View Full Version : McPhee

bacon buster
29 Aug 2009, 18:11
now my comments aren't just based on today's game, but i am concerned with mcphee. especially in defence.

whenever he gets it in defence, under pressure, i put my hands over my eyes. my concern is that in finals, now, and in the future, he could be a liability.

i never feel confident when he has the ball, or when he is about to take an apparently easy mark.

he had at least 4-5 shocking, shocking moments today.

in my opinion, he's either got to be a hit up forward, or a reserves player.

thoughts?

ghostdog
29 Aug 2009, 18:17
McPhee didn't do anything particularly flashy today, but he was consistently involved in getting the ball moving from hb and applied defensive pressure all day.

McPhee didn't cameo like, for instance, Lovett, Winderlich, McVeigh and Watson.

We would have been all the worse for it today had McPhee not been there. He did much much more good than bad.

bacon buster
29 Aug 2009, 18:22
really? you did see his clangers didn't you? off the top of my head

botched attempt to kick left foot under pressure - resulted in goal
botched attempt to rush behind (believe it may have cost us a goal as well)
dropped uncontested mark, which resulted in a goal

when i watch the game again, i'll make a note of the others. i just don't think you can have a guy in defence that makes the kind of mistakes he does.

i like mcphee. i actually think he's better as a forward though. good work rate, marks well, pretty good kick for goal.

just don't like him in defence

Seb78
29 Aug 2009, 18:27
Unfortunately not a fan and have never really been one. Yes he can do some of good things at times, however his mistakes and clangers far outweigh the good things he does, makes me so nervous whenever he gets the ball, even when he goes near it. Time to give Daniher a go both roughly the same height and weight however hopefully Daniher wont butcher the ball as much.

Daytripper
29 Aug 2009, 18:29
He was fantastic in patches today and also had his "McPhee' moments.

If every player bled for the red and black like he did we wouldn't lose a game.

Better to get it 25 times and make a few errors than to get it half a dozen times and have no influence on the game at all.

ghostdog
29 Aug 2009, 18:33
really? you did see his clangers didn't you? off the top of my head

botched attempt to kick left foot under pressure - resulted in goal
botched attempt to rush behind (believe it may have cost us a goal as well)
dropped uncontested mark, which resulted in a goal

when i watch the game again, i'll make a note of the others. i just don't think you can have a guy in defence that makes the kind of mistakes he does.

i like mcphee. i actually think he's better as a forward though. good work rate, marks well, pretty good kick for goal.

just don't like him in defence

No, I noticed some of the clangers. I just think they were more noticeable because of the area of the ground he played in. It was a scrappy game all day. I just thought that today McPhee was consistent and did more good than bad. Looking forward to your review of his work though. Hopefully I'm not proven wrong.

FWIW I reckon Darcy might end up a utility. He's shown he can play forward and back effectively.

Godzke
29 Aug 2009, 18:34
He's a great mark and does well going into a pack/contested type situation ... but coming out of a contest, with the ball, it's a heart-in-mouth scenario. Is decision making is shocking and I think it's safe to say that no other player in the AFL would ever kick to a two-on-one ACROSS the goal square on the last line of defence.

He probably hasn't done anything so bad to get dropped, which means whatever happens over in adelaide will be too late if he's in that situation again.

bacon buster
29 Aug 2009, 18:45
ask yourself this question. in 2-3 years time, would you be happy to have mcphee playing in defence in a close grand final.

my answer is no. i want to be able to trust every member of our defence, and i do not trust mcphee.

that's not to say there's not a place for him in the side though

Daytripper
29 Aug 2009, 18:45
He's a great mark and does well going into a pack/contested type situation ... but coming out of a contest, with the ball, it's a heart-in-mouth scenario. Is decision making is shocking and I think it's safe to say that no other player in the AFL would ever kick to a two-on-one ACROSS the goal square on the last line of defence.

