View Full Version : Sheedy to coach Richmond ...???

IDGAF
2 Jul 2009, 17:22
Come on you lot ... give us your thoughts .

Windyhill ?? ... you out there ? be very interested to hear your take on this .

Nobby8 ?? ... You have an opinion on everything :thumbsu:.. lets hear it

This is not a troll , be very interested to hear what the bomber faithfull think about the old kook sticking his hand up at Punt Rd.

Should we or shouldn`t we ?

eth-dog
2 Jul 2009, 17:28
Dilligaf.

Drummer_19
2 Jul 2009, 17:30
It doesn't bother me If he does, If was a Richmond supporter I wouldn't be all that happy if it happened, sure he knows how to spin with the best of them and im sure will generate revenue, but then he'll bring Ty Zantuck back to tigerland and maybe bring Campo out of the bombers coaching box to play for you, setting you back several more years.

Colin D'Cops
2 Jul 2009, 17:31
Couldn't give a flying f***, but he is a genius.

Now take you and your thread back to the Richmond & main AFL board/s.
Cheerio!

fishguts
2 Jul 2009, 17:37
I would personally say no.

Barnzy
2 Jul 2009, 17:39
Hope we don't select him as the new coach. Very outdated.

fishguts
2 Jul 2009, 17:43
Hope we don't select him as the new coach. Very outdated.

You'll go backwards with Sheedy.

If you have a premiership contending list he's the best out there. If you don't, well...

Barnzy
2 Jul 2009, 17:51

If you have a premiership contending list he's the best out there. If you don't, well...

That's my main concern. We need to rip through the list and draft well from here on in and I don't see Sheedy as the man for that. Everyone on the Richmond board is on the Sheedy bandwagon and as soon as I say I don't want him they all jump on me. They will probably all be back on Hardwick bandwagon next week though.

IDGAF
2 Jul 2009, 17:56
If you have a premiership contending list he's the best out there. He did manage to build a couple in his time

abers47
2 Jul 2009, 18:35
SEN this morning talked about it for hours and hours. KB is his greatest fan, along with all the old mates. True what they said, that Tigers could break an up and coming coach.

windyhill
2 Jul 2009, 18:43

This is not a troll , be very interested to hear what the bomber faithfull think about the old kook sticking his hand up at Punt Rd.

If you want a bloke with a rampant ego I`d say go for it. He is the master politician Sheedy, just look at his little mate starting his propaganda and whipping Tiger fans into yet another frenzy. Un-professional Bartlett, nice way to put the whole club under pressure.t Don`t do it Richmond.

IDGAF
2 Jul 2009, 18:47
just look at his little mate starting his propaganda and whipping Tiger fans into yet another frenzy.

Talk about emotional black-mail...."Hire my boy and i will end my self-impossed exile"

More than raised an eyebrow at that .

Its because of selfish former personalities being more concerned with thier own personal interests rather than the clubs that the RFC is the rabble that it is ...

Duckworth
2 Jul 2009, 19:04
If you want a clean out I would consider Hardwick. Even if it was only for a 1 year contract ;)

dave_27
2 Jul 2009, 19:05
People can say all they like about Sheedy but the man is a born winner, he IS the one person who can turn Richmond around on and off the field.

Can you imagine Sheedy at a new club with no emotional ties to any of the players?? He would be absolutely ruthless! No one at the club would be spared and he would instill confidence in everyone at the club beyond belief.

And before people bring up his last few years at Essendon there is no doubt he had probably run his race as he became soft on the playing group and obsessed with trying to prove everyone wrong regarding his drafting of certain players. (Kepler as a defender, Johns, Bolton etc)

He wont make the same mistake at Richmond starting with a clean slate.

Richmond would be nuts not to get him.

IDGAF
2 Jul 2009, 19:13
Can you imagine Sheedy at a new club with no emotional ties to any of the players?? He would be absolutely ruthless! No one at the club would be spared

More than anything ... this is what the RFC needs .

Interesting post

The Donners
2 Jul 2009, 21:06

He was outcoached for the last 5 or so years at Essendon, he's now been out of the coaching game for 18 months whilst travelling overseas... how closely does he know the young players running around in the u/18s? So, we can cross off Sheedy having a hand in recruitment. The next question is, what would the young players think of Sheedy? Would they care about what he did 10 years ago?

