View Full Version : 22 wins

PrideofSA
31 Mar 2003, 20:03
I think that realisitically speaking Adelaide shold be aiming at winning all 22 matches this year. I know that it probably won't happen and that it is only rd 1. But having seen us over the preseason and rd 1, I think that we can beat every side wherever we go, and Brisbane should be the only team that we could have trouble with.

IF we don't win 16 of the 22 atleast then I think we have underachieved.

What are your thoughts?

DaveW
31 Mar 2003, 20:15
Yeah I'd take 16 wins right now. Aiming for 22 is good, but don't expect it to happen.

PrideofSA
31 Mar 2003, 20:30
Originally posted by DaveW
Yeah I'd take 16 wins right now. Aiming for 22 is good, but don't expect it to happen.

Yeh obviously, but that is a realistic goal that they should aim for. Every week they should realistically be expecting to win, taking it 1 week at a time.

Delivery Man
31 Mar 2003, 20:31
To win 22 would be awesome, but lets not count our chickens yet!

Ideally as long as we get in top 4, (and dont play an away final @ Gabba) it wouldnt hurt to lose a few during the year.

Make the top 4, then plan from there.

Stiffy_18
31 Mar 2003, 20:37
Originally posted by Delivery Man
To win 22 would be awesome, but lets not count our chickens yet!

Ideally as long as we get in top 4, (and dont play an away final @ Gabba) it wouldnt hurt to lose a few during the year.

Make the top 4, then plan from there.

I would rather us win some 15 - 16 games during the regular season and win all of our finals.

What exactly does it mean if you win 22 games?????? I would hate to see us end up as port did last year where they were the best side during the minor rounds and bombed out in the finals.

As long as we get in top 4 and we go on from there, I'll be hapy. Its a long season and a lot of things can happent in the next 21 rounds. Heaven forbid a season ending injuries to couple of our stars

dyertribe
31 Mar 2003, 20:52
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
What exactly does it mean if you win 22 games?????? I would hate to see us end up as port did last year where they were the best side during the minor rounds and bombed out in the finals.

Exactly... 22 wins don't mean a thing if you lose 2 in September.

topjars
31 Mar 2003, 22:56
Give me the 16 wins anyday including Rounds 5,6,7,8, 15 20, 21 & 22:cool:

sapaul
31 Mar 2003, 23:00
16 would be good....Pork supporters have often said we fluked 2 Premierships, it was even said on the main boards by "PORT POWER" just a few days ago..:rolleyes: guess they fluked the minor Premiership last year by bombing out as they did in the real stuff.

crowsfan
31 Mar 2003, 23:27
Getting to the finals and winning all 4 final matches, like Stiffy said, should be the top goal. Almost just as importantly, a top 4 possie would be invaluable of course. I'd say getting a decent run just before the finals is important too, say by winning rounds 18 - 22, if possible, would be of great benefit, just to get into the rhythm and swing of things during finals.

Everything else after that comes along should be a bonus. Personally, I wouldn't mind if we didn't beat Port this year, as long as we have THE FLAG!!! Of course it'd be nice to even the score up more, but thats irrelevant to me if we have what we really want.

macca23
31 Mar 2003, 23:56
Originally posted by PrideofSA
I think that realisitically speaking Adelaide shold be aiming at winning all 22 matches this year.

Would be lovely but won't happen.

Let's not get too far ahead of ourselves. While I do think we can win 15 to 16 games this year, let's just thinking about beating the Saints this week.

You know the old cliche - worn out to buggery it is - just take it one week at a time!!! :)

Nige_Bix
1 Apr 2003, 14:43
Originally posted by macca23
Would be lovely but won't happen.

Let's not get too far ahead of ourselves. While I do think we can win 15 to 16 games this year, let's just thinking about beating the Saints this week.

You know the old cliche - worn out to buggery it is - just take it one week at a time!!! :)

Agree - lets say we should win more than we lose!!