He probably hasn't done anything so bad to get dropped, which means whatever happens over in adelaide will be too late if he's in that situation again.

LOL - there are about 15 players that would get dropped ahead of McPhee.
He's one of our most important players.

22 disposals & 8 tackles is an outstanding effort across half back.

Just waiting for a thread on Stanton now.

bacon buster
29 Aug 2009, 18:47
fwiw, i didn't suggest dropping him.

but he certainly wasn't outstanding today.

Godzke
29 Aug 2009, 18:51

Doesn't change the fact there wouldn't be another player out there that would ever kick across the face of goal like that.

As for stanton, he just needs to be told to spend an extra 1 hour at training a week taking shots at goal.

Daytripper
29 Aug 2009, 19:01
Doesn't change the fact there wouldn't be another player out there that would ever kick across the face of goal like that.

Where was he meant to kick it and who to ?

SydneyBomber
29 Aug 2009, 19:04
just needs benny hill music over the loudspakers to cap it off sometimes....

seriously, he's a great/strong mark, but makes far too many poor decisions - especially deep in defence where he's most likely to be exposed

james_omahoney
29 Aug 2009, 19:08
I've been saying for ages that McPhee shouldn't be playing as a defender very often, as he's just too big a risk. I don't think Knights has been reading my posts though, wtf :confused:

kelvin_sheedy
29 Aug 2009, 19:09
I could only watch the first half and thought he was one of our best. The comments on BB regarding his first half made it out as if he was having a shocker. As expected though because 1 McPhee mistake = 3 anyone else bar Stanton.

There were about 10 other players making similar mistakes but none get noticed as much as McPhee.

Mad Bomber Sean
29 Aug 2009, 19:10
Mcphee.... Mcphee....Mcphee what are you doing ????

Good when he is good ( rare ) Shocking when he is average, bad. terrible... WTF & all the rest... I think that the time has come to consider getting rid of this guy.

Personally every time he gets the ball away from the forward line ( too often) I worry. I have not done the stats yet, but I feel he is too unreliable to -play for the EFC.

Today, Hawks fans cheered when he got the ball...they know his time is up.

Time to trade him while we might get two cents.

Discuss:

Daytripper
29 Aug 2009, 19:12
I could only watch the first half and thought he was one of our best. The comments on BB regarding his first half made it out as if he was having a shocker. As expected though because 1 McPhee mistake = 3 anyone else bar Stanton.

There were about 10 other players making similar mistakes but none get noticed as much as McPhee.

We would have been 7 goals down at 1/2 time without McPhee.

Stood up when we needed it.

It was the glamour players (Lovett, Winders, Watson, Ryder) who were all unsighted when the going was tough.

bipolarbeaR
29 Aug 2009, 19:13
Western Bulldogs.
McPhee and first round pick for Brian Lake so that we can let Hurley go forward.

yaco55
29 Aug 2009, 19:15

Mcphee was very good today.

He had his normal amount of clangers, but his reading of the play, when Hawthorn had the ball was outstanding.

yaco55
29 Aug 2009, 19:18
I've been saying for ages that McPhee shouldn't be playing as a defender very often, as he's just too big a risk. I don't think Knights has been reading my posts though, wtf :confused:

You should be thankful that McPhee has the versatility to play forward and back.

He is ono player who has had to adopt to different roles because of injuries affecting the team.

Mad Bomber Sean
29 Aug 2009, 19:23
See no reason to keep him really
offer him as a trade if he has any value ( GC perhaps ), otherwise delist please

delist please

bipolarbeaR
29 Aug 2009, 19:25
Western Bulldogs.
McPhee and first round pick for Brian Lake so that we can let Hurley go forward.

Mad Bomber Sean
29 Aug 2009, 19:25
Get rid of him...

at a party in Melb now, celebrating our win..

No one can give me a reason to keep him out of 9 Bombers supporters ( sure they arent experts but they have some idea )..

Mad Bomber Sean
29 Aug 2009, 19:27
Western Bulldogs.
:thumbsu:

Yep, good call, throw in Stanton for 2nd round pick

Godzke
29 Aug 2009, 19:28
Where was he meant to kick it and who to ?
What do you mean?

He was running in the opposite direction, stopped, propped and went across the face (with a 9 iron kick) to 2 on 1.

If under pressure, kick long and down the line. or at least force a 50-50 contest where you can come in and apply pressure (ie. handballing to a teammate as an absolute last resort so you can go in and lock it up).

Kicking across the face under pressure to a bloke under pressure (the hawks guy was only a metre or two away from him at the point of kick) is unforgiveable.

james_omahoney
29 Aug 2009, 19:33
You should be thankful that McPhee has the versatility to play forward and back.

He is ono player who has had to adopt to different roles because of injuries affecting the team.

I see his value and I appreciate that, but I'd like to see his time as a defender minimised where possible.

adii_7
29 Aug 2009, 19:37
Western Bulldogs.

yes... +1

bipolarbeaR
29 Aug 2009, 19:38
:thumbsu:

Yep, good call, throw in Stanton for 2nd round pick

Nah, I love the kid, if he practices his kicking for goal and plays another game like today he could kick 5-6 goals.

The Donners
29 Aug 2009, 19:39

I agreed with the first line of your other post re: McPhee was fantastic but with some "McPhee" moments.

Stanton was awesome in the 2nd half but in my opinion had absolutely no influence on the game in the first half (bar his goal). It's not often I feel confident with the ball in Stanton's hand, but I did today (forgetting his missed shots at goal! :o).

I wasn't however at all confident with Essendon's performance today. Hawthorn were clearly more desperate for the ball today, they simply ran out of legs/options.

Mad Bomber Sean
29 Aug 2009, 19:40
NLM is vastly superior... get rid of him..

eb075
29 Aug 2009, 19:51
Well, I'm probably about to get kicked of the board as I'm going to break one of the fundamental rules around here ..... I'm going to criticise Knights!!!!(da, da, daaaa).

I like McPhee on the forward line. He is a great one on one mark and a very accurate set shot. Put him on the back line where he has to make decisions and he is a disaster.

So Knights (here we go - sorry), GET HIM OFF THE F---ING BACK LINE YOU TOOL, AND PUT HIM UP FORWARD!!!!! Week after week, he gets thrown down there and stuffs up time and time again.

Keep him - yes, he's a very effective FORWARD!

kelvin_sheedy
29 Aug 2009, 19:51
We would have been 7 goals down at 1/2 time without McPhee.

Stood up when we needed it.

It was the glamour players (Lovett, Winders, Watson, Ryder) who were all unsighted when the going was tough.

Hence my complete confusion watching the first half and reading comments at the same time.

He was having fair dinkum crap and doing very well but there were other guys like you mentioned plus the likes of Welsh and Prismall who were non existant.

He almost has to go at %100 with 0 clangers to get any credit.

Mad Bomber Sean
29 Aug 2009, 19:57
Hence my complete confusion watching the first half and reading comments at the same time.

He was having fair dinkum crap and doing very well but there were other guys like you mentioned plus the likes of Welsh and Prismall who were non existant.

He almost has to go at %100 with 0 clangers to get any credit.

watch the whole game before making a comment plz.....

Mad Bomber Sean
29 Aug 2009, 21:24
I like McPhee on the forward line. He is a great one on one mark and a very accurate set shot. Put him on the back line where he has to make decisions and he is a disaster.

So Knights (here we go - sorry), GET HIM OFF THE F---ING BACK LINE YOU TOOL, AND PUT HIM UP FORWARD!!!!! Week after week, he gets thrown down there and stuffs up time and time again.

Keep him - yes, he's a very effective FORWARD!

yeah agree Mcphee is terrible in the back line....

BUT hes an average shot at goal and his marking is mediocre at best.. lets face it

KaaN10
29 Aug 2009, 21:34
We can put McPhee forward next year when Hooker, Dempsey and Houli play back. At the moment he's needed other wise we would need Hurley back.

