View Full Version : 5th Test Aust V Eng. 20th-24th Aug. The Oval [Lunch Day 4 - Ashes decided]

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

courtjester
17 Aug 2009, 14:40
http://newsx.com/files/images/ECB-logo.jpg

http://www.sportbetaustralia.com/images/cricket-australia-logo.jpg

5th Ashes Test. England v Australia- Aug 20-24th at The Oval

It all boils down to this. Two combatants lock horns in the oldest of cricket battles. Australia versus England, the final test of the series, with both teams still able to win, lose or draw the series. A draw will see Australia retain the Ashes.

This has been an epic series. Although England was rolled comprehensively in the fourth test, these teams are evenly matched. The series has had many twists and turns.

The first test at Cardiff ended in a draw, largely thanks to some stoic batting by Paul Collingwood, who played out 245 balls in scoring 74 on the last day. Australia’s batsman hit form early with Katich, North and Haddin all scoring tons and Ponting scoring a brilliant 150. Michael Clarke also made 83. There were criticisms of the Australian bowling attack being unable to finish the English tail to win the test, Panesar, Anderson and Swann were able to weather the assault long enough to secure the draw.

The second test at Lords saw Australia stumble at one of their favourite grounds. England’s openers set the scene with Strauss scoring 161 and Cook 95. England managed to score 425 and when Anderson and Onions ripped through Australia’s first innings to bowl them out for 215, Australia struggled to stay in the game. England amassed 311 declared in their second innings setting Australia over 500 to win in the fourth innings. Australia managed to rally for 406, with Clarke in great touch making 136 and Johnson and Haddin making 50s in the lower order, but it was not enough.

The third test at Edgebaston saw young Australian opener Phil Hughes dropped, with Shane Watson taking his place. Debutant keeper Graham Manou also came into the team at the last minute after Haddin broke a finger in the warm up. The match was rain affected and ended in a draw. Watson had some success at the top of the order making 50s in both innings, while Michael Clarke continued his fine run of form with an unbeaten ton in the second innings. There was success for the swing bowlers of both teams, with Hilfenhaus picking up 4 wickets and Anderson 5 in the respective first innings.

The teams moved to Headingly for the fourth test, with Australia comprehensively beating England in three days. England’s batting faltered badly in the first innings, managing only 102 all out. Stuart Clark replaced Hauritz in the team and choked the English batting to take 3/18 in the first innings. Siddle fired with the ball to take 5/21 and roll the English tail. Australia then made 445, with Marcus North making a fine century, Clarke 93, and Ponting and Watson among the runs. It was all done and dusted as Australia rolled England in their second innings, with only some lower order resistance from Broad and Swann who both made 60s. Hilfenhaus picked up four wickets while Johnson found his lost rhythm and took five for.

We now move to The Oval, for the fifth and final test of this series. With everything at stake for both teams, here are the main selection issues:

England’s faltering middle order: Bopara, Bell and Collingwood all failed dismally in the fourth test. Every mad dog and Englishman have been named as possible inclusions in the middle order. Mark Ramprakash was considered a possibility in spite of his age, as was former Queensland batsman Stuart Law. In the end the selectors went for a more conventional selection, naming the uncapped Jonathon Trott as Ravi Bopara’s replacement. Trott is an aggressive right hand batsman who averages 44 in First Class cricket.

Australia’s bowling attack: The pacemen all hit their straps in the fourth test, and the question is whether or not Stuart Clark or Nathan Hauritz will play in the final test. Clark’s control and wicket taking was vital in setting up the win, but selectors have murmured that they would prefer 3 pacemen and a spinner. Hauritz has bowled well all series, but Clark could consider himself unlucky if dropped.

Leading Run Scorers This Series

Micheal Clarke- 445 runs at 89.00
Marcus North- 349 runs at 69.80
Andrew Strauss- 344 at 49.14
Ricky Ponting- 311 at 51.30
Simon Katich- 249 at 41.33

Leading Wicket Takers This Series

Ben Hilfenhaus- 18 wickets at 26.38
Peter Siddle- 16 wickets at 29.50
Mitchell Johnson- 16 wickets at 32.62
Stuart Broad- 12 wickets at 36.33
James Anderson- 12 wickets at 39.91

Thursday weather, London

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/weather/img/symbols/57x57/14.gif?v25_4

Heavy Rain Shower
Max: 25°C 77°F
Sunrise: 05:54
Friday weather, London

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/weather/img/symbols/57x57/3.gif?v25_4

Sunny Intervals
Max: 22°C 72°F
Sunrise: 05:56

Cousin Jed
23 Aug 2009, 22:28
May as well get the formalities out of the way before getting much closer to 1000

TorresIsGod
23 Aug 2009, 22:30
Marcus North 201* to guide Australia to Victory shortly after Tea on Day 5

Flawed Genius
23 Aug 2009, 22:31
Breasts.

