View Full Version : Re: Peter Siddle over Brett Lee!!
The Governor
29 Jun 2009, 20:12
Heh Everyone,
THe bowling face off occurred at Hove and Peter Siddle put his hand up with a sustain performance of fast bowling.
Brett Lee struggled and it seems his career will be destined for the riches of the 20-20 league in India.
As I have written on numerous occasions, he can only bowl at one speed to become an effective fast bowler and he does not have the smarts to bowl in the mould of an Imran Khan and DK Lillee.
The thing baffles me is Imran was able to re-invent himself into an effective fast bowler after he turned 30. Have a look at his performance against the West INdies in the WI in 1986-87. With Akram at the other end, he was still an effective fast bowler for Pakistan.
DK Lillee was able to remodel his fast bowling strategies after WSC and he remodelled his action and bowling technique before the 83-84 season against the Pakistanis. If you recall, he suffered a bad groin injury during the 1st test match against England in Perth during the 82-83 season and never played a test match until the Kandy test match in 1983.
Brett Lee is only an effective bowler when he can hit the 150 kms per hour mark on a consistent basis and he does not swing the bowl in a normal and Irish manner on a regular basis. And, he does not bowl the off and leg cutter on a consistent basis.
Doug Bollinger should have taken his spot and the selectors have stuffed up again!!
Peter Siddle reminds me of a young Rodney Hogg and Merv Hughes. Hogg and Hughes bowled with heart and controlled aggression. Peter Siddle bowls with these traits and he is not prepared to give it to the batsman.
Peter Siddle can inspire his teamates in the mould of SK Warne. Allan DOnald and Glen McGrath had this trait whilst Brett Lee is just past his used by date.
Bombers_Forever
29 Jun 2009, 20:24
Siddle >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Lee.
That is all.
jakethesnake
29 Jun 2009, 23:01
There is a place for both of them potentially, with no spinner and 4 quicks.
Seriously, Siddle is Australia's best fast bowler.
If you dont want him, we'll take him.
There is a place for both of them potentially, with no spinner and 4 quicks.
No there isn't. If we play 4 quicks, they should be Johnson, Siddle, Clark and Hilfenhaus. Hilfy for the swinging conditions, Clark for the accurate, tight bowling that puts so much pressure on the batsmen, and Johnson and Siddle are the obvious top two. Siddle does everything Lee does, better. He is not quite as fast (though he has shown he is capable of bowling 150+), but he is more accurate, more penetrating and bowls less loose deliveries and no balls. He is the future, Lee is the past.
Team Chemistry
30 Jun 2009, 00:59
Siddle is a madsnake and Lee is an absolute douchebag, which the AUS cricket team already has too many of, no brainer
TC:eek:
OzBomber
30 Jun 2009, 01:33
Seriously, Siddle is Australia's best fast bowler.
If you dont want him, we'll take him.
I would've thought Johnson holds that mantle.
I would definitely rather Siddle.
Love the reverse he gets.
I would definitely rather Siddle.
Love the reverse he gets.
Once again, that's Johnsons mantle.
Respected Journo
30 Jun 2009, 02:12
Im not so sure to be honest. I was really, really impressed by Peter Siddle in SA. Especially the way he bowled to Dale Steyn, knowing full well that he was going to get the bouncer barrage in return. That type of thing is not something you usually see in a guy who has played a handful of games. Normally the captain well get a more experienced bowled to dish it up but it just shows how highly Ponting rates Siddle.
For me that ball to get rid of AB devillers at the MCG was evident of how good this guy will be, he beat De villers for pure pace, just to quick.
Siddle seams to be flying under the radar a bit, for mine I wouldn't mind betting on odds of him giving KP his first pair this Ashes series.
Once again, that's Johnsons mantle.
No.
No.
Victorians :rolleyes:
Del Piero
30 Jun 2009, 03:26
Siddle is way ahead of Lee.
Can only see Lee playin if we play 4 quicks. Even then its 50/50
Ha.
1) I dont follow Victoria
2) State league is ****ing boring
jakethesnake
30 Jun 2009, 08:54
CrazyQ, you are an idiot if you would choose Siddle over Johnson at the moment.
No there isn't. If we play 4 quicks, they should be Johnson, Siddle, Clark and Hilfenhaus. Hilfy for the swinging conditions, Clark for the accurate, tight bowling that puts so much pressure on the batsmen, and Johnson and Siddle are the obvious top two. Siddle does everything Lee does, better. He is not quite as fast (though he has shown he is capable of bowling 150+), but he is more accurate, more penetrating and bowls less loose deliveries and no balls. He is the future, Lee is the past.
Agreed, boxing day Siddle was hitting 150 km he can also generate more bounce with his height were as brett lee being shorter the ball sids thru as opposed to bouncing of a length which siddle can get.
Team Chemistry
30 Jun 2009, 14:16
CrazyQ, you are an idiot if you would choose Siddle over Johnson at the moment.
Johnson gets soooooo many cheap wickets its not funny, Siddle shows signs of being a very good bowler, im yet to see anything from Johnson to suggest he has real talent. Gets poor bounce due to his ugly action, has vile accuracy, no real ball movement again due to the action and all his wickets come from batsmen being impatient, trying to cover drive and getting nicks.
If Johnson bowled right arm he'd struggle to make state teams
OzBomber
30 Jun 2009, 14:24
Johnson gets soooooo many cheap wickets its not funny, Siddle shows signs of being a very good bowler, im yet to see anything from Johnson to suggest he has real talent. Gets poor bounce due to his ugly action, has vile accuracy, no real ball movement again due to the action and all his wickets come from batsmen being impatient, trying to cover drive and getting nicks.
TC:eek:You didn't watch the South African tour did you?
psssst, it's 2009, not 2006
marto9000
30 Jun 2009, 16:03
Funny thing was Ponting come out before the tour and said Siddle was not guaranteed a spot come first Ashes test, seriously WTF is up with Ponting, must have the biggest Man crush on Lee, same as the selectors, because they are pushing him hard to play the first test, Brett Lee may hve been good 3-5 years ago but Siddle is the man of the moment,
Future number 1 Test Bowler in the world
Joel_Selwood14
30 Jun 2009, 17:25
I wonder if Graeme Smith agrees with you?
TheColeTrain
30 Jun 2009, 19:01
I would've thought Johnson holds that mantle.
Wait a few years and I am very sure that Siddle will be numero uno.
King Elvis
30 Jun 2009, 19:31
I wonder if Graeme Smith agrees with you?
Kallis and his busted jaw say Hello too.
Jimthegreat
30 Jun 2009, 21:00
TC:eek:We laugh at people like you. You're the comedy aspect of the Board.
No-one can be stupid enough to be serious with this.
ROO BOY IN W.A
30 Jun 2009, 22:33
Siddle is very important now.johnston is still No 1 but there is alot of improvement in Siddle.Not sure how Lee is going to go but it will be interseting to watch.
DeadlyAkkuret
1 Jul 2009, 03:32
Are you a parody of the Normal Post --- Bay 13 Post thread?
Ill Chicken
1 Jul 2009, 06:55
Johnson will get a bag first test then go missing for the rest of the tour. Anything over three tests has killed him. Siddle looks to be a long haul bowler and I'd back him to take most wickets for Australia in the Ashes. If Brett some how gets a gig, he'll probably bat in front of Johnson.
PumpyChowdown
1 Jul 2009, 09:17
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,,25715971-5009880,00.html
Veteran pacemen Brett Lee and Stuart Clark will square off in Worcester for the final guaranteed fast bowling spot in the Ashes series opener in Cardiff next week.
The New South Wales bowlers have been named for the four-day match against England Lions in Worcester starting on Wednesday.
Ben Hilfenhaus has been omitted and seemingly slipped out of contention for the Sophia Gardens Test with Peter Siddle rested for the encounter at New Road.
"There are absolutely no certainties for the first Test right at the moment," Ponting said.
Why the hell is Hilfy on the outer? I would have thought that his style of Terry Alderman like swing would be perfectly suited to Pommie land.
Lee is a flog and shouldn't even get a game for NSW.
aussie1st
1 Jul 2009, 09:36
Hilfy has struggled to take a bag of wickets, he gets 1 or 2 but for a swing bowler you would expect more. His Test average of 50 doesn't help.
reubski23
1 Jul 2009, 12:33
Hilfy has struggled to take a bag of wickets, he gets 1 or 2 but for a swing bowler you would expect more. His Test average of 50 doesn't help.
Hilfy will be fine, i do not think you should take into account a bowling or batting average for that matter after only four - five games. The big H will smash up the pom's with the swing he will be able to generate over there with the duke bowl. I hope like hell it will be big Johnno, Siddle and Hilfy, i am not sure how much our spinners are showing so i would put in Clark in for experience even though he has never played in England and the fact that i don't like him much at all.
Blue Dimension
1 Jul 2009, 12:51
Hrmm. Hilfy's omission I'm surprised at.
Hilfy will come into contention as the series goes on but for the first test I think the attack should be Johnson, Siddle, Clark and Hauritz. Then when it's not turning, you can give Hilfy a go.
Ill Chicken
1 Jul 2009, 13:46
Are you seriously using the statistics of a bowler that has only been in three tests?
