Dogs 16 goal last quarter.
Enuff said:( :o :o :(

raboyle
29 Mar 2003, 17:26
WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

The old record still stands though...

Jerome
29 Mar 2003, 20:35
From my point of view, I'll save the cheering for a hard earned win.

That was far too easy. We almost had it won in the first quarter.

North have some big blokes in their side that can be dangerous - Hargraves, O'Connor, Herbert - but their little blokes dont look after them.

North were slaughtered at ground level!! They just didnt have the smarts and desire to beat Centrals. Their second quarter was good, but after three quarter time... As Darel Hart noted, they don't seem to learn and that's a real worry for the North fans. they need to change that fast.

Well done to Roy in his first game as Coach, I hope we have some better wins that this one.

Jerome

Grogette
29 Mar 2003, 20:46
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr What the frell was that North?! :mad: :o

Can't be bothered saying anything about the crap game, but I enjoyed catching up with Tim Davis again! ;)

PS: Good seeing you again Jerome and thanks for not rubbing our noses in it, back in the Roosters Club Rooms! :)

brent33brett33
29 Mar 2003, 20:49
Did Stephen Gilham play any good for North?

safooty
29 Mar 2003, 21:02
You reckon after 3/4 time, the question would be did anyone???

RoosterWedgie
30 Mar 2003, 00:54
Originally posted by brent33brett33
Did Stephen Gilham play any good for North?
Im confused!
Port supporters were telling me on Thurs night that Gilham wasn't playing for us!
Seriously though:
Im a shattered man.
It's terrible to be this shattered after Round 1.
I want to dig a hole and bury myself in it.

bulldog pommy
30 Mar 2003, 07:14
Just found out the score due to being nowhere near a radio all day and most of last night. I knew we had won when i rang the club about 9pm Sat night but the barmaid didn't know the score. :rolleyes:

Is that a record? 16 goals in a quarter. What the hell happened R/W. Damn these fundraising soccer carnivals.

RoosterWedgie
30 Mar 2003, 09:09
Originally posted by bulldog pommy
Is that a record? 16 goals in a quarter. What the hell happened R/W.
Basically 17 players gave up, even worse than the McDermott years. I thought I was devestated, but then I saw Harty's face.:(

Macca19
30 Mar 2003, 11:28
16 goals in a quarter. That would of been a sight to see. I dont think i wanna know what happened there.

I think Hart said it best: "probably the most embarassing moment in the clubs history"

Grogette
30 Mar 2003, 12:15
It was the most disappointing, pathetic and frellin' crappiest attempt at footy by North, it felt like the McSh*t Years all other again!! definiately was not a sight to see. :mad:

It was so hard seeing Darel's Hart face, after the game! I never want to see his face like that again! :(

You would think I would have calm down after a nights sleep, some fruit loops for breaky and couple cups of coffee wouldn't you?! But I still feel so ashamed!

Thank Goodness for #17 Ray Ebel, who was the only player at "North" who had his heart in the game, that's all I could say! Go Ray! Grogette Loves You Ray! ;)

Uncle Steve
30 Mar 2003, 19:16
Originally posted by bulldog pommy

Is that a record? 16 goals in a quarter.
Good question.

I've just had a brief trawl through my notes for some big quarter scores and come up with the following:

Glenelg kicked 15.6 in the final quarter of that match v Central in August 1975. If only Snout hadn't hit the post!

In the final round of 1980, Sturt dobbed 14.5 in the final quarter versus West at Unley. It was enough to snatch third spot and the double chance from Torrens by 0.17%, who choked against the Bays on the same day.

Can anyone else find an instance where a team kicked more than 16 goals in a quarter, or scored more than 96 points in a quarter?

Jerome
30 Mar 2003, 19:34
Macca and Pommy,

It was bizzare, quick and painful. When we went from 5 goals to 10 goals up I thought "oh yeah!" As the scoreboard clicked over from 10 to 15 to 30 goals, I was just stunned. I could'nt believe it. The North crowd behind me went very dark, there was no point rubbing their noses in it.

It was a shocking sight for all of their members and legends to see. Darryl Hart was a shattered man in the club rooms afterwards.

Beware the Bulldogs in 2003.

Jerome

sapaul
30 Mar 2003, 21:32
Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Can anyone else find an instance where a team kicked more than 16 goals in a quarter, or scored more than 96 points in a quarter?

West kicked 15.7.97 in the final quarter against Torrens at Richmond in 1982.

lufc618
30 Mar 2003, 21:50
An absolutely brilliant win by the dogs. The best quarter of football i have ever seen. before the match i overheard a lot of the North supporters talking and they were very confident of doing well against centrals and beating them.
Also daniel schell kicked his 6 goals in the last 15 minutes of the match. Is that a record?

DoggyBase
31 Mar 2003, 09:50
Apparently, Centrals is the only team to have EVER kicked 16 goals in one quarter.

What's the story with the siren at Prospect? All I could hear was the faint sound of someone stepping on a duck.

Unley Legend
31 Mar 2003, 10:55
Originally posted by Uncle Steve

In the final round of 1980, Sturt dobbed 14.5 in the final quarter versus West at Unley. It was enough to snatch third spot and the double chance from Torrens by 0.17%, who choked against the Bays on the same day.

I was there that day and remember it vividly. The Blues went berserk in that quarter, it was an incredible sight. Even my mate's dad (who used to take us to the footy every week when we were younger, and who hardly said a thing), was jumping up and down and yelling his head off. Sturt's final score, from memory, was 31.20.206

safooty
31 Mar 2003, 12:38
The siren broke down earlier in the day, therefore for the first quarter they used the old cow bell.

Then they got it working, but not 100%, it only sounded like a buzzing noise, not siren-like.

Was listening to the game on LIFE FM, reckon that was the best place to actually hear it hehe.

Hollypig
31 Mar 2003, 16:20
Originally posted by DoggyBase
Apparently, Centrals is the only team to have EVER kicked 16 goals in one quarter.

What's the story with the siren at Prospect? All I could hear was the faint sound of someone stepping on a duck.

Just gets better & better does`nt it ?

Blues_Brat
31 Mar 2003, 18:30
Stunning.

I had North pegged as an improver and Centrals to drop a bit.

Well it gave me a belly laugh for the day when I found out. ;)

Dogwatcher
31 Mar 2003, 23:18
While we're talking records - 16 straight without a miss must be some sort of record mustn't it?

Only those who've experienced a drubbing sucgh as that first hand can know how it feels.
I was playing for Loxton last year when Berri booted 13 goals against us in the final quarter of a game in which we trailled by 15 points at three quarter time.
Having spent much of that quarter in the middle, I felt powerless to stop the run and slaughter of our defenders. Strangely though it didn't feel as if that many had been kicked on us. Then we looked at the scoreboard....
That was the first sign that Berri could do something special last year and they went on to win the flag after being 40 odd points down during the second quarter of the GF.
Let's hope the Dogs can follow that trend and get the flag back.
Bad luck to the North supporters, I do feel sorry for you - even though I did gloat a little when I read the scores on Sun morning.

Uncle Steve
1 Apr 2003, 09:55
Originally posted by Dogwatcher
While we're talking records - 16 straight without a miss must be some sort of record mustn't it?
Port scored 19 straight in an entire match vs the Eagles at Alberton in the mid nineties - '93 I think. However two behinds were rushed by the Eagles in amongst these goals, so the Magpies total score was 19.2

Dogwatcher
1 Apr 2003, 10:38
Now Uncle Steve, how did I know someone like yourself would know something like that. thanks mate. :D

safooty
1 Apr 2003, 11:06
Norwood kicked 12.1 to Port 16.21 in the final Round of 1981 I think it was or early 80's.

Ford Fairlane
1 Apr 2003, 12:58
Originally posted by safooty
Norwood kicked 12.1 to Port 16.21 in the final Round of 1981 I think it was or early 80's.

I reckon Port kicked 16.23 that day. It was the final round of 1981 and played in front of a crowd of about 35,000. Sensational stuff.

It was widely tipped to be a preview of the combatants in the GF but the Bays managed to knock Norwood out in the Prelim Final and went on to ruin another Grand Final for the non Port supporting SA viewing public ... :D

roostersgal4eva
1 Apr 2003, 19:44
as the song says - "The only way is up"

cheer up guys - we'll be back : I KNOW WE WILL!

GO ROOSTERS!!!!!

JF_Bay_22_SCG
3 Apr 2003, 01:54
Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
Im a shattered man.
It's terrible to be this shattered after Round 1.
I want to dig a hole and bury myself in it.

Cheer up buddy. I'm sure Harty will get em out of it. You've gotta let the "Poms" win something in lieu of recent overseas sporting events.

I hope to get to a North Adelaide match, with the odd 12 foot high red and white flag in tow, when the Swanners play Port this year. Several in the Swans Sydney/Melbourne-based Cheer squad would be prepared to come across and help you out for the day.

I was going to come to Prospect for the Port game last year when the Swans played the Crows, again big flag in tow. But the SANFL in their wisdom decided to change the match to Saturday so Port fans could watch the Power on the box the next day.

When are the ****s of the North playing on the weekend of the 28th of June?

JF (Sydney Swans Cheer Squad, and a long-time supporter of SANFL footy)

RoosterWedgie
3 Apr 2003, 08:08
Thanks for the comisserations champ.
Ive cheered up, being Round 1 Ive now focussed on this week! lol
Ironically we have the bye on the date you come over.
:(

PS, Im a big fan of RWO online, great site and one I tried to use as an eg when setting up a couple of my own.