Walesy
29 Aug 2009, 21:35
My missus plays a game while watching Essendon games to decide whether McPhee was playing for Essendon this game or the opposition.

She generally does this by giving points for the good things he does, subtracting points of the "McPhee" moments, and making a judgement call on standard link-play type actions.

Generally he'll break even. :)

I've asked her- Tonight he did alright.

That said though. The boy can get the ball and knows how to take a contested grab. Get him up forward where it's harder for him to damage us! :)

Daytripper
29 Aug 2009, 21:37
Get rid of him...

at a party in Melb now, celebrating our win..

No one can give me a reason to keep him out of 9 Bombers supporters ( sure they arent experts but they have some idea )..

Bit late for a kids party isn't it.

Mad Bomber Sean
29 Aug 2009, 21:38
i dont understand the love for Mcphee on this board...

Walesy
29 Aug 2009, 21:38
I thought the reason he wasn't playing up forward is because a Lloyd/Lucas/Neagle/Gumby forward line is tall enough without him.

Now that we're playing with one of "the four corners", surely there would be some room for him up there?

kelvin_sheedy
29 Aug 2009, 22:04
watch the whole game before making a comment plz.....

What's the point... it's the same pattern week in week out.

1 mistake by McPhee or Stanton = 3 of anyone else.

Unless there's an even scale and you guys can actually watch and analyse the game properly your posts are irrelevant and not worthy of any real discussion.

eb075
29 Aug 2009, 22:52
yeah agree Mcphee is terrible in the back line....

BUT hes an average shot at goal and his marking is mediocre at best.. lets face it

Well, we must be talking about different players. I think McPhee is one of the best one-on-one marks around.

muzz777
29 Aug 2009, 23:11
Yep, get him off the backline. He should not be playing anywhere near there. Does not have the brains for it.

FouRFooTGiaNT
29 Aug 2009, 23:15
All I can say is he will make good trade bait... He has potential and even if he doesn't get traded, maybe the threat of being traded may wake him up abit next season. We might have had a few calls from 'Mclaren' go our way today, but Mcphee seemed to even the ledger. Frustrating to watch, with eyes looking thru hands whenever he gets or goes near the ball from most bombers fans... I do agree that he should be spending a bit more time up forward though, with him up back has cost us a few goals..

bacon buster
29 Aug 2009, 23:17
well you haven't even seen the whole game, so not sure how you can analyse the game properly

anyhoo, my thoughts on mcphee aren't just based on today's game anyway. i'd be happy to trade him, if we got something decent.

Lance Uppercut
30 Aug 2009, 00:06
Yep, get him off the backline. He should not be playing anywhere near there. Does not have the brains for it.

McPhee was brilliant down back in the first half.

Did you actually see how many forward thrusts he cut off or foiled?

It's like Stanton. Ran his guts out, played great footy, but because he misses a few (admittedly crucial) shots on goal, he gets strung up.

To the Essendon supporters sitting near me who WOULD NOT STOP bagging McPhee and Dyson, **** you!!

Donakebab
30 Aug 2009, 00:10
McPhee was great for the first half and played a servicable game in the second. He made mistakes, but so did everyone. He played better then at least half a dozen others in the side and will easily have a spot next week. For every 3 or 4 good/great things he does he makes a mistake and takes away from it. FWIW I think he didn't slow us down many times today and ran and carried very well.

Every team has one player who is judged harsher then the rest and McPhee is ours. He is a very important player in our side and the coach and selectors know it.

bacon buster
30 Aug 2009, 00:14
i'm not judging him harshly.

he makes mistakes/has brain fades that result DIRECTLY in goals to the opposition.

when he plays in the backline, he is more likely to do this.

Lance Uppercut
30 Aug 2009, 00:14
he was brilliant in the first half, and one of the main reasons we stayed in touch.

