10 Aug 2009, 18:10
VFL Round 18
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/bhh-vs-bombers.gif
Box Hill Hawks
v
Bendigo Bombers
Sunday 16th August
@ Box Hill City Oval
Seniors start 2:00pm (VFL Reserves 11:10am)
TEAMS TBC
After 2 consecutive wins on the road, Box Hill have risen to 4th on the VFL ladder. Their opponents this week, the Bendigo Bombers sit last. After the 'Escape from Frankghanistan' last week, the boys will not be taking Bendigo lightly and will be hungry for the 4pts.
Our friends at 3WBC 94.1FM will again bring you the live broadcast on your radio or via webcast.
Get along, cheer on the boys and get right behind them- your support CAN and WILL make a difference.
I may not be able to make it due to family committments (but am trying)!
rdhopkins2
13 Aug 2009, 17:33
Match Preview on Box Hill Site, teams shouldn't be far away!
------------------------------------------------------------
Box Hill Hawks vs. Bendigo Bombers
Sunday 16th August
Box Hill City Oval at 2.00pm
By Daniel Dufty
THE BOX HILL HAWKS return home this week to play cellar-dwellers Bendigo Bombers in a must win game to consolidate a top four position.
After an early scare with Frankston pressing for their third victory, Box Hill powered on in the final term kicking 4 goals to one to post their 10th victory................
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/news-read.aspx?NewsId=523
Mitchell Madness
13 Aug 2009, 18:21
ill be there. love sunday games, only ones i can get to due to work commitments.
halfback dasher
13 Aug 2009, 19:03
im THERE...:p
Murphy forward? Moss returns, and Peterson named in the Reserves.
Box Hill Hawks
B: Kenna Stokes Sierakowski
HB: Kiel Suckling Whitecross
C: Breust Yze Lisle
HF: Moss McQueen-Miscamble Iles
F: Milne Bailey Murphy
R: Pedersen Dowler Walsh
Int: Markovic Kitchin* Neil Gibson Smithwick
Bello Curnow George Fagan
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=0-118-0-80573-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=9741906§ionID=60264
Mitchell Madness
13 Aug 2009, 20:07
never mind where they are selected. means nothing in VFL. its basically "throw all listed players somewhere in started 22, re-jig later"
Stokes won't play full back :eek:
Great to see Moss back
Also , does anyone know if Carl Peterson is playing in the reserves. I spoke to him last Sunday & he indicated he was ?
houdinihuddo
13 Aug 2009, 23:00
Teams with players selected in firsts and reserves noted. Carl Peterson selected in reserves and based on training today I don't think Whitecross could have played on Friday but may be OK for Sunday.
Box Hill Hawks Firsts
B
Kenna
Stokes
Sierakowski [2]
HB
Kiel
Suckling
Whitecross
C
Breust
Yze
Lisle
HF
Moss
McQueen-Miscamble
Iles
F
Milne
Bailey
Murphy
R
Pedersen
Dowler
Walsh
Int
Markovic
Kitchin*
Neil [2]
Gibson
Smithwick [2]
Bello
Curnow
George [2]
Fagan [2]
Box Hill Hawks Reserves
B
Sierakowski [1]
Smith
George [1]
HB
Neil [1]
Sandilands
Fagan [1]
C
Marcius
Van Unen
Cross
HF
McGuinness
Walker
Dell Aquilla
F
Conyers
Hoegel
Renton
R
Peterson
Purcell
Smithwick [1]
Int
Nye
Carey
Cunningham
Furey
Bull
Parker
Hogan
Coyle
halfback dasher
14 Aug 2009, 08:13
Anyone have info on Kitchen....??Another kid from..??
houdinihuddo
14 Aug 2009, 09:25
Leigh Kitchin – DOB 08/01/90, 180 CMS, 74 KGS, Eastern Ranges/Wantirna South. Leigh has played in the BH Reserves this year and has regularly been one of the best performing players. He has good pace, runs hard all day, wins the hard ball and links well. He generally handles the ball cleanly and disposes to advantage by foot and hand. He wears number 57.
My post for round three read: “The seconds win was magnificent. Three of our players were injured in the first half and Beau Muston was scheduled to only play up until half time. About 10 minutes into the third quarter Leigh Kitchen, who had his nosed smashed right on half time, received another knock to his nose and was sent from the field under the blood rule. It was rather comical hearing him ask if anyone was able to replace him and being told no. We played with 17 men for about 10 minutes whilst the medical staff stopped the bleeding, cleaned him up and shoved cotton wool up his nose. I was impressed with the way Leigh played out the game and continued his hard running. Coburg had the advantage of a three to four goals breeze in the last quarter, hit the front about 15 minutes into the quarter and had six AFL players to our 3 so it was a very impressive win.”
Woodside Hawk
14 Aug 2009, 10:52
Stokes named as full back...he he...someone's having a laugh there!
Looks a good side on paper - should cement a top 4 spot here, you'd think!
Great to see Moss back.
Will be interesting to hear how Peterson fares.
No Wallace this week?
EFL Boy
15 Aug 2009, 10:08
Will be there again, in my CV uniform. :)
Big Ronnie
15 Aug 2009, 11:17
BR and the tackers will be there for our first Box Hill game this year. ANd I intend to eat the tuckshop dry!!
Can anyone assure me that the bouncy castles are still in action this year?
BR:thumbsu:
EFL Boy
15 Aug 2009, 11:22
The jumping castles are definately still there.
rdhopkins2
15 Aug 2009, 11:24
Haven't seen much of the jumping castle this year BR, but failing that take a footy and let the little tackers loose on the oval at half time. :D
halfback dasher
16 Aug 2009, 08:01
Leigh Kitchin – DOB 08/01/90, 180 CMS, 74 KGS, Eastern Ranges/Wantirna South. Leigh has played in the BH Reserves this year and has regularly been one of the best performing players. He has good pace, runs hard all day, wins the hard ball and links well. He generally handles the ball cleanly and disposes to advantage by foot and hand. He wears number 57.
My post for round three read: “The seconds win was magnificent. Three of our players were injured in the first half and Beau Muston was scheduled to only play up until half time. About 10 minutes into the third quarter Leigh Kitchen, who had his nosed smashed right on half time, received another knock to his nose and was sent from the field under the blood rule. It was rather comical hearing him ask if anyone was able to replace him and being told no. We played with 17 men for about 10 minutes whilst the medical staff stopped the bleeding, cleaned him up and shoved cotton wool up his nose. I was impressed with the way Leigh played out the game and continued his hard running. Coburg had the advantage of a three to four goals breeze in the last quarter, hit the front about 15 minutes into the quarter and had six AFL players to our 3 so it was a very impressive win.”
Thanx bud....:thumbsu:
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 14:03
Props from the call to everyone who's posted in here....hmm.... :p
Wet and Slippery conditions apparently. Lisle rucking? Walsh and Mars KPD. Good skills from Murphy to Stokes - 40m out directly in front.
Misses by a mile.
BH 0.1.1
BB 0.0.0
BB going to scoring end.
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 14:05
BB centre-square kick rolls all the way for goal!
moistie
16 Aug 2009, 14:33
Does anyone have a link for a live stream?
IBleedBrownNGold
16 Aug 2009, 14:35
http://www.3wbc.org.au/football.shtml
moistie
16 Aug 2009, 14:39
Thanks IBB'n'G
IBleedBrownNGold
16 Aug 2009, 14:46
No problem. Connection's been a bit choppy because of the weather today, but seems to be better now. Let's hope the boys can make a better fist of it this quarter.
SHAKESPEARE
16 Aug 2009, 14:53
42-26. We are coming back.
The Birch
16 Aug 2009, 14:54
Hey Guys, not sure if I'm right or not, but if that was Carl Peterson who was named in the reserves team, has any one got any info on how he performed today?
Cheers guys, hopefully he gives us something to be excited about, especially after a poor year
BuddyHawkers
16 Aug 2009, 15:05
Who is kicking the goals? I just can't connect to the radio site
BuddyHawkers
16 Aug 2009, 15:21
That's all I know
2009 VFL Seniors
Box Hill Hawks 2.2 9.5 . .
Bendigo Bombers 5.6 7.7 .
SHAKESPEARE
16 Aug 2009, 15:44
Stokes in agonising pain. Stretcher out.
Goldhawk
16 Aug 2009, 15:45
Approx 10 into 3rd Qrt. Goals to each side Box Hill 10.5.65 Bendigo 8.8.56
Stokes injured
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 15:49
Commentary talking so much it's hard to know what's going on. Walsh just missed a sitter....
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 15:52
BHH by 9 points.
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 15:53
Fagan kicks his 2nd after some smart work from Moss who's been excellent.
15 points.
BHH 6-3 i50s this quarter.