ScottWelshLuva
1 Apr 2003, 17:10
I d say 18 wins would be more of a target suited to our ability. I doubt we will beat brisbane at the gabba though. (depending on our fitness and injuries)

PAfolwr
1 Apr 2003, 20:59
Getting a bit ahead of ourselves are we?
Rule number 1. One week at a time.
Rule number two. Make the eight.

Stiffy_18
1 Apr 2003, 21:38
Originally posted by PAfolwr

Exactly right!!!!!! And once you achive rule number 2 then if possible go to rule number 3.

Rule number 3: Make the top four;)

noddy
1 Apr 2003, 21:40
Exactly right!!!!!! And once you achive rule number 2 then if possible go to rule number 3.

Rule number 3: Make the top four;)

& the rule to break all rules is = bring the bloody flag back home to the AFC,:D

Kane McGoodwin
1 Apr 2003, 21:49
Very unlikely given other quality sides in the competition that we would win every game. It is a very long season ahead & as has been mentioned we should be aiming for the finals, then the top-4 to ensure we are a shot at the flag. Looks good at the moment, but thing can turn quickly.

ScottWelshLuva
2 Apr 2003, 17:59
Originally posted by sapaul
16 would be good....Pork supporters have often said we fluked 2 Premierships, it was even said on the main boards by "PORT POWER" just a few days ago..:rolleyes: guess they fluked the minor Premiership last year by bombing out as they did in the real stuff.
LOL!!!!

sapaul
2 Apr 2003, 19:32

Maybe you should have told some of your own supporters that last July.

PrideofSA
2 Apr 2003, 19:37
I'm not saying we wiill win 22 matches, but given the fact that this year we are either the best or 2nd best team, we should AIM to win every match. And in any given match that is a REALISTIC OPTION. However I strongly doubt that we will win all matches, but it should be an AIM, by taking 1 WEEK AT A TIME.

Some aren't actually listening to what i initially said.

Macca19
2 Apr 2003, 19:48
I'm not saying we wiill win 22 matches, but given the fact that this year we are either the best or 2nd best team, we should AIM to win every match. And in any given match that is a REALISTIC OPTION. However I strongly doubt that we will win all matches, but it should be an AIM, by taking 1 WEEK AT A TIME.

Some aren't actually listening to what i initially said.

err...most clubs try to win every game. Your not saying anything out of the ordinary by suggesting that you aim to win each match you play in.

PAfolwr
2 Apr 2003, 19:50
Maybe you should have told some of your own supporters that last July.
To be honest I don't recall a thread quite like this one on the Port board.
AND it's only just round 1.

Stiffy_18
2 Apr 2003, 19:50
Originally posted by Macca19
err...most clubs try to win every game. Your not saying anything out of the ordinary by suggesting that you aim to win each match you play in.

Luv your avatar mate!!!!!!:D :D :D :D :D :D

macca23
2 Apr 2003, 19:51

Love the new avatar Macca19!! :D

PrideofSA
2 Apr 2003, 19:53

yeh but some clubs don't realistically have a chance of winning a match, take St Kilda vs Adelaide this week, Sti Kilda would be aiming to win, but it's just not gonna happen.

sapaul
2 Apr 2003, 19:53
To be honest I don't recall a thread quite like this one on the Port board.
AND it's only just round 1.

More talking about stuff that was said on the main AFL boards week in, week out.

Stiffy_18
2 Apr 2003, 19:57
... take St Kilda vs Adelaide this week, Sti Kilda would be aiming to win, but it's just not gonna happen.

I wouldn't be that c ocky mate!!!!!! We are the favourites and should win confortably but honestly the ball is oval and can bounce either way. Lets just wait and see what happens. While I am very confident of winning, I will take one step at a time and see how we go on Saturday. Should be an enjoyable game:D

PAfolwr
2 Apr 2003, 20:03
More talking about stuff that was said on the main AFL boards week in, week out.
The main board is just to annoy other mobs, especially Collingwood ones. ;)
Wouldn't take too much notice of it.

I wouldn't be that c ocky mate!!!!!! We are the favourites and should win confortably but honestly the ball is oval and can bounce either way. Lets just wait and see what happens. While I am very confident of winning, I will take one step at a time and see how we go on Saturday. Should be an enjoyable game
100 % agree.

sapaul
2 Apr 2003, 20:05
The main board is just to annoy other mobs, especially Collingwood ones. ;)
Wouldn't take too much notice of it.

That's what I thought but a comment on that board last year got me banned after 1 of your MOB dobbed.

PAfolwr
2 Apr 2003, 20:12
That's what I thought but a comment on that board last year got me banned after 1 of your MOB dobbed.
I didn't see that thread, so no comment.

Kildonan
2 Apr 2003, 21:07
Well, I'm hoping you'll be happy with 20 wins

You see I'm hoping that you might not be too upset losing rounds 2 and 17 - you're welcome to all the rest.

And it would make us so happy. We need the confidence builder !!!

(well maybe we mightn't by round 17 - who knows)

Anyway - I'm impressed by the level-headedness of the people posting here. Nice to see.

I think you guys are in for a big season - good luck for the season - (except 2 and 17) and may your injuries require only bandaids.

noddy
3 Apr 2003, 11:15
Luv your avatar mate!!!!!!:D :D :D :D :D :D

Macca19 had those bouncing b**bs on show for while last year,
must admit they did throw me completely off guard when trying to debate with Macca & other paps,

they sort of mesmerize you don't they??:confused:

Stiffy_18
3 Apr 2003, 14:41
Originally posted by noddy
they sort of mesmerize you don't they??:confused:

They sure do mate!!!!!!:D

sapaul
3 Apr 2003, 14:51
Macca19 has brought the knockers back.:D

Stiffy_18
3 Apr 2003, 14:53
Macca19 has brought the knockers back.:D

And aren't we loving it??????:D :D :D :D :D :D
Appologies to female population of BigFooty;)

Bresh
3 Apr 2003, 16:48
So I take that by consensus of BigFooty AFC fans, anything less than 18 wins and a premiership will be considered a choke if it does not eventuate?

napsyd
3 Apr 2003, 16:52
Originally posted by Guey_34
So I take that by consensus of BigFooty AFC fans, anything less than 18 wins and a premiership will be considered a choke if it does not eventuate?

That's right!!

The consensus of Bigfooty AFC fans is that if Port doesn't pull off 18 wins and the premiership they will have choked for three years running!

Glad you Port supporters are starting to understand. :p

Bresh
3 Apr 2003, 16:55
Originally posted by napsyd
That's right!!

The consensus of Bigfooty AFC fans is that if Port doesn't pull off 18 wins and the premiership they will have choked for three years running!

Glad you Port supporters are starting to understand. :p

Quality, but still :rolleyes:.

DaveW
3 Apr 2003, 17:14
Originally posted by Guey_34
Hardly. Who has said that? I've said 16 wins should be the goal. And anything less than a preliminary final apperance would be an underachievement.

ScottWelshLuva
3 Apr 2003, 17:42
Luv your avatar mate!!!!!!:D :D :D :D :D :D lol u only love his avatar cos ur a dude

Stiffy_18
3 Apr 2003, 19:04
Originally posted by ScottWelshLuva
lol u only love his avatar cos ur a dude

True!!!!!!:D :D :D :D :D :D

;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)

iceman21
3 Apr 2003, 23:12
Originally posted by DaveW
Hardly. Who has said that? I've said 16 wins should be the goal. And anything less than a preliminary final apperance would be an underachievement.

Absolutely 100 percent Correct!

