View Full Version : Scott Welsh and Ronnie Burns

napsyd
31 Mar 2003, 10:57
OK, so how do we fit these blokes in?

Where do they play?

Who do we drop?

IMO, Burns will have to do something special to get a call up, but Welsh should be in our starting 22.

Will these guys have to wait for injuries to get a jumper?

Poor, poor selection committee! :D

Jars458
31 Mar 2003, 11:14
We have great depth this year.

Burns, Gallagher, Hentschell, Shirley and Massie all had good games in the sANFL

Doughty was also reasonbalt from what I can find.

Add Welsh to that list and we are looking good.

Burns will only play if one of our little players gets injured or when we play Geelong

noddy
31 Mar 2003, 11:17
Originally posted by napsyd
OK, so how do we fit these blokes in?

Where do they play?

Who do we drop?

IMO, Burns will have to do something special to get a call up, but Welsh should be in our starting 22.

Will these guys have to wait for injuries to get a jumper?

Poor, poor selection committee! :D

I think i shall retire & take the easy way out & leave those decisions to others,

but what a dilemma to have,:D

napsyd
31 Mar 2003, 11:37
Originally posted by Jars458

Burns, Gallagher, Hentschell, Shirley and Massie all had good games in the sANFL

Burns will only play if one of our little players gets injured or when we play Geelong

Actually, the one player I can see getting in reasonably easily might be Massie in place of Mattner.

Just a matter of getting him match fit.

Kane McGoodwin
31 Mar 2003, 19:05

Burns will only play if one of our little players gets injured or when we play Geelong The pressure on the guys in the Crows side will be on with the round 1 form of the players in the SANFL. Don't play 2 poor games in a row or you might struggle to get back into the side! Had Welsh been fit, who would have missed out on the weekend?

Stiffy_18
31 Mar 2003, 20:27
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Had Welsh been fit, who would have missed out on the weekend?

I reckon Mattner

topjars
31 Mar 2003, 22:51
Its interesting that youve put these blokes in the same sentence.
I think both will struggle to get in whilst we keep winning.

We dont need a small crumbing forward at the minute and if I was a Crow hierarchy I would be easing Welshy along thru the SANFL well before calling him up to AFL.

crowsfan
31 Mar 2003, 23:40
Hrm, not so sure about Burns at the moment, but I've got a thought for whom to drop for Welsh. I know its only early in the season and all, and I also know I'm gonna cop a lot of flack for this but I'll say it anyhow, maybe we should drop:

Burton

I don't think he's been that impressive recently, and yes, I agree he's important to our game, but on form I don't think he's been that spectacular. He's been given the ball a fair bit, but I don't think he's used the ball that great (more often than not), and wasted a few too many ops too. In our present situation, with a ridiculoulsy short injury list (and lets hope it stays this way, touch wood) and a lot of players in form, and as athletic and fit as he is, maybe he's the one to be dropped??

macca23
31 Mar 2003, 23:47
Originally posted by crowsfan
Hrm, not so sure about Burns at the moment, but I've got a thought for whom to drop for Welsh. I know its only early in the season and all, and I also know I'm gonna cop a lot of flack for this but I'll say it anyhow, maybe we should drop:

Burton

Don't know about flak but I can't agree with this one. Sure he burns the ball on occasions and tends to lairise a bit, but overall his form is very good. He can play wing, HF, FF and on the ball.

Nope, it won't be Burton on current form.

napsyd
1 Apr 2003, 09:14
Originally posted by topjars
Its interesting that youve put these blokes in the same sentence.
I think both will struggle to get in whilst we keep winning.

We dont need a small crumbing forward at the minute and if I was a Crow hierarchy I would be easing Welshy along thru the SANFL well before calling him up to AFL.

Very good point, since we essentially do not need Welshy at the moment, a month more worth of SANFL games might be what he needs to get up to 100% (or as close as) and then bring him in as form or injury dictates.

Cannot see a spot for Burns at all at the moment.

DaveW
1 Apr 2003, 11:17

Burton

I don't think he's been that impressive recently, and yes, I agree he's important to our game, but on form I don't think he's been that spectacular. He's been given the ball a fair bit, but I don't think he's used the ball that great (more often than not), and wasted a few too many ops too. In our present situation, with a ridiculoulsy short injury list (and lets hope it stays this way, touch wood) and a lot of players in form, and as athletic and fit as he is, maybe he's the one to be dropped??
I swear I must be watching a different game to a lot of you sometimes. I think Burton's form across the wizard cup and the first round has been as good as anyones. He's been playing in a different role this year, mostly on the wing as opposed to playing up forward last year. Against Fremantle I thought he did a great job, providing run through the centre of the ground as link between half back and half forward. Occassionally in the pre-season he got himself into trouble with his hesitation but was mostly quite good. Why are so many of you so hard on the Birdman?

dyertribe
1 Apr 2003, 11:20

Don't forget Daniel Schell who booted 6.0 in that demolition of North...

