View Full Version : TV 5 TV shows you wish you could axe

hirdy_is_champ
15 Aug 2009, 00:45
Since most of the threads in here are about how crap most TV shows are, I thought this would be appropriate. I also can't decide if society's standards are dropping, or its just the select few who run the media.

1. The Morning Show - just disgraceful rubbish television, which is obssed with sex, underwear models, and when celebrities take a dump. And Larry and Kylie are bound to root eachother soon just to add to it.
2. 7 PM project - for the love of god just **** OFF
3. 20 -1 ridiculous, I know we're in a recession but cmon
4. Home and Away - worse than neighbours when it comes to acting, any stooge could get a job on this show. Then ch 7 puts these ****ers on dancing with the stars (aka look at me z-grade celebrity)
5. Austrlia's perfect couple - wtf is this going to acheive?? There is no such concept

maybe 5 isn't enough.

desTROY
15 Aug 2009, 01:09
1.Sunrise
2.City Homicide
3.Dancing with the Stars
4.Rush
5.NCIS
6.A Current Affair
7.Today Tonight
8.Deal or No Deal
9.The Morning Show
10.20 to 1

Atavistic
15 Aug 2009, 01:27
1. Firefly. (If I could axe Firefly that would mean it would actually have to be in its second season - which would be awesome).
2. Hey Hey It's Saturday reunions.
3. Australian Idol.
4. Dancing with the Stars
5. MasterChef. (I've never actually watched it, so I have nothing against it, but I'd axe it just so everyone would shut up about it).

Zarrix
15 Aug 2009, 01:34
1. The Morning Show
2. Worlds Strictest Parents
3. Australian Idol
4.Dancing With the Stars
5. Commercial Breakdown
6. Sunrise
7. Australia's Perfect Couple
8.20 to 1
9. 10 years younger in 10 days
10. Home and Away
11. Today
12. Neighbours

Just 5 hmm? -_-

SunKing
15 Aug 2009, 02:21
Should be 50

The Biggest Loser
Rove
Sunrise - get those fat headed tossers mel and koch off tv
Kath & Kim
ACA/TT -Same shit

Zarrix
15 Aug 2009, 02:27
Should be 50

The Biggest Loser
Rove
Sunrise - get those fat headed tossers mel and koch off tv
Kath & Kim
ACA/TT -Same shit

How the fudge did I forget these. Jfc...

Admiral Afterworld
15 Aug 2009, 02:51
Today Tonight
A Current Affair
60 Minutes
Sunrise
Today

matty p
15 Aug 2009, 02:53
1. Two and a Half Men
2. Pretty much everything else on Channel 9 - I can't be bothered naming them all but it's just a disgraceful channel which has no idea what people want to watch
3. Home and Away
4. Neighbours
5. NCIS (I know many people will disagree, just a personal opinion)
6. Boston Legal (again, I know many people will disagree)
7. Dancing With The Stars
8. Double Take
9. True Beauty
10. Airways, Surf Patrol, and most other factual shows like them

I have no problem with Sunrise etc because I'm rarely awake at that time anyway.

Invigoration
15 Aug 2009, 06:33
1. Two and a Half Men
2. Pretty much everything else on Channel 9 - I can't be bothered naming them all but it's just a disgraceful channel which has no idea what people want to watch
3. Home and Away
4. Neighbours
5. NCIS (I know many people will disagree, just a personal opinion)
6. Boston Legal (again, I know many people will disagree)
7. Dancing With The Stars
8. Double Take
9. True Beauty
10. Airways, Surf Patrol, and most other factual shows like them

I have no problem with Sunrise etc because I'm rarely awake at that time anyway.

http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/5562/1207940378657.jpg

damochandler
15 Aug 2009, 08:53
1. neighbours. it's been dead for years and it's about time they got rid of it
2. today tonight and a current affair
3. 7pm project. terrible show that people arent watching
4. double take
5. australian idol. the show is dead
6. australia's perfect couple. what a jok
7. double take. it's not full frontl and i am stuffed if i know why 7 alowed this to be put on tv
8. sunrise. what a pathetic show it has turned into

JUBJUB
15 Aug 2009, 09:55
TT/ACA [they count as one show because they're copycats of each other]
Bogan Idol
Dancing with Unknown Celebs [seriously,who are some of these so called celebs ?]
Australias Funniest Home Videos
Rove

FiveStrings
15 Aug 2009, 11:34
1. The 7PM Project
2. Rove
3. So You Think You Can Dance (mainly to get that annoying screaming woman off the air)
4. Australia's Perfect Couple
5. The 7PM project (for the love of God, please!!!)

Saint KFC
15 Aug 2009, 12:50
1. Home and Away
2. Sunrise
3. ACA/TT
4. The Hills/Laguna Beach (not sure if they're still on FTA, but they really shouldnt be allowed to exist at all)

Honorable mentions to Double Take, Rove, 7PM Project, Australian Idol, Today, Commercial Breakdown, 20 to 1 and Dancing with the Stars. Most of the other tripe in this thread I deliberately avoid/haven't had the displeasure of watching.

Kerrby
15 Aug 2009, 13:07
1. TV Burp (Or atleast get another host).
2. Double Take.
3. Sunrise.
4. Home and Away.
5. David and Kim.
6. Today Tonight.
7. A Current Affair.
8. 7PM Project.
9. Rove.
10. So You Think You Can Dance.
11. Australias Funniest Home Videos.
12. Dancing with the Stars.
13. Airways.
14. 20 to 1.
15. How to look good Naked.
16. Australias Perfect Couple.
17. The Worlds Strictest Parents.
18. City Homicide.
19. Commercial Breakdown.
20. Rush.

Kerrby
15 Aug 2009, 13:07
Today Tonight
A Current Affair
60 Minutes
Sunrise
Today
Why not just remove the news while you're at it?

peternorth
15 Aug 2009, 13:14
should just change the thread title to "5 aussie tv shows you wish you could axe"

Admiral Afterworld
15 Aug 2009, 13:34
Why not just remove the news while you're at it?

These 5 barely qualify as 'news'.

hawkaz1
15 Aug 2009, 13:38
I agree with most of the shows that people have said, but I feel I need to repeat these shows because I hate them so ****ing much:

1. ACA - They had a ****ing segment on Snuggies WTF. I am quite sure that is the most useless 5 minutes of TV I have had the misfortune of watching. TT is just as bad.

2. 2.5 men - Same jokes every episode and not funny, was slightly bearable the first time they showed it, but ch 9 feel the need to give us 1 hour of repeats of this shit every day.... how the **** do people still like this?

3. Anything Rove is associated with.

4. Dancing with the stars/ any dancing show/ idol - These shows were shit when they first started and should have been axed 2 seconds into the first episode, instead we have had to endure them for years. They are still shit.

5. Neighbours and Home and Away - Gay. Once again, how can people watch this?

All of the morning programs are terrible as well, but I enjoy seeing the new variation of the ab swing or kitchen knives they try to sell every week.

Bombers_Forever
15 Aug 2009, 14:37
1.Sunrise
2.Deal or No Deal
3.Dancing with the Stars
4.Rove
5.Today Tonight

Honourable mentions to Home and Away, Double Take and Australian Idol.

stephen_bayne
15 Aug 2009, 14:38
5. MasterChef. (I've never actually watched it, so I have nothing against it, but I'd axe it just so everyone would shut up about it).

Agreed. It's nice to see 10 move away from trash like Big Brother but I had to laugh when the ads declared "Masterchef is coming back!" cause it hasn't even gone away yet! :mad:

1. Masterchef.
2. Dancing With The Stars.
3. Australian Karaoke Championships a.ka. Australian Idol.
4. So You Think You Can Dance.
5. About half the bloody news broadcasts throughout the day.

Byron_Clanger
15 Aug 2009, 14:48
isnt this season of rush supposed to be the most explosive yet

adelaide_40
15 Aug 2009, 15:35
1. 7pm project
2. Rove
3. Australian Idol
4. ACA/TT
5. So you think you can dance

Others that didnt make the list but should go:

20 to 1
Random acts of kindness
Find my family
Bondi Rescue
Bondi Vet
All the border security airport shows

hirdy_is_champ
15 Aug 2009, 17:11
isnt this season of rush supposed to be the most explosive yet

I got sucked in the other day and watched, purely because the ad made it seem interesting. It was boring as. I also can't understand how a tactical response team gets sent everywhere. Its ridiculous.

A couple of you have mentioned City Homicide, I liked it last season but if the season 3 premier is any indication of how its gonna be then they should axe it. I was bored out of my arse watching it.

dmc333
15 Aug 2009, 17:18
**** it.

I'll narrow it to 3 (stations)

gopower
15 Aug 2009, 17:20
I'd axe the 7pm project 5 times just to be sure.

Zarrix
15 Aug 2009, 18:28
The contrary, I don't actually mind some informative reality type shows. I usually watch Border Security, The Force and RPA. quite interesting and well filmed shows the above three IMO.

emuboy
15 Aug 2009, 19:06
No votes for Sea Patrol as yet?

I wanted to like this show - I really did - and I tried so hard when it started back in 2007. But despite my best efforts I couldn't - I find it so bland, boring and banal. It even has my favourite Australian actress in Lisa McCune - and still I can't find any good reason to like it!

I don't know anyone who watches it - yet it has lasted three seasons in a TV market where so many Australian shows die on the vine when they don't immediately succeed in the ratings.

Bomber32
15 Aug 2009, 19:22
1. A Current Affair/Today Tonight
2. 7 PM Project
3. Neighbours/Home & Away
4. Rove
5. Australian Idol

BILC
15 Aug 2009, 21:20
Dancing with the stars
True beauty
So you think you can dance
Bold and the beautiful
David and kim
Mcleaods daughters
RSPCA animal rescue
Farmer wants a wife
10 years younger in 10 days
Australias perfect couple
Home and away
Commercial breakdown
20 - 1

To many to name

deledio7
15 Aug 2009, 23:28
I was thinking the other day, I seriously don't know how i'd survive without Austar (Foxtel). FTA television is shocking.

Crosby87
16 Aug 2009, 10:48
Idol
Home and Away
Today Tonight
Dancing with the Stars
Australias Perfect Couple

Embers
16 Aug 2009, 11:01
1. The Morning Show

Use the other 4 axes on the 2 producers and 2 hosts of the show. ****ing pile of ****ing shit this show. Makes me ashamed to be Australian, even moreso then a 5-0 loss in the Ashes would

Piece of **** crap

FrankGrimes
16 Aug 2009, 13:44
1.Two and a half men
2.Two and a half men
3.Two and a half men
4.Two and a half men
5.Two and a half men

how people find this show funny makes my head spin.. same old jokes every week.. . never watched a full ep, but in the little bit i have seen it seems the humour is aimed at 7-12 year olds...

Hap Hapablap
16 Aug 2009, 15:29
1. 80-85% of all reality shows on seven nine and ten including the likes of domestic blitz, australian idol, dancing with the stars, the farmer wants a wife, surf patrol, bondi rescue, the zoo, and every ****en cop, backyard improvement, animal and security reality shows ffs. however if it were to occur these stations would be broke

2. sunrise, today tonight, today and a current affair. never in my life have i seen pathetic journalism. BBC pisses all over it.

3. rove, expired ages ago and now really starting to reek.

