View Full Version : The Ashes 1st Test: Australia V England at Cardiff (Wed-Sun) [Tea Day 1-Lunch Day 2]

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Blue Dimension
7 Jul 2009, 01:59
Continued from here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=600779)

http://img.tfd.com/wiki/b/be/ECB_Logo.gif Vshttp://www.bradford.com.au/images/product_images/info_images/CricketAustraliaLogo.JPG

Cardiff, Wales
July 8th – July 12th
(11:00 local, 10:00 GMT)

It’s finally here, and it’s what we’ve all been waiting for - The Ashes and nobody could forget the last time Australia played in England back in 2005 where the likes of Jones, Hoggard, Harmison, et al helped England tear the Urn back from Australia’s grasp. Reverse swing played a massive factor in that series loss where the likes of Gilchrist, Martyn, Hayden and the rest of the Australian line-up were unable to cope with the reverse swinging ball. 4 years on and the teams are face to face once again on England’s turf with vastly dissimilar squads with many new faces, while the greats in Warne, Mcgrath, Hayden and once vital players in Vaughan, Hoggard and Harmison are no longer around or not currently apart of each side.

Just around 8-10 months ago it looked like this series would be a faceoff of two of the most out of form teams in international cricket. Australia got pulverised by India in India then returned home to lose for the first time on home soil to South Africa in several decades. England similarly was coming off a series loss to the West Indies and was struggling for form. But 8-10 months is a long time in cricket and both teams have since hit back coming off series wins.

England uncovered Graeme Swann, Ravi Bopara and also Graeme Onions who all have had vast success in the Test arena in recent times. Likewise Australia unearthed young prodigy Phillip Hughes along with Peter Siddle, and Marcus North. Also, the rise in form of Mitchell Johnson with both bat and ball has boosted Australia after the retirements of Warne and Mcgrath and injuries to Brett Lee and Stuart Clark.

And now each side is going into the series with confidence. With rejuvenated line-ups and players in form, each side will be looking to give the first blow and go 1-0 up in the 5 Test series.

Both countries are not without injury concerns however. Shane Watson has been unable to participate in either of the warm up matches hindering Australia’s options. Brett Lee will sit out the first 2 Tests with a side strain. Kevin Pietersen will start in the England XI but will carry an achillies injury throughout the series which he, himself admitted has a possibility of flaring up at any time.

Each has taken positives out of their warm up matches. Bopara and Cook were in solid form in the bat with each scoring centuries against Warwickshire. Additionally the English bowlers skittled the county team out for small totals. England would have been buoyed by Steve Harmison’s performance in the English Lions game Vs Australia where he bowled with fire and uncovered vulnerability in Phillip Hughes’s armoury just a week before this Test.

England however have decided against including Harmison and have named a squad of 13 including Graeme Onions and Monty Panesar who will be fighting it out for the final bowling spot. This bowling spot will most likely depend on the amount of which the Cardiff pitch will turn.

Australia would have been pleased to see Marcus North hit form and get runs under his belt along with the previously out of form Micheal Hussey who now looks set for a big series. It looms likely with Lee’s injury that Hauritz and Clark will take a spot in the starting 11 alongside Peter Siddle and Mitchell Johnson.

Both teams have been awaiting this series for some time. On paper and form wise it and looks like it will be an intriguing contest between two powerhouses of international cricket.

----------------------------

England Squad
*Andrew Strauss
Alastair Cook
Ravi Bopara
Kevin Pietersen
Paul Collingwood
Ian Bell
+Matt Prior
Andrew Flintoff
Stuart Broad
Graeme Swann
James Anderson
Graham Onions
Monty Panesar

In: Monty Panesar, Andrew Flintoff
Out: Tim Bresnan (dropped), Ryan Sidbottom (dropped)

Australia Squad
*Ricky Ponting
Michael Clarke
Stuart Clark
+Brad Haddin
Nathan Hauritz
Ben Hilfenhaus
Phillip Hughes
Michael Hussey
Mitchell Johnson
Simon Katich
Brett Lee
Graham Manou (International debut)
Andrew McDonald
Marcus North
Peter Siddle
Shane Watson

In: Graham Manou, Shane Watson, Brett Lee, Stuart Clark
Out: Doug Bollinger (dropped), Bryce Mcgain (dropped), Brett Geeves (dropped), Steve Magoffin (dropped)

Australia probable XI:

Phillip Hughes
(Career bat avg: 69.17 – 09 avg: 69.17)
Simon Katich
(Career bat avg: 43.43 – 09 avg: 46)
Ricky Ponting
(Career bat avg: 56.21 – 09 avg: 32.88)
Michael Hussey
(Career bat avg: 55.29 – 09 avg: 29.57)
Michael Clarke
(Career bat avg: 47.82 – 09 avg: 45.71)
Marcus North
(Career bat avg: 40 – 09 avg: 40)
Brad Haddin
(Career bat avg: 37.54– 09 avg: 33.83)
Mitchell Johnson
(Career bowl avg: 28.01, Career bat avg: 34.7 – 09 bowl avg: 25.90, 09 bat avg: 79.75)
Nathan Hauritz
(Career bowl avg: 32.29 – 09 avg: 288)
Peter Siddle
(Career bowl avg: 27.66 – 09 avg: 19.15)
Stuart Clark
(Career bowl avg: 22.97 – 09 avg: n/a)

England possible XI:

Andrew Strauss
(Career bat avg: 43.96 – 09 avg: 59.70)
Alastair Cook
(Career bat avg: 45.03 – 09 avg: 65.89)
Ravi Bopara
(Career bat avg: 49.63 – 09 avg: 118.33)
Kevin Pietersen
(Career bat avg: 50.49 – 09 avg: 50.56)
Paul Collingwood
(Career bat avg: 44.20 – 09 avg: 65.25)
Andrew Flintoff
(Career bowl avg: 32.08, Career bat avg: 31.70 – 09 bowl avg: 30.20, 09 bat avg: 16.75)
Matt Prior+
(Career bat avg: 48.41 – 09 avg: 69.17)
Stuart Broad
(Career bowl avg: 37.96, Career bat avg: 31.35– 09 bowl avg: 28.50, 09 bat avg: 26.67)
Graeme Swann
(Career bowl avg: 26.24 – 09 avg: 22.15)
James Anderson
(Career bowl avg: 33.91 – 09 avg: 26.85)
Monty Panesar
(Career bowl avg: 33.62 – 09 avg: 54.00)

Quotes

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gif My prediction is it will be 5-0 to Australia. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
Glenn Mcgrath gives his usual prediction ahead of an Ashes series

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gif I also notice Nathan Hauritz is included, so there's no spinners. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
David Lloyd's thoughts on Nathan Hauritz

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gifThey are going to be weakened, but the Australian way is to come out and be fierce, competitive, and dominant in what they do. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
Kevin Pietersen on Australias lineup without past greats

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gifSwann's character could really get under [their] skin...he could disrupt Australia's rhythm. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
Shane Warne on Graeme Swann

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gif"If you're looking for clues as to who might win, I always look at the bowling attacks...Generally you can go with the team with the best attack. At the moment England certainly have got it. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
Ian Chappell and his thoughts on the 09 Ashes

TheBrownDog
9 Jul 2009, 01:02
Hilfy to open the session.

Lets see if he can get some reverse swing. Could be our best bet for a wicket.

PHX
9 Jul 2009, 01:02
The Hilf.

Flawed Genius
9 Jul 2009, 01:03
Already has MBE driving quite uppishly.

TheStinger
9 Jul 2009, 01:04
The Hilf.
Dont 'ken Hauslle The Hilf?

PHX
We need more than one slip, Punter.

Flawed Genius
Some swing. Encouraging.

rdhopkins2
9 Jul 2009, 01:05
I need more Coopers. Pitch it up just outside off and tempt him into a shot please!!

rdhopkins2
9 Jul 2009, 01:07
Another 20 overs til the new ball and 30 till the scheduled close of play. Over rate seems quite slow. Last thing we need.

C'mon Aussies, wicket time fellas!

Flawed Genius
Siddle appears to have the inswinger working

DoubleO7
A couple of quick wickets could make for an exciting finish to the day. England on the other hand, would like to add to the 97 runs scored in the previous session without losing a wicket.

Hilfenhaus getting some good outswing.

In other news, Mohammad Yousuf is the number one Test ranked batsmen in the world.

PHX
9 Jul 2009, 01:08
Lol were the crowd just singing "There's only one Glenn McGraaaaath!" ??

Lol now they're onto "You're not Glenn McGrath!" :D :thumbsu:

rdhopkins2
9 Jul 2009, 01:08
Howzat? Not out on the runout but a nice throw in there from square leg.

Flawed Genius
9 Jul 2009, 01:09
T'were. This is some uninspiring Test cricket

TheStinger
9 Jul 2009, 01:10
Barmy Army to Siddle - You're not Glenn McGrath, You're not Glenn McGrath You're not Glenn You're not Glenn You're not Glenn McGrath.

And the follow up...You're not very good, You're not very good etc

Flawed Genius
9 Jul 2009, 01:10
Jeez Phil Hughes is sexy

smasha
9 Jul 2009, 01:11
I'm completely blind drunk and I don't give a toss what Judge"born with brains and a ticket to a higher education"Judy says.

I was born dumb and Judge Judy could never comprehend that in a million years.

I'm in that "throw me off the West Gate Bridge"stages and I feel ****ing amazing.

God bless Bill Hicks and the Richmond Football Club.

Flawed Genius
Post of the millennium

PHX
Post of the year.

rdhopkins2
9 Jul 2009, 01:12
Siddle has bowled more pies today than Patty Symcox or Phil Tuffnel combined.

And what's with the no balls boys?

Pie Legend
9 Jul 2009, 01:13
Exactly what I was thinking smasha

Flawed Genius
9 Jul 2009, 01:13
Well they're not balls, rdhopkins

smasha
9 Jul 2009, 01:14
I played Michael Jackson during the lunch break .

Seeing as I share the same birth day,I have a great feeling for this genius of music.

A greatly misunderstood bloke.

R.I.P. mate.

rdhopkins2
I'm completely blind drunk and I don't give a toss what Judge"born with brains and a ticket to a higher education"Judy says.

I'm in that "throw me off the West Gate Bridge"stages and I feel ****ing amazing.

You truly epitomise all that is Richmond. Thank you for sharing dear sir. I must admit to a little ROFLcoptor. What should Punter's next move be?

OzBomber

Great post. :thumbsu:

I'm surprised you could type with such perfect grammar for someone blind drunk. Well done.

TheStinger
9 Jul 2009, 01:15
Cameraman trying to find a pretty chick FAIL!

DoubleO7
9 Jul 2009, 01:16
Ponting already has a sweeper cover on, where is he going to get the wicket from then, through a batsmens mistake, as he got the first three? And why isn't he bowling Hauritz or Clarke? The new ball is due in 20 overs or so.

This is boring stuff to say the least, very much unlike the series in 2005.

Flawed Genius
9 Jul 2009, 01:16
I played Michael Jackson during the lunch break .

Seeing as I share the same birth day,I have a great feeling for this genius of music.

A greatly misunderstood bloke.

R.I.P. mate.

You are a gentleman and a scholar.

PHX
9 Jul 2009, 01:17
And why isn't he bowling Hauritz or Clarke?

Did you miss the second session? Because the reason was spelled out.

Flawed Genius
9 Jul 2009, 01:17
The Barmy Army starting up "You all live in a convict colony"

Santana
9 Jul 2009, 01:18
Barmy Army to Siddle - You're not Glenn McGrath, You're not Glenn McGrath You're not Glenn You're not Glenn You're not Glenn McGrath.

