View Full Version : News The Team vs St Kilda.
Mad Bomber Sean
13 Aug 2009, 17:12
Note as the game is Sunday 4.40pm, the squad is not finalised.
There will be three further ommisions inaddition to Hocking.
In: Bellchambers, Lovett, Hooker, Welsh
Out: Heath Hocking
ESSENDON
B: Nathan Lovett-Murray, Tayte Pears, Jarrod Atkinson
HB: Henry Slattery, Dustin Fletcher, Adam McPhee
C: Kyle Reimers, Ricky Dyson, Mark McVeigh
HF: Bachar Houli, Michael Hurley, Angus Monfries
F: Michael Quinn, Jay Neagle, Andrew Welsh
Foll: Patrick Ryder, Brent Stanton, Jobe Watson
Int (from): Tom Bellchambers, Courtenay Dempsey, Alwyn Davey, Andrew Lovett, Cale Hooker, Sam Lonergan, Brent Prismall
ST KILDA
B: Raphael Clarke, Max Hudghton, Steven Baker
HB: Sam Fisher, Zac Dawson, Sam Gilbert
C: Brendon Goddard, Lenny Hayes, Nick Dal Santo
HF: Leigh Montagna, Justin Koschitzke, Jason Gram
F: Stephen Milne, Nick Riewoldt, Adam Schneider
Foll: Michael Gardiner, Farren Ray, Luke Ball
Int (from): David Armitage, Jason Blake, Sean Dempster, James Gwilt, Clint Jones, Steven King, Jack Steven
In: Baker, Gilbert, Fisher, Goddard, Hayes, Dal Santo, Montagna, Riewoldt
Out: Andrew McQualter (inj), Robert Eddy, Ben McEvoy, Colm Begley, Jarryn Geary
AndyLesPaul
13 Aug 2009, 17:13
ESSENDON v ST KILDA
F: Michael Quinn, Jay Neagle, Andrew Welsh
I/C (from): Tom Bellchambers, Courtenay Dempsey, Alwyn Davey, Andrew Lovett, Cale Hooker, Sam Lonergan, Brent Prismall
Out: Heath Hocking
There is no way Lovett and Prismall would be out, Bellchambers is also probably playing, that would leave one more player.
B: Raphael Clarke, Max Hudghton, Steven Baker
HB: Sam Fisher, Zac Dawson, Sam Gilbert
C: Brendon Goddard, Lenny Hayes, Nick Dal Santo
HF: Leigh Montagna, Justin Koschitzke, Jason Gram
F: Stephen Milne, Nick Riewoldt, Adam Schneider
Foll: Michael Gardiner, Farren Ray, Luke Ball
I/C (from): David Armitage, Jason Blake, Sean Dempster, James Gwilt, Clint Jones, Steven King, Jack Steven
Out: Andrew McQualter (inj), Robert Eddy, Ben McEvoy, Colm Begley, Jarryn Geary
Looks like we've got a challenge on our hands, versing a near (if not full) full strength side on Sunday.
George Washington
13 Aug 2009, 17:14
Bench will be; Belly, Dempsey, Lovett, Prismall
Bad luck; Davey, Hooker, Lonergan.
Good to see they didn't drop Quinn. GO QUINNYY
George Washington
13 Aug 2009, 17:15
Bench will be; Belly, Dempsey, Lovett, Prismall
Bad luck; Davey, Hooker, Lonergan.
Good to see they didn't drop Quinn. GO QUINNYY
AndyLesPaul
13 Aug 2009, 17:17
Hocking hasn't been that bad, has he?
I reckon Knights is still feeling a little annoyed about Lonergan's blunder.
AndyLesPaul
13 Aug 2009, 17:24
There will probably just be a merging of the two, not to worry
In which case i think
Tom Bellchambers, Courtenay Dempsey, Alwyn Davey, Andrew Lovett, Cale Hooker, Sam Lonergan, Brent Prismall
Bold - The actual interchange
****ing brilliant
Our bench: Dempsey, Lovett, Prismall, <who rolls a 6 with a dice first>
The Dustbin
13 Aug 2009, 17:40
Well the aints must be petrified of us, bringing back 8 gun players. Lyon must see as it as a danger game.
