View Full Version : Elite Midfielder - Wish List

yaco55
24 Aug 2009, 20:38
Most of you would agree that it would be ideal if EFC had an A Grade Midfielder.

I have looked through the lists of clubs and chosen the elite midfielder who would be the best fit for EFC.

I considered the following

- endurance
- skill
- peripheral vision
- decision making
- defensive side
- reading the play

My player is Adam Cooney.

stay true
24 Aug 2009, 20:40
Gazza Jr.

IbbosBFF
24 Aug 2009, 20:50
You could set your sights a bit lower and maybe actually get Ryan Griffen.

Godzke
24 Aug 2009, 20:56
Not sure whose on the market at the moment ... might have to wait till the season is finished before putting together a short list.

Knights has a policy of promoting youth within the ranks, so I'm not sure if he'll look for any player over 25. Or he might pull out another skipworth somewhere.

HULK HOGAN
24 Aug 2009, 20:59
Adam Goodes for me but I would take Cooney and Gaz jnr.

smashh
24 Aug 2009, 21:02
Am yet to really see Cooney or Griffen's defensive side yet though.
Jarrad McVeigh fills those categories I think.

Bomber32
24 Aug 2009, 21:04
Adam Cooney for me.

cAsEy_18
24 Aug 2009, 21:09
Getting on a bit, but Goodes for sure, he's got everything. On availability, he's far from elite but Salopek i'd be looking at.

tubbis
24 Aug 2009, 21:12
I'd take Ryan O'Keefe. Bloke can play alongside Monfries in a half-forward hit up role as well as play in the midfield.

bipolarbeaR
24 Aug 2009, 21:18
Deledio, Brennan or Griffin, we need to get a player who is athletic skillful, silky and fast and DYING for a coach to give him a warrant to play in a maniacal fashion.

IbbosBFF
24 Aug 2009, 21:22
Am yet to really see Cooney or Griffen's defensive side yet though.
Jarrad McVeigh fills those categories I think.

Where were u Griffen's whole first year when he played off half-back.

biglaycock
24 Aug 2009, 21:27
Travis Boak for me, word on the trading board that he may want out of Port too.

Godzke
24 Aug 2009, 21:30
On the flipside ... what would we want to give up? I'm thinking a player for player trade since draft picks are invaluable for this draft.

EFL Boy
24 Aug 2009, 21:32
Is not there yet, but IMO has huge potential:

David Armitage.

Jobe Watson
24 Aug 2009, 21:34

I'd love to see Boak running around in the red and black. Good young player who's only going to get better. Plus I've got some man-love for the bloke.

Wouldn't mind Pendlebury coming over to us either, just oozes class.

adii_7
24 Aug 2009, 21:36
myers stand up.. please

KaaN10
24 Aug 2009, 21:41
Salopek

Haduken
24 Aug 2009, 21:43
Dayne Beams.

That kid will dominate

windyhill
24 Aug 2009, 21:45
S.Black.

yaco55
24 Aug 2009, 22:09
I think that you need to be looking at a player aged 21 to 26.

Little Jerry
24 Aug 2009, 22:14

David Armitage.

Getting on a bit, but Goodes for sure, he's got everything. On availability, he's far from elite but Salopek i'd be looking at.

None of them are elite yet but i would differently have a look at all three. I'd have a look at Cooney for someone elite.

Ben the Gooner
24 Aug 2009, 22:18
Joel Selwood. Inside and out, and a genuine superstar.

Flyn Ryder
24 Aug 2009, 22:29
Armitage and Boak, neither elite status but good footballers in their early 20's who would fit nicely into the midfield.

The Dustbin
24 Aug 2009, 23:07
The most underrated player in the AFL - Daniel Cross. :thumbsu:

MarkJohnson#1
24 Aug 2009, 23:34
In an ideal world I'd take Joel Selwood hands down. Then Gibbs or Deledio.

Seb78
24 Aug 2009, 23:48
Dal Santo or Deledio

bombre-boy
25 Aug 2009, 00:44
Boyd, from the doggies

Jonesy1987
25 Aug 2009, 02:22
Higgins or Swallow, both going to be very special.

