View Full Version : TV The Kyle Sanderlands How Low Can You Go Thread

crows98
3 Aug 2009, 17:41
Source – Radio station 5 AA and they quoted channel 10 news. Sucked in to the douche bag.

Who will take over? Will they bring Holden back or someone else

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,25873715-5006301,00.html

IanG
3 Aug 2009, 17:43
Interesting, I guess he will still appear at the audition stage. Oh and good riddance the sooner he is off all Australian media the better.

Byron_Clanger
3 Aug 2009, 17:44
couldnt have happened to a better douche

Exhale You
3 Aug 2009, 17:48
Good move from 10.
Accidently or not, they've become very 'family-friendly' television of late with shows like Masterchef and TBYG and keeping Sandilands would put that niche at risk, so it's a very astute decision by Ten.

I've never seen a second of Idol but i hope Mark Holden returns.
He's a great bloke, is highly intelligent, is entertaining and knows the music industry inside out.

Zarrix
3 Aug 2009, 18:00
Terrible from Kyle Sandilands to persist with questioning despite such a terrible mishap. I guess this was the straw that broke the camels back, about time this terrible excuse for a human being was dropped from the media spotlight.

Panthera Leo!
3 Aug 2009, 18:01
That's good to here!
Now, if they can only sack Australian Idol!

red+black
3 Aug 2009, 18:04
Kyle deserves a lot worse

Zarrix
3 Aug 2009, 18:06
Indeed, the show has played a major hand in creating a terrible music culture, and has fastened the terminal decline of pop music in general.

Only mildly entertaining part about the show is watching the idiots at the auditions.

JUBJUB
3 Aug 2009, 19:23

He must suffer a fair bit having to listen to his untalented wife trying to make a music career

Mdp3CHJsuBU&feature=PlayList&p=5AF9F35A791E1560&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=16

but he still should suffer a whole lot more pain :D

likka
3 Aug 2009, 19:50

Anal cancer notwithstanding.

bigburger
3 Aug 2009, 20:14
Terrible from Kyle Sandilands to persist with questioning despite such a terrible mishap. I guess this was the straw that broke the camels back, about time this terrible excuse for a human being was dropped from the media spotlight.
What would you do in this situation mate?

fV_bs6nt4qA&feature=related

Its clearly entirely the bogan mothers fault. Absolute disgrace doing that to her daughter. If it was anyone else besides Kyle Sanderlands then this would be about the mother. I don't like Sanderlands, I think hes a douche but in this case hes done absolutely nothing wrong imo.

Bombers_Forever
3 Aug 2009, 20:22
Sandilands is an idiot and 10 probably will enjoy not paying him a decent salary. Still, the way the media are carrying on about this is laughable. Yes, he was an idiot and the segment should not have happened and yet the mother is the one who asked the question and is escaping criticism.

I still can't believe this story led the news again today - there are plenty of other more important things going on right now.

Xtreme
3 Aug 2009, 20:23
Good and don't come back!!! Should never have been given a chance with a tv career in the first place, absolute flog of a human. He is a skidmark on society.

Now to axe Rove and 10 will slowly start to rock.

Zarrix
3 Aug 2009, 20:31

Its clearly entirely the bogan mothers fault. Absolute disgrace doing that to her daughter. If it was anyone else besides Kyle Sanderlands then this would be about the mother. I don't like Sanderlands, I think hes a douche but in this case hes done absolutely nothing wrong imo.

Yes, it is more the mothers fault than Kyles in this case, but the fact that he continued to ask her about the subject matter after everything went so long says a lot about the man. :thumbsd:

He only has himself to blame for his predicament. But I do agree that the media should be criticizing the mother more than Sandilands. Typical media wolves.

John Bonney
3 Aug 2009, 20:46
He is a talentless fool who sits in judgement of all and sundry withoiut having even one redeeming feature in his own self.
Good riddance you weak pissant.

Underdog
3 Aug 2009, 21:28

I wouldn't have put myself in that situation to begin with. If asked to interrogate an underage girl about her sex life on live, nationwide radio, I would have declined.

It at the very least should have been pre-recorded.

