4 Aug 2009, 12:06
VFL Round 17
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/frankston-vs-bhh.gif
Frankston Dolphins
v
Box Hill Hawks
Sunday 9th August
@ Frankston Park
Seniors start 2:00pm (VFL Reserves 11:10am)
TEAMS TBC
A great last gasp win on the road last week against Coburg left all of us present with out hearts in our mouths. Box Hill sitting in 6th are on the road again down the Nepean Hwy to take on Frankston who sit 2nd bottom of the VFL ladder but cannot be taken lightly.
Frankston Park is only about 300m from Frankston Station for those who will be taking public transport.
The nightlife down Frankston way is always spectacular, as are the parochial locals who cheer on their team at their bay view oval.
BYO mullet wig, beanie, moccies, tracky dacks and flanny or you may stand out (here cometh the banter :P ) Stubbies in the outer are also compulsory.
We also look forward to the broadcast by 3WBC 94.1FM!
halfback dasher
4 Aug 2009, 12:23
will be there...:p:thumbsu:
carntheroos4eva
4 Aug 2009, 13:22
Box Hill will probably thrash the pants off Frankston. I remember the corresponding game earlier in the year.
rdhopkins2
4 Aug 2009, 14:20
Box Hill will probably thrash the pants off Frankston. I remember the corresponding game earlier in the year.
Let's not take them lightly. Complacency is never a good attribute to possess.
Bet the umps will give the game to Franga on a plate :D
Mitchell Madness
4 Aug 2009, 19:02
might head down, a short train ride for me to frankston station, and if its only a short walk....
does anyone have an exact address though? street names?
Jane Doe
5 Aug 2009, 10:16
might head down, a short train ride for me to frankston station, and if its only a short walk....
The ground is located at Kars Street Frankston.
ordivician
6 Aug 2009, 14:53
Walk off the train platform and turn right from the platform walkway onto Station street. Turn left onto Station St and keep walking south past Wells St and past the roundabout where the road dog legs to your right.
Walk up to the next roundabout at the bottom of a low hill, which is Payne St. Keep heading south up the low hill to the Traffic lights on Davey St. Keep going up Young St past the Council Offices on your left and past the Primary school on your right. Go over the hill crest and you'll see a park on your left and another roundabout ahead. As you walk down the hill slope into the little valley in front of you, you will see the footy ground on your right.
NB Don't cross over the road at the station under any circumstances. Do not turn right and approach the drug dealers outside the take away food shops. Do not not buy a hit. Don't take the drugs and pass out in the street. Do not fall asleep and miss the game.
The ground is bounded by Young St (not Kars St !!!) to the east, High St to the south, Plowman Place to the north (easy to miss this street) and Bay St South (Bay St is the former name of the Nepean Hwy) to the west. The old Grandstand on the south side of the ground used to have excellent views over the bay.
hawks4life
6 Aug 2009, 15:23
hopefully be there
go hawks!!!
6 Aug 2009, 21:05
Box Hill Hawks
B
Stokes
Savage
Sierakowski
HB
Morton
Suckling
Kiel
C
Lisle
Yze
Breust
HF
Iles
Muston
Markovic
F
Milne
Bailey
Dowler
R
Pedersen
Gibson
Walsh
Int
Cross
Wallace*
Fagan
Neil
Bello
Kenna
Smithwick
Curnow
McQueen-Miscamble
Rudi Gilham
6 Aug 2009, 21:54
I wonder if that's Brent Wallace, son of Terry, named for us?
Dermie The Kid
6 Aug 2009, 22:18
Was thinking exactly the same thing.
Mitchell Madness
6 Aug 2009, 22:27
does he play for eastern rangers? if he does, its possible
The Messenger
7 Aug 2009, 07:16
Did Lachie George kick Brendan Bolton in the pills at training one night, is best in the 2's every week and can not crack a go in the 1's. I have kept a close eye on George right through from his junior days at Ballarat and I reckon he is a really solid footballer. His disposal is a little off at times but he is a ball magnet and as tough as nails. Played a lot of senior VFL footy with Nth Ballarat and Tassie so he has the experience.
Does anybody know if there is a reason he has not cracked a game in the senior 21 this year? Joel Cross is the other one I can't beleive has not got a run.
Did Lachie George kick Brendan Bolton in the pills at training one night, is best in the 2's every week and can not crack a go in the 1's. I have kept a close eye on George right through from his junior days at Ballarat and I reckon he is a really solid footballer. His disposal is a little off at times but he is a ball magnet and as tough as nails. Played a lot of senior VFL footy with Nth Ballarat and Tassie so he has the experience.
Does anybody know if there is a reason he has not cracked a game in the senior 21 this year? Joel Cross is the other one I can't beleive has not got a run.
