View Full Version : Box Hill v Nth Ballarat @ Box Hill Sat 11 July 2pm
rdhopkins2
8 Jul 2009, 13:08
VFL Round 13
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/bhh-vs-roosters.gif
Box Hill v Nth Ballarat
Saturday 11th July
@ Box Hill City Oval
Seniors start 2:00pm (VFL Reserves 11:10am)
Teams TBC
After a disappointing loss against Geelong last week, 7th placed Box Hill will be looking to hit back with a win against 2nd place North Ballarat in what promises to be a tough encounter.
For those not able to make the journey down to Launceston this week to see Hawthorn play, why not head down to Box Hill and cheer the boys on to victory and enjoy a suburban ground game, complete with the coach's address during the breaks and kick to kick on the ground at half time?
Alternatively, grab yourself a tinny and meat pie / steamed dimmy / sanga and enjoy footy from the terraces just like it was in the olden days.
Don't forget the coverage can also be caught at the ground on 3WBC 94.1FM so take your personal radio with you.
No excuses, grab your jacket, missus and kids and get down there! :D
http://maps.google.com.au/maps?hl=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=box+hill+city+oval&fb=1&split=1&gl=au&cid=0,0,16163196027948499782&ei=oA5USomPDoq4Nrf3tN8I&sa=X&oi=local_result&ct=image&resnum=1
A short walk from Laburnum station. Parking Whitehorse Reserve across the road from the oval.
Free entry to Hawthorn members- redeem your Box Hill membership card (that came with your membership) at the gate.
kimbopen
8 Jul 2009, 13:17
I have a fairly busy Saturday night, with 2 birthday functions to attend, however, I'll definitely be at City Oval come Saturday arvo!
the_banshee
8 Jul 2009, 16:03
Should be a cracker of a game.
Btw, the 3WBC call on 94.1FM is really good. That Ben dude has some good calls and I love nat and rashman on the boundary!
Did you know they have a sports show on friday mornings with some of the same people? That Hoops guy hosts it.
I think its called the Neutral Corner...its from 7-10am every friday.
i think they even have a Box Hill segment where they talk to a player or member of coaching staff.
Rudi Gilham
8 Jul 2009, 18:24
Important game for the Stangers after disappointing losses to teams in the bottom half of the ladder.
Nth Ballarat and Williamstown (our next two games) are the top 2 sides ATM.
go hawks!!!
9 Jul 2009, 19:06
can someone post the team pls...... like to see if young is playing and bailey should back up
can't be at the game this week will be in tassie
RustyHawk
9 Jul 2009, 21:04
Box Hill Hawks vs. North Ballarat
Saturday 11th July
Box Hill City Oval at 2:00 PM
Box Hill Hawks
B
Whitecross...... Taylor......... Savage
HB
Walsh............ Suckling.......... Kiel
C
Dowler............... Lisle........... Shiels
HF
Schoenmakers..... Renouf......... Stokes
F
Sierakowski......... Milne.......... Morton
R
Bailey.............. Tuck........... J. Kennedy
Int
Markovic... Bull... Kenna.. Van Unen*..Neil
Gibson... McQueen-Miscamble...Curnow
Smithwick... Pedersen..Bello...Yze.. Iles
That team is entirely Hawthorn senior and rookie list players!!! Gotta be a first for this season at least. Even the Box Hill Capt has been named on the interchange bench. At least 5 players to come out. The 4 emergencies and the 1 who travels with the team as the 23rd player.
Question: were is Muston?
North Ballarat
B
Watt............... Moloney....... Greig
HB
Feery.............. Searl........... Sharkey
C
Richardson........ Lower........... Roach
HF
A. Edwards........ Cartledge....... Spolding
F
Driscoll.............. Jo. Smith...... Campbell
R
Stephenson......... Goodes...... Clifton
Int
Sewell... Power... Garlett.. White... Hooper*
Wundke.. McMahon.. Peters.. A. George.. Chester
McHugh
RustyHawk
9 Jul 2009, 21:08
Box Hill Development Squad
Box Hill Hawks vs. North Ballarat (Reserve Grade)
Saturday 11th July
Box Hill City Oval at 11:10 AM
Box Hill Hawks
B
Sierakowski..... Smith...... Van Unen
HB
Milne............. Sandilands... Fagan
C
Curnow.......... Marcius......... Cross
HF
Smithwick........ Purcell....... Bull
F
Cunningham...... Hogan.....Conyers
R
Walsh..... George.... McQueen-Miscamble
Int
McGuinness... Warby... Nye.. Parker...McLnerney
Kitchin... Renton..Hoegel.. Walker.. Coyle..Tomkins
Carey
North Ballarat
B
Murnane..... Niblett..... Dickinson
HB
McHugh...... Caldow..... A. George
C
C. Benjamin... Peters.... Chester
HF
Hall............ W. Benjamin... McMahon
F
Micallef........ Boyd........ T. George
R
Orvis........... Je. Smith...... McKenzie
Int
Gubbins... Bell... Todd... Raworth
Luke... Neurath.. Linke.. Monteith
Box Hill Development Squad
Box Hill Hawks vs. North Ballarat (Reserve Grade)
Saturday 11th July
Box Hill City Oval at 11:10 AM
Box Hill Hawks
B
Sierakowski..... Smith...... Van Unen
HB
Milne............. Sandilands... Fagan
C
Curnow.......... Marcius......... Cross
HF
Smithwick........ Purcell....... Bull
F
Cunningham...... Hogan.....Conyers
R
Walsh..... George.... McQueen-Miscamble
No no no no please please please if Renouf is right than play WALSH at full forward in the seniors. :confused:
Dermie The Kid
9 Jul 2009, 21:15
No Muston, Young or Bruest named in either Boxhill squad.
