View Full Version : Jobe on Footy Classified

abers47
17 Aug 2009, 21:08
Don't normally watch this , but have to have a look at Jobe!

George Washington
17 Aug 2009, 21:23
Fill us foxtel-less people in.

Jono B
17 Aug 2009, 21:27
It is on Ch. 9.

Spikey
17 Aug 2009, 21:32
Fill us Shitney people in

Wildrig
17 Aug 2009, 21:33
9 HD for us interstaters

George Washington
17 Aug 2009, 21:34
What time im getting some rubbish farming show...

bombersrbest05
17 Aug 2009, 21:41
It's on at 10.30 channel nine tonight

danzan22
17 Aug 2009, 22:34
Coming up later in the show.

Edit: saw the other thread, my bad.

The Dustbin
17 Aug 2009, 22:42
**************Breaking News****************

Caro has just declared Essendon as the most exciting team in the AFL.

Godzke
17 Aug 2009, 22:46
LOL! Caro

The Dustbin
17 Aug 2009, 23:06
* Jobe declared the victory over the aints better then ANZAC day.
* Greg Williams has been an influence and is still in constant contact today.
* Happy for Lloyd to continue as captain in 2010.
* Blamed poor fitness for his drop of form in 08 and Sheeds lost confidence in him. Relationship with Sheeds is fine.
* Big wrap for Pears, Garry Lyon has him the Rising Star winner in front of Rich.
* Knights is big on continued devenlopment.

Ryder_Hooker
17 Aug 2009, 23:08
Thought he spoke pretty well. Intelligent bloke :thumbsu:

Interesting to hear Lyons comments about Pear's for Rising star. I totally agree, seems to be just like the brownlow - midfielders award. :cool:

Godzke
17 Aug 2009, 23:11
As much as Pears has been excellent this year, Rich has got it in the bag. Appreciate the fact Pears is getting the attention of some notable journos and pundits in the media though.

Well done Jobe. Would be $5 he was twittering during the Ad breaks.

gPhonque
17 Aug 2009, 23:15
In my opinion, Jobe HAS to be captain next year.

Lloydy - we love you, and we want you to play on next year, but when it comes to the captaincy, let's move on.

Jobe speaks so well, (sorry Matty, but you're a terrible speaker!), is ridiculously humble, and just oozes professionalism.

I think that we're a real chance next year of giving the competition a shake. We need to turn a page, and I think the perfect start to that would be giving Jobe the captaincy. Let the next generation take over.

The only question is whether Jobe wants it.

Great interview on Footy Classified anyway.

ps. Loved the fact that Greg Williams has been giving Jobe advice. I never knew that. And I love it because I've always said that Jobe reminds me of Diesel. Same kind of player.... footy magnet.... smart footy brain. :thumbsu: (ok ok, and slow as a truck! :p )

edit: Just to add a disclaimer before you all accuse me of being a Lloyd-hater...

I think Lloydy has been a great captain through tough times. Exactly what we've needed the past few years. When it comes to the respect he has from the players, I don't doubt him at all. I just think that we'd be best served by turning a new page, getting a young guy in (and I believe Jobe would totally have the respect of each and every player), and letting Lloyd just play the game in his last year or two. :thumbsu:

Godzke
17 Aug 2009, 23:21
Question, for me is, how inspirational can he be? Lloyd commanded respect, Hird earned it because he was sublime and clearly regarded as being a god at the club but Watson (despite being well mannered, well spoken and almost an elite midfielder) may not gain the respect from the likes of Lloyd (who would react VERY badly in my opinion if he had it removed) and Mcveigh (who thinks he's probably the best speaker at the club and the most mature -- maybe he is the best speaker??).

Watson should be promoted to Vice-Captain for next year and just let him develop into the mould of being captain while letting lloydy finish his career.

Don't get me wrong, if i had it my way I'd strip lloyd of the captaincy and tell him to focus on his own game before the captaincy and before media commitments. But there'd be a pretty bad reaction from him and we kind of owe him the respect he demands ... at least for one more season.

Colin D'Cops
17 Aug 2009, 23:22
Summed it up perfectly Dustbin. :thumbsu:

gPhonque
17 Aug 2009, 23:31
Question, for me is, how inspirational can he be? Lloyd commanded respect, Hird earned it because he was sublime and clearly regarded as being a god at the club but Watson (despite being well mannered, well spoken and almost an elite midfielder) may not gain the respect from the likes of Lloyd (who would react VERY badly in my opinion if he had it removed) and Mcveigh (who thinks he's probably the best speaker at the club and the most mature -- maybe he is the best speaker??).

Watson should be promoted to Vice-Captain for next year and just let him develop into the mould of being captain while letting lloydy finish his career.

Don't get me wrong, if i had it my way I'd strip lloyd of the captaincy and tell him to focus on his own game before the captaincy and before media commitments. But there'd be a pretty bad reaction from him and we kind of owe him the respect he demands ... at least for one more season.