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 15:53
Hooker dominating every ruck contest. Our last four possession wins have been from frees.
Goldhawk
16 Aug 2009, 15:55
15 min Box Hill 11.5.71 Bendigo 9.8.62
BuddyHawkers
16 Aug 2009, 15:58
C'mon boxhill hawks
IBleedBrownNGold
16 Aug 2009, 16:00
Sounds like Bruest has it on a string... or at least these commentators seem to love the kid. Any further word on Stokesy?
Simon_Nesbit
BHH by 13...
Goldhawk
Bruest goals B.H. 12.5.77 Bendigo 9.10.64 lead by 13 pts Moss Goals B.H. 13.5.83 Bendigo 9.10.64
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 16:01
Moss quick snap from 20m after some good work from Kichin.
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 16:04
another long shot bounces through for Bendigo - went length of field uncontested.
14 points.
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 16:05
Walsh strong contest, quick hands to pederson, to Milne, goal
20 points.
Goldhawk
16 Aug 2009, 16:05
Box Hill 14.5.89 Bendigo 10.10.70
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 16:09
11.10.76 v 14.6.90
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 16:13
Siren sounds at 33 minute.
Stangs coming home with the breeze/scoring end.
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 16:14
3 - Pederson and ?
2 - Fagan and Bruest
1 - Whitecross, Suckling, Milne and Murphy
Goldhawk
16 Aug 2009, 16:17
Pederson and Moss 3 goals each up to 3 qrt time.
Haven't heard Max Bailey's name mentioned
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 16:19
reserves in atrocious weather "the fact they put on such a massive score in conditions shows why they are on the top of the ladder"
....any scores/players?
IBleedBrownNGold
16 Aug 2009, 16:24
Stokes has injured his knee it seems... Moss injured??? :eek:
Goldhawk
16 Aug 2009, 16:28
Yze kicks goal and 1 behind Box Hill 15.10.100 Bendigo 11.11.77
BuddyHawkers
16 Aug 2009, 16:29
reserves in atrocious weather "the fact they put on such a massive score in conditions shows why they are on the top of the ladder"
....any scores/players?
2009 VFL Reserves
Box Hill Hawks 8.5 13.8 16.14 24.22 (166)
Bendigo Bombers 1.- 3.- 4.3 6.3 (39)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Parker 4 Conyers 4 Dell Aquilla 3 Hoegel 3 McGuinness 2 Bull 2 Smithwick 2 Smith George Cross Furey
Bendigo Bombers: Hackett 5 Bowe
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Cunningham Marcius George McGuinness Smithwick Bull
Bendigo Bombers: Davies Gunter Messis Hackett Bowe Stratton
REPORTED PLAYERS:
Box Hill Hawks: Nil
Bendigo Bombers: Nil
Goldhawk
16 Aug 2009, 16:34
Bendigo get a goal approx 10 min mark last qrt Box Hill 15.12.102 Bendigo 12.11.83
Bruest goals B.H. 16.12.108 Bendigo 12.11.83
TylerDurden
16 Aug 2009, 16:35
Is Bailey playing?
Simon_Nesbit
16 Aug 2009, 16:39
Bailey rested to play rd.21 v Tigers.
Goldhawk
16 Aug 2009, 16:41
Gibson goals B.H.17.12,114 Bendigo 12.12.84 lead by 30 pts
Goldhawk
16 Aug 2009, 16:48
24 min gone final qrt Box Hill 17.14.116 Bendigo 12.12.84 lead by 32 pts
Fagan goals B.H.18.14.122 Bendigo 12.13.85 lead by 37 pts
Goldhawk
16 Aug 2009, 16:53
Full time Box Hill 18.15. 123 def Bendigo 12.13.85 won by 38 pts
Awesome news. Great to see our young kids doing well!
Hawk Dork
16 Aug 2009, 17:24
any news onthe injuries to Stokes or Moss?
TheWrench
16 Aug 2009, 17:33
2009 VFL Seniors
Box Hill Hawks 2.2 9.5 14.6 18.15 (123)
Bendigo Bombers 5.6 7.7 11.11 12.13 (85)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Moss 3 Pedersen 3 Fagan 3 Breust 3 Milne Suckling Whitecross Murphy Gibson Yze
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Iles Walsh Pedersen Murphy Gibson Moss
Murphy also went off and had ice on his hammy leaving box hill with no bench
Noel Gallagher
16 Aug 2009, 18:05
I reckon that walsh deserves to get a run in the seniors - lets see what hes got
Hungry Hawk
16 Aug 2009, 18:13
Bailey didnt play due to poor conditions, or is he going to get a run next week?
