View Full Version : Ashes 2009 Umpiring complaints and criticisms go here
From now complaining about the umpiring goes in this thread, and will no longer stink up the the match threads.
Might want to sticky this thread and link it in the Cricket Rules thread.
Is this an anything goes whinge thread?
Normal rules apply, but like I said we can't card people for being soft or not being able to take a bad decision like a man.
This is a bit over the top but I agree that the umpiring isn't what stopping us right now. It's ourselves.
Given this is our last test series before the Referral System is brought in this thread may be redundant fairly soon... all the whingers will have to find a new scapegoat.
Cousin Jed
1 Aug 2009, 14:46
Great, another thread I will have to subscribe to.
DeadlyAkkuret
1 Aug 2009, 14:56
Not that I care, because I didn't complain about the Rudi decision in the Ashes thread, but this thread seems like a bit of a circle jerk "Wank wank I've never complained about anything because I'm a hard man" thread.
If you want to be hard, hand out reds to anyone who posts more than 3 posts complaining about the same umpiring decision. Will weed it out pretty quick, and also show how hard and tough you are.
:thumbsu:
spookism
1 Aug 2009, 15:01
Indian Cricket Team board.
Seriously, unfortunately bad decisions are a part of the game, we've got our fair share on calls on either side of right or wrong over the years.
The main problem with us losing at the moment is our lack of ability, not the umpires!
Not that I care, because I didn't complain about the Rudi decision in the Ashes thread, but this thread seems like a bit of a circle jerk "Wank wank I've never complained about anything because I'm a hard man" thread.
Mate we have just had a gut full of listening to all the squealing for every little thing that does not go our way.
If you want to be hard, hand out reds to anyone who posts more than 3 posts complaining about the same umpiring decision. Will weed it out pretty quick, and also show how hard and tough you are.
:thumbsu:
Good idea but there is no way we could be arsed keeping up with all of that. You point them out when they do it and we can card up a storm.
DeadlyAkkuret
1 Aug 2009, 15:08
Fair enough, and I agree with the premise (is that the right word?) but the first few posts came off as a bit holier than thou. Just sayin' ;)
DeadlyAkkuret
1 Aug 2009, 15:11
Good idea but there is no way we could be arsed keeping up with all of that. You point them out when they do it and we can card up a storm.
It probably wouldn't bother me enough to report anyone, but wouldn't that mean I'd have to report someone 3 times before they're red carded?
Fair enough, and I agree with the premise (is that the right word?) but the first few posts came off as a bit holier than thou. Just sayin' ;)
Yeah, I know, sometimes we have a lot to deal with and don't have time to put together a complete post, explaining every nuance of every detail.
No problem at all if you guys let us know if we are sounding a bit full on.
DeadlyAkkuret
1 Aug 2009, 15:26
When granting you Super Mod status, they didn't give you special super powers to make multi-banning as easy as the push of a button?
We have many mysterious powers and we intend on keeping them mysterious...These are not the droids you are looking for.
Cousin Jed
1 Aug 2009, 15:29
Come up with a better name and we'll change it.
Maybe ;)
DeadlyAkkuret
1 Aug 2009, 15:34
We have many mysterious powers and we intend on keeping them mysterious...These are not the droids you are looking for.
So, no?
So, no?
It's easier to give people a red card than it is to send them a PM.
DeadlyAkkuret
1 Aug 2009, 15:40
Well yeah, why would you even bother PM'ing someone who you're going to red card anyway? They'll only try to beg/reason their way out of it, LtD style, or abuse you.
Save the cheerleader, save the world.
Well yeah, why would you even bother PM'ing someone who you're going to red card anyway? They'll only try to beg/reason their way out of it, LtD style, or abuse you.
You do not know the half of it.
Cousin Jed
1 Aug 2009, 15:45
Back on topic you 2.
Rudi is suxor!!!!!
bigburger
1 Aug 2009, 15:47
Weevil the title of this thread makes you look like a dick head. I think everyones entitled to whinge about the umpires as its one of the most common themes in sport. If you don't big ups to you, it doesn't make you any more or less of a bloke.
