View Full Version : Harvey to the redbacks ?
eastaugh36
20 Mar 2003, 09:11
Heard on the news that we may be after Harvey.
I may not rate him internationally, as Blewett is as good a bowler and a better batsman so he should have been in before Harvey,but it would be a good signing on top of flower.
Also heard Elliott may come and also Nicholson from WA.
goaldrush
20 Mar 2003, 09:21
Originally posted by eastaugh36
Heard on the news that we may be after Harvey.
I may not rate him internationally, as Blewett is as good a bowler and a better batsman so he should have been in before Harvey,but it would be a good signing on top of flower.
Also heard Elliott may come and also Nicholson from WA. I think that if it's true it would be due to their hate of David Hookes.
I don't like David Hookes much either.
Jars458
20 Mar 2003, 09:27
Originally posted by goaldrush
I think that if it's true it would be due to their hate of David Hookes.
David won't be pleased to see that
Never mess wiht a left handed batsmen that coaches Victoria
kretchy
20 Mar 2003, 11:05
Also heard rumours of Michael Hussey going to South Australia.
Kane McGoodwin
20 Mar 2003, 11:57
I don't like David Hookes much either. May be Hookesy is going to send a few Victorians back to his home state. I would prefer if he threw Hodge or Elliot our way. ;)
Groucho
20 Mar 2003, 12:07
More to do with Hookes's dislike of Harvey. Thinks he's lazy and uncoachable and more interested in his lucrative County deal than in Australian state cricket. I don't know if that's correct as most people say Harvey's "just different" and not into training but Hookes has criticised him consistently and publicly since he became coach so doubt Harvey will stay with the Vics.
Hookes is pretty confident that Elliott will stay even though his current contract is up for renewel so he can move on if he wants to. Hodge is still contracted.
It looks like there may be more interstate movements this year than we've ever seen before.
St-KriS
20 Mar 2003, 12:21
Here in QLD today in the Courier Mail, there's a big article about NSW going after Nathan Hauritz. I actually wouldnt mind that because I really rate Nathan and this would allow to him to play the majority of his domestic cricket on a spinners wicket rather than a seamers delight like the Gabba and allow him to develop into that test cricketer I know he will be.
Originally posted by kretchy
These rumours are like the AFL pre-season rumours that link every player with Collingwood.
raiderman00
20 Mar 2003, 13:43
Bloody hell i hate Hookes, what is he on. Harvey is a good player for the VICS please don't leave because of stupid Hookes. Go back to South Australia you ****.
eastaugh36
20 Mar 2003, 13:57
Originally posted by raiderman00
Bloody hell i hate Hookes, what is he on. Harvey is a good player for the VICS please don't leave because of stupid Hookes. Go back to South Australia you ****.
hahaha he is a south aussie sent over there to destruct victorian cricket even more, with the eventual goal being to send players to his home state and at the same time sabotaging victorian cricket. Couldnt happen to a better bunch of ***** ! :D
Originally posted by kretchy
I've heard rumours he may be coming to Victoria.
All the rumours are crap and very few will eventuate.
Fall Out Boy
20 Mar 2003, 14:26
Blewett is as good a bowler
What is that judgement based on? Definitely not statistics.
Numbers tell you that Harvey is the vastly superior bowler, at all levels.
In ODI's Harvey averages 32 with the ball, Blewett 46.
In 4 day games, Harvey has 300 wickets @ 27, Blewett 128 @ 41.
In domestic one dayers, Harvey averages 20 per wicket, Blewett 32.
Blewett is clearly the better batsman, and by a long way, but to say his bowling is as good as Harvey's is plain ludicrous.
lufc618
20 Mar 2003, 14:26
I read in the advertiser this morning that Michael Hussey has been approached by the SACA. Nicholson has also been approached and the Elliot rumours are still flying around. But it's good to see that Andy Flower has been signed for 3 season. Will give the Redbacks a real boost.
CharlieG
20 Mar 2003, 15:38
Well, it seems as if SA are on a big recruiting spree... Flower, Elliott, Harvey, Nicholson, Hussey??? They'll want plenty of bucks.
They won't get Hussey though unless the ACB drops him from their contracts. He can't jump to another state while he's under ACB contract. Is Harvey contracted as well?
Originally posted by CharlieG
Is Harvey contracted as well?
Yep.
Jars458
20 Mar 2003, 16:08
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
What is that judgement based on? Definitely not statistics.
Numbers tell you that Harvey is the vastly superior bowler, at all levels.
In ODI's Harvey averages 32 with the ball, Blewett 46.
In 4 day games, Harvey has 300 wickets @ 27, Blewett 128 @ 41.
In domestic one dayers, Harvey averages 20 per wicket, Blewett 32.
Blewett is clearly the better batsman, and by a long way, but to say his bowling is as good as Harvey's is plain ludicrous.
You have to take the Easty factor into account
Very few would say Blewett was as good with the ball as Harvey
Certinaly not the man himself. Certainly not me.
Not quite as ludicrous as those who think Hogg should play ahead of MacGill though
Fall Out Boy
20 Mar 2003, 17:24
Originally posted by Jars458
You have to take the Easty factor into account
Excellent point Sir.
Groucho
20 Mar 2003, 17:25
Originally posted by CharlieG
Well, it seems as if SA are on a big recruiting spree... Flower, Elliott, Harvey, Nicholson, Hussey??? They'll want plenty of bucks.
They won't get Hussey though unless the ACB drops him from their contracts. He can't jump to another state while he's under ACB contract. Is Harvey contracted as well?
Yeah good point. Harvey is definitely contracted so that precludes any interstate move unless he's not re-contracted,unlikely given that he's in the one day team at the moment.
Hussey,on the other hand,will most likely lose his ACB contracted and will be available to transfer.
kretchy
20 Mar 2003, 19:25
Does domestic cricket have a salary cap of any sort?
EagleBlue
20 Mar 2003, 20:40
Originally posted by St-KriS
Here in QLD today in the Courier Mail, there's a big article about NSW going after Nathan Hauritz. I actually wouldnt mind that because I really rate Nathan and this would allow to him to play the majority of his domestic cricket on a spinners wicket rather than a seamers delight like the Gabba and allow him to develop into that test cricketer I know he will be.
He would be better off going to SA (and he would be more of a boost to SA than Harvey) because SA does not have a spinner (well quality one anyway !!!). In NSW he has McGill and Katich to compete with, not only that, the pitch in Adelaide will suit him.
grinspoon
20 Mar 2003, 20:51
yeah heard shane warne, tendulkar, lara and murili to red backs too, and michael jordan and shaquille oniell to the 36ers.:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Here's a possible South Australia XI for next season...
David Fitzgerald
Matthew Elliott
Mike Hussey
Andy Flower (c)
Mark Higgs
Shane Deitz (wk)
Ian Harvey
Mick Miller
John Davison
Damien Fleming
Matthew Nicholson
Spot the Croweater. :confused:
Originally posted by grinspoon
yeah heard shane warne, tendulkar, lara and murili to red backs too, and michael jordan and shaquille oniell to the 36ers.:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
But when are Adelaide City going to sign Ronaldo and Zidane? :D
hahaha he is a south aussie sent over there to destruct victorian cricket even more, with the eventual goal being to send players to his home state and at the same time sabotaging victorian cricket. Couldnt happen to a better bunch of ***** ! :D
Easty you silly knob.Harvey & Elliott were as useless as tits on a bull this season,yet the Vic's still finished above SA in the Milk Cup.
Losing them will only be an improvement.
Bad luck, Redbacks.
Matthew Elliott has re-signed with the VCA for another two years.
St-KriS
21 Mar 2003, 06:07
Originally posted by EagleBlue
He would be better off going to SA (and he would be more of a boost to SA than Harvey) because SA does not have a spinner (well quality one anyway !!!). In NSW he has McGill and Katich to compete with, not only that, the pitch in Adelaide will suit him.
Well the reason why they're going after Nathan is because Macgill will probably be on international duty for most of the domestic season and I wouldnt call Katich a quality spinner yet.
Jars458
21 Mar 2003, 08:14
Originally posted by DaveW
Here's a possible South Australia XI for next season...
David Fitzgerald
Matthew Elliott
Mike Hussey
Andy Flower (c)
Mark Higgs
Shane Deitz (wk)
Ian Harvey
Mick Miller
John Davison
Damien Fleming
Matthew Nicholson
Spot the Croweater. :confused:
Here is the real Xl for next year
Blewett
Cosgrove
Flower
Lehmann
Johnson
Ferguson
Manou
Cullen
Tait
Kelly
Rofe
markstaners
21 Mar 2003, 08:17
Originally posted by jim440
Bad luck, Redbacks.
Matthew Elliott has re-signed with the VCA for another two years.
It's not that i dont believe you but could i ask were you found this out that he re-signed it would be much appreciated? Matthew Nicholoson would be a great buy and is definatley a bowler we need has some fire, also Hussey would be very good although i would much prefer Elliott as he is a very damaging batsmen and is one of the most consistant scorers of runs rather like Blewett. As for Harvey well he has the bowling we would want but on his batting form we can do without him much prefer to give Cosgrove ago at a spot.
markstaners
21 Mar 2003, 08:21
Originally posted by Jars458
Here is the real Xl for next year
Blewett
Cosgrove
Flower
Lehmann
Johnson
Ferguson
Manou
Cullen
Tait
Kelly
Rofe \
I dont know how in god's name Manou will make the side i can see him probably going the other way to Victoria and will probably take over Berry if not he would go to QLD or WA.
Originally posted by markstaners
I dont know how in god's name Manou will make the side i can see him probably going the other way to Victoria and will probably take over Berry if not he would go to QLD or WA.
If he won't get a game for SA he's got F-all chance of getting a game elsewhere. Seccombe's spot is as safe as any keeper's, and is unlikely to be affected by Test/ODI selection, and at the stage WA have Campbell, Ronchi and of course Gilchrist as options - all vastly superior batsmen to Manou.
He'd be better off knuckling down, and if he gets demoted then fight his way back into the SA squad with some good performances. There's not much wrong with his glovework, but with Flower and Deitz on the scene he'd want to cut out some of the recklessness of his batting, because there are some very handy stand-in keppers if he loses his spot.
Fall Out Boy
21 Mar 2003, 09:17
No chance.
Chuck is still twice the keeper Manou will ever be, and besides that, we Vics have the best young keeper in the country ready to step up when Chuck retires.
Not to mention Peter Roach, who was excellent from very limited opportunities.
eastaugh36
21 Mar 2003, 11:26
Excellent point Sir.
your hilarious.
Ok, the gap between harvey and blewetts bowling is a lot narrower than the gap in superiority that blewett has with the bat.
I have read people around here saying Blewett should never play for australia again, it should be stated with more emphasis that harvey shouldnt before blewett.
markstaners
21 Mar 2003, 11:27
Well wade Seccombe is getting old 32 or something wont have that long left and as for him being the no2 keeper think again how abot no4. Campbell from the Warriors is getting bloody old and Berry is about to go Roach is good but there are better
?youngsters. It seems we can turn out a fair few wicket keepers unlike other areas. He wont get near the side with Flower and in 3 years we will have turned out another good keeper.
It's not that i dont believe you but could i ask were you found this out that he re-signed it would be much appreciated? Matthew Nicholoson would be a great buy and is definatley a bowler we need has some fire, also Hussey would be very good although i would much prefer Elliott as he is a very damaging batsmen and is one of the most consistant scorers of runs rather like Blewett. As for Harvey well he has the bowling we would want but on his batting form we can do without him much prefer to give Cosgrove ago at a spot.
Last item before the channel 9 sport reporter threw back to the anchor "in other cricket news, Matthew Elliott has agreed to stay in Victoria and has re-signed for another two years".
IceTemple
21 Mar 2003, 12:25
If Nathan Hauritz does end up going to NSW then he will be a certainty to play for Australia. If you play for NSW then you seem to have an 80% chance of playing for your country!:D ;) :D
Chuck is still twice the keeper Manou will ever be
Only twice?
raiderman00
21 Mar 2003, 14:30
LOL just because your mate Blewett isn't good enough don't take it out on our FREAK, the Victorian true and blue harvey.
Fall Out Boy
21 Mar 2003, 16:32
Ok, the gap between harvey and blewetts bowling is a lot narrower than the gap in superiority that blewett has with the bat.
Gap in superiority? Right.......................
lamby29
21 Mar 2003, 16:41
I heard the Vics were after Shane Watson. I doubt it will happen though as Watson is a 90% chance of getting an ACB contract.
GoEagles
21 Mar 2003, 18:17
\
Really can't see Berry playing for either state. WA have got Campbell, Ronchi and Langer who can keep.
evfenton78
21 Mar 2003, 20:54
Didn't Colin Miller transfer from Tassie to Victoria when he was under an ACB contract?
Originally posted by evfenton78
Didn't Colin Miller transfer from Tassie to Victoria when he was under an ACB contract?
Yes,but it was a year after he wanted too.Tassie blocked his transfer first time around.
goaldrush
22 Mar 2003, 12:44
Originally posted by Groucho
More to do with Hookes's dislike of Harvey. Thinks he's lazy and uncoachable and more interested in his lucrative County deal than in Australian state cricket. I don't know if that's correct as most people say Harvey's "just different" and not into training but Hookes has criticised him consistently and publicly since he became coach so doubt Harvey will stay with the Vics.
Hookes is pretty confident that Elliott will stay even though his current contract is up for renewel so he can move on if he wants to. Hodge is still contracted.
It looks like there may be more interstate movements this year than we've ever seen before. I hate Hookes because of him sacking Damien Fleming.
EagleBlue
22 Mar 2003, 13:20
I hate Hookes because of him sacking Damien Fleming.
He did you a favour. Didnt he turn out to be a great recruit for the Redbacks !!! NOT !!!
CharlieG
22 Mar 2003, 16:34
I hate Hookes because of him sacking Damien Fleming.
What? Is he a cousin or something?? Poor you... you must miss him heaps, living interstate and all....
eastaugh36
24 Mar 2003, 09:46
Gap in superiority? Right.......................
yes thickhead.
Fall Out Boy
24 Mar 2003, 10:31
yes thickhead.
Whoosh............
eastaugh36
24 Mar 2003, 16:23
Whoosh............
Typically Victorian. :rolleyes:
Fall Out Boy