View Full Version : [ICC Cricket World Cup 2003] - Australia vs Zimbabwe

Richmondfan#1
23 Feb 2003, 20:37
The match will be played on Monday arvo at Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe.

This will be the first game Australia play with the news of Shane Warne's drug hearing, so we'll find out how well the Aussies are concentrating.

Nothing is certain in this match, looking forward to it.

GoEagles
23 Feb 2003, 21:19
Let's hope the game is safe for the Australians!

Andy Flower & Olonga have been told that if they wear any protest armbands or wrist bands, they will be axed from the Zimbabwe team. :(

From what I hear - Australia will revert back to their full strength squad that played India last week.

Channel Nine will be covering the game live from 3.30pm WST.

Kenny_01
24 Feb 2003, 15:05
I really do hope we bat first. Should be a good game, Zimbabwe do have a pretty decent side.

Can't wait!

Richmondfan#1
24 Feb 2003, 16:53
Yep, this is THE game. I'm so glad we didn't forfeit.

Fall Out Boy
24 Feb 2003, 17:14
We're bowling, and bowling quite well.

Zimbabwe are 2-41, with Andy Flower looking very dangerous.

Catman
24 Feb 2003, 17:33
No Harvey. Not happy.

Australia's leading wicket taker for the WC and he's not in the team.

2-47 after 14.

GoEagles
24 Feb 2003, 17:53
Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat.

The Flower brothers are going quite well (Andy got off to a flyer!) In a way I'm really hoping Zimbabwe goes well and we have to have a healthy run chase.

Currently 65/2 after 18.4 overs

GoEagles
24 Feb 2003, 17:55
Also Australia is playing with the same side as they played India the other week.

Andy Flower is also batting with a white arm sweat band (Richie thinks it represents "peace") :D

ScouseCat
24 Feb 2003, 18:10
Zimbabwe: 2 for 77 in the 23rd over.

The Flower brothers, Andy and Grant are at the crease.

Kenny_01
24 Feb 2003, 18:11
Yep, I too am hoping Zim can mount a total of atleast 235 so we get a decent run chase.

ScouseCat
24 Feb 2003, 18:33
Adam Gilchrist has thrown down the stumps to run out Grant Flower for 37, Zimbabwe are now 3 for 112.

Fall Out Boy
24 Feb 2003, 18:44
Hogg has gotten rid of Andy Flower, with a flipper that Warne would be proud of.

scmods
24 Feb 2003, 18:45
Bowled Hoggy!

Who needs Warney?

BW
24 Feb 2003, 19:04
Damian Martyn just missed the easiest run out opportunity of all time!! Thats no understatement, the runner was on his way back to the dressing room.

ScouseCat
24 Feb 2003, 19:08
Brad Hogg is on a hat-trick after getting 2 wickets with his googley. Zimbabwe have slumped to be 6 for 142.

Kenny_01
24 Feb 2003, 19:18
Where is Zombie?

Fall Out Boy
24 Feb 2003, 19:25
Dizzy just got carted for 18 off his over.

At this rate, the Zimbabweans may set up something above 230.

topdon
24 Feb 2003, 19:28
Hahaha .... Hogg is copping a pounding!!!

Blignaut!!

Fall Out Boy
24 Feb 2003, 19:28
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
At this rate, the Zimbabweans may set up something above 230.

Actually, looks like they'll get over 250, given the way Blignaut is spanking us.

The second fastest 50 of the tournament.

Kenny_01
24 Feb 2003, 19:34
This Blignaut bloke is going off.

RogerC
24 Feb 2003, 19:37
That was a ripper caught and bowled. Going like a rocket.

Think we can revise that projected total down a bit now.

Kenny_01
24 Feb 2003, 19:40
Amazing stuff.

topdon
24 Feb 2003, 19:59
Originally posted by RogerC
Think we can revise that projected total down a bit now.

Maybe not! ;) Heath Streak on fire!

Taibu just bowled by McGrath

8/243

ScouseCat
24 Feb 2003, 20:06
Zimbabwe finish on a very respectable score of 9 for 246 off their 50 overs.... should ba a good chase later on tonight for Australia.

topdon
24 Feb 2003, 20:09
Go Zimbabwe!

JUBJUB
24 Feb 2003, 22:20
Got to love Richie Benaud's work.Jason Gillespie gets hit for four and yells out "OH F#@K".Richie replies with, "I agree with Jason's sentiments". :p

mel 40
24 Feb 2003, 22:25
Originally posted by RogerC
That was a ripper caught and bowled. Going like a rocket.

Are you talking bout brett lee's catch.If you are i agree with you.That was a pretty good catch and i loved his reaction.He was a bit shocked, probably because he was still wondering if he had a head left.lol.

Jars458
25 Feb 2003, 07:51
Lehmann saves the day after Martyn is bogged down.

Another fine innnigs by the boof.

No batting for Bevan who needs to bat at three against Namibiia to get some time in the middle and possibly even England as it will be a dead game for us.

Blignaut was outstanding. Very lucky catch by Lee, all survival insticnt.

JUBJUB
25 Feb 2003, 09:13
Australia might as well play Harvey instead of Bevan.Harvey is capable of bowling 10 overs and can bat if needed.

dr nick
25 Feb 2003, 09:17
Originally posted by JUBJUB
Australia might as well play Harvey instead of Bevan.Harvey is capable of bowling 10 overs and can bat if needed. :o here we go, a side full af hack allrounders. never mind when we have to front to a half decent side.

dr nick
25 Feb 2003, 09:18
Originally posted by Jars458
Lehmann saves the day after Martyn is bogged down.

Another fine innnigs by the boof.

No batting for Bevan who needs to bat at three against Namibiia to get some time in the middle and possibly even England as it will be a dead game for us.

Blignaut was outstanding. Very lucky catch by Lee, all survival insticnt.

well done boof. an unsurprising innings from martyn really.

tiger of old
25 Feb 2003, 09:24
Originally posted by Jars458
Martyn is bogged down.

martyn is the one player in the side who could loose the wc for us.he is too slow.either open him with hayden or gilly or drop him.
the middle order you are suppose to keep the runs flowing in an upward spiral not the other way round.

cheers!

dogboy23
25 Feb 2003, 10:39
Geez if some of you had your way we would have sent in a pinch hitter instead of Martyn.A 50 with a strike rate of over 70 is very acceptable.Thought it was a very responsible innings by Martyn.If we had of lost him cheaply it would have exposed the middle order a bit I reckon.

red+black
25 Feb 2003, 11:04
Originally posted by tiger of old
martyn is the one player in the side who could loose the wc for us.

a very very harsh call, BUT, i seemed to be saying the same thing to myself yesterday. hard to say that one player could lose a game on their own, but i guess the situation could arise where we are 7 down with only martyn in, and u just wouldn't think he'd be capable of a border/s waugh type innings.

anyway, his stats are very good, but he doesn't fill me with confidence. if i had to choose between marto and stevo for the 1st test for v the windies, its bye bye to marto and welcome back captain.

Zombie
25 Feb 2003, 12:54
You people are so stupid, the only reason you don't like Martyn is because he is a conservative batsmen who knows when he needs to score quickly and knows when to not give away his wicket.

No one has had a go at Ponting for his much slower run rate than Martyn in yesterdays game despite Martyn having a higher career strike rate than Ponting aswell as an almost identical career average. Martyn may not be as entertaining as the likes of Ponting and Gilchrist but he doesn't need to be, he has his job to do and he does it extremely well. Cricket is a sport not a television show, if you want entertaining change the channel.

Perty4
25 Feb 2003, 13:13
exactly Zombie. Martyn is playing the same role as Dravid does for India, as a steadying ship. No one will be dropped from the test side, it will remain the same with Martin Love still waiting.

Martyn is playing under instruction from JB, so there is really no chance he will be dropped when he is doing exactly the thing the coach/captain want.

tiger of old
25 Feb 2003, 13:17
Originally posted by Zombie
You people are so stupid, the only reason you don't like Martyn is because he is a conservative batsmen who knows when he needs to score quickly and knows when to not give away his wicket.

No one has had a go at Ponting for his much slower run rate than Martyn in yesterdays game despite Martyn having a higher career strike rate than Ponting aswell as an almost identical career average. Martyn may not be as entertaining as the likes of Ponting and Gilchrist but he doesn't need to be, he has his job to do and he does it extremely well. Cricket is a sport not a television show, if you want entertaining change the channel. let me exapnd a bit more. i have said it a few times. we cant afford to have both martyn and bevan in the same side let alone both in the middle order.
all is fine when we have the match in control like last night.however we have been exposed in the past when the runs per over rise,s.and believe me we will face this situation in the super 6,s.
david boon was the perfect anchor batsman because that what he was thourghout his career and played the role perfectly whereas martyn has gone from an attacking player to that role but will never be as effective as boon was.

as for ponting last night the difference is we know what he is capable of.

cheers!

Perty4
25 Feb 2003, 13:22
Yes and we know what Martyn is capable of, read his 100* in Hobart only 2 months ago against the Poms, batting at 4.

dogboy23
25 Feb 2003, 14:00
Originally posted by tiger of old
let me exapnd a bit more. i have said it a few times. we cant afford to have both martyn and bevan in the same side let alone both in the middle order.
all is fine when we have the match in control like last night.however we have been exposed in the past when the runs per over rise,s.and believe me we will face this situation in the super 6,s.
david boon was the perfect anchor batsman because that what he was thourghout his career and played the role perfectly whereas martyn has gone from an attacking player to that role but will never be as effective as boon was.

as for ponting last night the difference is we know what he is capable of.

cheers! Why cant we have both Bevan and Martyn in the middle order they both have fantastic strike rates.Both can hit boundaries when needed and work the ball around when needed.We cant just have a team of boundary hitters because the run rate would come to a stand still in the middle overs when the field goes out.Thats where wristy players who can work the ones and twos like Martyn and Bevo come in.I reckon they slot perfectly between Boof and Symonds.You have two right handers and two left handers in the middle order who are capable of playing a variety of roles.

Port01
25 Feb 2003, 15:09
Originally posted by dogboy23
Why cant we have both Bevan and Martyn in the middle order they both have fantastic strike rates.Both can hit boundaries when needed and work the ball around when needed.

In the last two years they both have terrible strike rates. And I query the fact that they can hit boundaries when needed, it rarely happens. Martyn hit about 2 boundaries last night and one was an edge between the keeprs legs.

If Bevan had come in instead of Boof the run rate required would have gone above 6 easily. They may have made it, but then again they may have gotten out, both have happened before. Lehmann made it a comfortable win, because he is a far better player of spin than Martyn.

Zombie
25 Feb 2003, 16:01
Originally posted by Port01
In the last two years they both have terrible strike rates.

Evidence?

And I query the fact that they can hit boundaries when needed, it rarely happens. Martyn hit about 2 boundaries last night and one was an edge between the keeprs legs.

They didn't need to hit boundaries last night, the simple fact is that you wanted him to hit boundaries to entertain you, I'll take doing his job over your entertainment any day.

drexel
25 Feb 2003, 16:18
Martyn has a better strike-rate than all batsmen in the team except Gilchrist and Lehman, better average than all except Ponting, Bevan, Hayden, Jones...(in ODI history)

He's made 4 100's....Steve Waugh made 3 in his whole one day career.

The 6 batsmen in the team now, are currently the best 6 in Australia...clearly.

NICK THE PIE MAN
25 Feb 2003, 18:05
Martyn was fine.

He didn't need to do anything drastic or spectacular.
Just found the gaps, hit 1's and 2's.

Did the job fine.
I'd prefer his innings to say a quickfire 20 or 30 then a cheap dismissal.

Catman
25 Feb 2003, 20:37
Originally posted by nicko18
:o here we go, a side full af hack allrounders. never mind when we have to front to a half decent side.

Hack allrounders? Harvey was leading the wickets for Oz before yesterdays game. Not bad for a bloke who has only played 2 out of 4 games.

We had "hack" allrounders against the Paks and it wasn't a problem. In fact those hacks were our best players, Harvey, Symonds and Hogg.

We have not missed Mr. Insomnia (Bevan) at all.

Port01
25 Feb 2003, 21:01

They didn't need to hit boundaries last night, the simple fact is that you wanted him to hit boundaries to entertain you, I'll take doing his job over your entertainment any day.

Lehmann hit 6 or 7 boundaries, and we won with less than 3 overs left.

Obviously some boundaries were necessary.

Kenny_01
25 Feb 2003, 22:12

No one has had a go at Ponting for his much slower run rate than Martyn in yesterdays game despite Martyn having a higher career strike rate than Ponting aswell as an almost identical career average. Martyn may not be as entertaining as the likes of Ponting and Gilchrist but he doesn't need to be, he has his job to do and he does it extremely well. Cricket is a sport not a television show, if you want entertaining change the channel.

Well said Zombie.

Kenny_01
25 Feb 2003, 22:17
The only possible change that could occur to our squad is that Harvey may replace Symonds if Symonds bowling can't be relied upon. Otherwise, our side is functioning perfectly.