I thought Darcy may have got a gig on the extened bench.
bomberstomake8
13 Aug 2009, 17:43
There will probably just be a merging of the two, not to worry
In which case i think
Tom Bellchambers, Courtenay Dempsey, Alwyn Davey, Andrew Lovett, Cale Hooker, Sam Lonergan, Brent Prismall
Bold - The actual interchange
they wont drop dempsey they havent all year and he had a very good game last weekend imo
Bellchambers, Dempsey, Lovett, Prismall will be the bench
George Washington
13 Aug 2009, 17:45
Hopefully all these changes unsettle the Saints team, its our only hope...
Well the aints must be petrified of us, bringing back 8 gun players. Lyon must see as it as a danger game.
I thought Darcy may have got a gig on the extened bench.
No more so than what threat the Hawks posed. They're definitely in better form than us and I'm sure if Lyon had his guns to pick last week they'd be out there running around.
I'm going this week with a mate whose a saint supporter. Needless to say, not only are we playing the undefeated mob of the comp ... we're also playing at Telstra Dome on a Sunday Day game. For those who don't know, Essendon was plays its shittest brand of football during this timeslot (day or twilight timeslot).
Geelong, Melbourne, who else have we played on a Sunday that we've rocked up and played shit football? And yes Melbourne was a shit game. Skill level was equivalent to the VAFA D2 Section.
No more so than what threat the Hawks posed. They're definitely in better form than us and I'm sure if Lyon had his guns to pick last week they'd be out there running around.
I'm going this week with a mate whose a saint supporter. Needless to say, not only are we playing the undefeated mob of the comp ... we're also playing at Telstra Dome on a Sunday Day game. For those who don't know, Essendon was plays its shittest brand of football during this timeslot (day or twilight timeslot).
Geelong, Melbourne, who else have we played on a Sunday that we've rocked up and played shit football? And yes Melbourne was a shit game. Skill level was equivalent to the VAFA D2 Section.
Pretty sure the Melbourne game was on a Friday night.
****ing brilliant
Our bench: Dempsey, Lovett, Prismall, <who rolls a 6 with a dice first>
Yep agree with this - davey looks likely to be rested along with lonergan and a toss up between Hooker and Bellchambers.
The Dustbin
13 Aug 2009, 18:09
I should've added :rolleyes: in my original post.
Lyon did have those players available last week, but he chose to rest them - Rightly so. :thumbsu:
Mad Bomber Sean
13 Aug 2009, 18:18
I like this bench:
Tom Bellchambers, Courtenay Dempsey, Andrew Lovett,
Unsure between Sam Lonergan & Brent Prismall.
Personally would have prefered Mcveigh over one of these as an ommision.
Pretty sure the Melbourne game was on a Friday night.
ahh indeed it was. i'm so use to seeing us play them on sunday day games i mixed that one up.
I should've added :rolleyes: in my original post.
Lyon did have those players available last week, but he chose to rest them - Rightly so. :thumbsu:
pretty sure a few of those names had niggles.
SirJimi05
13 Aug 2009, 18:24
Please tell me Hocking is injured and was not omitted?
The Dustbin
13 Aug 2009, 18:29
Please tell me Hocking is injured and was not omitted?
Out: Hocking (omit)
Confirmed.
SirJimi my call on hooker was right hey :)
start believing :)
Darealrath
13 Aug 2009, 18:48
If we take out Lonergan and Hocking that's two of our best contested players against the hardest team in the comp...dunno if that's a good idea.
fairly happy with the changes - was about what i was wanting/expecting with lloyd not coming up.
i agree with most others that the final bench should be bellchambers, dempsey, lovett, prismall.
i'd say lonergan is the unluckiest guy to miss and personally would have stuck with him ahead of welsh for this week.
99% sure hooker is playing this week guys...
If we take out Lonergan and Hocking that's two of our best contested players against the hardest team in the comp...dunno if that's a good idea.Good point.
Hocking's performed better than Lonergan this year, too, which is why I'm disappointed in his omission.
Out: Hocking, Dempsey, Davey, Lonergan.
Bench: Bellchambers, Lovett, Hooker, Prismall
These are what I feel what will happen, not what I want to happen.
kelvin_sheedy
13 Aug 2009, 19:19
Hocking and Prismal were diabolical against the Lions.
Not surprised to see Hocking dropped and I wouldn't be surprised to see Prismal rested/dropped.
Sammy has slowly picked up his game and has overtaken Hocking again after a poor start.
If Quinn plays then we are in no mans land.
i dont understand why Hocking is dropped. Very frustrating. Welsh straight back in despite not having the greatest form. I would rather Hocking than Welsh.
