighting never say die. Kicking is ok. Picking up the rest of the required skills slowly.
Remains only a possible, but he's still here, and, in the Ressies at least, playing in a key position. Someone up top must reckon they see something there.
Balony_pony16
25 Dec 2010, 20:53
I'm guessing the comment about him standing out refers to his athleticism and/or his rate of improvement, rather than overall ability.
yep, most the training is fitness based is it not? hence why burtons thoughts are often mentioned.
Grimreepah
3 Mar 2011, 23:27
Thanks to Seldom Seen Kid for the link (http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/gaa/big-interview-brisbane-lions-pearce-hanley-niall-mckeever/).
portsnewsireland.com: So, how is your preparation for the new season coming along?
Niall: My preparation is coming along well, I had a long pre season and I am looking forward to getting a game. I have gotten through pre season unscathed and uninjured so looking forward to a long season now.
Sportsnewsireland.com: How is your development progressing?
Niall: Coming along well, went down to Melbourne last well as an emergency for the NAB cup, fingers crossed I get a NAB cup game before the start of the season and progress on a bit further.
http://img196.imageshack.us/img196/1201/mckeever2.jpg
cotter101
6 Mar 2011, 13:50
i hope he comes in this week against gold toast thats what they are going to be when we are finished with them.. niall has lots of potential to be a good KPD one day
TheBrownDog
6 Mar 2011, 13:53
Watched him in the ressies yesterday... geez he is streets ahead of where he was this time last year. Developing ahead of schedule I feel.
Hopefully a lot more improvement left in him yet, if so, we've got a player.
Grimreepah
22 Mar 2011, 19:30
Reserves Coach Nathan Clarke (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/109736/default.aspx)
“Niall McKeever has been trialled in the ruck, up forward and down back this pre-season. He was great in defence last season, but we’re just trying to add some extra strings to his bow and give his game a bit more variety.”
Grimreepah
4 Apr 2011, 09:53
NEAFL Round 1 vs Morningside (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/110792/default.aspx)
Niall McKeever kept a lid on gun Kent Abey and got plenty of ball himself.
Best (http://www.sportingpulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=MATCH&fixture=117041292&c=1-8334-0-153927-0&pool=1)
1. Golby
2. Green
3. Harwood
4. McKeever
5. Austin
6. Sheldon
cotter101
10 Apr 2011, 19:36
a corn didnt really work out today next up retzlaff then bring in niall
Grimreepah
12 Apr 2011, 12:24
Reserves Wrap - Round 2 vs Labrador (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/111420/default.aspx)
“Niall McKeever has been great for us in defence, but we started him at full-forward and then swapped him with Broc McCauley in the ruck. He keeps developing week by week,” said Clarke.
Grimreepah
23 Apr 2011, 19:47
NEAFL Round 4 vs Southport (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=04&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=80&cHash=0d2989135806affbea62aa12bc31fc75)
The ground level players capitalised on some quality ruckwork by an unexpected provider in the form of Irishman Niall McKeever. The regular centre-half-back palmed the ball well but also had an influence around the ground with his strong running capacity and immaculate left-foot kicking.
http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/4906/mckeever.jpg
Syd Guildford trophy votes (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=04&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=89&cHash=77b58aa17d0f51be5a7a43c0187212c8)
5 Votes Claye Beams Bris Lions
4 Votes Amon Buchanan Bris Lions
3 Votes Josh Green Bris Lions
2 Votes Niall McKeever Bris Lions
1 Vote Richard Newell Bris Lions
Grimreepah
7 May 2011, 14:39
NEAFL Round 6 vs Gold Coast (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=05&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=126&cHash=97ea0a684d8619e41ceca2891c5d7ebd)
The Lions were missing in-form tall utility Niall McKeever, who was walking around with his hamstring heavily strapped, and likewise Xavier Clarke.
