View Full Version : Michael Husseys celebrations over his century
Is there a bigger twat in Australia cricket? Here we are, staring down the barrel of defeat, in terrible trouble of losing the Ashes and after finally scoring a decent score he carries on like he just single handidly won us the Ashes. Big smile acting like a hero despite the fact hes one of if not the main reason Australia are losing the Ashes in the first place.
Selfish and disgraceful attitude. The type of attitude that signifies why Australia are leaving England empty handed once again.
"You only play cricket for stats" - Sam Newman
It was akin to Jeff Farmer cracking the jesus pose as he slots his fourth in time on of the last quarter to bring the margin back to just inside 10 goals.
Nice achievement, but it's still a team game.
Australia only play cricket for stats. South Africa, England play as a team hence why they are actually better than Australia nowadays
Gilbert_Hodge
24 Aug 2009, 13:16
Australia only play cricket for stats. South Africa, England play as a team hence why they are actually better than Australia nowadays
Hahaha yeah good one. Australia are ahead of England in the test rankings are they not? :rolleyes:
Worldheroxx
24 Aug 2009, 13:23
I was thinking the same thing at the time! I remember pieterson being totally slated for celebrating a century in a 1 day game england were going to lose, and this is the ashes ffs. Plus what someone else said, hussey is one of the main reasons we were in that position in the first place
Was a little over the top, raise of the bat and back on with the job would have been better.
Ill Chicken
24 Aug 2009, 13:35
Hardly over the top at all. He didn't jump or fist pump or do anything crazy besides raise his bats at his mates, he had worked hard, fair enough it'll be seen in the same light as Matthew Hayden's 2005 ton but it was far from excessive.
crownie
24 Aug 2009, 13:52
Is there a bigger twat in Australia cricket? Here we are, staring down the barrel of defeat, in terrible trouble of losing the Ashes and after finally scoring a decent score he carries on like he just single handidly won us the Ashes. Big smile acting like a hero despite the fact hes one of if not the main reason Australia are losing the Ashes in the first place.
Selfish and disgraceful attitude. The type of attitude that signifies why Australia are leaving England empty handed once again.
atleast use a word different to what the poms throw around every sentence.
bunsen burner
24 Aug 2009, 15:26
bigger twat = Flintoff
There's no excuse for the "black soccer player I am God and above everyone else" routine. I thought Bree Lee's chainsaw and mark Williams Archer was bad but this celebration takes the cake. There's nothing to like about someone who says "look at me, I'm a golden God".
Hussey celebration = inapropriate.
Our Ashes team campaign is more important than him getting a score and saving his test career. I hope the selectors still f*** him off. not because the celebration but because he hasn't performed for a long time.
damochandler
24 Aug 2009, 15:43
what do you want him to do. give a little raise of the bat to his team mates and remark his guard. dont be so stupid
Panthera Leo!
24 Aug 2009, 15:49
Totally agree with you. The number one culprit for Australia is their poor excuse for a Captain, Ponting!!!!
sausageroll
24 Aug 2009, 16:02
The player who's been under more pressure to perform than any other on the Australian team comes out and scores a great ton in very difficult conditions.
Can't see any reason why he should be happy with that effort :rolleyes:
Of course he'd be disappointed with his form and with the series loss but what's more disappointing is the fact that he get's crucified even when he does something good :thumbsd:
Anyone here scored a test match hundred when your team is looking down the barrel? Anyone here scored a test hundred at all?
You reckon you wouldn't be happy with your efforts if you did?
J-Train
24 Aug 2009, 16:08
The player who's been under more pressure to perform than any other on the Australian team comes out and scores a great ton in very difficult conditions.
Can't see any reason why he should be happy with that effort :rolleyes:
Of course he'd be disappointed with his form and with the series loss but what's more disappointing is the fact that he get's crucified even when he does something good :thumbsd:
Anyone here scored a test match hundred when your team is looking down the barrel? Anyone here scored a test hundred at all?
You reckon you wouldn't be happy with your efforts if you did?
The point is, he tonned up when the game was gone and carried on like a pork chop. Those runs were meaningless, we needed them in the first innings.
Have been thoroughly sick of watching Hussey get out cheaply for the past 20 tests and hope that his junk time century doesn't stop selectors from showing him the door.
Hussey is the reason everything went to shit in our last innings.
Tosser.
Ill Chicken
24 Aug 2009, 16:16
The point is, he tonned up when the game was gone and carried on like a pork chop.