Yeah, a bit of a whinge is fine, the same posters posting virtually the exact same thing over and over again is BS.
The name was a bit of a laugh, as CH has said we are happy to change it if someone comes up with a name.
ManWithNoName
1 Aug 2009, 16:09
Discussing wrong decisions and pointing out that certain umpires are incompetent != whinging
I agree.
Going on about it over and over again is however.
XFactor1979
1 Aug 2009, 22:14
ponting had a hand off the bat when he aborted his hook shot off onions yesterday
he was on the way to 160
belfast_bomber
1 Aug 2009, 22:34
Normal rules apply, but like I said we can't card people for being soft or not being able to take a bad decision like a man.
Especially if they're not men.
Yeah, a bit of a whinge is fine, the same posters posting virtually the exact same thing over and over again is BS.
The name was a bit of a laugh, as CH has said we are happy to change it if someone comes up with a name.
Ashes 2009 Umpiring complaints and criticisms go here.
Away you go.
footycool
1 Aug 2009, 23:20
Terrible Thread Weevil, Practice what u preach in regards to thread posting
Any more rubbish out of you and you will be booted.
footycool
1 Aug 2009, 23:23
Sorry Weevil, i take that Back :(
Blue Dimension
2 Aug 2009, 21:16
The lack of consistency from Rudi Koertzen in regards to LBW decisions in this match has been disgraceful.
Here we go! Back on the airwaves!!
mansize rooster
2 Aug 2009, 21:20
gotta feel for siddle. perfect inswinger..not rewarded
my first reactions with the siddle lbw shout a short time ago was that he had hit it.
BIG double noise. And the instant you hear the double noise you give not out. it's a natural reaction.
To the naked eye Siddle was very stiff... just about sums up his match. Rudi eyes must be totally shot, because he relies far too much on his ears. There was no way Bell hit that, despite the noises... my cataract ridden great uncle could have seen that.
Hauritz got Freddie with a no ball and Punter plumb to Swann but not given... do the BF ferals only throw their toys out of the cot when we get bad decisions?
Cannot wait for the referral system which will finally eliminate the constant howlers that washed up umps like Rudi make on a regular basis.
damochandler
3 Aug 2009, 13:08
the umpiring in this series absolutely reminds me of the umpiring in the 2005 series and it's probably worse then back than. things will get worse when they 2 worst umpires in the game come and umpire the last 2 tests
JimDocker
3 Aug 2009, 13:16
ponting had a hand off the bat when he aborted his hook shot off onions yesterday
No he didn't.
he was on the way to 160
Great batsman so no telling what he would have done if he had not got out fair and square.
(I felt compelled to answer your post and hopefully just missed the sarcasm involved ).
To the naked eye Siddle was very stiff... just about sums up his match. Rudi eyes must be totally shot, because he relies far too much on his ears. There was no way Bell hit that, despite the noises... my cataract ridden great uncle could have seen that.
Dreadful decision by Rudi. He really should not be umpiring. That is twice Bell should have been out.
Hauritz got Freddie with a no ball and Punter plumb to Swann but not given... do the BF ferals only throw their toys out of the cot when we get bad decisions?
Absolutely correct. It is fair to say that the media have not given those two incidents quite the same coverage as other bad decisions though. I am off work today and have heard no mention of the no ball or Punter's let off.
Cannot wait for the referral system which will finally eliminate the constant howlers that washed up umps like Rudi make on a regular basis.
sorry likka, but that wasn't a no-ball
Drummond
3 Aug 2009, 18:58
So for example if I say, "another stupid decision by Rudi Koertzen the fool" in the match thread, I would....be carded?
It's a bit stupid to have to transfer threads when something's just happened and I want to let it out.
Cousin Jed
3 Aug 2009, 19:03
No you wouldn't be.
Happy for you to post there immediately. If people want to bang on about it endlessly they should move it in here.
sorry likka, but that wasn't a no-ball
Heel wasn't grounded so it was.
Drummond
3 Aug 2009, 19:18
No you wouldn't be.