Knight Ryders
25 Aug 2009, 08:47
Shaun Higgins will be a nice fit as would Joel Selwood.

Regardless of age etc., Adam Goodes is the one I would take. Absolute freak.

Re: Travis Boak, Salopek and Armitage, I would have a serious dip at all three, particularly Boak. Boak would come at a cost though as he was a first round draft choice and has shown plenty of ability. It would probably cost us a pick 1-4 (Meaning we would have to obtain one of those picks) and may be a player. They might have some interest in Monfries. Salopek and Armitage may come a bit cheaper, but I don't think Armitage will be made available. He would be in the succession plan at the Saints for Hayes and Ball.

kelvin_sheedy
25 Aug 2009, 10:05
Isn't this thread supposed to be about elite midfielders? :confused:

thebigboy
25 Aug 2009, 10:10
Why not have a crack at Daniel Kerr?

Every year he's supposedly unhappy in Perth and I think we have something that we can offer them.

I would at least have a crack at him.

beev
25 Aug 2009, 10:48

This guy is a gun.

hank31
25 Aug 2009, 12:06
if we are talking realistically id be having a crack at boak, salopek, kerr or ball... all can play the game and on BF i keep suggesting salopek to essendon because he is elite at his best and i think we can potentially get him for a bit of a bargain this yr after the year he has had..

SDR223
25 Aug 2009, 12:40
Joel Selwood would be perfect. Young, Hard at It, In and Under, Tough - everything we need.

Will Geelong take Nash or Jetta in exchange? :)

resurrector
25 Aug 2009, 12:41
salopek is too injury prone wouldnt touch him with a 20ft pole

hank31
25 Aug 2009, 14:05
salopek is too injury prone wouldnt touch him with a 20ft pole

im sure the coaching staff would... at the right price that is.... last yr we picked up prissa after an ACL..

Ludwig van Bertstare
25 Aug 2009, 14:10
Jimmy Bartel.

jsd09
25 Aug 2009, 15:14
Jimmy Bartel Almost became a Bomber a few years back.. now look at him

Daytripper
25 Aug 2009, 15:28
Isn't this thread supposed to be about elite midfielders? :confused:

LOL - thats what I thought Kelvin.

Some of the names listed are baffling - Ball, Armityge, Salopek, Boak, Kerr. Two of them can't get a game for their club now, one is an okay player who has never dominated a game, another is a fringe player at St Kilda and Kerr is still resting on his achievements from 3 years ago and prior.

Thread should be tited "Players who were once high draft picks who we will trade for because we think we can turn them around."

If we traded for Ball there has to be serious questions asked of our list management people. Pace of the game has gone right past him.

big_dunk
25 Aug 2009, 15:30
Most of you would agree that it would be ideal if EFC had an A Grade Midfielder.

I have looked through the lists of clubs and chosen the elite midfielder who would be the best fit for EFC.

I considered the following

- endurance
- skill
- peripheral vision
- decision making
- defensive side
- reading the play

My player is Adam Cooney.

Ben Cousins? Well you guys got Prismal for pretty cheap, should be stoked with that!

Brent Prismall#9
25 Aug 2009, 16:46
Stop throwing up rediculas names because there's no way in hell we would get one of cooney, griffen, pendulbery or mcveigh, if your gonna throw up name at least be realistic.

IMO i dont think we have to look for an elite midfielder elsewhere we have plenty of midfield talent and depth and i believe we have two players who will become elite. We've already spoken about watson and if he isnt elite already he will be next year but the other player I'm thinking of is prismall. With some more experience and a pre-season under his belt i really believe he can become an elite midfielder for us. He gets alot of the ball, he has a beautiful kick, he can kick goals and is good in and under. With that in mind don't forget we still have stanton, winderlich, reimers and houli who in the future wont be gettting tagged (thanks to watson and prismall) and with some more time can also possibly become elite.

HULK HOGAN
25 Aug 2009, 18:17
Joel Selwood would be perfect. Young, Hard at It, In and Under, Tough - everything we need.

Will Geelong take Nash or Jetta in exchange? :)
NO WAY would we give up Jetta or Nash when we can get him for next to nothing, like we got Prissmal:D
Does anyone think he can win the Brownlow this year, backed him during pre season?

Ryder_Hooker
25 Aug 2009, 18:34
You cant be serious?

Edit: Sorry thought you were referring to Prismall.

I think he has played pretty well this year, although I think Dayne Swan will get it..

TheDon35
25 Aug 2009, 18:46
Selwood: Does it all on the field, is a magnificent leader by all reports and has 10 years left in him.

Easily the best option for us IMO.

Bambino
25 Aug 2009, 18:50
Stop throwing up rediculas names because there's no way in hell we would get one of cooney, griffen, pendulbery or mcveigh, if your gonna throw up name at least be realistic.

IMO i dont think we have to look for an elite midfielder elsewhere we have plenty of midfield talent and depth and i believe we have two players who will become elite. We've already spoken about watson and if he isnt elite already he will be next year but the other player I'm thinking of is prismall. With some more experience and a pre-season under his belt i really believe he can become an elite midfielder for us. He gets alot of the ball, he has a beautiful kick, he can kick goals and is good in and under. With that in mind don't forget we still have stanton, winderlich, reimers and houli who in the future wont be gettting tagged (thanks to watson and prismall) and with some more time can also possibly become elite.

Finally, someone said it. I think Prismall will be an absolute star. Watch how he goes about it, remembering that he didnt play at the start of the year and is getting going. Give him a decent pre-season and I expect him to dominate next year.

If Watson's progress continues the way it has he will also be elite. As always, elite takes 2 or 3 years to obtain.

The OP got it correct, we need to get an out and out star (which there are basically none uncontracted and would have to get up an arm and a leg to get) or develop. I'm willing to wait and watch our boys develop.

WindyHillWatcher
25 Aug 2009, 19:58

David Armitage.

I agree. Can hardly get a run at the saints and I reckon he has a massive future ahead of him. Young kid... would slot in well with our mob.

yaco55
25 Aug 2009, 21:19
This thread is being derailed.

There are probably 15 elite midfielders in the competition.

I am certain that any of the 15 would be valuable for EFC - But who would be our best fit ?

stay true
25 Aug 2009, 21:33
This thread is being derailed.

There are probably 15 elite midfielders in the competition.

I am certain that any of the 15 would be valuable for EFC - But who would be our best fit ?
That's what I thought, but the next 4 pages of suggestions confused me.

In this case I'm sticking withing Ablett.

adii_7
25 Aug 2009, 21:35
Subannnnn !!!

resurrector
26 Aug 2009, 02:02
im sure the coaching staff would... at the right price that is.... last yr we picked up prissa after an ACL..

yeah prissa had one real injury problem, don't doubt that it is a pretty big one but salopek has had a multitude. there's no way i'd risk an up and coming mid or draft picks on someone like salopek who's never really got thru a whole yr of footy

AlwaysRight
26 Aug 2009, 19:04
Armitage.

donsman4eva
26 Aug 2009, 22:07
If there was no worries about price, age, etc, and just taking them on the footy they have played this year, I would take Judd in a heartbeat.

However if we were to be looking realistically, there are a few guys other than those mentioned that would be worth considering:

Brent Rielly - good ball skills and good goal sense.
Michael Rischitelli - quality player, wanted to come to Melboure a few years ago.
Daniel Jackson - Great season this year. Has been able to play a shutdown role while gathering posessions as well.
Jarred Harbrow - Quick, long kick, good defensively and makes good decisions.
Leigh Montagna - Will be looking for a big contract increase on his next contract. We might be able to fit him in. He would be perfect.

Disclaimer: I dont know the contract status of any of these players, nor do I know how much of our salary cap we are paying. These are players that IMO would fit in well and we might have a chance of luring over.

Knight Ryders
26 Aug 2009, 22:27
If we're going for pure elite then in order:

1. Goodes - Absolute champ midfielder who could also play forward for us. Hardest match up in the game.
2. Judd - I think he is not as good as he was at WCE, but he is still one of the best. I love his leadership - it would be invaluable at the Bombers.
3. Ablett - Has every asset of the game down pact.
4. Hodge - Tough as nuts and a great leader to boot. A match winner when he's in the mood.
5. Selwood - Already elite and will probably only get better. Very Voss like in the way he goes about it.

