View Full Version : preview Sunday Morning/Afternoon Gameday Preview: Dons Vs Saints

footycool
16 Aug 2009, 01:44
So we have finally reached gameday for the big game against the saints. What are your feeling on the result later today and what gut feeling do you have

Discuss:thumbsu:

Steve7920
16 Aug 2009, 04:44
Saints for sure, even though I've had a lot of doubts on certain games this year, I have much confidence in this one.

Even if Essendon play really well, we should still come away with it because our structure is just superb and we have pretty much a full-strength team.

Having Lloyd out at this end of the year is very unlucky for them, and their forward line is just not strong enough without him.

EDIT: lol oops i was thinking i was in the stkilda forum, so sorry if i came off a little cocky.

Boiled Geezer
16 Aug 2009, 05:36
Saints for sure, even though I've had a lot of doubts on certain games this year, I have much confidence in this one.

Even if Essendon play really well, we should still come away with it because our structure is just superb and we have pretty much a full-strength team.

Having Lloyd out at this end of the year is very unlucky for them, and their forward line is just not strong enough without him.

EDIT: lol oops i was thinking i was in the stkilda forum, so sorry if i came off a little cocky.

Saints supporters being cocky happens once in a blue moon (60 years give or take) so I'm sure we can let it slide.

Godzke
16 Aug 2009, 09:56

To be brutally honest, he's offered very little in the second half of this season. And overall, the season for him's been 'ok'.

Our forward line isn't strong without him ... but it still isn't strong with him. :(

hateitorlovett13
16 Aug 2009, 10:40
I'd say it's stronger without him.

Hurley and Neagle at least give us structure and lead up targets, whereas a FF who is too slow on the lead, has no spring for marking contests, and doesn't tend to get in too many one on one contests in the square to maximise the only real asset he still has, his strength, probably deducts from our performance.

For me, this was cemented last week against Brisbane. Our forward line hasn't looked that functional for a long time.

Anyway, I honestly think we will beat St. Kilda. They are not an overly quick team by leg speed, and they sure as hell don't move the ball all that quickly either. This should allow our backmen to regroup and get their numbers behind the ball, and then break the lines when we have possession.

Our main problem will be with either team's KPF. We need to contain Reiwoldt and Koschitzke, but more importantly need our forward's to kick some goals. St. Kilda's backline are widely recognised as the best in the league, but do the likes of Gilbert, Fisher, Dawson and Hudghton match up well against Neagle, Hurley and a more free Ryder? Personally, I think this could work well for us, especially with the inclusion of Bellchambers, allowing Ryder to spend more time in the forward line. They don't have anyone to play on him, and hopefully he can expose this.

tim_saints
16 Aug 2009, 10:46
As a saint's supporter i could see you guys being competetive for 3 quarters and then maybe the saint's just getting away a bit in the last. But i hope it's a good game for most of the time beause i rekon the crowd wil get 50k+ which will create an awesome atmosphere at the dome.

my tip would be saints by 30 which i think is a resonable margin.

Darealrath
16 Aug 2009, 10:46
Absolutely everything would have to go right for us to win. We'll really miss Winderlich a lot again. I'm expecting a decent performance; probably a 5 goal loss.

tim_saints
16 Aug 2009, 10:52
Absolutely everything would have to go right for us to win. We'll really miss Winderlich a lot again. I'm expecting a decent performance; probably a 5 goal loss.

That' what i think i really like essendon there my 2nd favourite team for sure, and want them to get the 8th spot and a final against carton which i could see you winning. But i think the constan running breaking he lines game style you have can sometimes work as a disadvantage towards the end of the games, as you may tire a bit. But like i said a couple of post's above this i HOPE it's a good game but i think we will be a bit to good come the last quarter.

theboxmike
16 Aug 2009, 10:54
Saints to win by 30+

bombers2011
16 Aug 2009, 10:57
Michael Quinn was in my (non erotic) dream last night.

I was his chaperone driving him around to countless public appearances around Melbourne. He was a Star.

Maybe today will be his breakout game?

Quinn to kick 5 from the forward pocket!

Milne to be beaten to a pulp by Atkinson.

What the hell, Neagle 5 goals as well...

We win by 3 points
Carltank win by 10.

GO DONS

The Donners
16 Aug 2009, 11:53
If we play the high risk kamikaze football that got us in contention for the finals in the first place, we're a chance to beat any team in the league... if not, we're an average team. Which one will rock up today? A final is on the line, could prove too much for our boys, today will certainly test their mettle! ;)

Rigby
16 Aug 2009, 13:39
If Essendon don't handball it around as much as they did last week against the Lions then I think they're in with a real chance. Hopefully will be a close game! The Saints have got Melbourne then North Melbourne in the next two weeks.. if they're not beaten today then I think they probably won't be for the rest of the season!

PS: I'm new here, as a non Saints/Bombers fan am I allowed to post in this section? If not, I'm sorry! :P

Sainters08
16 Aug 2009, 13:46
If we play the high risk kamikaze football that got us in contention for the finals in the first place, we're a chance to beat any team in the league... if not, we're an average team. Which one will rock up today? A final is on the line, could prove too much for our boys, today will certainly test their mettle! ;)

It has been for 2 weeks...:rolleyes:

GoldenboyHird_5
16 Aug 2009, 13:54
I've permanent markered this one.

Saints by 60+

Could well be 100 points as well without Winderlich and Reimers.

clees
16 Aug 2009, 14:14
Hey all, as a newbie just got couple of comments/ questions to put out there

Firstly, I am of the opinion that while we certainly shouldnt be favorites, the current odds given to us ($6.00) are looking extremally tempting (though not as tempting as the $11 at quarter time in our first game against carlton). Our man on man style of footy could possibly be the style of footy to break down the saints structure. After all, they are one of those teams (like carlton) that we seem to man up against quiet nicely (our worst i would have to say was Richmond). We just have to ensure we arnt blown out of the water in the first quarter like we were last time.
We also tend to play our best footy in big matches when it counts and our worst in lesser games. this is certainly a big match for us

Also, i wouldnt mind hearing what people think about playing Hurley up forward (apologies if there is somewhere else i am meant to ask this). While i havnt been able to watch many games this year (bloody free to air only showing about half our games, and not having the time to get to more then a couple of games so far) i reckon that hurley is a dam good backman and thus we should give him as much game time as possible there. with the likes of Neagle, Gumbelton, Still, Daniher ect coming through playing hurley up forward is little more then a quick fix solution which is hurting our back line more then it is helping the forwards. for a team that is still developing we should be giving people like Hurley as much experiance in the positions we want them to play in the future as possible

dave_27
16 Aug 2009, 14:18
St Kilda by 100+

The Donners
16 Aug 2009, 14:25
It has been for 2 weeks...:rolleyes:

You're switched on today!

Godzke
16 Aug 2009, 14:45
PS: I'm new here, as a non Saints/Bombers fan am I allowed to post in this section? If not, I'm sorry! :P
welcome

feel free not to banter ... like i have done in other boards and been banned for lol.

i believe it was the geelong board too ^_^

LeeARM
16 Aug 2009, 14:46
Also, i wouldnt mind hearing what people think about playing Hurley up forward (apologies if there is somewhere else i am meant to ask this). While i havnt been able to watch many games this year (bloody free to air only showing about half our games, and not having the time to get to more then a couple of games so far) i reckon that hurley is a dam good backman and thus we should give him as much game time as possible there. with the likes of Neagle, Gumbelton, Still, Daniher ect coming through playing hurley up forward is little more then a quick fix solution which is hurting our back line more then it is helping the forwards. for a team that is still developing we should be giving people like Hurley as much experiance in the positions we want them to play in the future as possible

I agree with you. I'm sure that Hurley could be a good forward but I think he's most needed down back and that's where we should be developing him. It seems a bit strange to me that we're looking to have a backline of Pears, Hurley and Hooker but we're only playing Pears there. I am aware that we still have Fletch there so we don't need many more backs but I question how much Hurley and Hooker are benefiting from playing in ruck and forward when we want them to be our future backmen. Hopefully when Hille, Gumbleton and to a lesser extent, Laycock are back next year Hooker and Hurley can focus more on being backmen.

essendon2008
16 Aug 2009, 15:31
Does anyone have an online streaming link?

HirdforPM
16 Aug 2009, 15:44
Does anyone have an online streaming link?

www.foxtel.com.au/signup (http://www.foxtel.com.au/signup)
tightass

bb12
16 Aug 2009, 15:46
latest teams:

St Kilda - no change
Essendon - In: Davey, Out: Reimers

Rigby
16 Aug 2009, 15:58
Not everyone can afford Foxtel. Asshole

AFL.com.au were having free streams for those outside Aus that you could get around using hotspot shield but it seems they've stopped that.

Try your luck at www.justin.tv when the game has started, Carlton/PA is streaming there now so you might get lucky. :thumbsu:

essendon2008
16 Aug 2009, 16:00
AFL.com.au were having free streams for those outside Aus that you could get around using hotspot shield but it seems they've stopped that.

Try your luck at www.justin.tv (http://www.justin.tv) when the game has started, Carlton/PA is streaming there now so you might get lucky. :thumbsu:

Thanks mate. :thumbsu: Much better help than some of my own on this forum.

Rigby
16 Aug 2009, 16:04
Thanks mate. :thumbsu: Much better help than some of my own on this forum.
Haha, being in Brisbane I can appreciate how frustrating it is not to get to see live footy.. we're lucky to get one non delayed game a week. :thumbsd:

HirdforPM
16 Aug 2009, 16:16
go carlton, 5 goals up now

Mad Bomber Sean
16 Aug 2009, 16:27
www.foxtel.com.au/signup (http://www.foxtel.com.au/signup)
tightass

:thumbsd:

for many os streaming is the only way they can see a game.
Streaming rocks..cheers for Justin TV

.. If Hurley & Atko can play break out games, we are a small chance.Go Dons

essendon2008
16 Aug 2009, 16:28
Haha, being in Brisbane I can appreciate how frustrating it is not to get to see live footy.. we're lucky to get one non delayed game a week. :thumbsd:

Yeah that's terrible. I complain about the TV coverage in Melbourne and compared to Brisbane we are bathed in luxury.

HirdforPM
16 Aug 2009, 16:45
great start 2 goals to saints in the first 30 seconds