View Full Version : Was Carey Worth It?

iceman21
30 Mar 2003, 21:05
Interested to know what everyone thinks of Carey's first real game for the club?

Four Goals, set up a couple, kept bringing the ball to ground.
All-in-all I'd have to say yes it was worthwhile getting him
can only hope he continues this over the season and stays fit!

Stiffy_18
30 Mar 2003, 21:14
I say yes it was. I know we are only 1 game into the season but you can actually see the impact his presence has on players from both sides. He intimidates the defenders even when he isn't playing well. He frees up the likes of Perrie and Stevens to be more damaging and brings the ball to ground for our smaller players. Hopefully he can stay fit for the majority of the year. If he does we will have the most imposing forward line in the AFL:D Pretty big improvement on previous years:D :D :D :D :D :D

macca23
30 Mar 2003, 21:40
Originally posted by iceman21
Interested to know what everyone thinks of Carey's first real game for the club?

Loved what I saw today. He'll only get better!!! Even on the days they quieten Carey, the other forwards will have a picnic.

As long as Carey stays on the oval it will have been worth it.

kirky
30 Mar 2003, 21:43
Now whilst it was only one game, I seem to remember about 7 years ago the Crows bought a champion to the club which people questioned because he was ageing and what was the end result - 2 premierships and another 2 medallions to add to his existing one. As Tim Watson said in the 1998 GF - "he was worth every cent that the Adelaide Crows paid to get him" Both players, Carey and Jarman, are champions and hopefully the same result will occur.

crowsfan
30 Mar 2003, 21:49
A resounding yes, IMO. And agree with all the points made above. For sure, its only early days, but Carey today displayed that he hasn't lost any reading of the play, and with more and more games, it seems that he'll get even better and have more influence on the game.

Watching Roo, Macca etc feed the ball into Carey, Stevens and Perrie sends exciting chills up my spine. Looking forward to the Rd 8 class with the Lions at the Gabba. That'll be a real test for us.

macca23
30 Mar 2003, 22:01
Originally posted by crowsfan
Looking forward to the Rd 8 class with the Lions at the Gabba. That'll be a real test for us.

The Lions at the Gabba are a real test for any team. On what I saw in their game against Essendon, they won't lose too many, if any, at the Gabba.

I'll go on record now - if we win that game then I think we'll win the flag!!! ;)

DaveW
30 Mar 2003, 22:04
Too early to say.

Carmelo Anthony
30 Mar 2003, 22:14
22.13 145

Not a bad start for our new forward line

Carey was everything today, the young lad Polak was giving him a headache in the first quarter, but as a true champion he adjusted his game and destroyed him on the lead a few times with superior football IQ.

Torney was real good today too, he played much more up the ground, and 11 kicks and 17 handballs... well what else do you want from a player who was a "filler" in getting the big one.

Stiffy_18
30 Mar 2003, 22:20
Originally posted by macca23
The Lions at the Gabba are a real test for any team. On what I saw in their game against Essendon, they won't lose too many, if any, at the Gabba.

I'll go on record now - if we win that game then I think we'll win the flag!!! ;)

I can't argue with anything you said there macca23. They looked awsome. How good was Lappin after a VERY limited pre-season. They are a class act. I agree if we beat Lions at the Gabba, we will go all the way as it would give us confidence that we can beat anybody anywhere. It would be a great confidence booster come finals time.

It promises to be a beauty. Bith teams have great midfields and very imposing forward lines. Brisbane has better names in defence and is therefore better in defence. Our back 6 is very much underrated and play wel most of the time. McGregor always plays well against Brown and Smart/Torney/Hart/Bassett can take on Bradshaw but who the hell picks up Lynch:confused:

kirky
30 Mar 2003, 22:24
Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
22.13 145

Not a bad start for our new forward line

Carey was everything today, the young lad Polak was giving him a headache in the first quarter, but as a true champion he adjusted his game and destroyed him on the lead a few times with superior football IQ.