Yes he had a few brain fades, but he's not perfect.

Without McPhee today we may well not have won the game

Mad Bomber Sean
30 Aug 2009, 00:26
Have to disagree Lance, dont think he is cut out to be a Bomber

Going over previous games and I am surprised by the no of marks he drops...

Surely we can do better ????

Lance Uppercut
30 Aug 2009, 00:52
Have to disagree Lance, dont think he is cut out to be a Bomber

Going over previous games and I am surprised by the no of marks he drops...

Surely we can do better ????

he's definitely trade-bait, but you can't just focus on the mistakes without acknowledging the good things he did

essendon2008
30 Aug 2009, 00:53
I like him. Would be disappointed to see him traded.

kelvin_sheedy
30 Aug 2009, 01:07
Yes, trade one of our better players. :rolleyes:

He was one of the main reasons we won today. Countless great contests.

This place is becoming a joke with the McPhee and Stanton bashing. Anyone bashing these guys is either too young to know any better or has no idea about football.

Divi18
30 Aug 2009, 01:18
McPhee was absolutely fantastic in the 10 minutes after the brawl in the 3rd quarter. He sensed that the game was up for grabs and played with an intensity that helped get us back into the game.

As for the rest of the game, he made a few mistakes but the good outweighed the bad for McPhee today and was probably one of our best overall.

kelvin_sheedy
30 Aug 2009, 01:21
well you haven't even seen the whole game, so not sure how you can analyse the game properly

anyhoo, my thoughts on mcphee aren't just based on today's game anyway. i'd be happy to trade him, if we got something decent.

I've seen the whole game now and his second half was similar to the first.

He was good apart from a few mistakes and I'd probably have him in my votes.

He made the bests in the papers so it's pretty comical people starting numerous threads bashing him after a great win.

Donakebab
30 Aug 2009, 01:27
I've seen the whole game now and his second half was similar to the first.

He was good apart from a few mistakes and I'd probably have him in my votes.

He made the bests in the papers so it's pretty comical people starting numerous threads bashing him after a great win.

Doesn't happen often in the posts of yours I've read but :thumbsu: to you in this thread Kelvin.

He's the player our fans love to hate. I really don't understand why most people are sticking the boot in when a few like Welsh had absolute shockers. Woosh let Mitchell run completely loose in the second and he made us pay with every touch he got.

Godzke
30 Aug 2009, 01:33
My missus plays a game while watching Essendon games to decide whether McPhee was playing for Essendon this game or the opposition.

She generally does this by giving points for the good things he does, subtracting points of the "McPhee" moments, and making a judgement call on standard link-play type actions.

Generally he'll break even. :)

I've asked her- Tonight he did alright.

That said though. The boy can get the ball and knows how to take a contested grab. Get him up forward where it's harder for him to damage us! :)
wtf

You're not satisfying her sexual needs are you?

mustapha
30 Aug 2009, 09:00
His decision making is a big problem and I don't remember it always being that way. Why does he rarely take the first option or even the second option? When he is in the back pocket with the ball and he turns back into traffic we are generally screwed.

As a forward when he is presented with less options (i.e. the obvious option is to have a shot) he is a very good kick and I would back him from on the fifty over most of our players (including our captain now). He presents well as a forward but he usually drops one simple mark per game as well as taking a screamer. His mistakes in the forward line tend to hurt us less although teams rebound so quickly now that we still get punished.

Bordy
30 Aug 2009, 09:04
His decision making is a big problem and I don't remember it always being that way. Why does he rarely take the first option or even the second option? When he is in the back pocket with the ball and he turns back into traffic we are generally screwed.

I totally agree with you. He should change his name to Adam McPhumble.

bacon buster
30 Aug 2009, 10:23
question to the people backing mcphee then:

grand final. tight game. defence under intense pressure in the final quarter in a close game. you all happy to see him in defence?

