View Full Version : Merged Delistings/Trade thread pt2

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Kong
27 Aug 2009, 00:45
The last thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=590550) reached 1000 posts.

james_omahoney
27 Aug 2009, 09:15
Part 1 was so much better than Part 2.

kelvin_sheedy
27 Aug 2009, 11:16
Suggesting Atkinson can cover the loss of Dempsey is like saying dirt is a good substitute for cavier.

Seb78
27 Aug 2009, 11:22
2nd rounder and monfries i said a few weeks ago but dunno now lol.

and richmond probably wouldn't do that anyway.

1st rounder and lovett murray:p even Mcphee sick of his inconsistancy

but richmond would want 1st rounder and one of are better young players which in the end prob wouldn't be worth it:(

I really want deledio though!!!

I kinda like this trade, I think its more than fair enough, with bowden retiring the tiges would need some hardness and pace running off half back. Who better to provide than NLM, it will be up to whether Hardwick would want him or not...

Mad Bomber Sean
27 Aug 2009, 11:25
Suggesting Priz is stupid.....had a brilliant first year after a knee injury and is a player who wins the ball. Without ball winners, who feeds it to Delidio?

Its clear cut to me. Lids is a proven gun with the ability to personally win the game. Put him in a good midfield with Hillie / Ryder,Watson, Lovett etc and he would be awesome.

A proven gun is simply a better bet than the talented but unproven Prizza.

It's hard to judge Prizzas inside work, this year it's been ok, but good when considering his knee injury. We have Watson, Hocking & Lonergan that can all play in an under equal or better to Prizza. I expect Myers to develop in this area also. Hocking & Lonergan will also get better.

Prizza for Lids would be a highly profitable trade for us..

Talent is perhaps, Delidio is proven.

Mad Bomber Sean
27 Aug 2009, 11:41
Mad Bomber or Crazy Bomber? We'd be cutting off our arm to save our leg.

Our future successes rest with Gumbleton getting fit whether you like it or not. He is right now quite possibly the most important player we need in our team.

Why do so many bomber supporters feel Gumby is Jesus Christ sent from football heaven to save us?

We have Danniher, Still, Neagle, Hurley, Laycock, Hooker or Ryder that could be developed to play key forward.

Delidio could also play as a medium sized forward - something we seriously lack.

Talent is good. Proven is better.

jade_00
27 Aug 2009, 11:44
Richmond would obviously want significant compensation, and to be honest, much as I think Deledio would fit in well I don't really want to give up any of our young stars or an early pick. And Richmond certainly won't be looking at older players now.

The Donners
27 Aug 2009, 11:57
Why do so many bomber supporters feel Gumby is Jesus Christ sent from football heaven to save us?

We have Daniher, Still, Neagle, Hurley, Laycock, Hooker or Ryder that could be developed to play key forward.

Delidio could also play as a medium sized forward - something we seriously lack.

Talent is good. Proven is better.

Blue = Not Key Position.
Purple = Unproven (your argument re: Gumbleton).
Red = To be delisted.
Green = Resting.

To be honest, has Ryder ever played well other than in the ruck? I'll leave that question with you.

DapperDon
27 Aug 2009, 12:01
I kinda like this trade, I think its more than fair enough...

Tigers would spit in our face if we offered this as a trade.

Just have a think about it, a player who may or may not be in our best 22 for a gun 21-22 year old.

Seb78
27 Aug 2009, 12:27
Tigers would spit in our face if we offered this as a trade.

Just have a think about it, a player who may or may not be in our best 22 for a gun 21-22 year old.

Did you forget the 1st round pick I've put in??

DapperDon
27 Aug 2009, 12:36
Did you forget the 1st round pick I've put in??

So pick 9-11 and NLM.

Yeah, wear a visor when putting in on the table.

Mad Bomber Sean
27 Aug 2009, 12:38
Blue = Not Key Position.
Red = To be delisted.
Green = Resting.

To be honest, has Ryder ever played well other than in the ruck? I'll leave that question with you.

Absolute bullocks, especially the part about Ryder only playing well in the ruck.

Ryder is damn good at CHB, and if he learnt to play CHF, I thunk that he'd be very good there also. His marking ability is one of the best in the team, his goal kicking is very good, his pace is good also. I actually think that once Hillie & Laycock come back, he should play there.
He & Hurley could switch. I think that Ryder could play almost anywehere and do well. I'd like to see him Adam Goodes style in the guts ruck rover.

Back to the orignal arguement, Gumby offers massive hope.. But he he presents as being very fragile. Will he deliver on his promise, perhaps not. It's gonna to be hard to see him become the player we thought we drafted. If we keep him, I hope he does become the gun we want him to be. Probably won't happen though.
Further more we have others we could try & play in his role - Ryder & Hurley seem most capable.

Delidio is a very very good player already and we would gain
more in such a trade. Like trading Prizza for Delidio, Gumby has heaps of promise but as a club trading Gumby for Delidio is likely to be more profitable.

Smyth94
27 Aug 2009, 12:41
Richmond would obviously want significant compensation, and to be honest, much as I think Deledio would fit in well I don't really want to give up any of our young stars or an early pick. And Richmond certainly won't be looking at older players now.

If Deledio wants out badly then it becomes a different story - Pick 9-11 plus Bachar Houli would be reasonable compensation, considering he could go to the PSD

Blue = Not Key Position.
Red = To be delisted.
Green = Resting.

I had a good laugh at you calling Hurley unproven - yes in terms of games played he is unproven, but even a blind man can see that he is going to become a special player - I would not trade Hurley for ANYONE.

As for your comments RE: Ryder - pffft, Ryder has had plenty of good games in defense.

Seb78
27 Aug 2009, 12:46
So pick 9-11 and NLM.

Yeah, wear a visor when putting in on the table.

Well then we have no chance, in that case no point continuing this thread. I think you're rating Deledio a little higher than his worth IMO. Lets face it he's in a team full of hacks and he prob still wont win the B&F this year, I mean lets put into perspective whilst he has sh!t load of potential and is a good run and carry midfielder what has he done thats actually set the world on fire, is he better than Judd, Selwood, Ablett, Dal Santo, Hayes, I dont think so, I actually rate Gibbs as a better footballer than Dedledio and will be going fwd. So what actually do you propose he is worth??

Daytripper
27 Aug 2009, 12:49
Have any of you guys actually seen Deledio play this year ?

Let me tell you he ain't the superstar that people think he is. Has a very poor disposal efficiency, can be very hot and cold, goes missing when needed and IMO has no leadership skills whatsoever.

He also handballs too much preferring to take the cheap and safe option rather than trying to hit a target by foot.

Let him get overpaid at Richmond. Won't impact us at all.

By the way, Dempsey is from Cairns. It's about as far away from the Gold Coast as what Melbourne is.

Flying_dutchman
27 Aug 2009, 12:53
As I said in my original post, he may not leave now but I think at some point he will want to go home to the gold coast. And if or when that happens we may not not get full value for him hense I think we should be proactive and try and get full value now rather then risk not getting it down the track. Basically my whole point to the thread.

Also as unpopular as it might be, trading Hille could be a good option assuming Laycock, Tom Bell and Bock come on in the next years to come to provide support for Ryder. Hille probably has 2-3 more years left but would have good currency at the trade table at the moment despite the injury. Hawthorn would give up a lot for his services inparticular.

Daytripper
27 Aug 2009, 13:05
As I said in my original post, he may not leave now but I think at some point he will want to go home to the gold coast.
FFS - Gold Coast is not 'home'. Cairns is. The two places are nowhere near each other.

Also as unpopular as it might be, trading Hille could be a good option assuming Laycock, Tom Bell and Bock come on in the next years to come to provide support for Ryder. Hille probably has 2-3 more years left but would have good currency at the trade table at the moment despite the injury. Hawthorn would give up a lot for his services inparticular.

Bock is 5 years away and TBC is 3 years away. Laycock is Laycock.

The Donners
27 Aug 2009, 13:11
Absolute bullocks, especially the part about Ryder only playing well in the ruck.

Ryder is damn good at CHB, and if he learnt to play CHF, I thunk that he'd be very good there also. His marking ability is one of the best in the team, his goal kicking is very good, his pace is good also. I actually think that once Hillie & Laycock come back, he should play there.
He & Hurley could switch. I think that Ryder could play almost anywehere and do well. I'd like to see him Adam Goodes style in the guts ruck rover.

Back to the orignal arguement, Gumby offers massive hope.. But he he presents as being very fragile. Will he deliver on his promise, perhaps not. It's gonna to be hard to see him become the player we thought we drafted. If we keep him, I hope he does become the gun we want him to be. Probably won't happen though.
Further more we have others we could try & play in his role - Ryder & Hurley seem most capable.

Delidio is a very very good player already and we would gain
more in such a trade. Like trading Prizza for Delidio, Gumby has heaps of promise but as a club trading Gumby for Delidio is likely to be more profitable.

Ryder stopped nothing at CHB, looked good but gave little substance and it was at this time I questioned his intensity or lack there of at the ball. Since moving into the ruck he has blossomed. He is a far better ruckman than Hille.

The Donners
27 Aug 2009, 13:18
I had a good laugh at you calling Hurley unproven - yes in terms of games played he is unproven, but even a blind man can see that he is going to become a special player - I would not trade Hurley for ANYONE.

As for your comments RE: Ryder - pffft, Ryder has had plenty of good games in defense.

Hurley has played 8 games, he shows plenty of promise but I'd hardly say he's a proven player.

No, a one eyed Essendon supporter (not a bad thing) would tell you Hurley would become a special player, anyone else would say he has showed great promise.

High Ryder
27 Aug 2009, 13:23
The Donners, biggest flog on the bombers board? Rivalling bombersno.1 with some of his comments of late.

The Donners
27 Aug 2009, 13:46
The Donners, biggest flog on the bombers board? Rivalling bombersno.1 with some of his comments of late.

That's fine by me. I'd also like to be known as the most objective on the bombers board! :thumbsu:

Knight Ryders
27 Aug 2009, 13:50
Well then we have no chance, in that case no point continuing this thread. I think you're rating Deledio a little higher than his worth IMO. Lets face it he's in a team full of hacks and he prob still wont win the B&F this year, I mean lets put into perspective whilst he has sh!t load of potential and is a good run and carry midfielder what has he done thats actually set the world on fire, is he better than Judd, Selwood, Ablett, Dal Santo, Hayes, I dont think so, I actually rate Gibbs as a better footballer than Dedledio and will be going fwd. So what actually do you propose he is worth??

I would take Deledio over Gibbs. I think Gibbs is clean and neat footballer (I think he is a lot like Lappin - nothing wrong with that), but Deledio has the potential to rip games apart and be a more complete footballer. Deledio has been copping a very hard tag all year in a sh!t team that hasn't made that tag any easier for him. The last four weeks, he has seemed to have worked his way through this and is playing good footy again. Only time will tell I guess, but potential is the key word here.

Also, it is pointless putting up players that are only middle of the road players atm. They may consider Dempsey but with his injury riddled history, I wouldn't see many teams touching him even though he looks to be a class unit.

Deledio is not Judd, but Richmond would view him to be just as or nearly as important to their make-up and that is the important point when trading. Judd cost a pick#3 and Kennedy (who is showing something now), so Lids would certainly come at a cost. Would we be happy with pick 9-11 and Cale Hooker (may be I'm overestimating Hooker, but I think he has huge potential at CHB)?

If you want something, you have to give something.

AJ_2000
27 Aug 2009, 14:05
I just love these threads. Lets buy some gold with the rubbish I have left lying around the house. This isn't ebay!

You can't offer a player that has barely played in our team in conjection with mid 1st round pick and expect to get a player that would be in their top 3.

Its like saying I will give you 2 $5 notes and you give me a $50 note. Good luck.

Would anyone here be happy to trade Hurley for pick 16 and Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls?

yaco55
27 Aug 2009, 14:06

At last a voice of reason on this board.

Why do posters want Deledio ?

Because he is a good player or an elite player.

Deledio has yet to prove that he is an elite midfielder and he struggles BIG TIME with taggers.

Deledio is fine if you want a talented half forward who can spent time in the midfield but is YET to prove that he is an elite midfielder.

For what you have to give up there are better options.

And remember that Cotchin ( if his body stands up ) will be a much better midfielder.

The Donners
27 Aug 2009, 14:18
At last a voice of reason on this board.

Why do posters want Deledio ?

Because he is a good player or an elite player.

Deledio has yet to prove that he is an elite midfielder and he struggles BIG TIME with taggers.

Deledio is fine if you want a talented half forward who can spent time in the midfield but is YET to prove that he is an elite midfielder.

For what you have to give up there are better options.

And remember that Cotchin ( if his body stands up ) will be a much better midfielder.

He certainly isn't an elite midfielder but with his speed and engine he would be a perfect fit for Essendon as our 2nd best midfielder behind Watson. He's 22, won his club's B & F at age 21 as the club's no. 1 midfielder. There's certainly upside! ;)

Mad Bomber Sean
27 Aug 2009, 21:14
Blue = Not Key Position.
Red = To be delisted.
Green = Resting.

Blahhahahaha. Ryder was damn good at CHB..

Hurley has played 8 games, he shows plenty of promise but I'd hardly say he's a proven player.
No, a one eyed Essendon supporter (not a bad thing) would tell you Hurley would become a special player, anyone else would say he has showed great promise.

Hurely is already a good player that can mix it up with the best. Hasn't played a bad game.

[QUOTE=The Donners;15521448]That's fine by me. I'd also like to be known as the most objective on the bombers board! :thumbsu:[/QUOTE

normally I wait for the comedy festival for my
laughs but this is gold!

Seb78
27 Aug 2009, 23:23
I just love these threads. Lets buy some gold with the rubbish I have left lying around the house. This isn't ebay!

You can't offer a player that has barely played in our team in conjection with mid 1st round pick and expect to get a player that would be in their top 3.

Its like saying I will give you 2 $5 notes and you give me a $50 note. Good luck.

Would anyone here be happy to trade Hurley for pick 16 and Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls?

Big difference between NLM and JON, however I do see your point, I just dont want us to take of an arm to save a leg..... Yes Deledio would be awesome but if giving up a quality player as well as a first round pic in what would be the last of the un compromised drafts, may not actually improve our situation going forward, just my opinion anyway.

How about Ist and 2nd round for Deledio and their 3rd round?? does that sound more fair?? Surely we could pick up a few second rounders to make up for it if we perhaps had to trade Jetta and or a Monfries for example...btw guys this is just a hypothetical scenario so dont jump down my throat about it.

rusman
28 Aug 2009, 01:16
Big difference between NLM and JON, however I do see your point, I just dont want us to take of an arm to save a leg..... Yes Deledio would be awesome but if giving up a quality player as well as a first round pic in what would be the last of the un compromised drafts, may not actually improve our situation going forward, just my opinion anyway.

How about Ist and 2nd round for Deledio and their 3rd round?? does that sound more fair?? Surely we could pick up a few second rounders to make up for it if we perhaps had to trade Jetta and or a Monfries for example...btw guys this is just a hypothetical scenario so dont jump down my throat about it.

I think you would have to give up a bit more then that for deledio even with their back against the wall in the highly unlikely scenario he wants to come to bombers. High draft pick thats lived up to expectations and still lots of room for improvement, still young hard to get teams to part with when they are rebuilding also

Jonesy1987
28 Aug 2009, 01:22
Blahhahahaha. Ryder was damn good at CHB..

Nah he wasn't really that good. He was passable but didn't show as much as Pears already has.

The Donners
28 Aug 2009, 06:39
Hurely is already a good player that can mix it up with the best. Hasn't played a bad game.

Didn't watch the Sydney game when O'Loughlin was the only dominant forward? Who was O'Loughlin's opponent?

Hurley is fantastic when his opponent isn't on the lead. Ditto Pears.

Let me just say that I think they're both promising but I'm not going to label them as stars just yet.

AJ_2000
28 Aug 2009, 12:39

Trading players is a sellers market. They hold all the power. The only option for the player is to opt for the PSD but really who would want to go to Melbourne?

If we are missing something from our team and there is a player that might be on the market then we will need to pay up for it. 1st & 2nd rounder probably wouldn't be enough as they are likely to be picks 10ish & 26ish.

Hislop200
28 Aug 2009, 16:45
Dont get me wrong I love draft time and trading and all of the possible things it can bring, but I dont think we really need that much.
If we were to end up with say Pick #12 at least, (heres hoping anyway) we may be able to pick up someone like a Tappscott in the draft.
Now i am not an expert on junior footballers and all i have watched are the 3 Under 18 games on Fox, but I think that lad will be a very dangerous player and I would be more than happy with him.
We dont need to go for the big trades, just sit back and see what happens and maybe pick up a gem or 2 cheap, maybe a Trengove ( if his injury is ok).
PS GO BOMBERS

ZaharopouloS
28 Aug 2009, 17:07
FOR **** SAKE
some people here..deledio for pick 10 + nlm or hooker
i mean seriously

deledio is a stronger,faster,harder,better version of andrew lovett. he was taken at pick one in a strong draft. It would take absolutely minimum pick 10 + stanton to get him over here and im still not convinced that would do the trick.

Personally i would offer ALL our picks for him with an exchange of 3rd round and dont tell me that he isnt worth it. He would be elite right now nif he played in a team that was half decent. If he came to us within 3 years he would be the best player in the league

JD11
28 Aug 2009, 18:50
FOR **** SAKE
some people here..deledio for pick 10 + nlm or hooker
i mean seriously

deledio is a stronger,faster,harder,better version of andrew lovett. he was taken at pick one in a strong draft. It would take absolutely minimum pick 10 + stanton to get him over here and im still not convinced that would do the trick.

Personally i would offer ALL our picks for him with an exchange of 3rd round and dont tell me that he isnt worth it. He would be elite right now nif he played in a team that was half decent. If he came to us within 3 years he would be the best player in the league
Maybe you should change your name to deledioLEGEND? :D

ZaharopouloS
28 Aug 2009, 18:56
Maybe you should change your name to deledioLEGEND? :D

hahaha yeh not quite mate altough i would love to see him running around in red.

personally i would not do the stanton deal but thats because im extremely biased...even though we would benefit from it

adii_7
28 Aug 2009, 21:38
He would suite our club well, hes a jobe watson type...

hes tried so hard to play good football and get himself fit again after his poor injury.

He is a very passionate player, mabye we should throw him a lifeline?

Spikey
28 Aug 2009, 21:39
No. x

AndyLesPaul
28 Aug 2009, 21:42
I repeat - Matthew Lloyd RE-SIGN PLEASE
>.<

Why the hell would we get a 30 year old mid this year when we don't even look to have that many spots availible in the list for say 4 draft picks

The Dustbin
28 Aug 2009, 21:43
NO. The worst foot skills in the league.

KaaN10
28 Aug 2009, 21:44
I repeat - Matthew Lloyd RE-SIGN PLEASE
>.<

Why the hell would we get a 30 year old mid this year when we don't even look to have that many spots availible in the list for say 4 draft picks

Coughlan is 27 by the way.

No.

adii_7
28 Aug 2009, 21:45
Mark Coughlan (born 20 April 1982)

hes 27. 28 next year...

would be a starter.. and would add class to our midfield..

i've always been a fan of his.

The Donners
28 Aug 2009, 21:47
Mark Coughlan (born 20 April 1982)

hes 27. 28 next year...

would be a starter.. and would add class to our midfield..

i've always been a fan of his.

I was a fan pre-knee op no. 1.

Haduken
28 Aug 2009, 21:47
If we took Coughlan we would be delisting Skipworth.

Whether that is a plus or a minus is anyone's guess tbh

The Donners
28 Aug 2009, 21:52
If we took Coughlan we would be delisting Skipworth.

Whether that is a plus or a minus is anyone's guess tbh

How about we don't pick up Coughlan and we delist Skipworth? That'd certainly clean up a little bit of clutter.

Ryder_Hooker
28 Aug 2009, 21:57
no one from Richmond thanks...:cool:

The Dustbin
28 Aug 2009, 22:00
would be a starter.. and would add class to our midfield...

He wouldn't get a game in front of Watson, Lonergan, McVeigh, Hocking. Coughlan would bring absolutely zero to our midfield.

BringBackCransberg
28 Aug 2009, 22:00
He would suite our club well, hes a jobe watson type...

hes tried so hard to play good football and get himself fit again after his poor injury.

He is a very passionate player, mabye we should throw him a lifeline?

I'm not trying to be a smartarse or anything, but this just seems all the wrong direction. We're getting into a position to attract an absolute ready-made gun mid. I wouldn't be surprised if Sheedy would've considered it - but as far as I can tell Watson, McVeigh, Hocking, Lonergan are all, list-wise, in front of him atm. Maybe even German.

We're more likely to get Deledio than Coughlan, and not 'cos we're likely to get Deledio.

And I'm still pissed with him for his high hit on Winderlich.

adii_7
28 Aug 2009, 22:06
I'm not trying to be a smartarse or anything, but this just seems all the wrong direction. We're getting into a position to attract an absolute ready-made gun mid. I wouldn't be surprised if Sheedy would've considered it - but as far as I can tell Watson, McVeigh, Hocking, Lonergan are all, list-wise, in front of him atm. Maybe even German.

We're more likely to get Deledio than Coughlan, and not 'cos we're likely to get Deledio.

And I'm still pissed with him for his high hit on Winderlich.

McVeigh has had a poor year, he'd be infront of him.

Hocking is a hard nut, just not quiet afl ready. 2 years.

Lonergan yeh he is.. Very close to AFL ready..

Coughlan needs a scenery change, that is all he needs. With the right playing group he will dominate.

Hes better then skipworth, jetta, etc, hes worth a punt.. esp with Matty going :)

Knight Ryders
28 Aug 2009, 22:07
Mark Coughlan - no. Shane Tuck would be a better option if we could get him for f.all, but that would unlikely as well. I'd probably like to see Hocking and Lonergan developed in this role.

Spikey
28 Aug 2009, 22:10
Coughlan needs a scenery change, that is all he needs.

Needs a time machine actually

ZaharopouloS
28 Aug 2009, 22:29
d-e-l-e-d-i-o p-l-e-a-s-e

adii_7
28 Aug 2009, 22:35
Mark Coughlan - no. Shane Tuck would be a better option if we could get him for f.all, but that would unlikely as well. I'd probably like to see Hocking and Lonergan developed in this role.

i agree with you, but we hardly have enough of those in and under players.. he has enough class to make the best 22, if not a fringe player just incase watson goes down.

Im expecting us to go for deledio aswell, will be costly one thinks.

The_Young_Gun
28 Aug 2009, 22:44
Not even Bendigo would want Mark Coughlan.

kelvin_sheedy
28 Aug 2009, 22:46
For christs sake. :rolleyes:

adii_7
28 Aug 2009, 22:46
Not even Bendigo would want Mark Coughlan.

your right. They really do not want to win a game.

stay true
28 Aug 2009, 22:59
LOL. Another piss take thread I assume.

Jonesy1987
28 Aug 2009, 23:11
d-e-l-e-d-i-o p-l-e-a-s-e

The amount of times he stayed on the outside of a contest tonight was disgusting.

Mad Bomber Sean
28 Aug 2009, 23:13
Comedy hour all over again!

An average about to retire injury prone 28 year old.

Not in a million years...

ZaharopouloS
28 Aug 2009, 23:16
The amount of times he stayed on the outside of a contest tonight was disgusting.

i could say the same about my man

Enki
28 Aug 2009, 23:28

Have to agree with this. I thought Deledio had stepped up his intensity in recent weeks but tonight he looked as soft as McMahon.

efcboy
28 Aug 2009, 23:32
coughlan...kidding...not a chance in hell...last thing essendon needs is a 28yo injury prone, slow midfielder with ordinary skills.

Seb78
29 Aug 2009, 00:28
How about we don't pick up Coughlan and we delist Skipworth? That'd certainly clean up a little bit of clutter.

agree not sure why we picked up skipworth to begin with

Jonesy1987
29 Aug 2009, 00:30
i could say the same about my man

Which is why we don't need anymore outside players, we need balance. ATM we are in dire need of someone to support Watson, Lids would be way over priced in scale to the improvement he would bring to us.

KaaN10
29 Aug 2009, 00:51
agree not sure why we picked up skipworth to begin with

Yeah I mean.. we could have got Cousins ;)

BomberJacqui
29 Aug 2009, 01:21
no one from Richmond thanks...:cool:

If we could have anyone im pretty sure we would take Cotchin and Deledio. Would require a little too much imo.

ghostdog
29 Aug 2009, 10:04
I don't usually contribute to this thread because it mostly seems to be pie in the sky...

Tim Boyle from Hawthorn, however, could be a good pick up. Still only 25 and a tall forward. Not much of an opportunity to get his with Buddy and Roughy around, but certainly enough time to pick up some skills. Given the lack of depth in our forward line, could be a good pick up.

Luke Ball is still only 25 as well. We all know what he's capable of, but hasn't found form this year in a very competitive midfield. Maybe a move to Essendon could spark him up. Can play HF as well... I think of Adam Schneider's new lease of life at St Kilda. Ball to Essendon?

jobesuperstar
29 Aug 2009, 18:29
Stanton for Deledio

bombersrbest05
30 Aug 2009, 22:27
I wouldn't mind chasing a player like Andrejs Everitt, seems unable to crack into bulldogs side played today but will be interesting to see whether he can stay in there during finals.
He looks to be a good utility who could rotate with Hurley down forward or back

HFF_07
31 Aug 2009, 09:02
I don't usually contribute to this thread because it mostly seems to be pie in the sky...

Tim Boyle from Hawthorn, however, could be a good pick up. Still only 25 and a tall forward. Not much of an opportunity to get his with Buddy and Roughy around, but certainly enough time to pick up some skills. Given the lack of depth in our forward line, could be a good pick up.

Luke Ball is still only 25 as well. We all know what he's capable of, but hasn't found form this year in a very competitive midfield. Maybe a move to Essendon could spark him up. Can play HF as well... I think of Adam Schneider's new lease of life at St Kilda. Ball to Essendon?

I do like the way you thin, but I am extremely disappointed that Daniher has not had a crack, seemed to go through that very good patch of form in the last few rounds (in the VFL) and has still been unable to get a gig in the seniors, and with our 'apparent' youth policy, you would think that they would go for the 20 year old Daniher over the pre injured Tim Boyle. I do like the way you are thinking though, could give us that gap fill till Gumby or even Daniher himself is ready to take the AFL by storm.

HULK HOGAN
31 Aug 2009, 15:54
Did anyone hear on sen this morning that Ashley Hanson is likely to syay with the Eagles despite intrest from Carlton and Essendon??

Enki
31 Aug 2009, 17:01
Well, there was a rumour that we were looking at Hanson but I don't know how reliable it was. Anyway, if he wants to stay in perth good. Who wants an out of form forward who is average at his best anyway? Not me.

adii_7
1 Sep 2009, 09:18
I recently read that Houli was sort after by Carlton...

They also are looking for CHF/CHB..

We dont like trading the scum, but lets steal from them :)

Marc Murphy + 4th.. For Our.. Houli, Hooker + First rounder

thoughts?

ant555
1 Sep 2009, 09:40
Did someone hit you with a stupid stick ?
If you think that is stealy from the Blues then you are well off the mark.

ant555
1 Sep 2009, 09:45

Stay away from Boyle. Has the tallent but has been injured just about every year he has been on the Hawks list. The Hawks have put his name out for trade the last 2 years an had no takers.

Ball would be worth looking at.

adii_7
1 Sep 2009, 09:45
Did someone hit you with a stupid stick ?
If you think that is stealy from the Blues then you are well off the mark.

Marc Murphy will be this years brownlow medalist.

Hooker, Houli shown nothing to be "over the moon" with

ant555
1 Sep 2009, 09:59
Marc Murphy will be this years brownlow medalist.

Hooker, Houli shown nothing to be "over the moon" with

Hooker has been good when he has been played as a defender rather than in the ruck.If you have not seen that then you have no idea.

Yes Murphy is a great player but it wont look so good if Hooker was to end up being a solid defender and the pick up someone like Cunnington and he ends up being a very good midfielder as well.

I have no idea why you would wnat to trade Hooker. His improvment this year has been huge and he has played a lot of games out of position.
He looks on target to hold down the second or third defenders spot.

As far as Houli goes he does still have the potential to get it right even if he is trade bait.

AFL LEGEND
1 Sep 2009, 13:03
What about Daniel Harris.... Again??

Inside midfielder, who could chop out Watson at the stoppages, seems like a good player, and disgruntled aswell??

really like the way he goes about it and would love him at Essendon

Thoughts??

Smokin
1 Sep 2009, 13:07
Ball must be looked at, may even go somewhat cheap.

I see our biggest area which needs addressing is ground level, offensive bite in the forwardline. Im hoping Zaka can help in this area, but if we were to trade, this is the area where we could do with immediate help. A genuine crumber.

Id look to offload a Monfries/Davey/Jetta if the right trade became available.

go_the_bombers
1 Sep 2009, 15:50
I wouldnt mind Marcus Drum (Freo) or David Armitage, Luke Ball (St.K) in Essendon colours next season.

Colin D'Cops
1 Sep 2009, 16:44
What about Daniel Harris.... Again??

If I was the list manager; I would have a good, hard look at any above average inside midfielder on offer this trade period.

Watson is the only one who seems to want the footy when the going gets tough.

BringBackCransberg
1 Sep 2009, 21:34
Deledio has signed a new contract (till 2012) with the Tigers so we can put that one to bed.

kelvin_sheedy
1 Sep 2009, 22:15
You can't trade for what we need and that is an A grade mid. Adding slow B grade plodders who can't get a game for their club aint going to do the trick.

I'd rather back in Hocking and Lonergan with a fit McVeigh and Welsh than second hand goods.

Knight Ryders
2 Sep 2009, 09:57
If I was the list manager; I would have a good, hard look at any above average inside midfielder on offer this trade period.

Watson is the only one who seems to want the footy when the going gets tough.

I disagree with this statement. IMHO, Hocking has very good inside midfielder written all over. I have been super impressed with his strength in the contest. You add to this the possibility of Myers coming in next year and having an effect in the midfield and we don't look too bad for inside midfielders. Of course though, if a tasty inside midfielder was to be made available to Essendon at the right price, we would be silly not to look at it.

On 5AA over here, Westhoff, Ebert, Kane Cornes and Pearce have been put up for trade. Does anyone see them fitting into our structure?

KR37
2 Sep 2009, 10:46
I disagree with this statement. IMHO, Hocking has very good inside midfielder written all over. I have been super impressed with his strength in the contest. You add to this the possibility of Myers coming in next year and having an effect in the midfield and we don't look too bad for inside midfielders. Of course though, if a tasty inside midfielder was to be made available to Essendon at the right price, we would be silly not to look at it.

On 5AA over here, Westhoff, Ebert, Kane Cornes and Pearce have been put up for trade. Does anyone see them fitting into our structure?

What?

SDR223
2 Sep 2009, 12:33

Kane Cornes would be the only one worth a look but he will be 27 next year and won;t come cheap - great player but not worth Essendons first round pick imo.

Gus2Gumby
2 Sep 2009, 13:22
I think we should really look at trading Hooker.

Not because I think he is useless, but because he would be worth more to someone else than he is to us.

It would be a shame to see him moving in and out of our side when he could easily be in someone else's best 22 every week.

If we could trade him for a ball winner of the same level, it should happen.

This is probably a bit optimistic, but what would it take to get Luke Ball? Hooker and 1st/2nd Rd?

SDR223
2 Sep 2009, 14:11
I think we should really look at trading Hooker.

Not because I think he is useless, but because he would be worth more to someone else than he is to us.

It would be a shame to see him moving in and out of our side when he could easily be in someone else's best 22 every week.

If we could trade him for a ball winner of the same level, it should happen.

This is probably a bit optimistic, but what would it take to get Luke Ball? Hooker and 1st/2nd Rd?

Are you off your head.

Hookers versatility has been vitally important to the Bombers this year. Without him filling in gaps we wouldn;t have made the finals. This is really his first proper season of AFL and he will only get better.

Good key position players don;t grow on trees.

If he is allowed to settle into a position next year, he will undoubtable be in our best 22.

To trade him now would be an extremly dumb move.

Gus2Gumby
2 Sep 2009, 22:47
I'm not saying he's no good. And yes he has done a great job this year for us.

However,

Where does he sit in the list of KPP? (assuming full fitness)

Fletcher
Pears
Hurley
Hille
Ryder
Gumbleton
Neagle
Laycock
Daniher
And maybe Lloyd if he play next year?

Our game style allows for 6 maybe 7 of those guys at most. I don't know if he would be in there or not.

But like a said. There are clubs crying out for a guy like Hooker and if we could get a good inside mid for him we should do it.

lemon chicken
3 Sep 2009, 01:40
^^^^^^

Fletcher would have 1 year left max, you dont want to plan for the future? What happens when injuries occur and along with the fact he just re-signed.

yaco55
3 Sep 2009, 04:58
You would definitely have to consider Kane Cornes for a variety of reasons

- he is an A Grade tagger.
- works hard both ways
- super impressive work ethic
- you would definitely get 5 years service

But he would cost a first rounder.

SDR223
3 Sep 2009, 07:40
I'm not saying he's no good. And yes he has done a great job this year for us.

However,

Where does he sit in the list of KPP? (assuming full fitness)

Fletcher - 1 year left
Pears
Hurley
Hille
Ryder
Gumbleton
Neagle
Laycock
Daniher - Not KPP
And maybe Lloyd if he play next year?- 1 year left

Our game style allows for 6 maybe 7 of those guys at most. I don't know if he would be in there or not.

But like a said. There are clubs crying out for a guy like Hooker and if we could get a good inside mid for him we should do it.

Two players listed have 1 year or less left, One isn't a KPP and three others are coming back form serious injury.

Hooker has a huge upside - trading him would set us back a couple of years at least.

Like I said - are you off you're head.

