View Full Version : Atkinson worthy of another year - at least ?

Mad Bomber Sean
9 Aug 2009, 00:13
After watching tonights game i could not help thinki this is a guy that fits so well in to our defence that i find it odd that he is not consistantly in the team. By most honest accounts he has played pretty well this year at struggling Bendigo. What i saw tonight together with his games in 08 - i think he should be' retained and played not as a depth player but as a regular.

He provides hardness & pure pace, he's not afriad of a contest & gives so much run and carry that he creates space which result in goals up field.

Today he had the ball 20 Times with an efficiency of 80%. This can be contrast with Mcveigh that had the ball on 21 occasions with an
officiency of 48% ( they play different roles, but this is still
an valid stat IMO).

Before tonight he had only played 5 games with an average of 12 touches a game.

What do you guys think? Should he be kept on the list and is he worthy of a place in the 22 as i believe?

saladodger
9 Aug 2009, 01:00
Liked the look of him.

Well done to the boys tonight, for a squad missing some key players I was pretty stoked with the game.

Donakebab
9 Aug 2009, 01:05
1 good game = 3 year contract?

Lets see how he goes for the rest of the year because right now he'd still have a fair chance of being delisted.

Bomber32
9 Aug 2009, 01:20
Atkinson hasn't done enough to get another year yet. Hopefully he will string some consistent performances together in the remaining three games to show he is worth retaining on our list.

Mecha
9 Aug 2009, 01:24
I would say he if he puts in another 3 more solid games a contract extension will be coming.

Godzke
9 Aug 2009, 09:18
Would you say he's a bit like Dempsey? Who I'm tipping to become an elite Half-Back Flanker (like Goddard) within 2-3 years.

Perhaps, Knights is playing him now so some of the AFL clubs can have a look at him for a trade. Actually, I guess not if his contract's about to run out.

AndyLesPaul
9 Aug 2009, 09:34
That Smother was just awesome. It wouldn't be right for a player like him to be delisted.
But we need 4 people to delist don't we? >.<

Daytripper
9 Aug 2009, 11:11
That Smother was just awesome. It wouldn't be right for a player like him to be delisted.
But we need 4 people to delist don't we? >.<

Minimum 3 players have to go.
Lucas will be one. Leaves two remaining.

Even if we delist, nothing stops us redrafting him again.

AndyLesPaul
9 Aug 2009, 11:13
Well them, Nash, Lucas and Williams.

I am well and truly reassured.

Kong
9 Aug 2009, 12:34
Lucas will retire, Nash and Williams will be delisted.

If the club decides they want to free-up a fourth spot, I have a feeling there'd be one player ahead of Atkinson.

footycool
9 Aug 2009, 12:44

If the club decides they want to free-up a fourth spot, I have a feeling there'd be one player ahead of Atkinson.
who?

KaaN10
9 Aug 2009, 12:59
Jetta? Cant get a game.

Zhesty
9 Aug 2009, 13:18
Was very impressed with his game.

ghostdog
9 Aug 2009, 13:38
The generosity extended to Dyson would dictate the same to Atko.

Funny how when you give second stringers the opportunity to prove themselves they play their guts out.

Daytripper
9 Aug 2009, 14:01
Jetta? Cant get a game.

Don't worry about Leroy. He will be okay.

I've pointed this out before but more often than not, indigineous players (mainly midfielders) only really start playing to their potential when they get to 23, 24, 25 - some even later.

adii_7
9 Aug 2009, 14:09
yes atkinson stays.

Mad Bomber Sean
9 Aug 2009, 17:27
The generosity extended to Dyson would dictate the same to Atko.

Funny how when you give second stringers the opportunity to prove themselves they play their guts out.

Atko is a second stringer by lack of opportunity not ability or performance.
He:
- has the body to compete at the highest level ( Height: 181cm Weight: 81kg & a muscelie dude , he is the fastest man at Essendon over 20 meters ( faster than Davey, Dempsey, Jetta & Lovett ) has a lot of courage and toughness - lacking in such a young side, he is also a genuinely good midsized defender. He takes the game on and he suits Knights Blitzkrieg style perfectly. As a one time rookie he has a Peverallesque hunger that shows in the way he plays his senior games that makes some of the more experienced guys look feable and insipid.