Badesumofu
1 Jul 2009, 15:22
Disgusted that Hilfy is out of contention. Hauritz did nothing in the first warm up, and Lee shouldn't even be in the squad. Hilfenhaus is younger than both, and has the capability to be a champion swing bowler, which just happens to be exactly what Australia needs. North is out-performing Hauritz with the ball, and Lee is a washed up hack.
Australian selectors continue to dissapoint. It wouldn't surprise me is Stuart Clark is overlooked for the first test now. If that happens, I can't see myself making the effort to stay up and watch the matches :thumbsd:
TassieSaint
1 Jul 2009, 18:33
I'll cop it if Clark gets chosen over Hilfy, but **** me if Lee gets the gig I will fly over there and break that useless pricks legs :(
OzBomber
1 Jul 2009, 18:47
I'll cop it if Clark gets chosen over Hilfy, but **** me if Lee gets the gig I will fly over there and break that useless pricks legs :(I know a guy going over there for the 2nd test. I'll get him to do it for ya. :thumbsu:
King Elvis
1 Jul 2009, 19:29
I know a guy going over there for the 2nd test. I'll get him to do it for ya. :thumbsu:
You're a good lad.
dan warna
1 Jul 2009, 20:06
Johnson is brilliant. Im a fan.
He is the no.1 strike weapon in the Australian Armoury at the moment.
Siddle is a more than adequate No.2.
the problem is it starts sliding after that :(
tbh i think Katich, North and pup are all better bowling options than Hauritz ><
TassieSaint
1 Jul 2009, 20:25
I know a guy going over there for the 2nd test. I'll get him to do it for ya. :thumbsu:
cheers mate haha. I have rellies over there I could ask, but I reckon they'd prefer it if he played.
aussie1st
1 Jul 2009, 21:01
Are you seriously using the statistics of a bowler that has only been in three tests?
What else can the selectors look at? Can you seriously expect them to pick based on potential over experience?
I like Hilfy but he needs to work on getting the ball to swing late, right now it is coming from the hand making his swing easy to negate.
Cousin Jed
1 Jul 2009, 21:32
What else can the selectors look at? Can you seriously expect them to pick based on potential over experience?
I like Hilfy but he needs to work on getting the ball to swing late, right now it is coming from the hand making his swing easy to negate.
Bingo on that last sentence.
Hilf certainly didn't show me that he was an automatic inclusion on his work in South Africa, and I have been a fan of his for a while now.
OzBomber
1 Jul 2009, 21:37
What about Warne? He averaged 96.50 after his first 4 tests (and 49.92 after his first 8) and didn't look like he was a good bowler. But they stuck with him and look how he turned out. If they didn't stick with Siddle after he got smashed at the WACA last year I doubt he'd be here right now.
Ill Chicken
1 Jul 2009, 23:53
Or McGrath or Johnson or the majority of bowlers. The is few in between that take a bag then average general spirals outs then comes back in slightly or they're fringe to gone from test cricket forever aka Simon Cook.
Respected Journo
2 Jul 2009, 02:52
The point is I guess that an Ashes test match, or any test match, is not really the place to be playing a bowler on "potential". If his got potential, why isn't he using it. When our side was elite, and almost unbeatable we could carry a bowler. But we can't do that anymore, no side ran bar the odd one.
I really thing Siddle is going to do some serious wrecking this tour, KP's first pair is on the cards at Cardiff at the hands of Siddle.
I still genuinely believe that the selectors don't know whether Hauritz will play and if he does, then who will play out of Clark and Lee.
At the moment i think they are leaning towards 4 paceman, if Hauritz has another 1/150 then he simply can't play. That's pretty obvious. If Hauritz does play then I don't think Lee will make the team unless he destroys the Lions in this match and maybe even passer by.
aussie1st
2 Jul 2009, 09:25
What about Warne? He averaged 96.50 after his first 4 tests (and 49.92 after his first 8) and didn't look like he was a good bowler. But they stuck with him and look how he turned out. If they didn't stick with Siddle after he got smashed at the WACA last year I doubt he'd be here right now.
Thing is who was there to replace Warne? And who was there to replace Siddle? Now I don't remember in the Warne era but I can tell you that we had Bollinger and Hilfy to replace Siddle. So you are replacing potential with potential not potential with experience like in this case.
And a lot of us were calling for Siddle to be sacked but the selectors showed they knew what they were doing in sticking with him.
Thing is who was there to replace Warne? And who was there to replace Siddle? Now I don't remember in the Warne era but I can tell you that we had Bollinger and Hilfy to replace Siddle. So you are replacing potential with potential not potential with experience like in this case.
And a lot of us were calling for Siddle to be sacked but the selectors showed they knew what they were doing in sticking with him.
Only the sydneysiders...