Grimreepah
10 May 2011, 13:31
Brett Burton injury update (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/113446/default.aspx)
Niall’s got a slight quad strain so he’ll go through the normal rehabilitation process with quads and he’ll probably be out for a couple of weeks.
http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/6738/mckeever1jorgo.jpg
Photographer: Jorgo
Grimreepah
17 May 2011, 13:05
Brett Burton injury update (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/114065/default.aspx)
Niall’s coming along too and running at full pace, kicking over 25-30 metres so we’re expecting that he’ll be good to go next weekend.
Quigley
17 May 2011, 14:44
I wouldn't mind getting a look at Niall in the firsts by the end of the year if he keeps coming on. There is a CHB spot waiting for an athletic tall to take. I appreciate he has a long way to go but its not like we have anything to lose atm. Maybe give him a run on one of the young GC forwards in the round 21 match up.
Grimreepah
18 May 2011, 00:20
Irish Echo (http://www.irishecho.com.au/tag/pearce-hanley)
Another Irish man that Hanley is tipping for success is his clubman Niall McKeever. The 22-year-old from Antrim has been occupying a position famously played by Melbourne Demons’ Irish President Jim Stynes.
“Niall’s going great he’s playing really well in the reserves and he’s actually playing a bit in the ruck because he’s a tall lad. It would be good to see an Irish man in there… he’s putting his name forward which is good.”
However Hanley believes it’s more difficult for bigger players to make the transition from Gaelic football to AFL.
“I think it’s different for the likes of me or Zach (Tuohy). He’s the same sort of player as me, a small defender. It’s different for the big boys like Tommy and Niall. They just seem to adapt a bit slower but Niall is biding his time he’s doing his training and playing really well,” said Stynes of McKeever.
Grimreepah
20 May 2011, 20:42
Bright lights big pity ... (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/kfojojkfmhmh/rss2/)
By Ewan MacKenna
Friday, May 20, 2011
Others didn’t make it look so easy. Brisbane Lion Niall McKeever’s initial beep test of 14.5 may have put him in the AFL elite category despite no training, but he still remembers with trepidation his first pre-season trip when the Queensland club headed to nearby Noosa.
"It was the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life. It was based on a beach. All the tackling stuff was new, a lot of mentally challenging stuff. A lot of runs with weights. It was a bit of an eye opener. A few of them were asking me did I regret it."
http://img808.imageshack.us/img808/2779/mckeeverdrummond.jpg
Also mentions that McKeever started at 89kgs and is now 96.
Grimreepah
22 May 2011, 17:29
NEW-LOOK QUEENSLAND SQUAD SET FOR SANDGROPERS (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=05&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=187&cHash=d369ee73bdd8bd44d50abcc331206041)
Sunday, 22 May, 2011
The Queensland squad is: Declan Bevan, Robert Copeland, Reece Toye (Aspley), Mitch Golby, Niall McKeever (Brisbane Lions), Kallen Geary, Dayne Zorko (Broadbeach), Jake Crawford, Joel Tippett (Gold Coast Suns), Ryan Davey, Todd Grayson, Michael Gugliotta, Steve Wrigley (Labrador), Kent Abey, Caleb Brown, Paul Shelton, Adam Spackman (Morningside), Nathan Gilliland, Gavin Grose, John James, Albert Proud, Nathan Reid, Chris Smith, Josh Vearing (Mt Gravatt), Darren Ewing, Cameron Ilett, Karl Lohde, Shaun Tapp, Ross Tungatalum, Kenrick Tyrrell, Iggy Vallejo (NT Thunder), James Charlesworth, Scott Clouston, Brad Howard, Trent Manzone, Josh Pullman (Redland), Kurt Niklaus, Matt Payne, Danny Wise (Southport).
Grimreepah
31 May 2011, 12:05
NEAFL Round 9 vs Labrador (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=05&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=217&cHash=2c3097e54e5e8aa5b743c3bfd2168ea4)
State squad member Niall McKeever is free to play for the Brisbane Lions Reserves against the Sydney Swans Reserves at Coorparoo on Saturday after a striking charge from Sunday’s loss to Labrador was withdrawn.
McKeever was playing his first game in three weeks after injury.
Reserves Wrap (http://cms.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/116219/default.aspx)
1:40 PM Tue 14 Jun, 2011
There will be no NEAFL matches played this weekend due to a State game scheduled between Queensland and Western Australia, however both Mitch Golby and Niall McKeever have been named in the initial State squad.
“Mitch Golby is no longer eligible to play for Queensland in the State game after he was elevated to the senior list last week, but I reckon Niall McKeever will play,” Clarke said.
“I think they will probably use Niall in the ruck or as a key defender.”
“I expect he’ll be named when Queensland selects its final side later in the week. It would be a massive feather in his cap and a further sign of how much he has improved.”
Grimreepah
16 Jun 2011, 01:19
Queensland vs Western Australia (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=06&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=254&cHash=d7d3be2a594d96ac0a14262b34fc73e8)
Tyrrell’s absence could thrust Aspley big man Declan Bevan into a shared ruck role with Brisbane Lions Irish rookie Niall McKeever in what would be the first game at this level for both players.
Grimreepah
17 Jun 2011, 17:59
McKeever receives State honour (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/116469/default.aspx)
10:56 AM Fri 17 Jun, 2011
After a brief apprenticeship as a Brisbane Lions rookie, the 22 year-old now finds himself ready to represent his new home of Queensland for the first time in a State representative match.
It is due reward for McKeever who has been a standout contributor for the Lions Reserves in a variety of roles from full-back and full-forward to the ruck.
The Queensland side is essentially made up from the best players across the NEAFL Northern Conference, so it is a huge honour for McKeever to be the only Lions player selected.
The full Queensland line-up for Saturday is as follows:
B: Josh Vearing, Gavin Grose, Caleb Brown
HB: Danny Wise (capt), Joel Tippett, Adam Spackman
C: Nathan Gilliland, Paul Shelton (vc), Kallen Geary
HF: Albert Proud, Scott Clouston, Kent Abey
F: Dayne Zorko, Darren Ewing, Jake Crawford
R: Shaun Tapp, Cameron Ilett (vc), Matty Payne
IN: Niall McKeever, Iggy Vallejo, Ryan Davey, Chris Smith, Trent Manzone
EMG: Reece Toye, Josh Pullman
Grimreepah
18 Jun 2011, 17:56
Link to article (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=06&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=292&cHash=055ed0e3854f0e4e85f3e61277f29e36)
Niall McKeever has the chance to push for a senior list elevation with a strong showing against WA.
“I feel very privileged to represent Queensland especially when you see all the pride around State of Origin week, and it’s a chance to show our coaching staff what I can do.”
McKeever has a huge job as the Maroons likely back-up ruckman behind Joel Tippett against a Black Swans ruck brigade that will be led by ex-St Kilda big man Michael Rix.
http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/466/statephoto.jpg
Looks like McKeever in number 26.
Game started today at 4:15 Qld time.
Match report (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=06&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=293&cHash=45f185afa5e38ce1b092b406c7dcc55a)
Half-Time: WA 8.10 (58) lead Queensland 5.5 (35)
1st Quarter Best: Albert Proud, Niall McKeever, Kent Abey
2nd Quarter Best: Albert Proud, Ryan Davey, Dayne Zorko, Matthew Payne, Nathan Gilliland, Niall McKeever.
3rd Quarter Best: Dayne Zorko, Ryan Davey, Matthew Payne, Kallen Geary, Josh Vearing, Danny Wise.
4th quarter best: Dayne Zorko, Ryan Davey, Matthew Payne, Danny Wise, Scott Clouston.
Match report (http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/afl/black-swans-edge-out-plucky-queensland-in-state-game/story-e6frg243-1226077680389)
Irish ruckman, also a Brisbane rookie, Niall McKeever worked hard in a good battle with Michael Rix.
BEST
WA: L Blackwell, J Smith, B Lee, R Cook, B LeCras, R Brabazon, K Mitchell.
Queensland: D Zorko, R Davey, M Payne, D Wise, N McKeever, A Proud
Grimreepah
19 Jun 2011, 04:12
Queensland's Greatest Interstate Effort? (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2011&tx_ttnews[month]=06&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=294&cHash=55f9863369174ccfc9878f9533a3373f)
Ruckman Niall McKeever was outstanding against former St Kilda big man Michael Rix early, winning the taps and around the ground.
