View Full Version : NL-M on Drug Charges

Grey Smith Bar
4 Aug 2009, 15:22
http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2009/08/04/1249350539394.html

Essendon player Nathan Lovett-Murray has been charged with possession of drugs as a result of a raid on his Essendon home on Monday. Lovett-Murray, who is one of Essendon’s most respected players and a leader among its indigenous contingent, has been charged with possession of a drug of dependency, after a police search yesterday found a single tablet of ecstacy at his home.

http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2009/08/04/1249350539394.html

Spikey
4 Aug 2009, 15:25
laters nathan

Cynic
4 Aug 2009, 15:26
Bit of an uproar over a single tablet that could well not even be his...

Tre Bones
4 Aug 2009, 15:26
Damn

Grey Smith Bar
4 Aug 2009, 15:27
Thanks for fixing Whomb, wasn't aware of the second link requirement.

Spikey
4 Aug 2009, 15:29
Bit of an uproar over a single tablet that could well not even be his...

But just to be safe, we should sack him.

Cynic
4 Aug 2009, 15:30
But just to be safe, we should sack him.

Yeah I agree.

I have the same policy every time Franklin gets caught out after 10 or if Renouf is seen near a motor vehicle.

Kong
4 Aug 2009, 15:30
Bit of an uproar over a single tablet that could well not even be his...Exactly. Innocent until proven guilty.

These boards will have a field day, no doubt.

Kong
4 Aug 2009, 15:31
Thanks for fixing Whomb, wasn't aware of the second link requirement.No worries mate.

Spikey
4 Aug 2009, 15:33
Yeah I agree.

I have the same policy every time Franklin gets caught out after 10 or if Renouf is seen near a motor vehicle.

What do you do when you catch Franklin out late driving with Renouf? :eek:

Cynic
4 Aug 2009, 15:37
What do you do when you catch Franklin out late driving with Renouf? :eek:

Watch intently to make sure they don't throw a plastic bottle out of the car at "something or someone" and disgrace themselves.

Kong
4 Aug 2009, 15:38
Drugs... Alcohol.... Lloyd....

Should not be tolerated by any AFL team...Unless you're going to contribute something worthwhile, piss off mate.

efcboy
4 Aug 2009, 15:39
it was nathan's mother's tablet and he thought it was a diet tablet to reduce fluid...

Spikey
4 Aug 2009, 15:41
Unless you're going to contribute something worthwhile, piss off mate.

Now now, if anyone's qualified to talk about players and drugs, it's a Carlton supporter!

tugga
4 Aug 2009, 15:48
Assuming that the pill was his, I guess the AFL will make no distinction between one tablet or 50.
But you have to wonder why police would make such a big deal over one E. Is is just because he is an AFL player? I'm sure there are heaps of people out there who are more worthy of their house being raided.
Just watch at how the terrorist organisation busted this morning will probably be treated better by the media than NLM in the next few days.

Nuke
4 Aug 2009, 15:50
You can choose your friends, but not your family..

Cynic
4 Aug 2009, 15:55
Now now, if anyone's qualified to talk about players and drugs, it's a Carlton supporter!

Fair call but Carlton don't talk ;)

xorfa
4 Aug 2009, 15:56
Just watch at how the terrorist organisation busted this morning will probably be treated better by the media than NLM in the next few days.

Agreed :thumbsu:

NL-M will get front page on the HeraldSun and the terrorist organisation will follow on page 2.

Big Blow Hard
4 Aug 2009, 15:59
Assuming that the pill was his, I guess the AFL will make no distinction between one tablet or 50.
But you have to wonder why police would make such a big deal over one E. Is is just because he is an AFL player? I'm sure there are heaps of people out there who are more worthy of their house being raided.

I am hearing talk of his brother being a no goodnik. If NLM's house was raided because of him or someone else linked to him, it does not matter whether it was 1 pill or 50. If it is on your person, or in your car or house, it is assumed to be yours and you will be charged. Unless someone else claims ownership of it. Hopefully whoever it belongs to is big enough to take responsibility.
His Footy Form aside, NLM has strived to be a fantastic role model for the indiginous community, and it would be tragic to see it all collapse due to someone else. Unless it is his, in which case, c ya later.