Sorry, all I see Sheedy doing is spruiking and marketing Richmond... he's not going to take Richmond to a premiership.

fishguts
2 Jul 2009, 21:41
He did manage to build a couple in his time

I'm more talking about his tendenancy of recruiting older players and playing older players regardless of form.

Hence he's good if you're challenging, but for you at the moment, it would not end out well I believe.

theboxmike
2 Jul 2009, 22:18
He was outcoached for the last 5 or so years at Essendon, he's now been out of the coaching game for 18 months whilst travelling overseas... how closely does he know the young players running around in the u/18s? So, we can cross off Sheedy having a hand in recruitment. The next question is, what would the young players think of Sheedy? Would they care about what he did 10 years ago?

Sorry, all I see Sheedy doing is spruiking and marketing Richmond... he's not going to take Richmond to a premiership.

5 years??:confused: He only left in 2007....and only 2 years out of finals.....

Sheeds still has it, but i think the tigers need to consider all options.

yodellinhank
2 Jul 2009, 23:17

I'd disagree strongly with this. IMO, Sheeds was at his best bringing young guys through and rebuilding a side. Leigh Matthews would be more the guy who can win you a flag with a great list.

It would be exciting if the tiges do choose Kevin, and i would be happy to see him get that fifth flag.

The Donners
3 Jul 2009, 07:53
5 years??:confused: He only left in 2007....and only 2 years out of finals.....

Sheeds still has it, but i think the tigers need to consider all options.

Sheedy had a group of players who had been there done that, they effectively coached themselves, especially with a captain like James Hird.

Realistically we were well on the decline after 2002. Then he started bringing in players like Salmon, Murphy, Camporeale, Allan, Zantuck, Alvey etc.

AJ_2000
3 Jul 2009, 13:13
Its a No for me overall.

The positive side is that he would be good in the sence of memberships and sponsers with his spruking abilities.

The negative would be he struggled to make the tough calls and cutting the deadwood from the side. Players like Bolton, Henneman etc etc stayed on the list for far too long. He always liked picking up the recycled players too. Look how vocal he was about Richmond getting Cousins.

I also think that he was out coached towards the end of his spell.

Richmond need a rebuild on an off the field. Someone to come in and redo the list and build a strong blueprint that is effective in the modern game for the future and its going to take 5+ years to do this.

I just don't think that Kevin is the man.

Perhaps as a director of football working with a young senior coach.

bombre-boy
3 Jul 2009, 16:31
Really depends on the expectation from the Tigers...

If you want someone who can coach a team of underachievers and have success, then i would say no.
If you want someone who will market the tigers and attract members then yes.

Sheeds was given lots of latitude in his last 4 years at the dons...
Remember he coached a 14 in a row losing streak and had NO pressure put on him by the club or the board.
He probably had some say in recruiting, but not total say, as he had picked some real spuds up, in the way of "tried players".

The turnaround of Essendon's form raises more negative questions on sheedy, in my opinion.

Where it might work is that Sheeds coaches and mentors someone else to take over in s few years time.
But i dont know if his ego will allow that.
As for KB he is a dill, who only pushes his own barrow....

caboose
3 Jul 2009, 18:08
I say an emphatic 'yes'.

There's no-one who'd be better qualified (on almost all grounds) to take over at Richmond atm in my view. I honestly can't see who'd be a superior choice. Hardwick? Buckley? Give me a break. What the Tigers need is someone who is ruthless and experienced but who is also a positive, binding force and has the knowhow to repair a stale culture and years of mediocrity - so the last person they need to try is an untried senior coach who'd be cutting their teeth in a job like this.

As for those on here saying Sheedy is "too old", "he's past it", "egotistical", "he's only good when the team is good" etc .. what a joke. Unfortunately, that's also the same sort of b/s that many ill-informed Essendon supporters and many commentators believed in 1992 and 1998 (just before two absolutely brilliantly-coached premierships) too.