Zorko was simply outstanding and won the Zane Taylor Medal, Davey was good enough to receive the guernsey presented by WA as Queensland’s best player, Wise’s job to hold Richardson to 0.1 and eventually provide rebound was super, McKeever was a revelation, and Proud and Payne were in the Maroons’ best.
How they lined up:
B: Joel Tippett, Gavin Grose, Danny Wise
Kristin Thornton, Ashley Hansen, Ian Richardson
HB: Adam Spackman, Shaun Tapp, Caleb Brown
Ryan Brabazon, Josh Smith, Jason Salecic
C: Nathan Gilliland, Ryan Davey, Chris Smith
Tom Roach, Rory O’Brien, Kane Mitchell
HF: Dayne Zorko, Iggy Vallejo, Scott Clouston, Matthew Payne
Graham Jetta, Dion Fleay, Beau Wilkes, Steven Browne
F: Darren Ewing, Kent Abey
Tallan Ames, Beau Wilkes
R: Niall McKeever, Cameron Ilett, Albert Proud
Michael Rix, Rory O’Brien, Luke Blackwell
I/C: Kallen Geary, Josh Vearing, Paul Shelton, Reece Toye, Trent Manzone
From what I can gather, Jake Crawford was a late withdrawal which meant Shaun Tapp was moved from the ruck into defence. This left McKeever as the primary ruckman, with Clouston as backup.
Showing that he is capable in the ruck would be a massive fillip for his AFL prospects. It means he is less of a selection risk as he tries to break into the team, as Voss has more flexibility to get use out of him. And being able to play as a tall utility who can pinch hit in the ruck is almost a specialised position these days.
Grimreepah
20 Jun 2011, 08:51
Greg Davis (http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl/wounded-lions-on-frontline-mission-ahead-of-saturdays-clash-with-fremantle/story-fn8hw6op-1226078037794)
Irishman Niall McKeever and ex-St Kilda star Xavier Clarke are just two players who will come under the microscope this week.
McKeever impressed for Queensland against WA on Saturday.
Irish Examiner (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/kfojidmhojsn/rss2/)
Brisbane are struggling badly with just two wins this season and head coach Michael Voss is considering giving Niall McKeever his debut in next weekend’s trip to Freemantle.
McKeever, who played for Antrim in the 2009 Ulster final before joining Hanley at the Lions, was amongst Queensland’s best operators in their narrow inter-state loss to Western Australia on Saturday.
"It has been a bit frustrating throughout the year that most of our talls have gone down (with injury) but we’ve got some young bucks coming through and it’s important we hand them this opportunity," said Voss.
Grimreepah
20 Jun 2011, 11:11
McKeever shines in Queensland loss (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/116630/default.aspx)
8:38 PM Sat 18 Jun, 2011
Niall McKeever did his adopted State proud on Saturday. The Irishman had the better of former St Kilda ruckman Michael Nix and was among Queensland’s best players as the Maroons went within an ace of the biggest upset in interstate history over Western Australia.
“Obviously I didn’t play NAB Cup and I haven’t played a senior game yet but that was a better standard than what I’ve experienced before and enjoyed every bit of it,” McKeever said.
“It was a great experience,” McKeever said of his State debut. “I’ve only been playing AFL for a couple of years and to go against Rix, who has played AFL, was a good challenge for me.”
McKeever was the Maroons’ leading possession-winner in the first quarter and was also good at the taps at a time of the game when many of his teammates were struggling.
http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/4906/mckeever.jpg
Mr Ripper
20 Jun 2011, 11:26
"It was a great experience,” McKeever said of his State debut. “I’ve only been playing AFL for a couple of years and to go against Rix, who has played AFL, was a good challenge for me.”
It takes an Irishman to show up the incongruity that is calling a sport by the name of it's professional league. :o
Grimreepah
20 Jun 2011, 17:00
Vossy's View (http://www.lions.com.au/tabid/8533/contentid/365459/default.aspx)
On filling the void left by Clark and Banfield
We probably really haven't got to that stage yet. We've only just finished reviewing the game this weekend. Obviously we know that they'll be out anywhere up to a month at the moment, so we'll just wait and see on the scan results today. So fingers crossed there.
