16 Aug 2009, 19:39
VFL Round 20
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/bhh-vs-casey-scorpions.gif
Box Hill Hawks
v
Casey Scorpions
Sunday 30th August
@ Box Hill City Oval
Seniors start 2:00pm (VFL Reserves 11:10am)
With Box Hill having the bye next week, I thought I'd still get in nice and early so you have all been forewarned that we would love to get a big crowd in to cheer the boys on. So put the date in the diary and be there to cheer on the boys as they attempt to secure a top 4 spot in the finals! Even better if you can get there to cheer on the ressies!
Go Box Hill Hawks!
walhawk
27 Aug 2009, 21:08
Box Hill Hawks
B
Dew
Renouf
Sierakowski
HB
Whitecross
Suckling
Kiel
C
Breust
Yze
Lisle
HF
Iles
Morton
Taylor
F
Williams
Bello
Murphy
R
Pedersen
Tuck
Walsh
Int
Peterson
Markovic
Smithwick
Neil
Fagan
Gibson
Curnow
McQueen-Miscamble
George
Cunningham*
My son is playing Auskick at hlf time so I'll be there early for a change.
buddylove_23
27 Aug 2009, 21:19
Surely we have to bring in Dew or Willow... I'll be at the game...
Rudi Gilham
27 Aug 2009, 21:31
Surely we have to bring in Dew or Willow... I'll be at the game...
I hope Carl Peterson plays BH seniors. He's been named on the bench. Poor bloke has had no luck this year. (not to be confused with Cam Pederson)
thommus
27 Aug 2009, 23:12
Hope Dewy gets the send-off he deserves
hawks_time
27 Aug 2009, 23:43
I hope Carl Peterson plays BH seniors. He's been named on the bench. Poor bloke has had no luck this year. (not to be confused with Cam Pederson)
I am one who gets confused with both. Which ones the indigenous guy and which one was the one voted most improved in the VFL this year?
barbster
28 Aug 2009, 02:39
I'm confused how Renouf is named in both Hawthorn and Box Hill's line up.
timhawx
28 Aug 2009, 13:38
Looking forward to watching Box Hill cement their place in the finals and Willow and Dewie play themselves into senior finals form for the following week.
houdinihuddo
28 Aug 2009, 14:12
B
Dew
Renouf (H & 2)
Sierakowski (2)
HB
Whitecross
Suckling (H)
Kiel
C
Breust
Yze
Lisle
HF
Iles
Morton (2)
Taylor (H)
F
Williams
Bello
Murphy
R
Pedersen
Tuck (H)
Walsh
Int
Peterson (2) Curnow
Markovic Cunningham
Smithwick Neil Fagan
McQueen-Miscamble (2)
George Gibson
B
Morton (1)
Smith
Sierakowski (1)
HB
Kitchin
Sandilands
McQueen-Miscamble (1)
C
Marcius
Van Unen
Cross
HF
McGuinness
Walker
Dell Aquilla
F
Conyers
Hoegel
Renton
R
Peterson (1)
Purcell
Renouf (1)
Int
Furey Parker Hogan
Bull Coyle Kennedy
Tomkins Carey Nye
Missing: Roughead, Ladson, Ellis, Young, Guerra, Thorp, Boyle, Franklin, Croad, Lowden, Campbell, Stokes [12 & 9 Premiership including Crawford]
Morton and Renouf have been named in the BH firsts and seconds no doubt to qualify for the VFL finals. I expect them to sit on the bench in the seconds because Morton has an injury based on training yesterday and Renouf is playing for the Hawks on Saturday. It is likely Carl Peterson has been given the OK to play two quarters thus the seconds could have only two players on the bench for the first half and one player on the bench for the second half.
Cam Pedersen and Carl Pe[B]terson [HFC Rookie].
barbster
28 Aug 2009, 17:43
Sounds a bit suss with Renouf named in 3 sides & Morton in 2, I feel sorry for the BH kids who will miss playing finals due to these 2.
CrowdedHouse
28 Aug 2009, 19:56
Of course Radio 3WBC 94.1 FM will be there broadcasting the game LIVE from 1pm.
Also streaming on the web at http://www.3wbc.org.au
... and let's hope we actually SEE the Hawks (AFL) Cheer Squad show up with Flags and Streamers and add some colour and noise to the day.
Pete @ 3WBC
walhawk
28 Aug 2009, 22:32
Can someone please clarify which Hawthorn players can play finals for BHH.