Haha.... while you were posting, I made an edit to my post above talking about the 'respect' factor... :)

I don't think Lloydy would react badly at all.... and certainly not if it was given to Jobe. Jobe backs Lloydy. He's not out to "steal" the captaincy.... quite the opposite. That's why I think Lloydy would be fine with it. Although he may appear dumb to some, Lloydy's not dumb.... he knows he's in his last year or two. He loves the club. He knows what's best. I think he'd benefit as a player from being unburdened of the captaincy, and I think he'd wholly support someone like Jobe (who everybody seems to love) being handed the captaincy.

Like I said, the only question is whether Jobe would want it. I don't think the pressure would affect Jobe's game at all, and I believe the players already respect him.... both for his play on the field, and his manner off it. :thumbsu:

Godzke
17 Aug 2009, 23:44
Haha.... while you were posting, I made an edit to my post above talking about the 'respect' factor... :)
Don't worry, I wasn't implying you were a Lloyd hater.
I don't think Lloydy would react badly at all.... and certainly not if it was given to Jobe. Jobe backs Lloydy. He's not out to "steal" the captaincy.... quite the opposite. That's why I think Lloydy would be fine with it. Although he may appear dumb to some, Lloydy's not dumb.... he knows he's in his last year or two. He loves the club. He knows what's best. I think he'd benefit as a player from being unburdened of the captaincy, and I think he'd wholly support someone like Jobe (who everybody seems to love) being handed the captaincy.

Like I said, the only question is whether Jobe would want it. I don't think the pressure would affect Jobe's game at all, and I believe the players already respect him.... both for his play on the field, and his manner off it. :thumbsu:
You may be right ... but I don't think he knows how to fix his game. And I'm not talking about his fitness or anything like that, I'm talking about the fact he can't lead for shit. He always goes to early or never at all. I expect someone of his experience to read the play and lead at the perfect time since he's been doing it most of his career.

gPhonque
18 Aug 2009, 00:17
Don't worry, I wasn't implying you were a Lloyd hater.

You may be right ... but I don't think he knows how to fix his game. And I'm not talking about his fitness or anything like that, I'm talking about the fact he can't lead for shit. He always goes to early or never at all. I expect someone of his experience to read the play and lead at the perfect time since he's been doing it most of his career.

Haha.... that's a bit harsh.... "can't lead for shit".... (although I agree to a point)

Even then, all the more reason why we should turn the page, give the captaincy to Jobe, and let Lloydy concentrate on his footy in his last year or so. :thumbsu:

abers47
18 Aug 2009, 10:51
Jobe was fantastic!

Shane Hird
18 Aug 2009, 12:54
It was interesting to hear him talk about his 'footy' relationship with his old man and the Watson grin shone bright as he discribed how his father gives him the sh--s sometimes. You can imagine Timmy being as blunt and dry as he sometimes can be and letting young Jobe know exactly what f......ups he committed during a match. Funny to hear him say "Even when I don't want to hear it he tells me anyway".

I can't believe how much Jobe talks like T.W. Close your eyes and it's a young Tim with an education. Not some country boy from Dimboola.

I couldn't help but cast my mind back while watching the interview to Jobe's first senior game and how horrified I was in his performance. His old man was my childhood Bomber hero and when I heard his son was joining I thought
" If he's even half as good as Timmy, he'll be great! ".

Now look at him...on his way to being a League superstar.

Nebioglu
18 Aug 2009, 15:15
F*CK i love this club......

Jager bombers
18 Aug 2009, 19:36
Just thought that I'd paste the link in. Have a look if you missed it.

http://video.ninemsn.com.au/Video.aspx?vid=73e300a8-0485-4fa7-b8dc-924c3f5965bb#::73e300a8-0485-4fa7-b8dc-924c3f5965bb

james_omahoney
18 Aug 2009, 19:56
Thanks heaps for posting that mate. Very enjoyable to watch.

caboose
18 Aug 2009, 19:56
Thanks a lot, mate. Really appreciate you doing that. :thumbsu:

Boiled Geezer
18 Aug 2009, 19:57
I missed it, thank you!

rainman06
18 Aug 2009, 20:15
That was fantastic.

Particularly loved how he said that leaving Essendon while he is trying to improve (which he said he is always doing) would be a ''coward's way out''. Such strong words, you know he means it.

The Donners
18 Aug 2009, 20:18
Captain Jobe!

IsDonIsGood
18 Aug 2009, 20:51
Fantastic!

Thanks a bunch for posting that, missed it last night, past my bedtime..

What an impressive young man. Quickly becoming one of my favourites at the club. He is becoming a massive asset to our great club.

adii_7
18 Aug 2009, 21:01
superstarrrr

King Of The Hille
18 Aug 2009, 21:26
that was identical to on the couch

kennerado
18 Aug 2009, 21:32
Will be a captain in the future without question.