Macca19
3 Aug 2009, 21:31

No its not entirely the mothers fault. They knew that she was going to ask her daughter about sex. The question shouldnt have even been allowed to be asked. What good would have ever come from asking that question?

The Old Dark Navy's
3 Aug 2009, 21:38
I have read many threads on this but never bothered to listen to it. Yes Kyle asked a dumb question right afterwards but you can tell he was dumbfounded and just stuffed up trying to fill the silence. Jackie was fantastic right away.

The only criticism of them can be in choosing low brow content in the first place.

Let me remind people that the Maury Povich show in the US does things like this regularly. Sure most is for ratings and is cheap but they also do a lot of work trying to help wayward teens. They too do a lie detector test to find out exactly what the kids are up to so they know which ones need help. They have counsellors at the ready to help these kids.

I dislike Kyle immensely, on pretty much everything he does, but fair is fair, they were hung out to dry on this one by the mother.

Richo83
3 Aug 2009, 21:50
About f***ing time. The guy is a disgrace.

ODNB, Kyle's show does nothing to help teens, if anything, it exploits teen issues to get ratings. I mean honestly, asking a 14 yo about sex, what good could come of that? Why does Kyle think this is good watching? Utter. Douchebag.

BobbyMorri
3 Aug 2009, 21:53
they been exploitative people for ratings and they finally have been caught out. Dont listen to the show, but just watched media watch, and they should take aim at the whole lot of them on that show, not just the lead two. just junk radio, totally junk. throw the mother in that as well.

they deserve everything which gets thrown at them.

The Old Dark Navy's
3 Aug 2009, 21:55
About f***ing time. The guy is a disgrace.

ODNB, Kyle's show does nothing to help teens, if anything, it exploits teen issues to get ratings. I mean honestly, asking a 14 yo about sex, what good could come of that? Why does Kyle think this is good watching? Utter. Douchebag.

Of course it is about ratings, but seriously, you have a mother there who wants to find out just how much her daughter has gone off the rails. Lie detectors cost a fortune. Kyle and Jackie would have to expected the mother to be aware and appropriate in regards to her own daughter.

Call the segment cheap and tacky, but you can't for one minute think they would have encouraged anything like what eventually happened.

As I said, I don't like Kyle, never have. He's a complete wanker as far as I am concerned. BUT I do like to look at the circumstances and while I would be happy never to hear of him again, it's a typical bleeding heart, drama queen media driven beat up in this particular case.

IanG
3 Aug 2009, 23:10
Of course it is about ratings, but seriously, you have a mother there who wants to find out just how much her daughter has gone off the rails. Lie detectors cost a fortune. Kyle and Jackie would have to expected the mother to be aware and appropriate in regards to her own daughter.

They put a 14 year old on a lie detector so her mother could ask her about her sex life (yes of course they knew she was going to), what part of that even comes within a remote distance of appropriate?

The Old Dark Navy's
3 Aug 2009, 23:28
They put a 14 year old on a lie detector so her mother could ask her about her sex life (yes of course they knew she was going to), what part of that even comes within a remote distance of appropriate?

Well, a 14 year olds sex life shouldn't be entertainment I agree, but I am not entirely sure that it is her own private business. She is underage, possibly placing herself at risk of who knows what and her parents are responsible for her actions. The parents certainly have a right to know. I don't think anybody was going to discuss explicit sexual acts with the girl. For all the hosts knew, she could say 'no, I haven't had sex', passed the test and would have been vindicated. If that had have happened, would there be an outcry or calls for their jobs? I doubt it. People would have shook their heads and said 'tacky' at worst.

I am absolutely flabbergasted by this mother. She had to know this would come out. I am almost sure she disbelieved her daughter about the allegation and was using this lie detector test to prove she was lying. She was apparently smiling when she asked the question. She knew exactly where it was going.

Zarrix
3 Aug 2009, 23:44
Anyone watch Media Watch tonight? Just made me hate the guy even more...

SunKing
4 Aug 2009, 00:13
What's most shocking is that these two nongs get 2m + a year for the crap they dish up.