Illinois Nazi
23 Aug 2009, 22:33
"Ashes decided"?? Have some faith man!

Dagless
23 Aug 2009, 22:33
Time to end this thing...

Juddy88
23 Aug 2009, 22:34
Marcus North 201* to guide Australia to Victory shortly after Tea on Day 5
Hussey to score the winning runs?

Juddy88
You don't think England can come back from here?

Flawed Genius

well they'll probably be decided one way or the other by the end of this thread

Ron
23 Aug 2009, 22:35
Dirty Poms wont get a wicket this session. Bookmark it.

They are rattled, time to put the sword to them.

Kerrby
Breasts.
Post of the year.

bucksisbest
Didn't see Watson and Katich's wickets. Were they both plumb?

GoldenboyHird_5
HAhaha

this Harry Potter segment is absolute GOLD

Radcliffe sounds like a good bloke.

meh
23 Aug 2009, 22:36
Didn't see Watson and Katich's wickets. Were they both plumb?
Yup.

Cousin Jed
23 Aug 2009, 22:37

If this isn't enough - we've either pulled off the miracle or Rauf and Bowden have made 8 more umpiring blunders.

Kerrby
23 Aug 2009, 22:40
well they'll probably be decided one way or the other by the end of this thread
Kingy wants you to post the Martos eyes to make his infraction worth it :D.

beez
I'm thinking of what I can bookmark now

peternorth
subscribed.

nervous say 10 mins ahead

serpico66
Still reckon England at a $1.27 before play was the bet of the millenium, you can still get $1.21 at centrebet

OzBomber
Good start for Punter. Got school tomorrow but there's no way I can go to bed before tea unless we are 4 or 5 down.

legend166
23 Aug 2009, 22:43
This first hour after lunch is vital. Can't afford to lose a wicket.

Is there a reason Harmison hasn't bowled yet?

Flawed Genius
23 Aug 2009, 22:45
don't have the martos eyes, sorry kingsworth

smoovy
23 Aug 2009, 22:47
Still reckon England at a $1.27 before play was the bet of the millenium, you can still get $1.21 at centrebet

I am with you mate. The fact that Australia were $4.50 and are still $5.00 now on Centrebet is just insane. If Australia make these runs it will be talked about for the next 100 years. Don't know how many $5.00 chances could claim that.

Ron
23 Aug 2009, 22:48
Good job Punter. 1/4 of the way to the score we need you to make.

OzBomber
23 Aug 2009, 22:48
Solid knock from Punter. Both batting well but just need to keep batting sensible and not start playing rash strokes. Swann is getting some good turn though.

smoovy
23 Aug 2009, 22:49
This first hour after lunch is vital. Can't afford to lose a wicket.

Is there a reason Harmison hasn't bowled yet?

He is shit?

OzBomber
23 Aug 2009, 22:49
I am with you mate. The fact that Australia were $4.50 and are still $5.00 now on Centrebet is just insane. If Australia make these runs it will be talked about for the next 100 years. Don't know how many $5.00 chances could claim that.
It's amazing that Australia are at $5 to score a world record total and made 540 yet Essendon were at $7.20 last week to beat St Kilda. I think the Kangas were at $10 today as well.

Nankervis brothers
23 Aug 2009, 22:50
The ONLY way Australia can pull of a miracle in this test is if Ponting and Hussey are batting at the end of the day. And that would have to be one of the biggest "ifs" you are likely to ever come cross. All sorts of records will need to be broken.

I'd like to see Punter get a century regardless. He deserves it, given the absolutely shite way the English crowd have treated him.

Notorious_29
23 Aug 2009, 22:51
Dont have work until 3pm tomorow, so ill be up all night. Cmon boys if we can make it to tomorow and by some chance the rain comes down tomorow were still a chance.

Very very wishful thinking, but these two are going along very nicely.

legend166
23 Aug 2009, 22:52
He is shit?

Well, other than that.

