View Full Version : rumour Lovett Wants Out!!!!
Wants a new 3 year deal, club won't give it to him and he wants a new start!!!
abers47
10 Sep 2009, 07:27
If that is the case, I am really disappointed that he would be going, but I don't think we should give a 3 year deal. Knighter on SEN after 7.30. Hopefully will answer some questions.:thumbsu:
No chance of a 3 year contract with his history...
What would we get for it? A 2nd rounder?
essendon2008
10 Sep 2009, 08:22
Please stay Lovett.
OzBomber
10 Sep 2009, 08:22
No no no! Please don't leave. He's an absolute gun at his best. Precision kicking and awesome pace. He provides a lot of our run and we'll be a hell of a lot slower without him.
Wants a new 3 year deal, club won't give it to him and he wants a new start!!!
Is his manager Ricky Nixon?
essendon2008
10 Sep 2009, 08:28
He has a lot of defficiencies but his best is very impressive. Way too good a player to just let slip by. 3 year deal is pretty long in footy these days for a player that hasn't cemented himself as a best 22 and stable clubman. Hopefully we can give him 2 years with a performance like third year?
OzBomber
10 Sep 2009, 08:30
Well, why couldn't we give him a 3 year deals but a thing in the contract that says if he stuffs up he's gone.
essendon2008
10 Sep 2009, 08:32
Well, why couldn't we give him a 3 year deals but a thing in the contract that says if he stuffs up he's gone.
I don't think that's the worry. That clause would probably be in any contract he is given. I think the issue is what if he doesn't produce good footy and we are stuck with him for three years.
deathevocation
10 Sep 2009, 08:35
Be surprised if he leaves. Says in the Australian he has nominated, inter alia, Hawthorn. We probably need an outside runner like him though he strikes me as the player who when it gets hard, he goes missing.
The Birch
10 Sep 2009, 08:41
Hawthorn and Essedon doing a deal after the round 22 episodes, lol
I personally would love Lovett at the Hawks as I think he would compliment our midfield. I originally said I'd give up pick 9 for his services as I think he would make a huge difference to our team, but I doubt whether the club would give up such a high pick.
Would the Bombers think pick 25 would be to low for Lovetts services?
Chances are he will probably stay once he gets the deal he is looking for, but as this time of years proves, a lot of stories get bandied around.
The Donners
10 Sep 2009, 08:55
Take a 1st round pick or a reliable midfielder and wipe our hands clean.
I absolutely love watching Lovett and think he's got star qualities but I question his work ethic and his durability as a top line midfielder.
He should take a two year contract, if he plays well he'll get an extention mid 2011.
saladin
10 Sep 2009, 09:05
Be surprised if he leaves. Says in the Australian he has nominated, inter alia, Hawthorn. We probably need an outside runner like him though he strikes me as the player who when it gets hard, he goes missing.
actually, the article merely lists clubs reported to be interested, not really that lovett has nominated anyone.
also, knights was on the radio this morning and said it was news to him that lovett wanted to leave. may just be another case of the manager boosting a wage through the media.
The Donners
10 Sep 2009, 09:11
Would the Bombers think pick 25 would be to low for Lovetts services?
Chances are he will probably stay once he gets the deal he is looking for, but as this time of years proves, a lot of stories get bandied around.
Pick 25 wouldn't be enough if the rumours are true and West Coast and Fremantle are also making enquiries.
I agree with your second para.
hird+lloyd=legends
10 Sep 2009, 09:16
please essendon make him a good deal, his a star, we cant lose him!!! Give him the 3yrs he wants and put some clause in the contract about his behavour.
Wheels22
10 Sep 2009, 09:19
Lovett + our 3rd/2nd pick for Kerr
:)
actually, the article merely lists clubs reported to be interested, not really that lovett has nominated anyone.
also, knights was on the radio this morning and said it was news to him that lovett wanted to leave. may just be another case of the manager boosting a wage through the media.
my god, I hope you're right, Andrew is a very important player to our structure and need him desperately.
Valve Bounce
10 Sep 2009, 09:34
Why not just swap him for Campbell Brown?
centurion
10 Sep 2009, 09:37
If he wants to go, let him go. He is not worth a 3 year deal.
bacon buster
10 Sep 2009, 09:43
don't care if he goes, as long as we get something decent for him.
maybe we should have taken geelong's 2nd rounder last year? 2nd rounder this year is worth jack shit.
Would hate to see him go but a 3yr deal is too long for a player like Lovett.
We'd have to get either a first round pick and a good solid player or a player of equal calibre. Lovett and 2nd round pick for Kerr would be reasonable.
bodazoka
10 Sep 2009, 09:51
Doubt Kerr would leave now purely because we have contracted him for the next 3 years and he is our great hope next year to make finals, It would be robbing Peter to pay Paul if we traded Kerr. I rekon Worsfold would be very interested in Lovett, all though he would need to believe that he can make him more consistant and get him more inside the contest.
Youd think at this later stage in his career that his best might all ready be on display and he will remain inconsistant.
I doubt he will want to come to Perth though?
zen dice man
10 Sep 2009, 09:51
Dear God,
Can you please do what ever is necessary to ensure that Andrew Lovett remains at the Essendon Football Club until the end of his career ?
I understand that he has had his problems in the past, however he has worked these out, give or take a drive or two without a liscence.
His performance this year has occasionally reached devine levels, that you no doubt will be proud of. However he has shown a tendency to fall away towards the end of the season. This problem, God however is not unique to Andrew as it is shared by many of his lesser team mates. Given his sometimes brilliance, he is often a target of severe tagging that reduces his impact on games.
So lord I ask of you that you deliver Andrew a new 3 year contract with the Essendon Football Club, and that you also give him the strength, skill, patience, poise and ternacity to break tags and the continue in a sustained manner his sublime godly football for the rest of his playing days.
Oh and I also ask you to deliver us a super fit Jay Neagle. Furthermore can I ask also that you use your healing powers on the following, David Hillie, Scott Gumbellton, Alwyn Davey, Brett Prismall, Jason Laycock, Jason Winderlich & Courtenay Dempsey & help them reach a sustained level of peak footballing performance asap. Finally enable the chose one Micheal ( Jesus ) Hurley whilst playing at CHF to take the club to footballs nirvana and deliver us from tacklers and to a premiership.
I am sure God that if our prayers are answered, peace and love will be filled in the hearts and minds of the Essendon faithfull.
Amen.
The Donners
10 Sep 2009, 09:54
Would hate to see him go but a 3yr deal is too long for a player like Lovett.
We'd have to get either a first round pick and a good solid player or a player of equal calibre. Lovett and 2nd round pick for Kerr would be reasonable.
He's finished at 25.
bodazoka
10 Sep 2009, 10:04
Kerr is finished?? *shakes head*
Macca18
10 Sep 2009, 10:13
Not overly fussed with this.
If he doesn't want to stay, get rid of him. After a few losses this year other players have been totally despondent & disappointed and it's all been clear to see... and then there is Andrew Lovett who looks like he couldn't even care less about the result. He played a good game and that's all that seemed important. He doesn't hurt enough for the club.
Would anybody be really surprised though if this is just his manager playing hardball with the club via the media to try and get a better deal? Nope.
At 27 years of age, he is in that age bracket now where he would be worth significant value to a club which would benefit us if he does indeed want to leave.
I can't see us dealing with anybody at Hawthorn so people can wipe that idea right now. We wouldn't give them a packet of Doritos in trade period, let alone an experienced player who would greatly assist their clear deficiency on the field.
Sydney & West Coast potentially look very viable options in this. Be interesting to see how this one pans out.
The Donners
10 Sep 2009, 10:20
Kerr is finished?? *shakes head*
Played 22 of a possible 44 games over the last 2 seasons. Fair indication his body can't hold up particularly with the added attention without Judd/Cousins.
Finished - bookmark it! :thumbsu:
Longy413
10 Sep 2009, 10:20
Get rid of him.
His last third of the year was disgusting, his final was the worst of anyone on the ground.
His inability to do the hard work, run, chase, man up was so, so poor.
The amount of times an opponent, his opponent ran past him was a joke.
Sick of him.
Straight swap for Peake.
Please note - Lovett is not worth a first round pick, he is not worth a player and a second round pick.
I'd hate to see him go but if he really wants out we should put him on the market.
His value would've increased from last year.
Any chance of getting Kerr or Jarrad McVeigh in a deal for Lovett + picks?
bodazoka
10 Sep 2009, 10:41
Played 22 of a possible 44 games over the last 2 seasons. Fair indication his body can't hold up particularly with the added attention without Judd/Cousins.
Finished - bookmark it! :thumbsu:
haha right... its more of a fair indication that he likes to either
A. Headbutt people
B. Strike people
C. Strike Carlton players (who aernt people)
Earning many a suspension, I think he was suspended for 8 weeks in 08 and at least 2 in 09. The 09 one was as soft as Marc Murphy (who was the bloke he hit). Besides we were in protection mode mid way through this year and just decided to put him on ice, if he was playing in a top 4 team he would of played.
james_omahoney
10 Sep 2009, 10:43
I don't think giving him a three year deal would be the best way to maximise his performances. If the club doesn't want to offer him 3 yrs then I hope they stick to it. If that leads to him asking to be traded then I wouldn't be upset so long as we got a good trade.
Lovett is a fantastic player but he can go missing and sometimes seems a bit lazy and doesn't put his body on the line. When we're going well, he's there and firing, but if we're getting smashed, he doesn't work hard enough to get us back in the game. We need to demand that from him, and if he won't give it to us then we should stand firm.
Windas_Magic
10 Sep 2009, 10:52
I personally have mixed emotions about this.
On one hand he doesn't work hard enough consistently and is quite poor defensively, but on the other hand he is probably our best finisher and his run and skills through the middle have been extrememly important for us through the year.
The Donners
10 Sep 2009, 10:56
haha right... its more of a fair indication that he likes to either
A. Headbutt people
B. Strike people
C. Strike Carlton players (who aernt people)
Earning many a suspension, I think he was suspended for 6 weeks in 08 and 1 in 09. The 09 one was as soft as Marc Murphy (who was the bloke he hit). Besides we were in protection mode mid way through this year and just decided to put him on ice, if he was playing in a top 4 team he would of played.
efa :cool:
The Great Barry Besanko
10 Sep 2009, 11:03
The problem is what happens if he screws up again, say in the 1st yr of a new 3 yr deal?
Peake & Drum will do for me or Jarrad McVeigh as someone else suggested
dave_27
10 Sep 2009, 11:07
Veszpremi will do.
Straight swap. Lovett for Luke Ball.
Will fix our inside mid issues, and provide Saints with that extra spark.
Win Win, no?
dave_27
10 Sep 2009, 11:13
Straight swap for Peake.
Peake is the same age and is ordinary. Goes missing and has a dodgy disposal.
Cant understand your rationale behind that comment longy.
Straight swap for Staker
Do it.
Jimmy_the_Gent
10 Sep 2009, 11:18
Peake is next to delisting material, I don't know what Essendon want with him.
Essendon would be better off trying to get a second round pick for Lovett. They could probably get one from a team close to a flag and at least that way the player they would have a player that could stick to the list for more than 1 contract.
Boucks09
10 Sep 2009, 11:20
There is no way that Lovett can command a 3 year deal.
Even if he cracks the ****s and threatens to walk out, his manager will quickly find out that no other club will offer him a 3-year deal either.
We must stand firm and offer him 2 years and see what happens. If he choses to leave then so be it. I wouldn't be moving heaven and Earth to keep him.
Some potential trades:
Straight Swaps
- Luke Ball
- David Armitage
- Patrick Vespremi
- Simon Hogan
- Brad Ebert
- Nic Suban
- Josh Gibson (small defender thread??)
- Sharrod Wellingham
From those I think only Armitage, Ball and Gibson would be viable.
Otherwise we would be looking at a 2nd round pick at best or a trade like:
Lovett & 2nd round pick for 1st round pick and random hack.
Longy413
10 Sep 2009, 11:21
Peake is the same age and is ordinary. Goes missing and has a dodgy disposal.
Cant understand your rationale behind that comment longy.
My rationale is that, that's Lovett's market rate and that people on here are getting carried away.
Lovett goes missing and whilst he doesn't have dodgy disposal, he misses critical goals.
Straight swap. Lovett for Luke Ball.
Will fix our inside mid issues, and provide Saints with that extra spark.
Win Win, no?
I'll take that swap:thumbsu:
My rationale is that, that's Lovett's market rate and that people on here are getting carried away.
Lovett goes missing and whilst he doesn't have dodgy disposal, he misses critical goals.
Not to mention out of contract and will only sign a 3 year deal. Hes about as valuable as a Happy meal or a Brent Staker. The idea of Luke Ball, Brad Ebert, Nic Suban is so deluded its not funny
Boucks09
10 Sep 2009, 11:27
Not to mention out of contract and will only sign a 3 year deal. Hes about as valuable as a Happy meal or a Brent Staker. The idea of Luke Ball, Brad Ebert, Nic Suban is so deluded its not funny
One is allowed to dream :p
He is much more valuable to a side than Brent Staker. At least if Lovett got KO'd, his team mates would do more than run up to the perpetrator and fall over staging for a free kick.
kelvin_sheedy
10 Sep 2009, 11:35
Give him the 3 years. I'd rather take a risk on Lovett than go into the wilderness of the unknown.
Straight swap for Peake.. FFS.
No Lovett and we is bottom 4 this year. No Lovett next year and we'll struggle to make finals once again.
dave_27
10 Sep 2009, 11:39
No issues with your thoughts on Lovett, I agree just the straight swap for Brett Peake bit I cant agree with at all.
I'd rather a draft pick or a young kid involved as part of the deal, perhaps Marcus Drum?
DapperDon
10 Sep 2009, 11:40
Lol, you're not getting Lovett for Staker. No matter how hard you try and talk him up.
The Donners
10 Sep 2009, 11:44
Straight swap for Staker
Do it.
Hahahahaha thanks for the laugh! :thumbsu:
TeamHurley
10 Sep 2009, 11:57
If we got peake for Lovett I would be very dissapointed.
DapperDon
10 Sep 2009, 11:58
If we got peake for Lovett I would be very dissapointed.
Disappointed would be a massive understatment.
stillGOTmyBEANIE
10 Sep 2009, 11:59
Straight Swaps
- Luke Ball -:thumbsu:
- David Armitage - :thumbsu:
- Patrick Vespremi :thumbsu:
- Simon Hogan :thumbsd:
- Brad Ebert :thumbsd:
- Nic Suban :o No chance
- Josh Gibson (small defender thread??) :thumbsd:
- Sharrod Wellingham :thumbsd::thumbsd:
Emoticons are my edit.
I would be very happy to do a double trade with the Saints for Ball and Armitage! They did a double trade with Sydney didnt they? Schneider and Dempster I think?
Ball and Armitage for Lovett and ??????
Any idea's on this trade?
The Donners
10 Sep 2009, 12:01
Lovett is potentially one of the best outside midfielders in the competition and for the first 3 quarters of this season he was. He is also the quickest midfielder in the competition.
No doubt.
He is one of the best, if not the best, in the competition at being able to kick efficiently at top speed. Others need to slow down in the last few strides.
Sure, he may be a soft footballer, but last year he was worth a 2nd round pick, and he has had a breakout year since. (21 disposals and a goal average)
Lovett has actually won games for us this year. He will finish in our top 10 best and fairest. We are going to want a fair return for him.
bacon buster
10 Sep 2009, 12:16
maybe we should ask saints fans about armitage?
i'd do that no worries. ball would actually be behind armitage in my book
Not overly fussed with this.
If he doesn't want to stay, get rid of him. After a few losses this year other players have been totally despondent & disappointed and it's all been clear to see... and then there is Andrew Lovett who looks like he couldn't even care less about the result. He played a good game and that's all that seemed important. He doesn't hurt enough for the club.
Would anybody be really surprised though if this is just his manager playing hardball with the club via the media to try and get a better deal? Nope.
At 27 years of age, he is in that age bracket now where he would be worth significant value to a club which would benefit us if he does indeed want to leave.
I can't see us dealing with anybody at Hawthorn so people can wipe that idea right now. We wouldn't give them a packet of Doritos in trade period, let alone an experienced player who would greatly assist their clear deficiency on the field.
Sydney & West Coast potentially look very viable options in this. Be interesting to see how this one pans out.
LOL, oh dear.
After the 30+ year old Lloyd, Lovett is your best player.
DapperDon
10 Sep 2009, 12:20
LOL, oh dear.
Go and talk up Gibson champ, and **** off:thumbsu:
Athomas
10 Sep 2009, 12:27
Sounds good. :)
Get rid of him.
His last third of the year was disgusting, his final was the worst of anyone on the ground.
Sick of him.
Straight swap for Peake.
Please note - Lovett is not worth a first round pick, he is not worth a player and a second round pick.
Not sure about any staright swaps but i agree with the rest. He dogged it after half time against the Hawks and again last week. When the pressure was on he was no where to be found.
And for anyone looking at St.Kilda picking him up forget it. They have improved this year becasue of team work rate. Lovett has no concept of the idea.So forget about Ball or Armitage.
LOL, oh dear.
Guess you missed the last few weeks!
Go and talk up Gibson champ, and **** off:thumbsu:
Sorry mate, no disrespect to you, but that exact comment I posted, Macca18 posted about Gibson. Word for word (obviously Gibson instead of Lovett).
The problem is what happens if he screws up again, say in the 1st yr of a new 3 yr deal?
Peake & Drum will do for me or Jarrad McVeigh as someone else suggested
Your kidding, right?
DapperDon
10 Sep 2009, 12:58
Sorry mate, no disrespect to you, but that exact comment I posted, Macca18 posted about Gibson. Word for word (obviously Gibson instead of Lovett).
Lol, fair enough then. I'll retract my **** off:thumbsu:
Ludwig van Bertstare
10 Sep 2009, 13:03
Meh, I loved his work earlier in the year but watching him off the ball just standing there as his opponent runs past really let me down. I don't want these players in our team so he can leave for all I care.
Daytripper
10 Sep 2009, 13:15
There is no way that Lovett can command a 3 year deal.
Even if he cracks the ****s and threatens to walk out, his manager will quickly find out that no other club will offer him a 3-year deal either.
We must stand firm and offer him 2 years and see what happens. If he choses to leave then so be it. I wouldn't be moving heaven and Earth to keep him.
Some potential trades:
Straight Swaps
- Luke Ball
- David Armitage
- Patrick Vespremi
- Simon Hogan
- Brad Ebert
- Nic Suban
- Josh Gibson (small defender thread??)
- Sharrod Wellingham
Lovett is clearly worth a top 10 pick on ability alone although I agree with everything else that Longy said.
As for the names above - please leave me out.
Suban perhaps but won't be traded and if I see Luke Ball's name mentioned one more time as good trade then I think I will throw up. :D
He is finished as a footballer. Truth be told he was probably gone two years ago.
bacon buster
10 Sep 2009, 13:19
disagree. he's only getting 50%-60% of game time these days. so he's not exactly getting the opportunities to display what he can do.
Lyyynnnchy
10 Sep 2009, 13:23
Good luck
Would barely consider Lovett + 1st rounder
Daytripper
10 Sep 2009, 13:23
disagree. he's only getting 50%-60% of game time these days. so he's not exactly getting the opportunities to display what he can do.
Which would be turn the ball over and not be able to kick it more than 40 meters.
Has also lost an alarming amount of pace since he first started and its not going to get better - only worse.
Boucks09
10 Sep 2009, 13:36
Brad Ebert is an absolute gun young player. I would have him before any of the names I mentioned in my wish list for straight trades.
I agree with Megatron Don in having a sour taste in my mouth at the end of the year with Lovett. You had to be at AAMI last week just to see how terrible he was. It was like watching a different player. I've seen Richard Cole work harder and put his body on the line more than Lovett did. It really was poor. I know that shouldn't blind what has been a very good year from him, but if he can't get up in a final and atleast put his body on the line, what can you expect from him in the future?
I compare him to Dempsey who was 80% fit at best last week and gave it his all to the point where he did his hammy again in the final few minutes.
Speaking of Dempsey, if Lovett goes I think he should be given his role in the midfield.:thumbsu:
FWIW I don't think Luke Ball is shot as a player. 16 possessions last week in a final with under 50% game time. We saw how well he played against the Hawks in Tassie when he was given more TOG opportunity. Reckon Jobe would like him at Essendon.
bacon buster
10 Sep 2009, 13:36
don't need ball to kick. he wins the hard ball, and dishes it off. puts tackles on. big body in the midfield.
anyway, i would prefer armitage, but i reckon that's wishful thinking (less wishful thinking than kerr/burgoyne though)
The Donners
10 Sep 2009, 13:53
FWIW I don't think Luke Ball is shot as a player. 16 possessions last week in a final with under 50% game time. We saw how well he played against the Hawks in Tassie when he was given more TOG opportunity. Reckon Jobe would like him at Essendon.
don't need ball to kick. he wins the hard ball, and dishes it off. puts tackles on. big body in the midfield.
anyway, i would prefer armitage, but i reckon that's wishful thinking (less wishful thinking than kerr/burgoyne though)
I wish Ball wasn't. If his fitness wasn't an issue he'd be a hands-down starter for St. Kilda. I'd look at him but he is one player where I would definitely use testing to see how he was.
thecotch
10 Sep 2009, 14:12
So gibson and lovett want to go to the hawks? Geez with only pick 9 available there better be some decent players on offer. These 2 guys can play.
Boucks09
10 Sep 2009, 14:14
So gibson and lovett want to go to the hawks? Geez with only pick 9 available there better be some decent players on offer. These 2 guys can play.
I've heard Bailey and Croad are on the table :p
Lovett's overall form has improved since 2008, but he is a year older, so he would probably attract a draft pick at the same level as last year.
Probably around 15.
I am a big fan of Brad Ebert.
Would like him at EFC.
Jonesy1987
10 Sep 2009, 15:46
Give him 3 years, he was very good quality for the first 3 quarters of the year. Dropped off late but was obviously carrying an injury since the West Coast game evident in his absence of ability to get out of first gear.
Our reluctance to give him three years (If this is indeed the case, which it probably isn't) doesn't have anything to do with talent. It's all off-field.
half time raffle
10 Sep 2009, 15:50
I say if he wants to go tell him he can go if we can get a top ten pick for him. I like the sounds of Martin and Cunnington in, Lovett out
MarkJohnson#1
10 Sep 2009, 15:56
For a second I thought I read Lovett-Murray and was wondering what we could get for him, but Lovett!
Hope he stays, he is simply awesome at full flight.
Alpha Male
10 Sep 2009, 16:04
Hey guys.
Far be it from us to actually do these deals but from St. Kilda I'd be willing to offer our first round pick (14-17) for Lovett and your third round pick (Pick 45ish).
We get someone who can compliment both our midfield, which lacks extreme pace, and our forward line, which hasn't got the "X Factor" that other teams seem to have. We also move down in the draft.
In return the Bombers get a first round pick in what is regarded as a fairly weak draft.
So I ask you Dons fans: Would any of you be happy with this fantasy trade? Is Lovett worth moving up 30 odd places in this draft?
In regards to Armo: He's not going anywhere.
Ball is also part of our best 22. He was the leading clearance player on the weekend and that was from just 50% game time. I think Lyon is just managing some of the players (Ball, King, Kosi) in the lead up to the final 2 weeks of the season so that they can be unleashed in the do-or-die arena of the prelim and GF, should we make it.
Q. Where to Essendon players seeking a new home go to?
A. Fremantle
Lovett + Jetta to Fremantle for pick 4 sounds good to me.
cAsEy_18
10 Sep 2009, 16:41
Definately, DEFINATELY do not want to lose Lovett, and i don't suspect we will, he is as close to a match-winner as we have. However, if he is to be traded, remember Worsfold saying he would trade their first pick for a small forward? Well Lovett didn't play small forward this year much, but play him down there, and as a small forward (Not the medium fowards like Stevey J and Chappy) Lovey is about as good as they come.
A. Fremantle
Lovett + Jetta to Fremantle for pick 4 sounds good to me.\
That will never happen. I think we'd be giving up too much for that. It'll be a straight swap, Lovett for pick 4.
Freo will have NO interest in him.
OzBomber
10 Sep 2009, 16:50
\
That will never happen. I think we'd be giving up too much for that. It'll be a straight swap, Lovett for pick 4.
Lovett's not even worth pick 4. If anything it would be Lovett for First Rounder + a player. I wouldn't want to trade Lovett for an Untried 18 year old who we don't even know will succeed at AFL level.
Ludwig van Bertstare
10 Sep 2009, 16:50
A. Fremantle
Lovett + Jetta to Fremantle for pick 4 sounds good to me.
Me thinks Fremantle now have an unwritten rule about not trading 1st round draft picks.
dangerousmissile
10 Sep 2009, 17:02
\
You can't be serious. If pick 4 was offered for Lovett and Jetta it would be the quickest deal done ever
Get rid of him.
Sick of him.
what he said
Premiership goal kicker Shannon Byrnes is all yours!
You can't be serious. If pick 4 was offered for Lovett and Jetta it would be the quickest deal done ever
totally agree - any of butcher, trengove, k.lucas would be a much better outcome.
keepzitreal
10 Sep 2009, 17:12
NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I'd almost cry if we lost him.. love watching him play (for us) and is so important to our game style. He'll murder us when we play him...
Wasn't Knights meeting with him weekly? Didn't he capture career best form?
Then what the EFF is the problem?
IMO I suspect Knights may have got into him over the last few games to try an get him to pull his head in...
If we must trade him.. we are kidding ourselves at getting at top 10 pick.. best case scenario is packaging him in a deal for Shaun Burgoyne or Luke Ball, though Id rather Lovett than Ball.
I hate losing players I like... I hated it with Wanganeen, Cummings, Caracella, Solly and even Kepler.. please Lord... make him stay or give us Burgoyne...
I'm surprised another club will offer him 3 years... but if we cant get a favorable deal... give him the 3 years FFS....
The Donners
10 Sep 2009, 17:15
Premiership goal kicker Shannon Byrnes is all yours!
No thanks.
bombersrbest05
10 Sep 2009, 17:19
Morabito would be ours, I would defiantly do it
SirJimi05
10 Sep 2009, 17:27
I don't think so mate.
bigburger
10 Sep 2009, 17:31
Staker + Fourth rounder?
keepzitreal
10 Sep 2009, 17:32
Found this on Bomberblitz..
Loveys importance to the team..
Disposals (avg) ranked 5th
Inside 50s ranked 2nd
goals ranked 8th
goals assists ranked 4th
goals contributed 7th
Pump that around the media.... might raise his trade value...
SirJimi05
10 Sep 2009, 17:33
Staker + Fourth rounder?
No thanks.
dave_27
10 Sep 2009, 17:33
i hate losing players i like... I hated it with wanganeen, cummings, caracella, solly and even kepler.. Please lord... Make him stay or give us burgoyne...
lol.
bigburger
10 Sep 2009, 17:34
No thanks.
Lovett for our Second Round pick?
dave_27
10 Sep 2009, 17:39
Can we just red card any Eagles fan who comes on here again proposing lovett for staker trades.
Honestly, are they taking the piss?
bigburger
10 Sep 2009, 17:45
Steady on mate we have get rid of him somewhere. Dons seem as good place to plod him as any :p.
SirJimi05
10 Sep 2009, 17:50
Lovett for our Second Round pick?
Personally i would like to hold on to Lovett but this is certainly much closer to the mark.