Injured or possible late call up for Hawthorn?
go hawks!!!
9 Jul 2009, 21:43
i missed bruest, hope he is ok, once our season is written off i would play him in the seniors....he will be a star next year
young is injured.....i reckon he is done.....i have heard its groin which could be OP.
muston: hope its not the achilles that kept him out earlier in the year...he needs confidence
big max: star!
rdhopkins2
9 Jul 2009, 23:56
Not giving much away with the lineups are we!!! :D
Their all playing twice or thrice. New way of getting them fit.:D
bigbol069
10 Jul 2009, 10:19
Muston is fit and trained at waverley yesterday, so perhaps being rested, looked down on form at Geelong last week.
Young was a no show at training yesterday so perhaps being given another week of rest to fully get over his problem.
Breust was the shining light for me against Geelong last week, I thought he was excellent. Also didn't train yesterday.
Can't wait to see Max Bailey run around again. What a feeling it was to see a big bloke in hawks colours who could actually jump and palm a ball to a midfielder consistently, as soon as he's match fit, it's bye bye Taylor and Robbie will be the number 2. He is a class or two above our other rucks. Very impressed with Renouf's last game before he got injured and to me he trained really well yesterday so expect him to have a big game in combo with Max. Throw Walsh in to that mix and we should absolutely smash them in the hitouts this week. At the very least with Walsh's marking ability he'll be a massive boost at either end of the ground.
BuddyHawkers
11 Jul 2009, 15:22
The score so far is
2009 VFL Seniors
Box Hill Hawks 2.4 4.7 . .
North Ballarat 4.3 8.5 . .
2009 VFL Reserves
Box Hill Hawks 0.1 5.4 8.6 11.14 (80)
North Ballarat 5.1 7.1 9.6 9.6 (60)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Hoegel 3 George 2 Fagan 2 Marcius 2 Nye Cross
North Ballarat: Peters 3 McMahon 2 Hall George Boyd Benjamin
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: George Kitchin Cross Marcius Carey Fagan
North Ballarat: McKenzie Benjamin Peters Benjamin George George
__aria__
11 Jul 2009, 15:54
im listening to it on the radio and either the commentators have something personal against schoenmakers or he is having the worst game of all time
Flawed Genius
11 Jul 2009, 15:59
Both Benjamins in the best for the reserves, can only be a good sign
Hungry Hawk
11 Jul 2009, 16:42
Joy!!!!!
Final Score:
Box Hill Hawks 2.4 4.7 6.10 11.16 (82)
North Ballarat 4.3 8.5 9.8 10.8 (68)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Stokes 3 Pedersen 2 Smithwick 2 Yze 2 Kenna Renouf
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Iles Savage Schoenmakers Stokes Pedersen Renouf
REPORTED PLAYERS:
Box Hill Hawks: Nil
North Ballarat: Nil
Rudi Gilham
11 Jul 2009, 17:03
Box Hill Hawks 2.4 4.7 6.10 11.16 (82)
North Ballarat 4.3 8.5 9.8 10.8 (68)
Big day for Box Hill! Came back big time in the seniors & the twos!
Cosmo Kramer
11 Jul 2009, 17:17
Did Bailey play for BH seniors or reserves? If so how did he go, how much match time did he play?
halfback dasher
11 Jul 2009, 17:28
Savage..MMmmmm:rolleyes:Think the whisper on this kid might be right..:thumbsu:
Rudi Gilham
11 Jul 2009, 17:40
Savage may get in the ones sooner rather than later, given he has that quality sadly missing through Hawthorn's midfield - pace. He's very young though.
I'm keen to see if Bailey got through ok.
moginie
11 Jul 2009, 17:46
Excellent results for both teams.
walhawk
11 Jul 2009, 17:47
The boy & I got there just after half time with BHH about 5 goals down.
Superb & gutsy comeback V the Premiers.
Big Max Baily did most of the ruck work and got his hand on it a bit. Has just enough mongrel too. Twister Renouf was also good at FF & ruck.
Both seemed to pull up well & the boy was wrapped to get their autographs.
