View Full Version : The Ashes 1st Test: Australia V England at Cardiff (Wed-Sun) [Day 3-4]

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Blue Dimension
7 Jul 2009, 01:59
Continued from here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=601995)

http://img.tfd.com/wiki/b/be/ECB_Logo.gif Vshttp://www.bradford.com.au/images/product_images/info_images/CricketAustraliaLogo.JPG

Cardiff, Wales
July 8th – July 12th
(11:00 local, 10:00 GMT)

It’s finally here, and it’s what we’ve all been waiting for - The Ashes and nobody could forget the last time Australia played in England back in 2005 where the likes of Jones, Hoggard, Harmison, et al helped England tear the Urn back from Australia’s grasp. Reverse swing played a massive factor in that series loss where the likes of Gilchrist, Martyn, Hayden and the rest of the Australian line-up were unable to cope with the reverse swinging ball. 4 years on and the teams are face to face once again on England’s turf with vastly dissimilar squads with many new faces, while the greats in Warne, Mcgrath, Hayden and once vital players in Vaughan, Hoggard and Harmison are no longer around or not currently apart of each side.

Just around 8-10 months ago it looked like this series would be a faceoff of two of the most out of form teams in international cricket. Australia got pulverised by India in India then returned home to lose for the first time on home soil to South Africa in several decades. England similarly was coming off a series loss to the West Indies and was struggling for form. But 8-10 months is a long time in cricket and both teams have since hit back coming off series wins.

England uncovered Graeme Swann, Ravi Bopara and also Graeme Onions who all have had vast success in the Test arena in recent times. Likewise Australia unearthed young prodigy Phillip Hughes along with Peter Siddle, and Marcus North. Also, the rise in form of Mitchell Johnson with both bat and ball has boosted Australia after the retirements of Warne and Mcgrath and injuries to Brett Lee and Stuart Clark.

And now each side is going into the series with confidence. With rejuvenated line-ups and players in form, each side will be looking to give the first blow and go 1-0 up in the 5 Test series.

Both countries are not without injury concerns however. Shane Watson has been unable to participate in either of the warm up matches hindering Australia’s options. Brett Lee will sit out the first 2 Tests with a side strain. Kevin Pietersen will start in the England XI but will carry an achillies injury throughout the series which he, himself admitted has a possibility of flaring up at any time.

Each has taken positives out of their warm up matches. Bopara and Cook were in solid form in the bat with each scoring centuries against Warwickshire. Additionally the English bowlers skittled the county team out for small totals. England would have been buoyed by Steve Harmison’s performance in the English Lions game Vs Australia where he bowled with fire and uncovered vulnerability in Phillip Hughes’s armoury just a week before this Test.

England however have decided against including Harmison and have named a squad of 13 including Graeme Onions and Monty Panesar who will be fighting it out for the final bowling spot. This bowling spot will most likely depend on the amount of which the Cardiff pitch will turn.

Australia would have been pleased to see Marcus North hit form and get runs under his belt along with the previously out of form Micheal Hussey who now looks set for a big series. It looms likely with Lee’s injury that Hauritz and Clark will take a spot in the starting 11 alongside Peter Siddle and Mitchell Johnson.

Both teams have been awaiting this series for some time. On paper and form wise it and looks like it will be an intriguing contest between two powerhouses of international cricket.

----------------------------

England Squad
*Andrew Strauss
Alastair Cook
Ravi Bopara
Kevin Pietersen
Paul Collingwood
Ian Bell
+Matt Prior
Andrew Flintoff
Stuart Broad
Graeme Swann
James Anderson
Graham Onions
Monty Panesar

In: Monty Panesar, Andrew Flintoff
Out: Tim Bresnan (dropped), Ryan Sidbottom (dropped)

Australia Squad
*Ricky Ponting
Michael Clarke
Stuart Clark
+Brad Haddin
Nathan Hauritz
Ben Hilfenhaus
Phillip Hughes
Michael Hussey
Mitchell Johnson
Simon Katich
Brett Lee
Graham Manou (International debut)
Andrew McDonald
Marcus North
Peter Siddle
Shane Watson