And the follow up...You're not very good, You're not very good etc
This must be the famous Barmy Army wit I hear so much about.

smasha
Exactly what I was thinking smasha

No worries brother.

Live fast while you're still alive and kicking is my motto.

DoubleO7
Did you miss the second session? Because the reason was spelled out.
Most of it, yes.

Flawed Genius
Another edge through a vacant gully area

OzBomber
9 Jul 2009, 01:19
And why isn't he bowling Hauritz or Clarke? The new ball is due in 20 overs or so.

This is boring stuff to say the least, very much unlike the series in 2005.
He bowled them for like the whole 2nd session. Siddle will always bowl late 130s early 140s unless he takes wickets. He's a confidence bowler. Hilfy is bowling far too many no balls and bowling too short.

And I thought Clarke was our new first slip. Why is Ponting there?

rdhopkins2
9 Jul 2009, 01:19
Ball and chain, ball and chain,
We came with our backpacks,
You and your ball and chain

Ashes 07 Barmy Army

TheBrownDog
9 Jul 2009, 01:20
PHARK(@*##et^@

Flawed Genius
PHARK(@*##et^@

You're no smasha

PHX
Most of it, yes.

Well they bowled the majority of the session and fair to say England thanked us for letting them back into a decent position.

abs_of_STEELE
Most of it, yes.
Oh, that makes sense then.

rdhopkins2
9 Jul 2009, 01:21
Haha cue Michael Vaughan drinking Pimms & lemonade looking smashed (Smasha is that you!)

OzBomber
I'd say that's a beer instead of lemonade, Athers.

abs_of_STEELE
PHARK(@*##et^@
x2...:mad:

Flawed Genius
9 Jul 2009, 01:22
I'd say that's a beer instead of lemonade, Athers. :o

Brownest lemonade I've ever seen.

Who's the Prince Charming next to him on the right, he's dreamy with his metrosexual glasses

Vegas.
Hahaha Koops just kicking back with a very manly drink there, have a lager mate!

I think I've had enough for this evening, not particuarly enthralling cricket at this stage, smasha's posting on the other hand - top shelf.

OzBomber
PHARK(@*##et^@ I concur.

PHX
9 Jul 2009, 01:23
The Hilf looks cold now. Did Punter even throw him the ball in the second session?

Now would be a good time for McDonald. But we got Hauritz instead. :o

PHX
9 Jul 2009, 01:24
Although that ball was bloody good.

TheBrownDog
BOOOOOOOOOOO!

That was out.

We need the referral system back.

Hodges
Thats ****ing out! What the ****!

Vegas.
9 Jul 2009, 01:25
Wait, that wasn't out because....?

TheBrownDog
9 Jul 2009, 01:25
That was ****ing plum.

What the ****.

PHX
9 Jul 2009, 01:26
It doesn't get much more plumb than that. :confused:

Guess Billy thought he hit it.

Blease2Watts
How the hell was that not out?!?!

OzBomber
That rule is shit. We need Simon Taufel.

Flawed Genius
Maybe Hilf's reluctance to appeal?

Vegas.
Well if there was bat, he caught it. If there wasn't bat, it was dead plumb... OUT!

TheBrownlowMan37
Bring on the shit umpiring the decisions. What a suprise:rolleyes:

rdhopkins2
Had a few Pimms lemonade relaxing by the Thames near Tate Modern a few weeks ago. Marvelous stuff that.

I think Shotta's in the state the rest of us need to be in!! Drink up boys, it will lessen the pain!

abs_of_STEELE
FFS that was out.:mad:

aussie1st
Thats where the referral could have come in handy.

Blease2Watts
9 Jul 2009, 01:27
Siddle FFS bowling too short

jordanrobbo3
Where is the referral when you need it!? F*cking plumb you blind fool!!!!

rdhopkins2
That was trucking down the highway out! Bloody hell!

TheBrownDog
9 Jul 2009, 01:28
And now we're getting belted.

**** me dead. What a momentum sapping howler by the umpire.

DoubleO7
Close, but no cigar! :(

I must say though, this has been a very restrained and composed performance by this pair, they have show a lot of intent and patience (and a bit of luck). If only...

footycool
PHARK(@*##et^@

i agree:mad:, GET A F U C K I N Wicket!

Flawed Genius
9 Jul 2009, 01:29
It appears they have decided to "ride the lightning".

Looking at the replay - ****ing plumb. Blind **** of an umpire

TheBrownlowMan37
Now runs coming easily, **** this is depressing.

OzBomber
I wish we had Warne right now. :(

Even 39 year old very very unfit Warne is better than Hauritz.

Flawed Genius
9 Jul 2009, 01:30
Why did they close the other thread.
The usual bullshit discrimination against Richmond supporters?

Like the Herald Sun?

Smasha have I told you lately that I love you

smasha

Like the Herald Sun?

rdhopkins2
I'm watching the rest of the last session in bed!
Think I'll take a bourbon with me for luck!
Nite all! Go Aussies!

TheBrownlowMan37
Yeaaahhh babbyy!!!

rdhopkins2
Yeah!!!!@ TRUCK OFF!!!! Nice catch Hads!

Flawed Genius
GOT HIM

**** YES
HILF WHAT A MAN
GET HIM UP HERE I WANNA BOOF HIM
BAD HANDS YOU GUN

COLLINGWOOD
**** OFF
NO CNETURY FOR YOU
mmmm

Spudregus_87
Sorry, but how was that LBW not out?

Nearly as plumb as this one:

13Lb0-gKsiw

EDIT: ONYA HILFY!!!! :D

Blease2Watts
Yess hilfyyy

TheBrownDog
YEAH!!

**** off Collingwood.

footycool
9 Jul 2009, 01:31
Yeah!!!!!!!cmon!

TheBrownlowMan37
Alright, new batsman, here we go!

PHX
GOT HIM YES!

PISS OFF MBE! YOURE GONE.

About bloody time.

You deserved that Hilf.

OzBomber
GOT HIM! **** YES BRAD HADDIN YOU FREAK! Great catch. :D :D

jordanrobbo3
F*ck off Collingwood!! How the hell did some of you post that so quickly????

DoubleO7

Like the Herald Sun?
LOL! No, the thread reached its quota.

Yes, MBE Gone! Caught behind.

smasha
Siddle is bowling too short.
OMG hilffy has got a wicket ,explain it to me cause I'm blind.

Arecsa
64? Surely that's gotta be worth another MBE.

abs_of_STEELE
HILFY!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT A LEGEND!!!!!!!!

Good catch aswell.

picture in me pasta
9 Jul 2009, 01:32
Hilfy you star! **** off Collingwood you ugly ****.

belfast_bomber
On ya Hilfy

aussie1st
Hilfy you ripper. Good call by the selectors picking him.

jordanrobbo3
Lets get this toss out now

pinkus maximus
the Hilf !

nice catch haddin

TheBrownDog
Should be joining KP back at the pavillion. :mad:

Hodges
Carn Hilfy!

Blue Dimension
The poms should really be 5 down. God damn the break in the referral system! :p

Prior is a very good player though. Not easy getting out the English mid-lower order like it used to be. Swann and Broad also very capable with the bat with Flintoff to come.

OzBomber
9 Jul 2009, 01:33
Smasha have I told you lately that I love you
Woah, you can predict smasha's posts! :thumbsu:

abs_of_STEELE
F*ck off Collingwood!! How the hell did some of you post that so quickly????
Haha, yeah WTF!

Flawed Genius
Woah, you can predict smasha's posts! :thumbsu:

I have bent time

TheStinger
Hilfenator - Keeps cool when all the others are breaking down around him.