View Full Version : bands u would die to see

raticus
1 Mar 2003, 22:19
Had a discussion at work about what bands you would have headlining at your place if u could have anyone at all - dead or alive......it didnt take much for me to think of
the clash with the jam supporting.

now i would sell my grandmother for that one.

maybe its just me
:D

dreamkillers
1 Mar 2003, 23:21
Add the original Saints, Sex Pistols, Dead Kennedys, Radio Birdman and Ramones to that line up.............:D

dreamkillers
1 Mar 2003, 23:41
Or for an alternative line up.......

Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Neil Young, Faith No More, Dream Theater, Ben Harper, Midnight Oil, Ministry, Pink Floyd, The Police, Joe Satriani & Kim Salmon & The Surrealists

and for a rock line up.......

Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, Queenryche, Blue Oyster Cult, The Cult, Beasts Of Bourbon, Rose Tattoo, Metallica (early), Led Zeppelin & AC/DC (Bon Scott lineup)

and for a softer casual line up

John Lennon, Bob Dylan, Rolling Stones, Queen, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals, Harry Manx, Chris Wilson, Ozomatli, The Yardbirds, Cruel Sea, Paul Kelly & Ed Kuepper

apologies to many, many others I left off the list............:D

raticus
2 Mar 2003, 09:07
well that made my list seem tiny

- never saw the ramones - always wanted to. Luv the saints early stuff . Know ya product is a classic.

Others i cpould add to my list are

The Who
Sublime
anti nowhere league

and many more

Slax
2 Mar 2003, 10:49
I'd add Queen, Original Pink Floyd line up, The Easybeatts plus Eric Burden & the Animals.

WoD
2 Mar 2003, 12:34
NIRVANA headlining, with NIRVANA as back up, wouldnt be able to get enuff of them

Winmar
2 Mar 2003, 13:58
Living Colour, old Suicidal Tendencies, The Cult, Faith No More, Dream Theater, Carcass, At The Gates, Death.

CowboyFromHell
2 Mar 2003, 14:29
It begins and ends up PanterA! :D

Stocka
2 Mar 2003, 17:37
Smashing Pumpkins 1995

Stocka
2 Mar 2003, 17:41
I would have also liked to have seen 'The Verve' (with Nick McCabe on guitar), at their peak.

I am still hanging out to see R.E.M. as well. They were probably at peak around the mid-90's, but I reckon they could still mix it up well with their rockier pop tunes as well as their more subtle stuff of recent years.

If R.E.M. toured, I would be happy to go and see them as many nights as they played.

I'm also fairly keen to see Zwan, as I reckon they'd make a good live outfit, and I am keen to see Augie March again sometime soon (although, I've seen them heaps).

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
2 Mar 2003, 19:02
I would kill to see Ozzy. If he comes here i will sleep out for tickets to get up the front and am gonna go in just a bra which i will write Ozzys name on and sit up on Darky's shoulders to get on tv like in all the Ozzy videos we've watched :D

Somehow especially after last weeks Osbournes i got a feeling he won't be making it here though :( he looks like he's gonna die very soon :(

Would kill to see Nirvana as well, probably more so than Ozzy by just a fraction!

This is a bit weird but i wouldn't mind going to a Spice Girls concert. I dunno why but ive just seen them on V and they do spectacular shows!

Darky
2 Mar 2003, 19:50
MANOWAR!!! Other bands play, MANOWAR kill.

Uli Jon Roth/Michael Schenker/Ritchie Blackmore doing a G3 guitar show, and a reformed Rainbow (with Ronnie James Dio on vocals) as support.

El Scorcho
2 Mar 2003, 20:43
WEEZER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

coxon
2 Mar 2003, 20:54
yes, i'd love to see weezer too!

blur.... (mid 90's)
beck... (he's back again, hordern pavillion)
violent femmes... (they're coming too!)
the eels
pulp

GhostofJimJess
2 Mar 2003, 22:09
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Or for an alternative line up.......

Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Neil Young, Faith No More, Dream Theater, Ben Harper, Midnight Oil, Ministry, Pink Floyd, The Police, Joe Satriani & Kim Salmon & The Surrealists

and for a rock line up.......

Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, Queenryche, Blue Oyster Cult, The Cult, Beasts Of Bourbon, Rose Tattoo, Metallica (early), Led Zeppelin & AC/DC (Bon Scott lineup)

and for a softer casual line up

John Lennon, Bob Dylan, Rolling Stones, Queen, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals, Harry Manx, Chris Wilson, Ozomatli, The Yardbirds, Cruel Sea, Paul Kelly & Ed Kuepper

apologies to many, many others I left off the list............:D

Im comin' to your place, DK.

Can I bring a few friends that I've never seen live ?

The Pixies, Meat Puppets, Living Colour, Redd Kross, Frank Zappa, Sugar, Husker Du (hell, while we got Bob Mould there already!), The Stooges, Smoking Popes, The Posies, Dead Kennedys, Kyuss, and Clutch

As well as a few that I have seen live

Spinal Tap, Ween, Weezer, Soundgarden, Screaming Trees, The Stranglers, The Sunnyboys, Nirvana, Rocket From The Crypt, Janes Addiction, Monster Magnet

dreamkillers
2 Mar 2003, 22:17
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Im comin' to your place, DK.

Can I bring a few friends that I've never seen live ?

The Pixies, Meat Puppets, Living Colour, Redd Kross, Frank Zappa, Sugar, Husker Du (hell, while we got Bob Mould there already!), The Stooges, Smoking Popes, The Posies, Dead Kennedys, Kyuss, and Clutch

As well as a few that I have seen live

Spinal Tap, Ween, Weezer, Soundgarden, Screaming Trees, The Stranglers, The Sunnyboys, Nirvana, Rocket From The Crypt, Janes Addiction, Monster Magnet

Sounds good to me..........I've been lucky enough to see more than half the bands on my lists live but would have loved to have seen a few of them in their prime.........

Angus1
3 Mar 2003, 00:08
Would loved to have seen Stevie Ray Vaughan.
Ozzy Osborne when Rhandy Rhodes was his lead guitarist.
Neil Young after he put out Ragged Glory.
AC/DC with Bon Scott .
Pearl Jam
Radiohead
Bob Dylan in 1966
Van Morrison after his first couple of solo albums.
Pink Floyd with Roger Waters in early 80's.
Pink floyd in 1972.
Metalica 10 years ago. (Would love to see that show again)
The Verve
John Lee Hooker with Ry Cooder on slide guitar.
Joan Baez
Black Sabbath Paranoid Tour
REM
Creed

The Hitman
3 Mar 2003, 05:25
Someone at tertiary said he has seen Radiohead live. I almost convulsed. There are bands I love more, and I don't think anything could beat Pearl Jam. But I'd kill to see Thom and the lads in action.

The Hitman

raticus
3 Mar 2003, 11:03
i am ashamed of myself!!

how could i forget nirvana??????????

MY fave band ATM is goldfinger - saw them with the pistils in 95 i think and they didnt come to aDELAIDE last years GRRRRRRRR

Shinboners
3 Mar 2003, 14:25
Too many to mention, but from bands that I haven't already seen (and in some cases, never will), I would love to see Belle and Sebastian, the Miles Davis Quintet, Serge Gainsbourg, Joy Division, Mazzy Star, The Smiths, NO, Talulah Gosh, The Field Mice, and The Pixies.

Grendel
3 Mar 2003, 15:52
Joy Division, The Jam, ThinWhiteRope, ELO :eek: (saw em as a kid and loved it) BeachBoys circa 66, Beatles (ha), Small Faces, ELVIS, Little Richard, Queensryche if they did 'Operation Mindcrime' (and Anthony Valentine as Dr.X), Kate Bush (ggggrrrrooowwwlllll) the Kinks, Undertones, Jesus and Mary Chain, Joy Division (id see em at least twice)! Gerry and the Pacemakers, Jimi Hendrix experience, Janis J, Mamas and Papas (just to hear Mama Cass and Papa Denny), Gary Numan, Velvet Underground (Nico is optional). Ben E King and the Drifters, Martha and the Vandellas, the original Supremes, Marvin Gaye, Sly and the family Stone, the Dingo's, J'OK, Stevie Wright in his prime, Stevie Wonder in his prime, Van Morrison on a day when he is looking at the audience...

To many more.

Winmar
3 Mar 2003, 16:19
Oh yeah, I'd love to see Skid Row, Megadeth and Soundgarden again, and of course Kyuss (never got to see them). It's be fan-fecking-tastic to see Helloween and Iron Maiden too!

knuckles
3 Mar 2003, 16:22
The Three Tenors (again)

meg
3 Mar 2003, 18:02
When other people put up the teeny-bopper bands they want to see, I'll post up mine :D

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
3 Mar 2003, 20:00
Originally posted by meg
When other people put up the teeny-bopper bands they want to see, I'll post up mine :D

i put spice girls up dearey :p no idea where it came from but i think it would be something different

Mr Eagle
3 Mar 2003, 20:19
Originally posted by Stocka
I am still hanging out to see R.E.M. as well. They were probably at peak around the mid-90's, but I reckon they could still mix it up well with their rockier pop tunes as well as their more subtle stuff of recent years.

If R.E.M. toured, I would be happy to go and see them as many nights as they played. How I wish I'd had the money to see them back in '95 when they started the Monster tour in Perth :(

Santos L Helper
3 Mar 2003, 23:40
To all those who wished they'd seen the Dead Kennedys live. One day I'll tell ya all about it. ;)

Docker_Brat
4 Mar 2003, 03:00
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
To all those who wished they'd seen the Dead Kennedys live. One day I'll tell ya all about it. ;)

Have I mentioned lately that I hate you? :D

The Hitman
4 Mar 2003, 06:24
Originally posted by meg

Oh how the mighy have fallen. You've already seen Blue before. :p

The Hitman

Simon_Nesbit
4 Mar 2003, 07:30
Hmm...Spice Girls, Bardot, Natalie Imbruglia, Scandal'us, the new popstars, etc........

.....Well I'm dead aren't I? what do I care.

Then maybe once there all in there I can lock all the doors and set fire to the place.....

Seriously, Metallica, circa 91 (black), opening up for Metallica circa 88 (early stuff), with Pearl Jam (circa ten), and Nirvana (up to nevermind) to close.

(oh how commercial am I!)

Rusty Brookes
4 Mar 2003, 07:48
Iggy and the Stooges, Blue Oyster Cult and the Dictators (This gig actually occurred in the early 70s when the Stooges and BOC peaked as live bands).

Shinboners
4 Mar 2003, 08:05
Originally posted by knuckles
The Three Tenors (again)

Which reminds me, I'd love to see The Three Terrors.

Stephin Merritt, Dudley Klute, and LD Beghitol (the three male vocalists on the Magnetic Fields' "69 Love Songs").

Porthos
4 Mar 2003, 09:48
I'd like to see a Soundgarden/Faith No More double act. Have The Kinks as an opener.

St-KriS
4 Mar 2003, 13:07
Nine Inch Nails! would be the only band that I would die to see

Stocka
4 Mar 2003, 14:19
Originally posted by The Hitman
Someone at tertiary said he has seen Radiohead live. I almost convulsed. There are bands I love more, and I don't think anything could beat Pearl Jam. But I'd kill to see Thom and the lads in action.

I saw them in '98, and they were very, very good.

I would go and see them again although, considering they are so overt in their anti-hype status (which wasn't quite as pronounced back in '98), I get the feeling it would be somewhat difficult in trying to engage the type of enthusiasm in which they reproduce some of their songs live.

I certainly wouldn't expect them to be as good as they were in '98.

Winmar
4 Mar 2003, 16:56
Originally posted by St-KriS
Nine Inch Nails! would be the only band that I would die to see

I saw them at good old Alternative Nation in '95.

Darky
4 Mar 2003, 17:27
Originally posted by Winmar
Oh yeah, I'd love to see Skid Row, Megadeth and Soundgarden again, and of course Kyuss (never got to see them). It's be fan-fecking-tastic to see Helloween and Iron Maiden too!

Mate, you (and I) would have loved Donington Monsters of Rock in '88.

How's this for a never-to-be-surpassed quality bill!!!

Iron Maiden
Kiss
David Lee Roth
Megadeth
Guns'N'Roses
Helloween

SCREAM FOR ME Donington, indeed!

Captain Sensible
5 Mar 2003, 14:25
So whats the deal here, we see the band then get taken out the back and shot?

Birthday Party
Dead Kennedys

Actually I think I might have seen DK's.

St-KriS
5 Mar 2003, 16:11
Originally posted by Winmar
I saw them at good old Alternative Nation in '95.

ahh, U ba$tard :D

Quite good I'd be guessing by there live reputation?

Leaping Lindner
5 Mar 2003, 20:51
Originally posted by dreamkillers
Add the original Saints, Sex Pistols, Dead Kennedys, Radio Birdman and Ramones to that line up.............:D

The Saints one is a chance. Apparently Ed and Chris have kissed and made up. As far as I know Ivor Hay is still floating around and then just "Insert bass player here". Seriously I don't know whatever happened to Kym Bradshaw although I have a feeling he is in the UK.
Dead Kennedys is NO chance from what I can gather as the previous members are all currently suing Jello over royalities and have actually done gigs in the states as Dead Kennedys with a different singer(can you believe it???).
.........Ramones:( ...........
I've always thought that in this day of bands getting back together and touring it would be great to get The Birthday Party together (sans Tracey obviously).But alas this seems a way off for now. I know one of the ex-members and there seems to be some friction still there between some members.Although the good news for Birthday Party fans is that a DVD is coming out featuring rare TV footage from german TV amongst other stuff.

Winmar
5 Mar 2003, 21:34
Originally posted by Darky
Iron Maiden
Kiss
David Lee Roth
Megadeth
Guns'N'Roses
Helloween

Man that's huge! I'd have loved to have been there. There could be nothing like that these days, whoever they put on the bill!

St-Kris, NIN were pretty good yeah. They got a bit repetitive after a while, but I couldn't complain too much. I know lots of their songs, but have no albums, so a NIN fan would probably give a much better appraisal than I could!

Shinboners
6 Mar 2003, 09:03
Originally posted by localyokel

Birthday Party
Dead Kennedys

Actually I think I might have seen DK's.

What? Too drunk to....
remember?

DEVO
6 Mar 2003, 12:54
CURVE is the band I'd most like to see.

Kate Bush and Suzanne Vega are two others that I like but have never seen live.

Demon3
6 Mar 2003, 14:46
I would die to see S Club.

Captain Sensible
6 Mar 2003, 18:09
Originally posted by Shinboners
What? Too drunk to....
remember?

Something like that...except I dont drink.

Emile Hesky
7 Mar 2003, 13:52
Originally posted by WoD
NIRVANA headlining, with NIRVANA as back up, wouldnt be able to get enuff of them

Nirvana. yes.

mid 1991 with a good mix of bleach songs and some nevermind songs pre-release of the album.

and the The Beatles!

Stealth bomber
7 Mar 2003, 16:42
For me, only one: Rush.

I've missed four opportunities to see them in the last several years due to any number of uncontrollable circumstances.

They're all pushing 50 now, and albums and tours are getting fewer and farther between. Worse yet, I've moved offshore to somewhere where nobody knows who they are and they probably won't ever tour.

So I'm gonna have to base a trip home around the next tour, assuming there even is one.

Blues_Girl
7 Mar 2003, 16:57
Ok Meg i'll start! :D

Blue
Westlife
Atomic Kitten
Kylie
Spice Girls
Human Nature

Umm...can you think of anymore Meg??

Jerome
7 Mar 2003, 19:26
I gotta see Nick and the Bad Seeds next time they tour, very sad to hear Blixa has quit the group. Birthday Party would be great, I'll look out for that DVD.