4. meekat manor (when it was on) seriously who in the ****en world sits down and designs these shows

5. Theres a shitload more but they havent popped in just yet.

legend166
16 Aug 2009, 17:42
1. Sunrise
2. Today Tonight
3. Packed to the Rafters
4. A Current Affair
5. The Morning Show

Howard Littlejohn
16 Aug 2009, 20:38
Start with all the game shows that come under the banner of "reality" and somehow make it into the news section of newspapers and TV news (Idol, Master Chef, etc, thankfully BB is already axed although far too many years too late).
That probbaly gets rid of all five. I'd also like to see a few editors, print, radio and television news types sacked for being so irresponsible as to consider the winner of Idol worthy of page 1 headlines - or as anything except a game show winner.

Actually, I don't mind any program being on - though I despair that some of these things actually draw an audience - so long as they are not advertised during the few things on commercial teleision that I watch (which pretty much comes down to: footy, cricket, simpsons, futurama) and I can therefore avoid its total banality. A few smarts would go a long way, eg. very few footy watchers are also going to be 'Dancing with the D-List' watchers no matter how incessantly advertised the show is, so don't make us sit through it.

peternorth
16 Aug 2009, 21:39
is it me or do all "celebs" on dancing sydney people?
would everitt gotten a gig as a hawk/saint?

Gods_Son23
17 Aug 2009, 00:49
20 to 1 - it was okay when it started but they rehash the same crap all the time now
Australias funniest home videos - everyone is entitled to like their own thing, but i can't understand how this has lasted so long. It's people falling over for an hr a week.
The Biggest Loser - IMO boring rubbish.
Double Take - mostly poor sketch comedy
RSPCA animal rescue - goes with almost any animal show as far as I'm concerned
etc

*and i agree with stephen_bayne, less news. It'll be on every second half an hour soon.

krusden
17 Aug 2009, 10:52
1.Two and a half men
2.Two and a half men
3.Two and a half men
4.Two and a half men
5.Two and a half men

how people find this show funny makes my head spin.. same old jokes every week.. . never watched a full ep, but in the little bit i have seen it seems the humour is aimed at 7-12 year olds...

ha ha. Charlie sheen playing...... charlie sheen.

Is he a real human or a cardboard cut out?

peternorth
17 Aug 2009, 10:54
are most of the "celebs" from dancing sydneysiders?

Plugger35
17 Aug 2009, 13:19
1.Two and a half men
2.Two and a half men
3.Two and a half men
4.Two and a half men
5.Two and a half men

Yeah hard to believe that shows rates so well but it must do since Nine cram their schedules left, right & centre with it. Never found it funny in the slightest.

Nine used to be one of the better FTA networks but lately they have turned to shit. Most of their new shows are absolute bottom of the barrel crap like Dance Your Ass Off or Australia's Most Perfect Couple and they flog the hell out of successful shows like Two & A Half Men, CSI and 20 to 1.

Having said that Seven & Ten aren't much better, both have their fair share of crap. SBS is probably the best of the FTA networks these days.

likka
17 Aug 2009, 13:39
How could anyone possibly pick only five out of the train wreck that is Australian TV?

psychobrown
17 Aug 2009, 16:46
Every show Dave Hughes is involved in. And I would follow his Twitter, and after axing each show one at a time, say to him:

Pwnd LOL

Pwnd LOL

Pwnd LOL

to see if it would piss him off.

VicO
18 Aug 2009, 12:48
1. Today Tonight
2. A Current Affair
3. Two and a half men
4. The Big Bang Theory
5. Anything with dancing or cooking in it

Armchair Coach
18 Aug 2009, 13:47
Rove
20-1
Packed to the rafters
ACA
Karl Stefanovic

J-Train
18 Aug 2009, 14:17
Rove
20-1
Packed to the rafters
ACA
Karl Stefanovic

Absolutely agree with this. Why does it rate it head off? It is corny rubbish and the acting is barely a step up from Home and Away. Horrific show.

1. Packed to the Rafters
2. Deal or No Deal
3. Hot Seat
4. Sea Patrol
5. 7pm Project

Roughie: The Simpsons

The Simpsons is a controversial one because I love(d) them, but the same episodes have been on rotation for more than a decade. Enough is enough. End of Era. Put it to bed.

Shell
18 Aug 2009, 15:13
Absolutely agree with this. Why does it rate it head off? It is corny rubbish and the acting is barely a step up from Home and Away. Horrific show.

1. Packed to the Rafters
2. Deal or No Deal
3. Hot Seat
4. Sea Patrol
5. 7pm Project

Roughie: The Simpsons

The Simpsons is a controversial one because I love(d) them, but the same episodes have been on rotation for more than a decade. Enough is enough. End of Era. Put it to bed.

Hey I like Hot Seat! The changes from Millionaire I think work well.. ie. no lifelines, time limit to answer the question. It doesnt drag along like the other one. The only criticism is they have a few numskulls on the show... :D

Couldnt agree with you more on The Simpsons. Long overdue, that show is woeful. But then again any show would be woeful after so many years... i mean there is only so much material/ ideas they can come up with!

Never watched Packed to the Rafter or Sea Patrol, but im assuming I would agree there. I saw the 7pm Project when it began.... then stopped.... then tuned in again last night.

It is so not better. In any capacity it has not improved at all. :thumbsd:

I'm sure there are many more... how about a few of those CSI Miami, Timbucktoo, etc etc... Chucking on a Sunday movie instead of these endless crime shows wouldnt go astray..

Gods_Son23
18 Aug 2009, 16:02
Not to turn this into a simpsons is crap now or not thread, but i think there are still worthwhile episodes everynow and again. Its certainly not near its prime but still worthwhile. A poor simpons episode is still probably better than anything that would take over its timeslot unless 10 start showing good sport onehd programs on 10.

I agree with Shell about movies though. More quality movies would improve the free to air TV experience.

VicO
18 Aug 2009, 16:29
Past season of Simpsons has been a bit of a return to form, IMO.

The Mollusk
18 Aug 2009, 16:37
All cop drama , hospital drama and court room drama shows.

Adrian Shelton
18 Aug 2009, 18:07
Flight of the conchords

Not joking either!!!

Invigoration
18 Aug 2009, 18:17
Flight of the conchords

Not joking either!!!

Get out, and take your disgraceful fail with you.

hirdy_is_champ
18 Aug 2009, 21:12
Channels 7 and 9 News (to a lesser extent 10) need to go. They're glorified entertainment tonight.

Plugger35
18 Aug 2009, 21:31
Flight of the conchords

Not joking either!!!

You can't be serious. That's one of the few shows on FTA worth watching these days. Thankfully SBS have finally put it on in a decent timeslot, unlike Ten who buried it late at night.

Bomber Bears
18 Aug 2009, 21:49
The simpsons is great at 6 o clock, just cos you can chill out when you feel like it and watch a good episode, just for the memories.
Simpsons should be cancelled tho, enough is enough, the shite years just about outweigh the glory years now.

scotty88
19 Aug 2009, 12:15
Rove
7pm project
ACA
Today tonight
and I hate to sound unaustralian but all aussie drama and comedy

Adrian Shelton
19 Aug 2009, 12:19
Get out, and take your disgraceful fail with you.

Id rather the Topp Twins than this rot, Chances are if you like this you like Rove and the 7pm project too

Plugger35
19 Aug 2009, 13:17
Id rather the Topp Twins than this rot, Chances are if you like this you like Rove and the 7pm project too

WTF? So just because someone likes Flight of the Conchords they must like Rove & the 7pm project. How are those shows even remotely similar?

Outstanding logic there.:rolleyes:

Invigoration
19 Aug 2009, 21:34

Clearly not, I'd love to hear what your favourite shows are though?

No doubt 2 and a half men will feature.

Saigan
19 Aug 2009, 23:19
Simpsons
Ellen Degenerate Show.
20 to 1
Simon Townsends Wonder World
Good news Week

Adrian Shelton
20 Aug 2009, 00:51
Clearly not, I'd love to hear what your favourite shows are though?

No doubt 2 and a half men will feature.

Nah no favourites, just cant seperate that other wanker stuff at all

Invigoration
20 Aug 2009, 02:02
Nah no favourites, just cant seperate that other wanker stuff at all

Well just try naming a few that you do like, lets see what people who don't like a creative and original comedy like FOTC actually like.

VicO
20 Aug 2009, 14:17
Went home for lunch today, turned the TV on and had forgotten how bad Aussie TV was during the day. Horrible stuff, should replace every channel with the SBS fishbowl.

stephen_bayne
20 Aug 2009, 14:34
The simpsons is great at 6 o clock, just cos you can chill out when you feel like it and watch a good episode, just for the memories.
Simpsons should be cancelled tho, enough is enough, the shite years just about outweigh the glory years now.

Yep. While I agree the last season has been better they're repeating themselves too often. Like last night's where Homer becomes part of vigilante group. Was a good episode til then and then it just reminded me why this show needs to go.

emuboy
20 Aug 2009, 19:59
Simpsons
Ellen Degenerate Show.
20 to 1
Simon Townsends Wonder World
Good news Week

Just out of curiosity, are you a time traveller?

The original Wonder World (presented by Simon Townsend) ran in the 1980s, and a revamped version was resurrected in 1993/4 (with a very young Catriona Rowntree as a presenter).

I don't think it has been screened - even as repeats - on Free to Air Television for more than a decade.

Adrian Shelton
21 Aug 2009, 11:10
Dont axe GNW, just put it back on ABC. Yes there's a show i actually like happy now you lot :D

THATSGOLD
21 Aug 2009, 20:42
every bloody crime show like ncis and all that shit! tues and wed nights kill me!!

THATSGOLD
21 Aug 2009, 20:45
also ROVE! :thumbsu:

Invigoration
22 Aug 2009, 02:36
Dont axe GNW, just put it back on ABC. Yes there's a show i actually like happy now you lot :D

Check and mate.

Grandmaster_B
23 Aug 2009, 18:49
Any show that has that unfunny ******** Dave Hughes in it.

gytre
24 Aug 2009, 10:48
Should be 50

Indeed, but if I had to pick five -

1. Australia's Funniest Home Videos
2. The Ellen Degeneres Show
3. Big Brother
4. Neighbours
5. Good News Week

Omar Jones
24 Aug 2009, 12:16
Indeed, but if I had to pick five -

1. Australia's Funniest Home Videos
2. The Ellen Degeneres Show
3. Big Brother
4. Neighbours
5. Good News Week

BB - Its already gone thank god.

And you are right about Good News Week - Its ****ed.

gytre
24 Aug 2009, 16:55
BB - Its already gone thank god.

And you are right about Good News Week - Its ****ed.
What? Forever? :eek:

wotdude25
24 Aug 2009, 23:18
Australian TV at the moment is terrible. There is not much to watch and most of the good stuff is either burried late at night or completely axed. I've almost given up on free tv. Almost every Australian drama is horrible, and they only seem to go after the poor international shows or toss the good ones into a late timeslot in favor of new rubbish. Shows about policemen, doctors and reality dominate and people are stupid enough to watch the drivel so it stays on air.
Now everyone has different views about constitute good shows, but so much good stuff will never make it to our screens. More than half of the new BBC shows will never air on free TV here, and the stuff from the US which is actually good will be buried in a late slot or axed by the third season. Not to mention it now takes longer than it did a few years ago for shows to be shown here. It used to take about a month and a half for shows to get here, now they just hold it off as long as they can.

TV nowadays for me is basically sports coverage, with a few comedic shows. I choose now, after being forced by the Australian TV networks to download the shows i like and now I don't have to suffer through the adds for these abhorrent shows now.
And now a lot of my viewing is on channel 1, the adds can go away. If TV shows annoy you, don't watch them and let them annoy you. Then you are just as stupid as the person who watches it.

Ahh it's fun to rant