View Full Version : Pike - The one we need
Dodongo
30th October 2000, 07:23
Yes, Martin Pike is the one we need. Who cares about his off field behaviour. Dodongo says he will be a great player for our team. This is the experience we need in the backline. He will be a good replacement for that Adam Heuskes and Steven Lawrence.
All the others, we picked up look like they will be good players for us. But Pike, was the best pickup for Brisbane. Saverio Rocca could have been handy aswell, but I was surprised he went at pick 30 to those Kangaroos.
Mr Ripper
30th October 2000, 08:08
Don't fret about missing out on Rocca. I think Nth recruited him to keep Ricky O company in the medical room. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/tongue.gif
JUBJUB
30th October 2000, 08:52
I like that one Mr Ripper.
------------------
"The good humour man can only be pushed so far ". -Bart Simpson
lioness
30th October 2000, 08:54
Nothing better to warm a former Roygirl's heart than the return of one of our own. YAY. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif
Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
30th October 2000, 09:42
haha what a party boy team hope there is enough room in the cells over there in Brissy bye bye Adam and Jarrod--->hello Mal and Martin!!! Jeez Richmond will be jealous.
oh and don't think that ones gonna slip by me coz its on the Brissy forum Mr Ripper and Jub Jub!!!
sPiDeR eVeRiTt and RiCkY oLaReNsHaW
~kewlest players round!!!
Homer
30th October 2000, 10:40
You have got to be joking, what do we need a player who has been delisted for off field behaviour problems.
I don't care that he is an ex roy.He has serious problems.Why burden ourselves with more problems.
Dodongo
30th October 2000, 16:52
Homer, You are the one with serious problems. He is 28, his wife has a bloody Child on the way, trust me he won't have bad off field behaviour when his son/daughter is born. He is a good player on the field and I don't think he will get pissed and bash the living daylights out of anyone or anything else and risk going to jail and only seeing his son/daughter once a month. Now, would he risk all that? Yes or No? He is lucky to have another chance and he will wake up to himself.
Denno
30th October 2000, 19:16
Agree with that. Matthews said we need a running 6 foot half back type - fits the bill perfectly. He will be hit or miss, but I think he will work out - could turn out to be a drafting coup!! (Four years too late!)
webmom
31st October 2000, 03:33
What are you guys on.
He may be a good, not great player.
We need a disruptive off filed player like we need a hole in the head.
We need cohesion, not another year of continual off field problems
As for the rubbish about him being settled now, because his girlfriend is pregnant, pleeeease.They are due next month, his delisting from North was the end of this year,his off field behaviour this last season was poor. He was an expectant father then as he is now.
Pike will only gethis act together if he wants to. He should have professional guidance.Plus no freebies at Adrenalin or Rowers.
Roylion
31st October 2000, 05:28
How many great players are there in the draft anyway? There's no doubt that he was the best quality defender available. Pike will be a very good pick-up for the Lions and will slot in very well on the half-back line. Together with C. Scott, Leppitsch and possibly Mal Michael, Brisbane's defence looks in solid shape and certainly much better than last year.
OldLion
31st October 2000, 05:33
There's no doubt that we need tall attacking versatile backmen. We've now got two. Are they - Michael and Pike - better that Lawrence and Heuskas ? Is there a pattern here ( partying ) ?
I reckon Pike is excellent value and alot will depend how he handles the frequent interstate trips. Will he 'bond' with the players with such a reputation ? If he can become to us what he became to North in 1998/9, he's a huge bonus. He was great with the Lions in '96.
InTheBack!
31st October 2000, 06:04
As Sir Humphrey would have said - a very couragous decision minister!
I like the fact that the Lions have taken a punt on Pike & gone for what they need on the field & back themselves to handle any off the field problems that might arise.
I did not originally support this decision but as all the tall quality players went in the picks before us (if you believe what you read in the newspaper) then it is a good choice. We really need a tall hard at it defender & he fits the bill.
There will be plenty of "I told you so's" from Roy supporters & hopefully he will give us plenty of reasons to smile.
Good luck Pikey!
Bernie
31st October 2000, 08:59
A note of concern, Lions.
If Pike is 'reformable', why would North have just dropped him with NO trades ? North aren't overly endowed with resources so something BIG must have happened or been said.
I suspect he will play some solid games and then the coach will get the early morning phone call from some lock-up, asking for assistance. And then what ?
InTheBack!
31st October 2000, 09:26
He would have good company in the lock up.
Lets have some perspective here - in 2000 the Lions went through a tough time with police investigations against players unknown, have they been delisted? (who knows)
Our late departed Lawrence with a self inflicted injury missed quite a few games & there was nary a call by supporters for his delisting.
What he needs is good player management, motivation & purpose & he is no different from many others in that respect.