In: Graham Manou, Shane Watson, Brett Lee, Stuart Clark
Out: Doug Bollinger (dropped), Bryce Mcgain (dropped), Brett Geeves (dropped), Steve Magoffin (dropped)

Australia probable XI:

Phillip Hughes
(Career bat avg: 69.17 – 09 avg: 69.17)
Simon Katich
(Career bat avg: 43.43 – 09 avg: 46)
Ricky Ponting
(Career bat avg: 56.21 – 09 avg: 32.88)
Michael Hussey
(Career bat avg: 55.29 – 09 avg: 29.57)
Michael Clarke
(Career bat avg: 47.82 – 09 avg: 45.71)
Marcus North
(Career bat avg: 40 – 09 avg: 40)
Brad Haddin
(Career bat avg: 37.54– 09 avg: 33.83)
Mitchell Johnson
(Career bowl avg: 28.01, Career bat avg: 34.7 – 09 bowl avg: 25.90, 09 bat avg: 79.75)
Nathan Hauritz
(Career bowl avg: 32.29 – 09 avg: 288)
Peter Siddle
(Career bowl avg: 27.66 – 09 avg: 19.15)
Stuart Clark
(Career bowl avg: 22.97 – 09 avg: n/a)

England possible XI:

Andrew Strauss
(Career bat avg: 43.96 – 09 avg: 59.70)
Alastair Cook
(Career bat avg: 45.03 – 09 avg: 65.89)
Ravi Bopara
(Career bat avg: 49.63 – 09 avg: 118.33)
Kevin Pietersen
(Career bat avg: 50.49 – 09 avg: 50.56)
Paul Collingwood
(Career bat avg: 44.20 – 09 avg: 65.25)
Andrew Flintoff
(Career bowl avg: 32.08, Career bat avg: 31.70 – 09 bowl avg: 30.20, 09 bat avg: 16.75)
Matt Prior+
(Career bat avg: 48.41 – 09 avg: 69.17)
Stuart Broad
(Career bowl avg: 37.96, Career bat avg: 31.35– 09 bowl avg: 28.50, 09 bat avg: 26.67)
Graeme Swann
(Career bowl avg: 26.24 – 09 avg: 22.15)
James Anderson
(Career bowl avg: 33.91 – 09 avg: 26.85)
Monty Panesar
(Career bowl avg: 33.62 – 09 avg: 54.00)

Quotes

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gif My prediction is it will be 5-0 to Australia. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
Glenn Mcgrath gives his usual prediction ahead of an Ashes series

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gif I also notice Nathan Hauritz is included, so there's no spinners. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
David Lloyd's thoughts on Nathan Hauritz

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gifThey are going to be weakened, but the Australian way is to come out and be fierce, competitive, and dominant in what they do. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
Kevin Pietersen on Australias lineup without past greats

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gifSwann's character could really get under [their] skin...he could disrupt Australia's rhythm. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
Shane Warne on Graeme Swann

http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_leftquote.gif"If you're looking for clues as to who might win, I always look at the bowling attacks...Generally you can go with the team with the best attack. At the moment England certainly have got it. http://img.cricinfo.com/espncricinfo/ciColumnist_rightquote.gif
Ian Chappell and his thoughts on the 09 Ashes

weevil
10 Jul 2009, 19:26
Respected Journo, why not just use your old alias?

Only 40 mins to go guys! Anyone staying up all night again? I might have to head off around 2, got a lot of running to do tomorrow, but I doubt I'll be able to take myself away from the TV

I had a terrible night's sleep, I kept on waking up and had to keep on checking my phone for the scores.

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 19:28
I had a terrible night's sleep, I kept on waking up and had to keep on checking my phone for the scores.

Yeah I figure I'll be the same, I might as well just sacrifice some sleep for the peace of mind.

footycool
10 Jul 2009, 19:29
lets go Aussies, !

footycool
10 Jul 2009, 19:31
Ah, now i have to listen to Macgill again:thumbsd:

linda
10 Jul 2009, 19:31

I think you may get good sleep tommorow as they are predicting a washout

TheStinger
10 Jul 2009, 19:32
I think the sign behind Blewetts head says it all, especially when he moves his head in the right spot.