Happy for you to post there immediately. If people want to bang on about it endlessly they should move it in here.
Thanks mate, that sounds good. :)
Cousin Jed
3 Aug 2009, 19:20
Tapee put this in the match thread - I'll assume this is accurate
5. Fair delivery - the feet
For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride
(i) the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease.
(ii) the bowler's front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised, behind the popping crease.
If the umpire at the bowler's end is not satisfied that both these conditions have been met, he shall call and signal No ball.
Heel wasn't grounded so it was.
doesn't have to be grounded. As long as part of the foot is behind the line whether grounded or not, it is a fair ball.
JimDocker
5 Aug 2009, 12:13
I also stand corrected.
I had turned the sound down on the tele at that point so when I saw it, I used my own opinion as the rule book and was wrong !
Belnakor
5 Aug 2009, 13:20
I think the biggest moment of the test was when Rudi used the 3rd umpire to decide an appeal vs Clarke.
Cousin Jed
5 Aug 2009, 13:32
Saw that on the replay last night. What on earth was he even checking?
Mind boggling.
So,who is going to be scew**g up,err sorry, I mean Umpiring the next game?
Nel Mangle
5 Aug 2009, 23:43
Bopara got a terrible lbw in cardiff that put us in deep trouble.
I guess the australian fans need someone else to blame for the fact that they have only won one game since they got here.
Against Northants B team who gave them a charity declaration.
Your team just aint that special..
DeadlyAkkuret
6 Aug 2009, 02:44
Nice troll.
belfast_bomber
6 Aug 2009, 04:24
I guess the australian fans need someone else to blame for the fact that they have only won one game since they got here.
Against Northants B team who gave them a charity declaration.
Well, that's more than your special team won in Australia in 2006/2007.
mattymac
7 Aug 2009, 07:09
neither is yours mate. this entire series has been like two slugs duelling so far. expect the aussies to play with near a full deck at leeds and pump some fire into this soap opera.
bombersno1
7 Aug 2009, 17:24
Like it would have mattered, he is the worst batsman in either side and that includes a hopeless out of form Mike Hussey!
Great start from Billy :rolleyes:
damochandler
7 Aug 2009, 20:12
what a surprise. bowden get's another one wrong. he is a hopeless umpire that's only there to try abd get his head on tv
Nel Mangle
7 Aug 2009, 20:34
bopara out to a no ball.
any complaints??
nah didnt think so
damochandler
7 Aug 2009, 20:37
bopara out to a no ball.
any complaints??
nah didnt think so
marginal at best. your mate botham is sooking
TheColeTrain
7 Aug 2009, 21:24
bopara out to a no ball.
any complaints??
nah didnt think so
line ball at best.
Would have been over by a bees dick at the most, not even that
Nel Mangle
7 Aug 2009, 22:00
Ball hit the ground in pontingesque fashion there for broadys wicket!!!
Over the course of a series the decisions generally even out.
I dont want to hear any whinging again from the clowns in here.
Nel Mangle
7 Aug 2009, 22:11
Carbon copy of straussy claiming ponting.
No more whinging from forum fools!!!
/thread
Well shocking start from Bowden to begin this test match: but not much to do since.
Can't complain about the Bopara dismissal: it may have been over the line, but with all of 2-3mm in it you'd be lucky to see it from where the umpire stands. Besides: it is probably 1 of 8-10 no-balls that are missed in each days play of cricket anyway.
Nothing wrong with the dismissal at the end either. Why you'd even complain about is beyond me. Katich caught it. Broad accepted it. And off they all went.
damochandler
7 Aug 2009, 22:19
/thread
it's not a carbon copy. have a look at it againg before you say we whinge alot. katich's finger were underneath the ball. strauss werent before the ball bounced
DeadlyAkkuret
7 Aug 2009, 22:23
Ball hit the ground in pontingesque fashion there for broadys wicket!!!
Over the course of a series the decisions generally even out.
I dont want to hear any whinging again from the clowns in here.