Why did this have to be an Essendon player GDI!! :mad:

Could you imagine the meltdown on here if it were found in Andy Lovett's house? :eek:

Sealz
4 Aug 2009, 16:01
lol... 1 pill = drug raid fail....

still... not a good look for NLM... even if it was his brothers....

Natrat the rap producer??

MarkJohnson#1
4 Aug 2009, 16:03
Don't worry guys he's innocent... The only thing Nathan Lovett Murray drops is easy chest marks

Big Blow Hard
4 Aug 2009, 16:10
LOL, nice.

As thay just said on radio. Proportion blown out.

Find 1 pill and it's a media circus. Test positive for drugs twice and noone is the wiser.

TOPBLUE_25
4 Aug 2009, 16:13
Not clever on his part, but blown out of proportion a bit

DapperDon
4 Aug 2009, 16:18
I heard it was Nathan's, Skippy's and Nash's.

Sack them all.:thumbsu:

The_Young_Gun
4 Aug 2009, 16:31
It'd be pretty stupid of NLM to contest the possesion charge if he has consumed any drugs, specially since he's a wider known footballer.

Now that its gone public, I'm gonna guess that the AFL will do over 1000 different drug tests on him now. Taking his blood, bits of his hair, probz some from downstairs too..:D

At least he doesn't sell the stuff.. ;);)

hugorune
4 Aug 2009, 16:33
NLM's fully entitled to the presumption of innocence at this stage.

If they prove his guilt beyond all reasonable doubt in a court of law, well then we see where we go from there I guess.

Yeah unfortunately, it's in everyone's best interests to let these cases slide and (most of) the cops understand this, but if they had let it slide and someone in the media heard about it the wowsers would be all up in arms, so they had to press charges.

smcateer
4 Aug 2009, 16:35
He definitely wasn't popping on Sunday. I'll testify in any court.

Colin D'Cops
4 Aug 2009, 16:36
You'd think that his form coupled with these charges would be pointing to an omission back to Bendigo for the remainder of the season.

Say no more, nothing's really set in concrete yet I assume.

strategy
4 Aug 2009, 16:44

Should not be tolerated by any AFL team...

Tanking , lying and being Carlton supporters must NEVER be accepted in our society.

EVER.
NL Murray has to pass , urine , hair and blood tests .He doesnt even smoke or drink .
Who put the 1 tablet there in his home ?

strategy
4 Aug 2009, 17:02

Should not be tolerated by any AFL team...

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2...03/2644445.htm

as the story has been " taken away " go the carlton board , its there re drugs , underworld , carlton players etc etc

OR

go to bay 13 and read the thread

" Moran threatened ........."

The Exorcist
4 Aug 2009, 17:26
Sack him?

No way, Wait and see - Eagles sacked Cuz 2 years ago on charges that were thrown out in Court.

Could be heaps of reasons why the tablet was there - there was one tablet and if he lives with others then it could very well not be his

... Just hope his housemates aren't all Essendon players

Bordy
4 Aug 2009, 17:57
Innocent until proven guilty.

Godzke
4 Aug 2009, 18:07
Ohhhh dear.

He's on a knife edge as it is considering Knights will have to think long and hard who to delist at the end of the season. He may've just tipped the scales against himself now.

But we should wait until the police finalise their report before judging him and what/where his career is at.

M29
4 Aug 2009, 18:13
Unless they found it via a cavity search, I don't care.

abers47
4 Aug 2009, 18:15
Innocent till proven guilty and he has asked for hair, skin & blood tests to be taken.

lmaohelp
4 Aug 2009, 18:16
O M G are u guys alright, support your god dam players that play for our club, he is innocent until proven guilty get behind him, he needs support and does not need to be slammed by us who support the essendon football club. he has been tested 4 times this year, once last week, he hates drugs, does not drink and does a whole lot of work against this sort of stuff and for his family and the aboriginal community. hes house had been used while he was in perth - by his aboriginal mates, this stuff goes on alot apparantly, something has happened that he was not apart of, if he gets done this is going to be a joke

hugorune
4 Aug 2009, 18:18
Innocent till proven guilty and he has asked for hair, skin & blood tests to be taken.

Yeah I just don't believe in my gut that Lovett-Murray would do something like this.

On the other hand he's almost certainly the kind of guy who wouldn't judge someone harshly for doing it, either. Being non-judgemental is something I admire but maybe he needed to tell some of his friends to be more responsible especially when at his place.

bombre-boy
4 Aug 2009, 18:19
hmmmm, wonder who was in NLM's home while he was in Perth for the weekend....INNOCENT until proven GUILTY...

The Dustbin
4 Aug 2009, 18:22
A raid on his house and the cops found 1 tablet, oh please. :rolleyes:

Again, innocent until proven guilty.

Beerfish
4 Aug 2009, 18:35
I could've used an E on Sunday..

Ben the Gooner
4 Aug 2009, 18:57
Should have used it to spike the Gatorade in the rooms on Sunday.

Maybe they'd have played with some energy then.

BuddysBiggestFan
4 Aug 2009, 19:18
LOL at drug charges - kids at rave parties get caught with more than this and are let go with a warning.

Victoria Police - removing drugs from our streets one pill at a time.

Strike Swiftly
4 Aug 2009, 19:29
BBF, I guess they should have planted some pills on NLM just to make the raid seem worthwhile for Bigfooty's sake? Drug raids occur because someone tips off police. If someone gives them false info or whatever, how are the coppers supposed to know?

A pill is a pill. Its illegal. Oopsy daisy doesnt quite cover it.

Dramoth
4 Aug 2009, 21:13
Fair call but Carlton don't talk ;)

Lets be honest... neither can the Dawks.

But, such a furor over a single pill... you would think that they had found him with 100000 tablets the way that it is all over the media...

'We found this single pill of 'Ecstasy' in the home of an indigenious player of AFL who is working to support the indigenious through hip-hop, which we know to be infested with drug users and pushers, so we have presumed that he is a major player in the drug scene and arrested this violent person using approximately 300 police officers to subdue him'

Depending on where in his house it was found might make or break the case... down the back of the couch... not his... in the chest of draws with his reg grundies... might be his

If I was the bombers coaching staff, I would be waiting on the results of the blood, urine and hair sample tests before making an informed decision.

With Norman and Angwin, there were no doubts about them being on drugs... showing up to training off your nut is a pretty good indicator really and the club did the right thing in sacking Angwin straight away and giving Norman a second chance which didnt work out long term.

I would be backing him to beat the charges and get back to playing good solid football for you guys without any problems :)

Sam the RAMA fan
4 Aug 2009, 21:19
BBF, I guess they should have planted some pills on NLM just to make the raid seem worthwhile for Bigfooty's sake? Drug raids occur because someone tips off police. If someone gives them false info or whatever, how are the coppers supposed to know?

A pill is a pill. Its illegal. Oopsy daisy doesnt quite cover it.

Totally agree.
Looks like his brother and cousin have been in the poo-poo before with this stuff. The media makes a story out of it because he is a known identity.
If was just an everyday Joe Blow the media wouldn't publish it.

adii_7
4 Aug 2009, 21:39

maddest thing ive ever heard ! :D:D

adii_7
4 Aug 2009, 21:47

maddest thing ive ever heard ! :D:D

WindyHillWinners
4 Aug 2009, 22:03
-No need for people to grand standing I think most people have somewhat experimented with drugs whether it be a one off or not. Australians are the biggest user I dare say even a fair few in this thread would be familiar with it, such is its popularity.

-Before people slander look up: "presumption of innocence" "Allegation"

-Ecstasy is in no way performance enhancing.

-Hope NLM beats the charges:thumbsu:.

-Also in news on why the cops would raid someone's house for one excasty tablet? There is people get glassed out there and no one is safe in the city unless in a big group... why there would be a squad of police raiding a house for one tablet is beyond me. I am not trying to water down the allegations... but prioritys I mean thousands of victims of assult have seen police more or less do nothing or give the old our resources are stretched line, yet the cops have time for this. I wouldn't be surprised if the cops got it wrong, also could be somewhat targeting prejudice as well.

To the guy above we are shaking it off as there is a presumption of innocence and guilt is not dictated by a newspaper article. As much as the journos would like you to believe. Until a court finds otherwise these are nothing more than allegations.

We all know rash and allegations sell papers too I guess. I mean I cannot count on my hands or my feet the number of times the Herald Sun has had to post apology notes in it's paper for reporting wrong facts.

Thurlo
5 Aug 2009, 00:12
Carlton supporter here, From the news I heard tonight he was also caught driving with an expired license. (expired one month ago)

I think calling to sack him is crazy, to be honest I don't know a heap about him but find it rather trivial that the police would raid his house and charge him with the possession of one pill.

Don't get me wrong, I do not tolerate recreational drug use by anyone, however I think the police would have better things to do with their time. If it were anyone else no one would be any the wiser.

I hope he gets the charges dropped and is able to continue with his work in the community.

Best of luck to NLM and the rest of the team for the remainder of 2009, (unless of course we meet again in the finals!!)

Thurlo

Donakebab
5 Aug 2009, 03:44
It'd be pretty stupid of NLM to contest the possesion charge if he has consumed any drugs, specially since he's a wider known footballer.

Now that its gone public, I'm gonna guess that the AFL will do over 1000 different drug tests on him now. Taking his blood, bits of his hair, probz some from downstairs too..:D

At least he doesn't sell the stuff.. ;);)

What does consumption have to do with denying the charges? We do not have a 'War on drugs', we do not live in the States, consumption is not illegal.

Obviously belongs to someone else but the full details haven't been released as it is still under investigation. It could have been in someone else's belongings but because it was located on his property he will be charged and questioned as a formality. Being threatened with a charge helps to pry statements from people.

Until ownership is determined this is a non event and no punishment should be enforced by the club. If he is dropped, it should be from current form alone and he should still be eligible for selection.

Strike Swiftly
5 Aug 2009, 07:22
-No need for people to grand standing I think most people have somewhat experimented with drugs whether it be a one off or not. Australians are the biggest user I dare say even a fair few in this thread would be familiar with it, such is its popularity.

-Before people slander look up: "presumption of innocence" "Allegation"

-Ecstasy is in no way performance enhancing.

-Hope NLM beats the charges:thumbsu:.

-Also in news on why the cops would raid someone's house for one excasty tablet? There is people get glassed out there and no one is safe in the city unless in a big group... why there would be a squad of police raiding a house for one tablet is beyond me. I am not trying to water down the allegations... but prioritys I mean thousands of victims of assult have seen police more or less do nothing or give the old our resources are stretched line, yet the cops have time for this. I wouldn't be surprised if the cops got it wrong, also could be somewhat targeting prejudice as well.

To the guy above we are shaking it off as there is a presumption of innocence and guilt is not dictated by a newspaper article. As much as the journos would like you to believe. Until a court finds otherwise these are nothing more than allegations.

We all know rash and allegations sell papers too I guess. I mean I cannot count on my hands or my feet the number of times the Herald Sun has had to post apology notes in it's paper for reporting wrong facts.

Whislt you're on the topic of presumption, why presume the coppers knew there was only one tablet and not 100? :rolleyes:

daffo
5 Aug 2009, 14:24
Will he get a game this week? I think his current form warrents an omission.

Tony Delaney
7 Aug 2009, 19:56
[quote=WindyHillWinners;15283892]-

Your post is hilarious in a stupid way. Do you really think that the search would have been for 1 tablet and what has people getting glassed got to do with it. What prejudice do you speak please don't say aboriginal.

Back to the topic i have a sneaky suspician that a lot more will come out in the near future.