Fair dinkum, we've got more depth than a nuclear submarine! :cool:

maccas_no1
1 Apr 2003, 17:11
Im sure glad Im not on the selection committee what a job they have got:D I cant see us getting beat for awhile yet I think our greatest challenge wont come till Rnd 8 when we travel to Brisbane!!!!! We will take St Kilda to the cleaners this week,Im predicting a 100 point + victory:D We are too strong at the moment and we are playing with ALOT of confiedence:D

ScottWelshLuva
1 Apr 2003, 17:37
Do you think the squad will go unchanged this week??- i reckon they will, although players like doughty and gallagher played good games for their respective SANFL teams. I really hope they keep reilly in the side to- i think it might be a bit ruff to drop him when he didnt play for that long n e way.

Macca19
1 Apr 2003, 17:45
Originally posted by DaveW
I swear I must be watching a different game to a lot of you sometimes. I think Burton's form across the wizard cup and the first round has been as good as anyones. He's been playing in a different role this year, mostly on the wing as opposed to playing up forward last year. Against Fremantle I thought he did a great job, providing run through the centre of the ground as link between half back and half forward. Occassionally in the pre-season he got himself into trouble with his hesitation but was mostly quite good. Why are so many of you so hard on the Birdman?

Just from an outsiders view...i thought Birdman was average during the Wizard Cup and deadset horrid against Freo. If he isnt taking a mark or gaining the ball within goalscoring distance he doesnt seem to have any idea what to do. The majority of his possesions havent ended up in the arms of a crow player, which i think is why some of your fellow supporters havent been impressed.
Get him near goal and hes a good player that can damage sides. Get him away from the forward 50 and make him think about what to do and he crumbles. He just seems to choose the wrong option a lot of the time.

ScottWelshLuva
1 Apr 2003, 17:50
Originally posted by Macca19
Just from an outsiders view...i thought Birdman was average during the Wizard Cup and deadset horrid against Freo. If he isnt taking a mark or gaining the ball within goalscoring distance he doesnt seem to have any idea what to do. The majority of his possesions havent ended up in the arms of a crow player, which i think is why some of your fellow supporters havent been impressed.
Get him near goal and hes a good player that can damage sides. Get him away from the forward 50 and make him think about what to do and he crumbles. He just seems to choose the wrong option a lot of the time.
hmm..mite have something to do with me mum chattin him up before the game!!!!! (nah not really!!!!) :D

crowsfan
1 Apr 2003, 21:07
I swear I must be watching a different game to a lot of you sometimes. I think Burton's form across the wizard cup and the first round has been as good as anyones. He's been playing in a different role this year, mostly on the wing as opposed to playing up forward last year. Against Fremantle I thought he did a great job, providing run through the centre of the ground as link between half back and half forward. Occassionally in the pre-season he got himself into trouble with his hesitation but was mostly quite good. Why are so many of you so hard on the Birdman? Just a difference of opinion maybe, thats all. But like I sort of said in my last post, but not as clearly as I could have, I think its all relative too. For sure, if Burton was playing in a team who had a longer injury list and less players in form, he would be a automatic selection. But I just don't think thats the case with the AFC at the moment. I guess it just seems to me he's one of the "worse" players at the moment, and although his level of play is not that bad, its all relative to other players and their respective forms.

Nige_Bix
1 Apr 2003, 21:22
Burton - one of the "worse" players at the moment, and although his level of play is not that bad, its all relative to other players and their respective forms.

Hmm - a few of the group gave him a vote or two in the last round so he can't be doing too bad.

IMO you don't change a winning for the sake of it - those close to selection need to wait for their chance - it will come soon enough.

Kane McGoodwin
1 Apr 2003, 21:55
I have no problems with Burton getting the ball, but he needs to do some urgent work on his disposal. I particularly remember when he was free running through the middle, ran on to his left side & did a left foot floater giving the forwards no hope. I'm not convinced he has the smarts to be a regular midfielder & may be better suited as a floating forward (with the occasional run on the ball).