Danni
31st October 2000, 09:31
Bernie, I tend to agree with you on that one. I am not happy with the decision to take him, not based on his footy ability, but with the off field problems. I have just finished reading elsewhere how Pikes problems and indiscretions were 'overblown'.
But you make a good point Bernie, if that was the case, and he is reformable, why didn't North persevere? Was there more to this?
I guess only time will tell now.
Roylion
31st October 2000, 11:56
How is Pike any worse than some of our other players or indeed players of other clubs? Over the past ten years, there is a list as long as your arm of players who have had off-field problems or were involved in off-field incidents due to alcohol, many of which were kept out of the media. Steven Lawrence, Daryl White, Adam Hueskes, Chris Johnson, Winston Abraham, Gary Ablett, Nicky Winmar, Doug Hawkins, Adrian McAdam, Mick McGuane, Trent Hotton, Spider Everitt, Rory Hilton, Darren Whieldon, Troy Johnson, Nick Daffy, Dean Lupson, are just a few that spring to mind.
If Pike can play football, he can play football and should be selected on that basis alone. Pike's selection was endorsed by a selection of senior players at the Lions. Even Matthews said "The only reason he was unlisted was because of his reputation", which in my opinion (and many other people's opinion I'm sure) has been largely inflated by the media. Even today headlines like "Wild man Pike" and..."Bad Boy Martin Pike"....." are adding to this general view. I've met Martin Pike quite a few times in my days at Fitzroy and I always found him completely different to many of the stories told about him. Barring injury, I'm positive that he will be an asset to Brisbane's playing stocks in the next couple of years.
OldLion
31st October 2000, 12:31
Now there's a name I haven't heard for some time - Dean Lupson.
1989 Reserves Grand Final, if I recall correctly, was definately his finest hour ( together with the Doc ). Selective applied vigour ! Has anyone got a tape copy of that game ?
Danni
31st October 2000, 13:23
Adam and Steve - GONE
Johhno - after along hard time - is now on the up and up.
White - as a Bear - 7 times someone went to the airport to pick him up , 7 times he wasn't there! Has taken till this year to finally settle down.
Pike - Problems - so we have heard - you certainly cannot blame ppl for being very hesitant in taking him.
We want stability, not off-field dramas - we have had those in some shape or form every year since the merger. 1999 had the least problems and it showed in the team unity and confidence - just as the problems this year showed on the field!
Just because he may be a great player - does not mean that if he is playing up off field that it won't affect onfield - maybe not even in his personal game, but in the way team is affected, trust, unity, confidence.
We saw the results of lack of that this year - don't want to see it again next year
Lets hope he has it all together now and will prove me and others like me wrong!
Mr Ripper
31st October 2000, 14:06
OldLion asks:
1989 Reserves Grand Final, if I recall correctly, was definately his finest hour ( together with the Doc ). Selective applied vigour ! Has anyone got a tape copy of that game ?
I do! But it's on BETA!! http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/redface.gif
Paul D
2nd November 2000, 07:16
What a great Grand Final.
Mark Scott, Tony Woods, etc.
I'll never forget Robert Bolzons blue with I think David Cameron from Geelong. I think the commentator said at the time about Cameron "He is one sick boy" as they carried him off.
Denno
2nd November 2000, 18:14
Couldn't have been David Cameron - I seem to recall he kicked the last goal of the Seniors G/F. I could be wrong though!
Danni
2nd November 2000, 18:39
Ripper - send that tape my way - we have kept the Beta machine in great nic - gets serviced every 12 months - just so we can use it to copy to vhs!!
Mobbenfuhrer
2nd November 2000, 23:25
On the Pike issue, it would seem to me that even if his off-field antics were sufficient enough for North to need to offload him, then they would STILL try for adequate compensation. His on-field skill is noted as considerable, and bad boy or not, North could have vied for a fair deal in exchange. Just chucking him out, if it was due to his reputation, is still a blunder.
I met Pikey, in fact sang kareoke with him at the Fitzroy Club Hotel, and although he was on the booze that night, he was of good manners, and we were all soaking on the evening.
And on the '89 RGF, It certainly was a Cameron that Bolzon clocked, can't remember which one, but the connects were on-song. Primary quotes from the match include :
'Wheildon doesn't mind it, he's just poleaxed his opponent.'
'Morgan, gets around Lupson ...' 'He'd WANNA get around Lupson, Lupson'd line him up.'
InTheBack!
3rd November 2000, 03:16
Can all you people who are soooo sad that Steve Lawrence has left tell me why he should not have been hung out to dry by getting incredibly pissed & smashing his hand to bits through a glass panel (********), thus letting the club down, this team mates & his supporters.
When this happened - I didnt hear anything about the uncontrollable, unreformable, pisshead Lawrence. Oh by god - how can we handle him - he is out of control - mabye we should suspend him or delist him?
Pike is a good player. He is not alone in his love of the piss - come on lighten up guys, it might nevr happen!
Mr Ripper
3rd November 2000, 04:26
Danni offered:
Ripper - send that tape my way - we have kept the Beta machine in great nic - gets serviced every 12 months - just so we can use it to copy to vhs!!
Thanks Danni, but our ol' Beta's still in perfect working condition order too! I was just looking at it from potential 'borrowers' point of view. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/wink.gif
BTW, it was Garry Cameron playing for Geelong ressies that day.
OldLion
3rd November 2000, 11:18
All these quotes from the 1989 GF ! I got to get a hold of this - I've got the picture of Leon, Mick and Ross holding up the cup.
If it's possible to get a VHS copy, I'll pay big time.
BTW What Martin P needs is LOVE and acceptance - I reckon he'll be a gun. I can see Akers, CS(cott) and Pike fixing those Bomber big noting forwards with steely stares sowing the seeds of fear and doubt.
May the spirit of '89 live on !
Olmy
9th November 2000, 09:13
Hey all you FITZROY maniacs!!!
I have a copy of that 1989 Reserves GF on tape. (on VHS!).
Not only did we win, but the fights are great too!! Doc Wheildon gives out a couple of absolute rippers, as does D.Lupson, G.Osborne, R.Thornton (of all players!), R.Bolzon gives out a top hit on some Geelong nut.
If anyone is looking for a copy, e-mail me on p.olm@ugrad.unimelb.edu.au and I'll see what I can do!
BTW Pike will be great!
Pa-Kettle
9th November 2000, 11:49
Don't waste your breath (or typing fingers) on arguing over the guy now. Wait and see what happens. My bet is he will stuff up, but not for 6 months or so.
Anyone thought of running a book on this one?
Aussie_Roo
9th November 2000, 12:54
If you all you Lions fans really believe that Pike will be a better player, in Brisbane because his wife is expecting a child. Think again, he already has a son about 3 years old, and it didn't stop him playing up off the field at North.
Olmy
10th November 2000, 07:12
Hmm - looks like that last post stuffed up.
I have a copy of the '89 Reserves GF on VHS tape.
p.olm@ugrad.unimelb.edu.au
If any one is interested, give me an e-mail.
mud n blood
10th November 2000, 10:31
got it already, along with our huge win over the mexicans
TheBrownDog
10th October 2007, 20:17
I reckon we should take him!
The Flying Belgian
10th October 2007, 20:21
Ah Dodongo...
crispy creme
10th October 2007, 20:52
Let's not be too harsh on Dodongo, he was partly right. Pikey did party too much for my liking - especially after GF's in 01,02 and 03!!!
Warwick
10th October 2007, 20:59
One of the great threads.
Pike was one of the best gets in the history of sport. Does he want to run around next year?
The Flying Belgian
10th October 2007, 21:00
Let's not be too harsh on Dodongo, he was partly right.
Wasn't a criticism.
I fell like a Dodongo-burger now! :D
Dr Pea P.I
10th October 2007, 21:17
When i first saw this thread title i thought it was a reference to the post-Leigh era. Anyone know how Pike is doing with his current coaching role? Is he still down at Mornington? Was it mornington?
luthor
10th October 2007, 21:20
Ah Dodongo...
Dodongo come back.
We still love you.
wickedwitch
11th October 2007, 06:39
When i first saw this thread title i thought it was a reference to the post-Leigh era. Anyone know how Pike is doing with his current coaching role? Is he still down at Mornington? Was it mornington?
I'm on the same wavelength, Dr Pea. Would love to see him back with us in a coaching role. Steely in his approach to the game and a terrific mentor to the younger guys. I reckon he was the best surprise recruit of all time.
(I think he was still coaching Hastings (?) this year.)
Tim the Toolman
11th October 2007, 10:12
Know what I like most about this old thread?
The good old days you had everyone just responding in kind to posts without having to copy what they're responding too. I'm sick of everyone just copying another post so we have to read everything twice or three times and taking up valuable space.
Love this thread though!:thumbsu:
danielcanberra
11th October 2007, 10:16
The good old days you had everyone just responding in kind to posts without having to copy what they're responding too. I'm sick of everyone just copying another post so we have to read everything twice or three times and taking up valuable space.
You mean like this?? :p:p
campbell
11th October 2007, 10:17
haha dan.
I would love pikey back at the club, but he is larger than life, and may not fit the mould anymore.if you know what i mean.
The Flying Belgian
11th October 2007, 10:30
You mean like this?? :p:p
Yeah that really sucks... :D
Vidman
12th October 2007, 00:22
Yeah that really sucks... :D
what sucks? ;)
Butane
12th October 2007, 00:24
Best.Bump.Ever
(And for the record..i reckon you should take him ;))