View Full Version : review Anyone feeling a bit hollow after today's win?
OzBomber
29 Aug 2009, 19:26
Great game to go to. Great win from the boys. Set up by the great Lloyd bump (Australia Rules Football is soft now), but does anyone feel a bit hollow?
Lloyd is gone (And if the bump wasn't dead after last week it definitely is now).
Ryder is more than likely gone (From what everyone is saying. I haven't seen the replay yet).
I doubt McVeigh is very unlikely with a broken hand
Atkinson is gone
I've heard Lovett-Murray may be cited.
That's up to 5 people we could have out next week and we have to travel to Adelaide. I'm usually an optimistic person but I can see us getting smashed by 10 goals next Friday.
On another note, Hurley is a freak. I love him.
bipolarbeaR
29 Aug 2009, 19:27
You're right, we will get mashed but who gives a toss, we're finals bound baby!!!
ghostdog
29 Aug 2009, 19:28
No. We've already exceeded expectations.
Looking forward to next week, but also already looking forward to next year.
ManWithNoName
29 Aug 2009, 19:28
No. Wins like that build footy clubs. Making finals build footy clubs. Sensationa win to cap off what's been an inconsistent, but succesful season so far.
dave_27
29 Aug 2009, 19:29
Finished off Hawthorns season and Llloyd made them bleed.
Not hollow one bit.
AndyLesPaul
29 Aug 2009, 19:30
I'm not so much hollow because of all the outs, but more so the fact that I may not be able to go to an Essendon Finals match this year.
FFS.
Ben the Gooner
Nope, we deserve to be here. Winning a final would be a bonus, but as far as I'm concerned, this year is Mission Accomplished.
warney7
Atkinson will be fine.
sausageroll
Not feeling hollow at all!
If the whole team threw haymakers after the Lloyd bump and was suspended next week I still wouldn't feel hollow.
Great to beat the Hawks and get a spot in the 8 :)
Was that you sean who said earlier this week if we win it will be a hollow victory? ****ing shut up with that.
- Rival Club
- Line in the Sand MK II
- Made finals and hence exceeded expectations
Of course there are repercussions from today's win, but that doesn't mean it's hollow ffs. Was it a hollow win when we beat the saints and looked like losing 3+ players that week? No.
Stupid comment.
jade_00
29 Aug 2009, 19:32
You're right, we will get mashed but who gives a toss, we're finals bound baby!!!
Second that - And we've finished Hawthorn, gotta be happy with that. Look on the bright side, we are expected to lose and can throw friggin everything at Adelaide.
Win or lose the Bombers are on the rise! But for God's sake don't follow Carlton with a stupid slogan!
Well yeah a little, but even moreso disappointed that Carlton didn't beat Adelaide because I reckon we were a fair chance to beat Carlton in Melbourne....can't see how we'll manage to beat Adelaide in Adelaide though...
Sure beats losing though :thumbsu:
Crumpler83
29 Aug 2009, 19:35
Hollow? WE'RE IN THE 8 FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE '04. Regardless of the result next week this is great for the club and our young playing group.
Bomber32
29 Aug 2009, 19:37
I'm not feeling hollow. We get to play finals next week and, irrespective of the result, our young guys will gain enormous experience from playing in a final.
Mad Bomber Sean
29 Aug 2009, 19:37
Up with the best wins of the season !
mugsyman
29 Aug 2009, 19:41
Any chance someone could put a gif file together with the clip of kennett goin off his rocker... I sense a new screensaver
OzBomber
29 Aug 2009, 19:42
Was that you sean who said earlier this week if we win it will be a hollow victory? ****ing shut up with that.
Umm, no that wasn't me. I've hardly posted on the bored this week.
I don't feel hollow because of what's happened, it's just what team we're going to come up with next week with the potential of so many players out. We ****ing deserve to play finals and I'm bloody happy that we are. What about all the wankers on here who said we didn't deserve to play finals after losing to Richmond, West Coast and Fremantle? All of a sudden we do. Why the sudden change? We've come up when it matters most and won the crucial games. I'm hoping that we can pull off an upset next week, but if we 5 players out from today then it's going to be bloody hard.
bombers_4_ever
29 Aug 2009, 19:46
I'm not hollow at all for 3 reasons.
(2) Were in the finals.
(3) We beat Hawthorn for the 2nd time this year.
(1) We finished Hawthorns season.
BringBackCransberg
29 Aug 2009, 19:47
Next week could be the beginning of the Baby Baby Bombers. Bellchambers, Daniher, Quinn all into an already Baby side. Maybe get O'Donnell out there to even things up. Jetta might even get a game. It's going to be wonderful.
Seriously, though, no one expected us to beat St Kilda. Or Hawthorn Rd 7. Or Sydney in Sydney. Or make the finals. Why would we start to get pessimistic now?
Hollow? We just won because of pure heart. That counts for a lot more in finals than it does in H&A.
I don't think Ryder is gone. I don't think Atkinson is in any trouble. No idea what Nat-Rat is in 'trouble' over.
Wahooti Fandango
29 Aug 2009, 19:57
Hollow schmollow.
Grey Smith Bar
29 Aug 2009, 19:58
I think we're all forgetting we knocked the reigning premiers out of the finals. That's not bad.
OzBomber
I don't think Ryder is gone. I don't think Atkinson is in any trouble. No idea what Nat-Rat is in 'trouble' over.
Anyone got a replay of these 2 incidents? I'm yet to see the Paddy one but heard that Hodge got a fist in first. And the Atkinson one looked like it hit him in the head live.
bombers2011
we just won because of pure heart..
word!
Anyone got a replay of these 2 incidents? I'm yet to see the Paddy one but heard that Hodge got a fist in first. And the Atkinson one looked like it hit him in the head live.
Ryder threw a small, harmless punch into Hodge's chin. He might get a week at first but he'll be get off via early plea. I hope. I don't think Hodge actually threw a punch at him, but it wasn't just a random attack on Hodge by Ryder.
Atkinson tried to pull out and I think he avoided his head. But once again, I'm confident early plea will see him away from trouble, if he's any.
itsabomber
29 Aug 2009, 20:06
Today has to be the best game I've seen in years. A hard, tough and bloody game with plenty of spite and even hatred. I don't feel hollow at all at the moment. It was a famous win that showed plenty of heart.
Regardless of what happens next week, our young group of players will benefit from finals experiance, and playing finals this year is definatly a bonus considering where we were expected to finish at the start of the season.
I'm not entirely confidant of beating The Crows next week but at least we're in with a chance
james_omahoney
29 Aug 2009, 20:10
You'd think Ryder will be OK, given that Rance got off. Minimal impact, etc.
cooper6
29 Aug 2009, 20:34
Hollow?
We made the finals.
At the beginning of the year i expected 9-12th. So i am absolutely pumped to see us make our first finals campaign since 04. So be it if we lose ryder, lloyd (who was useless anyway) and get done next week.
Making the finals this year was something Knights said he thought he could do (in his second year) and then said we would push for contention in 2010. This win puts us in great stead for next year with one years more development into players like hurley, pears, neagle, dempsey, dyson, winderlich, zaha, prismall, myers, reimers etc (as well as the unknown of gumby).
One game (or more) of finals football will give these young guys some greatly valuable experience for our future.
Very exciting times ahead!
ps. keep hurley forward with pear, hooker, daniher back
cooper6
29 Aug 2009, 20:38
oh and:
- we beat hawks both times
- we beat carlton both times
- we ended saints streak
- we won anzac day
some massive wins this year!
Yep ... at least one win over our other big rival richmond and a win against melbourne. Don't know about you guys but I always have an earful of idiot melbourne supporters wanting to talk us down. They've never got over the fact that every bad memory they have this decade is due to Essendon.
2000 Grand Final
2004 Elimination Final
2007 (i think) Daniher's last game = 3-4 goals in the last 5 min to win (anzac day style -- lucas with a cherry with 7 secs remaining)
We've beaten every major rival this year.
OzBomber
29 Aug 2009, 20:43
oh and:
- we ended saints streak
- we won anzac day
Been a great year to go to the footy. I'm happy I've witnessed all these wins live.
I just want to repeat again that I'm not feeling hollow about the fact that we won and rubbed their faced in it. Just that we might not have these guys next week. Heres hoping that all are free to play the Crows and we can post another upset win next week. :thumbsu:
Go the Dons!
Nope.
Loved the win today, big crowd, big 3rd qtr comeback.
The only people who should feel hollow are the Hawthorn members who did not turn out today. Disgrace, pack of pussies. :thumbsd:
Redb
p..s Oh and the bump is dead - yeah right.
OzBomber
29 Aug 2009, 20:57
Nope.
Loved the win today, big crowd, big 3rd qtr comeback.
The only people who should feel follow are the Hawthorn members who did not turn today. Disgrace, pack of pussies. :thumbsd:
Redb
p..s Oh and the bump is dead - yeah right.
****in oath. Their members area was more or less deserted. Amazing show up from the members. Usually only see that in finals. Northern stand was chockers except for the bottom level at the Punt Road end. The top deck of the Southern stand was fairly packed as well.
a_fighting_fury
29 Aug 2009, 21:02
GREAT game guys and nothing hollow about the win. You guys once again showed exceptional character in the face of adveristy and guess what, you came out on top. You played footy the way it should be played, take no prisoners!
Lloyds unfortunate crunch on Sewell turned the game around and although it was 'reckless' I felt his intention after the half-time break was to step up (as good captains do) and take the game on when it was in the balance. Well, the Hawkers simply crumbled after the sickening accident and with their mounting injuries, the Bombers went on to win with their trademark fight-on till the end.
A great final atmosphere with Hurley turning it on in the second half.
Well done Bombers!
crows will end your season to the tune of 54 pts.
the same margin we whipped you last sunday @ subi.
a finals footy lesson coming up.
Good luck in the finals Freo....:eek:
oh and:
- we ended saints streak
- we won anzac day
Only team with the wood on us now is Port. Hopefully we can beat em next year.
spartanwa
29 Aug 2009, 21:38
Don't feel hollow at all. Hawthorn can go to hell, bunch of hypocritical crybabies. Their successes in the 80's were built on the backs of some of the biggest thugs the game has seen. Brown is a dog, and to be honest, I TRULY do not believe Lloydy had any intention in his bump at all. Hawks want to have their cake and eat it too. They can eat me instead. Disgusting vile scum.
Not hollow in the slightest.
We're in the finals! For the first time since 2004.
Even if we lose next week, which I expect us to playing against Adelaide, we've made the finals. :thumbsu:
Bring-Back-Powell
30 Aug 2009, 05:23
I actually think Lloyd being suspended will actually work in your favour. You played fine without him.
Is that a fair comment?
And you could also bring in Lucas if you want experience.
Hollow after watching Adelaide demolish Carlton.
caboose
30 Aug 2009, 07:22
Hollow? What a weird suggestion.
We will not win the premiership so there is a season-ending loss coming soon. Probably as early as this week.
With that in mind, in the meantime I'll happily take such a satisfying win over the scum any day of the week, thanks. The second half of the game was one of the best I've seen in years. It also exorcised some ghosts from the 1995 semi final against Richmond for me, as well. Extremely enjoyable, and my feeling after the match was about as far from 'hollow' as you could possibly get. It still is this morning and will be all week, too.
Not sure what will happen with Paddy (there was very little in it), btw, but I'd have thought Atkinson and Natrat should be fine. Then again, who knows with the game of Russian roulette everyone has to play with the MRP.
Great effort from the boys to make finals.
Lloyd will go (although the incident has been hugely exaggerated)
Atkinson will be cleared as will Lovett Murray
Ryder will hopefully get a fine or 1 week with a 25% early plee reduction and be available to play
We have nothing to loose next week.
Bring on some exciting football and take it up to the Crows.
Go Bombers
ironhustla
30 Aug 2009, 11:06
Are Dempsey and Reimers a chance to come back into the team?
More worried about losing Ryder than Lloyd TBH.
If we knock off the Crows next week who do we play the next week? Anyone know?
Hurley for PM....
Darealrath
30 Aug 2009, 12:25
Not hollow at all. Absolutely loved it. We exposed hawthorn for the hypocritical whingers that they are. And yes, how soft are so many of their "50k members" for not turning up.
I'm just glad we made the finals and are relevant at the business end of the season. Great effort as we were slaughtered with injuries this season.
I'd be shocked if we won in Adelaide next week. They are clearly the 5th best side (big gap after that IMO) and very strong at home. Just want to see a big effort.
We're back in the finals!
Valve Bounce
30 Aug 2009, 19:21
Great game to go to. Great win from the boys. Set up by the great Lloyd bump (Australia Rules Football is soft now), but does anyone feel a bit hollow?
Lloyd is gone (And if the bump wasn't dead after last week it definitely is now).
Ryder is more than likely gone (From what everyone is saying. I haven't seen the replay yet).
I doubt McVeigh is very unlikely with a broken hand
Atkinson is gone
I've heard Lovett-Murray may be cited.
That's up to 5 people we could have out next week and we have to travel to Adelaide. I'm usually an optimistic person but I can see us getting smashed by 10 goals next Friday.
On another note, Hurley is a freak. I love him.
Pity Carlton lost - we had a win all lined up right here at the G next week. :(
Valve Bounce
30 Aug 2009, 19:22
Are Dempsey and Reimers a chance to come back into the team?
More worried about losing Ryder than Lloyd TBH.
If we knock off the Crows next week who do we play the next week? Anyone know?
Hurley for PM....
Probably Collingwood - that would have been good too. :(
I've looked at all the reports again yesterday and it may not be as bad as we think. IMO
Lloyd - 3 weeks, Atkinson - 2 weeks and the rest can/should all get off. Ryders punch didn't have enough force behind it.
McVeigh will most likely come up as well. Lloyd will be a big lost but we can cover Atkinson, esp if Dempsey can come back in. Finals are completely different. We can win.