Stiffy_18
1 Apr 2003, 22:05

Couldn't agree with you more!!!!!!

I have no problems with his ball getting ability. He gets the ball well but fair dinkum does he butcher it. His disposal is very average an his decision making skills under pressure leave a lot to be desired.

He is a real funny one. I don't think that even he knows whats he going to do next. He is one of the most exciting players to watch but at the same time one of the most frustrating.:confused: If he can improve his disposal and his decision making skills he would be one of the best players in the league.

P.S. Fancy Burton running half a field to tell Carey how to kick for a goal. I ****ed myself laughfing on that one. Fair Dinkum:D

macca23
1 Apr 2003, 22:14
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I particularly remember when he was free running through the middle, ran on to his left side & did a left foot floater giving the forwards no hope.

And here-in lies his weakness and the reason he ends up frustrating us. He has a very poor left foot. Pity the poor forwards leading up the ground and the Birdman has to double back onto his right foot because of the lack of a left foot. This gives the defender time to cover our forwards.

When Burton gets the ball where he can run straight onto the right foot he looks and is very damaging.

When he played close to goals last year his lack of a strong left foot was disguised. In the mid-field it is exposed.

Having said all of that he still is a bloody good player, with his ability to get the ball, his aerobic capacity and his high leap.

Exciting - but frustrating!! :)

DaveW
1 Apr 2003, 22:14
I give up. I'm convinced some people just see what they want to see. I'd prefer Burton up forward too, but I think he's slotting into his midfield role nicely

lufc618
1 Apr 2003, 22:21
Yeah i was also going to mention Daniel Schell. Has been playing very well for centrals recently in defence and on saturday moved to full forward at 3 quarter time and kicked 6 goals in the last 15 minutes of the match.

ant
1 Apr 2003, 23:38
Yes, I'm with Macca19 on this one, his use of the ball is wasteful in the midfield.....at his best he's a matchwinner in a forward pocket/forward flank role, taking high grabs and kicking goals.....in the midfield he's an adequate player who gets the pill but doesn't do enough with it. We're not really maximising his talents but there isn't really a spot up forward for him at the moment so there's a bit of a quandry. However, I wouldn't drop him.

napsyd
2 Apr 2003, 12:00
Originally posted by ant
Yes, I'm with Macca19 on this one, his use of the ball is wasteful in the midfield.....at his best he's a matchwinner in a forward pocket/forward flank role, taking high grabs and kicking goals.....in the midfield he's an adequate player who gets the pill but doesn't do enough with it. We're not really maximising his talents but there isn't really a spot up forward for him at the moment so there's a bit of a quandry. However, I wouldn't drop him.

Absolutely, he is a match winner and cannot be dropped IMO.

He will win two or three games for us during the year. I don't know which ones they'll be but one way to find out might be to drop him. Not a good idea.

We will play against significantly better defences than Fremantle and when that happen the three talls may well be shut down. Burton may just be the change in dynamics we need to overcome such a deadlock.

Kane McGoodwin
2 Apr 2003, 13:49
Originally posted by macca23
And here-in lies his weakness and the reason he ends up frustrating us. He has a very poor left foot. Pity the poor forwards leading up the ground and the Birdman has to double back onto his right foot because of the lack of a left foot. This gives the defender time to cover our forwards.

When Burton gets the ball where he can run straight onto the right foot he looks and is very damaging.

When he played close to goals last year his lack of a strong left foot was disguised. In the mid-field it is exposed.
The example I gave he chose to go on his left side - ie. Not force, as he was under no pressure. He had plenty of time to kick using his right foot & to size up any leads. He just didn't think! :mad:

Kane McGoodwin
2 Apr 2003, 13:52
I give up. I'm convinced some people just see what they want to see. I'd prefer Burton up forward too, but I think he's slotting into his midfield role nicely There is no way I want Burton dropped, but just think he is better suited to a half-forward floating type role. We have players such as Reilly (started on the bench), Gallagher & Doughty (playing in SANFL) who IMO would be better options as wingman. ie. SHould be starting players in their best position.

topjars
2 Apr 2003, 17:47
What everybody else said...Re: Birdman up forward.
And he would be if Perrie or Carey werent options. (Last Year)
In another thread about two weeks ago most agreed he looks better suited here.

His recent role around the middle is just that. Ayres is too shrewd to drop him and nor should he given the difficulty in matching up on him.

His game against Freo was better than his previous two in the pre season comp....and thats sayin something.