There's a few more off the top of my head I would like, but these five would bring something special to Bomberland.

yaco55
26 Aug 2009, 23:50
If we're going for pure elite then in order:

1. Goodes - Absolute champ midfielder who could also play forward for us. Hardest match up in the game.
2. Judd - I think he is not as good as he was at WCE, but he is still one of the best. I love his leadership - it would be invaluable at the Bombers.
3. Ablett - Has every asset of the game down pact.
4. Hodge - Tough as nuts and a great leader to boot. A match winner when he's in the mood.
5. Selwood - Already elite and will probably only get better. Very Voss like in the way he goes about it.

There's a few more off the top of my head I would like, but these five would bring something special to Bomberland.

I am growing more frustrated reading this thread.

It asks for Elite Midfielders aged 21-26

Goodes is 29.
Hodge is not used a pure midfielder because he doesn't have the tank.

Ron
27 Aug 2009, 00:07
Danny Stanley :thumbsu:

......Just think about it. :thumbsu:

Kong
27 Aug 2009, 00:24
Judd
Ablett
Selwood
Mitchell
Cooney
Bartel
Dal Santo

In that order.
Will settle for Dal Santo, I guess.

The Donners
27 Aug 2009, 08:38
Deledio

Should be throwing everything at him.

Knight Ryders
27 Aug 2009, 11:05
I am growing more frustrated reading this thread.

It asks for Elite Midfielders aged 21-26

Goodes is 29.
Hodge is not used a pure midfielder because he doesn't have the tank.

I'm just sitting here imagining you swearing at the computer. A lot of people, including myself, tend not read the OP or skim through it so may be you could have included the 21-26 in your title. Doesn't make it right that we do this, just a fact of life on BF.

I take the point on Goodes, but stating that Hodge is not a pure midfielder is complete crap. The only reason he doesn't play there full time is because Hawthorn need him to fill gaps. When he does play a full game in the midfield (as when he smashed Collingwood), he is definitely A1 elite.

saladin
27 Aug 2009, 11:16
What exactly is this thread for? is it purely who we would want? if so, ablett has to be at the top of the list, end of conversation.

if it's for someone who might somehow be attainable, then that's different. I reckon Kerr suits our needs and would not be astronomical in price. still won't happen though :p

yaco55
27 Aug 2009, 14:19
I'm just sitting here imagining you swearing at the computer. A lot of people, including myself, tend not read the OP or skim through it so may be you could have included the 21-26 in your title. Doesn't make it right that we do this, just a fact of life on BF.

I take the point on Goodes, but stating that Hodge is not a pure midfielder is complete crap. The only reason he doesn't play there full time is because Hawthorn need him to fill gaps. When he does play a full game in the midfield (as when he smashed Collingwood), he is definitely A1 elite.

Hodge's fitness is not as good as Hawthorn would like.

This is why he isnt full time in the midfield.

yaco55
27 Aug 2009, 14:23
What exactly is this thread for? is it purely who we would want? if so, ablett has to be at the top of the list, end of conversation.

if it's for someone who might somehow be attainable, then that's different. I reckon Kerr suits our needs and would not be astronomical in price. still won't happen though :p

The point of the thread is to discuss Essendon's need for an elite midfielder.

And which of the elite players would fit into our side.

There is always a possibility - albeit a slim possibility - That EFC may go after an elite midfielder in the next 2 years.

I dont think that Ablett would be a good fit because he doesn't kick the ball enough ( in 2009 ) and he isnt using his breakaway pace often enough.

Knight Ryders
27 Aug 2009, 15:49
Hodge's fitness is not as good as Hawthorn would like.

This is why he isnt full time in the midfield.

Is it just based on this year because of his groin and lack of pre-season/training or over the last few years. Pretty sure he played midfield 2 years ago and was very dominant.

The Donners
27 Aug 2009, 21:47
Is it just based on this year because of his groin and lack of pre-season/training or over the last few years. Pretty sure he played midfield 2 years ago and was very dominant.

He played midfield until round 17 last year.

yaco55
28 Aug 2009, 03:25
I stand by my comments about Hodge.