View Full Version : NAB Rising Star Round Up

Seb78
17 Aug 2009, 23:43
Can he come from the clouds and possibly steal the rising star award from Daniel Rich?

Rich has been excellent and very consistent all year, however he plays a very loose midfield role and doesn't need to worry about being as accountable.

Tayte Pears on the other hand plays a much tougher role IMO as a KP CHB, and played on the likes of J Brown, N Riewoldt, J Roughead & Fevola etc..... and has not only stopped his opponents influence but has set up numerous forward thrusts from his own boot.

Could be a close call in the finish

Thoughts??

Godzke
17 Aug 2009, 23:53
Has had a great year, will be a great player if he keeps his head and keeps on working but Rich is definitely the best youngster this year.

Played every game and would be robbed if he didn't win it.

bombre-boy
18 Aug 2009, 01:11
Nah wont happen...

It is just like the brownlow...a midfielders award...

Dane Beams is the only threat to Rich...
Pears would be 3rd though..

MarkJohnson#1
18 Aug 2009, 01:17
He's a super player, and I've adopted him as my man, but I think Rich will pip him in the RS award. He'll finish 2nd in my opinion.

hank31
18 Aug 2009, 10:03
Nah wont happen...

It is just like the brownlow...a midfielders award...

Dane Beams is the only threat to Rich...
Pears would be 3rd though..

you've gotta be kidding?? the kid missed a fair few games mid season, wont get near rich... plus im sorry but he plays for those scum bags from the lexus centre!! our man pears has a much better chance but i'd say rich already has the medal engraved with his name on it!! bit of a shame hurls didnt play the whole season really!

abers47
18 Aug 2009, 10:47
It was mentioned on Footy Classified last night that it is a possibility! Would be great though wouldn't it!

TheDon35
18 Aug 2009, 11:09
He won't win it but has just as much right as Rich IMO.

Propping up what's been a pretty young and inexperienced backline for the whole year other than when Fletcher hasn't been injured. Playing on the likes of Brown & Reiwoldt and beating or breaking even with them.

This compared to Rich who jumped into a pretty experienced midfeild, the the likes of Black, Johnston, Power, forming the nucleus of it. That undoubtedly made his job easier.

Can defend hard one on one then run off and exploit going forward. Excellent foot skills. Super talent..... But won't win.

daffo
18 Aug 2009, 13:51
Has to be Rich, he is head and shoulders above anyone else in the award. I'm hoping for a top three finish for Pears. He has had a steller year.

Spikey
18 Aug 2009, 13:58
inbeforeBrownDog ;)

Pears has had a good season yes, but Rich's season.....

bombersno1
18 Aug 2009, 13:59
Rich will win it and easily, then probably Dangerfield would be 2nd. Throw a blanket around 3rd to 10th

AFL LEGEND
18 Aug 2009, 14:11
Betfair has started another market, for runner up in the rising star award with Adelaides Andy Otten is favorite for this at $275 (i think)

Brent Prismall#9
18 Aug 2009, 14:19
I don't think he will win it due to rich having such a great year but i think he can definetly place 2nd if not 3rd. Has been great all year and will be a certain future star:thumbsu:

nighthawk
18 Aug 2009, 15:11
Betfair has started another market, for runner up in the rising star award with Adelaides Andy Otten is favorite for this at $275 (i think)

$275 is the favourite??? I'd put a dollar on each of the top 20 contenders, and you're almost gauranteed to make hundreds! That can't be right.

Vipersnews
18 Aug 2009, 16:08
$2.75 is what he meant to say :)

nighthawk
18 Aug 2009, 18:30
$2.75 is what he meant to say :)

In that case, the deals off :D

The Donners
18 Aug 2009, 19:30
We'll see what happens when Rich becomes no. 1 midfielder.

Pears has been no. 1 defender.

topdon
18 Aug 2009, 20:40
Rich is a media darling and seeing predominantly media 'people' vote 5/4/3/2/1, he will win in a canter.

In the end, it is defences that win Premierships. Midfielders are a dime a dozen. Remember Rich has Power and Black stopping him from getting the #1 tag. Tayte is playing on the big boys every week.

missgen
19 Aug 2009, 13:51
Jobe sure seems to think so...

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/players-blog.asp?do=article&post=66

homerg29
19 Aug 2009, 15:43
It would be great to see him win but realistically Rich is going to take a lot of beating. Although Jared Rivers was another defender who won in recent times. It depends on the voting panel I guess?

jobesuperstar
19 Aug 2009, 15:50
It would be great to see him win but realistically Rich is going to take a lot of beating. Although Jared Rivers was another defender who won in recent times. It depends on the voting panel I guess?

Bloody hope he wins it

The_Trav
19 Aug 2009, 16:07
Have thought he's in with a good shout for most of the season now, is probably Rich's only threat.

Ludwig van Bertstare
19 Aug 2009, 16:11
Rich will win it but Pears has been awesome this year.

SunKing
19 Aug 2009, 16:18
Has to be Rich, he is head and shoulders above anyone else in the award. I'm hoping for a top three finish for Pears. He has had a steller year.

Quoting the most objective response.

Rich will be light years ahead of whoever is second and is far and away the best young player in years.

Not to discount Pears who will be a very good defender for you guys but geez Rich is from another planet!

2nd could be Pears or Ottens.

Gpat
19 Aug 2009, 16:38
I'm happy for him not to win - with GC circling the less awards the less dollars required on the next contract.

RM_3
19 Aug 2009, 16:45
Not only playing against the best, his disposal is lethal rebounding outside 50.

One our best kicks rebounding outside 50.

Boiled Geezer
19 Aug 2009, 17:02
Rich will be light years ahead of whoever is second and is far and away the best young player in years.

Joel Selwood???

Mecha
20 Aug 2009, 02:38
Pears SHOULD win it - Has the hardest job in AFL and has killed it all year.

Rich WILL win it - Gets more of the ball so he can stand out more often.

AFL LEGEND
20 Aug 2009, 10:05
Betting agencies around the country have closed markets on the rising star, instead have opened a market on who will come runners up.

Andy Otten sits pretty second
Tayte Pears third
Jack Grimes fourth

(I think that is it) with all other players in a general number.

Mr Sparkle
20 Aug 2009, 11:34
I hope so, I got $5 on Tayte when he was at 160/1.

VicO
20 Aug 2009, 15:04
That's amazing odds but unfortunatly I don't think he'll win it. Pears will definitly be a gun of the future though.

jobesuperstar
20 Aug 2009, 17:39
Betting agencies around the country have closed markets on the rising star, instead have opened a market on who will come runners up.

Tayte Pears third
Jack Grimes fourth

Otten is shit just like taylor walker

Seb78
21 Aug 2009, 12:23

Tayte Pears third
Jack Grimes fourth

Quick update from your post AFL Legend :thumbsu:

Rich still unbackable, he's not even listed in sportsbet has to be solid favorite at this stage

Andy Otten $2.25
Tayte Pears $4.00
Stephen Hill $5.00
Dayne Beams $11.00
Nick Suban $16.00
Jack Grimes $17.00

Not much has changed from the previous post interesting to note Dayne Beams and Stephen Hill becoming more and more popular as the weeks go by.

warney7
21 Aug 2009, 12:59
Isn't it odd that Nick Suban can be $16.00 yet still not nominated.

Maybe he's already been guaranteed a nomination, maybe he'll get 1 kick this week and get the nod?

daffo
21 Aug 2009, 13:27
I think that Sportsbet has started a new market on who will finish 2nd in the rising star as they believe (me too) that Rich has it in the bag.

nighthawk
22 Aug 2009, 14:35
I think that Sportsbet has started a new market on who will finish 2nd in the rising star as they believe (me too) that Rich has it in the bag.

Anyone have a good captain obvious pic? :p

shad518
22 Aug 2009, 16:56
I really hope he doesn't manage to steal it. It'd just mean he's compared to Rich for the rest of his career.

I think the best use of Rising Star Nominations is as an indication of a team's 1st/2nd year players:

3. Adel (Dangerfield, Otten, Walker) Ess (Zaharakis, Pears, Hurley) Coll (Barham, Dick, Beams)

2. Melb (Grimes, Jurrah) WC (Masten, Brown)

1. Bris (Rich) Haw (Moss) Freo (Hill) NM (Ziebell) StK (Geary) Carl (Joseph) WB (Ward)

0. Gee Port Rich Syd

rose jam
22 Aug 2009, 17:40
they'll give it to Rich, but Pears has been playing a tougher role and been a form competitition backline player with run. He should win, but won't.
Beams for 3rd.

frizzle
22 Aug 2009, 18:47
Rich will win. But Pears is a ripper, and that lad Hurley isn't too shabby either.

frizzle
29 Aug 2009, 18:37
Rich will win. But Pears is a ripper, and that lad Hurley isn't too shabby either.

I'll just reiterate what I said last week. Massive upside for both these future stars. Has Hurley played 10 games this year? If not he will still be eligible for the rising star next year.

Gratz on the win today. :thumbsu:

Sam the RAMA fan
29 Aug 2009, 18:42
Rich will win it I would say,
but would love to see Hurley and Pears come close or even sneak in with the win! :thumbsu:

Brent Prismall#9
1 Sep 2009, 16:13
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/83920/default.aspx

Very good footage of Tayte Pears highlights throughout the year. Good to see him considered as one of the contenders for the award. His been a massive revelation this year and has just about being the biggest improver in the team. I reckon he can place second or third in the rising star, what do you guys think, reckon his got a chance?

Tailypo
1 Sep 2009, 16:48
Good highlights, though none of them highlight my favourite facet of Pears' game. My favourite moment was against the Saints when he delivered a bullet pass out of defence to Stanton, ended up receiving the handball and charging forward, dishing off the handball to Prismall after drawing Baker (and subsequently decking him). Did something similar against Hawthorn but, unfortunately, didn't deck the player afterwards :p. It's also worth noting how much his disposal has improved since the beginning of the year, + tackles.

efcboy
1 Sep 2009, 17:49
i'd take tayte pears and michael hurley over daniel rich any day but this award was a foregone conclusion some time ago. only interest in in 2nd and 3rd places. hurley didn't play enough footy so doesn't have a chance but pears should be in the mix for a place.

Godzke
2 Sep 2009, 14:35
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/84034/default.aspx

1. Daniel Rich (45)
2. Andy Otten (30)
3. Tayte Pears (28)
4. Dayen Beams (10)
5. Stephen Hill (9)
5. Callan Ward (9)

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/84034/default.aspx

Pears > Beams ... as he should be.

5 Votes - Daniel Rich
4 - Tayte Pears
3 - Dayne Beams
2 - Andy Otten
1 - Michael Hurley

SDR223
2 Sep 2009, 14:38
Congratulations Tayte Pears - 3rd in Rising Star behind Rich (Winner) and Andy Otten.

Boucks09
2 Sep 2009, 14:40
Great result for Tayte.

Rich and Otten have had outstanding seasons and deserve their positions. Also nice to see a KPP rate highly in an award for a change.

Mad Bomber Sean
2 Sep 2009, 15:16
Great stuff Tayte !

Lets hope Tayte & Hurley can take the next step and become absolute key position elites. Both are complete packages & have confidence to do it.

lmaohelp
2 Sep 2009, 17:56
well done tayte

Donakebab
2 Sep 2009, 18:50
Great to see Tayters got some recognition for the outstanding season he has had. I'd suggest that Hurley should win next year, but after next week he'll be ineligible. :p

Go Zaharakis 2010!

dave_27
2 Sep 2009, 19:25
How on earth did Pears not atleast finish 2nd.

Jonesy1987
3 Sep 2009, 05:55

Otten had a great season, and being a key defender is a double edged sword, get props for doing it well at a young age but also easier to highlight a bad game.

daffo
3 Sep 2009, 08:55
Well done to Tayte, third is a wonderful effort. Hopefully he will continue on with this form for the next couple of years. If he does we should have a gem on our hands.

Pevers-Legend
3 Sep 2009, 12:43

Why do midfielders win the brownlow?

All i'll ask is: Who would you build a team around?

A midfielder, tall running half back flanker or KP defender?

Simple really.

Kong
3 Sep 2009, 13:22
Why do midfielders win the brownlow?

All i'll ask is: Who would you build a team around?

A midfielder, tall running half back flanker or KP defender?

Simple really.Exactly, well put.

In Essendon's case, make that a KP defender, gun CHF and midfielder.