Also, from what I saw Shoey showed a bit & took some good defensive marks. Stokes lively kicking with the wind in the last but couldn't find goals.
Tuck was going in hard but could have been better.
Great day for Box Hill.
The BIG X
11 Jul 2009, 18:49
Went to the game for 1 reason - to see Big Max - Could only make it for the 1st qtr (we kicked against the wind).
Max started on the bench - little disappointing as he did all the warm up and then had to spend the 1st 10 mins on the bench.
Came on and got 2 out of 3 Centre clearances.
Boundary throw in in front of Box Hill bench - straight down the throat of his running rover - classic stuff.
For me Max did enough in about 15 mins of play in 1st Qtr to be in the Hawthorn team in the next couple of weeks.
PatientHawk
11 Jul 2009, 19:40
For me Max did enough in about 15 mins of play in 1st Qtr to be in the Hawthorn team in the next couple of weeks.
Very encouraging news....go big Max:thumbsu:
Thanks again to the guys posting on this forum.
My bl@#dy computer couldn't play the live streaming of the game, I am sure I wasn't the only one.
Great win BH:thumbsu:
Rudi Gilham
11 Jul 2009, 19:44
While it was great to see Bailey & Renouf rucking in unison, you've got to feel for Timmy Walsh who was dropped to the seconds!
RustyHawk
11 Jul 2009, 20:02
For the rest of this round I think we want Sandy to beat Collingwood, Willy to down Coburg. Geelong will win against Frankston.
Leaves a clump of teams on 7 and or 6 wins and our percentage is not great by comparison.
Not guaranteed a finals berth just yet but we are in with a chance.
On the players.
I would love them to give Max Bailey the 2nd ruck spot in the seniors. Yes I know he isnt fully match fit but stuff it, we need him. Only has to play 7-8 mins a quarter. Im sure he can do it.
Also Shane Savage. This kid has the cleanest hands - really poetry in motion. If his training form is anything to go by get him in the seniors now!
The BIG X
11 Jul 2009, 21:00
I would love them to give Max Bailey the 2nd ruck spot in the seniors. Yes I know he isnt fully match fit but stuff it, we need him. Only has to play 7-8 mins a quarter. Im sure he can do it.
Agree
Also Shane Savage. This kid has the cleanest hands - really poetry in motion. If his training form is anything to go by get him in the seniors now!
also agree - yet seeing him at qtr time his hands were very muddy:D
Seriously - sure hands - great runner - plenty of speed - give him 3-4 games at season end.:thumbsu:
Roger Rogerson
11 Jul 2009, 23:08
Excellent win by box hill. stiff to be trailing all day as we were the better side but just didnt take our chances at times.
very windy conditions.
No Bruest, Muston, Young or whitecross (must be the emergency for tomorrow).
Big Max - hard not to get excited by some of his ruck work but he is a fair way off intensity-wise. Dont reckon he had more than 6 possies for the game and cant remember him taking any marks. very very skinny legs and his right leg is noticable skinnier. he was wrestling in most ruck contests and struggling to hold his opponent out but at times had the height to still get his hand to the ball despite being out of position and put it to our advantage. he started jumping at a few as the game wore on which was great to see as his confidence was getting up and this resulted in some excellent tap work. in my opinion he is not ready for AFL action until he is jumping at everything without hesitation. he would have rucked for around half of each quarter and if i am right rucked pretty much the whole last quarter.
Morton - went off in the first quarter and didnt return. Not sure what the injury was.
Savage - first time i have seen him and initially thought that there is not much of him but he acquitted himself extremely well and wasnt knocked around too much at all. intelligent footballer and played on the wing linking up and using it well. good pace without being explosive but ran and carried a few times which is what we like to see. nice balanced kicking action and good intensity at the contest. i think we will see him at AFL level before the year is out. prob similar to shiels in his level of intensity.
Kiel - very good first half. hard at the contest and used the ball well.
Schoey - very quiet first half in defence but when the heat was in the game in the last quarter he stood up. couple of good marks, one in particular standing in the hole. very reliable by foot. surprised to see him in the best so perhaps he did a job on a forward (i tend to only watch our blokes closely).
Milne - another who I thought stood up when the heat was on late in the game. not a heap of it but some important touches.
Stokes - excellent game. showed his class. thought he and renouf were our best 2. lined up about 50 out into the wind in the 1st quarter and ran around the man on the mark Jarman-style and drilled a classy goal. I have always queried where his best position is and I think he should be developed into a rover and left at box hill for a couple of months to learn how to win high numbers of possessions and gut run. no more specialist roles for him this year - just let him go and win the ball and as much of it as possible so he can be added to hawthorns midfield stocks.
Renouf - I am not a twister fan but he was very effective today as a marking target up forward and ok in the ruck. very windy conditions but he took about 6 very impressive one grab contested marks across half-forward. he has some ability which we have only seen glimpses of.
Tuck - worked himself into the game like he would last year but his kicking still let him down even taking into account the wind.
Suckling - thought he played his quarterback role very well even if it was tough hitting targets. can see his attraction but just cant see him making it because of his leg speed.
Lisle - struggled today up forward. caught behind a few times and also outbodied. missed 3 gettable goals that i can remember. he is not quick off the mark at all and unless this can be improved he will struggle to carve out an AFL career.
of the box hill guys, thought iles was down a little bit from other times i have seen him (but he has set a high standard). curnow didnt have a good one nor neil. bello was great and cam pederson as always was super super impressive. would be a handy player for hawthorn. marko and MM were pretty good defensively but the conditions helped them. smithwick quiet but kicked 2 important goals in the last.
RustyHawk
11 Jul 2009, 23:42
^^ great summary of the players there RR :thumbsu:
Much appreciated by those that couldnt make it.
grizzlym
11 Jul 2009, 23:49
Thanks RR.
rdhopkins2
12 Jul 2009, 00:11
Box Hill certainly battled valiantly against the ferocious crosswind in the 1st and 3rd but just couldn't use the ball efficiently when we had it. With the wind in the 2nd, the boys went wide, short and ran in circles- terrible footy to watch. By the end of the 3rd, NthBalla looked home-try we may, we just weren't playing smart footy.
The message at 3/4 time was that we still had a sniff of snatching it if we used the wind (3-4gls) to our advantage- long, direct and give the forwards a chance. By the last 10mins we really looked a chance of running over the top of them.
Bailey and Twister were great in the ruck and Twister made a few good tackles with his 2nd effort rate much higher. Shoey took a few great grabs in defence, Yze showed class with a couple of goals aswell as Stokes.
Jovial scenes in the Box Hill rooms after the game as the Box Hill theme song was sang loud and was great to see Big Max with a bigger smile than the Man on the Moon. Well done boys, you stood up when the chips were down and turned it around. Play that sort of footy over 4 quarters and we will be very tough to beat.
Thanks to 3WBC again for their great commentary and on behalf of all the crew on Hawks BF we hope boundary rider Nat has thawed out :D
timhawx
12 Jul 2009, 00:57
Thanks for the reports RR & RD :thumbsu:
moginie
12 Jul 2009, 01:08
Thanks again to the guys posting on this forum.
My bl@#dy computer couldn't play the live streaming of the game, I am sure I wasn't the only one.
Ah! So it wasn't just me. I've just got a new wow-banger of a computer & I was cursing it Basil Fawlty style because it couldn't stream the game. Disappointing to miss what sounded like a good last quarter comeback.
Thanks RR. Sounds like a great assessment of Stokes to me.
halfback dasher
12 Jul 2009, 08:24
Thanx to all for some great work....:thumbsu: Great new,s on Max...on his low possie count, due to fitness and unable to make contest,s ? or still finding his way back into the game (tempo and positioning) ? and could Savage become that mid sized HFF with skill and pace...he is 185cm and still growing.
THERE IS LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL !!:)
Collins-Langford-Ayres
12 Jul 2009, 10:09
Excellent win by box hill. stiff to be trailing all day as we were the better side but just didnt take our chances at times.
very windy conditions.
No Bruest, Muston, Young or whitecross (must be the emergency for tomorrow).
Big Max - hard not to get excited by some of his ruck work but he is a fair way off intensity-wise. Dont reckon he had more than 6 possies for the game and cant remember him taking any marks. very very skinny legs and his right leg is noticable skinnier. he was wrestling in most ruck contests and struggling to hold his opponent out but at times had the height to still get his hand to the ball despite being out of position and put it to our advantage. he started jumping at a few as the game wore on which was great to see as his confidence was getting up and this resulted in some excellent tap work. in my opinion he is not ready for AFL action until he is jumping at everything without hesitation. he would have rucked for around half of each quarter and if i am right rucked pretty much the whole last quarter.
Morton - went off in the first quarter and didnt return. Not sure what the injury was.
Savage - first time i have seen him and initially thought that there is not much of him but he acquitted himself extremely well and wasnt knocked around too much at all. intelligent footballer and played on the wing linking up and using it well. good pace without being explosive but ran and carried a few times which is what we like to see. nice balanced kicking action and good intensity at the contest. i think we will see him at AFL level before the year is out. prob similar to shiels in his level of intensity.
Kiel - very good first half. hard at the contest and used the ball well.
Schoey - very quiet first half in defence but when the heat was in the game in the last quarter he stood up. couple of good marks, one in particular standing in the hole. very reliable by foot. surprised to see him in the best so perhaps he did a job on a forward (i tend to only watch our blokes closely).
Milne - another who I thought stood up when the heat was on late in the game. not a heap of it but some important touches.
Stokes - excellent game. showed his class. thought he and renouf were our best 2. lined up about 50 out into the wind in the 1st quarter and ran around the man on the mark Jarman-style and drilled a classy goal. I have always queried where his best position is and I think he should be developed into a rover and left at box hill for a couple of months to learn how to win high numbers of possessions and gut run. no more specialist roles for him this year - just let him go and win the ball and as much of it as possible so he can be added to hawthorns midfield stocks.
Renouf - I am not a twister fan but he was very effective today as a marking target up forward and ok in the ruck. very windy conditions but he took about 6 very impressive one grab contested marks across half-forward. he has some ability which we have only seen glimpses of.
Tuck - worked himself into the game like he would last year but his kicking still let him down even taking into account the wind.
Suckling - thought he played his quarterback role very well even if it was tough hitting targets. can see his attraction but just cant see him making it because of his leg speed.
Lisle - struggled today up forward. caught behind a few times and also outbodied. missed 3 gettable goals that i can remember. he is not quick off the mark at all and unless this can be improved he will struggle to carve out an AFL career.
of the box hill guys, thought iles was down a little bit from other times i have seen him (but he has set a high standard). curnow didnt have a good one nor neil. bello was great and cam pederson as always was super super impressive. would be a handy player for hawthorn. marko and MM were pretty good defensively but the conditions helped them. smithwick quiet but kicked 2 important goals in the last.
Great update RR. Thanks.
I am still interested as to why we drafted Lisle. I know it's early on in his career but if he is slow he won;t ever make it as a defender and I would have thought we had enough forward options.
I know people say he slipped to out pick and we were surprised, but he slipped for a reason. Time will tell I suppose. Maybe he just needs a few more pre-seasons to work on his running.
houdinihuddo
12 Jul 2009, 13:13
I arrived at the half time break in the reserves. There was a strong gusty wind blowing towards the right forward pocket at the Maroondah Highway end and I was amazed to see the accuracy of NB 7.1 to BH 5.4. My highlight from the second half was some great acts of courage particularly a sensation mark by Joel Cross right on the ¾ time siren. The boys were pumped when they came to the huddle and there was no way they were going to lose. The result was 3.8 to Nil in the last quarter. Andrew McGuiness played a great last half with some strong marks and hard offensive running which helped set up our match winning three goals against the breeze in the 3rd quarter.
Tim Walsh – I have no doubt Tim played in the seconds because Max and Twister are pushing for HFC selection and he would have had limited game time in the firsts. In the third quarter Tim took 3 or 4 telling strong one grab contested marks when we were kicking into the strong wind. He positioned himself well in the very difficult conditions and won most of the ruck contests more often than not to the team’s advantage. He also laid some good tackles and blocks in an impressive half in conditions which are not favorable for a ruckman.
Will Sierakowski – Had a quiet third term and a good last quarter when he provided good run and defensive pressure. Apart from a couple of clangors his disposal was telling in the difficult conditions.
A very good win by the firsts particularly given NB’s position on the ladder. The wind eased in the second half and I thought our win was set up in the third quarter when we restricted NB to one goal in the first 10 minutes. There was a stalemate for the next 10 minutes and then NB show signs of tiring and we kicked two goals to set up the game for the last quarter. Apart from a magnificent individual effort by Tom Roach, we were in total control in the last quarter.
Shane Savage – Impressed me in the 2008 TAC Grand Final and I couldn’t believe we were able to draft him at pick 75. Given the fact that Shane has only played two games in the seconds and one game in the firsts, his performance was outstanding. He showed good pace, ran hard offensively, took a couple of strong marks from front position, used the ball well by hand and foot and was strong at the contest. He is an instinctive footballer and has clean ball handling skills.
Max Bailey – Competed well in the ruck and laid some strong tackles and blocks. A couple of his taps were first class and most importantly he has another game under his belt.
Jarryd Morton – He pulled up sore in the first 10 minutes of the first quarter. It could be hamstring related and to his credit he stayed on the ground and made an effort to contribute. When he came off the ground he walked around the boundary and went into the rooms and took no further part in the game.
Matt Suckling – His composure and ball use in the first half was critical when we were under the pump. He read the play well and was strong in the contest. Matt needs to overcome the problems he has with his body because they are obviously restricting his movement.
Hayden Kiel – Another solid performance. Strong in the contest and generally used the ball to the advantage of the team.
Jordan Lisle – Struggled in the blustery conditions. Presented well on a couple of occasions but had no impact on the game.
Ryan Schoenmakers – Totally obliterated Josh Smith in the first half. Provided good support in the back line and in the last quarter he took a strong mark in front of a pack. Generally used the ball well.
Brent Renouf – A first class competitive game with strong work in the ruck, very good marking and some great tackling the highlight being he pulled his opponents to the side to avoid being penalized. The best big man on the ground in conditions which did not suit the ruckmen.
Cameron Stokes – Played a very good offensive game. Was harshly tagged but kept his focus on the ball and never shirked a contest. Kicked a great goal in the first quarter when he ran around the man on the mark and made him look stupid.
Riley Milne – The quiet achiever. Positioned himself well and his composure under pressure was very good enabling him to pick the best option. Good defensively and if he can build up his body he could develop into a top key position back man.
Travis Tuck – Quiet in the first half but played a key role in the third quarter with his strong attack on the ball and good defensive pressure. He needs to work on his disposal and decision making.
I spoke to Luke Bruest and Beau Muston at half time and they both have general soreness and hope to be available next week. I also spoke to Mitch Thorp and he is happy with his post operation progress. A huge positive is that Mitch had the grunt to play under difficulty for a year. Mitch played with a ‘sore foot’ which turned out to be two broken bones in his foot. This is a very good lesson for any poster who chooses to criticize a player without knowing what might be impacting on the player’s performance. Let’s hope Mitch can have an uninterrupted pre-season and a great 2010 for the mighty Hawks.
djboonie
12 Jul 2009, 13:26
A huge positive is that Mitch had the grunt to play under difficulty for a year. Mitch played with a ‘sore foot’ which turned out to be two broken bones in his foot. This is a very good lesson for any poster who chooses to criticize a player without knowing what might be impacting on the player’s performance. Let’s hope Mitch can have an uninterrupted pre-season and a great 2010 for the mighty Hawks.
True, but it's also in his interest to get these things checked out instead of playing through the pain. Had he identified that the foot was injured for a whole season, surely they'd have sent him in for scans and op during the pre-season. Although courageous he needs to do the right things, for himself, the club and the team.
I really hope he gets his body right, has a smashing pre-season, and takes the CHF position as he professed. Good luck Mitch.
grizzlym
12 Jul 2009, 22:51
I arrived at the half time break in the reserves. There was a strong gusty wind blowing towards the right forward pocket at the Maroondah Highway end and I was amazed to see the accuracy of NB 7.1 to BH 5.4. My highlight from the second half was some great acts of courage particularly a sensation mark by Joel Cross right on the ¾ time siren. The boys were pumped when they came to the huddle and there was no way they were going to lose. The result was 3.8 to Nil in the last quarter. Andrew McGuiness played a great last half with some strong marks and hard offensive running which helped set up our match winning three goals against the breeze in the 3rd quarter.
Tim Walsh – I have no doubt Tim played in the seconds because Max and Twister are pushing for HFC selection and he would have had limited game time in the firsts. In the third quarter Tim took 3 or 4 telling strong one grab contested marks when we were kicking into the strong wind. He positioned himself well in the very difficult conditions and won most of the ruck contests more often than not to the team’s advantage. He also laid some good tackles and blocks in an impressive half in conditions which are not favorable for a ruckman.
Will Sierakowski – Had a quiet third term and a good last quarter when he provided good run and defensive pressure. Apart from a couple of clangors his disposal was telling in the difficult conditions.
A very good win by the firsts particularly given NB’s position on the ladder. The wind eased in the second half and I thought our win was set up in the third quarter when we restricted NB to one goal in the first 10 minutes. There was a stalemate for the next 10 minutes and then NB show signs of tiring and we kicked two goals to set up the game for the last quarter. Apart from a magnificent individual effort by Tom Roach, we were in total control in the last quarter.
Shane Savage – Impressed me in the 2008 TAC Grand Final and I couldn’t believe we were able to draft him at pick 75. Given the fact that Shane has only played two games in the seconds and one game in the firsts, his performance was outstanding. He showed good pace, ran hard offensively, took a couple of strong marks from front position, used the ball well by hand and foot and was strong at the contest. He is an instinctive footballer and has clean ball handling skills.
Max Bailey – Competed well in the ruck and laid some strong tackles and blocks. A couple of his taps were first class and most importantly he has another game under his belt.
Jarryd Morton – He pulled up sore in the first 10 minutes of the first quarter. It could be hamstring related and to his credit he stayed on the ground and made an effort to contribute. When he came off the ground he walked around the boundary and went into the rooms and took no further part in the game.
Matt Suckling – His composure and ball use in the first half was critical when we were under the pump. He read the play well and was strong in the contest. Matt needs to overcome the problems he has with his body because they are obviously restricting his movement.
Hayden Kiel – Another solid performance. Strong in the contest and generally used the ball to the advantage of the team.
Jordan Lisle – Struggled in the blustery conditions. Presented well on a couple of occasions but had no impact on the game.
Ryan Schoenmakers – Totally obliterated Josh Smith in the first half. Provided good support in the back line and in the last quarter he took a strong mark in front of a pack. Generally used the ball well.
Brent Renouf – A first class competitive game with strong work in the ruck, very good marking and some great tackling the highlight being he pulled his opponents to the side to avoid being penalized. The best big man on the ground in conditions which did not suit the ruckmen.
Cameron Stokes – Played a very good offensive game. Was harshly tagged but kept his focus on the ball and never shirked a contest. Kicked a great goal in the first quarter when he ran around the man on the mark and made him look stupid.
Riley Milne – The quiet achiever. Positioned himself well and his composure under pressure was very good enabling him to pick the best option. Good defensively and if he can build up his body he could develop into a top key position back man.
Travis Tuck – Quiet in the first half but played a key role in the third quarter with his strong attack on the ball and good defensive pressure. He needs to work on his disposal and decision making.
I spoke to Luke Bruest and Beau Muston at half time and they both have general soreness and hope to be available next week. I also spoke to Mitch Thorp and he is happy with his post operation progress. A huge positive is that Mitch had the grunt to play under difficulty for a year. Mitch played with a ‘sore foot’ which turned out to be two broken bones in his foot. This is a very good lesson for any poster who chooses to criticize a player without knowing what might be impacting on the player’s performance. Let’s hope Mitch can have an uninterrupted pre-season and a great 2010 for the mighty Hawks.
HH, your detailed Box Hill reports are fast becoming mandatory reading for me. You'll need to put them on RSS feed soon!
Tell me, what do you think of Breust? I've seen him play a couple of times and thought he had something special there. Didn't get much of the pill, but had a real touch of class about what he did.
You reckon we'll persevre with him? I think we lack a 'true half forward' in the seniors, so would like to see someone like Breust given a shot.
Interesting what you said about Mitch - explains a lot
houdinihuddo
13 Jul 2009, 10:09
Grizzlym, I am a fan of Luke Bruest. I agree with your assessment that he doesn’t get much of the pill but he has a real touch of class.
Luke played three games in the BH seconds before being promoted to the firsts IMO more based on his potential rather than being in the best players. In his first game in the seconds he was overrun however after a quiet first half in his second game he showed his ability to read the play, used his body well and kicked three very good goals. His debut game in the firsts was against Collingwood and the positive was he was able to step up to the increased tempo and kicked three good goals in a big loss.
One of Luke’s strengths is his ability to read the play and gather the ball at full speed. He is a very good kick and usually chooses the best option by hand and foot. He can take a clean mark usually from front position, is not afraid to put his head over the ball and is a strong tackler. Despite his light build he uses his body well and likes to take his opponent under the ball and then double back with good pace. He has been penalized a few times for push outs however once he builds up his body he will be able to stand his ground more rather than push with his hands.
I think we will persevere with Luke because he has could develop to be the ‘true half forward’ we are lacking. Luke has only played Aussie Rules for about three or four years so he appears to be a natural sportsman. At the moment he is a dozen possessions a game player so he needs to work on building up his endurance and body so he can increase his impact on a game.
Roger Rogerson
13 Jul 2009, 13:31
Grizzlym, I am a fan of Luke Bruest. I agree with your assessment that he doesn’t get much of the pill but he has a real touch of class.
Luke played three games in the BH seconds before being promoted to the firsts IMO more based on his potential rather than being in the best players. In his first game in the seconds he was overrun however after a quiet first half in his second game he showed his ability to read the play, used his body well and kicked three very good goals. His debut game in the firsts was against Collingwood and the positive was he was able to step up to the increased tempo and kicked three good goals in a big loss.
One of Luke’s strengths is his ability to read the play and gather the ball at full speed. He is a very good kick and usually chooses the best option by hand and foot. He can take a clean mark usually from front position, is not afraid to put his head over the ball and is a strong tackler. Despite his light build he uses his body well and likes to take his opponent under the ball and then double back with good pace. He has been penalized a few times for push outs however once he builds up his body he will be able to stand his ground more rather than push with his hands.
I think we will persevere with Luke because he has could develop to be the ‘true half forward’ we are lacking. Luke has only played Aussie Rules for about three or four years so he appears to be a natural sportsman. At the moment he is a dozen possessions a game player so he needs to work on building up his endurance and body so he can increase his impact on a game.
Also agree wholeheartedly HH.
As I posted on another thread his ability to hit the contest at pace is excellent and is the reason to think he has potential at AFL level as it is a rare quality. Hopefully he can be a 5 kick 2-3 goal forward at AFL level before pushing into the midfield in time. Certainly a very clean mover. Needs to get stronger and will.
Hawkamania!
13 Jul 2009, 13:54
Thanks for the updates especially to Roger Rogerson and houdinihuddo for some great analysis.
Roger Rogerson
13 Jul 2009, 19:54
Great update RR. Thanks.
I am still interested as to why we drafted Lisle. I know it's early on in his career but if he is slow he won;t ever make it as a defender and I would have thought we had enough forward options.
I know people say he slipped to out pick and we were surprised, but he slipped for a reason. Time will tell I suppose. Maybe he just needs a few more pre-seasons to work on his running.
I wonder if we looked at Liam Jurrah who went first pick in PSD? Rusty and co. I am imagining that we may have our own version of Liam in Carl Peterson?
grizzlym
13 Jul 2009, 20:22
I wonder if we looked at Liam Jurrah who went first pick in PSD? Rusty and co. I am imagining that we may have our own version of Liam in Carl Peterson?
