View Full Version : preview AFL Round 21 Gameday Thread: Dockers Vs Dons
footycool
22 Aug 2009, 22:37
http://www.geocities.com/quadival/Fremantle.jpg http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/56/2006_AFL_Essendon.jpg
Dockers vs Dons, Subiaco 23rd of August, 4.40pm AEST
http://www.afl.com.au/Results/tabid/11433/default.aspx?display=1&seasonid=71&roundid=725&fixtureid=5201
WHO WILL WIN AND WHY
The Dons lost three of their four road trips in 2008 and they've mirrored that record this season. At Subiaco Oval they've won one match from their last eight starts, but there's no doubt Essendon is on the up and is more than capable of defying those records. Before last week's results, Fremantle would have been favoured for this one; falling meekly to the bottom-placed side while the Bombers beat the unbeatable changed all of that.
http://www.afl.com.au/Results/tabid/11433/default.aspx?display=1&seasonid=71&roundid=725&fixtureid=5201
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/matches/preview.asp?round_no=21&sub_section=previewFORM LINE
It was a superb win by the players last week and they certainly played some team orientated football. Even when the team was challenged late in the game when we were three men down they were still playing good solid football. We did make a couple of blemishes and St Kilda's pressure was good but all in all I was extremely impressed with their performance particularly after St Kilda got three goals up. When a top team who hasn't lost all year kicks three goals before you even score can be a little disheartening at times but they gutted it out and worked through that part of the game and once we got rolling and found some momentum we got our confidence. All in all though it was a great performance and hopefully one that we can replicate this week.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/matches/preview.asp?round_no=21&sub_section=preview
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/preview
Based on last week's results, this should be a walk in the park for the Bombers. Their win against St Kilda has revitalised their finals hopes while Fremantle were awful in going down to the lowly Demons. But there is much more to this match than first meets the eye. Fremantle are a totally different side at Subiaco and the Bombers will have to deal with the expectation that this is a game they 'should' win. Like most teams, Essendon have a poor record at Subiaco, having won just one of their past eight games in the west. Fremantle will have a huge advantage in the ruck, with Paddy Ryder's absence meaning Tom Bellchambers and possibly Cale Hooker will take on the might of Aaron Sandilands. Essendon's finals chances are on the line; how will they respond?
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/preview
Here are some previews from various websites
What are everyones predictions for arguably the most important game of the season, Discuss..
lloydy1818
22 Aug 2009, 22:42
bombers to win by 4 pts
Macca18
22 Aug 2009, 22:42
Eyes of the AFL world will be on us late tommorow afternoon to see if we can seal the top 8.
Most important roadtrip for a long while. Dockers will come our breathing fire after their performance last week, it will be up to us to see if we can halt this sort of momentum from the start and put scoreboard pressure on. The rest will fall into place if we manage to do this.
Could be Bombers vs Hawks for the final spot ;)
essendon2008
22 Aug 2009, 23:23
Essendon by 38.
I feel our luck has turned the last few weeks and so far this round everything has gone to plan. I believe Essendon will win convincingly and prove to the doubters we can beat the good teams....errr i mean the not so good teams. :p
essendon2008
22 Aug 2009, 23:24
Could be Bombers vs Hawks for the final spot ;)
Please no, too much stress this season already! :D
The Dustbin
22 Aug 2009, 23:28
This is a no brainer if you go on form. Ess beat the top side last week, and Fre get pumped by the bottom team.
Despite the injuries and the game in Perth, we should win.
King Of The Hille
22 Aug 2009, 23:29
My head says freo by 25
My heart says Essendon by 1
For me the game will be won and lost in the ruck. If the behemoth destroys bellchambers then simply we will lose. If bellchambers holds his own we will win. If freo get 4/5 clearances they will win however if we can restrict them to say 3/5 then i give us a REAL chance. Quite simply pavlich has too be stopped and i cant see any of our boys being able to match him up.
Not sure with the selections this week, i think we should have gone shorter but time will tell. Neagle is like the catalyst. If he can touch it 15 times and kick upward of three goals we WILL win.
Come on boys make a fool out of me.
Footycool how the **** do you have so many posts?Do you DO anything else?
AndyLesPaul
23 Aug 2009, 00:01
Can anyone else believe we're that close to finals?
One win against a fringe side, and we're in.
We can't lose this.
WE ARE ESSENDON
Amazing Bombers
23 Aug 2009, 00:41
Essendon by 5. Go the bombers!:)
gavdog08
23 Aug 2009, 00:45
hopefully it doesn't go down to the last kick;)
Call Me Cake
23 Aug 2009, 00:52
Can anyone else believe we're that close to finals?
One win against a fringe side, and we're in.
We can't lose this.
WE ARE ESSENDON
I don't think it'll set in until we're actually there.
Freo in tank mode. Now is the best time to play them, especially after beating the unbeaten team.
No excuses. :thumbsu:
*reminder to self* pray before bed.
PLEASE ESSENDON !
Strike Swiftly
23 Aug 2009, 06:46
1200 posts since May09?????????
Essendon by 18 pts.
