View Full Version : Ashes

TassieSaint
9 Jul 2009, 16:55
might be getting neglected in the light of St Kilda's season, but the ashes are back! (how good would it be if saints won the flag and aus won the ashes btw? perfect sporting year)

Early days yet, but I'm ready to make some calls already:

1. those of you who have been watching may have noticed Hilf currently has Australia's best figures at the end of day 1. Wouldn't have got a gig if Lee wasn't injured and a controversial inclusion ahead of Clark but I always thought he should play from the start, looks right at home on English pitches and has been getting consistent swing :thumbsu: what a champion.

2. Bopara is shit and watching him cop one in the chin from Siddle was the highlight so far (second to Hilfy's wickets). Has NFI and it's an injustice Siddle didn't get him earlier.

3. Hauritz looks like he is about 11 years old. Nathan please reach puberty then learn to bowl, cheers :thumbsu:

4. Australia 5-0

thoughts?

HoldenMCaulfield
9 Jul 2009, 20:43
Why am I not surprised to see this thread opened by a certain Saint from Tassie ? ;)

1. Hilfy is on fire - Lee and / or Clarke may have a "Maguire experience" this summer...

2. Siddle certainly is exciting (and Victorian... :D) - too early to comment on Bopara

3. Hauritz is not Shane Warne, but at least doesn't give up a lot of runs...

4. of course

TassieSaint
9 Jul 2009, 20:51
3. Hauritz is not Shane Warne, but at least doesn't give up a lot of runs...

you would have to think that is his one redeeming feature, and yeat first over this morning...

there is only one picture to correctly sum up my feelings (don't usually attempt these things but you gotta feel for punter right now):http://i26.tinypic.com/2eg61bt.jpg

StFly
9 Jul 2009, 21:29
Very meh test for mine, Ashes in '05 you had reverse swing and it was close, there was atmosphere. '07 Aus reclaimn and there was venom. South Africa, the ball was dancing circles around people and now you have a silent crowd, droning commentary and a very bleh game thus far.

TassieSaint
9 Jul 2009, 21:33
Very meh test for mine, Ashes in '05 you had reverse swing and it was close, there was atmosphere. '07 Aus reclaimn and there was venom. South Africa, the ball was dancing circles around people and now you have a silent crowd, droning commentary and a very bleh game thus far.
yeah I think the crowd doesn't help, dunno why they had it in cardiff. ridiculous looking ground and boring crowd.

HoldenMCaulfield
9 Jul 2009, 21:41
time for another edit of the Fuuuuuu man, TassieSaint ?

:o

CHBench
9 Jul 2009, 21:50
That is an amazingly good coat of arms on that last baggy green there Tassie. :thumbsu:
I don't really pay attention to pitch reports or anything, but 435. Good, bad or par?

TassieSaint
9 Jul 2009, 21:51
time for another edit of the Fuuuuuu man, TassieSaint ?

:o
I would update it to include hilfenhaus' frustration at the sheer injustice that hauritz ended with more wickets than him, but the last one took me far too long to make :( (as you can tell I am not exactly an artisté)

StFly
9 Jul 2009, 22:08
That is an amazingly good coat of arms on that last baggy green there Tassie. :thumbsu:
I don't really pay attention to pitch reports or anything, but 435. Good, bad or par?

Rather good, Aussies would have been hoping to contain them to less than 350 initially as the pitch is only going to crack and become more conductive to spin later (England have 2 spinners) so for the English to get over 400, they're in the drivers seat.

If the Australians can not lose a wicket today and get about 150 though, draw is more likely as it's likely to rain at least one day of the test. Because it wouldn't be England if something wasn't flooded.

Plugger35
10 Jul 2009, 15:46
I would update it to include hilfenhaus' frustration at the sheer injustice that hauritz ended with more wickets than him, but the last one took me far too long to make :( (as you can tell I am not exactly an artisté)

Yeah it doesn't seem right that Hauritz finished with more wickets than Siddle & Hilfenhaus. Two of Hauritz's wickets were from batsmen getting themselves out with stupid shots and the other one was Monty Panesar who is a walking wicket.

Good partnership from Ponting & Katich last night, if they can keep going today we could end up with a decent first innings lead and put the Poms under pressure on the last couple of days. Apparently there is rain forecast tomorrow though, so a draw is probably the favoured result.

CHBench
10 Jul 2009, 22:31
3 runs...Are you srs MEK Hussey? What has happened to you?
Used to be the most reliable on the team, never threw away his wicket. But now...

StFly
10 Jul 2009, 22:37
Now he goes fishing and gets hooked, and was lucky he chopped it onto his back foot instead of the base of middle stump before that. Mr Cricket needs to reinvent himself to Mr Batsman it seems.

Although I was more worried to watch that last over before lunch, Clarke faced all 6 deliveries, I thought his chances of remaining at the crease were 2% maximum.

CHBench
11 Jul 2009, 01:02
Pup survives the last over jitters again. Amaze.
I will be so pissed if rain affects this test, it will though. They're overdue. (Not a single drop of rain during Wimbledon)

Found it funny, the English tabloids keep yapping on about the 2005 ashes fluke win, but conveniently forget 2006 whitewash. Freddy even called on the spirit of 05 to rally the demoralised English team after Australia's 2nd day total. Time to let it go me thinks. It's getting embarassing. :o

Im curious, do we have any Saints supporters on here brave enough to admit they're pommy? :)

StFly
11 Jul 2009, 11:26
Pup survives the last over jitters again. Amaze.

Spoke too soon, 3rd last over of the day's play and Pup = GORNE

Im curious, do we have any Saints supporters on here brave enough to admit they're pommy? :)

My mates parents are, well one of them at least. Her accent is absolute killer. About as close as I get to being one is knowing one.:p

TassieSaint
11 Jul 2009, 11:36
dissappointing, I would have liked to see Broad go wicketless. In the spells I've seen him he's been absolutely useless.

StFly
11 Jul 2009, 12:37
dissappointing, I would have liked to see Broad go wicketless. In the spells I've seen him he's been absolutely useless.

He has some promise, just needs to make it more than an effort ball. Freddy was useless for mine, first spell everyone was raving at him consistently bowling 90+ miles (145ish) and yet all yesterday he barely got over 85 (135ish) with all his antics and huffing and puffing.

I mean christ, it took Collingwood to show England what the wicket can do. That's some issues there especially from Mr. "That was definitely out I was robbed" Swann.

TassieSaint
12 Jul 2009, 17:04
watched most of last night and England's bowling attack looked incredibly limp. Didn't look like taking a wicket, even with Hads just going the slog every ball. And yet within 5 overs we take 2 wickets (ok Bopara was very unlucky but he was still beaten all ends up and Hilf + Johno were doing more than the poms did all day).

I think Mo was spot on about their spirit as well, joking and laughing around about conceding 100+ for a wicket each? they should be ashamed with their effort but they don't seem too concerned. Barring a miraculous 2nd innnings turn around from their bowlers I'd think they'd be looking at major changes. Starting with Broad.

CHBench
12 Jul 2009, 23:34
This is going to be a draw.
Totally undeserved. :thumbsd:

TassieSaint
13 Jul 2009, 08:08
sometimes I hate test cricket. so much injustice in that draw :(

Plugger35
13 Jul 2009, 13:30
Frustrating to get so close and miss out on the win.

Credit to the England tailenders for holding on but I still can't understand why Ponting bowled Hauritz & North at the end there and not the fast bowlers. Surely they would have been more likely to knock the tailenders over than the spinners.

StFly
13 Jul 2009, 13:31
Yeah as soon as they went for tea I thought it was going tobe a draw so decided screw that I'm going to sleep. Credit to the English for boring everyone to death though.

Plugger35
13 Jul 2009, 13:34
One advantage of living in WA is that the cricket finishes earlier (around 1am) than it does in the Eastern States.

Must be tough for you guys trying to stay up until around 3am to watch it.

StFly
13 Jul 2009, 13:51
One advantage of living in WA is that the cricket finishes earlier (around 1am) than it does in the Eastern States.

Must be tough for you guys trying to stay up until around 3am to watch it.

Plus delays, I've often been going at closer to 4 from the comfort of my bed. But yeah, yesterday was just blatantly obvious what with Siddle having a 10 minute over because Swann decided to get twice and call for the physio twice then dawdle around a bit.

TassieSaint
13 Jul 2009, 18:07
yeah I called it a night early last night, too frustrating. I reckon Hilf could have reaped havoc with the tail end given more oppurtunity, bit disappointing but I don't think you can blame Ponting too much. Fact is his bowlers let him down, particularly disappointed by Johnson. Almost the best bowler in the world after SA, but has been down a bit this tour.

CHBench
19 Jul 2009, 20:37
http://fools-gold.org/forum/images/smilies/facepalm4.jpg

God we are embarrasing.

StFly
19 Jul 2009, 21:54
What's that;

Rudi - 5
Australia - 0

All we need is another 200 odd today, leaving tomorrow with 250ish to get. The spirit of the Dizz be with Mussey and Punter, douvble hundreds to the both of them as they dispatch the Bangladeshi attack!