But we've got two opportunities for players to be able to come in. Niall McKeever played well over in Western Australia on the weekend. He had a very good game there, he's a chance. Obviously Bryce Retzlaff's just come out of the team, he comes back in (contention). He's had a week off so he's fresh (and) pretty much rearing to go. And then there's who fills that void left by Todd Banfield.
http://img714.imageshack.us/img714/4906/mckeever.jpg
Horsebox
21 Jun 2011, 07:49
Could he be given a Setanta type role albeit alternating between defence and the ruck as opposed to being up forward and helping out in the ruck? He's very mobile but I wouldn't have thought he was tall enough to be much use in the ruck.
Grimreepah
21 Jun 2011, 13:47
Nathan Clarke (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/116751/default.aspx)
“I wasn’t at the game, but from all reports Niall was very good - particularly in first half.”
“His performances won’t harm his chances of getting a senior match at some stage later this year.”
“His work ethic and ability and pick up the skills of the game so quickly have been nothing short of remarkable.”
Grimreepah
22 Jun 2011, 14:03
Matthew Leuenberger (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/116837/default.aspx)
I was there when Niall came to the Club as a raw 20 year-old and still remember one of his first games at full-back with the Reserves side.
The opposition - I think it was Labrador - had just kicked a behind and he was entrusted with the kick-out duties. But instead of kicking the ball long out of defence or even kicking it to himself and playing on, he handballed to a team-mate who was standing nearby.
The umpire quickly blew his whistle and called for a ball-up. Niall wasn’t sure what was going on so the ump was nice enough to explain that you can’t handball directly to a team-mate from a kick-in. While it was kind of funny at the time, you can understand how some of that information could have been lost in his early learning.
Gibbo_88
22 Jun 2011, 14:15
Sounds like he is a certainty for getting a game while Clark is out. :thumbsu:
cotter101
22 Jun 2011, 22:24
Sounds like he is a certainty for getting a game while Clark is out. :thumbsu:
I would not say a certainty but he has a good chance.
Grimreepah
23 Jun 2011, 17:39
McKeever to make his debut (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/116892/default.aspx)
5:00 PM Thu 23 Jun, 2011
McKeever is a 196cm key position player who has shown great recent form in the back line. He is also a handy forward and can pinch-hit in the ruck - just what the doctor ordered for the Lions after losing leading goalkicker and backup ruckman Mitch Clark to an ankle injury last week.
He was moved to the senior list this week, making him the third Lions rookie to be elevated this season alongside Broc McCauley and Mitch Golby.
B: Daniel Rich (10), Matt Maguire (36), Ashley McGrath (9)
HB: Pearce Hanley (11), Joel Patfull (24), Mitch Golby (41)
C: Luke Power (6), Simon Black (20), Tom Rockliff (38)
HF: Rohan Bewick (43), Bryce Retzlaff (37), Sam Sheldon (3)
F: Patrick Karnezis (28), Jonathan Brown (16), Jesse O’Brien (34)
Foll: Matthew Leuenberger (23), James Polkinghorne (31), Jack Redden (30)
Int: Niall McKeever (40), Andrew Raines (29), Cheynee Stiller (32), Ryan Harwood (26)
Emer: Josh Green (42), James Hawksley (12), Matt Austin (8)
Good luck Niall:thumbsu:
lionshine
23 Jun 2011, 18:26
YES, GO THE IRISHMAN!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Grimreepah
23 Jun 2011, 18:34
Jade Rawlings (http://bigpondvideo.com/BrisbaneLionsTV/366325/team-selection/)
Niall will bring excessive competitiveness. He’s been exemplary in how he’s approached his footy over the last 2 years at Brisbane. He came in very raw in the ability to be able to play AFL footy but his work ethic has allowed him to get to a more than acceptable level. He’s been one of the best players in the reserves for most of this year. With our shortcomings in talls he’s the next best in form. He fills a really good role for us and it’s a really good effort by him to be able to play league footy within a year and a half of coming out here.
