View Full Version : Round 22; "the farewell game"

Pages : [1] 2

adii_7
4 Aug 2009, 18:24
Thats if we dont make finals, i can tell you all now that we will be fare-welling two greats of the Essendon Football Club.

18. Matthew Lloyd
25. Scott Lucas

will both make there retirement at the end of round 22, if of course we do not make the finals.

You say "they both wont retire at the same time" but rest assured, the current situation of both players leads me to thinking that this is the end. I wont go on about Lloyds issues, i am pretty sure they are off-field matters, as-well as his current form.
Lucas on the other hand, is to slow for todays current game, i wouldnt be shocked to see him go on another year, but i honestly think he is past it. Im sure hes feeling its dark days in his career.

Skeeta Olly
4 Aug 2009, 18:30
I wont go on about Lloyds issues, i am pretty sure they are off-field matters, as-well as his current form.

No please, go on.

M29
4 Aug 2009, 18:43
Just when I thought this forum had weeded out the morons...

Nuke
4 Aug 2009, 18:48
You forgot Fletcher too.

silk
4 Aug 2009, 18:51
So someone believes everything he reads in the paper?

What about the stuff that contradicts the other stuff? :p

hugorune
4 Aug 2009, 18:57
Out of the three most senior players in our side, Lucas is the only one who I think may not have the form and fitness to continue into next year.

If Fletcher and Lloyd want to play on, they should.

But I'm quite happy to leave this decision to wiser and more informed heads than my own.

Ludwig van Bertstare
4 Aug 2009, 19:00
Lloyd can still play. He's stuck playing a position that requires more work from him than any other point in his career because Lucas is done.

Ben the Gooner
4 Aug 2009, 19:04
Yawn.:rolleyes:

DogMclaren
4 Aug 2009, 19:04
good call on lucas, but disapointing, dangerous call on Lloyd! there are no advantages in lloyd retiring. He will take the best defender every week while the youngins develop and still kick 2-3 goals a game. His chasing as leadership since he has been appointed captain has been excellent. He lays crunching tackles and bumps and makes inspirational spoils from behind. Leave Lloyd alone, just cos the rest of the team is shit dont write off a champion

Lance Uppercut
4 Aug 2009, 19:17
Just when I thought this forum had weeded out the morons...

jeebus what gave you that impression??? :cool:

adii_7
4 Aug 2009, 21:33
good call on lucas, but disapointing, dangerous call on Lloyd! there are no advantages in lloyd retiring. He will take the best defender every week while the youngins develop and still kick 2-3 goals a game. His chasing as leadership since he has been appointed captain has been excellent. He lays crunching tackles and bumps and makes inspirational spoils from behind. Leave Lloyd alone, just cos the rest of the team is shit dont write off a champion

i will just say mate, i know matty.. He is a champion, he is a gun. He has done so much for the club, that not many other players could do. Lloyd will be remembered as one of essendons greatest, but 2009 is more then likely going to be his last. Hopefully not, because this sadens me, even bought me to tears when i found out what is going on, plans wise, etc.

Fletcher will stay on, he wants to. he is 100% commited to afl. ESSENDON BLOOD.

essendon2008
4 Aug 2009, 21:55
even bought me to tears when i found out what is going on, plans wise, etc.

Go on?

WindyHillWinners
4 Aug 2009, 22:31
You forgot Fletcher too.

Fletch is in super form and should go on marshalling the backline
Lucas will retire... he wont be offered another contract so whether this turns ugly who knows

Lloyd will go on and can go on. Him and Neagle will play on our team next year will be like so

FW: Lloyd HF Gumbleton CHF NeagleFF
Backs Pears Hurley Fletch

Nice mix of young talent and old experienced heads

Nuke
4 Aug 2009, 22:37
Those who know, do not say. Those who say, do not know.

Edit: lol WHW, I think you misunderstood the intended tone of my post when I said that..

WindyHillWinners
4 Aug 2009, 22:43
whatever dude lloyd and fletch are good for another

Donakebab
4 Aug 2009, 22:53
i will just say mate, i know matty.. He is a champion, he is a gun. He has done so much for the club, that not many other players could do. Lloyd will be remembered as one of essendons greatest, but 2009 is more then likely going to be his last. Hopefully not, because this sadens me, even bought me to tears when i found out what is going on, plans wise, etc.

Fletcher will stay on, he wants to. he is 100% commited to afl. ESSENDON BLOOD.

You've given us absolutely no reason to believe you. If you've got no proof, why bother posting?

Godzke
5 Aug 2009, 09:24
Lloyd deserves a 1000 goals. Would be disappointed if he didn't play on for one more season. That being said, it will take longer than 2010 for him to notch it up.

adii_7
5 Aug 2009, 17:22
i cannot post my reasons, or what i know. but please note it should be released in the media in the coming weeks.

Essendon vs Hawthorn could be a very emotional game.. winning one more = finals? possibility.

efcboy
5 Aug 2009, 17:41
given lloyd has played in 17 of a possible 18 games thus far i see no reason why he would not play again in 2010.

Godzke
5 Aug 2009, 17:44
given lloyd has played in 17 of a possible 18 games thus far i see no reason why he would not play again in 2010.
Well, as suggested, if there are off-field issues then it's irrelevant how many games he played this year.

essendon2008
5 Aug 2009, 18:27
i cannot post my reasons, or what i know.

Credible :rolleyes:

If you really do know something and can't say...then why bring it up in the first place. If it is a lie you look like an idiot and if it is true people will be annoyed why you didn't say earlier.

Brent Prismall#9
5 Aug 2009, 19:22
No matter what happens lucas should retire and lloyd should stay. i've said that since the start of the year, even before lucas' period of very bad form. Lloyd still has much to give but im affraid lucas's time is over.

2009: Luas retire
2010: Lloyd & Fletcher retire

GoldenboyHird_5
5 Aug 2009, 21:53
As much as I love the big Lloyd, his retirement could fast-track the likes of Neagle and Still next year.

One could also add Hurley to that forward line mix if Hooker stays at CHB.

3 key forwards next year (Gumbleton, Neagle, Still).

Adii is probably bluffing though.

essendon2008
5 Aug 2009, 22:00
The way Lloyd is being played now i don't believe he is up to playing next year. If he is stuck at full forward and used more of a go to strong marking in the square he should be alright for next year.

adii_7
6 Aug 2009, 19:57
As much as I love the big Lloyd, his retirement could fast-track the likes of Neagle and Still next year.

One could also add Hurley to that forward line mix if Hooker stays at CHB.

3 key forwards next year (Gumbleton, Neagle, Still).

Adii is probably bluffing though.

im not bluffing, mate.. your points are valid, and good ones.

hope he stays at essendon for one more year though.

Skeeta Olly
6 Aug 2009, 19:58

Didn't you just say he was certain to leave. Saying that it would be released in the coming weeks?

hird+lloyd=legends
6 Aug 2009, 20:42

Mate your a complete tool. if you know something, spill it... as essendon supporters we want to know what you know, if you know anything at all. If your not gonna say anything why post.

Kong
6 Aug 2009, 21:23
Safe to say this thread is a sad cry for attention.

adii_7
6 Aug 2009, 23:29
hes not enjoying his role at EFC. he has off-field issues which i will not state. i cannot help but feel this is the end for our great champ.

if i was doing it for attention, this would be in the main forum.

Donakebab
7 Aug 2009, 00:57
hes not enjoying his role at EFC. he has off-field issues which i will not state. i cannot help but feel this is the end for our great champ.

So now it's just a feeling you've got?

bomberbilly
7 Aug 2009, 08:54

this goes against everything he has said in a recent interview with jacqui epstein from the herald sun. he has really enjoyed playing this season, he doesnt want to bow out as a captain who has not made the finals. He wants one final shot at the finals and to see what happens once we make it..he wants to kick 1000 goals etc etc. he has too much unfinished business to not play on. if his body is up to it he will play on next year. having said that...i still have had a bad feeling he will retire! :confused:

Ben the Gooner
7 Aug 2009, 14:08
adii_7 should be banned if Lloyd plays on.

Ludwig van Bertstare
7 Aug 2009, 14:12
If you're going to start a thread and drop hints instead of giving information just don't bother.

Kong
7 Aug 2009, 15:32
adii_7 should be banned if Lloyd plays on.Agreed.

stay true
7 Aug 2009, 15:51
Start getting that banstick warmed up Whomb.

deathevocation
7 Aug 2009, 16:49
Pity I'll be interstate for this game, it's got some big potential.

adii_7
8 Aug 2009, 00:20
and if he does retire, i should be named King?

Im praying he stays on, infact despite everything ive heard, im still hopeful. He will come out (if he does stay on) and say how close he was to retiring :)

lets just wait and see hey!

AndyLesPaul
9 Aug 2009, 15:35
I think you should read that first line again.

BrunoV
9 Aug 2009, 15:46
As much as it pains me to admit it Lucas does seem finished. I would still like them to approch Lucas (like Colllingwood did with their Wakelin) about maintaining a spot on the list to add to the depth. We could keep him around for one more season just to cover for the unreliability of the two great forward hopes. He can still kick 3 goals a game and will draw a good defender.

Lloyd is so far from finished it is not funny. He is so respected he still gets triple teamed. His not kicking goals is a function of our forward line not working (for all of the various reasons). Are his bone jarring tackles and presence to be completely ignored by his detractors? He is past his best, but he was never meant to be the number 1 forward this year. Starting next year he would act as a third tall off the half forward flank and it will become clear that is still a very valuable player.

I think Still turns 18 this year, Gumbleton is still completely unknown and Neagle has his issues. Hille is on the way back from a knee reco and Laycock is Laycock. So if either of Gumbleton or Neagle fall over, we are left with Still and Hurley to hold the forward line together and two ruckman come forwards.

Fletcher is an argument I wont even bother with.

toddy104
9 Aug 2009, 16:33

I got a feeling Lloyd will not retire.;)

Why would you post this on bigfooty anyway, if you aint going to spill the beans? haha

The Donners
9 Aug 2009, 17:33
Lloyd wants to play on for a further 2 years.
Fletcher may play on for a further 2 years.
Lucas retired after round 8 but was talked into playing out the season.

Kong
9 Aug 2009, 18:04
Knights said recently that Fletcher could (hopefully) play until he's 40.

One can only dream.

Bombermania
9 Aug 2009, 18:16
I can see Lucas retiring but both Lloyd and Flectcher both have at least one more year in them.

I would love to see Lucas go on and this year he has played a few good games but he is sadly being over run by the pace of the game also he would be better served if the mid-field actually hit him on the chest.

Ben the Gooner
9 Aug 2009, 18:50

One can only dream.

Fletch > Tuck

adii_7
9 Aug 2009, 19:21
could be oh so good, if we make the finals, and each player knows that they are playing for these peoples last game..

Might just have a nibble on us to win the flag.. we will be 110% desperate to GO GO GO if we make the 8.

The Donners
9 Aug 2009, 20:18

One can only dream.

Absolutely! :thumbsu:

I thought he was slowing down last year and wouldn't be able to go much further but the role he's playing now, he could play to 40! :D

I laught but there's probably a little truth in it.

abers47
17 Aug 2009, 20:55
LLoydy was on One Week At a Time tonight. Said he will definitely play, also mentioned Scotty.

footycool
17 Aug 2009, 20:55
This could just add stabilty to our FWD line. Just hope they can both put on a good display

OzBomber
17 Aug 2009, 20:57
He said at first that he'll definitely played but changed it to being most likely playing. He said Rd 22 at the latest.

Longy413
17 Aug 2009, 21:46
I really hope we don't play Lloyd and Lucas in the same side.

OzBomber
17 Aug 2009, 21:48
If we're going to give Lucas a send off then we have to hope we get 8th position sewn up this week. That way we can give him his final game in Round 22. I don't want him playing in the finals. Lloyd and Neagle is the combo I hope we keep.

Smyth94
17 Aug 2009, 22:00

Ditto...especially at Subiaco, surely the MC have learnt from their mistake a few weeks ago :confused:

Windas_Magic
17 Aug 2009, 22:20
agree with you 100%.

If we beat Freo and Port lost to Brisbane, it would mean that we are guaranteed a spot in the finals. We have a game agains the the Hawks the following week, sounds like a good opportunity for a Lucas send off game.

If Port win however, then it gets difficult.

efcboy
17 Aug 2009, 22:24
i'll have a look at training tomorrow

Knight Ryders
17 Aug 2009, 22:42
Footy is a tough game. Now is not time for charity. Surely they won't play Lucas regardless. You can chuck Skippy in there as well. Pace and pressure on the ball carrier is the aim of the game, something lacking a fortnight ago.

yaco55
17 Aug 2009, 23:06
Footy is a tough game. Now is not time for charity. Surely they won't play Lucas regardless. You can chuck Skippy in there as well. Pace and pressure on the ball carrier is the aim of the game, something lacking a fortnight ago.

I dont want either to play.

Playing youth will pay off in the short term and the long term.

adii_7
18 Aug 2009, 00:18
I dont want either to play.

Playing youth will pay off in the short term and the long term.

+1 .. but last time lucas played at subi he kicked 8 ? :P

or did he play vs weagles a fortnite ago?

Skeeta Olly
20 Aug 2009, 17:18
Lloyd not yet ready to make decision on 2010

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/83123/default.aspx

ESSENDON captain Matthew Lloyd is still undecided on whether he'll play next year, but has announced it will be his last season if he does.

Lloyd, 31, said he would wait until the end of the Bombers' year before making a final call on whether to enter into a 16th season.

jobesuperstar
20 Aug 2009, 17:35
Lloyd not yet ready to make decision on 2010

I say he would continue

windyhill
20 Aug 2009, 17:53
Absolute must.

yaco55
20 Aug 2009, 19:37
The jungle beats are drumming.

- Lucas is allegedly injured after Round 18 and announces his retirement after Round 20.

- Lloyd has stated all season that he would play in 2010 and suddenly issues a press release stating that he will consider his position at the end of the season.

- Fletcher has stated all season that he plans to continue in 2010 and the club recently announced that he will continue playing in 2010.

My summation of the sitiuation is

- Lucas was told that he wouldn't play seniors for the rest of 2009 and therefore retires.
- LLoyd has been told by the club that he is no guarantee to play all 22 games in the AFL team in 2010, so he is considering his options.

PressureCooker
20 Aug 2009, 19:53
If he goes on I think he will stand down as captain. Keep up the tradition.

stay true
20 Aug 2009, 19:54
The jungle beats are drumming.

- Lucas is allegedly injured after Round 18 and announces his retirement after Round 20.

- Lloyd has stated all season that he would play in 2010 and suddenly issues a press release stating that he will consider his position at the end of the season.

- Fletcher has stated all season that he plans to continue in 2010 and the club recently announced that he will continue playing in 2010.

My summation of the sitiuation is

- Lucas was told that he wouldn't play seniors for the rest of 2009 and therefore retires.
- LLoyd has been told by the club that he is no guarantee to play all 22 games in the AFL team in 2010, so he is considering his options.
Yeah that's the vibe I got. I'm hoping he plays on but I'm concerned he is going to pull the pin.

essendon2008
20 Aug 2009, 19:58
As much as i hate to say it, i dont think he is up to it, unless he plays the traditional full forward role out of the square. No excessive running up the ground and playing on the wings, etc. He needs to just sit in the square and use his strength.

I think we have seen the last of Lloyd :(

AJ_2000
20 Aug 2009, 20:51
I think he will go on. Still plenty to offer, he will just need to earn his spot

bipolarbeaR
20 Aug 2009, 21:27
He is due to have a baby in September, it will be a boy and he will retire IMO.
Maybe Lucas retired early this year for a reason, if Lucas and Lloyd retired at the same time then Lucas would be over-shadowed again.
He is still a very serviceable player, last year he was "gone" and took mark of the year..

Bomber32
20 Aug 2009, 21:34
I've got my fingers crossed Lloyd will go on for one last year. I still think he is capable of making a strong contribution.

Bomber Bears
20 Aug 2009, 22:36
I thought Lloyd had still been pretty damn good this year, accurate on goal, still a presence. Still kicked 35 goals despite missing games and comfortably our leading kicker. If he handed over the captaincy and played out of the square could be very valuble

Donsftw14
20 Aug 2009, 22:40
Completely agree with above posts. Would hate for him to call it a day. Would be a very good option from FF

essendon2008
20 Aug 2009, 22:45
I thought Lloyd had still been pretty damn good this year, accurate on goal, still a presence. Still kicked 35 goals despite missing games and comfortably our leading kicker. If he handed over the captaincy and played out of the square could be very valuble

I cant say i agree with you here. Lloyd has been innacurate for his standards this year and has missed too many easy shots.

He has kicked 35.25 this year for an accuracy of 58.3%. Compare this to his career stats (not including 2009) of 891.397 for an accuracy of 69.1%.

Now people are gonna say "stats whore" etc, but the fact is goal accuracy stats are fairly indisputable. Not just his accuracy this year but some of the goals Lloyd has missed this year were very gettable, and in past years they would be kicked 9/10 times by the great man.

bombermick
20 Aug 2009, 23:47
I hope and think he'll go on for another year. We need him while Neagle and Gumby develop and he is still our most dangerous forward. He isn't the player he once was but it will help Neagle and Gumbleton if they are not forced to contend with the best defenders on a weekly basis.

bombre-boy
21 Aug 2009, 00:27
McVeigh was on the footy show tonight, and when asked about Lloyd, he basically said that he has been offered a 1 year contract but has not signed it yet...

WindyHillWatcher
21 Aug 2009, 01:06
I think Lloyd should play on, hand over the captaincy, get that weight off his shoulders and go back to the goalsquare, concentrating solely on being the key forward.

adii_7
21 Aug 2009, 10:29
passed it, sorry matty

HBF
21 Aug 2009, 12:58
Surely he'll go on. The only reason I can think of why he might pull up stumps is that he doesn't want to do another pre-season.

daffo
21 Aug 2009, 13:11
Can't see him getting to the 1,000 mark now..

red+black
21 Aug 2009, 13:53
I'm happy for him to play on in 2010.

I'm not happy for him to remain captain.

Let him play out of the square and try and kick 60-70 goals.

Then 15-20 or so in the finals and bring up the 1000 :thumbsu:

rainman06
21 Aug 2009, 14:07
To everyone saying he should go back and play out of the square....what about Jay?? the boy is finally starting to show something. It has been proven we cant have both of them playing out of the square. Lloydie has done this move up the ground for a reason, and I for one am happy with it.

How many times has he been written off? He is still probably our 2nd best matchwinner behind Lovett. He might not kick 80 or 100 goals but it is no coincidence that we had a bit of a flat spot against Richmond and West Coast when he is out of the side.

Sign on for 2010 and we will resume this discussion this time next year for 2011, Matty.

essendon2008
22 Aug 2009, 23:44
To everyone saying he should go back and play out of the square....what about Jay?? the boy is finally starting to show something. It has been proven we cant have both of them playing out of the square. Lloydie has done this move up the ground for a reason, and I for one am happy with it.

How many times has he been written off? He is still probably our 2nd best matchwinner behind Lovett. He might not kick 80 or 100 goals but it is no coincidence that we had a bit of a flat spot against Richmond and West Coast when he is out of the side.

Sign on for 2010 and we will resume this discussion this time next year for 2011, Matty.

I would say he is a fair bit lower down on the list as far as matchwinners goes. There's Watson, Ryder, Fletcher to an extent. etc.

As far as Neagle is concerned, i actually like him leading up to the 50 and just beyond, more of a half forward role than deep. I think Neagle playing CHF and Lloyd FF would be a great structure.

Neagle is getting better and IMO doesnt need to play out of the square.

adii_7
24 Aug 2009, 00:38
Would it hurt you deeply to see Matty leave the EFC for WBD/Other?

Would it be unfair for our legend to go out without a fairwell game?

I posted here ages ago, round 22 will be his farewell game..
He may not get up this weekend... We may lose this weekend

will he ever play for the EFC again?

Praying he gets up for the round 22 clash.. BOL Matty :thumbsu:

yaco55
24 Aug 2009, 01:17
He will be selected this week if fit.

Hawks dont have any elite key backs so Lloyd may have a good night.

dapto
24 Aug 2009, 01:48
He will be selected this week if fit.

Yaco, I agree with you but this pest, Adii_7, is offering an entirely different agenda re Lloyd and the WBD.

He is revisiting a scenario, a thread a week or so ago, where he is certain, along with Wannabehird that ML is off.....decamping to Footscray. Rohan Smith is the cited source.

Someone will bump that shite thread and hopefully posters will question this punk and the op for what he really wants from bomber Bf posters rather than lamely adjusting themselves and suscribe to the 'op'.

need more

Kong
24 Aug 2009, 02:07
Yaco, I agree with you but this pest, Adii_7, is offering an entirely different agenda re Lloyd and the WBD.

He is revisiting a scenario, a thread a week or so ago, where he is certain, along with Wannabehird that ML is off.....decamping to Footscray. Rohan Smith is the cited source.

Someone will bump that shite thread and hopefully posters will question this punk and the op for what he really wants from bomber Bf posters rather than lamely adjusting themselves and suscribe to the 'op'.

need moreSaid poster has a Red Card riding on Lloyd's retirement. I have it in writing. :thumbsu:

dapto
24 Aug 2009, 02:19
Said poster has a Red Card riding on Lloyd's retirement. I have it in writing. :thumbsu:
Good work mate even though he has earnt it ten different ways himself.

I am still suspect though on the retirement clause given his, Adii_7's wholehearted endorsement of Lloyd to the WBD.

Perhaps, as you say, this is more a thread sayonaraing a wanker than a EFC hero.

long live Lloyd

yaco55
24 Aug 2009, 03:42

need more

In saying that Lloyd should be selected this week - I am still of the opinion that Lloyd should retire at the end of 2009.

I have a feeling that Lloyd will retire anyway.

dave_27
24 Aug 2009, 13:02
Hope he rips Campbell Browns head off in a final farewell.

adii_7
24 Aug 2009, 17:29
Said poster has a Red Card riding on Lloyd's retirement. I have it in writing. :thumbsu:

lol wut ?

:P:D

banta
24 Aug 2009, 17:44
if he doesn't get up for the game, he will retire. no doubt in my mind about that. hopefully i'm wrong. whatever happens, he wont go to another club.

LeeARM
24 Aug 2009, 18:42
Lloyd will be fine, he had a bit of a poor year but next year he will HOPEFULLY have Gumby helping out so we won't have another slow Lloyd/Lucas/Neagle forward line. Although, I do think he should hand over the captaincy at the end of the year.

Scooter505
24 Aug 2009, 19:18
Lloyd will be fine, he had a bit of a poor year but next year he will HOPEFULLY have Gumby helping out so we won't have another slow Lloyd/Lucas/Neagle forward line. Although, I do think he should hand over the captaincy at the end of the year.
Hopefully they play him at FULL FORWARD in practice, not just on the team sheet. With the team getting better and some decent delivery he should perform well. I assume if he isn't captain there is less need to push him up the ground. He's a great captain but much better inside 50.

HULK HOGAN
24 Aug 2009, 19:43
There is absolutely no way Lloyd will retire foget about it. delete thread

LeeARM
24 Aug 2009, 20:05
There is absolutely no way Lloyd will retire foget about it. delete thread

Thanks for clearing that up, I was worried for a while.

AndyLesPaul
24 Aug 2009, 20:08
Question - How inaccurate is my sig? haha

LeeARM
24 Aug 2009, 20:20
sorry to say but its game over lioyd go out with your head held high you will look stupid next year just as you did this year

Well now I don't know what to think.

Ben the Gooner
24 Aug 2009, 20:22
We need more of these threads.

HULK HOGAN
24 Aug 2009, 20:57
Hirdy just said "Lloydy would be a very silly boy if he retired".

adii_7
25 Aug 2009, 18:44
Hirdy just said "Lloydy would be a very silly boy if he retired".

Hirdy thinks life is easy for lloyddy

AndyLesPaul
25 Aug 2009, 23:46
It probably is

Smyth94
26 Aug 2009, 07:22
Lloyd + Essendon = 1 more year

daffo
26 Aug 2009, 09:09
Farewell game? Farewell to Hawthorn!!!