I was thinking the same thing. I went to school with Lach and was excited to see him to come box hill but can't believe he can't get out of the ressies... Hopefully someone can give us an update on him? Cheers
Muston at CHF????????????
That is a terrible move, he clearly isnt going to play there in the Hawks side so why would you put him there in Boxhills side?
He is a running kick over the lines type player and thats where he should be playing.
Muston at CHF????????????I wouldn't read too much into where they get named.
TheWrench
7 Aug 2009, 16:33
Definitely is Brent Wallace, son of Terry. Plays for Northern Knights, but apparently the rule allows anyone who plays TAC Cup play as the 23rd player.
Surely that means he is being strongly considered as a father son selection.
rdhopkins2
7 Aug 2009, 21:42
Please be aware of delays on the Frankston line this week. See Connex website for details and allow extra time in both directions.
Mitchell Madness
8 Aug 2009, 13:18
Definitely is Brent Wallace, son of Terry. Plays for Northern Knights, but apparently the rule allows anyone who plays TAC Cup play as the 23rd player.
Surely that means he is being strongly considered as a father son selection.
sure he plays for northern? if he played for the knights, im sure he would be playing for the Bullants. diesnt the rule say you teams can only select player sin their "region" Box Hill's being East (Eastern Rangers and Oakleigh)
"Brent WALLACE 16-08-1991 178cm 70kg Carey Grammar"
These details were on the northern knights playing list. But can't help you with the rules about where he is allowed to play.
TheWrench
8 Aug 2009, 14:37
Yeah not sure about that rule. Maybe they can just play anyone in the TAC Cup system
CrowdedHouse
8 Aug 2009, 17:29
Just confirming the game will be covered on 94.1 FM 3WBC Sunday Arvo from 1pm.
For online listeners - the stream as always at http://www.3wbc.org.au
We'll be live in the trenches at Frankgahnisthan!
Also, due to Public Demand, Kellie Underwood will NOT be part of the day's calling team! ;)
Pete @ 3WBC (and who should I give a shout-out to this week?)
Quarter Time
Box Hill - 2.2.14
Frankston - 3.3.21
Goals to Savage and Lisle.
Dermie The Kid
9 Aug 2009, 15:25
Half Time
Box Hill - 6.5
Frankston - 5.3
Goals: Lisle 2 , Savage 1 , Muston 1 , Pederson 1 , Smithwick 1 ,
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:04
Can anyone get the radio link working?
My link is working...if you are still having problems try clicking the bit that says "alternate windows media stream"
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:24
both go to a 'webpage undefined' link.
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:26
ah got it. something to do with WMP.
opened the link directly and it worked straight away.
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:27
11min final term - Frankston by 3.
madhawkboy
9 Aug 2009, 16:30
Very good game
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:31
Stokes from 48, directly in front....(umpire assisted maybe)....1 point.
BHH 10.7.67
FRA 10.9.69
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:32
Keil -> Savage -> Muston leads from CHF - MARK!
55 out, high, long, top of square....it's THERE!!!!
madhawkboy
9 Aug 2009, 16:32
MORTON!!! Puts box hill in front by 4 points!!
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:36
Morton? Radio call was Muston...(then phone rang they might have it wrong).
Kenna puts another in anyway. 11 points now. Sounds like a poor turnover from F.
madhawkboy
9 Aug 2009, 16:37
Morton? Radio call was Muston...(then phone rang they might have it wrong).
Kenna puts another in anyway. 11 points now. Sounds like a poor turnover from F.
Ye, I'm almost sure that it was Morton. They don't even know themselves.
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:39
Max Bailey? Pinned for 50m due to confusion over who the free/mark was for.
Fra point.
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:42
Markovic good contested mark. Musto/Morton call again. (Do they even look remotely alike?)
Frankston kicks a goal - margin back to 4 points. Proctor.
26+ minutes
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:42
Muston TO Morton....overkicked.
OOB 60m out BHH
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:43
Frankston - long kick intercepted by Savage, dangerous kick to Morton - to ? to Muston, sold candy, runs through middle, long kick, wallace good hands, Yze into open goal - RIGHT foot.
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:44
Stokes no in the back. BHH by 10, 28 minutes.
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:45
Proctor takes contested mark - pack crashed, falls to Proctor, snaps at goal, M&M intercept on goal square.
Poor kick, spoiled OOB.
Simon_Nesbit
9 Aug 2009, 16:48
Siren. BHH no emotion at win.
LOL how dikky are BH:thumbsu:
halfback dasher
9 Aug 2009, 17:18
TOP 4 YYEEESSSSS.......:thumbsu::D
goal sneak
9 Aug 2009, 17:48
Bet the umps will give the game to Franga on a plate :D
Box Hill were the ones who had it given to them on a platter today.