No he didn't.
bunsen burner
24 Aug 2009, 16:24
what do you want him to do. give a little raise of the bat to his team mates and remark his guard. dont be so stupid
In such a circumstance, yes.
damochandler
24 Aug 2009, 16:34
so what some of you guys are saying is. no one can celebrate a ton at any time. fmd. get over yourselves. it was a great ton under emense pressure. ponting shouldn't have been ball watching when he was run out
Ill Chicken
24 Aug 2009, 16:35
In such a circumstance, yes.
Which he basically did.
Worldheroxx
24 Aug 2009, 16:38
The art of celebrating a hundred when your team is going to lose - slowly raise the bat once, only once, in a solemn fashion like you are lifing your relatives urn at their funeral. Smile briefly, then turn the smile into a grimace, as if you are recieving $200 and being burned with a hot stick at the same time
legend166
24 Aug 2009, 16:39
so what some of you guys are saying is. no one can celebrate a ton at any time. fmd. get over yourselves. it was a great ton under emense pressure. ponting shouldn't have been ball watching when he was run out
Incredibly ridiculous strawman. No one here said that at all.
As others have said, raise the bat and acknowledge those clapping you.
Move on, then try - somehow - to muster up the win from there.
As I've said in another thread - too little, too late from Mr Cricket. Hopefully the selectors grow some spine and give him 'the talk'.
Panthera Leo!
24 Aug 2009, 16:41
Hussey is the reason everything went to shit in our last innings.
Tosser.
Rubbish! Ponting poor captaincy was the main reason that Australia lost the game AND the Ashes!
damochandler
24 Aug 2009, 16:41
Incredibly ridiculous strawman. No one here said that at all.
have a look through the whole thread
Belnakor
24 Aug 2009, 16:51
i'm fairly sure i've seen Punter do this a couple of times, generally when he still thinks there is work to do. The guy does have 38 next to his name though.
I think he was more happy about the fact he'd probably still have a job this summer.
It was over the top though for someone who is a senior member of a team being spanked in a match his captain labelled his most important test match.
Pretty sure Punter would have reacted very differently.
Poz_Utd_V.2
24 Aug 2009, 16:56
Rubbish! Ponting poor captaincy was the main reason that Australia lost the game AND the Ashes!
So it's Pontings fault the selectors didn't pick Hauritz over Clark in the last test?
So it's Pontings fault Johnson couldn't hit the pitch half the time he was bowling?
So it's Pontings fault M.Hussey forgot to use his bat when getting bowled and LBW, not too mention the fact he was absolute garbage for 95% of the series.
Absolut ignorant comment to just simply blame Ponting for Australia losing the ashes. The 3 points above are the main reasons why we lost the ashes
magpie10
24 Aug 2009, 17:01
So it's Pontings fault the selectors didn't pick Hauritz over Clark in the last test?
So it's Pontings fault Johnson couldn't hit the pitch half the time he was bowling?
So it's Pontings fault M.Hussey forgot to use his bat when getting bowled and LBW, not too mention the fact he was absolute garbage for 95% of the series.
Absolut ignorant comment to just simply blame Ponting for Australia losing the ashes. The 3 points above are the main reasons why we lost the ashes
here here
bunsen burner
24 Aug 2009, 18:01
Is the Govt allowed to revoke Ponting's citizenship? I'm sure NZ would take him. Not like we'd leave without a home or anything.
Johnson#26
24 Aug 2009, 18:11
In that position, when it could be your final Test innings, of course you're going to make the most of it. Hussey is a star, still have faith in him.
bigger twat = Flintoff
There's no excuse for the "black soccer player I am God and above everyone else" routine. I thought Bree Lee's chainsaw and mark Williams Archer was bad but this celebration takes the cake. There's nothing to like about someone who says "look at me, I'm a golden God".
Hussey celebration = inapropriate.
Our Ashes team campaign is more important than him getting a score and saving his test career. I hope the selectors still f*** him off. not because the celebration but because he hasn't performed for a long time.
He is god and his run out turned the match in England's favour again. IMO Ponting was not going to go out to a bowler, and this is what puts him ahead of any player that people throw up for captain. When the going gets real tough and he is given the chance (i.e. not going out early, or not copping a super ball) Ponting will bat for days. The likes of Clarke and Haddin are always a chance to get themself out no matter what is happening.