Drooling with excitement for the big fella.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::D
The Birch
16 Aug 2009, 18:13
Brendan Bolton is doing a fantastic job, it's starting to look like we made a great appointment here!
Seems like we have quite a few underated players like, Fagan, Isles, Pederson and the likes. Will be interesting to see if any of those guys get picked up or rookied.
Well done boys, looking forward to our faithfull posters that do a fantastic job on sending in the itemised player reports.:thumbsu:
TylerDurden
16 Aug 2009, 18:38
Clarko said on SEN that Bailey will play v Richmond next week. Bring it..
timhawx
16 Aug 2009, 18:45
Was good to see Tom Murphy playing with a bit more confidence, had a ran around the ground and took some good contested marks. I think the best thing for him will be to see out the season with Box Hill and play VFL finals.
Mitchell Madness
16 Aug 2009, 19:14
for the second week running the umpires kept the opponent in the game. so poor was the umpiring a mature BHH regular sprinted to the umpires at 1/2 time and let fly with a barrage of insults.
Moss was awesome on return, and Walsh dominated in contests, having to hold down the ruck himself for the first time in a while.
Only injury was stokes. finally put his body on the line, chasing down an opponent from 30m+ away, got the free, but landed heavily. left on crutches with a very sad look on his face.
Adem Yze is turning into a bit of a junk-time specialist, but we love him down at BHH, and hope he continues
rdhopkins2
16 Aug 2009, 19:23
Well done to the boys. Minus a mostly poor first quarter we played quite well in trying conditions- there are 4 seasons in one day in Melbourne remember. Certainly were the more disciplined team and we held our heads high.
Disappointing crowd- let's see plenty more there at our next game!! Roll up, roll up, roll up!
Well done Tommy Murphy- I actually thought he tried hard and played quite well before coming off. Hopefully not too bad with the old hammy. Kenna came off with a hammy too.
Stokes doesn't sound great- stretchered off with a knee injury, extreme pain etc. Have to wait to see the full extend but let's hope it's not as bad as it looked.
Tim Walsh was great in the ruck and took some more awesome contested marks
"Price Check Islles 4" to borrow the call of 3WBC had a great game too.
Q1
Bendigo are undisciplined early, giving away a free for in the back in the first minute of the game. Box Hill used the ball cleanly and with a rotation of the air conveyance, Murphy penetrated the F50. Whilst the difficult mark wasn't taken, things augered well thereafter. Bendigo's first goal was a beauty. Using full advantage of the early gale blowing towards the scoreboard end, the kick from 65m bounced through. Murphy took a courageous mark and was having a good impact on the game. It took 15mins to score our 1st goal. Bendigo played some smart wet weather footy to lead by 22pts at the break. The old adage, put it on the boot and down the guts in the wet had never been more true.
Q2
Darcey Daniher for Bendigo continued to carve us up early in the 2nd kicking another goal. Murphy at the other end slotted one soon after to put us back in touch. Pederson kicked a handy one from 50 and we started to kick more efficiently and get back into the game, eventually exerting some good scoreboard pressure by the 19min mark and see us hit the front. Kenna came off with a hammy but the sleeping giant had awoken and at 1/2 time we were up by 10pts. The umps at this stage were totally pedantic given the conditions but perhaps trying to keep control of the game.
Q3
With an early Pederson goal, Bendigo were starting to look a little loose at the stoppages and not manning up. Box Hill were kicking the ball down the guts and for the most part playing well. Sad to see Stokes carried off with what appeared to be a serious knee injury. 3WBC commented that Bendigo seemed to be a disorganised rabble at 3/4 time.
Q4
In what turned out to be a last quarter weatherwise darker than a dog's guts and wetter than a Nordic Island, Box Hill continued to pressure Bendigo and maintained the discipline. If anything that's Bendigo's problem. They can play some good footy, but then throw it away through lack of discipline. Still, that worked to our advantage and we ran away convincing winners 123-85.
Roger Rogerson
16 Aug 2009, 20:05
Good win after a very sloppy start.
Bailey didnt play - rested I assume.
Iles had a mountain of it. He is a hard worker.
Really hope we consider looking at Cam Pederson at Hawthorn next year. He is a class above VFL and is so versatile. Curnow was good, Fagan looked a good type as well.