I think the bench will be Bellchambers, Lovett, Dempsey, Prismall
I wouldn't be surprised to see Prismal rested/dropped.I thought that, too.
Being listed as the last player on the extended bench is often a bad sign, too.
Jonesy1987
13 Aug 2009, 19:28
Won't drop both Dempsey and Hocking as we would be short a HB.
Although Ryder needs some reprieve, not sure about the inclusion of Belly, would prefer an extra runner and NLM to pinch hit again. Happy to see Hooker back as he did a top job on Riewolt last time.
AndyLesPaul
13 Aug 2009, 19:30
I thought that, too.
Being listed as the last player on the extended bench is often a bad sign, too.
Alphabetical order :P
I highly doubt he will be omited though
Boucks09
13 Aug 2009, 19:37
Hmmmm the acid is on the senior boys this week. Would be looking for Welsh to play another Carlton type game this week after getting over the niggles. McVeigh simply has to play on ball and give Jobe a chop out. He needs to win some clearances and make some sort of impact.
I can't see Hooker and Bellchambers in the same side. I think we will wait to see if St.Kilda name King or not before deciding which player to go with. I feel the preference is for Hooker, however if the Saints go in with two quality ruckman then we have to play Tommy.
I think one of Prismall or Lonergan will get dropped. Probably Prismall to be honest, for the fact that Sammy can go forward as a marking target.
I'd prefer to see Dempsey dropped rather than Alwyn. We need forward line pressure and Alwyn gives us that. We also saw Atkinson play a solid game in a similar role to Dempsey last week.
Glad Quinny kept his spot. He will take them on, fall over, make mistakes. But he could also kick 4 and set the tone for the team.
Can't wait for Sunday.
SirJimi05
13 Aug 2009, 19:50
Hocking and Prismal were diabolical against the Lions.
Not surprised to see Hocking dropped and I wouldn't be surprised to see Prismal rested/dropped.
Sammy has slowly picked up his game and has overtaken Hocking again after a poor start.
If Quinn plays then we are in no mans land.
I am sorry but you are a deadset idiot!
Prismal looks like he could possibly do with a week off but he was a very long way from being diabolical. There were many worse players on the night.
Hocking has been quite good for us this season. It wasn't his best game against Brisbane but once again he was far from diabolical. He is one of the few players in the team that actually work very hard and show respect to his opponent. We have guys playing HB such as Dempsey and Riemers who continually allow their opponents to do as they please. Atleast Hocking makes his man accountable.
And why would we be in no mans land with Quinn playing? You don't believe in rewarding form and endevour? Silly question really considering you called for Lonergan to be dropped the week after he played his best game for the season.
You made your intentions clear last week so i really don't know why you are still posting. You are better off coming back in 2-3 years when we are top 4 because then you can support the club. You did say you won't be supporting them anymore this season so your input in not welcome imo. Hell, you might even attend a game or 2 when they are good enough for your liking.
Bombers1234
13 Aug 2009, 19:52
Prismall hasn't played a bad game all year, so many more deserved to be dropped over him. I don't understand how people think he or Dempsey will be left out, Davey, Hocking, Lonergan are clearlly worse players.
SirJimi05
13 Aug 2009, 20:04
SirJimi my call on hooker was right hey :)
start believing :)
I didn't not belive you. When you told me i said it is fair enough and that he probably deserves first crack on Riewoldt considering he did an admirable job last time.
Hmmmm the acid is on the senior boys this week. Would be looking for Welsh to play another Carlton type game this week after getting over the niggles. McVeigh simply has to play on ball and give Jobe a chop out. He needs to win some clearances and make some sort of impact.
Glad Quinny kept his spot. He will take them on, fall over, make mistakes. But he could also kick 4 and set the tone for the team.
Can't wait for Sunday.
Correct weight as always, Boucks. McVeigh and Welsh need to play big games. I was dead against McVeigh coming in last week and i feel justified in that. He got a bit of the ball but he used it terribly and he also went missing in the last qtr when we needed him to lift. I still don't think he is fit and therefore should not be playing.
Same goes with Welsh. If he is not 100% fit he is going to be shown up by the Saints. I have major doubts over these 2 guys. Would have prefered Hocking to keep his place over both of them tbh or atleast in front of Dempsey.
Great to see Quinn keep his spot in the team. He played pretty well last week and deserved to be rewarded for his efforts. He has the type of endevour and spirit that you don't see too often in players. When he slipped over and gave away that goal, he was hunched over trying to get his breath back and was no doubt also contemplating what he just did. I didn't see one Essendon player go up to him and pat him on the bum and tell him to keep his chin up. A few minutes later he was getting the ball and taking them on again and ended up kicking that great goal.
SirJimi05
13 Aug 2009, 20:10
Prismall hasn't played a bad game all year, so many more deserved to be dropped over him. I don't understand how people think he or Dempsey will be left out, Davey, Hocking, Lonergan are clearlly worse players.
I agree with that and people saying he was diabolical last week are just morons who have no idea about footy. It wasn't his best game but he wasn't bad. I don't think he should be dropped but i am not against the idea just for the sole reason that he came back so soon after his injury and a weeks break would do him the world of good.
Dempsey is not accountable enough as a HB. I wouldn't mind trying him on the wing tbh. I know they like his run out of defense but at what cost? Hocking is more sound in that position.
Davey's form has been average, which is understandable, but i think he is too important for our structure to drop him.
George Washington
13 Aug 2009, 20:18
Great to see Quinn keep his spot in the team. He played pretty well last week and deserved to be rewarded for his efforts. He has the type of endevour and spirit that you don't see too often in players. When he slipped over and gave away that goal, he was hunched over trying to get his breath back and was no doubt also contemplating what he just did. I didn't see one Essendon player go up to him and pat him on the bum and tell him to keep his chin up. A few minutes later he was getting the ball and taking them on again and ended up kicking that great goal.
Yup... also the second time he slipped, but got the ball off he got straight back up and kept running into the f50 and called for the ball again, and was rewarded. How many other players would do that... hmm
You made your intentions clear last week so i really don't know why you are still posting. You are better off coming back in 2-3 years when we are top 4 because then you can support the club. You did say you won't be supporting them anymore this season so your input in not welcome imo. Hell, you might even attend a game or 2 when they are good enough for your liking.
Got me stuffed also.
The first time I've seen Kelvin make a good call was when he listed his in's and out's for the saints as - Outs: Kelvin
I thought at least somethings gone right this week.
Appears it wasn;t to be. Likes to make the big calls this Kelvin but never seems to back it up.
BomberDog
13 Aug 2009, 20:21
Prismall was diabolical last week.
McVeigh and Welsh have been diabolical most of this season. Disappointed if they are both in the final team, as it will only pay off with a miraculous turnaround in form.
kelvin_sheedy
13 Aug 2009, 20:30
I guess you guys missed Sherman running amok on Prismall when he was on him. I guess you missed his 5 clangers and 67% efficiency. His defensive work last week was no existent and it's been that way all year.... but hey he's the new love child around here and can play unaccountable football and no one cares.
If Stanton had a game like Prismall last week the board would have lit up with anti Stants sentiment.
Hocking was no good also. Allowed Rich too much space for one of his goals, got caught cold once and was generally lost.
SirJimi05
13 Aug 2009, 21:26
I guess you guys missed Sherman running amok on Prismall when he was on him. I guess you missed his 5 clangers and 67% efficiency. His defensive work last week was no existent and it's been that way all year.... but hey he's the new love child around here and can play unaccountable football and no one cares.
If Stanton had a game like Prismall last week the board would have lit up with anti Stants sentiment.
Hocking was no good also. Allowed Rich too much space for one of his goals, got caught cold once and was generally lost.
Why are you still posting? Stick to potting Essendon on the main board. It suits your style.
Why are you still posting? Stick to potting Essendon on the main board. It suits your style.Let's leave the personal stuff out of these popular threads.
SirJimi05
13 Aug 2009, 21:38
Let's leave the personal stuff out of these popular threads.
I'm sorry but it was a popular thread where he disowned his team and said that he will not post on this board until next season and won't even bother turning on the tv to watch them again this season. I'm not trying to get personal, i'd just like to know why he is still posting. It is more than a fair question given the way he carried on. If he had of answered the question the first time it wouldn't need to be asked again.
kelvin_sheedy
13 Aug 2009, 21:49
^^ I never said I wasn't going to post. I said..... or what I wanted to say is that I've lost the win all desire that I have for every Essendon game. I just don't care what happens to us for the rest of the season as it's another wasted year imo.
It's at the point where I think some of the sides we put out are more for experimentation then just pure winning. That wears me down and I can't tolerate it.
I think we have a side that should contest finals, last year was rebuilding and this year there should be no mucking around.
Anyway back onto Prismall, I reckon he's about 3 good games and the rest have been quite poor. Hocking has been hit and miss and lately it's been more miss.
Knight Ryders
13 Aug 2009, 22:11
I would have thought that both Pears and Lovett will be having fitness tests tomorrow.
If Pears is out, Hooker in.
Knights stated that they drafted him as a KPB, so they want him playing that role for the rest of the year. Because of this reason, I think Bellchambers will come in regardless to contest against McEvoy and give Ryder a cut out.
If Lovett stays out - Davey may get a reprieve.
All fit and firing, bench will be Bellchambers, Prismall (as if he would be dropped unless injured), Lovett and Dempsey (his run will be important for us to try and cut a sway through the dreaded zone).
Lonergan definite out, Hooker and Davey probable ins depending upon fitness of Pears and Lovett.
George Washington
13 Aug 2009, 22:15
from Knights himself;
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/matches/preview.asp?round_no=20&sub_section=preview
The final decision will be made tomorrow but into the 25-man squad will come Andrew Welsh, Andrew Lovett and Tom Bellchambers. Tom is obviously a genuine ruckman and one of St Kilda's strengths is their three good ruckman so he comes in. Lovett missed last week because of a knock to the leg and Welsh is someone who had a freshen up to get his body right. Welsh has trained with much better intensity this week.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/matches/preview.asp?round_no=20&sub_section=preview
from Knights himself;
this comes as a huge shock.. Prismall might miss ?
I didn't not belive you. When you told me i said it is fair enough and that he probably deserves first crack on Riewoldt considering he did an admirable job last time.
start believing we can win i ment :)
lemon chicken
14 Aug 2009, 01:45
we're also playing at Telstra Dome on a Sunday Day game. For those who don't know, Essendon was plays its shittest brand of football during this timeslot (day or twilight timeslot).
Last time we played the Saints was this time slot wasnt it? I thought we did ok that day.
Agreed on Prismall, he can find some space but its only because he has no regard whatsoever for his direct opponent. Im sick of him handballing so much as well considering he is one of the best kicks in the side. Hocking's form has tapered from the start of the year, it will do him good to go back and get 30 touches.
Last time we played the Saints was this time slot wasnt it? I thought we did ok that day.
It was, by I have so many bad memories walking away from Telstra Dome on a Sundary arvo. I still think we play our best underlights.
lewdogs
14 Aug 2009, 13:44
I went to see the Bendigo match last weekend (doing the match review) and I'm pretty surprised that Darcy Daniher didn't get selected this week, his marking was really good up forward and he kicked a few goals. Seemed like a good move to bring him in in the absence of Lloyd.
No surprise that Jetta didn't get picked though, he was very average last weekend, didn't chase at all and only looked like he cared if the ball came straight to him. Not sure how he got on the Bendigo bests but there you go.
Good luck on Sunday!
Skeeta Olly
14 Aug 2009, 17:13
IN: Bellchambers, Lovett, Welsh
OUT: Hocking, Quinn, Davey
Zahasouvlakis
14 Aug 2009, 17:13
In: Bellchambers, Lovett, Welsh
Out: Hocking, Davey, Quinn
Quinn wasn't even on the extended bench. Maybe an injury?
footycool
14 Aug 2009, 17:15
F: Sam Lonergan, Jay Neagle, Andrew Welsh
I/C: Tom Bellchambers, Courtenay Dempsey, Brent Prismall, Andrew Lovett
Emg: Alwyn Davey, Cale Hooker, Michael Quinn
Quinn must be injured. No way he gets dropped after last week.
essendon
14 Aug 2009, 17:30
Finally we get the balance right in our selections, with Bellchambers there it at least allows us to play Paddy up Forward as the 3rd tall if required - very happy with the team we have considering who we have out .....:thumbsu:
Jonesy1987
14 Aug 2009, 17:38
Disappointed Hooker didn't make the cut. Fletcher will most likely go to Riewolt now, who will take him away from goals and nullify his ability to drop off and support.
George Washington
14 Aug 2009, 17:50
Quinny.... Would prefer him over McVeigh...
cAsEy_18
14 Aug 2009, 18:15
Agreed...who would've thought we'd be saying that :confused:
Disappointed Hooker didn't make the cut. Fletcher will most likely go to Riewolt now, who will take him away from goals and nullify his ability to drop off and support.
Fletcher will play on Koschitze and Pears on Riewoldt.
dangerousmissile
14 Aug 2009, 19:21
Glad to see Davey out. Finally!
Should play hurley on Riewoldt, just because the saints my get confused which is which and kick to hurley.
Mad Bomber Sean
14 Aug 2009, 19:39
I really like the final selctions..lots of pace, speed & skill. Heaps of youth too. Aside from Hillie & Lloyd this is about as good a team as we have.
The Saints have got to drop one soon. Perhaps this is the one... Who knows, probably not, but we lost a game v the dogs in 2000... Go bombers
kelvin_sheedy
14 Aug 2009, 20:31
Finally some common sense in the ins/outs.
Quinn should not be played. Period.
Only one that we might be wrong on is Davey because he gives us structure but as a poster mentioned a while back we might as well play a Jack Russel if that's all he's giving.
I really like the final selctions..lots of pace, speed & skill. Heaps of youth too. Aside from Hillie & Lloyd this is about as good a team as we have.
The Saints have got to drop one soon. Perhaps this is the one... Who knows, probably not, but we lost a game v the dogs in 2000... Go bombers
Winderlich??
mate r u kidding?
McVeigh had an interrupted pre-season..got re-injured in Round 4..Ok had a mishap being suspended and going on the turps with Solly but FFS guys this guy is a gun and played a good game on Simon Black last week..
Can't believe how so many people have jumped off Spike..
essendon2008
14 Aug 2009, 21:48
Agree. I still have immense confidence and can easily see him being in our top 3 or at least top 5 next year.
Sad thing is, half the critics now will be praising him when he returns to the very good - star player he has shown at times.
George Washington
14 Aug 2009, 21:57
mate r u kidding?
McVeigh had an interrupted pre-season..got re-injured in Round 4..Ok had a mishap being suspended and going on the turps with Solly but FFS guys this guy is a gun and played a good game on Simon Black last week..
Good game on Black?? Black almost single handedly won (or drew.. i guess) the game for Brisbane. Im sorry but I believe in picking players by form, not by reputation. Quinn deserves a game after last week, he was one of our better players (plus I love watching him play, nothing quite like screaming out QUIIINN in despair when he slipped over, then QUIIIIINNNYYYYY when he kicked the goal 15 seconds later). Mcveigh needs to spend some time in the twos to regain form, im sick of carrying unfit/out of touch players.
mate come on..surely you're taking the piss here..
black had under 16 touches up to 3 qtr time..
McVeigh had 21 touches last Saturday Night
Black had 23..
In my view that's a win for us..
Don't get me wrong I'd love to have Irish in there..He takes on the opposition and skills are improving by the day
George Washington
14 Aug 2009, 22:58
A valuable 21 touches @ 48%.
AndyLesPaul
14 Aug 2009, 23:11
Um, Quinn wasn't in the extended bench was he?
Yeah.
AndyLesPaul
14 Aug 2009, 23:43
What happened there :|
ARE PEE DOZEN
14 Aug 2009, 23:46
if only prismall can get more then 60-70% game time we might have a chance to knock the saints off.
only played 60% last week and had 24 poss, why does he sit on the bench so much, he obviously can handle it and his knee has recovered fine. He is 6th in the AFL for dream team points per minute behind:
Swan,Chapman,Hayes,Montagna,pendelbury. imagine if he got more game time?
Jambo90
15 Aug 2009, 01:21
if only prismall can get more then 60-70% game time we might have a chance to knock the saints off.
only played 60% last week and had 24 poss, why does he sit on the bench so much, he obviously can handle it and his knee has recovered fine. He is 6th in the AFL for dream team points per minute behind:
Well first of all he didn't really complete a proper pre-season so his fitness levels are not quite the same as some other players. Secondly with our history of injuries, the new fitness staff probably want to be a bit more careful with abusing a player who has just come off a knee reco.
But yeah, hopefully next year he will make an even bigger impact.
ARE PEE DOZEN
15 Aug 2009, 10:26
Well first of all he didn't really complete a proper pre-season so his fitness levels are not quite the same as some other players. Secondly with our history of injuries, the new fitness staff probably want to be a bit more careful with abusing a player who has just come off a knee reco.
But yeah, hopefully next year he will make an even bigger impact.
maybe leaving hm off the final 6 minutes against brisbane has cost us finals
EFL Boy
15 Aug 2009, 10:31
:confused:, why are you saying 'we' and 'us'?