As for Hussey it was slightly over the top. But the bigger twat would be Hilditch if that century keeps him in the XI. Batting at 4 or 5 in the last 4 series he has failed and so has Australia
aaronm46
24 Aug 2009, 18:50
Yeh I think it was appropriate just to acknowledge the crowd and get back to it
The game wasn't gone at the time he got his hundred. He still had Haddin there with a bit over 200 to go.
When we were in this same position at Lords going into the last day we still thought we were a chance.
A very silly thing to do in my opinion, up there with Brett Lee or any other bowler celebrating like they had won the lottery after bowling out xyz tail ender (really those sorts of celebrations should ONLY be done if they've just won the series).
It's a pretty massive relief for him given his personal circumstances... can you imagine how exhilerating it would be to finally have a breakthrough success after your neck has been on the chopping block for over a year? The guy might very well have saved his job with that knock - that's a massive weight off his shoulders.
I can understand why he spontanously reacted the way he did, even if it wasn't the most appropriate reaction from an overall team perspective.
Coach Bombay
24 Aug 2009, 20:20
It's a pretty massive relief for him given his personal circumstances... can you imagine how exhilerating it would be to finally have a breakthrough success after your neck has been on the chopping block for over a year? The guy might very well have saved his job with that knock - that's a massive weight off his shoulders.
I can understand why he spontaneously reacted the way he did, even if it wasn't the most appropriate reaction from an overall team perspective.
Exactly.
Huss just cant win. Even when he cracks the ton you lot find a way to turn and use it against him.
Pathetic.
TheColeTrain
24 Aug 2009, 20:29
Its ridiculous to even consider that it was appropriate to celebrate so much.
Its the final inning of the final test and he has failed every other time he has batted.
Acknowledge the crowd and get on with the big job that was in front of them to save the Ashes.
Poor form to be so selfish regardless of personal situation, its a team sport which Hussey has not contributed for a long time so show some self control
Donsftw14
24 Aug 2009, 22:14
I think it was more out of relief then anything. Maybe if he had his time again, he wouldn't have done what he did. Stop making such a big issue over nothing really.
Sad thing is that meaningless knock has saved his career and you can't see the selectors dropping him, Hussey being 34 i would of loved to see Ferguson get experience and blossom in that role.
Lunchlady Doris
25 Aug 2009, 09:28
Who the hell said that?
silky-smooth
25 Aug 2009, 09:38
Sad thing is that meaningless knock has saved his career and you can't see the selectors dropping him, Hussey being 34 i would of loved to see Ferguson get experience and blossom in that role.
It wasn't meaningless at the time, see post 32
silky-smooth
25 Aug 2009, 09:40
Exactly.
Huss just cant win. Even when he cracks the ton you lot find a way to turn and use it against him.
Pathetic.
It kind of typifies the bf attitude. Sickening.
A knock under incredible pressure. The pressure of the Ashes series; the pressure of your career; and he comes out and produces a wonderful ton.
Meanwhile Michael Clarke gets out for a duck and no-one lynches him. Instead you attack the only man who did something in the Test and STILL have a go at him. Who the **** cares how he celebrates? Celebrate the fact he was celebrating. Haddin was still at the other end, there was still more than hope until Haddin threw it away and it all began.
goalpie
25 Aug 2009, 09:54
HA! HA! more like the selectors picking shit players in the squad like Hussey, Haddin, Hauritz, Siddle, Watson and McDonald.
Actually just playing a shot should have been a celebration for Hussey, beats standing there like a goose.
peternorth
25 Aug 2009, 09:57
Meanwhile Michael Clarke gets out for a duck and no-one lynches him. Instead you attack the only man who did something in the Test and STILL have a go at him. Who the **** cares how he celebrates? Celebrate the fact he was celebrating. Haddin was still at the other end, there was still more than hope until Haddin threw it away and it all began.
clarke can do no wrong. he's the next captain, wears his collar up, is with lara and thus in all the womens mags.
JimDocker
25 Aug 2009, 10:53
I think the celebration was just slightly over exuberant given the position Australia were in. I don't think it was a lynching offence and it is amazing how spiteful people get on here.
Hussey was overall disappointing in the series. I don't think he should have been blamed for Ponting's run out. Ponting hesitated, then did not go flat out until it was too late. Australia had taken a few sharp singles in the innings so it is not like they had decided against running.
As for lynching Clarke for getting a duck. It was the single unluckiest dismissal of the series.
when i read the title of this comment before i had seen the final session of play i thought "oh great, Hussey has got his 100, jumped up and down like a mad man, fist pumping and getting excited".
I was so disappointed when all he did was raise the bat to the crowd and thank his lucky stars for the century.
If one topic on big footy has ever disappointed for whatever reason: this was it.
damochandler
25 Aug 2009, 13:56
Who the hell said that?
read through the whole thread. it sounds like people dont want anyone to celebrate a 100
Gets trashed when he doesn't make runs and gets trashed when he makes a ton.
Sorry Huss it seems you just can't win.
Honestly get a grip, he made a ton and we weren't finished when he got it so to call it meaningless is utter garbage.
Where's the criticism of Flintoff and his Jeff Farmer type celebrations?
Ill Chicken
25 Aug 2009, 14:07
As for lynching Clarke for getting a duck. It was the single unluckiest dismissal of the series.
His first innings dismissal was poor though, real bad, old Clarke dismissal.
Ill Chicken
25 Aug 2009, 14:54
read through the whole thread. it sounds like people dont want anyone to celebrate a 100
Only allowed to celebrate in the first innings of a test in which you lose.
It wasn't meaningless at the time, see post 32
So you actually thought we were gonna chase down 546 did you? say what you want but that knock has denied another promising player a chance to develop.
KennyHuntersBlues
25 Aug 2009, 16:23
The point is, he tonned up when the game was gone and carried on like a pork chop. Those runs were meaningless, we needed them in the first innings.
Have been thoroughly sick of watching Hussey get out cheaply for the past 20 tests and hope that his junk time century doesn't stop selectors from showing him the door.
gold:thumbsu: spot on
Cousins2Higgins
25 Aug 2009, 16:43
Erm, yeah?
The situation was not one of joy, if he had've made a ton in the first innings we may have had a shot; but in true Hussey style, he failed.
I'm starting to think it's Hussey's head that's become the problem, and not so much the technique. The smiles and elation gave me the impression that he felt a weight lift, whereas before Huss was someone who you could comfortably say would knuckle down and be there at stumps.
damochandler
25 Aug 2009, 18:20
you blokes would bag him if he didnt celebrate as well
you blokes would bag him if he didnt celebrate as wellNo I wouldn't.
silky-smooth
25 Aug 2009, 19:19
So you actually thought we were gonna chase down 546 did you? say what you want but that knock has denied another promising player a chance to develop.
Well when you only need approx 200 runs, it becomes very attainable.
What was he supposed to do ...... fail?
It (should) matter very little regardless. The writing's been on the wall for him for a while.
Lunchlady Doris
26 Aug 2009, 09:51
It was ridiculous, wasn't it.
Discounting all of the terrible, terrible umpiring decisions you're spot on.
Lunchlady Doris
26 Aug 2009, 09:53
Where's the criticism of Flintoff and his Jeff Farmer type celebrations?
Yeah there's a thread about it.
NorthBhoy
26 Aug 2009, 16:33
Sorry Huss it seems you just can't win.
Like **** he couldn't have won.
He could have ****ing done something (anything) in the previous 4 tests, not run out the captain and only chance to win the game and not acted like a flange when he made 100 in series defining shitstorm he helped create.
Mr Cricket? Mr Wanker.
Cousins2Higgins
26 Aug 2009, 19:11
you blokes would bag him if he didnt celebrate as well
Nope, no I wouldn't.
Hussey doesn't normally carry on like a (dare I say it) pom after getting a ton, he's normally dead focused on getting another hundred and putting the team before himself.
The look of sheer joy on his face, while we're still down what, 300 odd runs suggests to me he's not playing for the team anymore.
Plenty of blokes to replace him, I'm not phased.
Has come out during the week and said he hoped that his century was the "springboard forward".
Please do what Hayden eventually did and stand yourself down when noone else will.
Barwick17
27 Aug 2009, 00:50
Has come out during the week and said he hoped that his century was the "springboard forward".
Please do what Hayden eventually did and stand yourself down when noone else will.
This is the point - whilst the ACB pay you 700 grand a year with free flights around the world, why would you want to give up your spot?
Cricket is too lucrative now - it is such a good wicket so everyone wants to hang on until they are near 40 (Warne was allowed to).
Until we find smart selectors with balls who will make a hard call once in a while to the benefit of promising cricketers, our test team will be full of selfish people who refuse to except there is someone better.
Don't get me wrong - I would stay too - but if you are trying to improve the club then it isn't the right decision.