View Full Version : News Bomber Trio Suspended

EFL Boy
31 Aug 2009, 15:40
http://essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6995

Essendon officials will meet this afternoon to decide if they will contest any of the three suspensions handed down by the AFL Tribunal in the wake of Saturday's clash with Hawthorn. Matthew Lloyd will be sidelined for four weeks if he pleads guilty while Patrick Ryder and Sam Lonergan will miss one match each with an early plea.

Five Essendon players were also charged with engaing in a melee. More details shortly.

http://essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6995

Well that was unexpected....

RM_3
31 Aug 2009, 15:41
http://twitter.com/Essendon_FC

The Ryder one is ****ing absurd.

Bombers1234
31 Aug 2009, 15:42
Unbelivably hard done buy. I hope Brown, Hodge and Bateman were suspended as well to ease my pain.

Godzke
31 Aug 2009, 15:45
mmmmm ... leave lloyd be, and contest ryder's. it will be hard, but there was no force at all.

bomberstomake8
31 Aug 2009, 15:46
contest them all,

if lonergan is suspended then hodge better be too, he did the same thing to lonergan, ryders i thought should get off with a reprimand, could be worth contesting

and lloyds isnt worth 4 weeks contest that

saladodger
31 Aug 2009, 15:50
Very hard done by. Ryder and Lonergan will hurt come friday night.

Mr Mosquito
31 Aug 2009, 15:51
Ryder has carry over points which hurt him.....should contest all 3

beev
31 Aug 2009, 15:51
Definetly contest Paddys

daffo
31 Aug 2009, 15:55
Contest Paddy and Lonergan. They both weren't too bad.

LeeARM
31 Aug 2009, 15:56
I didn't even know Lonergan did anything.

Jimthegreat
31 Aug 2009, 15:58
Didn't see Lonergans but the other 2 are no-brainers. Ryder punched him in the face, no ifs or buts. We all saw it. Best you can hope with Lloyd is a downgrade of some description and knock a week off.

KING-JAMES
31 Aug 2009, 16:01
Didn't see Lonergans but the other 2 are no-brainers. Ryder punched him in the face, no ifs or buts. We all saw it. Best you can hope with Lloyd is a downgrade of some description and knock a week off.

The amount of force in that 'punch' wouldn't have hurt a fly.

OzBomber
31 Aug 2009, 16:01
So is Paddy and Lonergan's 1 week after the early guilty plea or before?

LeeARM
31 Aug 2009, 16:07

He's probably being punished for making the game look so weak.

Wahooti Fandango
31 Aug 2009, 16:07
We're ****ed.

LeeARM
31 Aug 2009, 16:11
We're ****ed.

Without Paddy - Yes
But if he gets off, then we're underdogs

Squeaky
31 Aug 2009, 16:15
The inconsistency by the match review is laughable.
Last week, Rance hit Buddy who was on the bottom of the pack, drew blood & didn't even get cited. (It was deemed acceptable?) Sure Paddy hit Hodge - but there was no force!

Hodge cruises around & hits blokes at the boundary throw in - gets whacked back & now Lonergan has to go up too...

The AFL match review are a disgrace!
Sure Lloyd had to go but I reckon they could have looked at it & then left these other two guys alone.

Spikey
31 Aug 2009, 16:15
THE GAME HAS GONE SOFT R.I.P FOOOTBALL!!!!!

jjjj

CAPTAINCRAWF
31 Aug 2009, 16:16
Trying to be totally unbiased guys when I say under the current rules Lloyd was always going to get 4 as the AFL deem it slightly worse than the Franklin case the week before. Ryders suspension is shocking and should be appealed. All he was doing was responding to Hodges jumper punch which he has every right to do. I dont get how Rance wasnt cited last week for a gutless act at the bottom of the pack and Ryder was plucked out for very minimal contact. I guarantee Hawk fans have alot more respect for Ryder than we do Rance. Bateman will probably get 3, 2 with an early plea but I havent heard anything.

EFL Boy
31 Aug 2009, 16:17
Atkinson has done very well.

kelvin_sheedy
31 Aug 2009, 16:25
Lloyd should contest. He was pushed and he can get off. Personally I don't think he's in any shape or form to be playing but for the sake of it contest anyway.

Ryder should try and downgrade somewhere so he can get off with a reprimand. Surely that system allows a fair player like Paddy to be out there.

Lonergan, plead the Headland retaliation as Hodge was sniping everyone after the incident.

daffo
31 Aug 2009, 16:25
Agreed. How the hell did Atkison get off and Ryder copped a week!?

Ryder_Hooker
31 Aug 2009, 16:31
Atkinsons was laughable. Ryder blatantly punch Hodge in the face.

I would contest Ryders though. Was a pretty soft punch, if it had a jumper in it, it would have been let go.....

CAPTAINCRAWF
31 Aug 2009, 16:36
Atkinsons was laughable. Ryder blatantly punch Hodge in the face.

I would contest Ryders though. Was a pretty soft punch, if it had a jumper in it, it would have been let go.....

Perfectly said:thumbsu:

james_omahoney
31 Aug 2009, 16:37
If Rance got off then so should Paddy. The AFL, by not suspending Rance, sent a message that it's ok to do little punches to the face that are less than "low impact".

SDR223
31 Aug 2009, 16:38
Contest them all.

On channel 9's Sunday Footy Show they had footage of the Llyod/Sewell incident and it looked like Lloyds shoulder missed him and they clashed heads. So he should only get charged for rough conduct rather than a high hit.

Ryder and Lonergan are also stiff. Players have been getting away with light punches all year.

CAPTAINCRAWF
31 Aug 2009, 16:41
Can anyone tell me at what point during the game was Atkinsons as I dont remember it happening in general play to be honest unless it was during a trip to the Bar.

Bomber Pamboo
31 Aug 2009, 16:42
Say we lose all 3 players who comes in?? Will dempsey and reimers be back?? Along WITH t-Bell??

Bomber Pamboo
31 Aug 2009, 16:43
Can anyone tell me at what point during the game was Atkinsons as I dont remember it happening in general play to be honest unless it was during a trip to the Bar.

1st quarter

The Cryptkeeper
31 Aug 2009, 16:44
Lloyd should contest. He was pushed and he can get off. Personally I don't think he's in any shape or form to be playing but for the sake of it contest anyway.

Ryder should try and downgrade somewhere so he can get off with a reprimand. Surely that system allows a fair player like Paddy to be out there.

Lonergan, plead the Headland retaliation as Hodge was sniping everyone after the incident.

C'mon mate, you can't really believe that Lloyd was pushed. He copped his right whack.

As for Ryder, well that is an absolute disgrace. Rance wasn't even sited and Hodge wouldn't have even felt the little tap that Ryder dished out.

Didn't see Lonergan's so won't comment but you guys have been screwed over the Ryder suspension alone. You can't rub blokes out for that.

MadMaxx
31 Aug 2009, 16:45
As I understand it, Ryder had carry over points, hence the week. I think he might have escaped otherwise.

Lloyd was alwas going to go. The league has shown that they don't consider the mechanics or intent when coming up with these penaties.. It is the result that count, and the effect it has on Auskick enrolements ... Sewell was left in an unconscious palsy on the ground with a smashed cheekbone. Bad Press. If we had of won, he would be out for 6 weeks..

4 Weeks suspension is fair, take it and move on.

Tailypo
31 Aug 2009, 16:45
The club will contest Ryder's ban I imagine, risk V reward. If we are to have any chance against Adelaide, Ryder is crucial. Not sure what they will say though :o.
In any case, Ryder banned and Rance cleared = :thumbsd:. Must have been the carryover points.

Hawks1523
31 Aug 2009, 16:51
I'd like to see you blokes contest the Ryder suspension. Very very ordinary that he copped a week for that, especially after the Rance incident. I hope he can get it down graded and escape with a reprimand.

Lloyds I wouldn't really contest it, at best you'd probably get it down to 3 weeks, doesn't make a massive difference, but if the club feels it's worth it, good luck.

I don't even remember what Longergan did, can anybody fill me in on it?

AS9
31 Aug 2009, 16:56
I'd like to see you blokes contest the Ryder suspension. Very very ordinary that he copped a week for that, especially after the Rance incident. I hope he can get it down graded and escape with a reprimand.

Lloyds I wouldn't really contest it, at best you'd probably get it down to 3 weeks, doesn't make a massive difference, but if the club feels it's worth it, good luck.

By memory I'm pretty sure he whacked Hodge in the face after Hodge had a swing and miss at him.

Spikey
31 Aug 2009, 16:56

A (soft) punch to Hodge's cheek during a ball-in. Hodge slapped him in the face moments before. But still poor from Sammy.

~RFM~
31 Aug 2009, 16:57
Seems to me media have dictated what would be deemed acceptable for Lloyds bump. Word around was 3-4 weeks...but I just watched it again also in slow mo many many times and geez if he hadn't turned they both would have clashed heads. It was pretty obvious that it was not intentional....

Who has real faith in match review panel? In the umpires? In the AFL in general?

So who got done for Hawthorn? Did Campbell get 8 weeks for being a wanker?

Hawks1523
31 Aug 2009, 17:08
Thanks AS9 and Spikey. :thumbsu:

tha Freak
31 Aug 2009, 17:16
Ryders is the only one to look at. Low impact, deliberate, but not much hope. Longergan gave Hodge a good left hook after Hodge had hit him. One for one, both players got on with it. Hodge was left a little dazed but it didn't seem that hard. Can't see the point in fighting Lloyd's it won't change much but it's a shame they didn't try to give him a chance for another game this year. Hope we don't make this a hugh issue like the Hawks. Prefer to focus on the game at hand with players that are available.

AndrewJo
31 Aug 2009, 17:17
If you contest Ryder be aware that he can get 2....Remember what happened to Buddy. There is no doubt Paddy hit with the fist...No doubt he did it...may have not been a knockout but he DID it...Forget him this week and concentrate on getting the team ready for this week. Distractions will not help you...And yes, I am from Adelaide BUT my brother is red hot Bombers and he agrees with me!

Wahooti Fandango
31 Aug 2009, 17:20
If you contest Ryder be aware that he can get 2....Remember what happened to Buddy. There is no doubt Paddy hit with the fist...No doubt he did it...may have not been a knockout but he DID it...Forget him this week and concentrate on getting the team ready for this week. Distractions will not help you...And yes, I am from Adelaide BUT my brother is red hot Bombers and he agrees with me!

If it was McLeod would you contest it?

hateitorlovett13
31 Aug 2009, 17:23

On that logic, high tackles should now be taken to the tribunal. What a joke.

What had more impact, Ryder's punch, which would have done just as much damage as the Hodge jumper punch he was responding to, or Bateman's round arm swing at Lloyd?

Goodbye AFL.

EFL Boy
31 Aug 2009, 17:24
Seeya mate.

Big John
31 Aug 2009, 17:24
Hmm, Paddy and Sam both retaliate after Hodge hits them. Both get a week, Hodge gets a fine.

Bateman runs at Lloyd out of the play jumps up and swings at his head and gets a week. In the play Lloyd runs head on into Sewell, has a reckless collision with his head and gets over 600 activation points.

Absolute Joke.

The Dustbin
31 Aug 2009, 17:27
What exactly did Lonergan do?

Paddy and Lonergan have to contest and risk a 2 game suspension.
No complaints with Lloyd.

The Dustbin
31 Aug 2009, 17:46
Just saw the Lonergan incident - Did Hodge get cited for diving? :o

LeeARM
31 Aug 2009, 18:04
Honestly Ryder did less damage with his punch than Brown did with his slap.

stay true
31 Aug 2009, 18:04
THE GAME HAS GONE SOFT R.I.P FOOOTBALL!!!!!

jjjj
OMFG I HATE THE MRP AND DUMETROO AND ANDO!

WHOMB U NEED TO WRITE A PRESS RELEASE FOR US ALL TO ENDORSE SO THAT LLOYDY CAN GET OFF! THIS IS UNAUSTRALIAN!

Seriously though, I'm not going to complain about the Lloyd suspension, but I am pretty filthy with Ryder and Lonergan getting a week for two very soft punches and that muppet Hodge got away with doing the same to just about every bloke on the field lol.

And Bateman, WTF at that lol...

Skeeta Olly
31 Aug 2009, 18:07
Honestly Ryder did less damage with his punch than Brown did with his slap.

Monfries should be over the moon that he wasn't sun burnt.

jackburton3232
31 Aug 2009, 18:10
Bateman got what he deserved. I don't know what you're all complaining about. He whacked him off the ball and he'll cop his week on the pine. Why are you angry? Did you expect more?

Godzke
31 Aug 2009, 18:11
When they say Atkinson, do they refer to that incident where he jumped as the hawks player marked and made ever so slight contest in mid air?

He did absolutely everything to pull out of that. Literally contorted his body in mid air so as not to knock out the guy. Glad he got off but pissed that even got cited in the first place.

efcboy
31 Aug 2009, 18:29
My opinion:

Lloyd incident - they may as well roll the dice and try to get him off completely. If they fail he might as well retire - not much point going in to your last season already missing the first 3-5 games...They can definitely argue that contact from Schoenmakers pushed Lloyd off balance and he had reduced control of his body making contact inevitable. Its all or nothing.

Ryder incident - I don't think there is conclusive footage that the contact was head-high. From the vision I've seen the contact appears to be to the upper neck region below the jawline so I would be asking for a downgrade from Head-high contact to body contact and plead guilty to that charge which should only result in a reprimand.

Lonergan incident - would need to watch replay again as I'm not sure there's a good argument on that one. Perhaps argue for reckless rather than intentional or just cop this one.

Call Me Cake
31 Aug 2009, 18:32
Psht.

Contest the Ryder charge. A week for nothing.

Who gives a toss whether or not he gets an extra week if we fail. We'll have Hille next year anyway.

DO EEET!

Otherwise, you can kiss Friday's game goodbye.

JD11
31 Aug 2009, 18:38
Bateman got what he deserved. I don't know what you're all complaining about. He whacked him off the ball and he'll cop his week on the pine. Why are you angry? Did you expect more?

Please leave our board.

james_omahoney
31 Aug 2009, 18:54
My opinion:

Ryder incident - I don't think there is conclusive footage that the contact was head-high. From the vision I've seen the contact appears to be to the upper neck region below the jawline so I would be asking for a downgrade from Head-high contact to body contact and plead guilty to that charge which should only result in a reprimand.

This is what I was thinking too. It's hard to say whether the contact was to the neck or chin.

I'd also be arguing that the contact was no more than Rance's, which was deemed minimal and not enough to be considered a strike. Rance's caused Lance's mouth to bleed, so Paddy should get off.

Bomber Bears
31 Aug 2009, 18:56
Did chance bateman get cited?

BringBackCransberg
31 Aug 2009, 18:57
Ryder had no existing good or bad record, so I don't think carry-over points or whatever have anything to do with it. And he wasn't given a week, he was given two weeks which will be downgraded to one on the condition of an early guilty plea. Contesting won't be as straightforward as people seem to think.

I don't think we we're certain losers without Ryder - I do think we're closer to being certain losers if we play Coll/StK without him, though. So maybe we shouldn't contest. It all has to do with precedent and how the MRP has dealt with precedent as a deciding factor in past cases. EFC could make a showreel of unpunished little punches to the head, but the MRP might just say that their misses in the past aren't justification for letting this one 'slip through'. It might just be 'new precedent'.

I dunno, it kills me, but at this stage it looks very unliikely that we'll have Paddy on Friday. Soft as, yes, but it would all be a lot easier if he didn't punch him in the jaw.

EFL Boy
31 Aug 2009, 18:59
Did chance bateman get cited?

1 week. :rolleyes:

sen entertainment bloke
31 Aug 2009, 19:04
Seems to me media have dictated what would be deemed acceptable for Lloyds bump. Word around was 3-4 weeks...but I just watched it again also in slow mo many many times and geez if he hadn't turned they both would have clashed heads. It was pretty obvious that it was not intentional....

Who has real faith in match review panel? In the umpires? In the AFL in general?

So who got done for Hawthorn? Did Campbell get 8 weeks for being a wanker?

It was that close to a replica of his clash with Judd it doesn't matter.

With Ryder, don't know. Need his around the ground marking as much as his ruck work. Let it go and have him fresh for Josh the following week.:)

Bomber Bears
31 Aug 2009, 19:11
1 week. :rolleyes:Well thats good anywaym would've been a joke if he didnt whilst the Essendon players did

GoldenboyHird_5
31 Aug 2009, 19:12
Ryder won't get off.

1) AFL don't give a damn about precedence. They will judge each case in isolation, ignoring previous incidences, no matter how related they may be.

2) They also don't care for provocation either. Lonergan, therefore, will not get off.

Lloyd... well, we know the result there.

abers47
31 Aug 2009, 19:15
Unbelivably hard done buy. I hope Brown, Hodge and Bateman were suspended as well to ease my pain.

What would Brown be suspended for? To weak to do anything, except mouth off!

Darealrath
31 Aug 2009, 19:16
I hope we contest all 3.

Lloyd's is way overrated due to the hysteria of the last couple weeks. Should get a couple for getting him high but there was no intent whatsoever.

The Lonergan and Ryder ones are very soft. How the hell are they rated the same as Bateman's?!?!

abers47
31 Aug 2009, 19:18
As I understand it, Ryder had carry over points, hence the week. I think he might have escaped otherwise.

Lloyd was alwas going to go. The league has shown that they don't consider the mechanics or intent when coming up with these penaties.. It is the result that count, and the effect it has on Auskick enrolements ... Sewell was left in an unconscious palsy on the ground with a smashed cheekbone. Bad Press. If we had of won, he would be out for 6 weeks..

4 Weeks suspension is fair, take it and move on.

Like your club did????

bennythebomber
31 Aug 2009, 19:23
I don't like Matty Lloyd and hate what he did to Sewell, as he was clearly dominating with his contested possession so i for one would like to see Lloyd retire with this over his head. Poor form to go out like that.

:)

Too bad he didn't dominate the contest with Lloyd!! Suck it up hawks supporters, maybe your team might go harder at the ball next year!!

The Donners
31 Aug 2009, 19:30
Dear Scum supporters,

This was the right decision by the MRP. Low acts by all Bummer players. Finally Matthew Lloyd can crawl into hole and retire like the dog he is.

A healthy Hawks lineup will murder the Dons for years to come. So be happy with sniping your way into the 8, as this is as good as gets for you low lifes!

Cheers

Browny.

Dear piss and poo supporter,

Round 7.

Cheers

16 flags

bombers2011
31 Aug 2009, 22:32
1 week. :rolleyes:

Having watched that again and again, I cannot believe that Bateman only got 1 week. Completely pre-meditated, after the ball, high contact. Apalling that Lloyd could potentially get 6 weeks...

Seb78
31 Aug 2009, 23:38

Only player that punch would've knocked out is Marc Murphy pissweak little maggot that he is:D:thumbsu: