View Full Version : [ICC Cricket World Cup 2003] - Australia vs England

GoEagles
1 Mar 2003, 17:49
Discuss the upcoming Pool A match between Australia vs England on this thread.

This day game will be played in Port Elizabeth and will be the final Pool A match for either side. England need a victory to ensure they are in the mix to qualify for the Super Six stage. Australia on the other hand is safe, although for pride they would hate to drop this game going into a finals series.

Australia is also on 11 consecutive one day victories which is level with the West Indies record. A victory tomorrow will ensure that Australia has won the most one day games in a row.

Haven't heard any news about the team selection, although there could be a chance than Ian Harvey may play.

Could this be Nasser Hussains farewell?

EagleBlue
1 Mar 2003, 21:23
Australia would not want to drop this one, especially if England go through to the Super 6. That will mean Aus will only go through with 8 pts instead of 12. Am a bit nervous about this one. England have got to beat us somtime !!!!! Dont they :D

lufc618
1 Mar 2003, 21:40
England are due for a win against Australia. Hopefully it will come tomorrow night. Should be a good match. I am really looking forward to it. Hopefully England put up a real good fight.

wagstaff
1 Mar 2003, 23:19
Frankly, this game doesn't have that much appeal to me. England are a tiresomely predictable low-grade side to watch (bar Vaughan), and having watched them during the whole summer was more then enough to bear.

Hopefully Australia destroy England tomorrow and consign them to the early departure they deserve.

DaveW
1 Mar 2003, 23:54
Originally posted by EagleBlue
Australia would not want to drop this one, especially if England go through to the Super 6. That will mean Aus will only go through with 8 pts instead of 12. Am a bit nervous about this one. England have got to beat us somtime !!!!! Dont they :D
Or if Australia lose and England don't go through, Australia only progress with 11 points. So pride is worth 1-4 points.

DaveW
1 Mar 2003, 23:56
Originally posted by GoEagles

Haven't heard any news about the team selection, although there could be a chance than Ian Harvey may play.

Unchanged side to the team that played Namibia. Gillespie's injury is apparently a tad more serious than first let on.

wagstaff
2 Mar 2003, 00:56
Originally posted by DaveW
Unchanged side to the team that played Namibia. Gillespie's injury is apparently a tad more serious than first let on.

The Australian side has probably gotten used to by now that Gillespie is one of those players who picks up niggling injuries, has trouble shaking them off and will miss matches on a fairly regular basis. But it still would be a concern and it shows how much they rely on McGrath and Lee maintaining their good fitness records.

Kenny_01
2 Mar 2003, 00:57
If England win, then they will go through unless Zimbabwe can upset Pakistan. A game we have to win.

dr nick
2 Mar 2003, 11:17
Originally posted by lufc618
England are due for a win against Australia. Hopefully it will come tomorrow night. Should be a good match. I am really looking forward to it. Hopefully England put up a real good fight.

yeah... and im due for a call up to the test squad.

dr nick
2 Mar 2003, 11:20
Originally posted by wagstaff
Frankly, this game doesn't have that much appeal to me. England are a tiresomely predictable low-grade side to watch (bar Vaughan), and having watched them during the whole summer was more then enough to bear.

Hopefully Australia destroy England tomorrow and consign them to the early departure they deserve.

yeah, i found myself looking forward to the india pakistan game more than this one. i guess im sick to death of the weak, lacklustre performances the english put in.

i actually wouldnt mind...... *shudder* ......to see england win this one :eek:

Ronnie Irani
2 Mar 2003, 13:16
England will win this time.

Perty4
2 Mar 2003, 15:11
and then the pigs will enter the room.......flying.

lamby29
2 Mar 2003, 17:09
Lee just bowled a 160 km/h delivery.

St-KriS
2 Mar 2003, 17:28
England off to a flyer..

0/43 off 7 overs

St-KriS
2 Mar 2003, 17:40
Okay, ive had enough of this already...

England 0/66 off 9

Pigeon, time to put em in there place!

P0RT P0WER
2 Mar 2003, 17:44
Hopefully England post a 300 plus score so we can finally have a competitive match, a good warm up too for the super sixes.
England haven't beaten us for 49 months in one dayers, I guess that is what u can expect when u r as pathetic as the poms. Bichel is coming on, we are due for a wicket.

St-KriS
2 Mar 2003, 17:46
Andy's got the breakthrough..

Knight gone for 30 in the 10th over.

P0RT P0WER
2 Mar 2003, 17:46
Andy sends Knight back to the dressing rooms, good stuff.
Funniest Part was when night was leaving he raised his bat to the crowd as if he had just made a century, can't believe England cricketers are satisfied with lacklustre performances.

P0RT P0WER
2 Mar 2003, 17:52
Andy Bichels on fire, just one of those bowlers who knows how to get a wicket.
Bichels got 2.

Fall Out Boy
2 Mar 2003, 17:52
Another wicket for Bichel. Great ball to get rid of Vaughn

P0RT P0WER
2 Mar 2003, 17:55
Bichel has taken 7/15 so far in the world Cup, not bad figures at all.

Fall Out Boy
2 Mar 2003, 17:57
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Another wicket for Bichel. Great ball to get rid of Vaughn

And another. Bye bye Nasser.

3-3, not bad figures.

P0RT P0WER
2 Mar 2003, 17:58
Bichel 8/16 so far in world Cup, 3/3 today off 2 overs.
Nasser Hussain now has to go, an over rated captain who continually fails, if he stays Ronnie deserves to even stay.

St-KriS
2 Mar 2003, 18:00
Andy is on FIRE!!! :D

And Pigeon just picked up the next England captain.

P0RT P0WER
2 Mar 2003, 18:01
Mcgrath gets his first as England predictably fall to pieces once again. its looking like a replay of the Australia v Namibia game from the other night, The poms have lost 4/8 from 20 balls.

DaveW
2 Mar 2003, 18:04
Excellent. Bichel should tip Lee out of the side in time for the super sixes.

spring6
2 Mar 2003, 18:41
Can't see it myself.
Thank God the Poms are so hopeless, otherwise living here would be a nightmare.

mel 40
2 Mar 2003, 18:47
Andy bichel is my fav player and always has been.Not bad figures at all.

Go Andy

Adrian Shelton
2 Mar 2003, 19:27
Andys got 9/25 now. yowee!!

Fall Out Boy
2 Mar 2003, 19:28
Why is Andrew Symonds attempting to bowl medium pacers?

If he's going to bowl, it has to be his little nudies.

It's not as though its a greentop.

mel 40
2 Mar 2003, 19:48
Andy just got another one.Thats 5/16 for this match.

Fall Out Boy
2 Mar 2003, 19:56
6 for Bichel.

About time he got some return for all his hard work.

mel 40
2 Mar 2003, 19:57
And another one. Thats 6/16 now from 8.2 overs

mel 40
2 Mar 2003, 20:06
7/18 now. Hes on fire. But hes only got 5 balls left so lets hope he gets 8.

What an innings.

P0RT P0WER
2 Mar 2003, 20:07
Unbelievable, 7/17 for Andy.
It is only England though so I guess Mcgraths 7/15 is more creditable being against better opposition. ;)

mel 40
2 Mar 2003, 20:10
Oh well he didnt get the recors but a pretty good innings andy.Well done. 7/20.

Kenny_01
2 Mar 2003, 20:52
The selectors are going to have a tough job now leaving someone out. Maybe its feasible to play 4 pace bowlers? There's no way I'd be dropping McGrath, Lee or Gillespie.

red+black
2 Mar 2003, 20:53
Originally posted by P0RT P0WER
Unbelievable, 7/17 for Andy.
It is only England though so I guess Mcgraths 7/15 is more creditable being against better opposition. ;)
good call :D

vergs
2 Mar 2003, 20:54
Originally posted by mel 40
7/18 now. Hes on fire. But hes only got 5 balls left so lets hope he gets 8.

What an innings.

Couldn't think of another player who deserves it more than Bichel. He has worked so hard for little reward, it is great to see him shine on cricket's biggest stage. The question now is - who will we drop if Gillespie is fit for our next match? Can't exactly drop someone who gets 7/17. Tough decision coming up for the selectors if Gillespie regains his fitness.

red+black
2 Mar 2003, 21:08
Originally posted by vergs
The question now is - who will we drop if Gillespie is fit for our next match? Can't exactly drop someone who gets 7/17. Tough decision coming up for the selectors if Gillespie regains his fitness.
Martyn

or

Symonds (unlucky, but I think we might prefer a good bowler rather than a good middle order batsman)

or

Bevan (maybe)

spring6
2 Mar 2003, 21:12
Not saying it is right but i reckon Bichel may still find himself 12th man in the next match.

Jaymin
2 Mar 2003, 21:44
Australia 3/33....

Martyn gets given out lbw to a ball that was going over the top and that he hit.

Yet lee bowls a ball that hits caddick on the ankle in front of middle stump and tiffin decides its not out?!

noodle
2 Mar 2003, 21:47
marto is going to have to start to perform in these big games.

ok boof. it's your time to shine.

noodle
2 Mar 2003, 22:00
ponting gone!!!

australia in some serious trouble.
all you beven doubters better hope that you were wrong.

Kenny_01
2 Mar 2003, 22:14
Originally posted by noodle
marto is going to have to start to perform in these big games.

You can hardly blame him. What a shocking decision that was. I could tell from my lounge room he hit it.

GhostofJimJess
2 Mar 2003, 22:23
Originally posted by Jaymin
Australia 3/33....

Martyn gets given out lbw to a ball that was going over the top and that he hit.

Woeful shot though, Jay ... he needs to start using the FAT part of his bat.

Kenny_01
2 Mar 2003, 22:31
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Woeful shot though, Jay ... he needs to start using the FAT part of his bat.

What was wrong with his technique? It swang late and he still got some bat to it.

P0RT P0WER
2 Mar 2003, 23:21
Boof is out, England get the wicket they needed. Lehmann has two problems in world cricket - Craig White and getting run out by the sub-continent teams, otherwise he would be the perfect one day cricketer.

spring6
2 Mar 2003, 23:31
Symmonds gone. If we lose this I am catching next plane home. My worst nightmare.

spring6
2 Mar 2003, 23:37
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh

sbagman
3 Mar 2003, 00:44
This is gonna be interesting....

thehardaway
3 Mar 2003, 00:51
AUSTRALIA WIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

spring6
3 Mar 2003, 00:59
Saint Michael Bevan. I never ever want to hear a word said against him! A true australian legend.

P0RT P0WER
3 Mar 2003, 01:03
WOOHOO, one of the best, listening to Tony Greig when we lost our 8th wicket makes wins like these more satisfying. Bevan has done this so many times, he has too be the best one day player we have ever had.
Today we were talking and a mate said Bevan is too slow and has to go and my other mate turned around and said he's the best in the world and should be the last player dropped, good timing anyway.
I always thought we were going to win in the last ten overs as we always had Mcgrath waiting in the pavillion and with a Number 11 back up like Glenn u are always going to think a loss is out of the question under these circumstances.
Amazing win but we should not get to ahead of ourselves, it was only England.

noodle
3 Mar 2003, 01:16
andy B i am going to buy you and bevan a beer. well done boys. i think that you have successfully broken nassars confidence. england will never win a game against us while he captains.

EagleBlue
3 Mar 2003, 01:19
As great an innings as this was by Bevan (the perfect situation for him) Bichels contribution should not be underestimated. He came in and virtually straight away summed up the pace of the wicket, something Symonds, Hogg, Ponting and even Bevan himself when he first came to the wicket could not do, this is 2nd time bichel has guided Aus to an improbable victory in the last 12 months with Bevan. I think its time Australia seriously looked at playing the 4 quicks with Hogg, Bichel, Lee and Gillespie at is not the worst 8,9,10 in the world and by playing the 4 quicks of that calibre you wouldnt be chasing too manyand you would probably only need 220 in most games to win. The problem is who misses out, harshly probably either Symonds or Martyn depending on the conditions.

Kenny_01
3 Mar 2003, 01:31
probably either Symonds or Martyn depending on the conditions.

Symonds. He is not an all rounder... can't bowl for peanuts. I know he's batting great in this series and is in good form but Martyn is far more consistant. Martyn hasn't been that great recently but he is a class player and will come through.

Catman
3 Mar 2003, 01:51
As great an innings as this was by Bevan (the perfect situation for him) Bichels contribution should not be underestimated. He came in and virtually straight away summed up the pace of the wicket, something Symonds, Hogg, Ponting and even Bevan himself when he first came to the wicket could not do

Agree.

But you watch, Bichel will be dropped again while they persist with the run machine Lee. Another spell of garbage from him.

Symonds also showed his century in the 1st game was a fluke and his bowling is just not up to international level.

Lucky escape, but you need luck to win titles.

EagleBlue
3 Mar 2003, 01:56
Originally posted by Catman
Agree.

But you watch, Bichel will be dropped again while they persist with the run machine Lee. Another spell of garbage from him.

Symonds also showed his century in the 1st game was a fluke and his bowling is just not up to international level.

A bit harsh on Lee, I am not a big fan of his but its probably the only bad game he has had in a while. I personally as I have stated before would have the 4 quicks with Hogg as the spinner. Symonds to be the unlucky man to miss out

Zombie
3 Mar 2003, 02:02
Agree.

Here we go, the baton has been passed from Bevan to Lee... for now, typical Australian tall poppy syndrome, no matter how well we are playing we still need someone to bag.

Judging on your past record of selection blunders I would suggest that you should leave well alone from telling us all who you think should be in the side and who shouldn't, it will save you the embarrasment.

Catman
3 Mar 2003, 02:12
Originally posted by Zombie
Here we go, the baton has been passed from Bevan to Lee... for now, typical Australian tall poppy syndrome, no matter how well we are playing we still need someone to bag.

Judging on your past record of selection blunders I would suggest that you should leave well alone from telling us all who you think should be in the side and who shouldn't, it will save you the embarrasment.

Symonds has failed, again after 1 decent innings. The Namibia game doesn't count due to the poor opposition.

Bevan made 74 and gets the plaudits from Bichel, whose innings was arguably the more valuable.

Harvey has performed well in both games. He should have been given more games.

Oh, for Lee, let's see, his figures after today's game read....

6 games, 50 overs, 2mdns, 278 runs, 6 wickets at 46.33, best 3-36 - - Strike rate 50.0, economy rate 5.56.

If they are impressive figures then I don't know cricket.

What other 'blunders' have I made?

P0RT P0WER
3 Mar 2003, 02:30
Symonds has failed, again after 1 decent innings. The Namibia game doesn't count due to the poor opposition.

Bevan made 74 and gets the plaudits from Bichel, whose innings was arguably the more valuable.

Oh, for Lee, let's see, his figures after today's game read....

6 games, 50 overs, 2mdns, 278 runs, 6 wickets at 46.33, best 3-36 - - Strike rate 50.0, economy rate 5.56.

If they are impressive figures then I don't know cricket.

What other 'blunders' have I made?

Here we go. Brett Lee has been a main strike bowler this year, he has taken the most wickets out of all our bowlers since the new year. Didn't you watch the CUB series??? And also if u are going to use the Namibia game as an excuse for Symonds good knock u should also use discount Lees high economy rate from that game, u have proved once again u have a short memory.

Catman
3 Mar 2003, 02:39
Here we go. Brett Lee has been a main strike bowler this year, he has taken the most wickets out of all our bowlers since the new year. Didn't you watch the CUB series??? And also if u are going to use the Namibia game as an excuse for Symonds good knock u should also use discount Lees high economy rate from that game, u have proved once again u have a short memory.

You clueless fool.

OK, let's discount Lee's game against Namibia.

5 games, 44overs, 252 runs, 5 wickets, average of 50.4, strike rate of 52.8 and an economy rate of 5.72.

His figures are even worse than before. On current form he doesn't deserve to be ahead of Bichel.

Kenny_01
3 Mar 2003, 02:45
Lee scares the opposition batsman (whether you like it or not) which plays a part in the other bowlers getting wickets. They lose their footwork and keep their feet planted which helps the bowler down the other end. Not only that, but Lee has had a few dropped catches off his bowling and also has had heaps and heaps of 4's fly over slips. He adds pace and fear to our side and is an automatic selection. His control has been very good also. Of course he is going to have a high economy rate because the batter basically only needs bat on ball to score.

P0RT P0WER
3 Mar 2003, 02:46
You clueless fool.

OK, let's discount Lee's game against Namibia.

5 games, 44overs, 252 runs, 5 wickets, average of 50.4, strike rate of 52.8 and an economy rate of 5.72.

His figures are even worse than before. On current form he doesn't deserve to be ahead of Bichel.

Clueless fool???
From the same person who came up with the solution that we would of won easily if it wasn't for Bevans innings that put us in a cutthroat situation. . .

And on Lee I guess u will be bagging Bichel the same in 6 games time if he has similar figures to Lee's past 6 games.
Whinge whinge whinge u old deprived man.

Catman
3 Mar 2003, 02:54
Clueless fool???
From the same person who came up with the solution that we would of won easily if it wasn't for Bevans innings that put us in a cutthroat situation. . .

And on Lee I guess u will be bagging Bichel the same in 6 games time if he has similar figures to Lee's past 6 games.
Whinge whinge whinge u old deprived man.

Bichel wont have the same figures. He is a far more tighter bowler. Face it, Bichel wont have those figures because he wont be in the side. It's as simple as that.

I never said we'd have won easily, but it wouldn't have been so close as it panned out.

Deprived? Yeah, deprived of sleep. Something I'm going to get now and by the tone of your posts, something you need aswell.

Goodnight.

Catman
3 Mar 2003, 02:56
Originally posted by Kenny_01
Lee scares the opposition batsman (whether you like it or not) which plays a part in the other bowlers getting wickets. They lose their footwork and keep their feet planted which helps the bowler down the other end. Not only that, but Lee has had a few dropped catches off his bowling and also has had heaps and heaps of 4's fly over slips. He adds pace and fear to our side and is an automatic selection. His control has been very good also. Of course he is going to have a high economy rate because the batter basically only needs bat on ball to score.

Yeah, agree with most of that. But Lee still has to many wayward deliveries that result in either byes, no-balls or boundaries.
His control has improved, I agree there.

But on current form Bichel deserves to be ahead of Lee, IMO.

spring6
3 Mar 2003, 03:06
Ian Botham or David Glover or someone suggested that if we are back at that ground for a semi final we would bring two spinners. That would put the cat among the pidgeons at the selection table.

EagleBlue
3 Mar 2003, 03:11
Originally posted by spring6
Ian Botham or David Glover or someone suggested that if we are back at that ground for a semi final we would bring two spinners. That would put the cat among the pidgeons at the selection table.

We already have 2 spinners, Hogg and Lehmann

spring6
3 Mar 2003, 03:15
I think he was referring to the specialist spinner bought over to replace Warne his name escapes me for the present, Nathan something? It was the state of the wicket that prompted the comment.

EagleBlue
3 Mar 2003, 03:38
Originally posted by spring6
I think he was referring to the specialist spinner bought over to replace Warne his name escapes me for the present, Nathan something? It was the state of the wicket that prompted the comment.

Hauritz will not play as a 2nd spinner unless Hogg gets injured. Lehmann is in much better bowling form at the moment and if a 2nd spinner is required he will be it. I personally would have liked to have seen Brad Williams chosen as the replacment but apparently according to rules they had to chose a spinner.

tiger of old
3 Mar 2003, 07:33
gladly eats humble pie regarding bevan.
with andy,s great spell he deserves to play in the next match.
if gillespie is fit who should be dropped?
andy,s form maybe a blessing in disguise.now the selectors would feel more confident in playing 4 specialist bowlers instead of the 3 and symonds.
symonds is clearly not up to international standard when it comes to bowling.granted he made a great 100 however there is still ? marks about him.
i say its out of either symonds or hogg.

cheers!

Darky
3 Mar 2003, 10:24
Does anyone know how the fixturing works for the super six? I think the next opponent will play some part in determining who gets dropped and recalled for the next game.

Lee's spot will be shaky with Bichel's great all-round performance, although the selectors may opt to rest Gillespie for one more game, and let the Bichel/Lee selection issue sort itself out more decisively.

Darky
3 Mar 2003, 10:34

Using your logic Harvey's second game doesn't count due to the poor opposition. Took three wickets but got carted for six an over anyhow (as the Dutch were bundled out for 122).

In his first game he also got belted for more than six an over (more expensive than Lee).

So in this thread alone you've had a go at Lee, Bevan and Symonds... who exactly do you want in the side... 11 Ian Harveys?

red+black
3 Mar 2003, 11:06
Originally posted by Darky
Does anyone know how the fixturing works for the super six? I think the next opponent will play some part in determining who gets dropped and recalled for the next game.

Lee's spot will be shaky with Bichel's great all-round performance, although the selectors may opt to rest Gillespie for one more game, and let the Bichel/Lee selection issue sort itself out more decisively.

If Sri Lanka beat South Africa, in order our next three matches will probably be Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Kenya.

If South Africa beat South Africa, in order our next three matches will probably be South Africa, Sri Lanka and Kenya.

GoEagles
3 Mar 2003, 17:30
Originally posted by red+black

If South Africa beat South Africa, in order our next three matches will probably be South Africa, Sri Lanka and Kenya.

If South Africa beat South Africa I'd say Hansie Cronje must still be alive.

The South Africans must be under so much pressure at home.

Catman
3 Mar 2003, 19:58
Originally posted by Darky
So in this thread alone you've had a go at Lee, Bevan and Symonds... who exactly do you want in the side... 11 Ian Harveys?

No, just the one. ;)

red+black
3 Mar 2003, 23:07
Originally posted by GoEagles
If South Africa beat South Africa I'd say Hansie Cronje must still be alive.

The South Africans must be under so much pressure at home.

oops, the marvels of cut and paste. :)