We better get some ripper decisions in the next test then, because it's not close to being even. You're blind if you can't see the difference between the Strauss one and Katich's catch, with his fingers under the ball.
aussie1st
7 Aug 2009, 23:14
/thread
You are a lone ranger, the English commentators said it was out, cricinfo, other English media sources.
Nel Mangle
7 Aug 2009, 23:26
lads!!!
onion out after hitting the arm guard.
can we say we didnt get the calls this time out?
lads!!!
With Onions being the backbone of the English batting lineup and all......:rolleyes:
Old "lucky" Clarke gets away with another one.
Is there a worse player averaging over 30 in world cricket than this guy ?
wotdoiput
8 Aug 2009, 03:45
Is there a worse Cricket poster that you? No, no there not.
wotdoiput
8 Aug 2009, 03:46
/thread
Carbon copy means same not different. So no it wasn't a carbon copy.
spookism
8 Aug 2009, 04:15
S. Broad
R. Bopara
damochandler
8 Aug 2009, 08:31
lads!!!
that was ordinary by the second worst umpire in the game
Don't post rubbish.
Ravi "When are the Windies coming back?" Bopara says hi
King Elvis
8 Aug 2009, 14:49
Ravi "When are the Windies coming back?" Bopara says hi
Is he still averaging over thirty though?
Love the desperation trying to claim the Katich catch was in any way comparable to the Strauss non-catch.
spookism
8 Aug 2009, 14:55
Is he still averaging over thirty though?
Just..... I think!:D
35.86 after his wonderful display yesterday, according to howstat
Worth noting he averages about 13 against countries that continue the letter A in their name
Cousin Jed
8 Aug 2009, 20:23
Oi - This is umpires criticism - not ordinary England players! :)
Ravi might soon move into umpiring though. Clearly doesn't have a future in front of him :p
bigburger
9 Aug 2009, 03:44
Great day from the Umps. No obvious mistakes imo.
DeadlyAkkuret
9 Aug 2009, 04:46
Great day from the Umps. No obvious mistakes imo.
I can't think of any.
maryjames
10 Aug 2009, 00:12
Swann missed it, he didn't even hit it..boooo that was not out, lol
Shocking day for the umpires:
5 ball over
7 ball over
Bowler ready to bowl 7th ball of over before being told by 3rd umpire that it was in fact 'over'
Shitty signalling from an umpire (if that was at Cricket Australia level he would cop an absolute bollocking from the CA Officials and Umpire high performance panel members at the game - and would probably be dropped for a bit after the game - having said that he wouldn't make it to CA level with the crap he comes up with)
Swann's decision is probably the worst of the series. There wasn't even a noise. At least with the all other decisions this series (except maybe the Johnson LBW appeal at Lords) you can sort of work out why a decision was made.
Then to top it off: the half an appeal for caught behind when Harmison had a swing at it, bounced, then rattled into Haddin's gloves. Both umpires got together to talk about it.
Shocking day of cricket for the umpires. In international cricket a 5 ball over or 7 ball over should NEVER happen. Not because the umpires may miscount - that is a common occurrence in the game - but because up in the Umpires rooms you've got a Third Umpire, a match referee (BOTH of who do their own scoring and counting system to log appeals and follow the match) and also a 4th umpire all with radios talking to the on field umpires.
It was always going to turn into a circus once that silly New Zealand umpire arrived.
DeadlyAkkuret
10 Aug 2009, 13:50
Swann decision the worst? Yeah nah. It was terrible, not close to being the worst.
damochandler
10 Aug 2009, 13:56
Shocking day for the umpires:
5 ball over
7 ball over
Bowler ready to bowl 7th ball of over before being told by 3rd umpire that it was in fact 'over'
Shitty signalling from an umpire (if that was at Cricket Australia level he would cop an absolute bollocking from the CA Officials and Umpire high performance panel members at the game - and would probably be dropped for a bit after the game - having said that he wouldn't make it to CA level with the crap he comes up with)
Swann's decision is probably the worst of the series. There wasn't even a noise. At least with the all other decisions this series (except maybe the Johnson LBW appeal at Lords) you can sort of work out why a decision was made.