Torney was real good today too, he played much more up the ground, and 11 kicks and 17 handballs... well what else do you want from a player who was a "filler" in getting the big one.

Do they show the games on ESPN/Fox over there? If so, when?I'm going to be in the States in late April/early May and I'll need my weekly fix.

DaveW
30 Mar 2003, 22:25
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
McGregor always plays well against Brown and Smart/Torney/Hart/Bassett can take on Bradshaw but who the hell picks up Lynch:confused:
Bradshaw's a handy player but I don't think he requires four defenders to be placed on him.

crowsfan
30 Mar 2003, 22:31

I'll go on record now - if we win that game then I think we'll win the flag!!! ;) Yep, true. It's not easy for anyone. Full strength sides on both these teams, should make for some damn good footy, and also this match can be a gauge as to where we are at compared to the reigning dual premiers (whom I agree, are in very very good form ATM). Tough challenge for our fellas, but still a long way to go until that match.

Stiffy_18
30 Mar 2003, 22:35
Originally posted by DaveW
Bradshaw's a handy player but I don't think he requires four defenders to be placed on him.

I meant to say one of Smart/Torney/Hart/Bassett

DaveW
30 Mar 2003, 22:36
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I meant to say one of Smart/Torney/Hart/Bassett
Yeah I know. :D What I was getting at, was surely one of them - Smart or Bassett probably - would play on Lynch.

Darky
30 Mar 2003, 22:39

You'll find, as time goes on, that Carey will be worth much more than his personal goals tally shows. Sets up at least as many goals as he kicks himself, and anything within ten yards he turns into a contest where others cant. Will also take probably the best defender most weeks, downgrading the level of opponent your other forwards will have assigned to them.

Pity he's playing for another mob, and no longer for mine, but I wish him all the best. Still my favourite player.

dyertribe
30 Mar 2003, 23:33
Everything has already been said... to recap and summarise:

*The KING kicked 4 goals and set up another couple
*The KING busted packs all day and brought the ball to ground regularly which resulted in fun times for the likes of Bode and Macca.
*The KING's presence alone seems to have inspired the likes of Ian Perrie who have grown in stature since his arrival.
*It was the KING's first official league game in well over 12 months yet he acheived all of the above.

Only Brisbane can forseeably stop us when we're up and going...

Ausgard
31 Mar 2003, 00:05
Originally posted by dyertribe
Only Brisbane can forseeably stop us when we're up and going...

And Melbourne - but only if they are playing you at the GABBA. In melbourne you will flog them. They are a very strange team.

Mixed emotions seeing him play like the carey of old but generally pretty happy just to see him play. Looked really rusty - like mid season '97 after he came back from the shoulder reco and things just didn't quite fall into place until the Elimination final against Geelong.

Will take a while to get to his best I reckon and you probably won't see him play at 100% until after round 10. The Odd week off because of general soreness or precautionary hammy twinges probably won't effect him though.

Looking the goods so far though !

DaveW
31 Mar 2003, 00:20
Originally posted by Ausgard
And Melbourne - but only if they are playing you at the GABBA. In melbourne you will flog them. They are a very strange team.

I know your comment isn't entirely serious. But Melbourne v Adelaide at the Gabba?! Huh? :confused:

Carmelo Anthony
31 Mar 2003, 00:24
Maybe I think hes talking about how Melbourne beat Brisbane last year at home at the GABBA

DaveW
31 Mar 2003, 00:32
Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
Maybe I think hes talking about how Melbourne beat Brisbane last year at home at the GABBA
And that has what to do with Adelaide?

Michele
31 Mar 2003, 00:48
Originally posted by Darky
You'll find, as time goes on, that Carey will be worth much more than his personal goals tally shows. Sets up at least as many goals as he kicks himself, and anything within ten yards he turns into a contest where others cant. Will also take probably the best defender most weeks, downgrading the level of opponent your other forwards will have assigned to them.

Pity he's playing for another mob, and no longer for mine, but I wish him all the best. Still my favourite player.

Yes, I happen to agree with everything Darky said, particularly the setting up other players for goals.
You cannot just look at Carey's own total of goals because he ALWAYS will set up at least 2-3 other goals.

If you are not happy with your 'rookie' then you don't know anything about football.

Goodluck to the Duck for a great year, (but not in Rd 6)

btw Carey is one of your 2 time Premiership coach players. ;)

DaveW
31 Mar 2003, 00:51
Originally posted by Michele

btw Carey is one of your 2 time Premiership coach players. ;)
I thought Blighty played for Woodville and Carey North Adelaide. :D

Go South
31 Mar 2003, 09:06
I think a few people are getting ahead of themselves... granted, it was a great win, and Carey was great, but let's face it, it was a Round 1 home game against Freo. Don't get too carried away with it.

noddy
31 Mar 2003, 11:41
Originally posted by Go South
I think a few people are getting ahead of themselves... granted, it was a great win, and Carey was great, but let's face it, it was a Round 1 home game against Freo. Don't get too carried away with it.

I tend to be a bit like you, first game, was against a depleted Freo, but bloody hell the signs are all there for everyone to see, the awesome three-sum will give many a defense plenty of headaches in the weeks to come & in my opinion having Wayne Carey up along side Ian Perrie will prove the making of sarge & at last give him the confidence & self belief that he can make it as an AFL player,

Jars458
31 Mar 2003, 12:02
Originally posted by Michele
YesGoodluck to the Duck for a great year, (but not in Rd 6)

If he plays ever game until then it will be his 250th game.

Should be a ball burster.

napsyd
31 Mar 2003, 12:40
It was great to see, and although rusty, he slowly found form during the match.

I'd forgotten just how hard the bloke attacks the ball/contest.

Don't tell me seeing Carey coming full bore at ya wouldn't scare the crap outta yer!

NorthBhoy
31 Mar 2003, 12:52
Originally posted by Jars458
If he plays ever game until then it will be his 250th game.

Should be a ball burster.

Really?

****en hell.

Should be slightly interesting game.

:eek:

sabre_ac
31 Mar 2003, 13:12
This is how I see it.....
If carey enables you guys to win a premireship it was worth it, otherwise no it wasnt.
Wells was a huge price to pay in my opinion a higher price than handing over Brennan and McPhee for headland.

Kane McGoodwin
31 Mar 2003, 13:21
Originally posted by sabre_ac
If carey enables you guys to win a premireship it was worth it, otherwise no it wasnt.
Wells was a huge price to pay in my opinion a higher price than handing over Brennan and McPhee for headland. Sabre you have missed the point. At the end of last season they needed key position forwards to be a shot at the flag - & we went after the best one available. Whilst Wells is likely to be a great player, we have plenty of his ilk at AFC. Wells probably wouldn't even make our side (at the moment). It's all about team balance. AFC have addressed this, with the exception backup ruckman. I would worry more about Freo's lack of midfielders. Cheers! ;) :p

sabre_ac
31 Mar 2003, 13:23
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Sabre you have missed the point. At the end of last season they needed key position forwards to be a shot at the flag - & we went after the best one available. Whilst Wells is likely to be a great player, we have plenty of his ilk at AFC. Wells probably wouldn't even make our side (at the moment). It's all about team balance. AFC have addressed this, with the exception backup ruckman. I would worry more about Freo's lack of midfielders. Cheers! ;) :p

Ok your one player away from a premireship, you got that player.
What happens if you dont win it?

Kane McGoodwin
31 Mar 2003, 13:30
What happens if you dont win it? If we don't win it this year, we will have another crack next year - but that is way off. The point is AFC don't need a Wells type of player (no matter how good he is), as we have plenty of others who can play like him. Recruiting is all about addressing your weaknesses. eg. We gave up Kane Johnson who is a great player, but we did not lose much as we have planty of midfielders who can step into his shoes (albiet of slighty lesser quality). However gaining Carey + Torney & losing Johnson + Wells (say) is a win for AFC as we have a better balanced squad. Consider, that we have Gallagher, Doughty & Burns (all of the Wells ilk) who are playing good footy & can't even make our team. However, we have no real backup KPP forwards with the exception of Hentschel, who is unproven at AFL level.

napsyd
31 Mar 2003, 13:40

With all due respect, what happens to us if we don't win it is the same as what happens to the other 14 teams who also do not win it, we will try again next year.

The world will not crash down around us if Adelaide don't win the flag.

Jars458
31 Mar 2003, 14:13
Wells was a huge price to pay in my opinion a higher price than handing over Brennan and McPhee for headland.

We didn't give up Wells

we gave up Johnson and a draft pick much higher than four- that's it.

Stiffy_18
31 Mar 2003, 15:51

If we don't win the flag, we try again last year.

You must realise that a lot of things including injuries and luck, have to go right for a team to win a premiership.

macca23
31 Mar 2003, 17:39

And we might well not win it. But we are going to have a real crack at it, and that's all we supporters can ask!!!

Better to have tried and failed than never to have tried!!

DaveW
31 Mar 2003, 17:49
Carey was the player we needed. We're aiming for a premiership. We're trying to take full advantage of our current opportunities. Full marks to the Adelaide Football Club for that.

I don't see it as Wells for Carey. Since firstly it was the number four pick (and Wells was a certain top three pick). And secondly the nature of the Johnson-Torney deal may have been different if we weren't trying to satisfy North Melbourne's requirements for Carey.

And it's all well and good to have an ultra young list, but whats the point if the results aren't forthcoming? The likes of Geelong, St Kilda and Fremantle still have much to prove.

topjars
31 Mar 2003, 18:28
Was Carey worth it ???
Has a Duck got a flat instep???

Absolutely.

Sabre Re:

Sheez thats pretty open ended.
I could say the same about Matthew Pavlich when Freo "invested" in him.
How much has he cost you so far?

footychick
31 Mar 2003, 18:37
Yah i think getting him was deffinately worth it...Even if he's not playing that well he is drawing the best defence player away from our other forwards and if he's playing well and contributing with some goals then its even better!!! :)

macca23
31 Mar 2003, 19:14
Looking forward to "On The Couch" on Fox Footy tonight.

Wayne Carey is the main guest. :D

noddy
31 Mar 2003, 19:51
Looking forward to "On The Couch" on Fox Footy tonight.

Wayne Carey is the main guest. :D

Think i might just join you macca,

with a coopers ale naturally:)

Delivery Man
31 Mar 2003, 20:44
Like almost every other post here an emphatic YES is my answer.

However I also get a real sense of satisfaction now from the realisation, that there is now another very good reason for other supporters to loathe the Adelaide Football Club. :D :D

Bring It On I Say!!!

Nige_Bix
1 Apr 2003, 14:50
Was Carey Worth It?

YES :D :D :D :D

iceman21
8 Jun 2003, 01:47
Interested to see what Everyone thinks now that he's missed a few weeks and looks to be Very Injury prone?

DaveW
8 Jun 2003, 01:55
Interested to see what Everyone thinks now that he's missed a few weeks and looks to be Very Injury prone? I'm still reserving my judgement.

topjars
8 Jun 2003, 18:56
Me too Dave.
Its early days yet. If if plays another cameo in the next GF (assuming we get there) yes it will be worth it.

macca23
8 Jun 2003, 21:11
As TJ and Dave rightly say, it's way too early to say.

Even if he only had a moderate influence in the minor round and had a monster major round which led to a flag, that would be huge.

Way way too early to say.

Stiffy_18
8 Jun 2003, 21:17
Its too early to say. Ask me when Carey retires:p . He was brought here for 1 reason and thats to help us win a flag. If we don't win one while he is at the club then we can debate this. Jury is still out.

What i feel we really need to target during trade / draft period is a ruckman or two and a young promising CHF.:( I feel that we really need to nail it this year as far as recruiting goes.:)

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
8 Jun 2003, 21:18
Absolutely - he is worth every cent.

He maybe injured at the moment but that is not a pre-existing injurie. It is a knee injurie that he sustained in round 2 against the Saints. He continued to play for a couple of weeks - until he was unable to remove his own boots. God only know he is not the only injured player at our club.

Clarke - Knee (strain)
Bode - Knee (strain)
Stevens - Knee (cartlidge removed)
Goodwin - Broken wrist
Stenglein - Quad
Stiffy - Groin injury (don't laugh at Stiffy please)

I could go on, but won't.

Wayne is invaluable. On and off the field.

k
xx

blackdiamond
9 Jun 2003, 16:48
Still too early to tell however you would have all expected a lot more by now. Anybody that thinks you have got more out of Carey than you expected is just kidding themselves!

noddy
10 Jun 2003, 13:09
Originally posted by Scott
Still too early to tell however you would have all expected a lot more by now. Anybody that thinks you have got more out of Carey than you expected is just kidding themselves!

Why thank you for those wise words of wisdom Scott but as Stiffy has stated we shall wait until he retires before we pass judgment on the Wayne Carey trade,

RoosterWedgie
10 Aug 2003, 17:38
Yes

Sniper26
10 Aug 2003, 22:11
Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
Yes

What he said ;)

maccas_no1
11 Aug 2003, 07:40
He is worth it,not only for his football abilities,but also what he can pass onto the younger boys;) :D ;)

Kane McGoodwin
11 Aug 2003, 14:06
We are now just starting to see how important Carey is to our team structure. His ability to marshall the forward lines, kick & create goals is invaluable. I don't reckon we have seen the best of him yet at AFC, as IMO he will be better next year with (most of) a year of footy & another pre-season under his belt (as opposed to being out of the game).

evertonfc
11 Aug 2003, 14:35
He's only worth it if he wins you a flag, or plays a big role in winning you a flag.

Sorry, but that's the awful truth. No matter what spin you put on it, no flag means the experiment failed.

Let's cut the crap - he was drafted solely for that purpose. He might help a few of the kids out, but there's no doubt that he's little more than marquee value if no premiership goes your way during his period in Adelaide.

Kane McGoodwin
11 Aug 2003, 14:39
Originally posted by evertonfc
He's only worth it if he wins you a flag, or plays a big role in winning you a flag.

Sorry, but that's the awful truth. No matter what spin you put on it, no flag means the experiment failed.

Let's cut the crap - he was drafted solely for that purpose. He might help a few of the kids out, but there's no doubt that he's little more than marquee value if no premiership goes your way during his period in Adelaide.
Bottom line is we have too many midfielders, so losing Sugar is nowhere near as much of a loss as gaining a key forward. Don't start with the Wells crap either, because Richmond would never have done the deal if it involved a no.2 pick.

BTW, If I were you, I would be more concerned with the Saints ender-achieving with a good list with a pathetic excuse for a coach.

evertonfc
11 Aug 2003, 21:37
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

If I were you, I would be more concerned with the Saints ender-achieving with a good list with a pathetic excuse for a coach.

What the **** does this have to do with Carey?

Kane McGoodwin
11 Aug 2003, 21:47
Originally posted by evertonfc
What the **** does this have to do with Carey?
Just pointing out that we don't give a toss what you think & the majority of Crows supporters are happy with the addition of Carey. You don't seem to have an appreciation of team balance - ie. at the end of last year we had an over-supply of midfielders & an under-supply of forwards. We corrected this by trading for the best possible available key forward.

Crows are travelling nicely at the moment & are going to give the flag a real shake. Meanwhile the Saints struggle because you have an amateur coach who doesn't even discuss with his captain before the game to kick with a strong wind, then comments that his side actually didn't play too bad when they got flogged (when you played us). ie. I would be more concerned with your own backyard. Don't mind informed comments from other supporters about AFC though.