View Full Version : News Bateman Only Hawk Suspended

EFL Boy
31 Aug 2009, 17:44
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,26006240-19742,00.html

Chance Bateman was the only Hawk suspended out of the melee, being offered a one-game ban for striking Lloyd.

Five Essendon and five Hawthorn players were fined for engaing in a melee.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,26006240-19742,00.html

This is ridiculous.

Big John
31 Aug 2009, 17:50
There was a reason Lonergan and Ryder both hit Hodge.

In terms of the Bateman strike. Was very dirty, behind the play and he was obviously targeting Lloyd. But he didn't really connect so the AFL thinks it doesn't matter.

Lloyd was in the play, was definately trying to make a physical presence, but wasn't aiming to hurt anyone and the ball was right there. Unfortunately for all concerned Sewell came up a lot worse for wear, so Lloyd must go for as long as possible.

On a little sidenote, does anyone else see the similarity between Lloyd/Sewell and the Lloyd/Judd bump from last year. Only difference being this time Lloyd was a bit slower than Sewell rather than arriving at the same time.

hugorune
31 Aug 2009, 17:51
How in the fornication can Ryder be suspended, and Hodge not? Hodge stuck Ryder first in that particular incident, and both were pretty mild as striking cases go.

I think the tribunal just wanted to make a point and punish Essendon...

Skeeta Olly
31 Aug 2009, 17:52
In before troll.

Joke really.

stay true
31 Aug 2009, 17:55
What can you say...

I'm shaking my head in disbelief.

hamG
31 Aug 2009, 17:55
Ridiculous, Barry Hall would have gotten 6 if he threw a coathanger like that.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
31 Aug 2009, 17:57
Not sure what your complaints are? Bateman should have gone and did. Hodge's was more of a jumper punch than a clean punch unlike Ryder's.

What is a disgrace is how Ryder gets a week for what he did and Rance got off clean.

Puzzled by the MRP???

Duckworth
31 Aug 2009, 18:03
According to the MRP Paddy's hit and Batemans hit are the same (Both 1 week) :o What a cowardly flog Bateman is.... A deliberate attempt to hit Lloyd with a round-arm swing - should have gotten more.

MarkJohnson#1
31 Aug 2009, 18:04
Hodge forearm to Paddy's head did the same damage so he should get the same punishment! What a joke.

MarkJohnson#1
31 Aug 2009, 18:07
The situation was brought about by a reckless act from your captain. He deserved what Bateman gave him, you can't complain if Lloyd is the only one they came down hard on. (Paddy Ryder I agree was hard done by)

So for every accidental bump to someones head a teammate should go and king hit the player who laid the bump?

You moron.

Skeeta Olly
31 Aug 2009, 18:08
The situation was brought about by a reckless act from your captain. He deserved what Bateman gave him, you can't complain if Lloyd is the only one they came down hard on. (Paddy Ryder I agree was hard done by)

Your logic reaps of fail.

Duckworth
31 Aug 2009, 18:11

We're complaining about the disparity in application of the rules. A round arm swing to the throat = 1 week... **** off!! What Lloyd had done before that point in the game SHOULD make no difference to the MRP. Hawthorn had every right to target Lloyd (and they did). But they have to do it within the rules or cop the consequences.

LeeARM
31 Aug 2009, 18:12
I'm more concerned about our suspensions

Duckworth
31 Aug 2009, 18:13
I'm more concerned about our suspensions

well... some consistency would be good...

Skeeta Olly
31 Aug 2009, 18:15
well... some consistency would be good...

Consistency.... HA!

Zfy8OARlQzM&e

KingMullet
31 Aug 2009, 18:15
That is an absolute disgrace.Hodge should be gone for all money at the very least.

LeeARM
31 Aug 2009, 18:21
Thats the problem mate, There was absolutely nothing accidental about it, The full forward charges into the square after half time, he achieved exactly what he set out to!

Lucky Sewell got the ball then, it would've looked a lot worse if the ball was on the other side of the square, no where near him.

stay true
31 Aug 2009, 18:21

/facepalm

Duckworth
31 Aug 2009, 18:22
That is an absolute disgrace.Hodge should be gone for all money at the very least.

He should get suspended for his poor acting. If/when we contest the Lonergan report will Hodges actions just beforehand get put under scrutiny too?

Hodgepodge
31 Aug 2009, 18:24
So for every accidental bump to someones head a teammate should go and king hit the player who laid the bump?

Exaggeration When we overstate or overemphasize a point that is a crucial step in a piece of reasoning, then we are guilty of the fallacy of exaggeration.

Tailypo
31 Aug 2009, 18:27
*Inonsistency, FFS. Rance's charge is thrown out as 'The level of impact was below that required to constitute a reportable offence.' He drew blood. Ryder's charge stands and, by the letter of the law, he gets 2 weeks (downgraded)!
*This is the same law, mind you, which classes both Bateman's coat-hanger and Ryder's 'punch' as low impact. One's force decks Lloyd, the otherr doesn't leave a scar. :thumbsd:

LeeARM
31 Aug 2009, 18:32
I think Sewell should have been reported for making contact with Lloyds shoulder :rolleyes:

Well it's not a good idea to get in the way of Lloyd's shoulder but sadly they haven't made a rule for it yet.

Skeeta Olly
31 Aug 2009, 18:41
Have fun in adelaide boys.

Hope you had a good Mad Monday.

Duckworth
31 Aug 2009, 18:43
Looks like the MRP have concluded that Lloyds was a dog act.. in that he had the book thrown at him. Batemans relatively light sentence is probably also a reflection of the MRP's view of Lloyds snipe. Thirdly Lonergan and Ryder getting offered a week each could be seen as further evidence of the MRP's view of Lloyds gutless act.

Good luck at AAMI..

Each incident should be assessed seperately. Maybe Lloyd was trying to show Buddy (albeit from the grandstand) how much damage a shoulder can do while trying to bump...:rolleyes:

AndyLesPaul
31 Aug 2009, 18:48
the situation was brought about by reckless acts from your vice-captain. He deserved what lonergan and ryder gave him, you can complain if hodge is the only one let off scott-free
efa
:p

The Donners
31 Aug 2009, 18:50
Thats the problem mate, There was absolutely nothing accidental about it, The full forward charges into the square after half time, he achieved exactly what he set out to! I dont agree with Batemans response because you should always be the bigger man, though hey he paid the price just as Lloyd has.

Please enlighten me. Was Lloyd 'showing leadership' as you all assert here, or was it an accident? If he was 'showing leadership', it was reckless at best.

Exaggeration When we overstate or overemphasize a point that is a crucial step in a piece of reasoning, then we are guilty of the fallacy of exaggeration.

I think Sewell should have been reported for making contact with Lloyds shoulder :rolleyes:

Looks like the MRP have concluded that Lloyds was a dog act.. in that he had the book thrown at him. Batemans relatively light sentence is probably also a reflection of the MRP's view of Lloyds snipe. Thirdly Lonergan and Ryder getting offered a week each could be seen as further evidence of the MRP's view of Lloyds gutless act.

Good luck at AAMI..

Have fun in adelaide boys.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r81_FLjfNOg

Now F-off!

Boucks09
31 Aug 2009, 18:55
Haha if all you sad Hawthorn fans can get satisfaction from is the fact that we are going to struggle in a final that WE BEAT YOU TO MAKE then it really has been a sad sad year for your club.

Fact is people that when the game was there to be won after a hard physical altercation against us, you again failed to put your head over the ball and win the contested football.

Just like the line in the sand game, we went on to dominate after the melee whilst your team cowardly tried to get even with pathetic dog acts.

Couldn't give a shit if we get smashed by Adelaide this week. The fact is we beat your mob in a game that clearly mattered and it hurt you. If it didn't you wouldn't be wasting your time on our board.

Enjoy the long pre season because the fact is that you can't claim anything over us for AT LEAST 10 months.

2 wins this year over the Hawks....how sweet it is!

hird5
31 Aug 2009, 18:58
The game really is going soft...Bateman should have had half of next year off based on the today's rules the filthy little bastard.

abers47
31 Aug 2009, 19:05
No chance of Campbell Brown being reported for anything!!!!

hugorune
31 Aug 2009, 19:08
No chance of Campbell Brown being reported for anything!!!!

If being a whinging baby is a reportable offense, he'd get done for half the season.

Everyone saw that slap on TV, though. I'm going to remember that everytime I see him play. What a girl.

Kong
31 Aug 2009, 19:23
Obviously if Lloyd plays on next year the Hawthorn bogans are going to boo him.

I propose that every time we play Hawthorn, our supporters do the same to all of Brown, Bateman and - to a lesser extent - Hodge.

How Hodge escaped the MRP for both whacks to Lonergan and Ryder previous to their retaliation baffles me.

Dog players at a dog club.

dave_27
31 Aug 2009, 19:23
Luke Hodge and Hawthorn are the golden childs of the AFL.

Tailypo
31 Aug 2009, 19:33
At least we get a handy bit of footage to counteract any Lloydgianis, Angus Wantfrees comments-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zfy8OARlQzM

Hodgey, you're my hero.

Big Kris
31 Aug 2009, 20:09

I propose that every time we play Hawthorn, our supporters do the same to all of Brown, Bateman and - to a lesser extent - Hodge.

How Hodge escaped the MRP for both whacks to Lonergan and Ryder previous to their retaliation baffles me.

Lloydy has kicked 35 goals in 18 games this year! The only chance the Hawk supporters will get a chance to boo is when he drives around on the back of a Toyota Hilux.

I feel sorry that Lloydy has ruined his career and reputation. Shocking way to leave the game.

Skeeta Olly
31 Aug 2009, 20:24
Actually, when our boys put their head over the ball, your gutless captain put his shoulder in. If you think it was won or lost by anything other than our most consistent midfielder being felled (after losing our #1 ruckman) you are kidding yourselves.

Get over it. What are you trying to gain by being here?

DapperDon
31 Aug 2009, 20:32
Actually, when our boys put their head over the ball, your gutless captain put his shoulder in. If you think it was won or lost by anything other than our most consistent midfielder being felled (after losing our #1 ruckman) you are kidding yourselves.

So what he did worked? You bunch of bitch slapping **********s didn't get a hard ball for the rest of the game.

CB: "You're dead Lloyd"
ML: "I'm right here Bitch Slap, for another hour actually"
CB: "Yeah well, you're stuffed next time we play i'm gonna slap you silly"
ML: "But i'm here now, lets sort it out"
*CB running away pointing all tough like*
CB: "Next time Lloyd"
shit I hope he retires

yodellinhank
31 Aug 2009, 21:51
Is there no longer a charge for attempted striking? Campbell Brown on NLM? I can't believe more was not made of his attempted elbow.

EFL Boy
31 Aug 2009, 21:57

Get over it. We lost our number one ruckman on ANZAC Day, you guys just aren't mentally tough nor physically tough.

MarkJohnson#1
31 Aug 2009, 22:04
Get over it. We lost our number one ruckman on ANZAC Day, you guys just aren't mentally tough nor physically tough.

Not to mention our triumph against St Kilda when we were struck with 3 game ending injuries. If they had any heart they wouldn't have blown over like a feather like they did.

Finals here we come! :cool:

MissAllyG
31 Aug 2009, 22:07

The members and supporters at Essendon have too much class to boo other players!!!

MissAllyG
31 Aug 2009, 22:09
Lloydy has kicked 35 goals in 18 games this year! The only chance the Hawk supporters will get a chance to boo is when he drives around on the back of a Toyota Hilux.

I feel sorry that Lloydy has ruined his career and reputation. Shocking way to leave the game.

He hasn't retired yet!!!! (that was quite a witty retort however....as offended as I am by it!!!)

EFL Boy
31 Aug 2009, 22:12
Everybody knows Lloyd is nowhere near our most important player.

EFL Boy
31 Aug 2009, 22:19
Don't worry your boys won't have to wait long to experience the same. Only six sleeps.

Six sleeps?

Monday night, Tuesday night, Wesnesday night, Thursday night, Friday night, Saturday night.

I think you are mistaking Monday with Sunday.

matey
31 Aug 2009, 22:29
Six sleeps?

Monday night, Tuesday night, Wesnesday night, Thursday night, Friday night, Saturday night.

I think you are mistaking Monday with Sunday.

I'm in New Zealand at the moment!

Seb78
31 Aug 2009, 22:30
That's cause they're a bunch of bloody girls, if they get reported they start crying to the tribunal saying they were harshly done by and it will be in the media for a week, dont need to listen to those bloody cry babies again. They talk about how tough they are and how they play unsociable football, on Saturday afternoon they were all acting like a bunch little whinging b!tches!!!

Shads
31 Aug 2009, 22:39
Don't worry your boys won't have to wait long to experience the same. Only six sleeps.

All you Dorks piss off back to your own board...

bombers2011
31 Aug 2009, 22:40
At least we get a handy bit of footage to counteract any Lloydgianis, Angus Wantfrees comments-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zfy8OARlQzM

Hodgey, you're my hero.

How did Hodge not go for that??? He made more contact than Lonergan, It was only that he did that dive that Lonergan got reported, the camera doesn't actually show enough to justify him going...

yaco55
31 Aug 2009, 22:55

I am curious.

Lloyd and Franklin were suspended for the same incidents.

Lloyd has lost his reputation !

Where does it leave Franklin ?

Strawbs
1 Sep 2009, 21:54
Hodge has always been a sniper. But his big name serves him well with the MRP. Just another farcical call. In the Ryder case, apparently you can jumper punch, you just can't punch. And that cheap shot on Lonergan was 'so Hodge.' Lucky Ryder didn't hit Hodge in the stomach though - you get more weeks for that.