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 19:33
I think the sign behind Blewetts head says it all, especially when he moves his head in the right spot.

For those without foxtel?

OzBomber
10 Jul 2009, 19:34
What's up with England's Dale Thomas, Stuart Broad? Injured?

Cousin Jed
10 Jul 2009, 19:34
Only 40 mins to go guys! Anyone staying up all night again? I might have to head off around 2, got a lot of running to do tomorrow, but I doubt I'll be able to take myself away from the TV

Yes I will.

So consider yourselves all warned ;)

Soft.

King Elvis
10 Jul 2009, 19:36
What's up with England's Dale Thomas, Stuart Broad? Injured?

Menstrual cramps.

OzBomber
Cockspur rum. :D :thumbsu:

I don't mind Blewett though.

I watched till 1:45am last night and didn't think Ponting would reach his ton so I went to bed. Ahh well.

TheStinger
For those without foxtel?
It's a sign for Cockspur Rum....draw your own conclusion from there.

Toshowyouwhy
10 Jul 2009, 19:38
Working bee at my cricket club tomorrow morning means an all-nighter is unlikely. MAybe 1st and second sessions. Any rain and Im out of there.

footycool
10 Jul 2009, 19:40
lol, we will finish this thrad b4 opening session

Toshowyouwhy
10 Jul 2009, 19:44
"Well we better get our arses into gear pretty quickly then"

- Hanse Cronje, The Final Dig

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 19:45
Is someone going to post the mart-eyes as he makes his first appearance of the days play? I don't have them on this comp :P

weevil
10 Jul 2009, 19:47
SBS boys are slowly getting better...still have quite some distance to go...

Spikey
10 Jul 2009, 19:47
You know, we may as well start a new thread now...

Toshowyouwhy
10 Jul 2009, 19:49
NOOOOOOO!!!!!

We can get there dammit!!!

usalion
10 Jul 2009, 19:49

Well, I just woke up- 5:45 AM on the East Coast of the USA- I'm right for an excellent day, with the Aussies hopefully piling on more runs- hope the rain stays away and the pitch holds ogether.

King Elvis
10 Jul 2009, 19:50
Looking forward to a good days play today lads!

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/1690/martos.jpg

Toshowyouwhy
10 Jul 2009, 19:52
Ooops, sorry, got lost there for a second...

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 19:53
Those are just hilarious, they're everything that is good about the Ashes

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 19:56
Aren't they a little late to the party with the swine flu stuff? I thought we were all done with that...

Mind you, I'm the only one in the house who hasn't had it yet...

Cousin Jed
10 Jul 2009, 20:01
Beat me by 1 minute Russ.

Not that I really knew what to do :o

OzBomber
10 Jul 2009, 20:01
England's Dale Thomas is fit.

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 20:02
And he has the reverse emo lipstick on

TheStinger
10 Jul 2009, 20:03
What was with those cameramen on the boundary line as Punter and KAt went out trying to get an upskirt photo or something? I think they must of missed Stephanie Broad by a few minutes.

And the 1st Stephanie mention of the thread has been made...:D

Admiral Afterworld
10 Jul 2009, 20:03
SBS have moved their watermark in a fair bit and down :thumbsd:

Notorious_29
10 Jul 2009, 20:04
ready for a big night of sport lads.

ill be here all night. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

King Elvis
10 Jul 2009, 20:06
ready for a big night of sport lads.

ill be here all night. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I'll be here for the next 5 hours at least; weather and game situation pending.

OzBomber
10 Jul 2009, 20:07
What's this firefox add-on everyone was talking about last night?
Went to one of the older threads today and there was talk about it. What does it do?

TheStinger
And Monty "I throw like a" Pansysar is opening the bowling at the other end.

King Elvis
Went to one of the older threads today and there was talk about it. What does it do?

It protects you from these;

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/1690/martos.jpg

footycool
10 Jul 2009, 20:08
no runs so far, lets go Aussies

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 20:09

autopager

I have it installed, still don't know how to work it properly, I think it loads the next page automatically down below

TheStinger
10 Jul 2009, 20:09
It basically opens consecutive pages onto one page. So if there are 5 pages in a thread then you can click on Page 1 and then as you scroll down it will show the page break and then the next page for you. It is quite cool.

Costanza_
10 Jul 2009, 20:10

I assume you mean the one Weevil posted, auto loads the next page as you scroll down.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/4925

deledio7
10 Jul 2009, 20:10
I seriously laugh out loud whenever I see the Marto eyes.

damochandler
10 Jul 2009, 20:11
they just got to keep it simple for the first 30 min utes i would say. they need to have a big lead at the end of the day. there might not be any cricket tomorrow

King Elvis
10 Jul 2009, 20:11
Does that autopage thing work for Google Chrome?

Zarrix
10 Jul 2009, 20:12
Looks to be a bit more venom in the pitch this morning. As I type, first boundary of the day.

rickyp
Keep it steady until we're around 350, and then just go mental from there, assuming we only lose 1/2 until that point, and the batsmen are in

Costanza_
Beautifully timed straight drive from Katich.

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 20:14

Appears not, I don't think its worth changing over to firefox for however

TheStinger
10 Jul 2009, 20:14
An England finger must have just slipped onto the Y button there.

belfast_bomber
10 Jul 2009, 20:15
An England finger must have just slipped onto the Y button there.

Oo-er missus.

TheStinger
10 Jul 2009, 20:15
Google Chrome doesn't even work for Google Chrome.

Get FireFox ya big dummy.

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 20:16
Kato SR tracker: 47.39

Solid

TheStinger
10 Jul 2009, 20:17
Katich just lol'd at Stephanie's attempt to kick the ball up to herself.

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 20:20
"Aleem Dar's not entirely happy with Broad, perhaps running onto the danger area of the pitch during his follow-through"

Perhaps running on the pitch? Perhaps sexual tension?

King Elvis
10 Jul 2009, 20:20
Google Chrome doesn't even work for Google Chrome.

Get FireFox ya big dummy.

:(

I just got Google Chrome for the hell of it, uh uh uh, for the smell of it, but it seems pretty good to date?

Also, mind your manners friend, or else;

http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/1512/14614982.jpg

Bartram_Class
10 Jul 2009, 20:23
Good start Swann you sook.

Cousin Jed
10 Jul 2009, 20:23
That was plumb Swanny.

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 20:24
epic eyes

King Elvis
10 Jul 2009, 20:24
That was plumb Swanny.

Fair bit of turn on that one though - was close enough to off-stump that it probably warranted an appeal.

TheStinger
10 Jul 2009, 20:25
:(

I just got Google Chrome for the hell of it, uh uh uh, for the smell of it, but it seems pretty good to date?

Also, mind your manners friend, or else;

http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/1512/14614982.jpg
Sorry sir, I'll be good. Please don't use the eyes on me again.....I'll cry.

footycool
10 Jul 2009, 20:26
where is every1 tonight?

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 20:26
where is every1 tonight?

probably out with the other 'cool' kids

belfast_bomber
10 Jul 2009, 20:28
It's 11.30am in Dublin. Not quite drinking time.

placebo
10 Jul 2009, 20:29
Very good start by Kat and Ponting.

King Elvis
10 Jul 2009, 20:31
Very good start by Kat and Ponting.

Touch wood, the spinning isn't great; but this is a bit of a clinic in good footwork to get to the ball, or sitting back and punishing the shit ones.

Spikey
10 Jul 2009, 20:32
It's 11.30am in Dublin. Not quite drinking time.

That's just not good enough. When is it drinking time then?

OzBomber
where is every1 tonight?
Probably watching the footy.

japaljarri
here we go. see it off fellas

Fuse
Shot Punter

belfast_bomber
that's just not good enough. when is it drinking time then?
11.31!

:d

rickyp
10 Jul 2009, 20:34
Ponting showing some intent early on with the new ball

Fuse
Lovely shot.

Spudregus_87
SBS boys are slowly getting better...still have quite some distance to go...

Yeah, I still can't believe SBS entrusted these 3 with the coverage of the most important series on our calendar.

I get annoyed when Macgill uses the same word-for-word phrases when they leave or resume the coverage.

Matthews' constant mispronunciation of Hauritz (sounds like Hawrich )

And I don't believe Marto offers a massive amount to the commentary.

Who covered the series last time SBS had it?

Cousin Jed
10 Jul 2009, 20:35
Hot Pies.

King Elvis
Punter, when he's on song, it's just magic to watch. So fluid.

OzBomber
Geez, they treated that ball well...

Ponting is dominating. Let's hope he doesn't throw it away.

arzach
New ball coming off the bat nicely!

krisholio14
OK, Anderson ain't swinging it, pie time.

japaljarri
10 Jul 2009, 20:36
Cmon Ricky bat yourself into history today...

Juddys_navy_blues
Ponting is going great guns, push on from here and score a double ton.

King Elvis

Watch yourself.

krisholio14
Hot Pies.

4 n 20 is going to offer Anderson a personal sponsorship with some of the crap he's been bowling.

Cousin Jed
10 Jul 2009, 20:37
Harmison! :eek:

OzBomber
Yeah, I still can't believe SBS entrusted these 3 with the coverage of the most important series on our calendar.

I get annoyed when Macgill uses the same word-for-word phrases when they leave or resume the coverage.

Who covered the series last time SBS had it?Well last time IIRC they had Simon Hill, Dean Jones and Mo. Hill is brilliant but unfortunately he's on Fox now.

Harmison-esque from Freddy.

Notorious_29
good start freddie ya goose.

Juddys_navy_blues
Great first ball Flintoff.

Dez!
Steve Harmison is that you?

roostersgal4eva
10 Jul 2009, 20:38
11.31!

:d
i thought in ireland they drink anytime :p

footycool
10 Jul 2009, 20:39
freedie=Showoff:thumbsu:

King Elvis
10 Jul 2009, 20:40
i thought in ireland they drink anytime :p

You're thinking of Australia ;)

Where's Flawed_Genius?

10 Jul 2009, 20:43
LOL
listening to Brain Taylor call the footy they were talking about the cricket
James brayshaw: "The aussies getting the move on in the ashes 1/290 thats what i like"
BT : "I tell you what i dont like, Flintoff when he took that wicket and stood there with his arms in the air.... i thought what a flog... your not even that good "
LMFAOOO

superfreak
10 Jul 2009, 20:43
Anyone know what if the cricket is on the radio right now? 774 have the footy on.

footycool
10 Jul 2009, 20:44
Every ball the poms need to make some sought of noice,shut up!:p

PrideOf
OK, Anderson ain't swinging it, pie time.

They mustn't sell those mints in Wales.

King Elvis
I love BT; he's a legend.

King Elvis
Shut the **** up Anderson you little bitch!

footycool
10 Jul 2009, 20:45
Aussies making a flawless start:thumbsu:

Bartram_Class
10 Jul 2009, 20:45
Haha, Anderson surely isn't serious?

Spudregus_87
10 Jul 2009, 20:46
Watch yourself.

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure the guy's a top bloke and he brought a heap to the number 4 & 6 spots when he played. He just needs to come out of his shell a bit more in front of the camera, and I'm not sure he can. For that reason (alone) I just don't think his personality is suited for a 'Special Comments' role on television.

Ponting just creaming the new ball BTW :):thumbsu: Double-hundred time!

TheStinger
10 Jul 2009, 20:46
Anderson - "Bit lucky aren't you."
Ponting - "I have 11,000 runs, how many wickets do you have?"
Anderson - .........::walks away::

OzBomber
10 Jul 2009, 20:47
LOL
listening to Brain Taylor call the footy they were talking about the cricket
James brayshaw: "The aussies getting the move on in the ashes 1/290 thats what i like"
BT : "I tell you what i dont like, Flintoff when he took that wicket and stood there with his arms in the air.... i thought what a flog... your not even that good "
LMFAOOO
Haha gotta love BT. :D:thumbsu:

weevil
10 Jul 2009, 20:47

Who covered the series last time SBS had it?

SBS just don't have the dollars, they have to throw whatever they can get at it and hope they will improve.