Sandilands always wins the taps against us.. it's just that watson is a better reader of lurch's taps then freo are. If watson is in our best 3, i think we will win. If watson has an off game, we are in trouble.
Thankfully, Watson rarely has off games.
eth-dog
23 Aug 2009, 10:58
Sandilands always wins the taps... it's just that watson is a better reader of lurch's taps then freo are. If watson is in our best 3, i think we will win. If watson has an off game, we are in trouble.
Thankfully, Watson rarely has off games.
efa. I haven't seen Sandilands lose a hit-out contest this year. Equation simple: shut down Hase and Pav, we win
This is a no brainer if you go on form. Ess beat the top side last week, and Fre get pumped by the bottom team.
Yep. With this in mind. Freo by 38.
The Donners
23 Aug 2009, 11:25
efa. I haven't seen Sandilands lose a hit-out contest this year. Equation simple: shut down Hase and Pav, we win
How many are to his team's advantage? Remember, they're sitting 15th for a good reason.
Most of them...shizen midfield...but getting better
eth-dog
23 Aug 2009, 11:46
that's my point, he wins hit-outs, but only Pav and Hase get them.
DockerShocker
23 Aug 2009, 11:49
i haven't been this excited about a game for quite a while
we always play well after a 60 point plummel and it's at subi :)
freo by 8
The Donners
23 Aug 2009, 12:14
Most of them...shizen midfield...but getting better
He'll win 50 hitouts today and Essendon will still win the game, how much influence then does Sandilands have in the ruck? Should've stuck to basketball imo.
Essendon by 6 goals.
Donsftw14
23 Aug 2009, 12:23
Going to the game today :D hopefully we can pull the win out and confirm a final 8 position.
Ruck will be crucial, how many taps will sandilands hit down to our players :rolleyes:
I don't feel confident, but essendon by 6
abers47
23 Aug 2009, 12:37
Freo won't be keen to win - will jump too many spots on the ladder! Draft time is coming! ;)
This feels like a 50/50 game to me. Weighing up our injuries and fatigue from last week against the Jekyll and Hyde Freo makes it difficult to make a prediction with any confidence. Bombers by a goal.
lions_den
23 Aug 2009, 12:56
Do you guys reckon you'll win? Thinking of including Essendon in a Sunday multi:thumbsu:
Charliebrow 16
23 Aug 2009, 13:23
I can't explain it, but I'm extremely confident.
caboose
23 Aug 2009, 13:51
Do you guys reckon you'll win? Thinking of including Essendon in a Sunday multi:thumbsu:
Sorry mate, can't help. :eek:
Essendon should win, but our form is almost impossible to read.
GoldenboyHird_5
23 Aug 2009, 14:08
We love to give these games up.
Freo by 4-5 goals, if it gets ugly, more.
HULK HOGAN
23 Aug 2009, 14:18
Im really hoping for big games out of Mcveigh, Welsh, Lonegran ans Prissmal. If they can get to as many contests as possible to help Jobe out. Fletcher the Ledgend will be the General down back and 6 goals out of Angus and Neagle would be a great help.
Essendon by 20, Mcveigh, Welsh in our best players and no injurys of course!!
james_omahoney
23 Aug 2009, 14:18
I wonder how Atkinson would go as third man up in a ruck contest.
HULK HOGAN
23 Aug 2009, 14:22
I wonder how Atkinson would go as third man up in a ruck contest.
We could well try things like this today, esecially being in the situation we are in, would love to see him develop into a valuble running defender.
I hope essendon win by 6 goals today
Zahasouvlakis
23 Aug 2009, 14:32
Do you ever tip your own team:confused:
Call Me Cake
23 Aug 2009, 14:49
You've never really been a confident fellow, GoldenBoy.
Sometimes I question your "support".
HULK HOGAN
23 Aug 2009, 14:54
You've never really been a confident fellow, GoldenBoy.
Sometimes I question your "support".
Does anyone think there will be any late changes?
twobluesfc
23 Aug 2009, 15:24
You'd think Fletch would be doubtful. You'd think the would bring in Daniher as an extra tall seeing Hurley will probably play up forward.
Lets be confident guys, there is too much at stake for the boys and I reckon we will get home by 4 goals and big Jay Neagle will have a break out game!
footycool
23 Aug 2009, 15:29
B: Nathan Lovett-Murray, Tayte Pears, Jarrod Atkinson
HB: Henry Slattery, Dustin Fletcher, Adam McPhee
C: Andrew Lovett, Jason Winderlich, Mark McVeigh
HF: Alwyn Davey, Michael Hurley, Angus Monfries
F: Cale Hooker, Jay Neagle, Andrew Welsh
Foll: Michael Quinn, Brent Stanton, Jobe Watson
I/C: Brent Prismall, Ricky Dyson, Tom Bellchambers, Leroy Jetta
Changes to the selected side
In: Leroy Jetta
Out: Sam Lonergan
LOL Quinn up against sandilands
abers47
23 Aug 2009, 15:40
bugger - love watching Sammy!
TeamHurley
23 Aug 2009, 15:49
Lets go dons! Future is well and truely in our hands. Dont make us wait another week! Dons by 39pts.
abers47
23 Aug 2009, 15:50
At least Fletcher is in!
footycool
23 Aug 2009, 15:58
Now the footy world turns to our game, lets put on a show dons!!
Bombers42
23 Aug 2009, 16:09
Time to make the 8 common!, big game
George Washington
23 Aug 2009, 16:16
Anyone have a stream lined up for this, PM please :)
footycool
23 Aug 2009, 16:24
Low scoring game coming up, just started raining
Lance Uppercut
23 Aug 2009, 16:30
footage on Fox just showed Jetta in the jumper in the rooms. Fletcher out?
Boiled Geezer
23 Aug 2009, 16:32
footage on Fox just showed Jetta in the jumper in the rooms. Fletcher out?
If that's true and Jetta plays like rubbish these boards will explode with the ensuing shitfiight between lovers and haters.
footycool
23 Aug 2009, 16:33
Out: Lonergan, IN: Jetta
George Washington
23 Aug 2009, 16:34
Out Lonergan
In Jetta
Smyth94
23 Aug 2009, 16:35
Jetta IN; Lonergan OUT
Lance Uppercut
23 Aug 2009, 16:36
I like it
footycool
23 Aug 2009, 16:38
Everyone ready for Ball up, GO DONS!
bipolarbeaR
23 Aug 2009, 16:40
Fastest team I have ever seen on paper.
TeamHurley
23 Aug 2009, 16:43
pull your sock up hooker.
bipolarbeaR
23 Aug 2009, 16:46
Cmon!! Intensity!!??
TeamHurley
23 Aug 2009, 16:47
Watson goal. Legend!
Crumpler83
...and some people still think Jobe can't kick :cool:
Boiled Geezer
Watty gets off Hedland and goal!
footycool
23 Aug 2009, 16:48
Watson!
George Washington
23 Aug 2009, 16:49
Prismall just went to ground 3 times in a row...
TeamHurley
23 Aug 2009, 16:49
Freo goal. Bombers look a little flat. Prismall looks like the slowest player out there.
qwertyboy
23 Aug 2009, 16:52
Hulrey playing forward?
TeamHurley
23 Aug 2009, 16:52
Fire up dons!
bipolarbeaR
23 Aug 2009, 16:54
over this
Terrible kick Slattery!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 goals down already? Sandilands is going to ... single-handly rape the club
Boiled Geezer
23 Aug 2009, 16:56
Terrible kick Slattery!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Windy's was twice as bad!
bipolarbeaR
.......................... We clearly don't want to win.
TeamHurley
Fre 3.2 20 Ess 1.0 6
Freo dominating. All the game being played in the bombers half.
Inside 50's 10:2 in Freos favour. Not looking good.
Need a lift from somewhere. Plenty of players not even sighted.
qwertyboy
23 Aug 2009, 16:57
Dammit bombers
qwertyboy
23 Aug 2009, 16:58
Slack kicking
TeamHurley
Neagle contested mark on tarrant then kicks a............ point.
Tough shot.
WTF is with game day live??
hotdish
FYI
http://liveplay.championdata.com/applet.html
qwertyboy
23 Aug 2009, 16:59
Fletcher going real well 6 touches already with a suffed hammy
Big Blow Hard
23 Aug 2009, 16:59
Horrible 1st quarter. Down in intensity, skill, desire.
the game is already shot, can't say im surprised either.
footycool
23 Aug 2009, 17:01
Hurly!!!
qwertyboy
West Coast game all over again letting them get all over us.......
Big Blow Hard
Hurley! Fantastic grab. Good kick from Neagle.
Kick the goal son.
YES!!!!!
TeamHurley
big contested grab from hurley and kicks a goal!
typical...coming out flat against a side we should flog. Don't we have something to play for?
Good stuff Hurley...hopefully we use the momentum.
Boiled Geezer
23 Aug 2009, 17:02
Great grab and goal from Hurley!
Negative Nancy's, please go elsewhere.
Big Blow Hard
23 Aug 2009, 17:03
the game is already shot, can't say im surprised either.
I'm not writing us off yet.
Starting to lift now.
Only a goal down.
we will win by 40+
that would have been lovely going into qtr time DAMN!
footycool
Dons just clicking into gear
AndyLesPaul
Lovett really needs to improve with his running kick.
TeamHurley
looks like they have lifted a gear.
Big Blow Hard
23 Aug 2009, 17:05
Suban was caught cold!! **** Ump.
Prismall is seriously lacking some confidence
TeamHurley
23 Aug 2009, 17:05
Bulls***t umpiring.
Big Blow Hard
23 Aug 2009, 17:06
Prismall is seriously lacking some confidence
Notice he let Bellchambers bend to get the ball then, instead of going and getting it himself.
HirdforPM
23 Aug 2009, 17:07
our skills has nearly been as bad as the umpiring
Big Blow Hard
Quinn, you little gem, lol.
Monfries goal. Even
Pears off injured?? :eek:
footycool
GOAL!! were playing better
TeamHurley
Quinn with the tidy goal assist! Monfries kicks the goal. Commentators mentioned something about an injury to pears.