CHBench
19 Jul 2009, 22:11
Do we even play Bangladesh anymore?
Who's our next test series against, surely we're due to play some minnows by now.

Rookie Australian opener Phillip Hughes was fingered out by umpire Rudi Koertzen,
Poor guy.

We need big Gus Worland to rescue us. (Yes i watched it. Once. :o) He's got the midas touch.

TassieSaint
19 Jul 2009, 22:42
We need some big changes

Out: Haddin, Hauritz, Johnson, North
In: Paine, Krejza, Geeves, Bailey

but seriously though I can't watch

StFly
19 Jul 2009, 23:11
Do we even play Bangladesh anymore?
Who's our next test series against, surely we're due to play some minnows by now.

They're over in England for a fair while with these 5 tests, 2 T20 matches and then about 5 ODI matches, I think it's scheduled to keep them over there in England until the start of September. And yeah unfortunately we don't play Bangladesh or Zimbabwe or any of the minnows nearly as much as any of the other nations do.

I would hazard a guess that our next test opponent will be Pakistan though, simply because Australia A are currently playing them.

CHBench
19 Jul 2009, 23:38
Those were the days when we played Zimbabwe in ODI's. :(
Even Kasprowicz could rip through the top order.

Another wrong decision. LOL. As much as this is sad, it's pure hilarity. :D
Time to whip out the "*".

StFly
20 Jul 2009, 00:27
We could always just piss England off and refuse to face every delivery left today.

"England never completed their over rates, fine them fine them!"

CHBench
20 Jul 2009, 20:06
Since Pup and Haddin have raised the hopes of a nation to an almost orgasmic level, it's almost a certainity that tonight will be anti-climax.

We'll start off solidly, you know, leave the good balls, smack the crap ones. Nations hopes raise even further. Pup will start to get a bit too comfy, go for one over the top, top edge it and get fingered out by Rudi. All in the first 5 overs. (Might as well bookmark it now, we WILL lose an early wicket) Haddin will stick phat, trying to maintain most of the strike, but eventually run out of partners, thanks to cheap/not so great shot selections, and we'll lose by a good 100 runs.

The end. :)

CHBench
20 Jul 2009, 20:10
**** it, im too good.
There goes Australia's wicket already, 6 minutes in.

TassieSaint
2 Aug 2009, 22:11
hilfenhaus dominating once again, but it's all for nothing, no chance of a result this test.

hilfy and punter will lead us to a 2-1 series victory though.

CHBench
2 Aug 2009, 23:29
hilfenhaus dominating once again

Rudi says hai.

http://www.witness.co.za/portal/witness_db1/UserFiles/SysDocs/bb_content/25174/cricket%20koertzen2.jpg

Im seriously sick of playing douchebaggy nations. India, South Africa, India, South Africa, England.
In all seriousness though it's good to see our bowlers get their mojo back, better late than never.

So if we were to tie the series 1-1, and the last test gets drawn, do we win since we're the current holders of the Ashes?

TassieSaint
2 Aug 2009, 23:32
yeah drawn series means we retain the ashes

agree about the amount of countries we play who are full of absolute cokheads. why can't there be more cool countries like the west indies and new zealand?

StFly
3 Aug 2009, 14:13
Pakistan

"Beardo reaches his ton just after the artist formerly known as Hassan and the player now known as Hassan.. oh wait, they've fired yet another coach, to be replaced with Ileftmepickleinajar! RIVETING STUFF BARRY!"

CHBench
3 Aug 2009, 17:40
Pakistan i can handle, just not "some" of their shithead supporters. The kiwis i normally hate just because of that trans-tasman rivalry, but because they're pretty hopeless atm they're on my good side. Only the SriLankans, Windies and Deshi's i can handle.

Can anyone see us getting completely rolled tonight? :rolleyes:

Whatever happens, i want Clark back in.

And maybe Hussey out.

StFly
3 Aug 2009, 17:53
I can see us capitulating before lunch. But realistically it'll probaby end with rain.

Squizzy1970
4 Aug 2009, 13:09
What part of Ian "Sherminator" Bell being plumb LBW early on did I miss? Nice of Rude-One to finally give him out in identical fashion.

Poor old Mitch can't take a trick - his LB looked pretty darn high even on the first reaction.

Would also be nice if the ball wasn't black on one side - what is the Paul "designated ball polisher" Collingwood eating? Liquorice?

StFly
4 Aug 2009, 14:07
Chewing tobacco while he writes his thesis on technical bat strokes and playing at nothing unless you have to.

HoldenMCaulfield
4 Aug 2009, 14:15
He got an MBE, right ?

For scoring seven at the Oval ?

I miss Warnie !

TassieSaint
4 Aug 2009, 14:18
He got an MBE, right ?

For scoring seven at the Oval ?

yeah mate

I wonder if they win this time, will they make the physio and 12th man MBE for their efforts in Cardiff?

Squizzy1970
4 Aug 2009, 15:07
I miss Warnie !

Actually I'm quite enjoying him as a commentator - sorely missed when he was off playing poker early in the tour. Is "Bumble" their embarrassing version of Tony Greig?

And what was that chop Swann (Swansong - what a lamearse nickname) doing going off the ground after finishing his spell - I thought they had outlawed that shit?

As for Freddie - having a good series and all, but after the zillionth time you pull that stupid face like you almost just got a wicket (even though it passed to the keeper a foot wide of off stump) it tends to lose its effect.

Here's hoping we can put our shit together, and ball-tamper properly - WTF is Cooley doing with the boys (he should know what lollies to bung on the ball and who holds the sawdust).

Squizzy1970
4 Aug 2009, 15:09
will they make the physio and 12th man MBE for their efforts in Cardiff?

Mate - Rude-One Koertzen is going all out to get a gong for services to the English.

StFly
4 Aug 2009, 15:30
Was it Bumble who made fun of Manous name during the commentary? The whole Graeme Manou doo doo dodo doo skit and the awkward silence that followed with the commentray box when he finished. because if so that man deserves some manner of MBE himself for actually shutting up the English box talking about Freddy again.

Squizzy1970
4 Aug 2009, 15:46
Was it Bumble who made fun of Manous name during the commentary?

He did? What a douche :o

I didn't hear any gags about onions (even broad onions) or how Graeme Swann could be King of Portugul (the King of Spain is already taken).

Or maybe Freddy twisted his ankle to avoid bowling his 300th no-ball of the series (even though only 5 have been called so far).

Or what a great athlete James Anderson is, as he does his best London Bridge impression.

Or how Michael Holding speaks in that cool West Indian voice, but no-one can understand what the _uck he is saying?

Or how it's a shame Stuey McGill is making 50 blunders every 10 minutes he's on TV, but is still a better commentator than Bumble. Mind you, they're all better than the IPL commentators in South Africa. Talk about setting the bar low down!

StFly
4 Aug 2009, 16:16
He did? What a douche :o

During the tea break or just before with the team sheets, he did about 4 verses of "Graeme Manou doo doo dodo doo, Graeme Mano doo doo doodoo ooo.." and etc and then there was silence, nothing befor eyou heard a little bit of a giggle and they switched to the break.

I didn't hear any gags about onions (even broad onions) or how Graeme Swann could be King of Portugul (the King of Spain is already taken).

Or maybe Freddy twisted his ankle to avoid bowling his 300th no-ball of the series (even though only 5 have been called so far).

Or what a great athlete James Anderson is, as he does his best London Bridge impression.

Or how Michael Holding speaks in that cool West Indian voice, but no-one can understand what the _uck he is saying?

Or how it's a shame Stuey McGill is making 50 blunders every 10 minutes he's on TV, but is still a better commentator than Bumble. Mind you, they're all better than the IPL commentators in South Africa. Talk about setting the bar low down!

I swear to god if the English commentators pan to the crowd one more time and say "it take all sorts..." my remote is going to be embedded into my screen. Jimmy Anderson also had a sook to Rudi "Rudi, Rudi, we threw the ball at Clarkey and he kicked it away, he kicked my ball away Rudi, give him out Rudi, aww come on Rudi I'll be your fweeeind."

Swann could be king of the punchable faces, which could be typoed on a mug "King of feces" for some brilliantly smashing potty humour for the bucked tooth clown to giggle at.

Holding is a champion, you have all these Englishmen and Aussies sitting there looking pasty white with prissy little voices and then you see Holding who speaks like a man who has 99% of the balls in the room all to himself. "Now what I'm saying mon is that you need more flavour and gusto with that cracking delivery and dulcet tunes..."

Stuey is laughable, if his eyebrows aren't trying to leap off his face they're in a war with Martos eerie eyes trying to create a mesh of memes while Mo is sitting there for expert commentary.

Squizzy1970
4 Aug 2009, 17:37
The missus isn't a huge fan of the head-butt, but she'd like to nut Swann - who's that tosser she asks (mind you, she said the same thing about Paul Harris and also asked whether Botha could chuck it any better if he tried).

I did laugh when Holding was talking about how Andy Roberts had about six different types of bouncers, and could use them all pretty much one after the other! Also got away with a comment that if Andy was digging them in, Botham would end up next to the umpire!

StFly
4 Aug 2009, 19:45
Botha could chuck better if he tried, but he probably couldn't disguise it to all those wonderous technitians, then again they'd just pull a Murali and change the rules anyway. I take it she didnt watch warnies mob in the IPL? 3 or so bowlers got done for chucking, all of them quickies, they then came back and started bowling again, and got reported for chucking again.

Rules are awesome when enforced eh?

CHBench
7 Aug 2009, 20:01
Bullshit, Rudi has reincarnated himself in the form of Billy Bowden. :rolleyes:
Turning point of the match. :cool:

StFly
7 Aug 2009, 23:03
That was a pretty poor decision, all uphill from then though. :p

CHBench
7 Aug 2009, 23:25
Now now, don't jynx it.

http://nestaquin.files.wordpress.com/2009/03/peter_siddle.jpg

Of course he's victorian. Pure skill.

102. PBJ time. http://imgsrv2.tennisuniverse.com/wtaworld/images/smilies/banana.gif

StFly
7 Aug 2009, 23:31
Uphill, as in uphill struggle. And thus, was crisis avoided!

Squizzy1970
8 Aug 2009, 21:39
Thought Warne was good to jump all over Atherton when he said before play "just need a good 5 days and the ashes is Englands". Warnie "bit early for that - there's a fair bit of cricket left, Athers".

Thought Huss' decision was rubbish - Broad was bowling from almost off the wicket and yet they find a way to give Strauss not out.

Look2Me4Guidance
10 Aug 2009, 10:07
You beauty! Excellent result for the brothers.

Graeme Onions right up there as the worst Ashes batsman of all time.

TassieSaint
10 Aug 2009, 10:41
I expect more of the same in the next test as well. Now way Australia will go down again after taking their eye off the ball and suffering the humiliation of being a test down to England. Expect England to fold like a pack of cards like the soft front runners they are.

p.s Hilf for man of the series.

Look2Me4Guidance
10 Aug 2009, 10:50
I expect more of the same in the next test as well. Now way Australia will go down again after taking their eye off the ball and suffering the humiliation of being a test down to England. Expect England to fold like a pack of cards like the soft front runners they are.

I think it'll be a boring draw at The Oval. The last game played there resulted in approx 1100 runs being scored.

Squizzy1970
10 Aug 2009, 13:11

Been great - but any chance he could keep his foot behind the line???

StFly
10 Aug 2009, 15:39
Been great - but any chance he could keep his foot behind the line???

Yes, we'll need some glue, a paper clip and Jack Bauer.:p

CHBench
22 Aug 2009, 01:07
Cricket is becoming a joke thanks to shit groundsmen and equally shit umpires. Complete bullshit how the series was won on a toss of the coin. England have had phenomenal luck this series. Mind blowing.

tim_saints
22 Aug 2009, 01:15
Cricket is becoming a joke thanks to shit groundsmen and equally shit umpires. Complete bullshit how the series was won on a toss of the coin. England have had phenomenal luck this series. Mind blowing.

I have a mate that is probably going to play for england one day, our club paid him to play with us during englands winter hs an absolute gun opens the batting for nottinghampshire, his best mate is stuart broad and he always told me he was a GUN! and i didn't believe him because i hadn't seen much of him but i tell you what he is KILLING US were officially FU***D.

Squizzy1970
22 Aug 2009, 17:52
You know when that piece of fluff Swann gets wickets, and then Marcus North gets the first one of the second innings that you have _ucked up the team selection pretty bad.

TassieSaint
23 Aug 2009, 11:30
we will win this match. hilf to make a century

tim_saints
23 Aug 2009, 20:21
Aussies are stuffed now!

CHBench
23 Aug 2009, 20:25
Im having an intense sense of Deja vu, can't remember who it was against but Australia were in a position to win a test match on the final day, but ****ed it up within the first 2 overs of the day. Not like we were in a position to win today anyway, but it was still fun to think we were.

Has this been the shittest weekend of sport or what? Actually make that year.
If it wasn't for the Saints i would've topped myself by now. My teams/people suck arse.

Look2Me4Guidance
24 Aug 2009, 14:12
I think it'll be a boring draw at The Oval. The last game played there resulted in approx 1100 runs being scored.

http://www.hemmy.net/images/interesting/fail01.jpg

TassieSaint
24 Aug 2009, 18:56
can't believe no one stuck around with Hilf he was looking good for a century

but seriously can we lock and burn this thread please