TheWrench
9 Aug 2009, 17:55
Frankston 3.3 5.3 10.8 11.11 (77)
Box Hill Hawks 2.2 6.5 9.5 13.8 (86)
GOALS:
Frankston: Berry 3 Davis 2 Burns 2 Proctor 2 Winterton Shinners
Box Hill Hawks: Lisle 3 Muston 2 Pedersen 2 Yze 2 Morton Kenna Smithwick Savage
BEST:
Frankston: Marigliani Davis Baguley Magner Berry Shinners
Box Hill Hawks: Muston Iles Kiel Savage Markovic Bailey
tommyk72
9 Aug 2009, 17:59
Could all of those in the best be on the Hawthorn list next year (as rookie or senior players)! :eek:
Damn we could do with Markovic right now.
Frankston 3.3 5.3 10.8 11.11 (77)
Box Hill Hawks 2.2 6.5 9.5 13.8 (86)
GOALS:
Frankston: Berry 3 Davis 2 Burns 2 Proctor 2 Winterton Shinners
Box Hill Hawks: Lisle 3 Muston 2 Pedersen 2 Yze 2 Morton Kenna Smithwick Savage
BEST:
Frankston: Marigliani Davis Baguley Magner Berry Shinners
Box Hill Hawks: Muston Iles Kiel Savage Markovic Bailey
BuddyHawkers
9 Aug 2009, 18:08
Could all of those in the best be on the Hawthorn list next year (as rookie or senior players)! :eek:
Damn we could do with Markovic right now.
Yes I agree and also George, Cross, Fagan, Pederson and Curnow are very good players.
Mitchell Madness
9 Aug 2009, 19:01
Justice prevailed (thank god).
For the best part of 2 quarters Box Hill couldnt buy a free. No Neck, no back, no legs, no arms.
Frankston got everything from the orange turds, getting them back in the game.
The frankston fans are a ferral bunch, nearly jumping the fence when box hill FINALLY got a free in the last quarter.
As stated in another thread, Max Bailey is a gem.
Yze should be playing AFL. had a quiet one, but was the diffence in the final term.
goal sneak
9 Aug 2009, 20:19
I was standing near the Frankston interchange and there was a real feral bunch of Frankston supporters just behind. Were really getting into Yze and umpire number 10.
Funniest comment was when the umpire escort came up to the fence just before the final siren. One of the blokes was yelling at him telling him it will take more than him for the umpires to get out of there, especially no.10. But on the whole not much funny, just feral.
Anyone able to give an update on young Wallace?
CrowdedHouse
9 Aug 2009, 21:50
Ye, I'm almost sure that it was Morton. They don't even know themselves.
Yeah it was Morton that kicked that goal.
I screwed up the Morton/Muston - got my M's mixed up!
Pete @ 3WBC
The Franga fans were feral. And it was fantastic- let's hope they can remain in the VFL.
And geez we had a great run with the umps in the last.
Mitchell Madness
9 Aug 2009, 22:21
The Franga fans were feral. And it was fantastic- let's hope they can remain in the VFL.
we recieved 3 free kicks, all of which were there. thats hardly a fantastic run. and there was no pushes in the back going unnoticed or anything
1 of two things. you either bought into the ferrals going on about how hard they were done by, or you were still blinded by the atrocious umpiring in the 2nd and 3rd quarters which kept them in the game
CrowdedHouse
9 Aug 2009, 22:21
But you gotta love the Franga Fans with the Bongos and Trumpet - it added some colour.
Forced the Box Hill fans in the last quarter to go "Box Hill (clap clap clap) Box Hill (Clap Clap Clap)"
Hawks Cheer Squad presence is needed in the last round and the finals I say.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
9 Aug 2009, 22:34
^^^Enjoyed the call - complete with tribal feel coming across to the listener and Big Footy reference, well done.:thumbsu:
goal sneak
10 Aug 2009, 07:36
Bongo drummer was smoking spliff. Smell went everywhere.
halfback dasher
10 Aug 2009, 08:25
But you gotta love the Franga Fans with the Bongos and Trumpet - it added some colour.
Forced the Box Hill fans in the last quarter to go "Box Hill (clap clap clap) Box Hill (Clap Clap Clap)"
Hawks Cheer Squad presence is needed in the last round and the finals I say.
Its all cool CDH.......THAY KNOW WHERE CMON....:D
Collins-Langford-Ayres
10 Aug 2009, 09:58
Nice to see Savage and Lisle in the best. Would love to see these two get a run at AFL level in the last few games.
Ventured down to the 'pit hole' they call Frankston, with my boys.
Points of interest :-
Strong wind all day down one end
Umpires kept Frankston in the game
Bailey dominated the ruck & around the ground (massive unit that kid)
Muston had good game on the wing/half back flank. Kicked a ripper goal into the wind after the 3/4 time siren
Muston/Markovic very vocal in the huddle
Really like the look of Savage & he played well
Suckling good in patches
Not sure where to play Lisle, gets lost sometimes
Bruest showed signs he will eventually make it.
