View Full Version : Rhyce Shaw!

NICK THE PIE MAN
2 Mar 2003, 21:32
Is the kid finally gonna hit his straps?
He showed some promise in his game against the Hawks.

Could he be the next Stunning Steve? :eek:

shiva25
2 Mar 2003, 21:58
I was at the footy tonight and whilst he may be quick i think he needs to improve his disposal which often lets him down

Jabso
3 Mar 2003, 07:35
I don't see him breaking into the senior side unless we have alot of injuries to our small backmen or a HELL of alot of injuries to our midfield.
I coudl be wrong though he could take McGough's place.

Murray
3 Mar 2003, 08:14
Dud

PTP
3 Mar 2003, 09:07
Showed more than he's previously showed.

Nothin' to beat, but.

Cyclops
3 Mar 2003, 11:15
Some skill, some poise, seems to lose his head under pressure. Absolute opposite of his uncle-except the equally rough head.

FIGJAM
3 Mar 2003, 11:58
Originally posted by jabso
I coudl be wrong though he could take McGough's place.
Shaw isn't an inside midfielder, so I can't see that happening.

Shaw might get a few runs this year, but I want our best side out there every game & despite a good game yesterday, I am not sure he is even in our top 30!

McGough has got stuff all game time in the past two matches. Malthouse is cautious not to wear him out.

hotpie
3 Mar 2003, 13:16
Originally posted by Cyclops
Some skill, some poise, seems to lose his head under pressure. Absolute opposite of his uncle-except the equally rough head.

Sounds exactly like his dad.

kristin5
3 Mar 2003, 13:36
I don't think he's gonna make it. He might be playing ok in the Wizard Cup comp, but many before him have also played well in this pre season comp, never to be heard of again.

He still is making some shocking skill errors and showing some bad decision making. I don't think he's in, or anywhere near, our best 22.

daicos4ever
3 Mar 2003, 14:15
Originally posted by kristin5
but many before him have also played well in this pre season comp

Ben Kinnear had a stunning 2 minutes at one point...

ramjet
3 Mar 2003, 15:22
i hope they both prove me wrong but im staggered kinnear and shaw were retained for this year although im not sure if they had time left on their contracts. kinnear may have been kept as big man insurance but shaw is a hack. i think the kid tries hard but he's just not up to it. robert walls falling over himself to suggest he's been watching shaw for years and always thought he'd make it doesnt mean he's any good. reckon i couldve picked up 15 touches just roaming around half back last night and the couple of occasions he was required to man up in defence he was beaten pointless in one on one marking contests opposed to smaller men. disposal is still very suspect and cant seem to read the play all that well. would love him to prove us all wrong but just cant see it happening.

Jabso
3 Mar 2003, 17:59
Kinnear could of been great, he could of been a player not unlike Pavlich or Kouta. If he had the right attitude when he was younger he could of gone far.

The Don
3 Mar 2003, 20:11
Ramjet did u happenen to see the contest in the first quarter in Hawthorns forward line when shaw spoiled David Loats even though he was giving up considerable height. It was also a one on one contest. How about giving him a break. Hopefully he can add pace to the midfield or of the half back flank and allow Lonie to move onto the wing.

MarkT
6 Mar 2003, 17:35
Don't write Shaw off. He has pace and that is invaluable. Of course you need more than just pace. I think he has more and he realises he's no walk up start at AFL level. He thought he was at first. He can play and should be given games this year. I hope he gets early opportunities when Burns and Lica are out.

Squeak
7 Mar 2003, 11:11
He's no worse than Mark Fraser was.

Murray
7 Mar 2003, 11:16
Understand what you say MarkT, but I think he has had more than enough time to show something.

Hoggy
7 Mar 2003, 13:47
Originally posted by Murray
Understand what you say MarkT, but I think he has had more than enough time to show something.

Good things come to those that wait. ;)

CAAS
7 Mar 2003, 13:56
Originally posted by Hoggy
Good things come to those that wait. ;)

Sorry Hoggy but we all remember Paul Sharkey? 5 years from memory. What about Darren Saunders? Granted he did start playing better footy near the end of his career. For Carlton you could put Luke O'sullivan in that mould. Players that were given too long.

I do think that Rhyce has had his time but hopefully he realises that you have to be serious about your footy if you want to make it otherwise he can go back to Diamond Creek and have a kick with a lowly divvy 2 team. Now that Nick D is gone he might pull his head in

Hoggy
7 Mar 2003, 15:28
Originally posted by CAAS
I do think that Rhyce has had his time but hopefully he realises that you have to be serious about your footy if you want to make it otherwise he can go back to Diamond Creek and have a kick with a lowly divvy 2 team. Now that Nick D is gone he might pull his head in

Just on Diamo....they've renamed Nillumbik Park as Coventry Oval!

tess
9 Mar 2003, 08:48
He showed a fair bit last night! maybe he has turned the corner I`m sure all hoped he would be a good player with his dads heritage.
Lets hope.

JLC
9 Mar 2003, 14:17
For Essendon you could put Dean Wallis in that mould. Hated by his own supporters at the start of his career yet adored by many by the end. If it wasn't for Sheedy he would have been long gone.
Many supporters couldnt believe why Sheedy would persist with such a player.

I think Rhyce Shaw now knows what it takes to be a footballer. Maybe when he first arrived at the club we were crap so he thought he would be a walk up start to get a game or that his name would carry brownie points?

Whereas now as a club we have come a long way in a few years.
It must have hurt him seeing us playing in the finals and realising he wasnt going to be a part of it. Rhyce probably realises now that his football needs to do the talking and not his latest haircut.

jlc

mandy
10 Mar 2003, 21:06
I have to admit, that until the Geelong game I was extremely anti-Shaw. He showed heaps in that game, and now I'm willing to give him a go. I think still his biggest problem may be believing he has a tad more class than he actually does possess. But, he's young, he'll learn.

I'm happy to back him now. Good for him.

hotpie
12 Mar 2003, 10:42
Sorry Hoggy but we all remember Paul Sharkey? 5 years from memory. What about Darren Saunders? Granted he did start playing better footy near the end of his career. For Carlton you could put Luke O'sullivan in that mould. Players that were given too long.

Jason Croall.

YAKUZA
13 Mar 2003, 19:07
He would've been traded at the end of last season if a good enough offer had been presented, Sydney was pretty hot for him.
Word is that Malthouse is not a fan and I'd say if he doesn't show something this year he's gone.

NICK THE PIE MAN
13 Mar 2003, 20:32
Sorry Hoggy but we all remember Paul Sharkey? 5

Ah yes.
The Human Witches hat Paul Sharkey :D

Murray
18 Mar 2003, 10:41
And Brad Smith the other witches hat. No actually I think they were used as goal posts

Perty4
18 Mar 2003, 13:29
Players that were given too long in the Shaw era could go on into cyberspace and lost forever. one from the malthouse era would have to be dimma. i could tell he was not cut out for AFL footy when the first game he had he managed to kick the ball at right angles into the southern stand. whenever he got the ball everyone else was always in with a chance of catching it.

Murray
19 Mar 2003, 10:11
Yeah, Dimma. Now there was a real dud

Nic
19 Mar 2003, 13:08
Shaw could have been given an extra chance (or two) on the list as a sort of...bridge, I guess, to picking up his brother and/or his cousin in the near future. He's showing something now tho!