Subaru Impreza

englands price going up every run being scored now 1.29, but i reckon it will sticky there for a while until a chunk of runs are scored

OzBomber
Haha the people listening on the radio things heard the pep talk from Mikey. Next ball they made some noise.

peternorth
23 Aug 2009, 22:53
jesssssus phew

maryjames
23 Aug 2009, 22:53
Now that would had sucked

OzBomber
23 Aug 2009, 22:54
Holy **** imagine if he caught that. Would've been an amazing turn in the game.

Ron
haha wtf was that

Subaru Impreza
that the luck they need

legend166
Geeze, Collingwood got to that one so easily by the time he dropped it it was almost a sitter.

Selective Retention
23 Aug 2009, 22:55
Tubby > Collingwood.

Baz_hawk
Ponting survives

flight23
tubby would have caught it

Nankervis brothers
Dont have work until 3pm tomorow, so ill be up all night. Cmon boys if we can make it to tomorow and by some chance the rain comes down tomorow were still a chance.

Very very wishful thinking, but these two are going along very nicely.

Actually, there are showers forecast for tomorrow. Might knock an hour or two of play. Still, thats a long way away. Lets hope these two bat, bat, bat, bat and bat.

maryjames
Haha the people listening on the radio things heard the pep talk from Mikey. Next ball they made some noise.
What is with that?lol.. English funny lot

BarcaRulz
23 Aug 2009, 22:56
Anybody got the radio link for this?

Subaru Impreza
colly's having a mare, really should have taken that after it bounced up

smoovy
$1.24 now the Poms on Centrebet. Empty your pockets everyone. That is as close to charity as you are going to get from a bookie.

OzBomber
23 Aug 2009, 22:57
Tubby > Collingwood.

tubby would have caught it
Great catch.

34UxaOPjLx4

mad_eagle
23 Aug 2009, 22:58
Need to knock one straight back at Swann and shatter his kneecap or something. Get him out of the attack and I have hope we can chase this down. As long as he keeps bowling, you just know he is going to keep creating chance after chance...

Subaru Impreza
23 Aug 2009, 23:00
Australia $5.50 @ Betfair. This is a mega bank job. Put all your life earnings on it, aussies are going to do this!

Nankervis brothers
23 Aug 2009, 23:01

Damn straight. If Australia make these runs it will be considered the greatest Test win of all time. I can't believe they are $5.00 on Centrebet. I know there is an aura about Australian cricket, but that is insane. Maybe they are just looking to cash in on that Aura....

Selective Retention
23 Aug 2009, 23:03
Great catch.

I just went to youtube to re-live the moment :cool:

Who was bowling? Bevan?

legend166
Two fours in a row.

Keep it going.

The English are becoming mighty anxious, considering how far ahead they are still.

MaccaKnowsBest
Great catch.

34UxaOPjLx4

Lol...what was Bevan appealing for :confused:...LBW?

Subaru Impreza
http://site.forum.betfair.com/jive3/betex/images/common/spacer.gif Quite like watching punter in determined form like this. A master at work. A ton here is gonna feck
Swannys Motm chances I fear.

OzBomber
Swann tiring? Two rank short balls slapped away for 4. Keep it up, Huss.

I just went to youtube to re-live the moment :cool:

Who was bowling? Bevan?
Yep, looks like Bevan. Underrated chinamen bowler.

Ron
23 Aug 2009, 23:05
Great catch.

34UxaOPjLx4

kickarse song

doo doo doo, push pineapple, shake the tree. :thumbsu:

legend166
23 Aug 2009, 23:06
When the hell did Stuart Broad learn how to bowl?

Fair dinkum.

maryjames
England stop running on the pitch, I'd love to go on and on about this one...........

tandino
Stop running on the pitch you stupid woman.

OzBomber
23 Aug 2009, 23:08
When the hell did Stuart Broad learn how to bowl?

Fair dinkum.
Yeah, how good was that nut.

He has improved greatly since the start of the series. Thought he was another pommy hack but he's actually pretty good.

Ron
That guy on the cooking show has the manliest beard i have ever seen.

smoovy
How horny is Harry Potter at the moment. I think he is should be in, should have that albino covered.

Blue Dimension
23 Aug 2009, 23:09
Stop running on the pitch you stupid woman.

I shouldn't, but couldn't help but laugh at that :p

Kerrby
23 Aug 2009, 23:10
Lol...what was Bevan appealing for :confused:...LBW?
Bahaha.

Looks like a computer game.

lewigie
23 Aug 2009, 23:11
Carn Broad.. keep running on the pitch.

maryjames
23 Aug 2009, 23:12
This pitch is noway as bad as they have been telling us..

weevil
Yeah, how good was that nut.

He has improved greatly since the start of the series. Thought he was another pommy hack but he's actually pretty good.

He way underperformed earlier in the series, he is an extremely promising player.

Bartram_Class
Great catch.

34UxaOPjLx4
Better catch...

-67-5DCzKc4
Strauss would have claimed that.

Vegas.
23 Aug 2009, 23:13
Far out, getting a bit of deck here is Steph.

Whacker
23 Aug 2009, 23:14
Am i just so bloody tired or is broad bowling as well as curtly ambrose???

Whacker
23 Aug 2009, 23:14
Its much worse

OzBomber
23 Aug 2009, 23:15
Quiet you before we crubmle under pressure. Punter's getting me nervous playing through the covers. I think he just got dropped then. Not sure.

smasha
England stop running on the pitch, I'd love to go on and on about this one...........

I'd have lights and cameras on the pitch overnight so someone doesn't manipulate it.

Flawed Genius
Cricinfo's losing it:

I well fancy some sponge

tandino
23 Aug 2009, 23:16
Quiet you before we crubmle under pressure. Punter's getting me nervous playing through the covers. I think he just got dropped then. Not sure.

He did, but it would have been a tough one to catch.

Ron
Ahh good Harmy is on to release any pressure.

MaccaKnowsBest
I can't watch this.......

Subaru Impreza
23 Aug 2009, 23:18
First mention of "England panic" by Bumble, expect those words to be used with increasing frequency from here on in.

legend166
23 Aug 2009, 23:19
I think we're going to lose a wicket very soon.

I'm getting nervous : (

MaccaKnowsBest
First mention of "England panic" by Bumble, expect those words to be used with increasing frequency from here on in.

This just shows how fragile they are. I mean FFS, Aus still need 300+ runs on a crumbling wicket. Poms aren't going to get a better chance to win the Ashes.

Tapee
Wouldn't be surprised if Australia get up, England seems to just be going through the motions, of course a wicket can easily change all that.

maryjames
23 Aug 2009, 23:20
I'd have lights and cameras on the pitch overnight so someone doesn't manipulate it.
LOL, I know, this England team..... but I won't go there.:D

hedgehog
I can't watch this.......

I sat down here as soon as Watson was out and I haven't moved, and I don't intend too...

MaccaKnowsBest
Oh dear, the ball isn't spinning much :o. Just imagine if Warne was out there? He would be able to spin it back towards himself!

aussie1st
23 Aug 2009, 23:22
I think we're going to lose a wicket very soon.

I'm getting nervous : (

Hard to blame you, these two haven't hit a 100 in a while especially Hussey

Flawed Genius
23 Aug 2009, 23:23
Shut up shut up no jinx

smoovy

5 balls out of 6 do nothing, very slow.

It is that 1 ball which is causing all the problems. Basically it comes down to luck where you hope you play and miss instead of finding the edge of the bat.

OzBomber
Hard to blame you, these two haven't hit a 100 in a while especially Hussey
Ponting made 150 at Cardiff. 50 for Hussey. Job isn't over though.

Whacker
23 Aug 2009, 23:24
Stand up and applaud. CMON HUSS

Ron
Well done Huss.

If there was ever a time to find some form, this is definitely is.

Subaru Impreza
well played Mr Cricket

OzBomber
23 Aug 2009, 23:25
Were they seriously appealing for LBW then? Getting a bit desperate I think. Going way over.

Subaru Impreza
23 Aug 2009, 23:26
oh dear. wheels coming off.

Harmy ineffective
Freddie half fit
Anderson...maybe, not really his pitch
Broad, struggling now the pressures on and he's been warned about running on the pitch.

All down to Swanny to bowl em out imo.

maryjames
Were they seriously appealing for LBW then? Getting a bit desperate I think. Going way over.
Nah thats just normal for England...

aussie1st
solid knock still a long way to go. I was nervous when Harmy appealed since Hussey has got out so many times around this point.

smoovy
England are 1.36 now. Absolutely ridiculous.

roostersgal4eva
23 Aug 2009, 23:27
Nice work huss :D

mad_eagle
23 Aug 2009, 23:27
Harmison to Hussey, no run, rapped on the pad - not raped as I continually seem to type - but that's too high. Much better length from Harmison. If only he'd pitch it up more often...

lol Cricinfo definately losing the plot :p

aussie1st
23 Aug 2009, 23:28
Another appeal

Whacker
23 Aug 2009, 23:31
Bowling harmy