The Old Dark Navy's
4 Aug 2009, 00:17
What's most shocking is that these two nongs get 2m + a year for the crap they dish up.Let's face it, there is no Australian 'personality' worthy of the money they get paid. Meanwhile our decent actors have to go overseas to earn a living.

red+black
4 Aug 2009, 01:11
Anyone watch Media Watch tonight? Just made me hate the guy even more...

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/video/

Bombers_Forever
4 Aug 2009, 07:46
The Media watch coverage last night was pretty good. I still think this whole incident just shows how bad FM breakfast radio is and how the standards are slipping. Even on the "family" radio stations, they do have smutty jokes and sexual inneudo, that is not exclusive to this show.

In saying that, the stunt with the cousin/aunt just shows how bad Kyle is. It is clear he has a lot of control over the show. But then again, they are the highest rating show in Sydney so people still listen.

CF
4 Aug 2009, 07:57
have never liked him, never will, good riddance to bad rubbish. Could never understand why they sacked Mark Holden. He was a bit of a nutbag but he was entertaining.

tonk
4 Aug 2009, 08:23
This **** should be flushed immediately.

damochandler
4 Aug 2009, 10:38
good. he should never have been named a judge in the first place. i wouldnt have called a major influence in the music industry to judge on potential music talent

Caj
4 Aug 2009, 11:31

Um Hello - even if the girl wasn't raped it is an absolute disgrace that they woulld hook a 14 year old girl up to a lie detector and ask her about her sex

THRILLHO
4 Aug 2009, 12:47
It's pretty weird that Sandilands refuses to broadcast with the industry standard seven second delay button. It's even weirder that he wouldnt want this on such a program. And, it's even weirder still that he wouldnt want this when he's broadcasting from New Zealand.

Live by the sword. Die by the sword.

Roachy8
4 Aug 2009, 13:51
^^^^^^^^^^^^

What is wierdest of all is:
a) What Sandilands actually thinks is entertainement
b) What a large percentage of commercial radio listeners consider entertaining... The show leads the ratings FFS!!!!

bigburger
4 Aug 2009, 14:00
Um Hello - even if the girl wasn't raped it is an absolute disgrace that they woulld hook a 14 year old girl up to a lie detector and ask her about her sex
But he didn't ask the question. The mother did. Yes it wasn't smart putting it on live radio and whatnot but who honestly thinks about this kind of thing happening? I reckon even though hes a douche, hes being hard done by and the mother is escaping a lot of criticism.

Exhale You
4 Aug 2009, 14:30
^^^^^^^^^^^^

What is wierdest of all is:
a) What Sandilands actually thinks is entertainement
b) What a large percentage of commercial radio listeners consider entertaining... The show leads the ratings FFS!!!!

Sorry dude, but that's a myth, one that the media has gone to town on in the last week.

They don't lead the ratings, they're third, a long way behind the leading two breakfast programs.

They're not even the highest rating commercial breakfast show in Sydney.

Granted, they are the highest rating FM breakfast show, but that's entirely different from the myth that the media have been pedaling this week.

Roachy8
4 Aug 2009, 14:48
Sorry dude, but that's a myth, one that the media has gone to town on in the last week.

They don't lead the ratings, they're third, a long way behind the leading two breakfast programs.

They're not even the highest rating commercial breakfast show in Sydney.

Granted, they are the highest rating FM breakfast show, but that's entirely different from the myth that the media have been pedaling this week.

Correct sir & I should have been more accurate...

But leading the FM breakfast market inexplicably still puts them ahead in the race for listeners from the most sought after contemporary demographic.

Plugger35
4 Aug 2009, 17:37
Not sure whether sacking Sandilands from Idol is really a punishment, I'd be glad to get out of there if I was him.

Normally I'd have some sympathy for someone in his situation but the guy is an A-grade douche, who makes his living out of being a nasty, rude prick to other people. It was only a matter of time before it all came back to bite him on the arse.

Embers
4 Aug 2009, 19:55
good. he should never have been born in the first place. i wouldnt have called a major influence in the music industry to judge on potential music talent

Edited for accuracy. Personally I found the stunt they showed on Media Watch much more revolting than the current scandal. Playing with human emotions that strong is inhumane and sick

BomberGal
4 Aug 2009, 20:06
Yes Kyle asked a dumb question right afterwards but you can tell he was dumbfounded and just stuffed up trying to fill the silence.

Because he's unprofessional and has no idea how to deal with people.

I don't like Jackie but she handled it well. All Kyle did afterwards was copy what she said. He even sounded like he was faking sympathy.

I don't think he deserves to be sacked from Idol for this but I don't give a toss, I can't stand the guy.

bigburger
5 Aug 2009, 00:20
This can all be easily fixed. Everyone, start listening to the best radio station in Australia by the length of flemington straight...Triple J :thumbsu:

mr_cellotape
5 Aug 2009, 03:51
...the mother is escaping a lot of criticism.

Absolutely. The main culprit in this whole thing apparently has nothing to answer for. Sandilands is a total oxygen thief, but this whole event doesn't occur without the mother's involvement.

Roachy8
5 Aug 2009, 07:59
Absolutely. The main culprit in this whole thing apparently has nothing to answer for. Sandilands is a total oxygen thief, but this whole event doesn't occur without the mother's involvement.

Nor does the whole event occur without 2Day & Sandilands setting it up with the 'hope' that something sensational and controversial might come out and therefore generate publicity.

You provide an open mike to just anybody and your bound to get all sorts of nut jobs doing and saying 'the wrong' thing.

It's no good for them to claim "we had no idea she was going to ask that"... especially when you refuse to use the 7 second dump button.

Nup... 2Day, Sandilands, Jackie O & the mother are all to blame.

IanG
5 Aug 2009, 09:10
Nor does the whole event occur without 2Day & Sandilands setting it up with the 'hope' that something sensational and controversial might come out and therefore generate publicity.

Not to mention Jackie O, to all those saying how well she behaved she is intimately involved in setting these segments up and doing everything she can to make them as controversial as possible, she's just as much involved as Kyle. They want to walk such a fine line they'll almost certainly fall over it, they have to deal with the consequences when this happens.

Karl Pilkington
5 Aug 2009, 09:30
Don't forget, this is the same woman who was reduced to tears when Frenzal Rhomb said "who the f*** is Jackie O?" at a concert in Darwin, and crapped on about how offensive and intimidating it was (only for Kyle to threaten violence against Frenzal). How she can be THAT offended at something so basic, yet not see the potential offense at discussing child rape on air has me absolutely staggered (and I don't buy it for a second).

They're both psychopathic imo.

The Old Dark Navy's
5 Aug 2009, 10:32
How she can be THAT offended at something so basic, yet not see the potential offense at discussing child rape on air has me absolutely staggered (and I don't buy it for a second).

Hang on, I seriously doubt that she knew they were going to be discussing child rape on air. They were caught unaware about the rape, that much is clear. They may have thought they were going to discuss underage sex on air however, which while distasteful is not in the same stratosphere as rape.

Military_man
5 Aug 2009, 10:35
good riddance to garbage like sanderlands.

Karl Pilkington
5 Aug 2009, 10:48
Hang on, I seriously doubt that she knew they were going to be discussing child rape on air. They were caught unaware about the rape, that much is clear. They may have thought they were going to discuss underage sex on air however, which while distasteful is not in the same stratosphere as rape.

But she didn't use the 7 second delay edit that ALL radio stations use regularly and are more than capable of using. Like I said, she is full of shit.

likka
5 Aug 2009, 10:57
News Ltd reporting this morning that Kyle is up to his ears in debt ($2.2m, plus a large undisclosed loan taken out by his company)... hopefully it all falls down around his ears and he doesn't have a pot to piss in soon.

BomberGal
5 Aug 2009, 11:31
News Ltd reporting this morning that Kyle is up to his ears in debt ($2.2m, plus a large undisclosed loan taken out by his company)... hopefully it all falls down around his ears and he doesn't have a pot to piss in soon.

Probably spent it all on that joke of a wedding.

apollo_creed
5 Aug 2009, 12:31
Wonder why she married him?...

Karl Pilkington
5 Aug 2009, 12:40
Wonder why she married him?...