I'd be quite happy with 16 wins, then see what happens from there:)

PAfolwr
4 Apr 2003, 06:49
Originally posted by ScottWelshLuva
lol u only love his avatar cos ur a dude
Is it that obvious? :D

mic59
5 Apr 2003, 16:04
Pssssssh. The sound of Crow heads deflating.

Port01
5 Apr 2003, 16:06
Originally posted by mic59
Pssssssh. The sound of Crow heads deflating.

Well, St Kilda dont know how to win, so 6 goal margin at 3 quarter time may not be enough.

Pred
5 Apr 2003, 16:21
Surely this thread is a joke.

Having one win (beating Fremantle - *yawn*) has gone to someone's head. Learn how to beat St. Kilda first before ya start talking 22 wins.

Carey looks to be in trouble.
Riewoldt is a star.

Pred
5 Apr 2003, 16:27
given the fact that this year we are either the best or 2nd best team What bloody FACT is that then?

The opinion of a few people? Adelaide finish fourth last year, then pick up a dodgy Carey, and suddenly they are either better than Brisbane, or just behind them? (Let alone Port and Collingwood). Been reading too much of ya own proaganda mate. You are getting way ahead of yourself.

DaveW
5 Apr 2003, 17:01
I blame PrideofSA for today's loss. Clearly his getting too far ahead of himself jynxed us. :p

Stiffy_18
5 Apr 2003, 17:07
What did I say about this game when this thread was started!!!!!! We must not get complacent and St. Kilda is a very good side. Last year they lost 5-6 games by less than 12 points. Thats pretty good considering they had most of the players in the side who have played less than 20 games. We went in with a terrible attitude and managed to play 1 decent quarter of footy and still loose only by 8 points. The final score line flattered us a fair bit. We never really looked like winning.

BTW, if Stenglein is a player for Milne I'll go jump of the Santos building. Fair Dinkum, even blind Freddy could see that was a big mismatch:rolleyes:

Kane McGoodwin
5 Apr 2003, 17:12
What did I say about this game when this thread was started!!!!!! We must not get complacent and St. Kilda is a very good side. Last year they lost 5-6 games by less than 12 points. Thats pretty good considering they had most of the players in the side who have played less than 20 games. We went in with a terrible attitude and managed to play 1 decent quarter of footy and still loose only by 8 points. The final score line flattered us a fair bit. We never really looked like winning.

BTW, if Stenglein is a player for Milne I'll go jump of the Santos building. Fair Dinkum, even blind Freddy could see that was a big mismatch:rolleyes: I'm with you Stiffy, as this thread gave me bad vibes about being too c ocky. Also, Iw as calling for Stinger to be removed from Milne early in the 1st quarter. Didn't have enough pace & either Stiffy or Hart would have been a better matchup. Also, we needed Stinger in the middle as we were struggling for clearances. Very fustrating!

Kane McGoodwin
5 Apr 2003, 17:14
Originally posted by mic59
Pssssssh. The sound of Crow heads deflating. Quite frankly some heads needed deflating. Hopefully this grounds them back to reality.

ScottWelshLuva
5 Apr 2003, 17:17
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Quite frankly some heads needed deflating. Hopefully this grounds them back to reality.
yep, one word -complacency (i think thats how u spell it!!!:( )

Macca19
5 Apr 2003, 17:52
yeh but some clubs don't realistically have a chance of winning a match, take St Kilda vs Adelaide this week, Sti Kilda would be aiming to win, but it's just not gonna happen.

Hold on tight mate! Ive rung the surgeon and hes gonna be arouns shortly to remove your foot from deep in your throat!

Too ****y. Too arrogant. Too early!

kalsaint
5 Apr 2003, 18:10
Arrogance is something only those brimming with confidence can afford.

Look, I believe Adelaide is a top 4 certainty but I still believe you will be lower down that Port.

The loss today is evidence that anything can happen in this game. The difference between sides skills is not large but reflects the mental aptitude on the day.