GNCLongJack
29 Aug 2009, 07:34
I am one who gets confused with both. Which ones the indigenous guy and which one was the one voted most improved in the VFL this year?
Carl Peterson is the indigenous player with the ability to explode into the ranks alongside Rioli with his magician skills. Cam Pederson is a 193cm very talented tall, who with Markovic, Hawthorn should have another very good look at. I'd say Pederson (Cam) would have got those votes.
houdinihuddo
29 Aug 2009, 09:40
Cam PedersEn and Carl PetersOn.
How is Cam Pedersen's pace?
rdhopkins2
29 Aug 2009, 23:05
DEW's last game for Box Hill tomorrow. Let's give him a big Hawthorn and Box Hill send off.
GNCLongJack
30 Aug 2009, 09:30
How is Cam Pedersen's pace?
As a spectator, watching from the Mound at Box Hill, a smaller ground and more congested play, it's hard to know if this would transfer to a hit out at the G, but at BH he always gets to the contest, reads the play very well, pinch hits in the ruck to great effect, is a very intelligent and accurate kick for goal. We used to call our ex-captain Clinton Alleway the "money man", well Cam seems ready to fill those shoes, meaning if it came down to a shot from 50 after the final siren, he would cooly nail it. The invitation to do a pre-season with Hawthorn last year seems to have really impacted on his personal game. In Hawthorn colours in "Ethiad Stadium"? (Telstra Dome), I'd like to see that.
GNCLongJack
30 Aug 2009, 09:36
Cam PedersEn and Carl PetersOn.
Pedersen, Peterson, Pedersen, Peterson, Pedersen, Peterson, Pedersen, Peterson, .......... won't this confuse the commentators.
Pederson is 193cm? How's his build for a possible KPD?
Roger Rogerson
30 Aug 2009, 15:00
As a spectator, watching from the Mound at Box Hill, a smaller ground and more congested play, it's hard to know if this would transfer to a hit out at the G, but at BH he always gets to the contest, reads the play very well, pinch hits in the ruck to great effect, is a very intelligent and accurate kick for goal. We used to call our ex-captain Clinton Alleway the "money man", well Cam seems ready to fill those shoes, meaning if it came down to a shot from 50 after the final siren, he would cooly nail it. The invitation to do a pre-season with Hawthorn last year seems to have really impacted on his personal game. In Hawthorn colours in "Ethiad Stadium"? (Telstra Dome), I'd like to see that.
He works very hard at VFL level - covers a heap of ground. Would love to see him on hawthorns list next year. Big body and big engine and can play everywhere. Prob like Hodgey pace-wise. He is a class above VFL level - would like to have another close-look at his kicking effectiveness but from memory was good.
thatswhatimtalkinabout
30 Aug 2009, 15:12
Half time
BHH 7.5 47
Casey 6.3.39
Lisle 4 goals.
Half time
BHH 7.5 47
Casey 6.3.39
Lisle 4 goals.
sweet.....:thumbsu:
Roger Rogerson
30 Aug 2009, 15:38
Half time
BHH 7.5 47
Casey 6.3.39
Lisle 4 goals.
Geez Lisle with 4 of 7 is impressive.
the walloper
30 Aug 2009, 15:39
Box Hill 77 49
Casey 7 3 45
thatswhatimtalkinabout
30 Aug 2009, 16:05
3/4 time
BHH 12.10 82
Casey 9.3 57
Lisle 5 goals
Williams 3 goals
Lisle kicks his 5th from 45m on the siren for 3qt. I know we are 12.10 82 not sure about casey
bryan_1981
30 Aug 2009, 16:17
so Lisle will play in the 1's next week..... oh wait :(:(:(:(
thatswhatimtalkinabout
30 Aug 2009, 16:24
Casey kicks the first 4 goals of the last - 2 points in it, 13 minutes in.
noosa hawk mad
30 Aug 2009, 16:29
Thanks for the updates Guys.....:thumbsu:
thatswhatimtalkinabout
30 Aug 2009, 16:33
Entering time on BHH 90 - Casey 89.
Final score 90-89 1 point win to the hawks!
thatswhatimtalkinabout
30 Aug 2009, 16:40
Hawks win by a point!!!!!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::t humbsu:
Awesome news - I guess that guarantees us a Top 4 spot, eh?
No, the Bullants will win today and secure 4th. Box Hill will finish 5th and most likely play Geelong next week.