Congrats McKeever.
I really hope this guy makes...... he originally trained with Richmond and they passed him up (he he).... we've got to have a win every know and then... surely.
Begs the question - if he does make do we invest in irish stocks again?
Grimreepah
23 Jun 2011, 23:34
Michael Voss (http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl/brisbane-lions-name-irishman-niall-mckeever-for-afl-debut-against-fremantle/story-e6frepf6-1226080760688)
"Nobody has worked harder for the opportunity," Voss said. "There's no doubt he still has a lot to learn about the game, but he is super competitive, athletic and runs all day.
"Physically, he will handle it. He is super fit, there's no way he'll run out of gas.
"He's the best runner at the club.
"As a coach, you would pick him to go to war with you."
http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/4906/mckeever.jpg
LION UP
23 Jun 2011, 23:37
pumped for Niall......he's had a big week with travel so don't judge him too harshly if he's not as sharp. It's not easy doing two WA trips in what 7 days? Top o the morning to him and the rest of the the day.........
jackess
25 Jun 2011, 13:52
http://neafl.com.au/typo3temp/pics/6e4ee8f5f4.jpg
Looks like a decent kicking action. Big hands as well. Will be interesting to watch him follow Kepler Bradley around tonight.
Last of the Roys
25 Jun 2011, 14:24
Wow that was a massive wrap from Vossy.
By the sounds of it we might as well play him for the rest of the year no matter what. He will make a heap of mistakes, but it will be the best way to fast-track his development.
Grimreepah
26 Jun 2011, 02:52
Only seven disposals on debut, but he competed well defensively. He gave away a 50 metre penalty playing on from a free kick, which was perhaps a little unlucky considering the original decision was incorrect. A more experienced player wouldn't have made that mistake though.
As far as his kicking goes, I recall a sloppy turnover kicking over a player's head, but he also was able to spot up Polkinghorne in the forward 50 with a long kick. The big question mark on him is how much will his turnovers cost us. I would need to see more to guage that, but I don't think Voss would be discouraged from giving him a 2nd game.
The Flying Belgian
26 Jun 2011, 09:33
Was quite impressed. I'd only seen Niall a couple of times last year in the ressies. He's come a long way and looks like he could develop into a handy defender.
Didn't notice him a whole lot and despite whats already been said about a few obvious mistakes, I think he did compete very well in contests as a defender. Got rag-dolled by Sandi in the ruck but that was to be expected.
I would be happy to see him in the side at least until Spaz is back.
Bucking Beads
26 Jun 2011, 12:03
Still needs to learn the game but certainly looks to be a good prospect if he can work on his disposal.
Liked what I saw. A pity that handball from Brown in the center of the ground to McKeever charging past (in the 2nd qtr?) was deemed a throw. Would have been good to see what he did from there.
He's got a bit of mongrel about him too. Not a bad debut at all.
Grimreepah
27 Jun 2011, 00:16
Andrew Hamilton (http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl/time-for-michael-voss-to-start-culling-unwanted-brisbane-lions-players/story-fn842gep-1226082366144)
Niall (sic) McKeever looked at sea on Saturday but he would have learnt more than in a season in the twos. He should play every week from now on.
http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/7018/mckeever3.jpg
Grimreepah
27 Jun 2011, 02:57
dTnMi7spC5c
Cousin Jed
27 Jun 2011, 08:38
Looked at sea? Really?
A slight exaggeration but he definitely looked like a first game player who could use a few more senior games.
The Flying Belgian
27 Jun 2011, 08:59
As a comparison, I thought he looked at least as good as Hanley on debut and probably better than Begley.
Quigley
27 Jun 2011, 10:10
Great game I thought from a KPD on debut. Sure there were some moments when he was out of position or challenged by the strength and awareness of an experienced opposition but overall I thought he went very well. He was where he needed to be and his opposition never dominated him at all and he competed hard all night. He showed excellent athleticism which I was really encouraged about. He covered a lot of ground and had good closing speed. At his height he is going to be a difficult match for forwards come next year I think.