Walsh is 1000% better than Taylor will ever be
Brendon Bolton comes across very impressive & the boys seem to play for him.
Stokes played well in the middle, just can't seem to make the next step
Met Carl Peterson & had a chat. Really likeable guy, said he will be back next week.(Looking forward to seeing what he can do)
Had a run in with a local feral at half time
My boys loved the 'kick to kick' & goal kicking during the quarters
Clarko,Rath,Fagan were there (Barker arrived late)
Tuck & Dowler only listed players watching
Terry Wallace was there hiding in the background to watch Brent play
We won
halfback dasher
10 Aug 2009, 12:42
[quote=hfc70;15338320]Ventured down to the 'pit hole' they call Frankston, with my boys.
Points of interest :-
[LIST]
Strong wind all day down one end
Umpires kept Frankston in the game
Bailey dominated the ruck & around the ground (massive unit that kid)
Muston had good game on the wing/half back flank. Kicked a ripper goal into the wind after the 3/4 time siren
Muston/Markovic very vocal in the huddle
Really like the look of Savage & he played well
Suckling good in patches
Not sure where to play Lisle, gets lost sometimes
Bruest showed signs he will eventually make it.
Walsh is 1000% better than Taylor will ever be
Brendon Bolton comes across very impressive & the boys seem to play for him.
Stokes played well in the middle, just can't seem to make the next step
Met Carl Peterson & had a chat. Really likeable guy, said he will be back next week.(Looking forward to seeing what he can do)
Had a run in with a local feral at half time
My boys loved the 'kick to kick' & goal kicking during the quarters
Clarko,Rath,Fagan were there (Barker arrived late)
Tuck & Dowler only listed players watching
Terry Wallace was there hiding in the background to watch Brent play
We won
Good post...
all in all a good day was had by all....:DOn the feral front....i found there bark was alot worse than there bit,trust me..;)
grizzlym
10 Aug 2009, 13:30
Thanks for all the reports guys. I've heard good things about Bolton - a mate says he's a very good communicator and has a really good grasp on the way a game will unfold.
Ahh... the Frankston ferals... I live on the Frankston line, but am fortunate enough to get off the train before it hits Zone 2.
Well, I see a lot of these ferals but my favourite is the following:
Woman with 3 year old kid tagging along behind her. In the pram she's got a slab of Woodstock and Cola bourbon securely strapped in. The kid's name was Taipan.
hawks4life
10 Aug 2009, 13:51
how did brent wallace go? i think shane savage deserves a crack at AFL senior footy in the last 2 rounds and maybe even jordy lisle.
Lord Mud of Glenferrie
10 Aug 2009, 14:07
Thanks for all the reports guys. I've heard good things about Bolton - a mate says he's a very good communicator and has a really good grasp on the way a game will unfold.
Ahh... the Frankston ferals... I live on the Frankston line, but am fortunate enough to get off the train before it hits Zone 2.
Well, I see a lot of these ferals but my favourite is the following:
Woman with 3 year old kid tagging along behind her. In the pram she's got a slab of Woodstock and Cola bourbon securely strapped in. The kid's name was Taipan.
Was the woman's name Ma Barker?
TheWrench
10 Aug 2009, 14:15
Brent Wallace got limited game time, but did alright when he was on. Gave absolute 100% and goes in very hard. Set up Lisle for a goal with a piercing left foot and gave a good handball out to Yze, who kicked the sealer. Not a bad effort, although theres not much of him size wise
The Reserves continue to smash the opposition and are currently outright ladder leaders.
Box Hill Hawks 17.13-115
Frankston 4.9-33
Simon_Nesbit
10 Aug 2009, 22:37
obviously the experience the reserves players had at the start of the year playing seniors has been invaluable to their development.
BuddyHawkers
11 Aug 2009, 18:41
Is there anyway, we can draft George and Cross from the Reserves. I have noticed they have been the best players on field nearly every week.
Mitchell Madness
12 Aug 2009, 13:35
The Brent Wallace situation;
was in the Herald Sun. the VFL gave special permission for him to play for Box Hill due to the Hawthorn connection and possibility of Father Son. normally he would only be allowed to play for the bullants
Simon_Nesbit
12 Aug 2009, 13:38
I thought each VFL side had a 'feeder'....we play a different Eastern u/18 player in the side every week.
Mitchell Madness
12 Aug 2009, 17:27
I thought each VFL side had a 'feeder'....we play a different Eastern u/18 player in the side every week.
yeah, box hill's is the Eastern Rangers, however, Wallace plays for the northern Knights....
Simon_Nesbit
12 Aug 2009, 18:13
hence the special permission from northern knights and Terry.