View Full Version : Your bets for the weekend.
bipolarbeaR
3 Sep 2009, 17:36
I just put $100 on Essendon to win at $7.06 and $20 for Hooker to kick Essendons first goal at $21 and $20 on Jason Winderlich for most votes for Essendon at the Brownlow at $31.
Payday is good!
What bets do you guys have on?
AndyLesPaul
3 Sep 2009, 17:47
$5 on Essendon @ TAB odds, whatever they are
You'll forgive me when I say I have no intention on putting money on Essendon this weekend.
Witty Remark
3 Sep 2009, 17:55
I just put $100 on Essendon to win at $7.06 and $20 for Hooker to kick Essendons first goal at $21 and $20 on Jason Winderlich for most votes for Essendon at the Brownlow at $31.
Payday is good!
What bets do you guys have on?
Wow. $7 in a two horse race are good odds. Not that I think the Bombers will get close mind you.
I put $20 on Jobe to get most votes for Bombers and $100 on Adelaide to win the flag at $41 (ya gotta have faith)!
50 on the dons at 7 dollars
Ess will win :)
but im 0-6 when betting on ess h2h
6-0 betting on ess under 39.5
not sure yet :)
Might just take ess @ 101 for flag.. $50 on that
sportingbrisbano
3 Sep 2009, 19:14
Ess will win :)
but im 0-6 when betting on ess h2h
6-0 betting on ess under 39.5
not sure yet :)
Might just take ess @ 101 for flag.. $50 on that
i am quite happy to front you the money to bet on ess under 39.5
pardon sporting?
im looking at putting $50 - 500$ on ess under.
im very confident. but shh :)
:D
Well I put $50 on Essendon to beat St Kilda so bloody my aswell put another $50 to beat Adelaide..
my heart says clear the bank.. Heck, if i lose they'll draft me in 2 years anyway :)
does anyone want to give me some more confidence? im looking @ putting anywer between $50 and $5000 on essendon..
George Washington
3 Sep 2009, 20:06
my heart says clear the bank.. Heck, if i lose they'll draft me in 2 years anyway :)
does anyone want to give me some more confidence? im looking @ putting anywer between $50 and $5000 on essendon..
Only bet if you have the money to lose....
Might stick a tenner on Essendon 1-19 points.
Mad Bomber Sean
3 Sep 2009, 20:11
$10 on Dons 15.5+ at 14's in the Tri Bet
$10 on Hurley most goals at 11's
All bet fair ! Fingers crossed
Only bet if you have the money to lose....
Might stick a tenner on Essendon 1-19 points.
:thumbsu:
go Bombers
Bipolar.. hooker is $67 at TAB for first goal. ><
Knight Ryders
3 Sep 2009, 20:30
Essendon at the line (-39.5) is paying $1.95. Not exotic odds, but a very good bet imo.
Mad Bomber Sean
3 Sep 2009, 20:51
Essendon at the line (-39.5) is paying $1.95. Not exotic odds, but a very good bet imo.
Not sure about that... Get on board Bet fair.. Just placed this one!
Lucky I picked up a few quid on the Crows against the Blues last week.
Shhhhhhhh dont tell the misssusss !
Back (Bet for) Essendon Under 39.5pts
Your Odds 9.6
Stake $100
Your Profit $860
You are betting FOR Essendon under 39.5pts to win.
Placed at 8.50pm today !
Ben the Gooner
3 Sep 2009, 22:05
I got on us at $7. We'll probably ease to close to 8 but I'm happy enough. We're definitely overs
I never place bets but I'm keen to put some money on us tomorrow. I'm pretty confident we might cause an upset.
Can someone explain how "at the line" works?
stay true
4 Sep 2009, 00:18
I'll be stopping off at the TAB on the way home from uni tomorrow arvo to put a tenner on us for the win. Will use some of the winnings I got from Neagle first goal vs Brisbane.:cool:
smcateer
4 Sep 2009, 08:51
I bet on the footy every week, but never take bets on Essendon games. Sports betting business model is based on mugs letting their passion for their team blind their decision making.
This week, I got Brisbane at $2.00 and I can tell you now that those odds are fair, I think they should be clear favorites - maybe about $1.80. They've since shortened to $1.92 - and will continue to shorten I predict.
The problem is that when I look at the Essendon odds, I just can't tell whether the price is good or not - I think about us winning and the blood starts pumping.
I wouldn't be surprised if some of the posters here are employees of the Sportsbet marketing department. This is a practice engaged in by marketing agencies.
[BTW, I'm up 10.3% on my betting investment for the home and away season]
Mad Bomber Sean
4 Sep 2009, 09:08
I wouldn't be surprised if some of the posters here are employees of the Sportsbet marketing department. This is a practice engaged in by marketing agencies.
Whilst not actually working for bet fair, I spent a fair amount of using there product.... perhaps I should seek employment with them. Lol
I have used a few different mobs and I reckon betfair simply offers the best odds as it is a betting exchange. You or I can be the bookies & offer odds on something. This means that odds tend to be higher as it takes advantage of the blindess created by the blood pumping thing.
Subaru Impreza
4 Sep 2009, 10:19
I never place bets but I'm keen to put some money on us tomorrow. I'm pretty confident we might cause an upset.
Can someone explain how "at the line" works?
Simply means team starting with a handicap.
For eg Adelaide -39.5 points $1.90 v $1.90 Essendon +39.5 points
If you Back Essendon +39.5 points, it simply is giving Essendon a head start at that price.
So technically u could say the start the scores are: Adelaide 0-39.5 Essendon
if Essendon lead 6-0 during a game, its Adelaide 0-45.5 Essendon and so on
essendon2008
4 Sep 2009, 15:17
$20 on Essendon <39.5 pts @ $7
Get on Heath Hocking for first Essendon goal, his kicked first goal a few times this season
The Donners
4 Sep 2009, 16:48
I'll be putting on $50 when I go to the pub for pre-game entertainment (counter-meal with the mrs... how romantic! :D)!
Duckworth
4 Sep 2009, 16:52
I just bet on Essendon ($20) on the margin -39.5 points.
To assist in the explanation mentioned previously... it means I think Essendon will either win or not get beaten by more than 39 points.
The Donners
4 Sep 2009, 17:03
I just bet on Essendon ($20) on the margin -39.5 points.
To assist in the explanation mentioned previously... it means I think Essendon will either win or not get beaten by more than 39 points.
Oooohhhh that sounds good, how much is that paying?
yodellinhank
4 Sep 2009, 17:38
I'll be stopping off at the TAB on the way home from uni tomorrow arvo to put a tenner on us for the win. Will use some of the winnings I got from Neagle first goal vs Brisbane.:cool:
How good was that? Hadn't even got to my seat and it was collect time.
Dunno what's on offer at the tab/betfair etc. but Donsbet.com have Neagle most goals at $21 at the mo. Hurley most goals $15.
Duckworth
4 Sep 2009, 17:59
Oooohhhh that sounds good, how much is that paying?
it's paying $1.95
got a tenner on the dons at 8 bucks.
also got some cash on jobe to get the most brownlow votes earlier in the year..looking good i rkn.
oh and neagle to kick the first goal, he has done it quite a lot this year, and at 14.00 playing FF, its worth a punt.
bipolarbeaR
4 Sep 2009, 18:16
Bipolar.. hooker is $67 at TAB for first goal. ><
Haha. Sorry mate meant to type $51. Wish I'd got it at $67
yodellinhank
4 Sep 2009, 18:25
I bet on the footy every week, but never take bets on Essendon games. Sports betting business model is based on mugs letting their passion for their team blind their decision making.
This week, I got Brisbane at $2.00 and I can tell you now that those odds are fair, I think they should be clear favorites - maybe about $1.80. They've since shortened to $1.92 - and will continue to shorten I predict.
The problem is that when I look at the Essendon odds, I just can't tell whether the price is good or not - I think about us winning and the blood starts pumping.
[BTW, I'm up 10.3% on my betting investment for the home and away season]
It's the line between gambling and betting, IMO. I consider myself a gambler. 10% is a fantastic return for investment, especially in the last financial year. However, i just don't put enough money into it to make this style worthwhile. For me, its a case of betting small amounts on supposedly ridiculous bets or drawn out multi bets for that one chance i may score big one day. I just try to look for that value bet.