Bolton is a very good coach. There is clearly a good feeling within the group.
Stokes was just getting into the game with some very constructive handball and a few good tackles when he went down with what looked to be a knee injury. Stretchered off - really really hope it is not serious.
Bruest - was lively and kicked 3 or so. won a reasonable amount of the ball which was good to see and even went up back late in the second half and looked good back there winning a one on one marking duel. He is coming along nicely.
Kiel - he is one that you dont really notice unless you are looking for him but he had a fair bit of the ball running from the backline. played well.
Suckling - kicked a beauty in the 2nd from 50. Did some very skillful things as he does playing the roaming role down back.
Walsh - took some great marks and was in the game the whole day. his kicking aint great and he lacks a bit of pace but knows what he is doing out there.
Lisle - didnt have much of it up forward but did some ok things in the ruck.
Dowler - didnt set the world on fire at all. played up forward for a bit and then played the floating role but wasnt influential. tried to take a bomber opponent on in the last q and turn him inside out but was beaten all ends up.
Murph - played up forward for most of the game and was ok. i actually didnt think his body language was all that great noting that another poster thought he was switched on. He was solid without being spectacular as he is.
Moss - he was excellent. just a smart footballer - good decision maker and knows his limitations and plays within them. kicks goals as well which is great. he might be a chance for the hawks next week even though it was only his first game back this week.
Whitecross - sporting bandaging on his knee and seen testing it on the sidelines a bit during the game. Never really worked his way into the game but did some very nice things at times.
Milne - he was good up back and on a wing. good user of the ball. he is also coming along nicely.
go hawks!!!
16 Aug 2009, 22:15
some quick notes from today:
bailey: rested for next week can't wait, shaved his head looks like a monster.....watch out vickory!!!
walsh: boy he can mark, he looked more mobile today. we have him as a rookie. we have to make a decision on him i believe as he is a 2nd yr rookie. i would get rid of taylor and keep walsh, develop him into a mobile ruckman who can play forward work on his disposal, but he is the strongest mark at our club
dowler: i'm his greatest fan, but he played awful, he was lost.
murphy: refer to dowler. played back in the first quarter, then forward Q2&Q3, fumbled, dropped a chest mark, and looked like a VFL player. hurt his hammy
whiteX: looked good, like his attitude, i saew when dowler took a mark, he screamed out to dowler, "well done dowler that what we want from you' that showed his leadership capability for me. well done. he has built up too
moss: been working out, 5 kg heavier in muscle which is good. i don't think he can play seniors as he was elevated for bailey???? class above the rest but unfit
stokes: hopeless for me, then 'twisted' his knee, according to the traininer
milne: steady
lisle: dissapointing for me, concerned abt his mobility but he is young
PETERSON: yes carl, spoke to him, i said, di you get through the game, he replied "ye brada" can't wait for him to get on the field....any one watch his game
bruest: class
kiel: did not see much of him
now, the luke hodge lookalike and quickly becoming my favourite player........SUCKLING man this guy has amazing skills, put him in next week....he is a great kick, esp those little sneaky kicks. i was very critical of him early in the year but he has pure skill like hodge but not as tough. notice how he limps when he walks, he has a duck stance
thats it for me.....
at least our team will be p'ship contenders....box hill that is
Collins-Langford-Ayres
16 Aug 2009, 22:33
Great updates and v. excited about Max next week.
grizzlym
16 Aug 2009, 23:06
Thanks for your reports guys - much appreciated.
Tell me, with Suckling, is he playing that quarterback role off half back?
And, what size opponents did he play on?
Kind of interesting because I wonder if Clarko had him earmarked to play Hodge's role in the back line this year. Or at least try him out there
go hawks!!!
16 Aug 2009, 23:39
re suckers: don't know who he played against, but yes quarter back role, moved more freely today...took all the kick outs 100% effective and thats why he should be in the 1sts, we have no kickers.
he played up the ground today more than ever in a roaming role, kicked a huge goal from 55 and just missed another.
suckers quickly becoming my love child. i assume he can play 1sts?
houdinihuddo
16 Aug 2009, 23:58
I arrived before the first bounced of the reserves game and BH kicked with what was probably a 6 goal breeze. Given the breeze was accompanied by rain 8.5 to 1.0 was a good result. In the second quarter I thought 5.3 to 2.0 against the breeze in heavy rain was a very good effort. The breeze dropped in the second half and with the pouring rain it was probably worth around 3 goals. We played a strong third quarter and dominated the last quarter.
Carl Peterson was scheduled to only play the first quarter and played deep in the forward line. He only had a couple of opportunities but he showed pace and handled and used the ball well. Most importantly Carl pulled up well after the game.
Will Sierakowski played the whole game and competed well in an very even team performance. Given the conditions it was hard to identify players on the outer side of the ground where the majority of play took place.
Tim Walsh - Positioned himself well a kick behind the play and took a number of strong marks. He won the ruck contests and followed up by laying some good tackles. He shanked a kick for goal probably due to a high ball drop in the windy conditions. I think he has done enough to be elevated from the rookie list at the end of the season. My only concern is whether 198 cms is tall enough for a ruckman in the AFL.
Cam Stokes - Had a quiet first quarter and started to get into the game in the second quarter with some good running. Sadly he suffered what appeared to be a serious knee injury when he laid a strong tackle. Surely we can't have any more bad luck with injuries this year. Prior to Cam's injury Steve Kenna went off with a strained hamstring.
Matt Suckling - Played a reasonbly good defensive game with some good spoils and great defensive kicks. He kicked a magnificent 55 metre goal to lift the team in the second quarter. If Suckers can overcome the fitness problems which restrict his mobility, he could be a very damaging player.
Brendan Whitecross - Ran hard and linked well. Copped some hard knocks but kept on competing. A solid game.
Hayden Kiel - He was solid without standing out. He broke the lines well on a couple of occasions.
Luke Breust - A handy game at half forward. Laid some strong tackles and showed great courage when he put his body on the line to knock the ball forward for a team goal. He is progressing well and next year should start to win more possessions.
Tom Murphy - Took a couple of strong marks and had some good disposals. Played a good team game by providing a number of blocks to protect the ball carrier. Tom is down on confidence and was hesitant at times but will no doubt benefit from playing at BH.
Jordan Lisle - Struggled in the windy conditions but took a very strong mark at the start of the last quarter. He missed the goal from around 45 metres. Generally applied good defensive pressure to stop the defenders running out of the back line.
Garry Moss - A very good return game after missing around 10 (?) matches. Kicked 3 good goals and worked hard. Garry is a smart player who reads the game well but I worry about his pace.
Riley Milne - Played a good defensive game. Once again showed good composure, used the ball to advantage and placed his body well to protect the ball and the ball carrier. If Riley can build up his body I think he will be our best prospect for CHB in 2011.
Beau Dowler - He only had a couple of good possessions and generally did not impose himself on the game.
Max Bailey - Did not play due to 'general soreness' and more than likely to get him ready for next week's game against Richmond.
Last week 'The Messenger' wrote:
"Did Lachie George kick Brendan Bolton in the pills at training one night, is best in the 2's every week and can not crack a go in the 1's. I have kept a close eye on George right through from his junior days at Ballarat and I reckon he is a really solid footballer. His disposal is a little off at times but he is a ball magnet and as tough as nails. Played a lot of senior VFL footy with Nth Ballarat and Tassie so he has the experience.
Does anybody know if there is a reason he has not cracked a game in the senior 21 this year? Joel Cross is the other one I can't believe has not got a run."
I agree with your views on Lachie and he played another top game today. He played in the firsts early in the year and I felt he struggled a bit with the pace of the game and his disposal by foot lacked accuracy and penetration. It was hard to judge his ball handling, disposal and pace today due to the slippery conditions however his work rate, courage and ball winning were first class.
I was surprised when Joel Cross was not selected in the firsts for the first game however when he was promoted for the second game I thought he seemed to have lost a metre or two in pace from 2008 and he struggled.
Ben Fagan is another player who played the first couple of games in the firsts before being dropped to the seconds. I thought Ben looked slow. Ben kicked 7 goals in the reserves last week and played in the firsts today and kicked 3 goals. Ben is a strong bodied player but he is not quick.
Therefore I think the reason why Lachie, Joel and Ben have not been playing in the firsts is probably due to a lack of pace.
grizzlym
17 Aug 2009, 00:15
Thanks HH. Good to see you back.
So our boy Breust continues to progress - you think he's a shot at senior selection next year?
Interesting your thoughts about Milne. My old man has the same opinion about him. Says he much prefers to see a skinny guy with the height and who can read a game and make the right decisions than a big bloke who can't!
Which is his way of saying you can always build a body but not a brain
He'd have to put on about 15 kilos though wouldn't he?
Number 24
17 Aug 2009, 07:16
I too like Milne. The lad has very good closing speed, an ingredient that seems to be a critical factor for a backman these days. He also has composure when he has the ball and when he is in traffic. He seems to have that wonderful ingredient...time. Makes things look easy at times.
I think a lot of this is down to the fact he is a clean handler of the ball and does not fumble much.
Good disposal skills. Is a good height, but needs a lot of building up.
CrowdedHouse
17 Aug 2009, 10:36
Hi guys.
As I posted at vflfooty.com I've run my hand over the form guide (and accounted for an upset) and this is what I believe the ladder will look like and the most likely first week of finals...
My Predicted ladder finish and finals format
1st North Ballarat - 56 points
2nd Williamstown - 52 points
3rd Port Melbourne - 52 points
4th Northern Bullants - 48 points
5th Box Hill - 48 points
6th Geelong - 44 points
7th Casey Scorpions - 36 points
8th Collingwood - 36 points
(Missing out on the finals are...)
9th Sandringham - 28 points
10th Coburg - 28 points
11th Werribee - 28 points
12th Frankston - 12 points
13th Bendigo - 0 points
*Willy and Port just separated on %. I think Port will roll Willy in the last round since the game is at TEAC Oval
*I think the Bullants will jump Box Hill on % due to the 'Easier Draw'
Likely 1st week of finals
QF 1 - 1st v 4th
North Ballarat v Northern Bullants at Eureka Stadium
QF 2 - 2nd v 3rd
Williamstown v Port Melbourne at TEAC Oval (1st of the 2 TV Games)
QF 3 - 5th v 8th
Box Hill Hawks v Collingwood at Box Hill City Oval
QF 4 - 6th v 7th
Geelong v Casey Scorpions at TEAC Oval (2nd of the 2 TV Games)
*Despite Willy finishing above Port, the VFL will most likely want this as a TV game (two weeks in a row!) thus it will be played at Teac Oval
*Geelong's ground might be booked by the GFL for finals, thus Geelong would end up playing Casey as a TV game at TEAC Oval.
houdinihuddo
17 Aug 2009, 10:55
grizzlym - I think Luke Breust has probably exceeded the most optimistic expectations of the coaching staff this year. He is still very much a development player so I think he will get a run in the NAB Cup and then play at BH unless we have another terrible run with injuries.
Riley Milne, DOB 20/07/90, 193 cms & 74 kgs. I wrote I think he will be our best prospect for CHB in 2011 because he needs to put on at least 16 kgs and that will take 2 years. I like players who can read the game, show composure under pressure, make the right decisions and use the ball well. Chris Mew was a classic example.
Woodside Hawk
17 Aug 2009, 11:35
Great stuff HH and others that posted reports - thank you very much.
Its great being able to read these from interstate and get an idea how the guys are developing.
Coathanger
17 Aug 2009, 12:00
Thanks everyone for the top reports.Great to catch up on all the info from Box Hill games.:thumbsu:
The Birch
17 Aug 2009, 14:42
Totally agree with all the compliments that are paid to the guys that put in the effort, week in week out and write up these very in depth reports on each player.
You guys/gals make it that much more enjoyable for the people that can't make it to the game, but still have a very strong interest in seeing how our next generation of Hawthorn players are travelling. Well done to all these people on doing such a fanatstic job and keep up the good work, as I will continue to enjoy these reports in the future:thumbsu:
Milkman_Joe
17 Aug 2009, 18:22
Light at the end of the tunnel - Schoenmakers and Milne.
Perhaps these two could be our defensive backbone in two years time.
Hawkamania!
17 Aug 2009, 19:00
Thanks to the posters who keep us in the loop. It is very much appreciated.
Any news on Stokes yet?
pricefixer
17 Aug 2009, 19:10
I didn't realise that Milne was 193cm, it pretty well makes him a perfect height for KPP. The footage of him as a junior showed he had pretty good skills.
Also, really happy that Suckling is displaying his elite kicking skills. If he can be retained on the rookie list then it needs to happen, otherwise room needs to be found for him on the main list. In my view, he is more important to this club going forward then Ladson.
Simon_Nesbit
17 Aug 2009, 19:39
Milne:
2009 - BHH Reserves HBF, taste of VFL seniors. Ends the year as a decent periphery player.
2010 - 193/82. BHH Seniors HBF, ends year as a key rebounding 3rd tall. Promoted from rookie list.
2011 - 193/88. BHH Seniors CHB, gets a taste at AFL level as 3rd tall. Ends year as a decent 3rd tall at aFL level.
2012 - 193/92. AFL 3rd Tall/CHB ends year as a regular senior player.
2013 - 193/95 - AFL KPP.
20kg is a LOT to put on. Dawson put on 18kg in 2 seasons, but took another 2 years to learn how to use it at VFL level. The above might appear conservative - but any quicker muscle gain and I'd be concerned about longer-term strain injuries.
I like Milne - but I see him as 3-4 years off regular AFL in the best case.
Simon_Nesbit
17 Aug 2009, 19:41
As for player bodysize comparisons:
2010 - Dowler
2011 - Gilham
2012 - Dawson
2013 - Croad
I have doubts he'd even make 95kg, but 193/92 is enough for 95% of opponents.
grizzlym
17 Aug 2009, 20:25
Thanks SN.
Do you see him having a shot at making it? That sort of weight gain really depends on your genetic make up too. I mean, at his age, some people can stack it on whereas others struggle. But your point about learning to use it is a very good one.
Also, like I seem to ask all the Box Hill 'scouts' (you know who you are) what do you think of Breust?
HAWKS HEROES
17 Aug 2009, 20:28
BR and the tackers will be there for our first Box Hill game this year. ANd I intend to eat the tuckshop dry!!
Can anyone assure me that the bouncy castles are still in action this year?
BR:thumbsu:
it was there a touch we inside but there lucky not blown away
The BIG X
17 Aug 2009, 20:35
grizzlym - I think Luke Breust has probably exceeded the most optimistic expectations of the coaching staff this year. He is still very much a development player so I think he will get a run in the NAB Cup and then play at BH unless we have another terrible run with injuries.
Riley Milne, DOB 20/07/90, 193 cms & 74 kgs. I wrote I think he will be our best prospect for CHB in 2011 because he needs to put on at least 16 kgs and that will take 2 years. I like players who can read the game, show composure under pressure, make the right decisions and use the ball well. Chris Mew was a classic example.
HH - I notice you are a BF Apprentice - what?? 51 years as a HFC member!!
Cant wait for you to finish your apprenticeship!!
What will the reports be like when you get your ticket??:D;):rolleyes:
HAWKS HEROES
17 Aug 2009, 20:36
my voice is more husky after my yelling efforts at boxhill 4th q when i was allowed in the new social club and onto the balcony LOL prior to that was in old one staying dry
grizzlym
17 Aug 2009, 20:46
HH - I notice you are a BF Apprentice - what?? 51 years as a HFC member!!
Cant wait for you to finish your apprenticeship!!
What will the reports be like when you get your ticket??:D;):rolleyes:
I see that, like me, you're trying very hard to engage HH in banter.
Because that way it'll 'fix' the incongruous apprentice tag alongside his name.
Personally, I like that the Box Hill board has got respected posters in HH and a RR!
CrowdedHouse
17 Aug 2009, 21:26
Also, like I seem to ask all the Box Hill 'scouts' (you know who you are) what do you think of Breust?
*Ahem*, I think you mean 'Don't Bring Me Down, BREUST!' :D
Played very well along the flanks, both at HBF and HFF.
A handy player that's sometimes doesn't get the Man of the Match votes, but should.
Pete @ 3WBC
grizzlym
17 Aug 2009, 21:36
*Ahem*, I think you mean 'Don't Bring Me Down, BREUST!' :D
Played very well along the flanks, both at HBF and HFF.
A handy player that's sometimes doesn't get the Man of the Match votes, but should.
Pete @ 3WBC
Me thinks we should decree an order of silence on Breust's name.
Shhhhhhhhh.....
Great news on a fair few of our rookie listed players. Should retain most of them considering the draft is going to be thin making the rookie draft extremely thin.
We have to make a call on Walsh(has to take Taylor's spot otherwise gone) & Stokes(almost gone). I believe all other players can be offered a 2nd year rookie position, which is what we should be doing to all of those guys.
Suckling (50/50)
Milne (guarentee)
Moss (guarentee maybe promotion)
Sierakowski (guarentee)
Peterson (likely)
Kiel (<50)- Just because of his age and his limitations.
Bruest (guarentee)
I see Suckling, Peterson, and Kiel as the potential delisted rookies that were taken in last years draft. I really want to keep Carl Peterson however, I think the benefits of him making it could be exceptional.