Jonesy1987
3 Sep 2009, 07:43
Hooker has a huge upside - trading him would set us back a couple of years at least.

While I wouldn't want to trade him, that statement is ridiculous. No way is Hooker a huge key to our success.

If we don't have injuries to Pears, Fletcher, Hille or Ryder, Hooker would struggle to get a game.

SDR223
3 Sep 2009, 09:04
While I wouldn't want to trade him, that statement is ridiculous. No way is Hooker a huge key to our success.

If we don't have injuries to Pears, Fletcher, Hille or Ryder, Hooker would struggle to get a game.

Essendon didn;t waste any time signing him up for two years.

Hooker has the potential to take over from Dustin when he retires. Who else is going to play tall up back when Fletcher retires and Hurley goes forward?

We'll visit this again next year after he's had another pre-season under his belt.

saladin
3 Sep 2009, 11:20
with the way the gamestyle of modern football is going, hooker will be very valuable. if he makes incremental improvement equal to what he did last preseason, we'll have a hugely talented kid on our hands.

Seb78
3 Sep 2009, 12:12
How about this.....

A. McPhee + second round to saints for L. Ball

L. Jetta + 4th round to WCE for second round

seem fair enough??

Kong
3 Sep 2009, 12:18
Laycock + 2nd rounder to Sydney
Sydney's 1st round (#6) to Essendon.

Sydney need a ruckman, and Roos isn't afraid to recycle and reinvigorate players from other clubs.

We would then have picks #6 and probably #10.

Having said that, I hope we keep Laycock. :p

half time raffle
3 Sep 2009, 12:23
I see the future key position stocks at Essendon working something like this:

Forward - Gumbelton, Neagle, Daniher or Hurley and resting ruckman (Ryder or Hille) when a match-up can be exposed. Michael Still developing

Back - Pears, Hooker, Daniher or Hurley - Tyson Slattery developing

Rucks - Hille, Ryder - Laycock being the immediate backup, Bellchambers and Bock given time to develop in the VFL.

We have recruited very well in this area over the past few years and can now really turn our attention to drafting midfielders. This draft appears shallow for talent but the top end midfielders are as good as any other year. So trading up for a second first round selection could be the way to go - maybe Westcoasts first pick for Leroy Jetta and Henry Slattery (geez i hope they go for it!). Or Jetta and 2nd round pick.

Daytripper
3 Sep 2009, 12:42
How about this.....

A. McPhee + second round to saints for L. Ball

Luke Ball is barely worth a 2nd round pick on his own to be frank. IMO he is finished as an AFL footballer at the elite level. The game is too quick for him these days plus his kicking is 2nd rate.

And you don't give away guys like McPhee so cheaply. He would be invaluable at so many clubs. Imagine him at Carlton helping out Fev or going down back if Jamison, Thornton etc are in trouble.

L. Jetta + 4th round to WCE for second round
seem fair enough??

Ridiculous. Why would we want pick 20 in this draft considering the investment we have put into Jetta. He is worth holding onto. Pick 20 is like pick 40 in any other draft this year.

Also a 4th round pick is useless in this draft anyway so i don't know what interest the Eagles would have in that.

Seb78
3 Sep 2009, 13:06
Luke Ball is barely worth a 2nd round pick on his own to be frank. IMO he is finished as an AFL footballer at the elite level. The game is too quick for him these days plus his kicking is 2nd rate.

And you don't give away guys like McPhee so cheaply. He would be invaluable at so many clubs. Imagine him at Carlton helping out Fev or going down back if Jamison, Thornton etc are in trouble.

Ridiculous. Why would we want pick 20 in this draft considering the investment we have put into Jetta. He is worth holding onto. Pick 20 is like pick 40 in any other draft this year.

Also a 4th round pick is useless in this draft anyway so i don't know what interest the Eagles would have in that.

What investment have we put into him?? Also we have so many players of that type - the small quick fwds/wingmen (Davey, Lovett, Zaharakis, Reimers), someone like luke ball could really take the pressure of guys like Watson, Welsh etc. You cannot underestimate his in and under work, and his kicking hasn't been that bad. With Clinton Jones having an absolutely awesome year it has been really tough for ball I agree with that, but I dont think he would have any problem starting in the essendon 2010 side.

To say he is barely worth a second round pick is a big call IMO

Daytripper
3 Sep 2009, 13:16
What investment have we put into him?? Also we have so many players of that type - the small quick fwds/wingmen (Davey, Lovett, Zaharakis, Reimers), someone like luke ball could really take the pressure of guys like Watson, Welsh etc. You cannot underestimate his in and under work, and his kicking hasn't been that bad. With Clinton Jones having an absolutely awesome year it has been really tough for ball I agree with that, but I dont think he would have any problem starting in the essendon 2010 side.

To say he is barely worth a second round pick is a big call IMO

Would you trade a 2nd round pick & McPhee for Clinton Jones ?

Stop thinking of Ball the footballer from 3-5 years ago and start thinking of Ball the footballer in 2009.

We've already got one Andrew Welsh. We don't need another.