Because she's a whore, obviously.

likka
5 Aug 2009, 13:29
Probably spent it all on that joke of a wedding.

He is driving a Rolls Royce Phantom, of which the article claims he has borrows over $500k on, plus he has more than $1.5m of debt on his Sydney property.

The article also suggests he mortgaged everything he had to borrow heavily through his company... has this anything to do with the so called music career of his gold digging wife?

Nothing would make me happier than for a scumbag of a human like him to lose everything.

XFactor1979
5 Aug 2009, 13:36
good riddance

Cattery
5 Aug 2009, 13:37

They'd expect a mother who drags her own underage daughter into a public forum to discuss her sex life with the nation for a couple of concert tickets to be "aware and appropriate"?

Call the segment cheap and tacky, but you can't for one minute think they would have encouraged anything like what eventually happened.

"Cheap and tacky" doesn't begin to describe it, and yes, I believe that if they thought it would help boost their ratings and there would be no backlash they'd encourage it

Well, a 14 year olds sex life shouldn't be entertainment I agree, but I am not entirely sure that it is her own private business. She is underage, possibly placing herself at risk of who knows what and her parents are responsible for her actions. The parents certainly have a right to know.

Of course parents have a right to know, difference is that 99.99% of them don't try finding out on a public forum.
Agree that the Mother is every bit as much at fault as the hosts of this "show" but the bottom line is she couldn't have done it if the producers [ who are also at fault ] Sanderlands and his sidekick hadn't provided her with the vehicle to do so.

Were they "shocked" at the way things went, possibly, should they have known that it could get out of control, absolutely, their program, their responsibility, therefore it's not the Mother who "hung them out to dry", or a "typical bleeding heart, drama queen media driven beat up" that deserve censure but the ones directly responsible for allowing the whole nauseating debacle to happen in the first place.

Admiral Afterworld
5 Aug 2009, 13:58
That's good to here!
Now, if they can only sack Australian Idol!

I agree with this.

Hawthorn United
6 Aug 2009, 14:02
I have more of an issue with how the 3 of them were laughing and enjoying how scared and nervous she was before the questioning had started.

Even if she wasn't raped, it's horrible to force a person, yet underage, to discuss personal details on air.

She has even told the cops to stop their investigations and they have dropped it.

Disappointed the mother and Jackie O has been somewhat let off.

JimDocker
6 Aug 2009, 15:00
Don't forget, this is the same woman who was reduced to tears when Frenzal Rhomb said "who the f*** is Jackie O?" at a concert in Darwin, and crapped on about how offensive and intimidating it was (only for Kyle to threaten violence against Frenzal). How she can be THAT offended at something so basic, yet not see the potential offense at discussing child rape on air has me absolutely staggered (and I don't buy it for a second).

They're both psychopathic imo.

You just reminded me of the only valid thing Sandilands has ever done. The Doctor is only just less irritating than Kyle, although Kyle has zero standards and deserves evrything that he gets.

The stunt they showed on Media Watch was also apalling.

Karl Pilkington
6 Aug 2009, 15:16
You just reminded me of the only valid thing Sandilands has ever done. The Doctor is only just less irritating than Kyle, although Kyle has zero standards and deserves evrything that he gets.

The stunt they showed on Media Watch was also apalling.

I used to love going to Frenzal concerts just to spiit at the Doctor! But threatening violence the way Sandilands did was still pretty pissweak imo. Jay from Frenzal is a dude.

Shaucob_Burjan
6 Aug 2009, 17:17
Any word on his replacement?

CF
6 Aug 2009, 17:28
James Mathieson the former co-host was being touted a few days ago. Plus he is already working for 10 so it is an easy slot in.

Other names mentioned were Tina Arena, Molly Meldrum, Mark Holden

JimDocker
7 Aug 2009, 14:11
I used to love going to Frenzal concerts just to spiit at the Doctor! But threatening violence the way Sandilands did was still pretty pissweak imo. Jay from Frenzal is a dude.

Yeah violence is wrong, but The Doctor acting all mr rock and roll when he is a little dweeb that makes listening to JJJ and watching J TV a chore should have either backed himself or shut up.

But yeah violence is wrong and Sandilands is a dickhed.

CF
7 Aug 2009, 14:55
this mornings press is saying Brian McFadden may be the replacement judge on idol

Omar Jones
7 Aug 2009, 16:25
this mornings press is saying Brian McFadden may be the replacement judge on idol

I don't watch Idol anymore but McFadden seems like a nice fellow & would be a great move by 10. They already have Dicko to make the harsh comments when they need to be made ... The difference between Dicko & Sandilands was that Dicko was always likeable whereas Sandilands come across a a prize **********.

The worst case scenario is if Ruby Rose gets the gig.

CF
17 Aug 2009, 10:28
looks like Kyle has been sprung in another radio scam

http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/story/0,28383,25939890-5013560,00.html

Chief
17 Aug 2009, 10:36
How low! Leaving the family to collect pledged donations, and Kyle stiffing them over his on-air promise!

JUBJUB
17 Aug 2009, 11:41
The explicit interview also contained references to having a threesome with his wife and being caught masturbating in the shower.
sandilands shocks in vulgar interview (http://news.ninemsn.com.au/entertainment/850477/kyle-sandilands-unrepentant-in-vulgar-interview)

No mention if it was a good kind of threesome or the icky kind of threesome.With Kyle I'm guessing the icky kind ;)

CF
17 Aug 2009, 12:08
Is trying to be Australias answer to Howard Stern? The only problem is Stern has talent, kyle has none.

johnnyhoward
17 Aug 2009, 20:55
Haha this saga gets funnier by the day. Though that "interview" with Kyle is obviously a deliberate attempt to pull in more ratings via controversy.

tandino
17 Aug 2009, 23:32
Does anybody think that Kyle would have it in him to short-change a disabled kid?

...Actually, yeah, that seems pretty accurate.

Selective Retention
17 Aug 2009, 23:39
Making the family chase up pledged donations, wow. The radio station carries more responsiblity on following that up off air than the hosts themselves really. Surely it wouldn't take that much effort for some admin lackey to chase it up.

Shaucob_Burjan
23 Aug 2009, 21:32
Don't want to start an Idol thread so i'll just bump this one.

Who is the new judge?

The Old Dark Navy's
23 Aug 2009, 22:59
The new judge is Jay Dee Springbett, a Sony talent scout.

How the hell can they build up someone most of us would never have heard of in their advertising?

Nobody had heard of Dicko before he did Idol either, just an industry person. Now we have another.

Further proof of the lack of marketability of the show and their inability to attract anybody serious.

CF
24 Aug 2009, 19:15
The new judge is Jay Dee Springbett, a Sony talent scout.

How the hell can they build up someone most of us would never have heard of in their advertising?

Nobody had heard of Dicko before he did Idol either, just an industry person. Now we have another.

Further proof of the lack of marketability of the show and their inability to attract anybody serious.

Have to agree. They had a chance to get an Aussie icon performer & songwriter for a judge but they went for an unknown. Shows no one is desperate enough in their career to consider it an option and those that are probably have other gigs on TV.

CF
9 Sep 2009, 11:47
kyle at it again saying Magda should lose weight in a Concentration Camp

http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/story/0,28383,26045029-5013560,00.html

Exhale You
9 Sep 2009, 11:59
Rather interesting coincidence given Magda had a new show starting last night.

Andre
9 Sep 2009, 12:03
kyle at it again saying Magda should lose weight in a Concentration Camp

http://www.news.com.au/entertainment/story/0,28383,26045029-5013560,00.html
Sandilands is a talentless slob, but geez people are precious.

THRILLHO
9 Sep 2009, 12:59
He's been suspended for it. That's lame. How precious can people get?

HarryTiger
9 Sep 2009, 14:04
Herald Sun front page today starts...

SHOCK jock Kyle Sandilands has insulted Holocaust survivors by saying comedian Magda Szubanski should be put into a concentration camp to lose weight.

Later turning the page and into the body we get....

Sandilands joked that her work (Magda's weightloss with Jenny Craig) wasn't finished.
"She could get another season out of them, easy ... she's not skinny," he said on 2Day FM.
Co-host Jackie O suggested Szubanski might not be able to lose any more weight due to her build.
"That's what all fat people say," Sandilands replied.
"You put her in a concentration camp and you watch the weight fall, like, she could be skinny."

I have and heard other people make this same statement previously. It's very relevant when you get fat people saying they can't lose weight, it's BS and is exemplified by the fact that no one in a concentration camp (apart from the guards) are fat.

Also Kyle is not saying she should be in a camp, that's an exaggerated misquote by the Herald Sun. I hope Kyle's lawyers are busy preparing letters for these media outlets that have attacked him dishonestly like this.

The more of this BS that comes out the more I'm becoming a fan of Kyle, and I never was previously.

Selective Retention
9 Sep 2009, 14:06
Sandilands being a ****wit has jumped the shark.

It's like the Sam Newman situation now, anything even slightly controversial is going to be highlighted and blown out of proportion. Newman had enough friends behind the scenes to weather the storm - which is good as he is the only redeeming feature of TFS - hopefully Sandilands is pissed off for good and everyone can forget about him.

Toshowyouwhy
9 Sep 2009, 14:24
I read that the offense was caused because she has Polish descent and the Polish people were amongst the worst in regards to nazi concentration camps. If that is what it is than our society is feked.

If a guy has to think about every aspect of human history, each individuals family background, before making a joke (one that ive heard before, not something new) then someting is seriously wrong. Just like on nova this morning people were going bezerk because one of the blokes used the word 'gay' to describe something. For gods sake HTFU people!!!!

CF
9 Sep 2009, 15:06
Maybe Kyle should be sent to tolerance camp ala Southpark style...or is that Magda should be sent to Fat camp?

I was with him for the first part but to go on and say she should be sent to a concentration camp was just Kyle doing his shock jock shlock. The thing is he isn't even funny, he just sounds like a nasty jerk. The only entertainment value in listening to him would be witnessing him destroy his own career in Australia.

Suspense
9 Sep 2009, 15:15
**** 'em if they can't take a joke. :thumbsu:

Bosun
9 Sep 2009, 15:39
As much as I think Kyle is a dick, the commotion over this is just ridiculous. Listen to Renee Geyer's whinge over it.

http://www.3aw.com.au/displayPopUpPlayerAction.action?&url=http://media.mytalk.com.au/3AW/AUDIO/090909_Geyer.wma

Yes the holocaust was awful, concentration camps are not the best material to be used in jokes, but the way she goes on you would think Kyle was in the SS supervising all the atrocities.

It wasnt the smartest thing to say but honestly the amount of people that are just hanging to be deeply offended is downright disturbing.

Reminds me of The Simpsons when Homer is accused of molesting the baby sitter. On the Sally Jesse show:

Random girl: I don't know Homer Simpson, I -- I never met Homer Simpson (cries at length) Im sorry I cant go on.

THRILLHO
9 Sep 2009, 15:57
That's okay. Your tears say more than words ever could.

Xtreme
9 Sep 2009, 17:09
A tool that thrives on publicity, i'd like to see his main avenue be pulled from under him. When he is at his lowest ebb, i hope he regrets the crap he has caused before he pulls the trigger on himself.

Really doesn't deserve the attention, thankfully i don't live in Sydney so i don't have to deal with this tripe on a daily basis.

patsmith
9 Sep 2009, 18:08
While I don't really care about the comment, I am really enjoying watching him destroy his own career.

Does this make me as bad as the people who listen to his show?

Crosby87
9 Sep 2009, 18:17
The sad thing is while he's newsworthy, he's still relevant.

I wish people would just stop listening, so he could fade into obscurity. Then, when he has no job, we'll see how much he puts on. He's hardly a rake himself.

The Old Dark Navy's
9 Sep 2009, 18:39
He's a ******** pure and simple, but it could be a decent personality put in this position because people look for reasons to be offended. For the most part, they aren't even offended but just like to be heard.

Is Magda actually offended by this? She of all people would know what satire is about. I am sure she has done plenty of skits that could have offended the more sensitive in society.

sherb
9 Sep 2009, 19:04
He's a ******** pure and simple, but it could be a decent personality put in this position because people look for reasons to be offended. For the most part, they aren't even offended but just like to be heard.