Target 16 wins for 2003. It will most likely be a stretch target for you. 22 wins really.

Stiffy_18
5 Apr 2003, 18:33
Too ****y. Too arrogant. Too early!

Exactly right!!!!!! Its an old, worn out cliche but lets take it one week at a time. Looking forward to Sydney at SCG.

Good luck tonight Macca19;)

Kane McGoodwin
5 Apr 2003, 19:12
Can someone delete this thread, as it has already jinxed us! :mad:

Stiffy_18
5 Apr 2003, 19:50

Somehow I don't think people will be jumping the gun after one impressive win again. :p

PAfolwr
6 Apr 2003, 08:04
Somehow I don't think people will be jumping the gun after one impressive win again. :p
Dunno about that.
You have some people on here that are happier with Port losing rather than the Crows winning.
They generally are the same ones that get carried away with every bit of good news. Be it a big piece of news, or a tiny one like beating Freo at home in the first game of the season.
They are also the ones that come on our board after every loss. :rolleyes:

Still Crowing
6 Apr 2003, 09:55
Dunno about that.
You have some people on here that are happier with Port losing rather than the Crows winning.
They generally are the same ones that get carried away with every bit of good news. Be it a big piece of news, or a tiny one like beating Freo at home in the first game of the season.

Don't get me wrong, I enjoy a Port loss as much as the next Crows fan, but I think you're being a little over the top mate. I would much rather have the Crows win than Port lose a game. By a long way. After yesterdays dismal performance, it just kinda helps that Port (versions 1.0 and 2.0) both lost, and that Norwood won away in Lizbeff. Swap it all for another 9 points against the Sainters though.

Cheers,

Kasey

Still Crowing
6 Apr 2003, 09:56

Seconded! :mad:

Kasey

macca23
6 Apr 2003, 12:32

Totally agree Kane. It's a bloody jinx!!

Can it be deleted please??

It's a cr*p thread, and should never have been started. :(

Squeak
6 Apr 2003, 12:39
:D

topjars
6 Apr 2003, 12:50

I see we've lost and here you are :confused:

Rules:
Crows Win Pork Lose = Drinks 2 Cartons of Coopers Pale Ale
Crows Win Pork Win = Drinks 1 Carton of Coopers Pale Ale
Crows Lose Pork Lose = Drinks 1 Carton of Coopers Pale Ale
Crows Lose Pork Wins = Drinks 1 Carton and takes dump

Still Crowing
6 Apr 2003, 13:22
Originally posted by topjars

Rules:
Crows Win Pork Lose = Drinks 2 Cartons of Coopers Pale Ale
Crows Win Pork Win = Drinks 1 Carton of Coopers Pale Ale
Crows Lose Pork Lose = Drinks 1 Carton of Coopers Pale Ale
Crows Lose Pork Wins = Drinks 1 Carton and takes dump

If I can extend on your rules, a good Norwood win can go a little towards easng the hurt of a Crows loss. Weekends like last weekend, though rare, are the best kind. Crows up, Port loss, and the mighty 'Legs over Port v1.0 @ the Parade.

Said it before, I would swap the good feelings created by a Redlegs win over Centrals at Lizbeff and the Port loss to Bris-vegas at Footy Park for another 9 points against the Sainters.

Cheers,

Kasey

Stiffy_18
6 Apr 2003, 13:51
Originally posted by macca23
Totally agree Kane. It's a bloody jinx!!

Can it be deleted please??

It's a cr*p thread, and should never have been started. :(

Danii th Moderator just delete the bloody thing please.

This thread gives me the sh*ts

Macca19
6 Apr 2003, 14:47
Danii th Moderator just delete the bloody thing please.

This thread gives me the sh*ts

nah wait for PrideofSA to show up.

PAfolwr
6 Apr 2003, 17:38

Don't see me having a go just because you lost. Big difference. ;)

nah wait for PrideofSA to show up.
:D