Darealrath
15 Aug 2009, 11:09
IN: Bellchambers, Lovett, Welsh
OUT: Hocking, Quinn, Davey
I like it. Paddy must be over the moon.
he won't be if Roo isnt a late withdrawal and sees his name as an late out and hookers name as a late in :)
George Washington
15 Aug 2009, 12:23
he won't be if Roo isnt a late withdrawal and sees his name as an late out and hookers name as a late in :)
T-Bell is incapable of carrying the ruck by himself for an entire game....
kelvin_sheedy
15 Aug 2009, 12:35
He was getting murdered in the middle against Brisbane so the longer he sat on the bench the better.
He coughed up about 3 or or 4 goals with either loose possession or not being able to run with his opponent. A guy like Prismall can be a dream team king because he knows how to get the cheap possies. He is known for using it well but against Brisbane was going at %67 efficiency and had 5 clangers.
He might be better against the Saints as it's Telstra Dome but I'd be looking to rest/drop him for the subiaco trip.
Skeeta Olly
15 Aug 2009, 12:37
Seriously, do you have something for Hooker....
GoldenboyHird_5
15 Aug 2009, 12:39
Agreed their Kelvin.
Have watched the replay twice and Prismall turned it over more than anyone else on their ground.
By comparison, whenever Black got his hands on the ball, he tore us apart.
Just basic clanger stuff really.
Stanton impressed me too, in the 2nd half. Although, unlike Buckley, I wouldn't rank him as elite yet.
coopy_one
15 Aug 2009, 13:06
He was getting murdered in the middle against Brisbane so the longer he sat on the bench the better.
He coughed up about 3 or or 4 goals with either loose possession or not being able to run with his opponent. A guy like Prismall can be a dream team king because he knows how to get the cheap possies. He is known for using it well but against Brisbane was going at %67 efficiency and had 5 clangers.
He might be better against the Saints as it's Telstra Dome but I'd be looking to rest/drop him for the subiaco trip.
Took the mrs to the game as she is a bomber fan and couldnt believe Prismal sat on the bench so much....to get 24 touches in 60 percent game time is great....why have a bloke who knows how to get it sitting on the bench...and cheap possies dont get you dream team points so he must be doing something right...geez you bomber fans have a beauty there in Prizza
bombers2011
15 Aug 2009, 18:32
Aside from Hillie & Lloyd this is about as good a team as we have.
Don't forget Winderlich!
SirJimi05
15 Aug 2009, 23:58
mate r u kidding?
Wtf? What game were you watching. McVeigh was ordinary last week. His endevour was up but he constantly butchered the ball and he was nowhere to be seen in the last qtr when Black absolutely destroyed us and almost won the game off his own boot. Wasn't he skipper last week?
SirJimi05
16 Aug 2009, 00:06
Finally some common sense in the ins/outs.
Quinn should not be played. Period.
Yep, great to see Quinny in the team. Common sense prevails. :thumbsu:
mate come on..surely you're taking the piss here..
black had under 16 touches up to 3 qtr time..
Black had 23..
In my view that's a win for us..
Don't get me wrong I'd love to have Irish in there..He takes on the opposition and skills are improving by the day
Wow, another stats whore. What did Spike do with his touches? Someone mentioned that Prismall had the worst disposal last week. That person (and yourself) wasn't watching McVeigh too closely. His disposal was terrible and that is being kind.
Also, where was he in the last qtr? Black got Brisbane the 2 points in the last qtr. How on ****ing earth can you call that a win for us? :rolleyes:
If McVeigh can't run out 4 qtrs he shouldn't be in the bloody team. Simple as that.
This shows how much you actually miss on TV and how poor you are at reading a game.
When Rich kicked his goals Hocking was not on him. He was not in the middle when Rich busrt out with the clearance goal. He was on Polkinghorn when Rich kicked the goal from the clearance. Rich and Polkinghorn swapped on ball after Rich kicked the goal and Hocking then picked up Rich. At that stopage Rich had actually pushed forward from the midfield.
His game was ok. Rich had 3 possessions while he was on Hocking in the forward line and kicked a point. Notting had zero possessions while on Hocking and Polkinghorne had 1. How much more do you want from a half back ?
A little more fact would not hurt when you are looking games ;)
Valve Bounce
19 Aug 2009, 15:51
I think Kelvin is still minus 273 degrees behind. :D