View Full Version : AFLBJs

Brisvegas
20 Aug 2009, 13:01
Who will win the AFLBJs 2009 U16 Div 1 GF and why??

Sandgate, Sherwood, Aspley or Mt Gravatt

Thommo 42
20 Aug 2009, 21:44
Sherwood

Brisvegas
21 Aug 2009, 05:43
Why would or should Sherwood win Thommo...............they have not beaten Sandgate all year, and they lost miserably to Aspley last week. But I agree they are a definate chance.

Brisvegas
24 Aug 2009, 10:10
Jackson Allen Sherwood..........ineligable for U16s Div 1 finals. Word out there is he has played 5 games up in the U18s and senior level and not enough down in the U16 Div 1 side to be eligable by the BJs rules. I wonder if Sherwood were aware of the rules. Shame to see a quality player miss the finals!! But rules are rules

Brisvegas
8 Sep 2009, 06:38
............Jackson Allen wasnt much help in the last 2 finals Sherwood played and lost, even if they bent the rules to have him play. Pity as I was really looking forward to see him carve up.

Bye bye Sherwood

aza03
8 Sep 2009, 07:09
Sandgate are an unbelievably good side.

I just hope my team wins the div 2 grand final..... Springwood v Kenmore...

Brisvegas
8 Sep 2009, 07:52
Yes Sandgate are a very good side when they shoot straight...............
Asplet wont beat them in any position around the ground.............. however if Sandgate lose they will beat themselves with inacuracy at goal

watthewatto3
9 Sep 2009, 09:29
who is this jackson allen kid?
is he any good at AFL or are u just talking about him cause he didnt qualify?
go Kenmore in div 2, we are gonna carve up springwood.
if he played five games for seniors and 18's what happened to the other 10 games?

Brisvegas
9 Sep 2009, 09:52
He got into the AIS this year after the U16 Carnival in Sydney. Beutifull skills when he gets the ball............hardley misses a target. He is one of those players you love to watch when he gets the ball. Hes also a very easy player to tag out of the game as he is always looking for space. Reads the game well and has plenty of endurance, but not real fast. Played 5 up in senior comp and only around 6 in U16s............the rest he would have been with Tiapans and Qld State duties, and would have been told not to play club footy whilst preparing.

watthewatto3
9 Sep 2009, 17:43
do u play under 16s at all,
i play for kenmore and he sound slike an absolute gun

Lenny29
9 Sep 2009, 19:03
Sandgate are an unbelievably good side.

I just hope my team wins the div 2 grand final..... Springwood v Kenmore...
That the '16s mate?

Good luck, go Pumas!

watthewatto3
9 Sep 2009, 19:49
GO THE KENMORE BEARS!!!
watch out pumas we will show u guys up again

Brisvegas
10 Sep 2009, 05:54
Good luck to you on the weekend and your team Kenmore bears. No I dont play U16s Im to old

Brisvegas
17 Sep 2009, 13:53
A great win to Aspley in the U16 Div1 GF.
Sandgate didnt show up on the day and were outplayed by a very hard and well coached side.
Congratualtions Aspley Boys

Brisvegas
17 Sep 2009, 13:55
Can someone from the Kenmore or Sprinwood GF teams tell us what the police were doing at your game on Sunday????

gunny963
23 Sep 2009, 21:41
Can someone from the Kenmore or Sprinwood GF teams tell us what the police were doing at your game on Sunday????

One of the parents was completely wasted and cops got called to sort it out, nothing major really.

What did everybody think of the draw and one point victory to kenmore the following week?

FooyIsLife
6 Dec 2009, 23:31
hey Brisvegas,

How do u all that about Jackson Allen when u dont even play in that age bracket?:cool:

And Jazza nice work with the Bears!! and Wats doing!! Wyuna rep haha!!

watthewatto3
7 Dec 2009, 07:24
Jackson Allen will be number 1 draft pick i am putting all my money on it!!!
wYuna!!!

Dogmatic6
13 Feb 2010, 19:18
Guys, what about competition points - or at least game scores - for u11s.

Let's face it, most kids keep score from U9s. To not keep score for kids in Grade 6 is a bit of a joke. They play school footy where a score is kept.

We seem to have a lot of kids wanting to go to U12s too early so they can play 'real' footy. Their skills are often not up to it.

We can still concentrate on skills without insulting the intelligence of kids that can keep score better than some adults.

Thoughts??

RoaringUniLions
13 Feb 2010, 19:24
I like the current Under 11 system as it is, acting as a bridge between Auskick Zone field and full field. If I remember correctly Under 11 footy involves a 3/4 field where the players can run all over the field from now on.

I remember coaching at a AFLBJ club a few years back, and we'd keep score within the club and we would discuss it as a team afterwards. No official ladder or competition points, but the players would havea fair idea how they went at the end of the game

Dogmatic6
13 Feb 2010, 20:46
That's right Chez and I agree competition too early is not a good thing.

However, it's the same non comp situation for 8s, 9s and 10s. In fact 9s and 10s are exactly the same rules. I think there is room for some hindsight adjustment here and the number of 11s playing up in 12s is evidence of that.

I'm not suggesting a ladder and points but perhaps at least a score would keep the boys in 11s.

Brisvegas
15 Feb 2010, 05:22
If you are serious at wanting this ............give your club presidents the ammunition to go to the league and make the suggestions, they are the only ones close to BJs management that can make it happen.