The Beasts of Bourbon, with Kim Salmon back in the group! I'll have to get out and see Spencer Jones at the Gov next month.

It was great to see The Scientists last year, I wish they would put out a DVD of some of those shows!

Tex Perkins, Don Walker and Charlie Owen would be another line up I'd like to see again and last but not least...

Cold Chisel. I could be a very happy camper in 2003 if the rumours are true...he he he.

Jerome

meg
8 Mar 2003, 08:00
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
Ok Meg i'll start! :D

Blue
Westlife
Atomic Kitten

:D Ditto ;)
Seems we're the only ones on here with taste Blues_Girl ;)

Blues_Girl
8 Mar 2003, 12:12
Originally posted by meg
:D Ditto ;)
Seems we're the only ones on here with taste Blues_Girl ;)

This is very true!!!

I think we're gonna have to die before we get to see these bands..... :(

Docker_Brat
8 Mar 2003, 12:47
Taste?

.. now where is that vomiting smiley? ;)

meg
8 Mar 2003, 13:32
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
Taste?

Hehe, but see the thing is, I KNOW I'm lame for liking those bands - so does that make it OK? ;)

I can't help being a teeny bopper, Lord knows I've tried not to be! It's in the DNA I've decided. Can't choose it, it chooses you :D

chimphawk28
9 Mar 2003, 16:05
anything mike patton related again..(maybe we could squeeze him into the hawthorn midfield?)fnm,bungle..etc... jon spencer blues explosion, dandy warhols,weezer,stone temple pilots (can only hope..one of these years)...

windyhill
9 Mar 2003, 20:35
Top thread.
Would love to see Motley again, just one more time for old times sake. Would have loved to have seen Sinatra and Elvis, would have been huge. Missing Bon is another of my big music regrets.

bragg
9 Mar 2003, 21:11
Due to disbanding or Death........

KYUSS
Bill Hicks ( OK so hes a comedian .. but still an entertainer )
Sunny Day Real Estate
Sunhouse
The Pixies
Mad Season ( cant beleive you didnt have them in your list Ghost !!!)
The Jam
Sinead O'Connor
The Pogues
Osker
Janis Joplin
Bad Brains
Snot

And due yo the fact they never f#@king tour here .....

Joe Henry
The Jayhawkes
Nada Surf
Red House Painters

JJ72

Blues_Girl
10 Mar 2003, 07:49
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
Taste?

Now Now be nice :D

Blues_Girl
10 Mar 2003, 07:50
Originally posted by meg
Hehe, but see the thing is, I KNOW I'm lame for liking those bands - so does that make it OK? ;)

I can't help being a teeny bopper, Lord knows I've tried not to be! It's in the DNA I've decided. Can't choose it, it chooses you :D

We look at it this way Meg, we have taste and they don't!!! :D

passionate81
10 Mar 2003, 14:06
Metallica
Pantera
Disturbed
Chilli Peppers
Sepultura

doug thomas
10 Mar 2003, 15:09
Superchunk (again)
Built to Spill
Husker Du
Cruci****s
The Toothbrush Family

Leaping Lindner
10 Mar 2003, 16:26
Originally posted by doug thomas
Superchunk (again)
Built to Spill
Husker Du
Cruci****s
The Toothbrush Family

Welcome back DT. Where ya been?????

The Toothbrush Family now they were a good band. Only saw them once (at a MMM(3D) fundraiser) great band and great songs.
Any idea whatever happened to them?

doug thomas
11 Mar 2003, 07:53
How do LL, busy with work mate, you know how it is.:o
I saw the TBF about 3 times. I was mates with Reedy and Neil.
I remember a gig at the Old Queens Arms when management got so ****ed off with their antics they booted them off stage (pricks).
Not sure what they are into now:confused:
I tell you who I WOULD like to see again and that would be the Mice, but I would like to travel back to the late 80's to watch them. They were at their peak IMO. Raw and unleashed, what I imagine The Stooges would be like live.

DT