With the ball he has a bit of a high drop but mostly his kicking was pretty good including a lovely pass which lead to a goal.
For a first game KPD you can't really ask much more than he showed and if he can continue to develop as he has he could easily go into next season as our starting CHB and his height and athleticism could really have a transformative effect on our back 6.
He needs to be a little surer with the ball and get open a bit more but that will come. I am very encouraged by his performance.
BuntonRules
27 Jun 2011, 10:35
Great game I thought from a KPD on debut. Sure there were some moments when he was out of position or challenged by the strength and awareness of an experienced opposition but overall I thought he went very well. He was where he needed to be and his opposition never dominated him at all and he competed hard all night. He showed excellent athleticism which I was really encouraged about. He covered a lot of ground and had good closing speed. At his height he is going to be a difficult match for forwards come next year I think.
With the ball he has a bit of a high drop but mostly his kicking was pretty good including a lovely pass which lead to a goal.
For a first game KPD you can't really ask much more than he showed and if he can continue to develop as he has he could easily go into next season as our starting CHB and his height and athleticism could really have a transformative effect on our back 6.
He needs to be a little surer with the ball and get open a bit more but that will come. I am very encouraged by his performance.
Pretty close to my thoughts. All I could see was potential. May take a bit of time, but in the end will pay off, IMO. Compared to , say, Tom Williams he looked the goods. & look at what the 'Dogs have invested in Williams. Be patient.
What I do like is with him & Retzy we have a couple of very athletic key position prospects coming through - well suited to the modern game. Our cupboard does not look nearly as bare as it did 3 months ago.
Throw in Karnezis and we have a pretty nice trio of upcoming forwards. They all just need to get some senior games under their belt and spend a bit of time in the gym putting on mass.
Grimreepah
28 Jun 2011, 12:14
Ooh Aah Ash McGrath (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/117249/default.aspx)
Hey Ash, who is aerobically the fittest at the club, who has the best beep test results, and the best 3 km time trial and do they let the other boys know about it?
Jason from Loganlea (QLD)
The fittest bloke at the Club is probably our Irishman Niall McKeever. He’s good in the 3km time trials.
http://img845.imageshack.us/img845/1201/mckeever2.jpg
Yeah I was super impressed and was surprised that many seem to have overlooked his efforts. For a kid who up to a year and a half ago had never played footy I thought it was an eye-catching performance.
Has the ingredients to be a terrific player. I'm on the bandwagon.
Horsebox
30 Jun 2011, 05:09
Would it be considered unusual in the AFL for a guy that's 195cm + to be the most aerobically fit player at the club?
Or are there many guys his height with similar running ability knocking around?
I'm guessing the fittest players are generally the midfield types.
Yes it would. Depending on whether you're a avid Swans fan who's in Ireland, or an Irishman who follows Tadgh, you'd probably know the other in contention in Goodes. :thumbsu:
Pavlich might also go into that list, but I'm pretty sure there's better runners at Freo.
Grimreepah
30 Jun 2011, 11:46
[/URL][URL="http://www.herald.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mckeever-delighted-with-debut-despite-missing-record-2808681.html"]Link to article (http://www.herald.ie/sport/gaelic-football/mckeever-delighted-with-debut-despite-missing-record-2808681.html)
Much to the former Gaelic footballer's delight, it was the coach himself that delivered the good news of his imminent debut. "I'd played a state game (for Queensland) and got on well and I knew we had injuries so I thought I had a chance," said McKeever. "But when you get a phone call from Vossy -- I knew from other guys that had debuted -- that it had to be that and I was thrilled."
"I played mainly down back and I think that's where I play my best football. It's good to get a bit of a run on ... I think I played alright so fingers crossed I get another game at the weekend. Getting to play more (senior) games is how I'll progress."
Having been described as an 'elite runner', McKeever said he was just delighted to be able to run out onto the field alongside an Irish team-mate in Hanley. "Pearce has helped me out massively, even just talking to me before the game," he said.
http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/8784/mckeever1.jpg