View Full Version : 2nd ODI England v Australia @ Lords (Sunday 7.15pm AEST start)
Cousin Jed
6 Sep 2009, 15:32
Game number 2 of 7 with Australia just holding on in the end after appearing to be in control for most of the England run chase.
Australia will likely go in unchanged to this one, though with Siddle and Hilfenhaus in the squad one would expect the faster men to get rotated at some stage during the series. Tim Paine and Shane Watson will hope to get their understanding better at the top of the innings, Cameron White will hope to continue a solid start to the tour for him with an unexpected promotion to the 3 spot.
England for mine got themselves bogged down and under pressure too much early on with Hopes and Johnson almost strangling Prior and Bopara, who managed a painful 49 in the first game. This led to some rather soft dismissals in the middle overs. Ali Rashid, Swann and Collingwood did the job in the middle overs for England though whether they will select 2 spinners again may depend on pitch conditions at Lords.
Fine conditions are expected for this one, with the Lords surface generally providing good conditions for a one day game
Australian Squad
Ponting
Clarke
Watson
M Hussey
White
Ferguson
Voges
Paine
Manou
Hopes
Johnson
Lee
Bracken
Hilfenhaus
Hauritz
Siddle
England Squad
Strauss
Bopara
Morgan
Denly
Bresnan
Broad
Prior
Anderson
Sidebottom
Wright
Swann
Rashid
Shah
Coverage from 6.45 on Fox Sports 1 and 7pm on SBS.
Session times 7.15pm - 10.45pm, 11.30pm - 3am.
Cricinfo Scorecard (http://www.cricinfo.com/engvaus2009/engine/current/match/350044.html)
Looking forward to this one, as I can really pay attention, and it has a nice starting time. Hopefully it is entertaining.
Belnakor
6 Sep 2009, 16:05
Hopefully it is entertaining.
now now, don't go overboard.
Out: Lee
In: Siddle
I'd make the change.
Cousins2Higgins
6 Sep 2009, 17:40
Out: Lee
In: Siddle
I'd make the change.
Lee won't be dropped all series; as much as we all hate it.
Clarke is a horrid coin caller. England win toss and bowl.
Bresnan in for Broad, Morgan in for Rashid. Australia unchanged.
I'm pumped for this, get to forget about football for a while.
Carn Watto, cause some Paine!
:(
Ill Chicken
6 Sep 2009, 19:31
What was wrong with that shout on Watson? They haven't showed one replay?
Cousin Jed
6 Sep 2009, 19:32
Bloody planned engineering works. Every damn week. So annoying.
Selective Retention
6 Sep 2009, 19:34
Watson still can't call, could have ran himself out this time.
dynamite_kid
6 Sep 2009, 19:47
Why isn't Rashid playing?
Green pitch, so they dropped him instead of Swann.
Paine seems like a very good judge of length and bounce, leaving balls on the stumps very well.
Selective Retention
6 Sep 2009, 19:56
Paine seems like a very good judge of length and bounce, leaving balls on the stumps very well.
Commentators don't seem to think he is a proper batsman. They reckon Warner should be opening instead of him...
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 20:03
Gone are the days of Gilchrist and Hayden bludgeoning the ball and taking 80 runs from the first 10 overs before Ponting came in and dominated. :(
I like ODIs, but it's all but dead. When was the last time Australia scored over 300?
Edit: We've scored 300 3 times in our past 25 ODIs (twice if you exclude Scotland) going back until the Bangladesh series last year.
Commentators don't seem to think he is a proper batsman. They reckon Warner should be opening instead of him...
Yeah I've been listening to some of their crap but if it doesn't come from Bumble or Blewy it's not worth listening too.
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 20:06
If Luke Ronchi gets his crap together we will have another Gilly at the top but until then these are the starts we have to get use to.
People forget Brad Haddin rather quickly don't they? He's got a broken finger, he isn't dead.
He's as capable of belting the crap out of a bowling attack as any other batsman in the world.
For the love of God, somebody teach these two how to run between the wickets.
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 20:14
Who took this powerplay? Us or them? Either way, we're hardly attacking. If we took it it's a complete waste.
What a boring game 50 over cricket has become.
Matches like this are the reason why this format is doomed.
There goes Watto, another start.
He's great at starting, shit at continuing on.
Carn Whitey.
Cousin Jed
6 Sep 2009, 20:20
Do all you guys have ADD?
Can you sit through a test match?
Selective Retention
6 Sep 2009, 20:20
Quite bizarre all around out there. Both batsman decide to go unorthodox with three balls left of the powerplay, either you keep building the base or you should have gone earlier. They had a bit each way and lost.
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 20:22
People forget Brad Haddin rather quickly don't they? He's got a broken finger, he isn't dead.
He's as capable of belting the crap out of a bowling attack as any other batsman in the world.
For the love of God, somebody teach these two how to run between the wickets.
I didn't forget about him but so far in his short stint as opener our best start has been 88 after 15 overs. Certainly no where near what Gilly and Hayden use to do.
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 20:25
Ahh, the commentator's curse from Greg Blewett. Poor shot from Paine. Another boring 20 overs to come with Clarke at the crease.
Jordan...
6 Sep 2009, 20:26
Ahh, the commentator's curse from Greg Blewett. Poor shot from Paine. Another boring 20 overs to come with Clarke at the crease.
Hes the nudger's nudger isn't he? Boring ODI batsman... We need a Symonds in there, a big hitter.
King Elvis
6 Sep 2009, 20:26
Quite bizarre all around out there. Both batsman decide to go unorthodox with three balls left of the powerplay, either you keep building the base or you should have gone earlier. They had a bit each way and lost.
Very dumb cricket.
Selective Retention
6 Sep 2009, 20:27
I don't have a problem with a measured approach but if you are going to do it do it properly FFS. That's just a complete waste, two wickets down the tube.
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 20:27
No, I just find ODIs in England boring. Run rates around 4-5 the whole innings with the most boring crowds in the world. It's an absolute snorefest. At least in the tests we had the barmy army making some noise.
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 20:28
If only Paine kept to his nudging way. That was the last thing we needed after Watson's wicket.
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 20:30
Hes the nudger's nudger isn't he? Boring ODI batsman... We need a Symonds in there, a big hitter.
Our whole batting line up are full of nudgers. Watson and White usually hit the ball but they've been nudgers lately. It's like we're back in the 80s/early 90s.
Can happily sit through a Test match.
Conservative batting is par for the course for Test match cricket.
The sedate batting on display doesn't make the shorter format of the game very appealing. It used to be exciting to watch, it is becoming less exciting by the match.
TorresIsGod
6 Sep 2009, 20:40
http://www.terminally-incoherent.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/facepalm.jpg
King Elvis
6 Sep 2009, 20:49
Our whole batting line up are full of nudgers. Watson and White usually hit the ball but they've been nudgers lately. It's like we're back in the 80s/early 90s.
I wont get stuck into the Selectors again, because it's pointless and my feelings are obvious, but our team and the order is a bit odd in some respects.
Dumb cricket by Paine/Watson/Clarke - now have way too much pressure on the middle/lower order to preserve their wickets, yet try and make runs at the same time.
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 20:53
I wont get stuck into the Selectors again, because it's pointless and my feelings are obvious, but our team and the order is a bit odd in some respects.
Dumb cricket by Paine/Watson/Clarke - now have way too much pressure on the middle/lower order to preserve their wickets, yet try and make runs at the same time.
Well Paine and Watson had a whole 5 overs to go after the bowling but wait until the end to go? What's the point in that? It's like they said "Oh shit, an over left let's play a ridiculous shot".
Is it just me or does Clarke always seem to glove the ball down legside? Time after time in all formats I've seen him do it.
On the positive side of things, I love the look of Ferguson. Will get a baggy green within the next 12 months. Very good, solid player. Doesn't lose his head too easily.
Really struggling to give the slightest crap about this game.
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 21:00
The only players I was looking out for are basically out, Ferguson being the last one. The rest are the usual suspect.
TorresIsGod
6 Sep 2009, 21:03
Really struggling to give the slightest crap about this game.
Very un-Australian :thumbsd:
There was this little footy game last night...
Still thinking about that a little. :D :D :D
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 21:15
There was this little footy game last night...
Still thinking about that a little. :D :D :D
Great finish. Bradshaw and Rich's goals were freakish. Same can't be said for my side. :(
Dons lose, boring cricket, Hewitt loss, Australian loss in the soccer. Awesome weekend. :o
Swann's on. Cameron white should have a go at him. Don't let him control this middle period. Exactly what Rashid did last game and we were lucky to win. Of course that doesn't mean go slogging wildly. Pick the right ball and go for it. Key to winning is this middle period imo. If you can score runs here you're a big chance at a large total. But most sides don't and that's why ODIs are dying as the 15-35 over period is really boring. I thought the powerplays were brought in to make this period more exciting? The ICC should've made it so it had to be in this time period.
Wouldnt mind seeing us attack the partimers, Collingwood and Wright. Put Strauss back on the backfoot.
Great finish. Bradshaw and Rich's goals were freakish.
Bradshaw’s was absolutely insane; I was sitting behind those goals. Almost in the middle of the Carlton cheer squad.
...Ah...Happy days...
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 21:19
Bloody hell I hate these Maccas ads. Considering I work there and have to make them, it gets a bit tedious.
Btw, was there any real reason why Rashid was dropped?
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 21:23
We are going so much better during the middle stages without Clarke and his snail batting
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 21:23
Bradshaw’s was absolutely insane; I was sitting behind those goals. Almost in the middle of the Carlton cheer squad.
...Ah...Happy days...
Mate, there is nothing better than watching Carlton fans when their side is losing. When we smashed them by 69 points at the G in Rd 13 it was so good watching 35,000 of them pile out of the ground in the final quarter.
Run rate of about 4 here. I think at the moment we'll be looking at 250 unless we can improve this run rate in the next 10 overs.
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 21:33
FMD English commentators blowing their load over Bopara here! Dam White out again without showing his hitting power, he really needs to be moved to 5 for mind.
Belnakor
6 Sep 2009, 21:35
FMD English commentators blowing their load over Bopara here! Dam White out again without showing his hitting power, he really needs to be moved to 5 for mind.
someone needs to give Cam White a ****ing rocket. I thought he was supposed to be an attacking batsman? someone has got into his ear and convinced him he is a genuine no.3
That was an absolutely nothing shot to get out to. Though its highly debatable if he hit that. We play that "guide down to third man" far, far far too often. Watson and White are the main culprits.
Belnakor
6 Sep 2009, 21:37
I thought the powerplays were brought in to make this period more exciting? The ICC should've made it so it had to be in this time period.
they were until teams started only taking it during the last 5 overs. Taking it any other time almost always leads to a wicket for the bowling team. Australia have proved that about 50 times.
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 21:43
they were until teams started only taking it during the last 5 overs. Taking it any other time almost always leads to a wicket for the bowling team. Australia have proved that about 50 times.
I think most of those collapses have been in the final 10 overs where we've left it far too late to take the powerplay and we've had new batsmen at the crease.
We really should've taken it 5 overs ago when White was still in. I don't really understand the point in leaving it until the last 5 overs. It's like me saying "I cbf doing homework now, I'll do it right at the end" (Which is exactly what I should be doing now).
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 21:43
someone needs to give Cam White a ****ing rocket. I thought he was supposed to be an attacking batsman? someone has got into his ear and convinced him he is a genuine no.3
Yea I'm a bit surprised hes scoring so slow, even Ponting who people don't class as a big hitter would score a lot faster than White. But hey hes scoring runs which is a good start, just needs to find the balance.
O M G! This is so F U C K I N G boring!
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 21:46
I think most of those collapses have been in the final 10 overs where we've left it far too late to take the powerplay and we've had new batsmen at the crease.
We really should've taken it 5 overs ago when White was still in. I don't really understand the point in leaving it until the last 5 overs. It's like me saying "I cbf doing it now, I'll do it right at the end".
Yea agree we leave the powerplay way too late for mind. The last 10 overs use to be happy hour where you would smash everything whether the field was back or not. So why not do it before then telling the batsmen to hurry up.
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 21:46
Great ball by Swann but geez that is some poor defence by Hussey.
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 21:47
Someone please do us a favour and end Hussey's career right now. He's not doing himself or his country any favour by embarrassing himself with failure after failure.
Cousin Jed
6 Sep 2009, 21:49
http://www.howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Players/PlayerProgressBat_ODI.asp?PlayerId=3160&Year=2009
we'll be lucky to make 250?
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 21:52
http://www.howstat.com/cricket/Statistics/Players/PlayerProgressBat_ODI.asp?PlayerId=3160&Year=2009
Proven wrong. :o Well, someone please at least end his test and T20 career.
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 22:10
OMG Johnson actually timed one, can't remember the last time hes done that in a ODI.
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 22:11
Another 50 for Ferguson, what a champion
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 22:12
Well, done Ferguson. Very good player. He hits the ball so well and definitely has a bright future ahead of him.
King Elvis
6 Sep 2009, 22:27
Why is White batting at 3?
aussie1st
6 Sep 2009, 22:29
Commentators going on about our use of hte powerplay. Certainly agree with them on this aspect.
OzBomber
6 Sep 2009, 22:30
Talking about exactly what I was trying to say. Why take the powerplay when you already slog the ball at 8 an over in the last 10 overs? Why not take it earlier and have an extra hitting period where you can score more runs.
Zacisonfire
6 Sep 2009, 22:32
We really are struggling here will be good to get ponting back... I agree with what the commentators were saying earlier that you need your best 3 batsman batting in the top 3 positions in ODI's. We miss haddin aswell.
Extortion Threat
6 Sep 2009, 22:49
Ferg's a gun, should be batting at 4 with Clarke at 3. The problem we've had this innings is during the middle overs White, Hussey and then Hopes couldn't rotate the strike. The commentators said that Ferguson had faced 50 odd balls but he'd been out there for 140 odd balls. With the 'boring' middle overs you can't be batting out dot balls. Batters getting 30 or 40 with a strike rate in the 60's kills innings. If you're gonna bat that slowly at the start of you're innings you'd better damn well make it count. Its been said but it's so obvious White should be down the order to slog at the end.
Great stuff from Johnson to get some defendable total.
Hellgood
6 Sep 2009, 22:50
Finish up with 249 thanks to Johnson.
White's been OK at 3, but I think he needs to score faster, at least when Ponting gets back he should go down a couple of spots to a role he's more familiar with.
Belnakor
6 Sep 2009, 22:58
wtf is going with SBS? did they give Mcgill the arse?
Blue Dimension
6 Sep 2009, 22:59
Watson and White need to be given licence to hit.
White needs to be at 5 and play the Symonds role. Ferg to 3, Clarke at 4.
Cotchin 9
6 Sep 2009, 23:04
Look at MacGilla Gorilla making those fine delicacy's.
WTF SBS n00b's??!?!
King Elvis
6 Sep 2009, 23:20
Magilla Gorilla; all that is man.
Another piss poor batting effort from us. Really missing Symonds in the middle order. The less said about Clarke the better. Paine should not open any more this series.
This might be Bracken's last series.
Everyone talks about our Test decline, but IMO our ODI decline has been more pronounced. You take out three of the most destructive batsmen off all time out of a side and that'll happen. At least with Tests we have a pretty bright future IMO, the ODI side is going nowhere fast.
Subaru Impreza
6 Sep 2009, 23:51
i dont think Bopara understands he needs to hit the ball and run lol
Jordan...
7 Sep 2009, 00:16
Haha, very true Seany Big Mac McNugget.
We NEED Cameron White down the order where he can slog - thats where hes most effective. Put Ferguson at 3, hes in form so give him the most balls he can face as possible
Cousins2Higgins
7 Sep 2009, 00:32
Watto strikes!!
That'll do him the world of good.
aussie1st
7 Sep 2009, 00:34
Onya Watto
Drummond
7 Sep 2009, 00:34
Wicket maiden, gun!
Jordan...
7 Sep 2009, 00:37
Freddie who?
Cousins2Higgins
7 Sep 2009, 00:38
Prior gone.
Watson 2/0.
aussie1st
7 Sep 2009, 00:42
Onya Watto 2. Great bowling by him, this is more like what we saw in India.
Haha, very true Seany Big Mac McNugget.
We NEED Cameron White down the order where he can slog - thats where hes most effective. Put Ferguson at 3, hes in form so give him the most balls he can face as possible
That's a bit of a myth actually. White can't just slog from the get-go. Needs a while to get in before teeing off.
Cousins2Higgins
7 Sep 2009, 00:49
Nathan Haurible gets the captain for 47!
3 quick wickets and we're back in this!!
3/85.
TorresIsGod
7 Sep 2009, 00:59
Cop it sweet England.
Baz_hawk
7 Sep 2009, 01:02
Shah can't hesitate if you want a quick single. Silly man.
Baz_hawk
7 Sep 2009, 01:29
Johnson strikes, Half way there!
Come on Aussies
aussie1st
7 Sep 2009, 02:05
Lee gets Wright, still could go either way.
Blue and Gold Blood
7 Sep 2009, 02:37
Both teams still see the power play as a dangerous time to lose wickets rather than a good opportunity to score quick runs. Silly mentality really.
We needed that wickrt.
...And that one is more than handy.
Horrible ODI outfit, this England side. Have nothing going for them.
aussie1st
7 Sep 2009, 02:54
Unlucky there for Lee didn't deserve 1 run let alone 2 taken from that.
Blue and Gold Blood
7 Sep 2009, 02:59
And once again the powerplay is poorly used. Day late dollar short poms.
Had they used it at the 30 over mark with 2 batsmen at the crease they could have coasted for the last 15 overs at 4 an over.
aussie1st
7 Sep 2009, 03:01
Much better death bowling by Lee, well deserved wicket. Can't believe England stuffed that up but we're take it.
Horrible ODI outfit, this England side. Have nothing going for them.
Yeah that red is a shocker. ;)
Nice win, the bowlers bowled well apart from the early stages. Nice to go 2-0 up after a average batting display.
Cousin Jed
7 Sep 2009, 06:54
2 Matches. 2 threads full of sooking. 2 wins.
2 meaningless One Day games.
Great to see Brett Lee celebrating like a goose after taking one of the last wickets :thumbsd: :eek:
OzBomber
7 Sep 2009, 08:20
Good win from the boys. Good to see Binga and Bracken among the wickets.
JimDocker
7 Sep 2009, 08:49
Some very strange decisions from the England camp.
Adil Rashid is the best player in the first one dayer and he gets dropped.
Bresnan bowls 7 very tight overs then is left with 3 overs unused as White goes crazy boosting Australia's total. (Ok, So I am a Yorkshireman !)
They leave the power play until all of the batsmen are gone.
Thank God I don't really care about one dayers !