Frankly, I can't believe people who claim to be true Essendon supporters actually even carry on like this. The bloke is an absolute legend of this club, and will forever remain so. And we owe him an enormous debt of gratitude when considering what a great position our club is in today - because it has a hell of a lot to do with him. Although I guess most of you were probably in (or not even in) nappies for many of the years he was coach - so that may excuse your sentiments a little.

Would love to see him in the Richmond job .. and would have a real soft spot for the Tigers for the first time in my life if they appointed him.

1980GFVideo
4 Jul 2009, 06:11
My concerns were that players felt that he was not great at communicating with them. An Essendon supporter posted on another site that a young player asked him how to improve and half an hour had no idea what Sheeds was saying. Not sure if it was Dyson.

He got a fail from the club in that area and it seemed to be the players beef. I think Lloyd was keen for the change although it didnt undermine his respect for Sheeds.

Do any of you guys know more about that. Appreciate the feedback from you guys as you know the most about him and I would love to find my concerns are unfounded.

IDGAF
4 Jul 2009, 10:28
Do any of you guys know more about that. Appreciate the feedback from you guys as you know the most about him and I would love to find my concerns are unfounded.

I`ll echo that ..

Some great posts ... keep them coming .

Be very interested to hear more feedback to GFVIDS question

Quite amusing actually , opinions pretty divided , the ol` coot to his dying day will polarise poeple:p

pazza
4 Jul 2009, 23:11
I`ll echo that ..

Some great posts ... keep them coming .

Be very interested to hear more feedback to GFVIDS question

Quite amusing actually , opinions pretty divided , the ol` coot to his dying day will polarise poeple:p

He was like for that for his entire 27 years...go and have a talk to Van Der Haar!

My take on this move is that Richmond have been somewhat soul-less for a very long time. The likes of Dyer and G. Richmond would be turning in their graves at seeing the side they made great has become - not to mention so many of the players of the 60's and 70's that made the club the envy of everyone else.

Sheedy's full-time return would see the old Richmond come back. "There's nothing more Tigerish, than a bloody Tiger" as Tom Hafey put it.

They could do a heck of a lot worse.

kelvin_sheedy
4 Jul 2009, 23:36
Unfairly maligned by the new generation who think they know better than someone who's more experienced and knowledgable.

There's always some method to his madness and if you look at our side today than it has a lot to do with Sheedy and players he showed faith in.

There's no chance you'll take him. It'll be an easier sell to the supporters and media to get an untried coach and rebuild. The AFL motto these days is losing is ok as long as you play kids and are learning on the job.

1980GFVideo
5 Jul 2009, 09:48
He was like for that for his entire 27 years...go and have a talk to Van Der Haar!

My take on this move is that Richmond have been somewhat soul-less for a very long time. The likes of Dyer and G. Richmond would be turning in their graves at seeing the side they made great has become - not to mention so many of the players of the 60's and 70's that made the club the envy of everyone else.

Sheedy's full-time return would see the old Richmond come back. "There's nothing more Tigerish, than a bloody Tiger" as Tom Hafey put it.

Ah Pazza, "There's nothing more Tigerish, than a bloody Tiger" is some great footy folklore but todays generation just dont dance to that rythm anymore. Today it sounds like something that Frawley would have used.

What worked on Wallis seems to have fallen on deaf ears with the recent bad boys that Sheeds wanted to make good in his last years at your club.

Another alarm bell for me was Sheedy saying he had final say on all recruitment decisions. Doesn't bode well given that he hung Judkins out to dry over not getting Martin Pike.

We are going to be wary of the Wallace in anyone.

ant555
5 Jul 2009, 09:55
I still think he can coach.
I was all for him leaving us becasue i thought he had become too comfortable and lost a lot of his edge. Too much stuff going on outside coaching and too much mystery talk to the players who had no idea what he was on about.

I think with a couple of seasons out to refresh and think about what went wrong over the last 5 years at Essendon he could be ok.

One thing that has to happen though is the board must insist that he is the coach only. No more filling the callander up with functions or appointments 5 or 6 nights a week.

Coach the side and some media but thats it.

IDGAF
5 Jul 2009, 10:59

I think there is a fair bit in that , and second only to Robert Walls , Terry Wallace contributed to this

Unfairly maligned by the new generation who think they know better than someone who's more experienced and knowledgable.

There's always some method to his madness and if you look at our side today than it has a lot to do with Sheedy and players he showed faith in.

There's no chance you'll take him. It'll be an easier sell to the supporters and media to get an untried coach and rebuild. The AFL motto these days is losing is ok as long as you play kids and are learning on the job.

Don`t know about being a hard sell , can you even begin to imagine the juggernaut that would wind up over the summer with Sheedy at the helm , spruiking his propaganda ... it would be a friggin steam roller ... until round 1 of course ;) ... You thought Cuzmania was off its head :p .One thing the RFC has done well over thier years is bullshit our way through a preseason :thumbsu:

The hard sell is going to be "NOT" picking sheeds in a lot of corners , this is where March has to "Stick fat"

Ah Pazza, "There's nothing more Tigerish, than a bloody Tiger" is some great footy folklore but todays generation just dont dance to that rythm anymore. Today it sounds like something that Frawley would have used.

What worked on Wallis seems to have fallen on deaf ears with the recent bad boys that Sheeds wanted to make good in his last years at your club.

Another alarm bell for me was Sheedy saying he had final say on all recruitment decisions. Doesn't bode well given that he hung Judkins out to dry over not getting Martin Pike.

We are going to be wary of the Wallace in anyone.

What worries me is supposed media Savvy coaches , time to hire someone who aint a linguistic acrobat and the master of putting spin on things ... Does that rule Sheedy out ?

I still think he can coach.
I was all for him leaving us becasue i thought he had become too comfortable and lost a lot of his edge. Too much stuff going on outside coaching and too much mystery talk to the players who had no idea what he was on about.

I think with a couple of seasons out to refresh and think about what went wrong over the last 5 years at Essendon he could be ok.

One thing that has to happen though is the board must insist that he is the coach only. No more filling the callander up with functions or appointments 5 or 6 nights a week.

Coach the side and some media but thats it.

Agreed

Houli to Neagle
6 Jul 2009, 11:23
I say an emphatic 'yes'.

There's no-one who'd be better qualified (on almost all grounds) to take over at Richmond atm in my view. I honestly can't see who'd be a superior choice. Hardwick? Buckley? Give me a break. What the Tigers need is someone who is ruthless and experienced but who is also a positive, binding force and has the knowhow to repair a stale culture and years of mediocrity - so the last person they need to try is an untried senior coach who'd be cutting their teeth in a job like this.

As for those on here saying Sheedy is "too old", "he's past it", "egotistical", "he's only good when the team is good" etc .. what a joke. Unfortunately, that's also the same sort of b/s that many ill-informed Essendon supporters and many commentators believed in 1992 and 1998 (just before two absolutely brilliantly-coached premierships) too.

Frankly, I can't believe people who claim to be true Essendon supporters actually even carry on like this. The bloke is an absolute legend of this club, and will forever remain so. And we owe him an enormous debt of gratitude when considering what a great position our club is in today - because it has a hell of a lot to do with him. Although I guess most of you were probably in (or not even in) nappies for many of the years he was coach - so that may excuse your sentiments a little.

Would love to see him in the Richmond job .. and would have a real soft spot for the Tigers for the first time in my life if they appointed him.

Well said and I agree with everything said here 100% :thumbsu:

The Richmond job isn't just an everyday run of the mill coaching job, it is the most difficult one without a doubt... An untried coach is too risky to a club "on it's knee's"!!!
Sheeds doesn't need to coach there for a long period of time just long enough to get the club "culture" back where it should be!
As funny as this sounds, I don't even think it would include a premiership, it would just be a bit of onfield success, better club promotion and thought process when deciding on things that involve the football department.
If the current Essendon side are a 6/10 and the current Ricmond side are a 2/10, I would put Sheedy in the job with a succession plan/ assistant coach maybe Hardwick, Buckley, Hird or whoever. I would keep Sheedy there until the Tigers reached a 6 or 7 out of 10 and then hand over the job to the assistant, all the while the assistant has been envolved in the recruiting etc...

The "behind the scene" area at Richmond needs to be changed - only Sheedy can do that!!! :thumbsu: