View Full Version : Any WA Cricket Fans

Visro
13 Mar 2001, 14:57
As some of you may know, WCE2000 is running a bigfooty cricket league. Currently there are only 3 West Australian's represented.

I know this isn't a footy topic but the best place to find WA's for it are on the West Aussie team boards. Just a note though, please only enter it if you have an interest in cricket.. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Cheers Vis

------------------
I was put on this Earth to complete a certain number of tasks. I am so far behind, I will never die...

Visro
13 Mar 2001, 14:59
the reason i am asking is i REALLY dont want to play with people from another state. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif Sorry to you all interstaters http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

WA
13 Mar 2001, 15:48
Yes Visro, me. I'm a 'real life' cricket fan, but I have no idea how to play the game WCE2000 is organising.
I've asked how to play & know one has replied.

daddy_4_eyes
13 Mar 2001, 16:23
I have registered for the cricket game, and even though i registered as a and am a victorian i would love to play for WA. I'm a mad eagles and Perth glory fan, both from WA. So i guess that qualifies me.

Ohh, and i wans't born in Australia either so that qualifies me as a free agent. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

Visro
13 Mar 2001, 18:55
Originally posted by WA:
Yes Visro, me. I'm a 'real life' cricket fan, but I have no idea how to play the game WCE2000 is organising.

If you have Outlook express go to his website http://bigfootyca.topcities.com/index.html and then go to player forms and choose what you want to be. If you dont, just go to his thread bigfooty cricket league on the cricket board and tell him what you want to be. Dont worry about understanding it yet, not many of us do, all i know is that ive looked at the program he is using to run it and it seems a good program. Dont worry what you choose yet as when we know exactly who is going to be in the WA team we will choose positions and batting averages and bowling averages etc. Just look at the thread anyway.

------------------
I was put on this Earth to complete a certain number of tasks. I am so far behind, I will never die...

Visro
13 Mar 2001, 19:00
Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes:
I have registered for the cricket game, and even though i registered as a and am a victorian i would love to play for WA. I'm a mad eagles and Perth glory fan, both from WA. So i guess that qualifies me.

Ohh, and i wans't born in Australia either so that qualifies me as a free agent. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Oh i dont know daddy_4_eyes, you could be an undercover agent working for the VICS!!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif I dont see why you cant represent WA, considering that some people are representing the states where they originally came from. Just tell WCE2000 you want to represent WA http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif being the best team of course

------------------

Visro
13 Mar 2001, 19:02
the WA team looks like its going to be pretty much all WC supporters. That is of course unless Arch is a west aussie who want to represent us...dont know about him yet though, could just be an interstater living here.

------------------

WCE2000
13 Mar 2001, 19:11
Originally posted by WA:

i have a cricket simulator on my computer and basically predicts the results for each game based on the player averages. if you click here (http://bigfootyca.topcities.com) to go to the web-site i created. Click on player forms and fill in your form. Then you will be part of the WA Squad, which now has 4 because GoEagles signed up

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips (http://www.footytips.com.au)
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup (http://bigfootyca.topcities.com)
visit the Easts Cricket Club (http://www.eastscricket.com.au)
The ulitimate statistics reference (http://cromulent.freehosting.net/)

WA
14 Mar 2001, 09:57
Thanks guys.
I've put my details on the cricket board.
http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

GoEagles
14 Mar 2001, 10:07
Yep, all Sandgropers out there should sign up by either emailing WCE2000 or filling out the form on the website. Should be good fun http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Visro
14 Mar 2001, 17:34
GoEagles i notices that your a right handed medium pace bowler as well. So that we have some variety ive decided i will change to spin bowling but im no expert on spin so i need help choosing:

Right Arm Off Break
Right Arm Leg Break
Left Arm Spin

Which one should i choose so that we have a bit of bowling variety. Ive also decided i will change to left handed batting so that we have some lefties in the team. Anyway what does the team (which consists of pretty much WC supporters) think of my changes from pace to spin and swapping batting sides?

------------------

GoEagles
15 Mar 2001, 11:32
Vis, I think the change would be good if it gives us a better balance and so we have a better chance of beating those Vics! Maybe a right arm leggy would be good for us, your choice mate http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

eagleskickass
15 Mar 2001, 13:56
I've signed up for WA. But i guess you already know that Visro.

Visro
15 Mar 2001, 14:22
Well talking to everyone on my team isn't very hard considering we are all WC supporters. Anway, just some things to discuss:

1. Team name....anyone got any ideas?
2. Team captain...someone who has a lot of knowledge of cricket and everyone likes..GoEagles gets my vote
3. Too many allrounders? We now have three...is that too much?
4. Bowling attack...its all pace...no spin whatsover at the moment...im currently going to change to some sort of spin.
5. Team website...anyone here have website production experience?

A proposal i might put forward to WCE2000 as he frequently visis this board:

Limit the number of "pure" batsmen in one team to 3, otherwise why not just have all your batsmen as pure batsmen?

Regarding my changes to my cricket profile..ive decided to remain and right handed batteer and change to right arm leg break. I still think however that we have too much pace and not enough spin.

Our team so far looks like this:

Western Australia

Jod23 WA right 40 right leg spin 99
daddy_4_eyes WA right 35 right off spin 40
Visro WA right 30 right medium 30
GoEagles WA right 30 right medium 30
ONE EYE WA right 30 right medium 30
carneagles WA right 10 right fast 22
eagleskickass WA right 10 right fast 22

WA (the guy) for some reason has not yet been included but from memory i think he wants to be a batsmen. That makes eight of us, we need 12 or 13 i think. Does anyone know if Arch will be representing Western Australia...i think he is quite an avid fan of cricket.

Anyway thats all for now.

Vis

------------------

Visro
15 Mar 2001, 17:07
regarding ONE EYE as being another medium pace allrounder. The team really has too many allrounders. I have decided that I will change to a pure batsmen to compensate for this. Also GoEagles I suggest you might want to change your bowling so that we dont have two medium pace allrounders. A spin bowler is really needed because we allready have two fast bowlers and two medium pacers. Either that or we all vote that ONE EYE changes to spin. ONE EYE is hardly ever on so i dont think that he cannot expect us to change him so that it suits the team. Anyway this is only a suggestion about ONE EYE. Ive made up my mind that i will change to a pure left handed batsmen.

------------------

WA
15 Mar 2001, 17:42
Originally posted by Visro:
Well talking to everyone on my team isn't very hard considering we are all WC supporters. Anway, just some things to discuss:

1. Team name....anyone got any ideas?
2. Team captain...someone who has a lot of knowledge of cricket and everyone likes..GoEagles gets my vote
3. Too many allrounders? We now have three...is that too much?
4. Bowling attack...its all pace...no spin whatsover at the moment...im currently going to change to some sort of spin.
5. Team website...anyone here have website production experience?

1 – will give some thought to our name
2 – agree
3 – could be, definitely no more in my opinion
4 – ok, I agree on the need for spin
5 – nope none

Our team so far looks like this:

Western Australia

Jod23 WA right 40 right leg spin 99
daddy_4_eyes WA right 35 right off spin 40
Visro WA right 30 right medium 30
GoEagles WA right 30 right medium 30
ONE EYE WA right 30 right medium 30
carneagles WA right 10 right fast 22
eagleskickass WA right 10 right fast 22

WA (the guy) for some reason has not yet been included but from memory i think he wants to be a batsmen.

Here’s my details again, I also don’t know why I haven’t been added yet.

posted 13 March 2001 02:47 AM

WCE2000, I'll put my name down for the WA squad. I still have no idea how to play, but I'm sure I'll understand more as it starts.
WA
Pure Batsmen - Bat 40 / Bowl 99
Right Hand
Right Arm Medium

By the way, WA (the guy) is actually WA (the girl)!

Visro
15 Mar 2001, 18:23
whoopsies....sorry bout that then http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif

jod23
15 Mar 2001, 19:06
Vis you and me should open the batting and give them Vics headaches with one lefty and one righty http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

WA
15 Mar 2001, 19:23
whoopsies....sorry bout that then http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif

No worries!

Out of interest, how do you do the smiley faces with the tongue poking out like that?

GoEagles
15 Mar 2001, 20:29
Visro - I'll rechange my details so I'm the quick fast bowler of the side, just as long as my batting isn't any worse than Glen McGraths or Agit Agarkar's

"I'm no Bunny!"

carneagles
16 Mar 2001, 08:44
Team name - why not the Western Worriers?

WA
16 Mar 2001, 09:54
Ok, so for some reason I'm still not on the team http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/frown.gif
But anyway, as far as names go, if we do end up all being WCE supporters, why don't we incorporate both our footy team & the state cricket team. For example, something like 'West Coast Warriors'.
Just a thought.

WCE2000
16 Mar 2001, 10:43
WA:

Sorry but i forgot about you.

I kept thinking i had allright put you in, but obviously i didn't. Anyway, i added you to the squad now.

Visro
16 Mar 2001, 12:20
Ok our team is slowly starting to take shape. We currently now have 8 players, we need 4 more. I will discuss some things after I've shown you the team.

The batting line up is as follows so far (the people in bold are people we need):

Openers:

jod23 - right/40
Visro - left/40

Middle Order:

WA - right/40
daddy_4_eyes - right/35
GoEagles - right/30
ONE EYE - right/30
Wicketkeeper

Tail End:

Bowler
Pure Bowler
carneagles - right/10
eagleskickass - right/10

Okay thats our team's batting so far. I will discuss some points after I've shown you our bowlers so far in order of bowling averages, highest to lowest:

carneagles - right fast/22
eagleskickass - right fast/22
Pure Bowler
Bowler
GoEagles - right medium/30
ONE EYE - right medium/30
daddy_4_eyes - right off spin/40

---------------------------------------------------

DISCUSSION POINTS:

1. daddy_4_eyes, since we allready have enough bowlers (7 including you), I think you should change to a pure batsmen. You probably wouldn't bowl even if you were a standard batsmen so becoming a pure batsmen might be better http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif. Also would you like to be the team's other left handed batsmen? http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

2. GoEagles, I've been looking at our batting and bowling line ups and it would probably be better if the team only had one allrounder and either you or ONE EYE became a pure batsmen or a spin bowler of some sort (Pure or standard bowler).

3. Wicketkeeper, I'm trying to lure Wally to come over and play Wicketkeeper for us. He missed out on being the VIC one and he has a choice of SA or WA so I hope he chooses us http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif

4. We need two more bowlers so that in the end we have 5 main bowlers. We allready have enough pace so spin bowlers are needed to play on the spinning wickets. I thought we could do with one more pure bowler who would be a spinner of some sort and a standard bowler so that our tail end would have some batting power.

5. Do we want our twelvth man to be a batter or a bowler?

I think a lot of the changes above would help in making our team a dominant side. Anyway if you don't like one of the ideas just tell me http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Vis

------------------

[This message has been edited by Visro (edited 15 March 2001).]

Visro
16 Mar 2001, 15:33
i also briefly talked to frodo in the chat room and he say's he will join WA. He was overseas somewhere from what i gather so take note WCE2000 http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif Dont let a interstater take his place http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Screw opening batsmen...i should become the manager !!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

WA
16 Mar 2001, 16:18

Screw opening batsmen...i should become the manager !!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

I was thinking the same thing.
You're doing a great job! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

WA
16 Mar 2001, 16:22
Originally posted by WCE2000:
WA:

Sorry but i forgot about you.

I kept thinking i had allright put you in, but obviously i didn't. Anyway, i added you to the squad now.

No worries WCE2000.
I was beginning to think it was a boy/girl thing http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif

Visro
16 Mar 2001, 16:43
okay Frodo isn't going to be back for at least two weeks from what I gathered (He's going to china next week http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif) so I thought to save some time and a vic taking his spot that we might think about where we put him...is this allright WCE2000?

Anyway I think he should be our main spin bowler.

Frodo
Western Australia
Pure Bowler
Right Handed
Right Arm Off Break

Anyone disagree, and yes you are allowed to disagree http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif He could be our other standard bowler or wicketkeeper or batsmen depending on what GoEagles decides to do.

Vis

PS we can take a vote if there is indecision

------------------

Visro
16 Mar 2001, 17:44
Whoah your quick WCE2000...the idea barely immerges and you allready put him down before my fellow team members get to comment...must be getting a bit impatient are we mate http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif

------------------

jod23
16 Mar 2001, 19:50
I think everything is going well, Vis your doing a good job.

I do think we need another pure batsmen to come in at say 4 or 5 like a Steve Waugh incase of batting collapses.

Cheers

daddy_4_eyes
17 Mar 2001, 06:26
Visro: "daddy_4_eyes, since we allready have enough bowlers (7 including you), I think you
should change to a pure batsmen. You probably wouldn't bowl even if you were a standard batsmen so becoming a pure batsmen might be better . Also would you like to be the team's other left handed batsmen?"
------------------------------------------------

Sure Vis, put me down as a left-handed pure batsman. I don't know how to change the details, but maybe you can forward it to goEagles, seeing as you are the team manager.

------------------

Visro
17 Mar 2001, 11:44
We have a new team member: Esperito, though I have no idea as to who this guy is..anyone ever seen one of his posts. He's an allrounder which is really what we dont need but he is spin.

------------------

Visro
17 Mar 2001, 12:02
Ok I did a search on his posts and although he has only done 5 odd posts from what I have seen he has a passion for cricket and knows something about it. This means we now only need 2 more people (12th Man) to make a full team.

Vis

------------------

GoEagles
17 Mar 2001, 12:26
Visro - ok change my details so I'm the teams spinner, although the WACA usually doesn't provide the best spin at times.

Visro
17 Mar 2001, 13:26
Ok I've been doing some maths on batting averages and bowling averages and what an ideal teams batting & bowling line up should be. I've come up with a system of having 5 pure batsmen, the wicketkeeper and five bowlers.

If we have 5 pure batsmen and a wicketkeeper our average is allready at 225. How much we add to this depends on the five bowlers we field. The type of bowlers we field however will determine the oppositions score. This is where the maths comes up. Ive been testing out different combinations as see what results we get and since there are a lot of them I didn't test them all. I did however come up with one 5 bowler combination that worked quite nicely.

2 x Pure Bowler (1 Pace & 1 Spin)
2 x Bowler (1 Pace & 1 Spin)
1 x Allrounder (Pace or Spin depending on 12th Man)

We ended up getting a batting score of 315 and the opposition 252. There are probably better combinations out there but this one looks pretty good. Can any fellow mathematicians think of any others?

Anyway I thought the team could adapt so it looked like this:

Openers

jod23 - right/40
Visro - left/40

Middle Order

WA - right/40
daddy_4_eyes - left/40
Esperito/GoEagles/ONE EYE - right/40
Esperito/GoEagles/ONE EYE - right/30
Wicketkeeper - left/25

Tail End

carneagles/eagleskickass - right/20
Esperito/GoEagles/ONE EYE - right/20
Frodo - right/10
carneagles/eagleskickass - right/10

Basically what this all means is that the team has two pure bowlers, one of spin and one of pace. Either carneagles or eaglekickass therefore has to convert to a standar bowler but still remain a fast bowler. The twelvth man for the team would be another allrounder. Three allrounders for one team is a bit much so one would convert to a standard spin bowler and one would convert to a pure batsmen. We still dont have a wicketkeeper (which is understandable http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif) but hopefully we will finally get one.

I realise that you all might be starting to get pissed off with all my suggestions http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif but if it all goes to plan, we should be the dominating side http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

Vis

PS If you are one of the mentioned people who needs to be moved and dont quite understand what I mean just post a message asking me http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Cheers

------------------

Visro
17 Mar 2001, 13:42
ok GoEagles I will put you down as the teams new right off spin standard bowler.

Ive had a change of thought about the bowlers we should have. Ideally how many spin bowler and pace bowlers should we have? Currently when the team is fully made up we will have 3 and 3. Should one side be favoured more, 4 pace and 2 spin?

We could either have

2 fast
1 medium
right off spin
right leg spin
Team choice on type of spin

or something else...what does everybody else think?

daddy_4_eyes
17 Mar 2001, 15:35
Instead of having 5 bowlers, why don't we have 3 pure bowlers, and two more batsmen. This way if we have a top order collapse there's back-up. Considering Stamina does not get calculated into this game we can have those 3 bowlers bowling round the clock. Maybe have one of the pure batsmen be an all-rounder to add a bit of variety.

Thats my alternative, if we get enough idea's we can have a vote for what we want.

------------------

GoEagles
17 Mar 2001, 19:00
Firstly your doing a great job Vis, they should of given the real job to you instead of Veletta http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif

For the bowling side of things we could go with:

3 Pure Fast Bowlers
1 or 2 Specialist Spinners

And the rest we would rely on one or two medium pace/all-rounders to back us up.

What does everyone think?

eagleskickass
17 Mar 2001, 20:19
I reckon Visro for Captain. He's doing all the organising and knows what he is talking about. Carn WA

Visro
17 Mar 2001, 20:24
remember daddy_4_eyes that in 1 day matches a bowler is only allowed to bowl 10 overs of the 50 overs. you therefore need 5 or more bowlers to bowl for you http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

------------------

daddy_4_eyes
18 Mar 2001, 08:02
We playing one dayers?? Oops, I thought it was tests, thats why i wrote that.

Scratch that idea then. 3 pure fast bowlers, 1 specialists spinner and one batsman with a bowling average of 30. We can afford to give away a few runs if our batsmen can cover them.

------------------

Visro
18 Mar 2001, 08:22
Remember that we will have six bowlers (5 on the field at one time). The twelvth man will be a bowler so that gives us more variety. I am currently trying to think of a good combination!! If the team lists could just be extended to 13 it would be perfect http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif : 4 Pace bowlers and 3 spin.....aghhhh...dreams over....reality is back http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/frown.gif

------------------

Visro
18 Mar 2001, 08:30
Does everyone agree that Esperito should be our 5th pure batsmen? I dont know why, he just sounds like a batsman to me........Esperito http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif ONE EYE sounds more like an allrounder to me.

Also ive been thinking about the bowlers. Until I get the final word from WCE2000 on player numbers in a team and how much a pitch effects a bowlers bowling I will refrain from posting down an ideal bowling line up. It is just too hard without knowing exactly how many bowlers you can have and how differently they will play on different wickets.

It will probably consist of however:

2/3 x Fast Bowler
2/3 x Spin Bowler

Would there be any use in having a fast left hander?!?! Also what type of bowler those would be I am as of yet not sure. Anyway we will see.

------------------

[This message has been edited by Visro (edited 17 March 2001).]

eagleskickass
18 Mar 2001, 14:23
Sounds good, I reckon so to.

Visro
18 Mar 2001, 14:27
Which part ? http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Esperito as a batsmen and ONE EYE as our allrounder

OR

Waiting for WCE2000's comformation

OR

A left handed fast?

------------------

Visro
19 Mar 2001, 10:54
With regards to bowling, I went to see WCE2000's site (http://www.geocities.com/bigfootyca/bigfooty.html) on the practice game that was held awhile back and I noticed that the fast bowlers got belted for a lot of runs where as fast mediums were much more economical. Anyway look at the site yourself so that you can help me choose our bowling structure. The info on the site should give a fairly good indication as to what type of bowlers to have. I will have a better look at it later on.

Vis

------------------

daddy_4_eyes
19 Mar 2001, 11:31
Alright, i've got another idea for our bowling structure.

Considerng that this game is a simulation, one fast bowler will not differ from another fast bowler, so if we have 3 fast bowlers and the wicket/game conditions/batsmen do not suit pace then they will all get belted. So instead of having several of the same bowlers we should have every pure bowler a different type, this way if one bowler is not suited to the game we will have so much variety that sooner or later we will get the wickets.

Get what I mean?

------------------

Visro
19 Mar 2001, 19:37
just found out from WCE2000 that a team can have up to 15 players on it.....which means......more bowlers and batsmen to choose from.....we have to get them first http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Visro
20 Mar 2001, 15:05
The bowling line up eventually should have 4 pace bowlers and 3 spinners. This basically means that in a match where the wicket is hard and suiting pace we will have the 4 pace bowlers bowling and 1 spinner. In a match were it doesnt really suit anyone we will probaby play 3 pace and 2 spin and on a spinning wicket we would play 3 spin and 2 pace.

On another note, eagleskickass, could you please slowly start designing the webpage, nothing to flashy, just somewhere where there is a board so we can post our ideas there, when a team is created a place there, anyway you know what i mean http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Details on the team to follow

Vis

------------------

eagleskickass
20 Mar 2001, 15:42
will try, but right now don't have much time, too much homework.

Visro
20 Mar 2001, 19:31
Ok I have finally got the team finalised for the first practice match http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif. The team will consist of 5 pure batsmen, the wicketkeeper, one allrounder, one bowler and three pure bowlers.

---------------------------------------------

Batting Line-Up:

Openers

Jod23 - right/40
Visro - left/40

Middle Order

WA - right/40
daddy_4_eyes - left/40
Esperito - right/40 (Please Note The Change To His Player Type)
ONE EYE - right/30
Wally - left/25 (I Presume Wally Is Now Playing With Us)

Tail End

GoEagles - right/20
Frodo - right/10
eaglekickass - right/10
carneagles - right/10

12th Man

GLEN - left/20
- left arm medium fast/26

Bowling Line-Up:

eagleskickass - right fast/22
carneagles - right fast/22
ONE EYE - right medium/30
Frodo - right leg spin/22
GoEagles - right off spin/26

Ok we now have the four pace bowlers that the team wants, 2 right fast, 1 left medium fast (GLEN) and 1 medium pace. If anyone disagrees here on the format of our pace bowlers please let me know. We will probably have 3 spin bowlers or maybe four but we dont have enought people yet.

The team name has got bugger all response so far, the only suggestions:

The Western Worriers
The West Coast Warriors

Any more?

Thats all for now, the team is basically complete bar a few late comers who will be put in the squad and rotated in and out during the season. The first practice match is sometime next week I believe, first opportunity to thrashe some interstate ass http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Cheers Vis

------------------

jod23
21 Mar 2001, 03:22
What about Eagle_Fan?????

Umm anyway i like the West Coast Warriors as our name, a bit of both fits well.

And are we just going to be rotated or will we be dumped for form purposes. I like the idea of form, whoever plays the worse gets dropped and so on.

Visro
21 Mar 2001, 05:02
Eagle fan never put his/her name down...do they want to play? Well for the bowler who to pick will be easy as it will just be the bowlers which suit the wicket but for batsmen there might need to be some rotation otherwise it aint fair for the rest of the pure batsmen jod http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif On the trial game WCE2000 played, only about 3 or 4 batsmen per team actually batted the 50 overs. So that everyone has a fair go, the batsmen would rotate.

West Coast Warriors is the pick so far.

Vis

------------------

GoEagles
21 Mar 2001, 10:47
I like West Coast Warriors! Great name http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

WA
21 Mar 2001, 16:03
Originally posted by GoEagles:
I like West Coast Warriors! Great name http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Me too http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

The team is looking good!

Visro, you and your organisational skills are still impressing me http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Should Stephen Bernard (Australian Cricket Team Manager) be worried about his job?

Visro
21 Mar 2001, 16:53
Ok the "West Coast Warriors" it is http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Cheers Vis

------------------

Visro
21 Mar 2001, 19:16
You wont bloody believe it, i had a ripper of a post ready to give you on the team and what everyone is, i pressed submit and it said too many images so i go back and the whole fricking thing is gone...goddamnit.

Vis http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/mad.gif

------------------

Esperito
21 Mar 2001, 20:39
NO NO NO!!!!!
Why have i been changed to a pure batsman??!! This is a disgrace! Please please please reconsider. What's wrong with having another allrounder? If the batting average starts at 30 who's saying that it won't rise to the mid 30s at some stage??
And i AM a legspinner so it is only right that i am in this game too(ok so you may not agree seeing as though i personally wouldnt have anything to do with my performance in the actual league...it is all done by a computer by my understanding) It's always good to have another bowling option in the side...and especially a spinner. Spinners can easily pick up cheap wickets no matter how crap they actually are (i know that oh so well). Anyways its probably too late to change your mind.

Visro
22 Mar 2001, 14:22
in the end mate you weren't changed so dont get so fired up about it http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Vis

Esperito
22 Mar 2001, 20:47
Oh.
Good.

daddy_4_eyes
26 Mar 2001, 17:55
Nice knock Vis, too bad it's not the proper season or your average would be close to bradmans.

But a poor effort by the team overall. Maybe we should change the squad a bit. Maybe put an all-rounder in to open, get a few fast runs and waste the oppositions good bowlers overs. That way when the pure batsmen comes in he/she will only have to face the weaker bowlers and thus decrease their chance of getting out.

We should try it if we have another trial match.

------------------