Then to top it off: the half an appeal for caught behind when Harmison had a swing at it, bounced, then rattled into Haddin's gloves. Both umpires got together to talk about it.
Shocking day of cricket for the umpires. In international cricket a 5 ball over or 7 ball over should NEVER happen. Not because the umpires may miscount - that is a common occurrence in the game - but because up in the Umpires rooms you've got a Third Umpire, a match referee (BOTH of who do their own scoring and counting system to log appeals and follow the match) and also a 4th umpire all with radios talking to the on field umpires.
It was always going to turn into a circus once that silly New Zealand umpire arrived.
well guess who umpired in all of those incidents. billy bowden. by far the worst umpire going around. he just wants to have his head on tv all the time. he isnt a good umpire
spookism
10 Aug 2009, 13:56
Swann decision the worst? Yeah nah. It was terrible, not close to being the worst.
Hussey's non-hit was worse, but still a poor call by the ump
damochandler
10 Aug 2009, 13:58
i thought he hit the ground at first. i dont know what else the ball hit to be honest
rdhopkins2
10 Aug 2009, 14:31
Bring on Simon Taufell. Oh oops, sorry an Aussie umpire might not be impartial. Best ump in the world and we can't even have him.
Atleast the umps didn't mess up too many decisions or have much of an impact on the game this test.
Bring on referrals though if they will help us get a few more decisions right.
Didn't see the Swann decision, but agree about Bowden, have said this for years, how he can get away with those ridiculous signals astounds me, if an umpire gave me out with a bent finger I wouldn't walk till he straightened it out, and I couldn't give a rats arse about arthritis, all that arm waving is a joke and add in the stuff ups, sack the clown now.
Does anyone else reckon Billy is not far away from being committed to the funny farm, some of those looks he gives...?
Illinois Nazi
10 Aug 2009, 20:26
The Swann one was strange. there was a noise of some sort, but buggered if I know what it was. The bat wasn't anywhere near hitting the ground either.
belfast_bomber
11 Aug 2009, 21:24
That "seven ball over" was nearly as silly as "Aussie Joe" Simunic's three yellow cards in the world cup. Such a basic rule, interpretation doesn't even come into it, and they can't even get that right.
Do you think Billy keeps getting big matches because he's a "personality", regardless of how good (or not) his actual decisions are? Beginning to look that way.
Belnakor
13 Aug 2009, 16:59
really, 7 ball overs happen just as often in a ODI where its more important.
bouncing back
16 Aug 2009, 13:59
the umpiring has been shocking. stuff the not giving umpires from playing countries tests. simon taufel has won the best ump award for 4 years. appoint him to our tests.:mad:
Blue Dimension
18 Aug 2009, 23:04
the umpiring has been shocking. stuff the not giving umpires from playing countries tests. simon taufel has won the best ump award for 4 years. appoint him to our tests.:mad:
Unfortunately this won't happen
As good as he is, chances are he will make the odd bad decision. If he were to have a bad day in which decisions go in Australia's favour against teams like India, there'd be massive uproar (just ask Steve Bucknor). Ultimately it puts unnecessary pressure on the local umpire.
Sadly, we just have to put up with it.
Only for one more test, once the referral system is in place a vast majority of the umpiring errors will be corrected.
peternorth
19 Aug 2009, 11:12
will rudi be umpiring any tests here this summer?
Only for one more test, once the referral system is in place a vast majority of the umpiring errors will be corrected.
If they get the system right, it was shocking last time they tried it.
Hopefully they will have knocked all the bugs out in the time they have taken to implement it again.
Yeah, but that was related to process and not the technology used.
Neither the umpires or teams had any real idea how the referral system worked, thus it was a dog's breakfast.
There still will be teething problems upon its introduction, but given time they will be ironed out. Within a couple of years it will be as smooth and familiar as run out referrals are now.
Bottom line is that slow motion replays, Snicko and Hotspot generally remove doubt from 99.9% of decisions. Still not sold on using Hawkeye ball flight prediction for LBW decisions, but being able to determine if a ball pitches or hits in line using the stump line overlay is accurate enough.