But would a decent personality allow him/herself to be put in this position? A first time maybe would be understandable, but not a second time like this.

This just goes to show what a clown Sandilands is. After all the hoo-haa caused by the last episode, anyone with half a brain would have been a bit careful and discreet about what came out of his mouth for a while. But not Kyle.

Even if he had to make fun of Magda, surely he could have found ways to do it without including a reference to concentration camps?

Whether his comments this time around are considered offensive or not, he has only himself to blame for the current situation. Had he been a bit more circumspect he would still be on the air tomorrow.

The Old Dark Navy's
9 Sep 2009, 19:29
But would a decent personality allow him/herself to be put in this position? A first time maybe would be understandable, but not a second time like this.

This just goes to show what a clown Sandilands is. After all the hoo-haa caused by the last episode, anyone with half a brain would have been a bit careful and discreet about what came out of his mouth for a while. But not Kyle.

Even if he had to make fun of Magda, surely he could have found ways to do it without including a reference to concentration camps?

Whether his comments this time around are considered offensive or not, he has only himself to blame for the current situation. Had he been a bit more circumspect he would still be on the air tomorrow.Comedy is always on the edge. It gets by because it is deliberately supposed to be humorous. Every time someone dies, there are jokes about them. There have been comedians imitating Nazis for years.

Nobody listens to Howard Stern expecting anything other than shock humour. They have the stomach for it but don't necessarily believe what he is saying or support what he is saying.

I can't believe that people listen to Kyle Sandilands hoping for a nice family values, politicially correct radio show.

You look is certain magazines and there are columnists there who are deliberately supposed to be nasty towards celebrities. You know what you are going to get.

I don't like radical clerics or people preaching hate so I don't believe in freedom of speech in that regard, but when something is clearly satirical, whether I like it or not, I would rather it be left alone than risk comedy dying altogether because people have to chose their words very carefully and off the cuff stuff is non-existent.

sherb
9 Sep 2009, 20:25
Comedy is always on the edge. It gets by because it is deliberately supposed to be humorous. Every time someone dies, there are jokes about them. There have been comedians imitating Nazis for years.

Nobody listens to Howard Stern expecting anything other than shock humour. They have the stomach for it but don't necessarily believe what he is saying or support what he is saying.

I can't believe that people listen to Kyle Sandilands hoping for a nice family values, politicially correct radio show.

You look is certain magazines and there are columnists there who are deliberately supposed to be nasty towards celebrities. You know what you are going to get.

I don't like radical clerics or people preaching hate so I don't believe in freedom of speech in that regard, but when something is clearly satirical, whether I like it or not, I would rather it be left alone than risk comedy dying altogether because people have to chose their words very carefully and off the cuff stuff is non-existent.
The point I was making was the he should have trod a bit more carefully for a while upon his return.

Once he had settled back in maybe then he could have started pushing the envelope a bit.

He must be completely stupid to think comments like this so soon after his return wouldn't have the potential for drawing an adverse reaction.

Armchair Coach
9 Sep 2009, 22:42
Basically, for a bloke who should be media-savvy by now, he's an idiot. I'm guessing his concentration camp comment was supposed to be off the cuff, with no offense to survivors intended, but he really should know how to check himself by this stage in his career.

Sadly though, people insist on listening to him.:o

hirdy_is_champ
9 Sep 2009, 23:17
Whilst the comment was out of order, its far from the worst stunt these two arsewipes have conducted. I think Magda's handled it well though, she could've done a scott mclaren and had a big sook.

Bomber32
9 Sep 2009, 23:28
Sandilands is an idiot of the highest order.

He deserves to get the sack over this.

The Old Dark Navy's
10 Sep 2009, 10:45
Sandilands is an idiot of the highest order.

He deserves to get the sack over this.No, he deserves to get the sack because he is an arrogant, rude, unfunny tool. He does not deserve to get the sack over this.

Toshowyouwhy
10 Sep 2009, 12:53
That's okay. Your tears say more than words ever could.

Hate to be a knob, but the line is "... your tears say more than real evidence ever could."

Im sorry, but it is funnier.