BuddyHawkers
30 Aug 2009, 17:26
Who won in the Reserves?
stemline
30 Aug 2009, 17:28
Ressies march on:
Box Hill Hawks 4.3 6.6 15.10 24.18 (162)
Casey Scorpions 0.2 1.7 2.9 2.10 (22)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Hoegel 7 Renton 6 Parker 3 Nye 2 Conyers 2 Peterson Bull Dell Aquilla Marcius
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Cross Kitchin Renton Marcius McGuinness Hoegel
REPORTED PLAYERS:
Box Hill Hawks: Nil
Casey Scorpions: S Grasser with striking J Cross in the second quarter
grizzlym
30 Aug 2009, 18:16
Ressies march on:
Box Hill Hawks 4.3 6.6 15.10 24.18 (162)
Casey Scorpions 0.2 1.7 2.9 2.10 (22)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Hoegel 7 Renton 6 Parker 3 Nye 2 Conyers 2 Peterson Bull Dell Aquilla Marcius
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Cross Kitchin Renton Marcius McGuinness Hoegel
REPORTED PLAYERS:
Box Hill Hawks: Nil
Casey Scorpions: S Grasser with striking J Cross in the second quarter
Gee another nail-biter... The juggernaut rolls on.
HH or anyone else who's been watching the twos - who could be elevated?
arupist
30 Aug 2009, 18:26
Gee another nail-biter... The juggernaut rolls on.
HH or anyone else who's been watching the twos - who could be elevated?
Was kinda hoping Peterson would show something but he can't seem to figure in the best in the 2's. I would think if he is to be considered AFL material, he should be a class above these guys.
Anyone who has seen him play able to comment?
timhawx
30 Aug 2009, 18:41
No, the Bullants will win today and secure 4th. Box Hill will finish 5th and most likely play Geelong next week.
Box Hill website confirms Hawks Vs Cats in the 1st Elimination Final to be played at TEAC oval in Port Melbourne either on Sat or Sun (TBC)
madhawkboy
30 Aug 2009, 18:44
Bloody hell, why are BHH reserves amazing?
go hawks!!!
30 Aug 2009, 20:07
my analysis of hawks listed players
suckling: again, i'm his biggest fan, classy, kicked a goal on the run missed a few played on the wing.....a champ. silky skills and yes, a luke hodge look aliuke, should be on the list next year
kiel: injured his wrist came back in last quarter....don't see a future for him
bruest: played a bad game, big fan of him, but needs to bulk up, and work on forward pressure. tackling needs significnat improivement, if he does this he will be a afl player
tuck: poor game, dissapointing, needs a big pre season, is going backwards while kennedy is quickly taking his place...
taylor: dominant was everywhere today, great in ruck, and played forward and looked threatening...well done!!
willo: played half back flank for first 2.5 quarters and kicked 2 goals running forward, knocked out a player with a good bump....i think hawks were telling him to work on defensive skills playin there....then went forward and kicked another,,,,class above the rest and looked fit, should have played yesterdayt if he did we would have a forward target.....ran hard and tried hard
lisle: 5 goals....played welll showed alot, but, i would have liked him to play back this year....he wi;ll be good
walsh: quiet game
dew- did not play
M&M: rookie him next year, close to BOG, only been beaten once this year by thommo
i think that is all of them???
spoke to barker, bad news, said bailey looked to do his ACL....not good, bloody devastated
said peterson will be a star....any news on his game today in the ressies?
spoek to stokes: will not play this year said he will be back next year.
go box hill!
RustyHawk
30 Aug 2009, 20:18
Was kinda hoping Peterson would show something but he can't seem to figure in the best in the 2's. I would think if he is to be considered AFL material, he should be a class above these guys.
Anyone who has seen him play able to comment?
:mad: Fair dinkum
The answer is in one of the posts above by Houdinihuddo.
Peterson played a half of football - as per his rehab schedule
Pretty hard to best on ground when you are recovering from injury and only play a half......................................................
GNCLongJack
30 Aug 2009, 20:28
Did not notice Carl Peterson in the magoos either, and no Dew. Sierakowski had his shoulder in a sling from just before quarter time in the Seniors. Kiel looked to have some real trouble with his right wrist, but after treatment with Sirra gone for the game figured in the rotations. I agree with the previous report on Taylor, his game was tremendous. good strong marks, a great goal from a set shot about 50 out on the right fwd flank, a ala "leaping Leo Barry" match saving mark in the tense last few minutes just outside their goal square, and then a number of cool decision making disposals in the last quarter, when Casey was steamrollering home from 28 points down to hit the friont. Boltons decision to recruit players with AFL list experience once again saved the day. Yze -Melb., Curnow-Crows, Isles - Magpies these guys are so assertive in tight situations. Even to disagree with the previous poster about Kiel, he plays with a growing arrogance with his clearing from the D50. Suckling is brilliant, great in his own right, but certainly is Clinton Young Mk II. We missed our Captain dearly, but Marco Bello, probably the oldest player on the ground, and shortest was fantastic filling the Kenna void. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
The BIG X
30 Aug 2009, 20:29
I am aware of a player for BH Hawks 4ths named............... ar .... yes Rusty. He played 30% of the game and was named BOG:rolleyes:
rdhopkins2
30 Aug 2009, 20:38
Guts to fight back after falling behind in the last and looking like we could be hit by the Casey freight train.
Taylor- agree, superb game. Play like that every week :D
Sierakowski was rumoured to have done a collarbone. Didn't see him come back on.
Kiel was rumoured to have a fractured wrist but came back on- possibly a reset dislocation.
Williams was pretty good from limited opportunity.
M&M very solid.
Tuck- few good things but overall not what I'd expect of him
Lisle- 5 goals, but hold a few more marks and could be even more dangerous.
Walsh didn't have a great game but given Taylor was dominating could be forgiven lol.
No Dew, driving home the local KFC was sold out of chicken. Joking. Love the big fella :D
Is Hoegel the same boy who played U18 Vic Metro this year. Thought he look good then and is doing well at Box Hill. J
Rudi Gilham
30 Aug 2009, 21:21
Is Hoegel the same boy who played U18 Vic Metro this year. Thought he look good then and is doing well at Box Hill. J
That's Jarryd I think. The bloke who kicked 7 in our ressies is his older brother, Chris.
houdinihuddo
30 Aug 2009, 22:29
My thoughts on the HFC listed players:
Mark Williams - I was very impressed by his spirit and the way he enjoyed himself during the pre-game warm up. Read the game well, took some good marks and used the ball well. Copped a couple of whacks and stood tall.
Simon Taylor - Competed very well in the ruck and took a couple of good marks. Kicked a very good goal but would need to do more to justify another game in the AFL. Late in the last quarter he needed to pull his head in when we received a free kick 30 metres out from the Scorpions goal. Umpire Haemorrhoid McLaren would have jumped at the opportunity to reverse the free kick.
Travis Tuck - Strong game defensively and offensively with some good disposals. However he was caught in possession on a number of occasions and his disposal sometimes let him down. He needs to be improve his decision making and disposal.
Stuart Dew - Did not play.
Jarryd Morton - Appeared on the ground for two minutes in the seconds to qualify for the finals. He hopes to be fit to play next week.
Jordan Lisle - Presented well from full forward and took some strong marks. Kicked very well in the first half but in the second half he missed a couple of shots from 40 metres directly in front. Played a good defensive game to keep the ball in the forward 50 with some strong tackles and kept his feet well.
Brendan Whitecross - Played a serviceable game with a mixture of good and bad disposals. I think he is carrying an injury otherwise he would have been playing AFL.
Tim Walsh - Not a big game however he positioned himself well and took some strong marks. Competed well in the ruck and generally handled the ball cleanly. DOB 3/10/89 and first full year after a knee reco. Second year on rookie list and has made good progress this year so I would not like to run the risk of loosing him.
Matt Suckling - Good defensively and once again the majority of his disposals were first class. Makes up for his lack of pace with good reading of the play.
Will Sierakowski - Started the game well with a strong tackle and a couple of clean possessions before being crunched half way through the first quarter. He sustained a broken collar bone and stayed on the bench until half time and watched the second half. Will has a lot of character.
Hayden Kiel - He was crushed in the first quarter and sustained what was believed to be a game ending shoulder injury. When the game was in the balance in the third quarter Hayden returned to the field and played a strong and steady game by shutting down his opponent and showing some good dash. A top effort.
Luke Bruest - He struggled but I think he copped a corkie in the first quarter.
Carl Peterson - Played the first half in the seconds and competed well and had around a dozen possessions. His attack on the ball was good and he used the ball well. Most importantly he pulled up well and hopes to play 3/4 in his next game.
For the guys who have expressed an interest in some BH listed players, my brief thoughts are:
Lucas Markovic played a very strong game from the back line. His straight line speed is good and he usually keeps the ball in front but he is slow when he needs to change direction.
Cam Pedersen competed well as usual but struggled to get into the game. I am a big wrap for Cam however I think he is similar to like Lucas because he is slow when he needs to change direction.
Lachie George did some good work but overall I think he struggled with the pace of the game.
Ed Curnow won a lot of the ball however his disposal by hand and foot was generally very poor.
Steve Kenna - Probably could have played this week but was given an extra week so he will be right for the finals.
go hawks!!!
30 Aug 2009, 23:23
thanks houdi.
one hawks player i missed is whitecross.
he did not play well but he has massive leadership capabilities.
i have noticed his 'talk' over the last few weeks.
at quarter time, he brought the boys together and addressed them all. i am so impressed
he looks like he has a issue with his knee and never was the same after the game in adelaide.
another pre season and his third year being 2010 will be a beauty!!
rdhopkins2
30 Aug 2009, 23:27
Well done on the reports boys! Some great reading there!
usahawk
31 Aug 2009, 04:21
Well done on the reports boys! Some great reading there!
Seconded. Much appreciated.
GNCLongJack
31 Aug 2009, 12:01
Just an added note to reflect how the BH boys stood up. Of the 22, 10 were listed as Hawthorn including the rookies such as Sierakowski, who was gone by qtr time. None of the 12 BH listed boys take a backward step, and as Damien Hardewicke announced to the Richmond hopeful last week, if there are any on the Tigers list that are not prepared to "go", when it was there turn, they will find themselves out the door, all the BH boys back each other, and like Sewelly are prepared to put their head over the ball. Curnow for instance took a huge hit, going for a mark in the 3rd qtr, I think it was, but groggy as he was, 5 min later he figured in an enormous piece of team play thru the centre. Yze was brilliant, and covered an enormous amount of ground to rally the side. On the other end of the experience, or rather lack of it, they introduced a M&M look-a-like, no. 55 Matt Ciunningham 188/81kg, turning 20 next Jan. absolutely fierce attack on the ball. In the ressies, there are others ready to step up, such as at long last Lachlan George did this week. BH and Brendan Bolton have a great future.
Roger Rogerson
31 Aug 2009, 12:07
My thoughts on the HFC listed players:
Mark Williams - I was very impressed by his spirit and the way he enjoyed himself during the pre-game warm up. Read the game well, took some good marks and used the ball well. Copped a couple of whacks and stood tall.
Simon Taylor - Competed very well in the ruck and took a couple of good marks. Kicked a very good goal but would need to do more to justify another game in the AFL. Late in the last quarter he needed to pull his head in when we received a free kick 30 metres out from the Scorpions goal. Umpire Haemorrhoid McLaren would have jumped at the opportunity to reverse the free kick.
Travis Tuck - Strong game defensively and offensively with some good disposals. However he was caught in possession on a number of occasions and his disposal sometimes let him down. He needs to be improve his decision making and disposal.
Stuart Dew - Did not play.
Jarryd Morton - Appeared on the ground for two minutes in the seconds to qualify for the finals. He hopes to be fit to play next week.
Jordan Lisle - Presented well from full forward and took some strong marks. Kicked very well in the first half but in the second half he missed a couple of shots from 40 metres directly in front. Played a good defensive game to keep the ball in the forward 50 with some strong tackles and kept his feet well.
Brendan Whitecross - Played a serviceable game with a mixture of good and bad disposals. I think he is carrying an injury otherwise he would have been playing AFL.
Tim Walsh - Not a big game however he positioned himself well and took some strong marks. Competed well in the ruck and generally handled the ball cleanly. DOB 3/10/89 and first full year after a knee reco. Second year on rookie list and has made good progress this year so I would not like to run the risk of loosing him.
Matt Suckling - Good defensively and once again the majority of his disposals were first class. Makes up for his lack of pace with good reading of the play.
Will Sierakowski - Started the game well with a strong tackle and a couple of clean possessions before being crunched half way through the first quarter. He sustained a broken collar bone and stayed on the bench until half time and watched the second half. Will has a lot of character.
Hayden Kiel - He was crushed in the first quarter and sustained what was believed to be a game ending shoulder injury. When the game was in the balance in the third quarter Hayden returned to the field and played a strong and steady game by shutting down his opponent and showing some good dash. A top effort.
Luke Bruest - He struggled but I think he copped a corkie in the first quarter.
Carl Peterson - Played the first half in the seconds and competed well and had around a dozen possessions. His attack on the ball was good and he used the ball well. Most importantly he pulled up well and hopes to play 3/4 in his next game.
For the guys who have expressed an interest in some BH listed players, my brief thoughts are:
Lucas Markovic played a very strong game from the back line. His straight line speed is good and he usually keeps the ball in front but he is slow when he needs to change direction.
Cam Pedersen competed well as usual but struggled to get into the game. I am a big wrap for Cam however I think he is similar to like Lucas because he is slow when he needs to change direction.
Lachie George did some good work but overall I think he struggled with the pace of the game.
Ed Curnow won a lot of the ball however his disposal by hand and foot was generally very poor.
Steve Kenna - Probably could have played this week but was given an extra week so he will be right for the finals.
Great reading HH. Much appreciated.
Interesting to read your comments on Pederson. I certainly agree that that is the case with Marko. I reckon it is one of Beau Dowler's problems as well.
LuvMyHawks
31 Aug 2009, 14:40
Thanks HH. Always enjoy reading your reports.. An excellent read..:thumbsu:
Collins-Langford-Ayres
31 Aug 2009, 15:25
Great updates fellas. Looks like we have some rookies with lots of promise.
grizzlym
31 Aug 2009, 20:14
HH, and all other bearers of fine and informed news: many thanks once again.
I've been hearing good things about Bolton, especially that he's a great teacher. And that's so important, especially for their grounding and development.
houdinihuddo
2 Sep 2009, 11:35
shepp23 queried "Was Whitecross reported?"
The incident involved a Casey player being stretchered off the ground after he was knocked out in a marking contest. Whitey ran in hard to spoil a mark more from the side than from behind the player. Both players were at full stretch and from memory the spoil cleared the players by around 5 to 10 metres. The umpires called play on and the play continued for a short time. When the umpires stopped the play two Scorpions gave Whitey a couple of pushes but there was no really angry exchange. If my take is correct I don't think Whitey did anything wrong because his intention was to spoil not bump and he punched the ball clear.
madhawkboy queried "Bloody hell, why are BHH reserves amazing?"
The reserves are a treat to watch because they play a hard running team game. Their offensive and defensive running is sensational because they often run the ball forward through the centre of the ground with precision handball and the players who release the ball keep running to protect the ball carrier, provide an option and clean up after any tackle, fumble or poor disposal. I think a big negative for the Hawks this year has been the lack of shepherding and hard running to protect the ball carrier.
grizzlym queried "HH or anyone else who's been watching the twos - who could be elevated?"
There are a few players who have performed very well all season and it could be argued they have earned a promotion. However I think it is significant that Ben Fagin and Lachie George who have played the last two games and one game respectively in the firsts have both struggled with the pace of the game. I think the Hawks will be looking at a couple of players in the seconds but I would prefer not to name them in the unlikely event that a player has slipped under the AFL recruiter's radar and they take any notice of Big Footy posters.
The BIG X
2 Sep 2009, 16:09
shepp23 queried "Was Whitecross .
I think the Hawks will be looking at a couple of players in the seconds but I would prefer not to name them in the unlikely event that a player has slipped under the AFL recruiter's radar and they take any notice of Big Footy posters.
You are full of intrigue HH ;)
grizzlym
2 Sep 2009, 16:44
shepp23 queried "Was Whitecross reported?"
The incident involved a Casey player being stretchered off the ground after he was knocked out in a marking contest. Whitey ran in hard to spoil a mark more from the side than from behind the player. Both players were at full stretch and from memory the spoil cleared the players by around 5 to 10 metres. The umpires called play on and the play continued for a short time. When the umpires stopped the play two Scorpions gave Whitey a couple of pushes but there was no really angry exchange. If my take is correct I don't think Whitey did anything wrong because his intention was to spoil not bump and he punched the ball clear.
madhawkboy queried "Bloody hell, why are BHH reserves amazing?"
The reserves are a treat to watch because they play a hard running team game. Their offensive and defensive running is sensational because they often run the ball forward through the centre of the ground with precision handball and the players who release the ball keep running to protect the ball carrier, provide an option and clean up after any tackle, fumble or poor disposal. I think a big negative for the Hawks this year has been the lack of shepherding and hard running to protect the ball carrier.
grizzlym queried "HH or anyone else who's been watching the twos - who could be elevated?"
There are a few players who have performed very well all season and it could be argued they have earned a promotion. However I think it is significant that Ben Fagin and Lachie George who have played the last two games and one game respectively in the firsts have both struggled with the pace of the game. I think the Hawks will be looking at a couple of players in the seconds but I would prefer not to name them in the unlikely event that a player has slipped under the AFL recruiter's radar and they take any notice of Big Footy posters.
I completely understand HH - wouldn't have it any other way!