For a guy who has only played 6 games, he shows a lot more than some of our experiences guys. Last night he has 20 touches and 80% efficiency! He now averages 7.3 kicks, 3 marks & 5.67 hb per game.

His last three games however he has averaged approx 11 kicks, 7 HB & 4 marks. He is getting better with each game.

Stats, you know I love em.They only tell half the story. They dont tell you where or how he got em..

Last night he played on Sherman on the second half, Sherman practically dominated the first half ( 20 damaging first half touches ) when Reimers was playing on him. Enter Atko, and he held him to just 13 touches after half time. He was able to beat Sherman and help launch attacks from half back.

Plus he was able to compete and often outbody his opponents. His smother on Browns kick showed how much talent he has & how hard he is willing to work to be part of this team.

I agree with Daytripper who said " ... indigineous players (mainly midfielders) only really start playing to their potential when they get to 23, 24, 25 - some even later. "

It is a big call however I think that potentially ( & currently statistically) he almost is as good as Slattery, and could also play a similar role to Dempsey as both stopper and /or providing run off half back.

Delist Williams who has shown us ZERO...
Delist Nash who is simply not an AFL footballer
Lucas will Retire ..

Give the guy another year and lets see him play 20 games in a row.

kelvin_sheedy
9 Aug 2009, 17:54
He's a strange one as his form in the NAB was pretty good I thought and he'd push for a game before others.

I think he suffers from the "I'm not a high draft pick" syndrome and doesn't get the chances others have been afforded.

Mad Bomber Sean
9 Aug 2009, 18:53
He's a strange one as his form in the NAB was pretty good I thought and he'd push for a game before others.

I think he suffers from the "I'm not a high draft pick" syndrome and doesn't get the chances others have been afforded.

Yeah I agree 100% on that. The draft pick seems to determine who gets looked at first, often irrespective of form..

kaskine
9 Aug 2009, 18:57
who?
Hayden Skipworth

Tony Delaney
9 Aug 2009, 22:05

I was thinking the same about this guy.

Could Ant55 or someone else that watches Bendigo explain why he has been given stuff all opportunity, is he lacking something or just been stiff.

Spikey
9 Aug 2009, 22:11
Cause he hasn't performed for Bendigo? Maybe he just steps up on the big level, but I can't remember any reports from Bendigo being along the lines of "One of the best on ground, just kept rebounding out of defence, great kicking too"

Seb78
9 Aug 2009, 23:20
I think so! believe he has a bit to offer in the back half of the ground seemed very composed for a young fella and has good size about him can play quite tall if need be.

Deeksy
10 Aug 2009, 08:53
Cause he hasn't performed for Bendigo? Maybe he just steps up on the big level, but I can't remember any reports from Bendigo being along the lines of "One of the best on ground, just kept rebounding out of defence, great kicking too"

Agree with this, but it's funny how form at Bendigo has mean diddly squat when it comes to performance in the AFL. Can't say Quinn has been setting the world on fire at Bendigo, but his performance was pretty good on Saturday. Atkinson the same.

Definitely worthy of another season. Reasonably tall, pretty quick and his disposal was alright on Saturday night.

warney7
10 Aug 2009, 09:35
Yeah, not worthy of a contract extension yet, but another 3 impressive games and he might just get another year.

If he gets dropped in the next 3 weeks, it's curtains.

daffo
10 Aug 2009, 10:16
This was the last chance he had. Personally I don't think we should keep him on the list. I believe the club will give him one if not two more senior games before the end of the year and will look at him a lot more closely regarding delisting after those games. I don't think that he can bring much to the club. I think we have better half back flankers, (Houli, Dempsey etc)

Darealrath
10 Aug 2009, 18:32
Keep him. We're pretty light on for guys who can do a good job on small forwards, and he gives a bit of dash too. I thought he was lucky to get on the list in the first place, now I think he'll be unlucky if he's delisted.

Big Blow Hard
10 Aug 2009, 19:40
I'd like to give him another year. It's a hard one. It was only a month or so he was playing back in the Bendigo Reserves wasn't it. Best see how the rest of the season pans out for him. At the very least he has earned another game in the 1's. He was pretty damn good. Everyone around where I stood could not stop raving about him all night. That was, in between all the back slapping and high fiving everytime Hurley got the ball.:thumbsu:

efcboy
11 Aug 2009, 17:27
perhaps he was playing like a man on his last chance...his performance was very pleasing but lets see him do it on a consistent basis before we start getting carried away.

as for bendigo form he hasn't played anywhere near as effective back in vfl from what i've seen. the vfl is a different game to afl - much slower, windy conditions, smaller grounds etc and substandard skills etc.

all year players such as zaharakis, neagle, atkinson, quinn have all had more of the ball and been more effective at afl level than with bendigo. how does that make sense?

tough one to answer but i suspect afl is softer and more about speed and uncontested footy whereas vfl is more old-school. most of the players in the competition go straight from soft uncontested footy in u/18s into the afl of a similar nature. its different to the old days of players doing apprenticeships in u/19s/reserves and getting used to hard, contested footy.

its no surprise that players like matt priddis, daniel rich and liam anthony are harder at the footy with instant results as they have graduated from senior WA football unlike your princesses such as Jack Watts from Brighton Grammar and the like.

Lance Uppercut
11 Aug 2009, 17:36
after a game like that, he deserves a shot, simple as that.

He may not make, sure; but gee it's nice to think you could have one of your "second-stringers" step up and make an impact. Some of the best players in the league took a while to get going.

He's definitely a better option than an extra draft pick

AFL LEGEND
12 Aug 2009, 10:02
Just need to remind people he is 192 cm, plays like a 182cm, is lightening quick (as discussed) has terrific closing speed, is strong overhead and is courageous, sure it is good to see him on the big stage, but how many times have people seen him this year, at Bendigo? look at Zaka, fist game, dominated, three games later hes back at Bendigo, alot can change very quickly, I like the call that he is being given game time to show people what he can and cannot do for a possible trade, although it is looking increasingly likely that he will be offered a one year contract and that is the way it will be going until he shows significant improvement, would think he is not in the best 22 though, as a defender he plays the same role as a Hurley/Fletcher (3rd tall) but is able to play on the smalls, so some upside, just needs to get it out there now.

Will have to wait and see now i suppose. :rolleyes:

essendon2008
14 Aug 2009, 21:25
If we dont retain him i would be very surprised not to see an AFL team pick him up.

Ricky
14 Aug 2009, 22:25

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

This guy has so many freakish talents and can see him turning out like a Medhurst or Milne (hopefully not attitude wise but skills wise)..

Lucas, Nash, Magin ???? but neither Williams or Atkinson for me..

AndyLesPaul
14 Aug 2009, 23:07
Magin isn't in the Seniors.
Williams has unluckily shown nothing.

Big Blow Hard
15 Aug 2009, 10:35
:eek::eek::eek::eek:

This guy has so many freakish talents and can see him turning out like a Medhurst or Milne (hopefully not attitude wise but skills wise)..

Lucas, Nash, Magin ???? but neither Williams or Atkinson for me..

Would love to know where you have seen them. He has been a project player, but aside from te odd big mark has shown nothing. If his Freakish talents were any good, we would have seen something from him by now.
Waste of a spot. We don't need any more 5 year project flops holding down the list.

adii_7
15 Aug 2009, 10:37
atkinson is a freak .. close thread.

Ricky
15 Aug 2009, 16:26
Would love to know where you have seen them. He has been a project player, but aside from te odd big mark has shown nothing. If his Freakish talents were any good, we would have seen something from him by now.
Waste of a spot. We don't need any more 5 year project flops holding down the list.

Winderlich turned out alright didn't he champ?

kelvin_sheedy
15 Aug 2009, 16:35
After seeing the game again he wasn't that good tbh. He looked a bit lost and not sure what to do with the ball.

Acid test against the Saints tomorrow will tell us if he's to stay another year.

Big Blow Hard
15 Aug 2009, 16:56
Winderlich turned out alright didn't he champ?

Don't call me champ, you condescending twat.

And Winderlich, showed more than Williams ever did before he was curtailed by injury. Winderlich was at least getting games in the 1s. What has Williams done?

Mad Bomber Sean
15 Aug 2009, 17:01
Williams, Nash, Lucas & Magin are gone.

Williams (project player ) is a one trick pony - takes a great occasional screamer, that's all folks.

Magin does a good impression of an Afl player, but after a few years on the list & a few others in front of him, me thinks it's time to return to the De La Salle seniors team.

Nash is secretly looking to be delisted so that he can return to Sturt in SA, where he can get on as a lazy footballer.

ghostdog
16 Aug 2009, 18:23
Atkinson v the Saints.

Atko stays.

djharps
16 Aug 2009, 19:32
played a very good game tonight, took them on which is what impressed me

Wahooti Fandango
16 Aug 2009, 19:56
After seeing the game again he wasn't that good tbh. He looked a bit lost and not sure what to do with the ball.

Acid test against the Saints tomorrow will tell us if he's to stay another year.

I would say he passed the test with flying colours.

essendon2008
16 Aug 2009, 20:46
2 year contract! Probably a bit over the top but definitely 1 year.

Has added something to our defense since coming in.

Godzke
16 Aug 2009, 20:52
HE WAS INCREDIBLE TONIGHT!! Watching him, and his off the ball runs, he's exactly like Dempsey but with perhaps a little better decision making. Him running off half back will be a brilliant addition ... if he can keep it together!

essendon2008
16 Aug 2009, 20:54
HE WAS INCREDIBLE TONIGHT!! Watching him, and his off the ball runs, he's exactly like Dempsey but with perhaps a little better decision making. Him running off half back will be a brilliant addition ... if he can keep it together!

Dont forget his amazing spoil and run out of defense last week against Brown. He is a very smart, quick and quite agile player.

Mad Bomber Sean
16 Aug 2009, 21:59
he was pretty good tonight .. needs to work on his kicking, but was good early in the game when it was very tough and was good towards the end.. worthy of at least another year.. great to see many agree.

After reading this I thought that I would rename you Kelvin ' Back Flip Sheedy..I dont know what game you were watching when you made those comments cause it wasn't the Lions game..

whats_at_stake
16 Aug 2009, 22:22
Completely unrealated but is it just me or does Atkinson remind you of a Transformer. Just his build seems like someone screwed a head on to a transformer's body.

Valve Bounce
16 Aug 2009, 22:26
Completely unrealated but is it just me or does Atkinson remind you of a Transformer. Just his build seems like someone screwed a head on to a transformer's body.

Moved like one also. Very hard to stop. The St Kilda fans were already yelling holding the ball when he brushed off an opponent and just kept running at speed. Seems very capable of making space as he moves. Certainly one of the top 3 players on the ground today.

Pevers-Legend
16 Aug 2009, 22:29
Where has he been for the bast 20 odd weeks?

Seems to always pop up at seasons end and show some real promise.

Loved the way he went about it - just 100% attack at the footy.

I thought he was a goner but now reckon he's pretty much saved his bacon.

Longy413
16 Aug 2009, 22:33
Where has he been for the bast 20 odd weeks?

Playing terrible footy for Bendigo.

He didn't deserve his promotion and was lucky to get the call up. But he's been very good and he seems to play his best footy at the higher level.

He was always going to play well against St Kilda, because it takes brave runners to beat them and he offers that.

I'm not sure he went as hard as he could of in the last contest, but all going well he's got himself another year on the list and a place in what will hopefully be a finals team. Looks to have taken Hocking's place. He adds another dimension to our backline.

Wahooti Fandango
16 Aug 2009, 22:36
Playing terrible footy for Bendigo.

He didn't deserve his promotion and was lucky to get the call up. But he's been very good and he seems to play his best footy at the higher level.

He was always going to play well against St Kilda, because it takes brave runners to beat them and he offers that.

I'm not sure he went as hard as he could of in the last contest, but all going well he's got himself another year on the list and a place in what will hopefully be a finals team. Looks to have taken Hocking's place. He adds another dimension to our backline.

Everyone plays terrible in that joke of a team.

Longy413
16 Aug 2009, 22:40
No they don't.

Jetta has been playing good footy for weeks, as has Daniher. Atkinson was outperformed by not only those two but Slattery, Myers, Houli, Quinn.

Take nothing away from his last two weeks, but he was lucky we copped a few injuries, otherwise he would have been gone without another crack at senior footy.

Wahooti Fandango
16 Aug 2009, 22:42
No they don't.

Jetta has been playing good footy for weeks, as has Daniher. Atkinson was outperformed by not only those two but Slattery, Myers, Houli, Quinn.

Take nothing away from his last two weeks, but he was lucky we copped a few injuries, otherwise he would have been gone without another crack at senior footy.

Point taken Longy, but would you agree that some players perform better at afl level than vfl level?

Longy413
16 Aug 2009, 22:44
Yep, I think I said that a couple of posts back.

Neagle is another one.

Wahooti Fandango
16 Aug 2009, 22:46

Post of the year. Worthy of the random chat thread. :thumbsu:

Atkinson =Optimus Prime

Wahooti Fandango
16 Aug 2009, 22:47
Yep, I think I said that a couple of posts back.

Neagle is another one.

Yeah, I was going to mention Neagle. I am guessing that Neagle gets shit delivery when playing for Bendigo. Jetta must be close to a game.

silk
16 Aug 2009, 22:48
Point taken Longy, but would you agree that some players perform better at afl level than vfl level?

Evidence A - Jay Neagle.
:thumbsu:

marcuz
16 Aug 2009, 22:48
He is a powerful young man, he's broken more tackles in the last two weeks than most guys have all year.

dapto
16 Aug 2009, 22:50
Says more about our relationship with our affiliate club and its league.

The reserves or seconds as we once knew it, is not operating to reflect this, the second talent pool and is costing us in our assessments and the player's in their opportunities.

In any event, Bendigo has not worked for Bendigo. Gotta supply enough of your own players and the pathways or reset.

Longy413
16 Aug 2009, 22:55
Dapto, I agree but I don't think Atkinson is in that boat.

He played like a player who didn't respect the level he was at, he played like a player that thought he deserved to be playing at AFL level without the worth ethic that was required to get there.

Storyboy
16 Aug 2009, 22:56

There is something called the Sunk Cost Effect which affects decision making by administrators in all walks of life. It is the situation where one is likely to persist with an investment, and even back it up with even more time and resources, if it is not going so well. In sporting teams, this Effect means that players who might otherwise demand game-time or even contract extensions over others, might not get it because they did not cost the club as much in the first place.

The most significant study into sport and the Sunk Cost Effect was conducted by Barry M. Staw & Ha Hoang in 1985 and published as: Sunk costs in the NBA: why draft order affects playing time and survival in professional basketball.

Quote:
Logically, one might expect on-court performance to be the primary determinant of decisions to cut or trade players in the NBA. If sunk costs are influential, however, then it can be hypothesized that draft order will constitute a significant predictor of keeping players, even after controlling for players' on-court performance.

This Effect is, presumably, known by those people who make the decision as to who plays each week, but it can be very powerful. Ask yourself if it affects you? You would be surprised at how much it affects your thinking about things every day.;)

The full text of the article is available [HERE (http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m4035/is_n3_v40/ai_17781741/?tag=content;col1)]. It is worth the read. I apologise to any who think I am over-analysing. I will always be an academic at heart.

taffyglynn
16 Aug 2009, 23:10
has some flare,get rid of slattery before atkinson

hird+lloyd=legends
16 Aug 2009, 23:15
ive loved watching him play in the last 2 weeks, got dash and takes the game on and has some nice skill with good decision making. Id keep him on for another year.

dapto
16 Aug 2009, 23:25
Dapto, I agree but I don't think Atkinson is in that boat.

He played like a player who didn't respect the level he was at, he played like a player that thought he deserved to be playing at AFL level without the worth ethic that was required to get there.

Well you would know mate but I will ask you this.

And without confusing two different issues here, how can being belted continuously give the coaches a real guide to the metal needed to make the step.

It is not just the physical performances but the psychological metal that separates the men from the boys.

If Atkinson is playing 'within' the poorer level to its limits then is he the only one? And when do you know if 'he' is or if 'he' isn't so to speak, from a coaches perspective.

Must be a nightmare for those making the wagered assessments and upgrades to the AFL 22.

Bendigo cannot help clarity for selecting the first 22 when the measures are so relatively perverse.

ningnangnong
16 Aug 2009, 23:31
He adds some dash in that back half to compliment Hurley and Pears in the upcoming season. Giving him a chance was a good decision on the back of some poor losses that were in part due to the lack of run and penetration from half back. He takes the game on which is a good thing and gels well with the team structure from what I've seen.

kelvin_sheedy
16 Aug 2009, 23:39
There is something called the Sunk Cost Effect which affects decision making by administrators in all walks of life. It is the situation where one is likely to persist with an investment, and even back it up with even more time and resources, if it is not going so well. In sporting teams, this Effect means that players who might otherwise demand game-time or even contract extensions over others, might not get it because they did not cost the club as much in the first place.

The most significant study into sport and the Sunk Cost Effect was conducted by Barry M. Staw & Ha Hoang in 1985 and published as: Sunk costs in the NBA: why draft order affects playing time and survival in professional basketball.

Quote:
Logically, one might expect on-court performance to be the primary determinant of decisions to cut or trade players in the NBA. If sunk costs are influential, however, then it can be hypothesized that draft order will constitute a significant predictor of keeping players, even after controlling for players' on-court performance.

This Effect is, presumably, known by those people who make the decision as to who plays each week, but it can be very powerful. Ask yourself if it affects you? You would be surprised at how much it affects your thinking about things every day.;)

The full text of the article is available [HERE (http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m4035/is_n3_v40/ai_17781741/?tag=content;col1)]. It is worth the read. I apologise to any who think I am over-analysing. I will always be an academic at heart.

I'll give that a read when I get the chance... looks interesting.

As for Atkinson, his form might spell doom for Skipworth.

Kong
16 Aug 2009, 23:42
As for Atkinson, his form might spell doom for Skipworth.I wouldn't be devastated to see the back of Skipworth, however I think Lucas, Williams and Nash (and possibly even Laycock) will be gone before him.

Godzke
17 Aug 2009, 00:02
Is Williams a ruckman? What is he?

Atkinson is only going to add more dilemmas to who we delist at the end of the year. He's got two weeks (and maybe more) ahead of him where he can put the pedal to the medal.

centurion
17 Aug 2009, 08:29
Atkinson should stay. Give him an opportunity and he showed that he deserves to stay.

Deeksy
17 Aug 2009, 09:35
Could well get the Rising Star nomination this week (presuming he's eligible). His run was awesome and that goal was a cracker.

Longy413
17 Aug 2009, 09:48
Well you would know mate but I will ask you this.

And without confusing two different issues here, how can being belted continuously give the coaches a real guide to the metal needed to make the step.

I agree with you 100% but it doesn't excuse laziness and a poor attitude.

Not sure if you caught Knights on SEN this morning, but he hinted to it when asked about Atkinson in that he lacked a level of professionalism in his approach this season.

I've also heard he missed training sessions in the first half of the year. This combined with an inability to chase, poor ball use etc do justify his non-selection.

Back on Bendigo for a second, a Windy Hill based Bendigo Bombers will be a big improvement next year, they'll (I won't say we) should be able to attract quality VFL players as a result. Had Bendigo been based at Windy Hill I'm sure Jolly, Hartigan and Cloke would still be running around.

Could well get the Rising Star nomination this week (presuming he's eligible). His run was awesome and that goal was a cracker.

He's 24.

kindapatty
17 Aug 2009, 10:51
He seems to me to be a similar style player to Dempsey. Which is a good thing. He has added a bit of dash off half back which has been missing from Dempsey recently. I would hate to see him delisted.

bacon buster
17 Aug 2009, 11:09
don't know why we would delist him.

the last 2 weeks he has played really well. nash williams and lucas are all gone anyway.

nighthawk
17 Aug 2009, 11:54
Atkinson is only going to add more dilemmas to who we delist at the end of the year. He's got two weeks (and maybe more) ahead of him where he can put the pedal to the medal.

I'm not a language Nazi, and please don't find this offensive. Just in case you want to use it again, the phrase is "pedal to the metal." As in, the accelerator pedal to the floor. :thumbsu:

joxstrap
17 Aug 2009, 12:25
He was fantastic against the Saints. I haven't seen much of him, but his pace was incredible, got out of some really tight spots and broke the zone down. He was a really important player yesterday.

If you guys want to delist him, I'll be hoping we pick him up! Seemed composed under pressure too, he really stood out to me watching the game.

adii_7
17 Aug 2009, 15:53
if he gets delisted.. would be the worst coaching decision ever.

Getting 38 or 9 on the back of my essendon jersey next year (Y)

HFF_07
17 Aug 2009, 16:18
Atkinson may be delisted at years end, we could try him up forward, as I have said before, he is a nice size (191cm, 81kg) can take a nice grab (Remember his debut last year at TD) has good hands and is reasonably quick too, so I think we could mould him into a swingman, he seems able to play on the big boys, or the smalls too, which gives us even more flexibility, although, if what people on here is saying, then he has alot of improving to do if he is to get up to a 'professional' standard, and with other guys like Dempsey, Nathan Lovett-Murray, Myers, Slattery all coming into there own, I am sure that he will just be a stop gap until these guys really come into there own as AFL players, in the mean time, Atkinson will be given a go, I hope he proves me wrong, as I think he has some reasonable attributes, but he just needs to get everything together, both off and on the field.

DogMclaren
17 Aug 2009, 18:18
Atkinson may be delisted at years end, we could try him up forward, as I have said before, he is a nice size (191cm, 81kg) can take a nice grab (Remember his debut last year at TD) has good hands and is reasonably quick too, so I think we could mould him into a swingman, he seems able to play on the big boys, or the smalls too, which gives us even more flexibility, although, if what people on here is saying, then he has alot of improving to do if he is to get up to a 'professional' standard, and with other guys like Dempsey, Nathan Lovett-Murray, Myers, Slattery all coming into there own, I am sure that he will just be a stop gap until these guys really come into there own as AFL players, in the mean time, Atkinson will be given a go, I hope he proves me wrong, as I think he has some reasonable attributes, but he just needs to get everything together, both off and on the field.

Funny the dons site lists him as 181, but i think he is more like 191. Werd u get ur number from?

Also IMO delisting him would be a travisty. Mature, big bodied, quick, should take the next step like lovett did at the same age. Could be like a Andrew mackie,a birchall or more recently sammy gilbert as the tall, attacking HBFer.

essendon2008
17 Aug 2009, 18:25
The great thing about him is he is lightning quick, but with a big strong body. Not the normal sort of build you would expect form an out and out speedster but he has the best of both worlds.

MickBombers07
17 Aug 2009, 18:49
We haven't seen much of him, but we gotta keep him after the performance against the saints. Not a bad goal hey? ;)

footycool
17 Aug 2009, 18:50
he was just a gun, i went to that game and the amount of times he broke tackles and ran hard was just amazing, His goal wasnt bad either!

Jambo90
17 Aug 2009, 18:58
He also has a massive set of springs on him, thats two weeks in a row that ive seen him do a jump-style smother.

Valve Bounce
17 Aug 2009, 19:15
He was fantastic against the Saints. I haven't seen much of him, but his pace was incredible, got out of some really tight spots and broke the zone down. He was a really important player yesterday.

If you guys want to delist him, I'll be hoping we pick him up! Seemed composed under pressure too, he really stood out to me watching the game.

Absolutely right. I just can't believe that it takes someone from another team to point out the bleeding obvious. He'd be my first pick for the game against Freo next week. The guy is not only very good, he shows no fear. What the hell more do you want?

Mad Bomber Sean
17 Aug 2009, 19:55
Absolutely right. I just can't believe that it takes someone from another team to point out the bleeding obvious. He'd be my first pick for the game against Freo next week. The guy is not only very good, he shows no fear. What the hell more do you want?

I've been calling for his selection for a long while.... He is in our best team at the moment. I think that his kicking on the run needs some work though. Like Davey kicking at top speed, both need to slow down a fraction before release to steady themselves.

He should take some Lovett on the run kicking lessons. Like Judd, Lovett is a sublime straight kick at full pace.

Sort this out & the kid is perfect for our style..
Would love to see Dempsey bulk up a bit more to have a similar break the tackles body like Atko... Imagine having two of hear guys accross half back??
:D

AFL LEGEND
18 Aug 2009, 11:37
Funny the dons site lists him as 181, but i think he is more like 191. Werd u get ur number from?

Also IMO delisting him would be a travisty. Mature, big bodied, quick, should take the next step like lovett did at the same age. Could be like a Andrew mackie,a birchall or more recently sammy gilbert as the tall, attacking HBFer.

footywire.com (http://http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/tp-essendon-bombers?year=2009&sby=12)

great site to get all your stats on all players, heights, weights, games, positions, I use it every year, is relatively accurate too. Easy to use and you are able to compare players and teams if you really want to get into it.