View Full Version : The problem with Matt Groening's 'Futurama'

wagstaff
27 Mar 2003, 22:24
For those who don't know, 'Futurama' is an animated series created by Mike Groening set several centuries in the future; it is shown on sporadic occasions by Channel 7 and hasn't really caught fire as 'The Simpsons' has.

Looking at the show, while it's slick, nice to look at, and witty, the show left me cold. It's probably summed up by a scene I briefly saw set in a futuristic courtroom where everything was as it would be today except the stereotyped brash, Southern lawyer was in the form of a chicken (not dissimilar to Foghorn Leghorn).

And that's the whole problem with the show - it's hard to tell sometimes whether its set several centuries in the future or today. An animated show set so far in the future has potentially fantastic places it could go - yet Futurama explores none of these possibilities. It's creators are content with reling on lame parodies (like the Southern chicken) or (Madison Square Garden has become Madison Cube Garden). Some of these can be funny but when there's little else to the show it quickly becomes hollow.

The structure of society and the characters that inhabited it have changed zero. The most imaginative futuristic stories - humourous or not - think of the way society could alter in that period, not by merely imitating the present.

As a result, Futurama is nothing more then a jazzed up version of another futuristic animated series from the 1960s, the Jetsons. While that cartoon show was set centuries in the future, it had the same socio-family sterotypes that existed in American society during that time - the family with the male breadwinner, the housemaker wife, the battles in the office between the worker and the boss, etc...

The great strength of 'The Simpsons' was that it was far more ambitious then just being a jazzed-up version of an old Hanna-Barabera cartoon. Unfortunately, Futurama is a waste of time.

jod23
28 Mar 2003, 05:33
I completely disagree. I think the show is absolutely hilarious...the only problem is that Channel 7 only seems to have about 8 episodes and continues to show the same one's over and over again.

You cant help but like Futurama because it has all the Simpsons writing and wit behind it. It is a very funny show but it is limited because of the amount of characters. The Simpsons has literally hundreds of characters and almost all characters are very funny.

But on Futurama you have a core group of 7 characters. The black character isnt that funny and neither is the asian chick. So almost of of the humor has to come from Bender, Fry, Lela, the scientist and the crab thing ( he is funny! )

I love it, obviously not as good as the Simpsons but it still very funny!

Stucey
28 Mar 2003, 08:04
Agreed with Jod. Loved the show and when they first brought it out on Friday nights I couldn't have been happier.

But yeah, need more shows. And needs to be on at a better day and time.

Stealth bomber
28 Mar 2003, 14:17
Enjoy it while you can - it's been cancelled in the U.S. There is about half an unaired season left which has been produced and completed (animation takes so long that they have to start it months ahead of time), but no new episodes will be made.

FOX shafted it around pretty badly - in the first three seasons it aired on four different nights, including on Sundays during the NFL season where long-running games often bumped it off the schedule.

I think it is a solid show, with two or three great characters, but some flat ones as well. It hits more than it misses, but the humour might be too close to that of the Simpsons. As a result it might be a little predictable to a longtime Simpsons viewer like myself.

The other problem is that the adult animation market has reached saturation point. When the Simpsons started, there was nothing - it was a show that filled a void and brought about something new. But since that time, we've seen shows come and go like Beavis and Butthead, South Park, King of the Hill, Dr. Katz, Rex the Runt, and then there are many poor imitations and copycats of all those.

Futurama just doesn't offer anything groundbreaking.

In fairness though, Futurama may not have completely gotten a fair shot because of the way FOX treated it, but I don't think it was ever going to get huge anyway. I think it has probably runs its course.

St-KriS
28 Mar 2003, 15:39
Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Enjoy it while you can - it's been cancelled in the U.S.

NOOOO!!! :(

Bender is the 2nd greatest cartoon character of all time! :(

Grendel
28 Mar 2003, 17:25
Some epidsodes work okay, others dont. Very hit and miss show (imo) but its okay. Not surprised to hear of its cancellation.

Glad to see King of the Hill getting another airing too. Prefer it to Futureama. Now if they could just bring Duckman back.

GoalSneak
28 Mar 2003, 17:33
The problem with 'Futurama' is 'The Simpsons'.

Everyone expects a show with the same mass appeal. The Simpsons has so many characters that people can relate to. You got the dumb-ass, the brat, the fat police chief, the indian store clerk, the rich evil meglomaniac, it goes on and on and on and on....

Who does Futurama have that people can really relate to? Fry's just a stereotypical loser, Leila's the frustrated smart woman, Benders good but that's about all the shows got. No-one else you can seriously like. I mean who can really identify with a lobster doctor?

The Simpsons success was Futurama's failure. Unfortunately for Groening, The Simpsons will be all that will ever work for him. Harsh, but thats the price you pay for a successfull show. Another good example is whats happened to the Seinfeld actors since the show finished.

Desredandwhite
28 Mar 2003, 17:55
In many ways, Futurama is a better show than the Simpsons, but will never achieve the recognition and appeal of the original {/Wayne's World Reference}

IMHO Futurama benefitted from the early work on the simpsons - it was able to hit the ground running as the writing, production etc were already put in place. *I* think it's a slightly cleverer show, but doesn't have the broad appeal of the Simpsons. It services more of a niche market.

Grendel - you're spot on by mentioning another IMHO seriously underrated show - Duckman.

brampta
28 Mar 2003, 20:02
Originally posted by wagstaff
For those who don't know, 'Futurama' is an animated series created by Mike Groening set several centuries in the future; it is shown on sporadic occasions by Channel 7 and hasn't really caught fire as 'The Simpsons' has.

Looking at the show, while it's slick, nice to look at, and witty, the show left me cold. It's probably summed up by a scene I briefly saw set in a futuristic courtroom where everything was as it would be today except the stereotyped brash, Southern lawyer was in the form of a chicken (not dissimilar to Foghorn Leghorn).

And that's the whole problem with the show - it's hard to tell sometimes whether its set several centuries in the future or today. An animated show set so far in the future has potentially fantastic places it could go - yet Futurama explores none of these possibilities. It's creators are content with reling on lame parodies (like the Southern chicken) or (Madison Square Garden has become Madison Cube Garden). Some of these can be funny but when there's little else to the show it quickly becomes hollow.

The structure of society and the characters that inhabited it have changed zero. The most imaginative futuristic stories - humourous or not - think of the way society could alter in that period, not by merely imitating the present.

As a result, Futurama is nothing more then a jazzed up version of another futuristic animated series from the 1960s, the Jetsons. While that cartoon show was set centuries in the future, it had the same socio-family sterotypes that existed in American society during that time - the family with the male breadwinner, the housemaker wife, the battles in the office between the worker and the boss, etc...

The great strength of 'The Simpsons' was that it was far more ambitious then just being a jazzed-up version of an old Hanna-Barabera cartoon. Unfortunately, Futurama is a waste of time.

disagree. The problem with futurama is that its on TOO LATE and I can't stay awake to watch it.
I got into it within the first couple of episodes. Bender - seriously fabulous character, makes up for whatever else you think it lacks. Would buy the DVD but its a bit pricey. Hey, it brought me and my brother closer together - one of the few tv shows that we could sit and watch together, and laugh out loud to!

JUBJUB
28 Mar 2003, 21:42
Originally posted by Grendel

Glad to see King of the Hill getting another airing too.

You spoke too soon Grendel.In Vic,King Of The Hill is being replaced on monday night by the very dreary Talking Footy .

F%&#en ch7.Fox 8 show it,but they only show about the first 4 seasons and then go back to the start.I gather ch7 have first rights to show new episodes.

happy_in_hell
29 Mar 2003, 16:27
Absolutely love the show (I even have a Futurama Skin for Winamp!). I believe the downfall of it is its humour is tending towards adult, rather than children, thus it has a smaller audience to capture.

That said, the jokes are top class and Bender is absolutely fantastic!

RacerX
31 Mar 2003, 09:38
Futurama is growing on me now, the first few times I watched it I was not that impressed.

In the inevitable comparison to The Simpsons I would rate it better than the crap Simpsons is currently putting out, but nowhere near the genius of earlier Simpsons seasons (3 to 7).

I agree with Goalsneak in the fact that you can relate to most of the Simpsons characters and many have comic appeal. A lot of Futurama's are very unusual and so they lose the ability to use that rapier like satire they used in the Simpsons. The most normal ones (asian chick and black guy) are not really used for comedy that much, it's almost as if the show has gone too PC in that way.

Anyway, I like any Futurama episode with Zapp Brannigan and Kif in it. The show where Kif tries to go out with Amy is hilarious.

madboy
5 Apr 2003, 11:13
Originally posted by Grendel
Glad to see King of the Hill getting another airing too. Prefer it to Futureama. Now if they could just bring Duckman back. King of the Hill? Disagree with you strongly.

Duckman? Absolutely hilarious.

Booze Hound
8 Apr 2003, 23:16
The only 'problem' with Futurama comes if you compare it with The Simpsons - which is in a diffeent league.

Futurama is equal to Family Guy IMO and ahead of Duckman (gotta like someone whose best friend is a chicken called 'Cornfed'!).

The rest are soooo far behind it ain't funny.

I think Dr Zoidberg is an outstanding character.

Savatage
9 Apr 2003, 18:49
Cancelling Futurama?

What a load of crap. Bender is Homer Simpson with an attitude problem in a robots body.

Idiots idiots idiots.

Bomber Bears
2 Aug 2007, 13:58
futurama i enjoy more than anything the simpsons have done for a while, more adult show and only cartoon to put me close to tears (dog ep)

Howard Littlejohn
2 Aug 2007, 14:04
Well, that's a "bump" from nowhere.
A thread without a post for over 4 years gets a reply.

As for new Futurama - its about time.
And the real "problem with Futurama" is that the Stop'n'drop Suicide Booth is supposed to be America's favourite from 2008, but I'm not sure its been created yet.

Cap
2 Aug 2007, 14:48
well worth it

great show, the first post sounds like a confused soul, I wonder if he realises its not a show that is projecting thier idea of the future but is a pardoy of the present ?

Admiral Afterworld
2 Aug 2007, 20:00
I like the show. There's a lot of sci fi satire, so if you're not a fan of much sci fi then some of the jokes you might not get. It's also much more character based rather than "gimmick" based, compared to other animated shows around at the moment, if that makes any sense.

As for "The Simpsons vs. Futurama" debate, in my opinion:

The Simpsons (season 1-9) > Futurama (season 1-present) > The Simpsons (season 10-present)

wally funk
3 Aug 2007, 02:03
And the real "problem with Futurama" is that the Stop'n'drop Suicide Booth is supposed to be America's favourite from 2008, but I'm not sure its been created yet.well, next year is 2008. one suspects it'll show up then.

Andre
3 Aug 2007, 10:51
The 'problem' with Futurama is it's aimed at a more intelligent audience. My non-scientific polling/observations of people liking/disliking Futurama has shown the higher the IQ, the more likely they like it.

Which is understandable - it's set in the future, sci-fi elements throughout, it's not littered with cultural references the average bogan doing their ford v. holden debate down at the pub each night can relate to.

For myself I wouldn't rate it as high as the early Simpsons, but above new Simpsons, Family Guy, South Park, etc. I can't wait for the new series.

Bomber Bears
3 Aug 2007, 13:29
The Simpsons (season 1-9) > Futurama (season 1-present) > The Simpsons (season 10-present)
Spot on i think

Peninsula Boy
3 Aug 2007, 17:18

You've discovered the problem with most science fiction nay entertainment in general. It never goes far enough but the truth is a hard thing to swallow, even with a few jokes chucked in.

Chief
3 Aug 2007, 23:58
Futurama is great stuff. Season 1 wasn't the best but over the years it has become a truly great show.

Roberto: "Back off, I got hostages!"
Zoidberg: "Hooray, I'm helping!"

lucas_hsv
4 Aug 2007, 09:55
Noticed the posts about King Of The Hill. This show was fu&king terrible IMO. Futurama quite good.

wazzabp
4 Aug 2007, 10:00
King Of The Hill is awesome.:thumbsu:

MightyFighting
4 Aug 2007, 11:52
Futurama is great stuff. Season 1 wasn't the best but over the years it has become a truly great show.

Zoidberg: "Hooray, I'm helping!"Cop: "Do you have any better hostages?"

:D

Macca19
4 Aug 2007, 12:56
Zoidberg: "Hooray, I'm helping!"

THat line cracks me up every time.

Cant help but feel that wagstaff missed the point with his original post. Its a truly great series, has great character development and over-lapping storylines and has good humour as well.

Ive grown to love King of the Hill, probably more than Futurama. The first couple of series were quite poor but from series 3 or 4 onwards its as good as any other cartoon. Such a pisstake.

rwfan83
4 Aug 2007, 13:34
Enjoying watching the repeats on Channel 10 at 7pm weeknights, good that they've started from the beginning, though the early episodes really weren't that great. The awful Zapp Brannigan made his first appearance last night, Phil Hartman (may he rest in peace :( ) would have been perfect for his voice.

Admiral Afterworld
4 Aug 2007, 18:53
The early episodes are good, they can just feel a bit odd compared to the other ones because the animators were still working out a consistent style for the show and the actors were still tweaking the character voices a bit (most noticeable with Bender I think).

johnnyhoward
4 Aug 2007, 21:08
When do you guys reckon the peak of Futurama was? And how do the recent episodes stack up?

I'm only a casual viewer, used to watch it when it was on 10. It's good, but not as good as golden age simpsons.

ManWithNoName
4 Aug 2007, 21:25
Enjoying watching the repeats on Channel 10 at 7pm weeknights, good that they've started from the beginning, though the early episodes really weren't that great. The awful Zapp Brannigan made his first appearance last night, Phil Hartman (may he rest in peace :( ) would have been perfect for his voice.
Zapp is gold. Kif is even funner. There's one shot in that episode that absolutely cracks me up. Zap's in his skirt and goes to climb the ladder, Kif goes to climb after him, looks up (up Zaps skirt) and recoils in horror :D

ExTasDeeMan
4 Aug 2007, 21:36
When do you guys reckon the peak of Futurama was? And how do the recent episodes stack up?

I'm only a casual viewer, used to watch it when it was on 10. It's good, but not as good as golden age simpsons.

I can never say it peaked - it hit its straps after Episode 2 and kept on running.

Jabso
4 Aug 2007, 21:46
Zapp is brilliant. I read on wikipedia that the voice actor pretty much based his voice around Phil Hartmann, and Phillip J Fry was named in his memory.

Zapp: What makes a man turn neutral? Lust for gold?

Zapp: Care for some cham-pag-in?

Zapp: I'll be on you like flies on a pile of very sensual manure

And his pick up line book (I think Kif says them though)

"I find the most erotic part of the woman is the boobies"
"If I said you had a beautiful body would you take your pants off and dance around a little?"

rwfan83
4 Aug 2007, 21:50
Zapp is gold. Kif is even funner. There's one shot in that episode that absolutely cracks me up. Zap's in his skirt and goes to climb the ladder, Kif goes to climb after him, looks up (up Zaps skirt) and recoils in horror :D

All very good, what I meant to say was that Zapp is so cringe-worthy that it's funny :D

I reckon that when he slept with Leela, it was his first time ;)

Makes sense that the actor based his voice on Phil Hartman, he does sound eerily similar to Phil.

topdon
4 Aug 2007, 21:58
Zapp: "Scissors cuts paper... and rock crushes scissors... but Paper smothers rock!!! Kiff, we have a conumdrum"
Kiff: *sighs*
Zapp: "Kif, search them for paper, and bring me a rock"
Kiff: "But why!?"

fairdinkum
21 Jan 2011, 21:03
Looking back in the past, what a horrible OP this was.

I like the show. There's a lot of sci fi satire, so if you're not a fan of much sci fi then some of the jokes you might not get. It's also much more character based rather than "gimmick" based, compared to other animated shows around at the moment, if that makes any sense.

As for "The Simpsons vs. Futurama" debate, in my opinion:

Great post. Before-its-time post. Futuramaistic post.

:thumbsu:

Rooface
22 Jan 2011, 11:22
Watch Futurama repeats, Amazon Women a favourite>Watch South Park getting even better now>>Simpsons overstayed its welcome how many years? 7 maybe.

JR#8
23 Jan 2011, 07:28
Used to be a massive Futurama fan when it first was released. I have the first four seasons on DVD. Loved the show and thought most of the gags were really played out well.

Never got around to watching the new episodes, how do people think they fair compared to the originals? Maybe I might start watching them.

Kerrby
23 Jan 2011, 10:42
Used to be a massive Futurama fan when it first was released. I have the first four seasons on DVD. Loved the show and thought most of the gags were really played out well.

Never got around to watching the new episodes, how do people think they fair compared to the originals? Maybe I might start watching them.
We'll they moved to Comedy Central instead of Fox so they had more free roam and imo the episodes were funnier.

It's amazing that Futurama was stopped for 5 years, getting cancelled in 2003 and picked up again in 2008. The show is amazing, I don't get it.

JR#8
23 Jan 2011, 12:45
We'll they moved to Comedy Central instead of Fox so they had more free roam and imo the episodes were funnier.

It's amazing that Futurama was stopped for 5 years, getting cancelled in 2003 and picked up again in 2008. The show is amazing, I don't get it.

Sweet, thanks. I'll have to check them out.

Kerrby
23 Jan 2011, 13:11
Sweet, thanks. I'll have to check them out.
They released 4 movies as well, two of them were alright.

legend166
23 Jan 2011, 13:18

Strangely enough, whereas the original post didn't really apply to the show when it was written, it does now.

I didn't really enjoy the latest season. iPhone parody episode, the Da Vinci Code, gay marriage, etc. It contained a lot of what the original post was complaining about. The quality seemed very inconsistent. There were a few gems though, like the Hermes flash back episode.