View Full Version : 5th Test Aust V Eng. 20th-24th Aug. The Oval [Tea Day 2 - Lunch day 4]

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

courtjester
17 Aug 2009, 14:40
http://newsx.com/files/images/ECB-logo.jpg

http://www.sportbetaustralia.com/images/cricket-australia-logo.jpg

5th Ashes Test. England v Australia- Aug 20-24th at The Oval

It all boils down to this. Two combatants lock horns in the oldest of cricket battles. Australia versus England, the final test of the series, with both teams still able to win, lose or draw the series. A draw will see Australia retain the Ashes.

This has been an epic series. Although England was rolled comprehensively in the fourth test, these teams are evenly matched. The series has had many twists and turns.

The first test at Cardiff ended in a draw, largely thanks to some stoic batting by Paul Collingwood, who played out 245 balls in scoring 74 on the last day. Australia’s batsman hit form early with Katich, North and Haddin all scoring tons and Ponting scoring a brilliant 150. Michael Clarke also made 83. There were criticisms of the Australian bowling attack being unable to finish the English tail to win the test, Panesar, Anderson and Swann were able to weather the assault long enough to secure the draw.

The second test at Lords saw Australia stumble at one of their favourite grounds. England’s openers set the scene with Strauss scoring 161 and Cook 95. England managed to score 425 and when Anderson and Onions ripped through Australia’s first innings to bowl them out for 215, Australia struggled to stay in the game. England amassed 311 declared in their second innings setting Australia over 500 to win in the fourth innings. Australia managed to rally for 406, with Clarke in great touch making 136 and Johnson and Haddin making 50s in the lower order, but it was not enough.

The third test at Edgebaston saw young Australian opener Phil Hughes dropped, with Shane Watson taking his place. Debutant keeper Graham Manou also came into the team at the last minute after Haddin broke a finger in the warm up. The match was rain affected and ended in a draw. Watson had some success at the top of the order making 50s in both innings, while Michael Clarke continued his fine run of form with an unbeaten ton in the second innings. There was success for the swing bowlers of both teams, with Hilfenhaus picking up 4 wickets and Anderson 5 in the respective first innings.

The teams moved to Headingly for the fourth test, with Australia comprehensively beating England in three days. England’s batting faltered badly in the first innings, managing only 102 all out. Stuart Clark replaced Hauritz in the team and choked the English batting to take 3/18 in the first innings. Siddle fired with the ball to take 5/21 and roll the English tail. Australia then made 445, with Marcus North making a fine century, Clarke 93, and Ponting and Watson among the runs. It was all done and dusted as Australia rolled England in their second innings, with only some lower order resistance from Broad and Swann who both made 60s. Hilfenhaus picked up four wickets while Johnson found his lost rhythm and took five for.

We now move to The Oval, for the fifth and final test of this series. With everything at stake for both teams, here are the main selection issues:

England’s faltering middle order: Bopara, Bell and Collingwood all failed dismally in the fourth test. Every mad dog and Englishman have been named as possible inclusions in the middle order. Mark Ramprakash was considered a possibility in spite of his age, as was former Queensland batsman Stuart Law. In the end the selectors went for a more conventional selection, naming the uncapped Jonathon Trott as Ravi Bopara’s replacement. Trott is an aggressive right hand batsman who averages 44 in First Class cricket.

Australia’s bowling attack: The pacemen all hit their straps in the fourth test, and the question is whether or not Stuart Clark or Nathan Hauritz will play in the final test. Clark’s control and wicket taking was vital in setting up the win, but selectors have murmured that they would prefer 3 pacemen and a spinner. Hauritz has bowled well all series, but Clark could consider himself unlucky if dropped.

Leading Run Scorers This Series

Micheal Clarke- 445 runs at 89.00
Marcus North- 349 runs at 69.80
Andrew Strauss- 344 at 49.14
Ricky Ponting- 311 at 51.30
Simon Katich- 249 at 41.33

Leading Wicket Takers This Series

Ben Hilfenhaus- 18 wickets at 26.38
Peter Siddle- 16 wickets at 29.50
Mitchell Johnson- 16 wickets at 32.62
Stuart Broad- 12 wickets at 36.33
James Anderson- 12 wickets at 39.91

Thursday weather, London

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/weather/img/symbols/57x57/14.gif?v25_4

Heavy Rain Shower
Max: 25°C 77°F
Sunrise: 05:54
Friday weather, London

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/weather/img/symbols/57x57/3.gif?v25_4

Sunny Intervals
Max: 22°C 72°F
Sunrise: 05:56

Kahuna
22 Aug 2009, 01:00
I don't like it but only way now would be terrorist attack to save this game for us.

TorresIsGod
22 Aug 2009, 01:01
So...

Start play 15 minutes earlier, shorten lunch by 10 mins (from 40 minutes to 30 minutes).

Covers the time that'll be used to refer all the decisions to technology.

Easy

maryjames
THIS is a disgrace 6 wickets for what??? 30 runs, wtf

camsmith
If there was a video ref in cricket for all decisions we would already have the series wrapped up. BS.

maryjames
22 Aug 2009, 01:02
Aussies loss this we are not worthy,,,,... England are underdone and plain shit..

lemmon
22 Aug 2009, 01:02
This is the saddest night in Australian cricket for a very long time. If England get up and win the Ashes I hope Ponting gives it to the umpires in his post match

Lurkalot
22 Aug 2009, 01:03
At least MJ & Haddo will score quickly (if they can stay in of course)

tandino
Come on lads, only 23 to avoid the follow-on!

I'll take that at this stage.

crowman86
anyone got a link for a live feed?

Vegas.
The worst thing about this is listening to the Pom commentators crapping on abou....

Oh **** it.

TorresIsGod
22 Aug 2009, 01:04
Easily the best ball of the series.

Notorious_29
Ok were really up shit creek now. Going to be very tough to retain the ashes from this point without the assistance of rain.

And now we have to listen to the "oohhhhhh's" from benhind the wicket every single ****ing ball.

Omg Haddin out this is ****ed.

rapido
What an enjoyable night this has turned out to be. :o

Buddy
Haddin bowled.

Un-fricking-believable ...

Why was he trying to hit it to the leg side?

maryjames
A girl is beating australia..

aussie1st
Talk about trying to out do the English in collapsing.

weevil
http://powerlineblog.com/archives/fat_lady.jpg

Arecsa
.........**** off. Unbelievably pathetic.

mattys123
It took 80 minutes to lose the ashes, good work.:(

ronnie1234
what a s*** night.

Each minute is getting worst.

camsmith
**** were making them look good.

maryjames
22 Aug 2009, 01:05
What an enjoyable night this has turned out to be. :o
fKING UNBELIEVABLE,....:eek:

Roos4eva
And there it goes. :thumbsd:

Fair ****ing ball though.

XFactor1979
what a horrible collapse

we could follow on here

Costanza_
How do you spell 'Farcical'? :o

anyone got a link for a live feed?

You don't want one mate, trust me.

the probe
Haddin, that is probably the worst shot played at the worst possible time imaginable.

Im just flabbergasted at how pea-hearted that effort was.

TorresIsGod
Here we go. P-Siddy and Michael Jackson duet. #1 hit all around the world.

Dagless
lol Broad

scottywiper
22 Aug 2009, 01:06
Gawn, gonna be a long way behind and be batting last on this deck.
Even if they knock us over, Strauss shouldn't enforce the follow-on.

Bartram_Class
Hideous.

maryjames
A girl is beating australia..
well said:p

placebo
You know its a bad game when that little prick gets a 5-for.

Jimthegreat
Wonder if that idiot Hilditch is so smug now.

Notorious_29
Dig deep sids !!!

belfast_bomber
22 Aug 2009, 01:07
GUTLESS.

It's not like they're good or anything. Less than two weeks ago we beat them by an innings.

mattys123
Oh well, just keep telling yourself it's footy season and there's good things to come in September.

Oh, unless you barrack for one of the 8 sides whose season ends in 2 weeks.:eek:

hoss
What a choke... :o

the probe
Easily the best ball of the series.

Yeah, the old straight ball, going straight off the pitch.

Any chance Haddin's ridiculous shot selection contributed?

Mr_Smooth
mj may as well go down swinging now, get us within 150 maybe?

maryjames
Now I know what it feels like to be Engish..

Vegas.
what a s*** night.

Each minute is getting worst.
You weren't at Etihad Stadium!

TorresIsGod
22 Aug 2009, 01:08

No, it was an absolute gem. It would have dismissed any batsman in the world, on any pitch, in any conditions, no matter how many runs he had previously scored.

Roos4eva
Oh, unless you barrack for one of the 8 sides whose season ends in 2 weeks.:eek:

EPL ftw.

braith88
Anyone have any Pommie contacts who can hijack a team bus?

Rick18

It looked like a half volley on middle and then swung late. Was a decent nut.

maryjames
This is a disgrace, letz face it, embarrassing..

TorresIsGod
22 Aug 2009, 01:09
That was a fair gem of a delivery too.

mr_cellotape
7/38. Collapse isn't a strong enough term.

hamG
Really going to be difficult to not lose this test.

Would be great if we didn't go through the entire series without a #4 batsman though.

maryjames
You weren't at Etihad Stadium!
I was there and Cats were playing like Fremantle there for awhile.. :mad:

XFactor1979
johnson does have a test century

admittedly it was in different conditions and a different situation...

but still :mad:

aussie1st
22 Aug 2009, 01:10
FMD how on earth are you meant to survive when Swann is bowling balls like that :eek:

Cotchin 9
22 Aug 2009, 01:10
If they knock us over cheaply maybe for around 150 or under.

****ING GET OUT THERE, SLEDGE THE **** OUTTA THESE POMMIE *****, GET IN THERE FACE AND GET SOME WICKETS, THE ASHES IS ON THE LINE!!

TheBrownDog
22 Aug 2009, 01:11
Sad day for Australian sport.

This is worse than 2005... and I was in England for that abomination.

Dogs Rule
This is a disgrace, letz face it, embarrassing..

That's the word - embarrassing. You wouldn't think The Ashes are on line.

If I was Ponting I would request the team to come home on a VERY slow boat. The response they get back here ain't gonna be pretty.

belfast_bomber
21 to make them bat again.

Even that's looking a stretch now. How did it ever come to this? How?

Rick18
Sad day for Australian sport.

This is worse than 2005... and I was in England for that abomination.

Wow.

That's horrible. Did you put on a fake Pom accent and try to blend in?

Vegas.
22 Aug 2009, 01:12
Laugh it up Pup...

krisholio14
Disappointing performance from England today. The second session, we had to take the game on. We went from a run rate of over 4 an over to 307 in a full day.

Well done to Bell for getting to 72 but what sort of a shot was that to get out to when you are set ?

I did not see the last 2 hours but Australia must have done well. Not sure that I agree with Australia being completely on top. They played the better cricket on the first day, but Harmison and Flintoff could be a real handfull on this wicket and Swann will have a big say in the result of this match.

It was definitley a very good toss to win.

I just wish that England had taken more advantage of it.

I think you're being overly critical there.

I reckon if they can get to somewhere between 330 and 350 thats a very good score on this wicket. Even the score they have now will prove to be more than useful by the end of the test I feel.

When there are chunks coming out of the pitch on day one, you know if a teams chasing anything over 120 on the last day they are going to be pushing shit up hill.

I'm feeling vindicated right now :D

TorresIsGod
If Warney knew it was going to turn so much, I wonder if he had a chat with Ponting before hand? And kind of said to him... I'll play?

Invigoration
Dunno what those boys are laughing about.

Mr_Smooth
22 Aug 2009, 01:13
anyone else praying for rain at the moment, and a ****load of it??

maryjames
If they knock us over cheaply maybe for around 150 or under.

****ING GET OUT THERE, SLEDGE THE **** OUTTA THESE POMMIE *****, GET IN THERE FACE AND GET SOME WICKETS, THE ASHES IS ON THE LINE!!
AGREE get dirty fk em, its a wonder yesterday Ponting didn't claim that catch,,, Strauss would had...;)

Vegas.
'Got a nice shine on the ball there'

Read: Got a nice illegal lollie shine on the ball there.

'Collingwood the shiner'

Read: Collingwood the cheater (shiner works too - knobshiner).

TorresIsGod
Good appeal Matthew. That was clearly out.

maryjames
22 Aug 2009, 01:14
England back to the usual cheating..

4 runs

the probe
nice cheating, Prior.

adii_7
we are gone.

Invigoration
Haddin completely played the wrong line of that ball. Dunno wtf Warney is going on about.

Mr_Smooth
22 Aug 2009, 01:15
lovely little late cut by siddle

Notorious_29
Glorious shot SIDS.

Love how prior just celebrates now instead of appealing, he seems to have adapted to the new umpiring techniques.

XFactor1979
sure could do with er.... 2 days worth of rain

belfast_bomber
Yeah Prior you ****. Might as well shout, on this form they'll probably give it.

TheBrownDog
22 Aug 2009, 01:16
anyone else praying for rain at the moment, and a ****load of it??

Just rain? I want a ****ing meteor to wipe out the United Kingdom.

http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2007/08/19/rg_impact_narrowweb__300x438,0.jpg

lemmon
Show some guts for christs sake, going down without a whimper. They do realise this is the ASHES and we are AUSTRALIA

Dogs Rule
7/38. Collapse isn't a strong enough term.

Capitulation?

I've never seen anything like it. They have just about surrendered The Ashes and each and every one of them should hang their heads in shame.

maryjames
Shot, 20 more of them ..........

TorresIsGod
Johnno looking for some runs here.

Go Johnno! :thumbsu:

Notorious_29
22 Aug 2009, 01:17
Good shot MJ. Probably his best shot so might as well play it. On the other hand dont get carried away with the big slashing cut shot. :o

Oh god im so nervous watching this game.

caboose
22 Aug 2009, 01:18
Capitulation?

I've never seen anything like it. They have just about surrendered The Ashes and each and every one of them should hang their heads in shame.

Apart from Watson, Katich and North maybe.

Invigoration
What's with the reds? People complaining about umpires?

Mr_Smooth
Just rain? I want a ****ing meteor to wipe out the United Kingdom.

http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2007/08/19/rg_impact_narrowweb__300x438,0.jpg
i suppose, you solve a couple of problems that way.. ;)

Selective Retention
22 Aug 2009, 01:19
I'm too shocked for words.

Everyone realised our "invincible" era was over however this is something else entirely :(

Mr_Smooth
****. he got up!

Invigoration
Far out Siddle :|

weevil
22 Aug 2009, 01:20
What's with the reds? People complaining about umpires?

I’d recommend against using the C word fellas. Remember there is a rule about it.

TheBrownDog
Warney will save us.

mattys123
That's a good leave, says the commentator, Siddle had no ****ing clue.

Notorious_29
22 Aug 2009, 01:21
Warney will save us.

Can we super sub him in?

lemmon
Good shot MJ. Probably his best shot so might as well play it. On the other hand dont get carried away with the big slashing cut shot. :o

Oh god im so nervous watching this game.
I've gone from being nervous to being numb

Roos4eva
Warney will save us.

Agreed.

The man can do anything.

C'mon Warney.

TorresIsGod
It's all happening here.

Gerrard with the cross to Torres who slotted it home beautifully.

XFactor1979
with the way hes batting: siddle is not going to last

clark and hilfenhaus still in reserve

TorresIsGod
22 Aug 2009, 01:22
Siddle! What a fantastic player.

Mr_Smooth
anyone else hoping theres 2 metres of rain in those clouds?

ronnie1234
good shot sids

caboose
I’d recommend against using the C word fellas. Remember there is a rule about it.

Which one?! Collapse or capitulation?

Audacious
Fck off hussey u useless pos. If the selectors won't drop you then retire!! The selectors need to be sacked as well. Merv Hughes you're a git.

belfast_bomber
22 Aug 2009, 01:23
Nice one Siddle.

Four more, four more.

What are we reduced to? This is so ghey™.