Daytripper
30 Aug 2009, 12:02

grand final. tight game. defence under intense pressure in the final quarter in a close game. you all happy to see him in defence?

Not all players are Luke Hodge types under pressure.

Makes the most of his abiity. Probably tries too hard for his own good sometimes. Often sacrificies his own game for the team putting himself in difficult positions to help out others when the easy thing to do would be to hang off for the easy disposal like a Courtney Dempsey.

Kong
30 Aug 2009, 13:35
To the Essendon supporters sitting near me who WOULD NOT STOP bagging McPhee and Dyson, **** you!!Why not say that at the game? :D

Smyth94
30 Aug 2009, 14:26
McPhee tries his guts out and on the balance of things, is definitely an important player but for the love of god do not play him in defense. He has the composure of a 10 year old playing his first game of competitive footy.

Donakebab
30 Aug 2009, 14:40

If he's earned his spot then of course. Silly question.

bacon buster
30 Aug 2009, 15:07
You have missed the point.

Anyway, I've had my say. Think the result is around 50/50

Runknisse
30 Aug 2009, 16:14
It was recently told to me that James Hird at a Sportsmens Night allegedly said: 'McPhee is a better player when he doesn't think, just plays his natural game.'

Couldn't agree more.

PS: I miss James.:(

Divi18
30 Aug 2009, 16:48
It was recently told to me that James Hird at a Sportsmens Night allegedly said: 'McPhee is a better player when he doesn't think, just plays his natural game.'

Couldn't agree more.

I'm pretty sure he said this while commentating one of our games earlier in the year. Think it was the first saints game.

yaco55
30 Aug 2009, 16:50

Yes

Reasons

1) Will put his body on the line
2) Reads the play well
3) A good chance to win a contested ball

Daytripper
30 Aug 2009, 18:07
Yes

Reasons

1) Will put his body on the line
2) Reads the play well
3) A good chance to win a contested ball

I'll add is a 'team first' player who has no hesitation in leaving his man to help out another defender. Also sacrifices himself and his game for the sake of the side.

Ben the Gooner
30 Aug 2009, 18:38
Dying seconds v Freo last year

zSbSDTaeqYc

Donakebab
30 Aug 2009, 18:54
Tough as nails, on ya ugly!

Lance Uppercut
30 Aug 2009, 20:24
Why not say that at the game? :D

I was there by myself. I needed them to mind my seat & bag when I went to the bar! :D

Kong
30 Aug 2009, 20:35
I was there by myself. I needed them to mind my seat & bag when I went to the bar! :DGood call. :thumbsu:

Mad Bomber Sean
31 Aug 2009, 12:52
Why I want to get rid of Mcphee

1. To slow to dispose of the ball
2. Decision making is often bad
3. Drop no pressure marks - he should take
4. Often when he gets the ball it is a 50/50 outcome - we sometimes benefit, often we dont
5. Wont be around for our next premiership team

Why I think we should keep Mcphee

1. Gives his all, eveyweek
2. Tough, big, and not afraid to offer his body as a sacrifice to the club ( I Love this )
3. Mature player in a young side
4. Old fashion footballer
5. Can help play on the gorillias in defence
6. Not a bad lead up forward

Can we add to this list of positives ?

remybey
31 Aug 2009, 13:09

Couldn't agree more.

PS: I miss James.:(

Second both of these points...

Daytripper
31 Aug 2009, 13:24
Why I want to get rid of Mcphee

1. To slow to dispose of the ball
2. Decision making is often bad
3. Drop no pressure marks - he should take
4. Often when he gets the ball it is a 50/50 outcome - we sometimes benefit, often we dont
5. Wont be around for our next premiership team

He's only 26. The way he looks after himself off field would have at least 4 years left.

I'd hope to be in flag contention within that period.

Donakebab
31 Aug 2009, 13:40
7. Pretty accurate shot at goal, good action.
8. Great contested mark, strong hands that outgrab most.
9. Quality disposal when he doesn't stop and think, one of the best in the team.