RR, I can't speak for Hawthorn's opinion of Carl Peterson or our thinking going into the PSD, suffice to say that we obviously saw something there. And in any case, to point that out would be self evident!
What I can tell you is this: one of the young lasses in my office went out with a Richmond player, who, raved about this freak footballer they had down at the club. (This is going back maybe 18 months - 2 years.)
He said he could genuinely be anything if he got his body right and 'woke up to himself'. I promptly forgot about this conversation, but remembered it in a hurry when we drafted him.
Unfortunately, their relationship has gone south so can't glean any more info. But will finish up by saying that this player was seriously impressed by what this kid could do.
RR, I can't speak for Hawthorn's opinion of Carl Peterson or our thinking going into the PSD, suffice to say that we obviously saw something there. And in any case, to point that out would be self evident!
What I can tell you is this: one of the young lasses in my office went out with a Richmond player, who, raved about this freak footballer they had down at the club. (This is going back maybe 18 months - 2 years.)
He said he could genuinely be anything if he got his body right and 'woke up to himself'. I promptly forgot about this conversation, but remembered it in a hurry when we drafted him.
Unfortunately, their relationship has gone south so can't glean any more info. But will finish up by saying that this player was seriously impressed by what this kid could do.
I do know Nathan Brown rated him very highly from his time at Richmond.
I think it's very unfortunate that he has suffered so many injuries in his career. I say we give him the 2nd year on the rookie list, giving him a chance at a full pre-season with the aim at seeing what he can do at Box Hill next year, and who knows, the seniors.
We do have 8 rookie positions, and I think the depth of the rookie draft will be the worst in recent years, due to the GC and draft ages.
Now we have Moss, Peterson, Kiel, Sierakowski, Bruest, Milne, Suckling that can all be offered another year on the rookie list. I would offer this to;
Moss
Bruest
Milne
Sierakowski
Peterson
Unsure:
Kiel (don't know if he has the tools for AFL)
Suckling (Injury has severly hurt him in three seasons, if the club still feels good about keeping him, then they should).
Walsh & Stokes are in there 2nd year of the rookie status. I don't like T. Walsh's chances of being retained, as he can only play ruck at AFL level I would imagine, and he is 197cm which isn't liked by the current coaching staff to be a ruckman.
Stokes had a good 1st season. Has had a terrible 2nd season. This might be injury related, if not, I can't see him being promoted as the spots available are few and far between. I would think he is a good chance of being retained overall, the staff like him.
So if we retain most rookies(5 or 6), we can still add 2-3 and any NSW scolarship player we have access to. Thats all you probably want to access considering the strength of the main draft is hampered, which in turn, will hamper the rookie draft even more so.
Number 24
14 Jul 2009, 14:32
I had a conversation with Luke Bruest at BHH 3-4 weeks ago. he told me he broke his leg last season which left him virtually no chance of being drafted. Rookie position was his only hope.
He said the broken leg slowed his pre season but he is looking forward to another year and to getting his fitness and strength levels to a higher level.
I too think this lad has that "something" which makes a player worth some time and effort being put into.
We lack speed across the grass and it would not surprise me if Luke is looked at as a possible solution to that deficiency in our list. Consequently I think Kennedy might be in trouble given Mitchell, Lewis, Sewell, Tuck are all in and under players and not overly quick. And they are all better footballers than Joey
Sheils, Rioli, Muston, Stokes all have some leg speed and depending what's available in the draft, I can see Luke Bruest being in the mix for a promotion if not in 2009, then in 2010 at the end of his two years on the rookis list.
FriarTuck
15 Jul 2009, 17:50
I had a conversation with Luke Bruest at BHH 3-4 weeks ago. he told me he broke his leg last season which left him virtually no chance of being drafted. Rookie position was his only hope.....
Now that is exactly what the rookie list is all about.
I have only seen one game this year (due to living offshore). I was disappointed with the size of Bruest and he did not show electric speed. Clearly he has developed and good luck to him. A genuinely slippery HFF would not go astray.
Lord Mud of Glenferrie
15 Jul 2009, 18:55
HH and RG your reports are priceless.
Must read posts.
Truly appreciated.
This is what the forum should be about instead of the mindless name calling that is so prevalent.
Roger Rogerson
15 Jul 2009, 20:07
I have only seen one game this year (due to living offshore). I was disappointed with the size of Bruest and he did not show electric speed. Clearly he has developed and good luck to him. A genuinely slippery HFF would not go astray.
Where are you these days Friar? Used to very much enjoy your posts particularly about the hawthorn listed players running around at box hill.
grizzlym
15 Jul 2009, 20:27
Breust just has something about him.
You know he's going to do the right thing, and he just executes it so well.
Interesting in one of the previous posts where they said they'd been chatting with Breust and how he'd broken his leg pre-season.